general-assembly-logo

General Assembly

Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hong Kong, Houston, London, Los Angeles, Melbourne, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Online, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Raleigh, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Singapore, Stamford, Sydney, Washington

General Assembly

Avg Rating:4.32 ( 421 reviews )

General Assembly offers short and long courses in web and mobile development, product management, data science and more, online and in-person, across 15 campuses in 4 continents. Focusing on the most relevant and in-demand skills across data, design, business, and technology, General Assembly is confronting a skills gap and providing access to opportunities in tech. General Assembly offers a breadth of different course offerings and classes range from full-time immersive courses for learners that want to switch to a new career, to part-time courses for learners that are looking to improve their career trajectory by acquiring a new skill set, and mentor-led online circuits for a more flexible way to acquire foundational skills.

To apply for an immersive bootcamp, applicants need to submit an online application, then connect with a General Assembly admissions representative who will evaluate whether the course is a fit for an applicant's experience and goals. Applicants then complete an admissions assessment to ensure they are prepared for the rigor of the curriculum. Once a student is accepted and has paid a down payment, their spot will be secured.

General Assembly career coaches work with students to create their career path, improve technical interview skills, and build a personal brand. Graduates can attend GA-hosted hiring events and meet hiring managers. The careers team partners with companies for course development and graduate placement and helps companies stay competitive in today's digital landscape. Additionally, General Assembly has made a commitment to affordable and accessible education combined with an education-to-employment approach that helps to create a diverse talent pipeline.

In addition to long-form course offerings, General Assembly courses are also available as short form bootcamps (1-2 day workshops) as well as evening and weekend classes.

Recent General Assembly Reviews: Rating 4.32

all (421) reviews for General Assembly →

Recent General Assembly News

Read all (101) articles about General Assembly →
  • Data Analysis On-Demand

    Apply
    Data Science, SQL, Excel
    OnlinePart Time12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    The best resource for a comprehensive foundation in data analysis. Acquire the context, practical know-how, and practice you need to confidently analyze data with the program global leaders rely on. Cover fundamentals, including framing questions, cleaning data, visualizing data, and communicating insights. This learning path is ideal for anyone who wants to bolster their analytical toolkit, including business analysts, marketers, product managers, entrepreneurs, and leaders building data-driven teams.
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    ScholarshipNo
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous experience required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Analytics (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Data Science
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week9 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$3,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
      
    Tuition PlansPayment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCourse is open to beginners. Familiarity with Excel is useful, but not required.
    Prep WorkApproximately 3 hours of self-guided pre-work to complete prior to starting the course.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersive

    Apply
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Learn the tools and techniques you need to make better decisions through data, and land a job in one of the most sought after fields in tech. Create predictive models by learning to wrangle, analyze, and visualize data from our team of professional Data Scientist instructors. Develop hard skills like Unix, Git, SQL, Python, machine learning, and modeling techniques while creating your own data projects and applications. Take advantage of the growing demand for data and use the guidance and resources of our in-house career coaches to help you find work. Find more information at https://generalassemb.ly/education/data-science-immersive. Questions or want to chat with our team -- email seattle_admissions@generalassemb.ly or call (206) 258-7033.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic SQL query knowledge/scripting and familiarity with Python required. Strong familiarity with math and descriptive statistics required. 2-5 years of experience as an analyst is ideal. Macs are strongly preferred.
    Prep WorkApproximately 40 hours of self-guided pre-work to complete prior to starting the course.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science (Part Time)

    Apply
    Data Science, Python
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,950
    Class size20
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Use Python to mine datasets and predict patterns. Build statistical models -- regression, classification, clustering -- that generate usable information from raw data. Master the basics of machine learning and harness large datasets to forecast what’s next.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available include Meritize and Climb
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelFamiliarity with math and statistics and Python syntax/programming fundamentals is required.
    Prep WorkApproximately 20 hours of self-guided pre-work to complete prior to starting the course.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing On-Demand

    Apply
    Digital Marketing
    OnlinePart Time4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    The best resource for a comprehensive foundation in modern marketing. Craft and launch effective multi-channel brand, acquisition, and retention campaigns with the program that global leaders rely on. Dive into marketing fundamentals, including segmentation, customer insight, CRM, analytics, and automation. This learning path is ideal for both experienced marketers updating their skills and non-marketers expanding their knowledge.
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    ScholarshipNo
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous experience required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Digital Marketing (Part-time)

    Apply
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Skills & Tools Gain proficiency in social advertising and use Facebook, Google AdWords, and Google Analytics to find meaning in user behavior. Production Standard Develop and plan a campaign driven by data and paid‐search strategies — and measured by key performance indicators. The Big Picture Become a driver of your company's bottom line by using cutting‐edge techniques and platforms to market products and acquire users.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available include Meritize and Climb
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Front-End Web Development

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,950
    Class size25
    LocationBoston
    Skills & Tools Use HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, jQuery, GitHub, and Sublime in concert. HTML, CSS, and JavaScript websites Production Standard Build a fully responsive, interactive website that stands apart from the usual templates. Master technical vocabulary The Big Picture Understand how a skillful mix of programming and layout powers the web we see – and how teams collaborate to create it.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available, including  Pave and Climb
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Front-End Web Development (Part-Time)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Front End
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$4,500
    Class size22
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Use HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, GitHub, and Sublime in concert. Build a fully responsive, interactive website that stands apart from the usual templates. Understand how a skillful mix of programming and layout powers the web we see – and how teams collaborate to create it.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Tuition PlansPayment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner Course is open to beginners. Some familiarity with HTML, CSS and/or JavaScript is useful but not required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • HTML, CSS, and Web Design Circuit

    Apply
    HTML, User Experience Design, CSS
    OnlinePart Time14 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$1,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    This course enables students to create a well-designed site with the user in mind, and master the technical vocabulary to communicate ideas to designers and engineers. Students will learn how to quickly translate their ideas into functional, stylized websites for personal or business purposes using HTML, CSS, responsive web design and design fundamentals. This course is offered on a flexible schedule to suit your time commitment. You'll receive useful feedback from a mentor who has extensive professional and academic knowledge of the field. By the end of the program students will have built a full functioning website to use as part of a portfolio.
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    Tuition PlansMost students choose to pursue a 3-part payment plan with a deposit of $250 and then 2 additional installments of $500.
    Refund / GuaranteePlease see our course catalogue: http://bit.ly/2c6WT3t
    ScholarshipNo
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous experience required.
    Prep Work1-2 hours pre-course.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • iOS Development (Part-time)

    Apply
    Mobile, iOS, Swift
    In PersonPart Time12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City
    Bring together Swift, Xcode, the iOS SDK, and GitHub in work with third-party APIs. Construct a native iPhone or iPad app that loads on a mobile device, stores data locally and connects to larger networks. Gain a real understanding of how concepts for iOS applications translate into user-tested, feature-rich prototypes that can ship to the App Store.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Financing available through Earnest  Climb  Affirm or Pave.

    Tuition PlansPayment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • JavaScript Circuit

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$1,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Master the skills required to create dynamic, interactive user experiences with the popular and powerful programming language, JavaScript. This course is offered on a flexible schedule to suit your time commitment. You'll receive useful feedback from a mentor who has extensive professional and academic knowledge of the field. By the end of the program students will have built a full functioning website to use as part of a portfolio.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    ScholarshipNo
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous experience required.
    Prep Work1-2 hours pre-course.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • JavaScript Development (Part-time)

    Apply
    Git, JavaScript, Front End
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class size22
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Learn to code in JavaScript, the native language of the web used by developers the world over. Build a single-page web app that persists user data and connects to services like Twitter and Facebook via APIs. Learn the fundamentals of object-oriented programming while receiving support from industry experts and a community of peers.
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition PlansBy application
    Refund / Guarantee$0
    ScholarshipBy application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelFamiliarity with HTML and CSS is required. Some exposure to JavaScript is useful, but not required. Macs are preferred.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Product Management (Part-time)

    Apply
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Guide a product through its lifecycle via lean methodologies like Agile, market research, UX, and financial modeling. Create a roadmap, business model canvas, MVP, key metrics, personas, wireframing, and a stakeholder management plan. Grow capable of launching viable, market‐ready products that anticipate user needs by making tough decisions and working with stakeholders.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Financing available 

    Tuition PlansPayment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Python Programming (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,950
    Class size15
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Discover why professionals ranging from analysts to web developers rely on Python programming to excel in their work. Dive into fundamental concepts and techniques, and build your own custom web or data application. Tap into the demand for Python programming skills, and translate new knowledge into career gains. Our dynamic coursework is designed by industry experts to align with today’s employer demands.
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    Tuition PlansBy application
    Refund / Guarantee$0
    ScholarshipBy application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo prerequisite knowledge required
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • React Development (Part-Time)

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,950
    Class size15
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    Tuition PlansBy application
    Refund / Guarantee$0
    ScholarshipBy application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    HTML, Python, JavaScript, Django, SQL, Rails, CSS, React.js, Front End, Ruby
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$14,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Your best course for career transformation. Our award-winning program, expert instructors, dedicated career coaches, and 19K+ hiring partners get grads hired at A-list companies.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive - Remote

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$14,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Your best course for career transformation. Our award-winning program, expert instructors, dedicated career coaches, and 19K+ hiring partners get grads hired at A-list companies.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Tuition PlansAvailable - discuss with your Admissions Representative.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive - Remote (Flex)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$14,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Your best course for career transformation. Our award-winning program, expert instructors, dedicated career coaches, and 19K+ hiring partners get grads hired at A-list companies.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • User Experience Design (Accelerated 1 Week)

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time40 Hours/week1 Week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationMelbourne, Seattle
    This is an accelerated version of our User Experience Design part-time course - condensed into one week. Use industry standard tools such as Sketch and Invision to prototype and wireframe design solutions. Put together a full suite of UX documentation for a digital product, from user personas and wireframes to interactive prototypes. Connect and convey how insights into customer behavior -- from problems to solutions -- can optimize any product or service. Find more information at https://generalassemb.ly/education/user-experience-design. Questions or want to chat with our team -- email seattle_admissions@generalassemb.ly or call (206) 258-7033.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCourse is open to beginners.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • User Experience Design Immersive

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week9 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$14,950
    Class size22
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Attend classes designed and taught by some of the industry’s best UX designers. Apply your UX skills across five class projects and build a working portfolio. Become an apprentice or junior UX designer.
    Financing
    Deposit$500
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • User Experience Design On-Demand

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    The best resource for a comprehensive foundation in user experience (UX) design. Create intuitive digital experiences that solve user problems and meet business demands with the program that global leaders rely on. Dive into fundamentals, including user research, prototyping, personas, affinity mapping, and wireframing. This learning path is ideal for visual designers transitioning into the UX field, software engineers and product managers who work with UX designers, and entrepreneurs looking to build customer-focused strategies.
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    ScholarshipNo.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous experience required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • User Experience Design (Part-Time)

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$5,000
    Class size20
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Use industry standard tools such as Sketch and Invision to prototype and wireframe design solutions. Put together a full suite of UX documentation for a digital product, from user personas and wireframes to interactive prototypes. Connect and convey how insights into customer behavior -- from problems to solutions -- can optimize any product or service.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available include Meritize and Climb
    Tuition PlansPayment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCourse is open to beginners.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Visual Design (Part-time)

    Apply
    Design
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$3,000
    Class size22
    LocationLos Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Apply Photoshop’s powerful functions to digital product design. Start with an idea and a moodboard: finish with a production‐ready mockup of a responsive webpage. Grasp how effective visual communication — from font pairings to style tiles — helps translate compelling ideas across any team, in any field.
    Financing
    Deposit$250
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition PlansBy application
    Refund / Guarantee$0
    ScholarshipBy application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCourse is open to beginners. Some familiarity with Photoshop or Adobe CC is useful, but not required.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Hannah   User Photo
    Hannah • Full Stack Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I studied Art History at UCL and spent my 20s working my way through roles in arts organisations to become a Individual Giving Fundraiser at institutions including the Tate and the ICA. However, the came a point (when I turned 30 in fact!) where I realised I wanted to be much more hands on in my work ('build things') and explore other interests. I didn't think career change was a legitimate option until I was made aware of the existence of coding bootcamps! 

    After researching my options in London (who knew there were so many!) I decided to go with General Assembly(GA) as I felt welcome and supported from the moment I enquired about the course. I committed to the GA Web Development Immersive and studied harder than I ever have for three months. The tutors were excellent and made themselves available after class to review any problem topics or to help fix bugs! My classmates were brilliant and were great at keeping each other motivated in the face of any challenges or moments of exhaustion!

    The curriculum was huge and in three months we covered HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery as well as Angular.js, React, Node.js and Express in conjunction with MongoDB and a variety of npm packages. We completed four different projects, each with a different stack. The only thing missing for me in hindsight, would be that I wish I had spent more time practicing and reviewing fundamental JavaScript and programming concepts. It is one thing to know how to set up a React app but not much use if you haven't got your head around the basic JavaScript concepts and functions which make the framework so powerful. 

    After graduating, thanks to the support of my classmates, tutors and the GA Outcomes Team, I was able to find a role as a Full Stack Developer at a start-up called JamieAi. I work on all our apps across the stack and continue to learn from brilliant colleagues and peers every day. 

  • Mercedez Jenkins  User Photo
    Mercedez Jenkins • IT Consultant • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I found the GA UX Research & Design PT Course very enjoyable. I learned a lot and I feel that the curriculum gave me a solid understanding of the UX Research & Design process from end to end. Marcella was a great teacher and made all of the concepts understandable and applicable to where we all were in our professional careers. She was always available for extra help and advice which I really appreciated. It was a lot of work and in my opinion required more of a time commitment than the course syllabus suggested. Because it is a PT class it moved very quickly which caused me to get behind a few times throughout the course. I also found the curriculum to be a bit disjointed and unorganized.  This is primarily because the online pre and home work did not seem to match up with the 2 day a week in class schedule. There were a few times I had to go back and review because sections were out of order. Overall, it is a good course that would definitely be 5 stars with some fine tuning. 

  • Garry  User Photo
    Garry • Data Scientist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Through my experience at General Assembly (note, when I started, it was still Bitmaker, but in effect, the content was General Assembly approved), I was able to land my first data science role. 
     
    While the industry is hiring Sr. Data Scientist engineers, and Sr. Data Scientists, breaking in is difficult for more entry-level Data Analyst/Scientists. However, I do like how there are Data Scientists who come from a variety of backgrounds, from social sciences, cognitive sciences, to mathematics.
     
    On this journey, I’ve had a lot of support from my General Assembly instructor (Max is one of smartest, and also most effective teachers), career coaches and classmates. 
     
    Note, your mileage may vary based on your instructor, or peers (to drive discussion and helping each other). I was lucky to have one of the best. Our instructor worked at two local start-ups before joining General Assembly, so he had real experience. Additionally, he often presented at conferences like Pycon and abroad. This is the by far the reason why I am rating General Assembly so high, it’s because you gain access to an instructor who can teach the material better than online materials. Anyone can find a Jupyter notebook on Random Forests, or youtube video on Neural Networks, but to get insights from an Engineer who has written production code, and has advice about ‘flex’ topics like why Docker, cloud computing, and a better way of approaching a problem is invaluable.
     
    Choose your boot camp based on your instructor. That’s the differentiating piece. Go to an info session, and ask him/her questions.
     
    Coming from the software industry previously, the inclusiveness and culture were great, but not a differentiator for me. I’d imagine Brainstation being similar. But those guys were way too sales-y while recruiting, which is why Brainstation turned me off. The syllabus was a bit less relevant too.
     
    To close I’d like to highlight two areas of improvement.
    • It’s a jam-packed 12 weeks, but if there was a way to embed more data engineering, software engineering by removing some of the less relevant algorithms, I think that would be better time spent.
    • Career support is great, but let’s raise the bar for those who have already worked in the industry. The general advice is table stakes (geared towards interns and university students), so it would be more valuable to have real data scientists, and data engineers provide advice on how they recruit, and perform whiteboard interviews. The network of alumni is growing, but the corporate partnerships engagement is weak as far as student employment is concerned. The career coach is working hard on early conversations with Telus Digital and MaRS, but at this point, there’s no real pipeline to feed students into those programs. Bet on yourself to find jobs rather than rely on employers knocking on your door on demo day. Set your expectations appropriately.  
  • Bella Wang  User Photo
    Bella Wang • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This was a weekend, two-day bootcamp with a practical introduction to machine learning in Python. The class was very helpful in giving hands-on experience for someone with some data background who is looking to get up to speed on a new set of data techniques.

  • Sejla Ali  User Photo
    Sejla Ali • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the part time Front-End Web Development course from February 2018 to April 2018 as my plan was to move into the Software Engineering Immersive, which I am currently taking. 

    I really enjoyed the front-end development class as I got to learn a lot of HTML, CSS and an intro to Javascript and JQuery. We were able to put together a lot of smaller projects and site mockups. Also, even though I have never had experience in any coding, javascript and jquery were a little difficult for me to grasp but in my SEI class, I picked up on everything MUCH quicker because of my previous exposure.

  • Lee Robson  User Photo
    Lee Robson • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've just completed the 10-week part-time course in Data Analytics and found the experience to be highly valuable.

    As virtually a total beginner in Excel, SQL and Tableau prior to the course, I found the material and the pace of learning to be quite challenging and demanding. However, provided you are able to allocate the required time outside the classroom teaching and commit yourself to learning the content, the pace of study leads to the acquisition of a wide range of skills in a relatively short period of time.

    The course material provided isn't perfect, which sometimes requires a degree of independent problem-solving and perserverence, but that in itself can be quite useful when it comes to utilising the skills being learnt week-to-week.

    I found our teacher and teaching assistant to be extremely helpful and dedicated to helping the class and individuals follow the material and reach their potential.

    Overall, I would highly recommend General Assembly and the Data Analytics course, provided you have adequate time in your week to dedicate the hours required. I was in-between jobs when I did the course and would have found it difficult to get as much out of the experience as I did had I also been working full-time. 

  • Lourdes Wong  User Photo
    Lourdes Wong • Applicant Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I flew from Peru to SFO and it was worth it. I liked that the course is an intense week because I could not stay in San Francisco for a long time, the networking is super good, the facilitator with very enriching experience and the material as well, I would have liked more work between peers and a little More time to get to know the GA community.

  • Chakrit Prasatwattana  User Photo
    Chakrit Prasatwattana • Full Stack Developer at Iterate, Inc. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Doing the Web Development Immersive (WDI) program at Santa Monica was probably one of the best career decisions I've made. First of all, what struck me about GA was their international presence, being located around the world. Also, the fact that GA offers courses in a variety of fields, whether it's Web Development, UI/UX, Digital Marketing, also attracted me to them as I was able to take workshops in those subject areas as well. It was also a great learning experience getting to meet people and learn from the other students doing the other immersive programs such as in Data Science and UX.

    My background prior to doing the web development immersive program was that I already had a degree in computer science and an entry level job as a web developer. But I still decided to do GA to learn new technology stacks and have a more solid foundation (particularly in Node.js, React and Mongo since I was only familiar with Ruby on Rails at the time). Even with this prior background, I was still able to learn a lot and push myself out of my comfort zone. The beauty of the program is you get out of it what you put into it no matter what your background is.

    My instructors and peers were probably some of my favorite aspects of my experience there. The instructors and TAs were very helpful during class and after hours and taught very well with their use of analogies. The people in my cohort also provided a very encouraging and fun learning atmosphere and we all still keep in contact to this day, where some of us actually work together at our jobs.

    Our outcomes producer also did a really good job helping us get our resumes and cover letters ready and provided good advice on how to market ourselves with the Do's and Don'ts. However, at the end of the day, we're responsible for our success in the job application process depending on how hard we push ourselves in putting ourselves out there and preparing for job interviews.

    Overall, what I really liked about GA is the network that you get yourself into. I was able to travel to different General Assembly locations around the world, attending different events and seeing how the GA community and vibe is similar everywhere. Being a GA alumni also puts you as a part of the large network that significantly opens more doors and career opportunities worldwide.

  • Jesse Aguirre  User Photo
    Jesse Aguirre • Software engineer @Slack • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

         First, off I love GA. GA changed my life completely. I took part in the full-time web development immersive program and by far it is one of the best decisions I've made in my life. Never would I have thought I would be where I'm currently at in life.  

        My instructors at the DTLA campus are amazing and very dedicated to teaching and preparing their students for a job in tech. Of course, at the end of the day, it is all up to the students to put in the work and apply those skills. The curriculum is very well designed to take you to the level needed to be hirable after completing the course.
     
       As for the job search, it all comes down to you. It's a little hard at the beginning but once you have your foot in the door your in. Most tech interviews are the same so the repetition of interviewing helps in your favor. software engineers are in such high demand there are open positions everywhere in tech. The skills you learn at GA get you one of those positions but like I said its all up to you.

  • Highly Recommend
    - 1/30/2019
    Batool  User Photo
    Batool • UX Designer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Once I had made the decision to change careers and become a UX Designer, I turned to General Assembly on the recommendation of a friend from London, who had worked with GA trained UX designers in the past. It was one of the best decisions I could have made. Changing careers can be a very stressful thing, and if it weren’t for GA I might have chickened out. Not only did the UXDi course equip me with the tools, language and skills required in the field of User Experience Design, but the “Outcomes” portion of the program completely prepared me for re-entering the workforce in my newfound circumstances. They provided an incredible support system and helped me navigate my career change in the best way possible. I was employed within 30 days of graduating, and made back my investment within months.

    If you have an aptitude for human centered design and the willingness to be proactive and put in the work required, then GA can provide the tools to help you succeed.

  • Lisa V.  User Photo
    Lisa V. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Incredible instructor, engaged classmates, relevant material covered in course, and focus on building transferable skills

    Instructor (currently, VP of Product for a health tech firm in SF) was great at facilitating a collaboration among students, and gave constructive feedback to each product team at the end of every day. He created a safe learning environment, and I plan to keep in touch with him for future Product Management job openings.

    Job Prospects After Completion: Depends on YOU! It's up to you to keep your network fresh and informed regarding your career plans. GA will share some career resources with you, but they are not as helpful with finding a job as they could be.

  • Patricio Ordoñana  User Photo
    Patricio Ordoñana • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Digital Mkt accelerated 1 week course and in general terms I can say it was a great experience. It's definitely a lot of information to digest in 1 week and I think that the final presentation complicates even more the equation because by day 3 everybody is more focused on doing that, than on processing all the different topics. However, I think most of the relevant topics are covered, the teacher shows a lot of knowledge about digital marketing and the course is well structured. Additionally, the school is really nice and well located, plus is a great place to get to know cool people. Overall it's a great option but I would try to do the part-time instead.

  • Max  User Photo
    Max • Jon • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I already work as a designer and just needed to learn a bit more about UX. Just wanted to let others know that I enrolled in their part time 10 week course and found it quite useful. Of course this is not a comprehensive career switching course and only provides a good starting point (you will need to do much more in the future on your own or through other programs), but it provides good basic knowledge about the field and skills needed.

    I do not regret enrolling and think that the course helped me get a boost in my design career. Not life-changing, but the course is pretty good.

     
  • Elson Tran  User Photo
    Elson Tran • Designer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm 6 business days removed from the course and I have an onsite interview with Amazon on 10 days after I graduated for a Designer Role. I am going through a recruiting agency but it was the resume rebuild that the outcomes program helped me with and my portfolio that was also designed in class that helped set me up. I received some prep info from the recruiting agency; after hearing what the company is looking for, I am confident that I have learned the skills needed from taking UXDI course. The next step is the interview process and making sure that I articulate my process clearly, something that is also taught as part of the immersive course. GA stresses so much how important networking is, and through networking is how I was able to get this onsite interview, I didn't wait till after I was done with the course before networking. I started early and told friends, family and anyone else who asked "what are you up to these days" about how I was going to a design school and where I wanted to be after. So when this role became available, a friend of mine contacted me and told me they have a opening for the role. Granted I didn't get hired or had the onsite yet, what happened here alone is a testament to how important networking is and that is why GA stresses it so much. 

    *Disclosure* I'm a very optimistic person, trying to find the lessons in every thing negative that happens so take that into consideration when reading my reviews. 

    About the school itself, I had a great experience attending the course. I made new friends with talented people that I still keep in contact with. I was fortunate enough to be able to take time away from working so I can fully immerse myself into the course. I understand that there are bills that need to be paid but it is also a huge load of stress of your shoulders if you don't have to worry about working at the same time since the immersive course is a 9-5 kind of thing, I usually stayed a bit later and some days till 8pm when they kick me out working on projects and other things. 

    The instructor we had was very knowledgable and experienced, he was able to answer every question we had in a manner that he didn't just hand us the answer, but asked thought provoking questions that would lead us to the answer. Theres an instructor assistant who was also very knowledgeable and welcome as well that we were able to bounce ideas off of. Their feedback was also constructive and provided valuable insight. They're not here to hold your hand but they will support you when and where they can. 

    Some other benefits is that you could attend any workshop that was hosted at GA for free, and there was also a hackathon at the end of the program. It was a great experience working under pressure with people you've never met before. 

    I feel like I benefitted from this course a lot and that it set me up to make the transition into the design field. The amount of work you put is what you'll get out of it to be honest, if you decide to put in as little as possible then of course you're going to benefit as little as possible. As RW3 would say, "the separation is in the preparation!" If you plan on taking this course, my advice is do everything as early as possible! If my resume wasn't ready to go right after I graduated then I wouldn't have been able to send it to the recruiter for my interview thats coming up. I also decided to code my own website using boot strap so that was a learning curve and took some time to polish as well (I'm still not done polishing it) but I started 2 weeks before class ended. 

    The only con I have is that its tough to schedule a time with the Outcomes Person. Theres only 1 person for Seattle and she's awesome but getting that individual help takes some time. When I realized that this was going to become an issue, I started scheduling multiple 1on1s with her way ahead of time. 

    Good Luck! 

  • Harry Stirling  User Photo
    Harry Stirling • Co-founder at Bunk • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    General Assembly taught me enough to co-found and lead the technical development of my startup. Having tinkered around with some web development during uni (although studying Geology) I'd always been interested in coding but didn't have the confidence to make a career change. 

    Fast forward a couple years to when I met Johnnie, a TA(teaching assistant) at GA. I hadn’t heard of General Assembly at this point and within a few minutes of speaking with him, I felt like the ‘dark arts’ of coding were being demystified and providing me with the confidence to look into these boot camps/courses more seriously. 

    After a couple weeks of research and visiting a few different academies I felt that GA was the best of the lot with the most friendly team and well-varied curriculum for web development. I applied and was accepted after some code challenges and interview.

    Day 0 - We meet the instructors, outcomes team and my classmates. WDI(Web Development Immersive) begun and I’d quit my job, oh sh1t this is real! 

    The beginning of the course is there to create the foundations of your development knowledge with HTML, CSS and plain JavaScript with libraries like jQuery covered. It’s structured well with daily assignments + morning reviews that happen throughout the course and is a great time to see a different solution or get help on your own.

    The middle of the course gets tough and found it really challenging though immensely rewarding as at the end of the day when your head feels it’s about to explode you begin to do stuff second nature that earlier on in the course you could not.  The group project also in this period was so much fun and the first glimpse into what working in a professional environment would be like albeit with your friends.

    The end of the course like the middle was testing though at this point the training from the instructors kicks in. We’re not taught to learn the syntax or how quick you can write a function but how to problem solve, It’s perhaps the most crucial attribute a developer needs.


    The final project which is normally done individually, I teamed up with a couple of friends that made it more fun but challenging as we dealt with git conflicts, way more code to ship and break. However writing our API ’s, integrating authentication and front-end logic became easier and we actually ended up with something that people couldn’t tell it’s been done by juniors (well at least someone not looking at our code haha).

    1 - 3 students get picked to become a TA in the next course and for my cohort, I was lucky enough to have been chosen, which contributed twofold to my coding knowledge as when a student you see your problem vs a TA who sees the classes problems! Though not only my coding at this point was improved, my teaching/management skills that I’d ultimately be applying in my startup today called Bunk. If you're on the course and thinking about applying for the TA, go for it. 

    Something I’ve not mentioned (in this rambly story) is the social aspect to GA. It was loads of fun with lots of time spent at the Black Horse || leman street tavern. Also due to the intimacy/circumstances of the course (we’ve quit our jobs to follow this idea), there's a real common ground for everyone to get along and am still chatting with classmates today. 

    All in all the curriculum element was challenging but completely worth it. I was there to learn and what you put in with these sorts of things is what you get out. The support staff and instructors were awesome both when a student and TA, I couldn’t recommend this place highly enough for those thinking about becoming a web developer.

  • UX Designer
    - 9/26/2018
    Cheer Huang  User Photo
    Cheer Huang • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My background is in Anthropology and Architecture, and I have recently accepted an offer from a tech consultancy. It took me a lot longer (about 6 months) to get my first UX job compared to my classmates (some of them started working right after the course, and the majority got a job within 3/4 months). 

    The course was very well structured with a mixture of lectures and practical tasks (done individually and in groups). Some of my classmates felt the topics were not as indepth, but as a complete beginner, I felt there was a good amount material to learn. It was a close-knit learning/working environment so by the end of the course, we got to know each others pretty well. We still meet up once in a while and would like to do it more often. 

    The amount of career and personal development support suprised me. We received talks about insights of UX industry in London, tips on job search, and teamworking etc. In fact, teamworking is a major focus at GA, we worked in teams, we excercised agile ritual such as daily stand-ups and team retrospectives. In the first few weeks, we also had fun excercises that promote teamwork. 

    Generally speaking, it was a very positive experience at GA and I'm proud to be part of the community. It was the best investment I have ever made so far. 

  • Mark Winter  User Photo
    Mark Winter • Product Designer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I studied at General Assembly from September 2017 through December of the same year. Education aside for a brief moment, I want to talk first of all about the class experience. The way the course is structured allows you to make friends very early on. As it continues you're shuffled around to get to know as many people in as great a depth as possible. It's a really welcomed consideration to the course itself.

    The learning is done in the format of both lectures and practical work. After a lesson in Card Sorting (for example) you'll go away and prepare and work on an actual card sort with users for a piece of work that ends up in your portfolio. This type of learning, I find extremely beneficial as it lays the foundation in the theory and solidifies your knowledge by practicing it. In the environment of learning alongside your peers that you're forming relationships with, you're all able to learn at your own pace as well as help and be helped.

    On a personal level, I experienced some problems outside of GA during my second week. They made it extremely clear to me that everything would be ok and they would do everything they could to support me through what was a difficult period during the course. This is something I'll always be eternally grateful for with them.

    In January 2018 I was lucky enough to become the Teacher's Assistant for the latest set of students to enter the programme. To be given the chance to pass my knowledge on to a new group of individuals was something I was incredibly excited for. Having just gone through the program myself and knowing GA had acknowledged me as someone they felt could do the job, I honestly felt so proud I can't put it into words. The cheesiness of the sentiment really has no words.

    For the 8 months, I was with GA (3 months education, 3 months working, 1-month interim, 1-month job support) I've developed such a great sense of achievement, unlike anything I've experienced before in other forms of education that rely on a graded system. GA provides something far more meaningful than a letter on a piece of paper. I've left their system of education with a portfolio to be proud of. Skills to find work and succeed in interviews. Ongoing support throughout my career. Encouragement to stay involved and iterate me to become as great a UX Designer as I want to be.

    3 weeks after I'd finished my employment with General Assembly I was approached by a company to become the latest addition to their team. The staff has consistently checked in on me to see how things are going all the while remembering just where I am and the point I was at when we last spoke. This level of personal attention I find staggering.

    In short, I can only thank General Assembly for everything they've helped me to achieve over this past year. It really has been the greatest year of my life to date.

  • Good experience
    - 8/31/2018
    James  User Photo
    James • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I honestly did learn a lot at GA, and I felt like without it, I would not have made as much progress as quickly as on my own. My instructors were great, and everything went relatively smoothly. However, 12 weeks is not enough time to learn everything, even things they teach you in class you will have to probably go over on your own afterwards in more depth. But they definitely do a good job at getting you exposed and learning to write fullstack apps. My main gripe with GA is the career services/outcomes team. There isn't much help from them in getting a job. They just kind of go over your resume and cover letter over and over and over. There is a showcase after you graduate where you can show off to employers, but no one from my cohort got hired (we had some very bright/talented people too) so I don't know how effective it is. Not too many employers showed up as well. So you are pretty much on your own for the job hunt, and it sucks because the NYC tech market is hyper competitive (the most competitive after San Francisco) making it very hard to land that first job. TLDR: GA is a good program to get you started on your journey to becoming a developer, but definitely expect to keep improving and learning (and relearning) after the course is over, and don't expect much help from them with getting a job besides resume/cover letter tailoring.

  • Olga  User Photo
    Olga • UX/UI designer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    As a UI designer with certain experience in the industry, I needed to keep up to date with the evolution of the profession, so I wanted to learn UX. I've tried several online-courses, that were just about learning theory. It didn't work for, I needed to find a course with a more practical approach.

    After studying different options (even in different cities through Europe) I've decided to go to GA. It was more expensive but way more impressive in terms of curriculum. Honestly, that was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

    Why?

    • 4 UX projects during 2,5 months (amazing practical experience!).
       
    • Career support - a crazy amount of helpful tips&tricks for a job search.
       
    • More and more companies are amazed by GA alumni and come back to GA to hire cool guys while they are still juniors.
       
    • GA is not just another school, GA is a family. They support their grads no matter how long ago they've graduated. Moving to another city with GA campus? Come and say hi! And get a career support in your new city. 
       
    • Great, interesting and highly motivated people. This a place where I met my friends.

    So now I'm in love with UX and I'm in love with GA. Highly recommend!

  • Isaiah Berg  User Photo
    Isaiah Berg • Student • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had a very positive experience as a student of General Assembly's Web Development Immersive. I came from no computer science background, and am doing a career transition out of the military in my mid-20s. I am in a unique position as I am using this course as a springboard into business school, and not full time employment. I still think I can offer some valuable feedback to the course. 

    Pros:

    • Cohort was about 15 students. Strong collaborative culture. As students, we ate lunch together just about every day and enjoyed good conversation outside of the hard work we were doing.
    • We had two excellent instructors who struck a good balance between us learning how to solve our own problems without wasting our time banging our heads against intractable problems. 
    • The technology stacks we focused on (HTML / CSS / Javascript / Mongo / Express / React / Node / Python / Postgres / Django / etc.) were all tremendously relevant and we got to apply them in our own projects. I learned the most through the projects and through through collaborating with fellow students. 

    Cons:

    If I had to pick a con, I would say that some of the career outcomes work (called Outcomes) had some issues with organization and communication at times. Utilizing Github there was sometimes a disconnect between the request and submission of documents for review, like a resume or cover letter. The fact that I mention this small thing should be an indication of how well run the program is overall.

    General Assembly gives you everything you need - you have to drive the car at the end of the day. I could not be more satisfied with my experience and hope to leverage what I have learned to pursue software technology entrepreneurship.

  • General Assembly
    - 8/8/2018
    Saba Shanaaz  User Photo
    Saba Shanaaz • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I completed my web development immersive course with General Assembly. Mornings at GA were always interactive following up with daily stand ups which involved challenges faced by each individual during projects or homework. This Web development immersive course was set in Agile environment followed by the interactive lessons throughout the course to overcome any issues and kept up-to-date with the latest technologies and current demand in market. The course is quite challenging and fast-paced as I had to build all projects in one week time-frame which developed my personality in ways I did not imagine. I am now ready more than ever to accept whatever challenges come in my way. The instructor and teacher are very helpful. I definitely recommend taking up the course with General assembly. 

  • GA Changed My Life
    - 7/28/2018
    Anonymous  User Photo
    Anonymous • UX Designer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     

    I was extremely nervous to make a career change in my late-30s, but GA's User Experience Design Immersive program was exactly what I needed to help position myself in my new career in UX. 

    The coursework is voluminous, tough, and thorough. And my instructor was top-notch. He was clear with his delivery of the material, thoughtful in his dealings with the students, and provided guidance after the program finished.

    GA's staff was genearlly friendly and did their best to make the students happy throughout the course. The Outcomes program (basically career counseling) was instrumental in my process of finding a job once I graduated. Lots of valuable information and availability to one-on-one conversations with the Outcomes team members. 

    I would absolutely recommend GA and its UXDI course to anyone considering making the jump into UX.

  • Kyle Lawrence  User Photo
    Kyle Lawrence • Business Systems Analyst • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Definitely not a horrible course, in fact if you are willing to work real hard afterwards then you can really get a lot out of it.

    Pros: broad content, smooth delivery through Zoom, Github, and slack

    Cons: lacks depth, no feedback on final project, no post-program career advice/job support

    A note on the cons: I'm sure that if (when) I ask for feedback and career advice I'll receive some, but I don't think that having to ask for these things is the standard that should be set at these private tech schools. There should be a standard, systematic way for each student to receive feedback and career advice. 

  • It worked for me
    - 6/8/2018
    Cat  User Photo
    Cat • UX Writer/Researcher • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I made the decision to attend General Assembly's UX Design immersive program because I was moving to Boston for personal reasons, and I wanted to take advantage of the transition to do a career 180 degree change. As a former social science academic with a ton of customer service experience, I felt that UX design would be a good fit and that I had a lot of potentially transferable skills, but no training in design, nor any exposure to working in a corporate setting.

    General Assembly really helped me make a successful transition into UX design, and the proof is in the pudding: after a 5-month job search, I found a job in UX that I absolutely love, full time with great benefits. My instructor gave her all, and I learned a TON. I have to also give a special shout-out the front lines staff at our campus, who go the extra mile every single day to make our GA experience enjoyable, fun, and full of pleasant surprises.  

    While the instructor was excellent and the curriculum took me where I needed to go in terms of a foundation in design thinking and methods, in my mind the real $$$ value of the program is in the Outcomes Support you get after you've finished the coursework. I think that it is more valuable for some than for others, but I was definitely one of the people who benefited immensely from it. The amount of support, advice, and even hand-holding at times that I received from my Outcomes officers was extraordinary, and almost certainly the reason I was able to get the job that I got.  

    To be fair, the GA immersive experience is not for everyone, and it requires A TON of work on your part to be successful, both during and after the actual program. It's also pretty expensive, so I recognize that I was extremely priviledged to be there in the first place. But I know that I wouldn't be where I am right now if I hadn't done GA, and I also have a wonderful network of friends and colleagues from the experience, plus a life-long professional community of alums to tap into in the future. 

    My advice to anyone considering GA is this: try to talk to a couple of people who have done the program you're interested in *with the instructor you would have.* So much of the success or failure here depends on whether you can jibe with the instructor, with whom you'll spend 9-10+ hours a day for 10-ish weeks. Make sure that the instructor is fully dedicated to helping their students succeed.    

  • Steve Davidson  User Photo
    Steve Davidson • Data Analyst • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall, a poor experience.

    The pre-work was useful in getting across the basics, but the none of the actual course work was related to any of the compulsory pre-work.

    Much of the interactive practical coding exercises were skipped over as the instructor focused heavily on mathematical theory. While understanding this is important,  it was not tied into the actual coding as well as it could have been, if at all, leaving me confused most of the time.

    We were asked to complete mid-course feedback, which was overall not very positive. General Assembly appeared to have delivered this feedback to the instructors immediately before the next class, resulting in a somewhat awkward atmosphere for the remainder of that lesson, which ended an hour early.

    There were a few occasions where GA would deliver beers and wine for students... which the instructors also participated in, leading to let's say a very relaxed atmosphere where not much learning took place. There were also issues with course producers leaving GA mid way through the course. This was not communicated very well. I was trying to get in touch with someone to find out about homework, and no one replied to any of my emails, or messages left on the course's slack channel (of which the course producers and instructors were participants). That not even the instructors would respond to a request for information did not sit well with me. 

    This course was good for teaching me how to use Stack Overflow and Code Academey - most of my learning took place there as the course provided code in Github was often full of errors that sometimes even the instructors did not know how to fix. In addition to this, the instructor would sometimes not know how to demonstrate code in practice (maybe why they spent so much time on mathematical theory?) so they reverted to teaching us how to do things in R - which was not what we signed up for.

    By the end of it, we were unable to submit the final assessments by the course end date, presumably because not enough people had managed to grasp the content due to its delivery. They added an extra two weeks for people to submit their final assessments via google hangout. The rubric for this was updated on the day the course was meant to finish, indicating the goal-posts were constantly changing for students right until the end.

    Feedback for assessments was not delivered at all throughout the course. I met with the course producer after the mid way feedback, and was told I should have been getting feedback, but then nothing came of this until after the course ended where I was told I would be getting everything after the final assessment was submitted. Not a good experience.

    Another comment about the calibre of training staff... There were two separate instances where I told the instructor I did not understand (so required help). In one instance, the instructor came to try and help me, but walked off without a offering a solution after he was unable to sort out the error message in the practice code. On a second occasion, he just walked away after I indicated I did not understand what we needed to do. (We had spent so much time on theory, I did not know how to code).

    I did meet with the course producer after submitting my mid course feedback, and felt my issues had been listened to and addressed, but by the end of it, things just reverted back to how they were beforehand, which was greatly dissapointing. They did offer to call me to talk through my end of course feedback, but I felt this would be a waste of time given how things reverted back to their old ways after the mid course feedback.

    Long story short, I would definitely NOT recommend this course to anyone who is looking to learn Python. You are best to do this on a website that offers this course for free, because that is what I ended up having to do anyway. 

  • Rachel Robles  User Photo
    Rachel Robles • Analyst • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    GA put together an intensive Data Analytics course that went through Excel, SQL, and Tableau in depth, as well as constructing effective presentations based on insights from data. The projects are hands on and give you a good understanding of each data tool. I personally have a background in Excel, so that portion of the class was a little slow for me, but the rest of the course really made it worth my time. There is no requirement to have any knowledge of Excel walking into the course, which could be a good thing for some. I think Excel is easy to pick up from tutorials on the internet, so I wish we had spent a little less time learning the fundamentals in Excel and more time on Tableau. Besides that, the teaching was great and they give you whatever help you need. There are a lot of times where the technology is faulty and it disrupts class because the display disconnects, etc. but the teaching in general is very effective. I got a lot out of the course!