general-assembly-logo

General Assembly

Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hong Kong, Houston, London, Los Angeles, Melbourne, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Online, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Raleigh, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Singapore, Stamford, Sydney, Washington

General Assembly

Avg Rating:4.32 ( 420 reviews )

General Assembly offers short and long courses in web and mobile development, product management, data science and more, online and in-person, across 15 campuses in 4 continents. Focusing on the most relevant and in-demand skills across data, design, business, and technology, General Assembly is confronting a skills gap through best-in-class instruction and providing access to opportunities in tech. General Assembly offers a breadth of different course offerings and classes range from full-time immersive courses for learners that want to switch to a new career, to part-time courses for learners that are looking to improve their career trajectory by acquiring a new skill set, and mentor-led online circuits for a more flexible way to acquire foundational skills.

To apply for an immersive bootcamp, applicants need to submit an online application, then connect with a General Assembly admissions representative who will evaluate whether the course is a fit for an applicant's experience and goals. Applicants then complete an admissions assessment to ensure they are prepared for the rigor of the curriculum. Once a student is accepted and has paid a down payment, their spot will be secured.

General Assembly career coaches work with students to create their career path, improve technical interview skills, and build a personal brand. Graduates can attend GA-hosted hiring events and meet hiring managers. The careers team partners with companies for course development and graduate placement and helps companies stay competitive in today's digital landscape. Additionally, General Assembly has made a commitment to affordable and accessible education combined with an education-to-employment approach that helps to create a diverse talent pipeline.

In addition to long-form course offerings, General Assembly courses are also available as short form bootcamps (1-2 day workshops) as well as evening and weekend classes.

Recent General Assembly Reviews: Rating 4.32

all (420) reviews for General Assembly →

Recent General Assembly News

Read all (101) articles about General Assembly →
  • Data Analysis On-Demand

    Apply
    Data Science, SQL, Excel
    OnlinePart Time12 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    The best resource for a comprehensive foundation in data analysis. Acquire the context, practical know-how, and practice you need to confidently analyze data with the program global leaders rely on. Cover fundamentals, including framing questions, cleaning data, visualizing data, and communicating insights. This learning path is ideal for anyone who wants to bolster their analytical toolkit, including business analysts, marketers, product managers, entrepreneurs, and leaders building data-driven teams.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Scholarship
    No
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    No previous experience required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Analytics (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Data Science
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week9 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
      
    Tuition Plans
    Payment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Course is open to beginners. Familiarity with Excel is useful, but not required.
    Prep Work
    Approximately 3 hours of self-guided pre-work to complete prior to starting the course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science Immersive

    Apply
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $15,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Learn the tools and techniques you need to make better decisions through data, and land a job in one of the most sought after fields in tech. Create predictive models by learning to wrangle, analyze, and visualize data from our team of professional Data Scientist instructors. Develop hard skills like Unix, Git, SQL, Python, machine learning, and modeling techniques while creating your own data projects and applications. Take advantage of the growing demand for data and use the guidance and resources of our in-house career coaches to help you find work. Find more information at https://generalassemb.ly/education/data-science-immersive. Questions or want to chat with our team -- email seattle_admissions@generalassemb.ly or call (206) 258-7033.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic SQL query knowledge/scripting and familiarity with Python required. Strong familiarity with math and descriptive statistics required. 2-5 years of experience as an analyst is ideal. Macs are strongly preferred.
    Prep Work
    Approximately 40 hours of self-guided pre-work to complete prior to starting the course.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science (Part Time)

    Apply
    Data Science, Python
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    20
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Use Python to mine datasets and predict patterns. Build statistical models -- regression, classification, clustering -- that generate usable information from raw data. Master the basics of machine learning and harness large datasets to forecast what’s next.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available include Meritize and Climb
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Familiarity with math and statistics and Python syntax/programming fundamentals is required.
    Prep Work
    Approximately 20 hours of self-guided pre-work to complete prior to starting the course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Digital Marketing On-Demand

    Apply
    Digital Marketing
    OnlinePart Time4 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    The best resource for a comprehensive foundation in modern marketing. Craft and launch effective multi-channel brand, acquisition, and retention campaigns with the program that global leaders rely on. Dive into marketing fundamentals, including segmentation, customer insight, CRM, analytics, and automation. This learning path is ideal for both experienced marketers updating their skills and non-marketers expanding their knowledge.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Scholarship
    No
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    No previous experience required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Digital Marketing (Part-time)

    Apply
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Skills & Tools Gain proficiency in social advertising and use Facebook, Google AdWords, and Google Analytics to find meaning in user behavior. Production Standard Develop and plan a campaign driven by data and paid‐search strategies — and measured by key performance indicators. The Big Picture Become a driver of your company's bottom line by using cutting‐edge techniques and platforms to market products and acquire users.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available include Meritize and Climb
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Front-End Web Development

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Boston
    Skills & Tools Use HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, jQuery, GitHub, and Sublime in concert. HTML, CSS, and JavaScript websites Production Standard Build a fully responsive, interactive website that stands apart from the usual templates. Master technical vocabulary The Big Picture Understand how a skillful mix of programming and layout powers the web we see – and how teams collaborate to create it.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available, including  Pave and Climb
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Front-End Web Development (Part-Time)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Front End
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $4,500
    Class size
    22
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Use HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, GitHub, and Sublime in concert. Build a fully responsive, interactive website that stands apart from the usual templates. Understand how a skillful mix of programming and layout powers the web we see – and how teams collaborate to create it.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Payment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner Course is open to beginners. Some familiarity with HTML, CSS and/or JavaScript is useful but not required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • HTML, CSS, and Web Design Circuit

    Apply
    HTML, User Experience Design, CSS
    OnlinePart Time14 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,250
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    This course enables students to create a well-designed site with the user in mind, and master the technical vocabulary to communicate ideas to designers and engineers. Students will learn how to quickly translate their ideas into functional, stylized websites for personal or business purposes using HTML, CSS, responsive web design and design fundamentals. This course is offered on a flexible schedule to suit your time commitment. You'll receive useful feedback from a mentor who has extensive professional and academic knowledge of the field. By the end of the program students will have built a full functioning website to use as part of a portfolio.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Tuition Plans
    Most students choose to pursue a 3-part payment plan with a deposit of $250 and then 2 additional installments of $500.
    Refund / Guarantee
    Please see our course catalogue: http://bit.ly/2c6WT3t
    Scholarship
    No
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    No previous experience required.
    Prep Work
    1-2 hours pre-course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • iOS Development (Part-time)

    Apply
    Mobile, iOS, Swift
    In PersonPart Time12 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    N/A
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City
    Bring together Swift, Xcode, the iOS SDK, and GitHub in work with third-party APIs. Construct a native iPhone or iPad app that loads on a mobile device, stores data locally and connects to larger networks. Gain a real understanding of how concepts for iOS applications translate into user-tested, feature-rich prototypes that can ship to the App Store.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Financing available through Earnest  Climb  Affirm or Pave.
    Tuition Plans
    Payment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • JavaScript Circuit

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $1,250
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Master the skills required to create dynamic, interactive user experiences with the popular and powerful programming language, JavaScript. This course is offered on a flexible schedule to suit your time commitment. You'll receive useful feedback from a mentor who has extensive professional and academic knowledge of the field. By the end of the program students will have built a full functioning website to use as part of a portfolio.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Scholarship
    No
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    No previous experience required.
    Prep Work
    1-2 hours pre-course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • JavaScript Development (Part-time)

    Apply
    Git, JavaScript, Front End
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $4,500
    Class size
    22
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Learn to code in JavaScript, the native language of the web used by developers the world over. Build a single-page web app that persists user data and connects to services like Twitter and Facebook via APIs. Learn the fundamentals of object-oriented programming while receiving support from industry experts and a community of peers.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition Plans
    By application
    Refund / Guarantee
    $0
    Scholarship
    By application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Familiarity with HTML and CSS is required. Some exposure to JavaScript is useful, but not required. Macs are preferred.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Product Management (Part-time)

    Apply
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Guide a product through its lifecycle via lean methodologies like Agile, market research, UX, and financial modeling. Create a roadmap, business model canvas, MVP, key metrics, personas, wireframing, and a stakeholder management plan. Grow capable of launching viable, market‐ready products that anticipate user needs by making tough decisions and working with stakeholders.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Financing available 
    Tuition Plans
    Payment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Python Programming (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    15
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Discover why professionals ranging from analysts to web developers rely on Python programming to excel in their work. Dive into fundamental concepts and techniques, and build your own custom web or data application. Tap into the demand for Python programming skills, and translate new knowledge into career gains. Our dynamic coursework is designed by industry experts to align with today’s employer demands.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Tuition Plans
    By application
    Refund / Guarantee
    $0
    Scholarship
    By application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    No prerequisite knowledge required
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • React Development (Part-Time)

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    15
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Tuition Plans
    By application
    Refund / Guarantee
    $0
    Scholarship
    By application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    HTML, Python, JavaScript, Django, SQL, Rails, CSS, React.js, Front End, Ruby
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $14,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Your best course for career transformation. Our award-winning program, expert instructors, dedicated career coaches, and 19K+ hiring partners get grads hired at A-list companies.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Financing options available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Software Engineering Immersive - Remote

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $14,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Your best course for career transformation. Our award-winning program, expert instructors, dedicated career coaches, and 19K+ hiring partners get grads hired at A-list companies.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Flexible financing options available
    Tuition Plans
    Available - discuss with your Admissions Representative.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Software Engineering Immersive - Remote (Flex)

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $14,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Your best course for career transformation. Our award-winning program, expert instructors, dedicated career coaches, and 19K+ hiring partners get grads hired at A-list companies.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Flexible Financing available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • User Experience Design (Accelerated 1 Week)

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time40 Hours/week1 Week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Melbourne, Seattle
    This is an accelerated version of our User Experience Design part-time course - condensed into one week. Use industry standard tools such as Sketch and Invision to prototype and wireframe design solutions. Put together a full suite of UX documentation for a digital product, from user personas and wireframes to interactive prototypes. Connect and convey how insights into customer behavior -- from problems to solutions -- can optimize any product or service. Find more information at https://generalassemb.ly/education/user-experience-design. Questions or want to chat with our team -- email seattle_admissions@generalassemb.ly or call (206) 258-7033.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Course is open to beginners.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • User Experience Design Immersive

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week9 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $14,950
    Class size
    22
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Attend classes designed and taught by some of the industry’s best UX designers. Apply your UX skills across five class projects and build a working portfolio. Become an apprentice or junior UX designer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $500
    Tuition Plans
    Payment plans available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • User Experience Design On-Demand

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $950
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Seattle, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    The best resource for a comprehensive foundation in user experience (UX) design. Create intuitive digital experiences that solve user problems and meet business demands with the program that global leaders rely on. Dive into fundamentals, including user research, prototyping, personas, affinity mapping, and wireframing. This learning path is ideal for visual designers transitioning into the UX field, software engineers and product managers who work with UX designers, and entrepreneurs looking to build customer-focused strategies.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Scholarship
    No.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    No previous experience required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • User Experience Design (Part-Time)

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week10 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,000
    Class size
    20
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Use industry standard tools such as Sketch and Invision to prototype and wireframe design solutions. Put together a full suite of UX documentation for a digital product, from user personas and wireframes to interactive prototypes. Connect and convey how insights into customer behavior -- from problems to solutions -- can optimize any product or service.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partners available include Meritize and Climb
    Tuition Plans
    Payment Plans Available
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Course is open to beginners.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Visual Design (Part-time)

    Apply
    Design
    In PersonPart Time4 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,000
    Class size
    22
    Location
    Los Angeles, Boston, New York City, London, Washington, Online, Atlanta, Singapore, Melbourne, Denver, Chicago, Dallas, San Diego, Stamford, Phoenix, Orlando, Houston, Seattle, Detroit, Miami, Raleigh, Minneapolis, Austin, Sydney, San Francisco
    Apply Photoshop’s powerful functions to digital product design. Start with an idea and a moodboard: finish with a production‐ready mockup of a responsive webpage. Grasp how effective visual communication — from font pairings to style tiles — helps translate compelling ideas across any team, in any field.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $250
    Financing
    Lending partners available - please contact our admissions team for more details.
    Tuition Plans
    By application
    Refund / Guarantee
    $0
    Scholarship
    By application
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Course is open to beginners. Some familiarity with Photoshop or Adobe CC is useful, but not required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Anonymous • UX Mobile Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have to admit I was initially skeptical of leaving my current job and committing to the User Experience Design Immersive, looking back, I am so glad I did. It's a big deal to decide to leave what is familiar, have little to no financial support, and be open to something that you don't know will work out, that's why the staff at GA is wholly committed to help you "do what you love". It's a mantra that we've all heard before, but in my experience at the Atlanta campus, it truly underlies every facet of the program. The friendships, skills, and networks that I have created through General Assembly are invaluable, and continue to be a part of my ongoing sucess, even after the completion of the program. GA does a spectacular job of creating the right kind of opportunities for young professionals, career changers, or those just looking for something else. Not only do they expose you to the latest trends, software, and skills that are in demand, but they provide you with an additional support group to ensure that you are a part of that. Both students and staff are incredibly passionate, and driven.

  • Mark  User Photo
    Mark • Web and Interactive Experience Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I went to General Assembly when I realized that I was ready for a big career shift and I was going to need some help. I was beginning the process of switching careers from an actor on Broadway to a role in the tech industry as a web developer. I am incredibly grateful to the entire team at GA for their help and support on my journey. First and foremost, GA's teaching staff are not just great educators, but also professionals currently working in the industry. Their knowledge stems from a deeper understanding of how you will actually use these technologies in an day to day working environment. As a result, I never felt like I was being taught something that wouldn't be relevant. They were all passionate about the material and had clearly taken time to prepare before the class. I am forever grateful for the teachers I had during my time at GA. 

    The second thing about my experience at GA that I cannot praise enough is their outcomes team. One of the biggest problems I had with my undergraduate experience was that I felt like I was educated on what to do once I had the job I was seeking but there was no help or real hands-on training or support for how to get the job. GENERAL ASSEMBLY DOES THIS SO WELL! Their team worked with us very early on in the course and for months after I had graduated. Having people actively sharing your resume, supporting you, submitting your work, and working on your behalf who know you personally is so valuable. And they aren't just helping you find the job but educating you on how to improve your resume, interview techniques, cover letters and more. This is what puts General Assembly ahead of so many other schools that offer web development courses. 

  • Change of career
    - 8/20/2017
    Jonathan S.  User Photo
    Jonathan S. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enrolled in the WDI of GA because I wanted to learn how to create websites. In the 3 months I was with them, the instructor taught us everything we needed to know and more. GA does a spectacular job of providing support to its students and creating a fun and lively ambience for students to learn. I highly recommend the course to anyone who wants to learn web development.

  • GA graduate
    - 8/17/2017
    Alice Tang  User Photo
    Alice Tang • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The course is very well structured and challenging. GA have the best instructors and the best supporting staff, they make the learning experience so much fun. I learned so much in such a short period of time, and I enjoyed every moment of the course.

  • Corina Seeto  User Photo
    Corina Seeto • National eCommunications Manager • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I've worked in the digital industry for 15 years but was feeling a bit flat. I finally had the headspace (after having 2 kids) to start thinking about my career again and wanted to fill in the gaps and get up to speed.

    That was my intention... but what happened exceeded expectations.

    I had used the 'tools of the trade' before, and had even freelanced as a UX designer. But this course gave me a better understanding of the WHY, and HOW to turn all the bits of information into actionable insights and using that to inform the design process.

    It was challenging and empowering to break old habits and to focus so much energy on making sure you are solving the 'right' problem before allowing yourself to move into solution mode. Seeing classmates go through their own 'aha' moments was really interesting, as was the breadth of final presentations and hearing all the challenges and pivot moments. We had an extremely supportive group of teachers, teaching aids and classmates.

    Two months on, and I am loving my job. Applying the 'process' of UX to my current work has been immensely satisfying and achieving much better results. Instead of using the 'tools' in an ad hoc manner, I have the confidence to communicate the entire process as part of risk management and get more engagement from stakeholders. Instead of being reactive when somebody tells me they need a solution that does XYZ, I can use the UX language to find out more about the 'suspected problem' so we can move through the various stages to make sure we are solving the right problem before we even start thinking about the solution.

    I could go on and on. Suffice to say I loved the course and completely recommend it.

  • Product Manager
    - 7/22/2017
    Nigel Parker  User Photo
    Nigel Parker • Product Manager • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    A well run course, pitched primarily at the entry level for Digital Product Managers.  The presenter did a great job of presenting the key principles in a fresh and lively manner and illustrated many key points with some real world examples.  The class members were energetic, fun and made solid contributions to learning for everyone.  Final, group project added an extra dimension to learning and it was practical and fun.  A great way for me to get a refresh on some key Product Management principles and upskill on more digitally focussed areas. 

  • WDI in NYC
    - 6/7/2017
    Anna R.  User Photo
    Anna R. • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took WDI from March to June of 2015. I previously had a job in community relations, but felt uninspired by my day-to-day (I just hated it). I tried out some free resources on Codecademy and applied to several bootcamps. After checking a few out, I liked the campus and curriculum at General Assembly the best.

    About two years later - no regrets. I love programming, and GA gave me what I needed to do this as a career! My teachers were fantastic, passionate, and gifted with coding and educational chops. It was VERY stressful at times, but I loved working together with my classmates to get to "the next level," so to speak.

    My only note is that I had a job lined up before graduation, so I don't have experience with the career coaching so much.

  • Alice  User Photo
    Alice • Online marketing manager • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the Data Analytics part-time course in London. The program consists of learning the process of data analysis and practical skills to perform data analysis.

     

    Nowadays for online business, marketing & data analysis tend to become a one-person job as campaigns can be optimised in real time based on their performances. This program gives you a set of skills that aren't taught at the university if you studied broad subjects like marketing or business.

    The theoretical part was very useful for me to understand what is the best approach before to do a specific analysis. How to prepare the business questions and choose a data set.

    Then we did many exercises using Excel, SQL, Tableau to learn how to leverage those tools to make the analysis and provide great data insights.

    What makes me satisfied is that I could use at work the next day what I had learned at night. 

    I also met interesting, passionate and motivated people. In my group there was people from many industries (Finance, online business, offline business ...).

     

  • Jack Challis  User Photo
    Jack Challis • Director, Knowledge Management • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Great Product Management course for a med device product manager. Learned enough to understand how I could improve my job today and where I could keep improving.

  • Harry Peppitt  User Photo
    Harry Peppitt • Digital Marketing Analyst • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Data Science course at GA was excellent!

    As anyone who has any prior knowlege of the field would expect, the curriculium is quite broad, and as a result the part-time course does not go in depth in any areas, but rather takes you through the basics in as many areas as it can in 10 weeks. I imagine the full-time course would provide a more conclusive education, but i can't really comment on that.

    Even though I would not recommend the part-time course to people looking for a conclusive education, it was invaluable to me and will be to people looking to explore the options available in the Data Science profession. The part-time course does not pretend to give you all the tools you need to succeed in the industry. Instead, GA has clearly realised that would be cramming too much into too little time, and have structured the course to give you a good introduction to each area of Data Science and provide you with enough information to get you started on your own educational journey.

    This course will provide you with the basic knowlege of tools, concepts and processes needed to get started with your own exploration and an excellent environment to ask questions and network with like-minded professionals.

    I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in getting started in Data Science, but doesn't know where to start and what's involved.

  • Mary Sadanowicz • Product Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I made the switch to product design after contemplating the career move for a couple years. I was nervous about making a change, and put it off until I exhausted all other options. I completed the full-time UX design immersive course because I wanted to get more formal training and experience in the field, in a short time frame. 

    Pros: GA stood out to me because of the timeframe (only 10 weeks!) and career coaching (which is amazing). I had also been to a few of their events and shorter bootcamps and enjoyed those. Having an in-person experience was important to me because UX design is so collaborative, you're working with tons of people and different teams, so an added bonus was the diversity of our class and learning how to work with a lot of different people. I think the class was super practical and hands-on, we started doing real UX work day 2. The main instructor was amazing, I don't think I would have had as much success if she wasn't the instructor. 

    Cons: I would have liked more focus on the engineering collaboration with design, since handing off and working with engineers is such a huge component of a UX or Product Designer's day-to-day. I think we did a pretty good job covering the basics and most important methods and tools, but in the short time frame we didn't get to develop a super large toolbox. 

  • Francis A DaCosta
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    First off, registration is relatively easy. Via email and eventually on a call with a counselor, unless there is a word they otherwise prefer, who was friendly, encouraging, and knowledgable. Further email communications were responsive and efficient enough.

    Starting the course: I was a little nervous, since I hadn't done any real continuing education in quite a while, but from the first class I felt like had settled right in and would have a lot of fun learning again. Our instructor was (is!) smart, fun, energetic, and open to any and all interruptions and questions in the spirit of a reasonably free-flowing learning environment.

    Overall, the material was organized and delivered at what I think was a proper pace: ideas building on previous lessons, never jumping too far ahead, and each new point related to the previous work. Round about the midway point I started to get overwhelmed, which is natural from time to time, and my instructor read that immediately and assured me that I was doing fine. In fact, we were reminded from the beginning that our learning would not necessarily be a linear thing and that was to be expected.

    By the end, I'd met my stated goals for the 10 week bootcamp-style course and am happy with the results. I even made 5 new friends (it was a small class this time around!) and we got a lot done.

  • User design
    - 4/25/2019
    Flora Ho
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    staff was great especially teaching assistant. However, duration was too short.

  • Peter Petrzala • Senior Graphic Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have been in graphic/visual design for 8+ years of my career. I know the ins and outs of it and I know I'm pretty good at it. However, I knew I wanted to pivot my career. I was tired of being a pixel pusher, and I wanted a bit of a change. UX really is the future, and so after a lot of conversations and preparation, I decided to register for the parttime UX Design course. It took place every Tuesday and Thursday evening, from 6:30 - 8:30 PM, for 3 months. 

    Luckily, I live in Midtown so the commute wasn't the worst, but traffic absolutely sucks when you're in a rush to go right after work. I work until 6 PM, so I definitely had to move it. Luckily, I was late maybe once the entire time. It was an easy commute otherwise.

    The course itself was laid out very well. I will sincerely say, I enjoyed my experience with the General Assembly. I learned SO MANY new things over the three months, but it also allowed me to pinpoint areas in my career where I've already used UX principles without realizing it. You basically start from the very beginning of the process, all the way to the very end: problem statements, user interviews and personas, competitive analysis, user flows and sitemaps, wireframes, and prototypes. I would say 2/3 of the time, you're learning more about the UX research principles, and 1 month is dedicated more to the actual design process, such as wireframing and prototypes. One of the biggest benefits for me was learning how to take the data from interviews and user testing and actually apply it to my product. You learn that with UX design, the design strategies you start to implement, are data-driven and done for a reason, and not just because someone tells you to do it a certain way. 

    Our instructor was very well prepared and did a great job making sure we understood what she was teaching each evening. But she was more than just an instructor. She was our friend and our mentor. I lacked confidence and second-guessed my abilities, but she helped push and challenge me the entire time. In the end, she also pushed me to be more confident in my skills. She was definitely a driving factor to my excitement to take the course. 

    Be warned, the three months isn't easy. What I mean by that is it's a commitment. Some days you absolutely won't want to go to class, but you're paying to learn a wide range of skills that will benefit you in the long run. There were days that I had to drag myself to go. But I'm glad I did. I learned something new in every class. I also made some connections that I wouldn't have made otherwise.

    The biggest and only real negative is that as a part-time student, you do not get help with job placement or networking. Sure, General Assembly looks great on your LinkedIn, but that's sort of the extent of what you get besides a completion certificate. If you're absolutely brand new to UX or design, and you're looking to make it your career after completion, I would actually recommend maybe considering the full-time immersive program. They give you far more portfolio pieces in the end (3 to 5 versus just 1 in the part-time), and they do their best to help with job placement. I was really lucky that as a graphic designer, I was able to tweak some of my work to speak to the UX of a given project. Others may not have been as lucky.

    Costwise, it wasn't cheap either. The part-time program costs just under $4,000. They do offer some payment plans, which helped a lot. I don't think anyone can just drop that kind of money in one swoop. So it's not cheap, but I genuinely think you do get the value out of it. 

    Do I recommend the part-time program? Absolutely. If you have a job that you're not ready to give up yet, definitely consider the part-time course. I would not have learned as much as I did, or taken it as seriously if I had taken the online course. I, unfortunately, do not know anyone who has taken the online course, but I do know some who have taken the full-time course, and they got out of it exactly what they were wanting. I got out of the part-time course, exactly what I wanted too. 

  • Barbara Magallon • IT Engineer, Applications • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I have taken both the Front End Web Development and Javascript classes at the DTLA campus, with the goal of improving my skills for work. In both cases what I learned was from professionals active in the industry and the knowledge I obtained was immediately useful in my work environment. So I know that the promise of learning current, relevant information is absolutely true. Both classes I took were the part-time evening classes (twice a week, 3 hours per night for 10 weeks...plus homework). Even though the classes were part time, I learned quite a bit. In the Javascript development class, some programming knowledge plus html and css experience really helped.
  • Jordan Karp • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Data Analytics course with GA in the Summer of 2018, and loved it. I had already had quite a bit of Excel experience before I took the course, so I was a bit nervous that it would be repetitive - it wasn't. We dove into Excel much deeper than I had before, which provided an immediate boost at my current role. Then we learned SQL and Tableau and other ways to communicate and visualize data. Lots of hands on practice in class as well as homework in class. I now feel my confident in my ability using data tools, and know what I hope to learn from here. Thanks GA!

  • NP • Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    General Assembly is an extremely welcoming and supportive environment. The frontlines staff is incredibly warm, friendly, and helpful. And the job support is so so useful and helpful.

    As for the Web Development Immersive, I have so many good things to say about that program and the people who taught me.

    Justin is an amazing teacher. He is skilled, compassionate, challenging, fun, supportive & encouraging. He is a rare combination and I feel very lucky and grateful to have had the experience of taking a class from him. I thank him for creating a welcoming, judgement-free, and silly classroom that allowed for great personal growth and learning.

    Dalton was such a huge help throughout this entire process. He was always ready, willing, and happy to help in any way he could. When he taught us subject matter, he always presented material in a very clear, concise way. 

    These instructors and the staff/space at General Assembly made my experience what is was. I highly recommend visiting for yourself - meeting your teacher and getting a sense for the place and the people. I think it's what makes General Assembly stand out above the other options in the bay area. 

  • Aditi • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    GA gave me the most valuable experience for what user experience design is all about, not only with the coursework, but with the instructors (who went out of their way to be there for us) and the wonderful cohort that I learned so much from.

  • Jordan • UX Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    General Assembly's UX Design Immersive program was awesome. It was intense with a large workload. Do not go into this program thinking you will be able to have another job or have many other obligations. The bottom line in this program is you get out of it what you put into it, so if you are serious, this experience will be invaluable.

    I know other cohorts have had awesome teachers as well but Imani and Shalom were amazing instructors. They have become some of the best teachers I have ever had. They bring to the UX classroom a passion for relevant issues and topics that make everyone around them see how UX can and should be applied to all areas of life. I feel lucky to have been taught by Imani and Shalom. The people in my class are also amazing and helped harbor an open environment where everyone felt comfortable giving and receiving feedback, which is an essential skill when working in the real world.

    Cannot say enough good things about this program and school. Remember, if you are considering ANY boot camp do not go into it thinking a job will be handed to you, or that there will be someone there to hold your hand at all times. UX is about solving problems and you have to have the drive to do so. Like any school, this program will give you the tools to succeed if you are willing to put in the work.

  • Software Developer
    - 1/30/2019
    Mahima • Software Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'll start with the result - I finished a 3 month Web Development immerasive course in the Santa Monica Campus in April 2018. After following the recommendations and advice of the GA 'outcomes' team I had 3 offers by the end of May. 

    The course was intensive - many of us were new to programming, switching careers and required a lot of study. One thing that I underestimated was how much I had to prepare BEFORE I started the course. One recommendation to all considering this program is to do some self learning beforehand. GA has wonderful tools to get you started. Their pre-work is awesome in itself to get you familiarized with HTML and CSS. Looking back, I would've been more confident at the end of the course had I focussed on learning javascript prior to starting. 

    GA is very invested in its students not just during the course but after too.The outcomes team is excellent and following their methods landed me in a good spot. They also have a yearly (I think) 'reverse career fair' event where you present your work in a fair sort of setting and companies are invited to talk to you. This is what got me 2 of the 4 interviews I had. 

  • Mark • Front End Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    General Assembly's Web Development Bootcamp in San Francisco was a very positive experience for me. I had Brock and Kenny as my instructors, and they were excellent. If I ever approached either of them with a problem, they wouldn't settle until they figured it out, and were always patient and supportive. You have to put in the work though, because they want to see that you are putting in a effort to figure out the issue yourself.

    I self studied for about 8 months prior to starting the course, and I feel that this really prepared me for the intensity of the immersive. I had the luxury of studying part-time while I was still in college getting my degree in Biology, and I had realized I wanted to switch careers before graduating.

    In all honesty, the course will be rough if you come in with no experience, but it is definitely doable and shouldn't determine whether you choose to do it or not. Learning something new everyday and applying it is no easy feat, and immersing yourself into web development before the course will definitely help you. You also have to realize that your learning doesn't stop once the course concludes either. Software development is a constant learning process, to quote my instructor Kenny, you have to ABC. (Always Be Coding).

    My career coach Jonathan was also very supportive and really helped me succeed at General Assembly. He gave me great career insights throughout the whole program, and he really takes his time with each student to understand their background and interests, giving each student unique advice on how they should conduct their job search. He was also great at helping everyone develop the soft skills necessary to be successful during meet ups, phone screens, and interviews.

    I accepted an entry level Front End Developer position before I graduated the immersive, and couldn't have done it without the support of my instructors and career coach. General Assembly's program is great, but you also need to put in a massive amount of work to be successful. I sacrificed a ton of free time to learn this stuff before attending the program, so if I have one piece of advice for people on the fence about a bootcamp in general it's this: if you can survive 4+ months of self study for atleast 2 hours a day, and still have the drive to attend a program like this, do it 100%, it will really accelerate your learning process and you will succeed if you put in the work!

  • Jessica • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    To start - with any boot camp you do, what you get out of it is what you put into it. Most of these courses will have pros and cons, which you have to weigh before you choose one. But you absolutely have to put in the work or you won’t get as much out of it. Also - prepare yourself for what you’re getting into, read this.

    General Assembly’s full-time UX course is the only full-time in-person course that I know of in the L.A. area. It is also the most expensive option that I am aware of.

    But, since I could live with my parents if I stayed in Los Angeles, and wanted to do in-person because online learning isn’t a great option for me, and didn’t want a course that would take 6+ months to complete, and taking into consideration that I would likely end up working in Los Angeles, I went with GA.

     

    PROS:

    Professor: My professor, Gerrit, was awesome. He explained complex issues really well, was relaxed and calm in his demeanor, provided helpful feedback, and was always honest and transparent. He brought in explanations and rationales based on personal experience and was originally a graphic designer, which was nice since that is part of my background.

    Classmates: I loved that I was in an in-person program. My class was about 17 students, which at times felt like a lot, but I am ultimately grateful because I enjoyed the groups I was in, loved meeting and learning with new people, and overall was honored to be surrounded by people from such a wide variety of backgrounds, experiences, and ages. I enjoy surrounding myself with those who are different than me so I am continuously challenged.

    Job Support: While I just finished the program last week, I’ve enjoyed the openness and support from our Career Coach. He’s easy-going, readily available, easily reachable, and pushes you to utilize him for help. He helps with interview prep, portfolio, and cover letter review, and you can go to him for pretty much anything and if he can’t specifically help, he’ll go out of his way to find someone who can, which is amazing.

    Group projects and portfolio pieces: I also chose an in-person course so I could work on projects with a team since that is how it likely is in a job. I enjoyed my teammates and I gained valuable experience in learning how to balance personalities and differences of opinion. We got to work with a real client as our last project which is great as well since the other two are spec projects. One project is also solely focused on your portfolio, and GA puts a lot of emphasis on trying to make you as career ready as possible.

     

    CONS:

    Coding/Development: The primary gripe I have but didn’t negatively impact my experience, is that we don’t work on projects with developers. I don’t know if that is something other schools do, but it would be smart to pair up UX students with someone from the web development classes to work on a  project together. Designers have to work with developers in a professional setting, so it’s great practice to do that in a school setting.

    The course also didn’t cover any coding basics, but they give you $500 towards their courses, and you can take night classes and all day weekend classes to learn some basics, which is what I did. You can also do that for visual design, job prep and more. So I don’t see that as much of a negative, but some might.

    Price: GA is definitely the most expensive school I looked into, which means my loan is bigger, but the school could use to be a few grand cheaper. Here’s to hoping I just get high paying job!

    Admissions variations: While I naturally get neurotic when making major decisions so I spent weeks, sometimes even months, doing research on programs and UX in general before I chose this program. But many students don’t necessarily do that. Some students in my class were told different things by different admissions people, and there really needs to be consistency so all students are coming in equally prepared. For example, if students don’t have any visual design experience, they should be prepared for what they will need and spend time learning. Or if students want to work while doing a full-time program, they should be heavily warned against it - not casually warned against it.

    Interaction design: We didn’t spend too much time on learning the nitty-gritty of this, which, in a sense, makes sense since it’s only an 11-week course and UX is a massive discipline with many verticals. But a quick project on it would have been nice.

     

    LAST THOUGHTS

    Again - I spent a lot of time preparing myself for this course mentally and financially. I watched YouTube videos, read Medium articles, talked to folks who took the course before, and really made sure its was the right fit and the right decision. I come from a graphic design and marketing background, which was incredibly useful. So take what I am saying with a grain of salt.

     

    Some students in my class came from wildly different backgrounds, like acting, music and finance. If you feel like you need to take a few brief courses in things like visual design or the like to prep, it’s incredibly useful and just makes it so you won’t fall behind.

  • Chloe • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had an incredible experience in David Bickham's 1-week Data Analytics course. This course had the same curriculum as the full 10-week course and I loved being able to get so much content in that 1-week structure. David was an incredible instuctor who brought so many real world examples into the course. He made sure every single student was truly comprehending the course work. We had a nice small class size and it was really fun to get to see everyone's final projects because we really learned a ton. I used a data set from my work and was actually able to use my final project for my job. I highly recomment taking the Data Analytics course and was really happy with the depth of the curriculum and the instruction. Being a block from the beach was a pretty amazing location also.

  • Charles Anderson • QA Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Web Development Immersive at General Assembly was a wonderful experience. The curriculum was challenging but very rewarding. The environment and support I received was the best. The instructors really challenged me to get out my comfort zone, while providing great advice. The camaraderie built with my classmates and teacher is one of the few surprises. I still keep in contact with all of them and we still lean on each other for help. This class is worth it and a great way to jump start your career in tech.

  • Alonso • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was a journalist feeling unfulfilled in many areas of the profession and decided I needed a new passion to pursue. When I decided I wanted to go after web development, I got recommended GA and got a good vibe for what the full-time program offered. I quit my job and pulled the trigger and got introduced to some of the most challenging moments of my life but also some of the most dedicated instructors I have ever met.

    General Assembly gives you the resources to transform your life, but you have to put the work in. There are going to be some pretty frustrating moments, and you might have to be in the classroom from 9 to 9 to grasps the new concepts and get your work done, but it's worth it. 

    It definitely helps to start teaching yourself how to code before you sign up for the bootcamp. I would not recommend signing up with literally zero coding experience, that's just not prudent. It's a huge investment so you should prepare yourself as best as possible and be ready to put your "life" on hold for 12 weeks. You have to live at GA if you wanna succeed, at least if you were like me and were making this 180-degree change.

    Good luck!