learningfuze-logo

LearningFuze

Irvine, Online, Orange County, Orange County

LearningFuze

Avg Rating:4.99 ( 150 reviews )

LearningFuze offers a full immersion 12-week web development bootcamp and part-time hybrid online course in Irvine and Orange County, California. Students learn full-stack front and back end development including HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript/jQuery, PHP, MySQL, React, Git/GitHub, Node.JS, Bootstrap, and Firebase. Teaching includes problem-solving skills, essential workplace and interviewing skills, and programmer mindset training. The program doesn't require a degree or professional programming experience but does require that students have the right qualities as well as a dedication to learning and making a full-time commitment. Discounts, payment plans, and student loans which can also be used for living expenses are available. The full immersion program includes a 2-week prep class and a 12-week in-person course. After graduation, students will continue to be plugged in to LearningFuze through the alumni network and the included job-search assistance. LearningFuze also offers a part-time intro course on nights and weekends.

Recent LearningFuze Reviews: Rating 4.99

all (150) reviews for LearningFuze →

Recent LearningFuze News

Read all (32) articles about LearningFuze →
  • Full-Stack Web Development Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date February 17, 2020
    Cost$12,305
    Class size20
    LocationOrange County
    The 12 week full immersion program teaches those technologies most in need in the marketplace with a heavy focus on JavaScript and the LAMP stack to become full stack web developers at the conclusion. The curriculum has been honed to provide the technical skills to compete for a job in the marketplace and so that graduates can learn any chosen technology. In addition, the program focuses on the soft skills related to web development so that students not only have a polished portfolio of projects but the presentation and interview skills to effectively compete in the marketplace. In summary, students learn by doing with the support of instructors that have been successful commercial developers for many years.
    Financing
    Deposit$250 Seat Reservation
    Financing
    Lending partner available: SkillsFund and
    ISA (Income Share Agreement).
    Contact us for more information
    Tuition PlansPlease check our website for discounts. We also offer financing through Skills Fund and an ISA ( Income Share Agreement)
    Refund / GuaranteeProrated within the first week of the program
    Scholarship$12,305 average tuition after scholarships, discounts & credits are applied. Visit https://learningfuze.com/faq#/discounts for a complete list and contact us with any questions.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIt is important for students to have taken the initiative to learn on their own with specific recommendations outlined on the LearningFuze application pagehttp://learningfuze.com/full-immersion-application-guide/
    Prep WorkStudents that have reserved their seat take the Root Level 1 class for free as well as the Root JS class which is strongly recommended.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    February 17, 2020 - Orange County
  • Part Time Comprehensive Program

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,995
    Class size20
    LocationOrange County
    Live instruction with the option to participate in-person or remotely. A curriculum designed to make students development and employment ready based on the full immersion program. The Part-Time Comprehensive program is tailored to students who are looking for a part time alternative to the full immersion program, and is designed to deliver the same content and intensity of the full immersion program, but with the flexibility to take the program over time, in steps or “modules” based on their schedule. Additionally, students looking for skills and knowledge in a particular technical area but not necessarily all 5 modules can simply choose to take an individual module of their choice rather than each module sequentially. Students can also choose to specific modules or "Tracks" related to Front End Development (Modules 1,2 and 3), Back End Development (1,2 and 4) or Full Stack (1,2,3 and 4). The 5th module is optional for those students looking for career services. Simply apply and ensure you are ready to get the most out of the instruction. Of course, whether taking an individual module or two or working through all of the modules, the program is all about the practical skills of development by building numerous full scale projects in a work like environment led by seasoned instructors!
    Financing
    DepositNone
    Financing
    We offer financing through our lending partners SkillsFund
    Refund / Guarantee$500 discount for Module 1
    ScholarshipPlease check our website for scholarships
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo prior experience necessary
    Prep WorkRecommendations on each module
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Root JS Prep Class

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date February 1, 2020
    Cost$95
    Class size20
    LocationOrange County
    For those that want to learn the practical, fundamental skills related to JavaScript. It is a two week course 3 times per week and about 15 hours per week with work done at home. Students will learn the core concepts to make applications dynamic. It is for those that want to take that initial step toward understanding development using the key language of the web or the first step in becoming a developer. Students will learn loops, variables, functions and more.
    Financing
    Deposit0
    Tuition PlansSkills Fund, ISA (Income Share Agreement)
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelHTML and CSS
    Prep WorkSee LearningFuze part time courses
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    February 1, 2020 - Orange County Apply by January 31, 2020
  • Root Level I Prep Class

    Apply
    HTML, Git, CSS, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date February 1, 2020
    Cost$95
    Class size20
    LocationOrange County, Irvine
    Root Level 1 is a 2-week remote/in-class web development training program built for beginners that want to learn how to code and are considering a path to becoming professional developers
    Financing
    DepositNone required
    Financing
    Skills Fund, ISA ( Income Share Agreement)
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelSome understanding of HTML and CSS and ability to effectively navigate a computer
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    February 1, 2020 - Orange County

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • The Best
    - 4/27/2017
    Miles Bretall • Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    LearningFuze is fantastic. Dan, Scott, and Tim are all extremely invalueable resources on the coding journey. One of the coolest aspects of LFZ, aside from the teachers, is the overall environment. I couldn't have asked for a better group of students to work along side with. Everyone is positive and is always willing to help in any way they can. 

    This three month long program is by no means easy, but it is as rewarding as you can imagine. A couple months after the program was over, I was offered a position with a very nice salary as an entry level developer. In short, I went from a graphic designer to a web developer is just three months. Anyone who is looking for a career change needs to check this school out. 

  • Aaron Domingo  User Photo
    Aaron Domingo • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Out of all the info sessions that I went to, LearningFuze was the one that stood out to me. It was the one that seemed most natural. Rather than hearing a sales pitch about how easy it is to get a job after graduating, they talked about the reality of how one can get their foot in the industry. Because of this and the specific technologies they focus on, I decided to enroll in their full immersion web development program.

    Overall, I had an amazing experience at LearningFuze. My fellow students, instructors, and the class structure helped me solidify both the fundmentals of programming as well as new concepts that I was not familiar with before. The instructors are always available if you have any questions and the lectures are very engaging to allow for easier retention of the material being taught. Most, if not all, of what you learn are also put into practice consistently which I really liked. There are a good mix of both solo and group projects as well to give you an experience of working with both.

    It has been said quite a few times in the previous reviews, but I cannot stress this enough. You get out what you put in. I highly suggest someone considering enrolling in any coding bootcamp to really ask themselves the question of how much they want to become a programmer, because that ultimately dictates how much effort that person is going to be putting in. You will have everything you would need to be job-ready by the end of the full-immersion program, but it is still going to be up to you to retain all the information you have learned and to never stop coding.

    From my personal experience with LearningFuze, I would highly recommend them to anyone I know who is passionate at beginning their careers as a developer.

  • Alex Heo  User Photo
    Alex Heo • Web Developer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I do not have any experience in tech or programming, though I've always dabbled in computers (building computers, Raspberry Pi, very basic HTML and CSS websites), and I decided to apply to LearningFuze as my first step into changing careers. I can honestly say that I am very pleased with the decision that I made. The instructors here are great, very knowledgeable and patient. They can explain difficult concepts in easy to understand ways, and will always make the time to answer any and all questions to make sure you understand what you need to know. They are also great with modifying the curriculum from cohort to cohort, keeping it up to date with techs that are in demand and taking suggestions from previous cohorts to improve the lessons. One of the best parts about LearningFuze is the support and the endless networking they do for alumni. They have guest speakers come in to offer insight into careers in tech and advise for first time junior developers. They schedule regular meetups for networking opportunities as well.
    For someone with no experience, I really feel the curriculum has prepared me well for my first job in tech. I often see posts in various forums by people learning on their own, and the same question always pops up: What do I do next? What type of projects should I focus on? At LearningFuze the lessons are planned to build on top of each other, and the projects are designed to reinforce all the things that you learned. They really focus on the fundamentals of web development technologies, and the best thing about their curriculum is how they teach you how to learn. I feel confident that I can teach myself new languages or frameworks using the methods I was taught.
    For anyone reading this that is hesitant in their decision to change careers, I can confidently say that coming to LearningFuze was the best decision I made. As the old saying goes, if I can do it I know you can do it, too, and LearningFuze is a very solid first step into a new career in tech.

  • Great Program
    - 1/8/2020
    Jake Hassler  User Photo
    Jake Hassler • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    LearningFuze is a great place to learn and thier team will do anything to make sure you will succeed. It is more than your typical school. It is a community as well as a place for great support. Any single person here is willing to help you and makes sure every newcomer feels welcomed. If you have any doubts about this place, please don't. The things you learn and the people you meet here will extend far beyond the program.

  • Ethan C  User Photo
    Ethan C • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I interviewed with several different schools before deciding on LearningFuze.  The staff and instructors of LearningFuze is what lead me to choose this program.  The instructors have extensive senior development experience and teach in a style that is intuitive and fun.

    The staff and career services department are extremely helpful in building a resume for your new career, and giving you the knowledge and tools to successfully find a job after graduation!

    If you are excited to learn and dedicate yourself, this is the program for you.

  • JamesT  User Photo
    JamesT • Front End Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    What sets LearningFuze apart from other programs is simple - the community and the learning methodology. From the very beginning, even from the info session I could tell that the instructors cared that their students gained an appreciation and hunger for learning itself. Regardless of what technologies we were to learn, it was important that they foster that sense of intuitive willingness and passion to learn as much as possible. More than just landing a high-paying gig, the program emphasizes the lifelong commitment to craving knowledge and growth. Programming is about tenacity and willpower; those who succeed are the ones who don't give up. While in the full-immersion program I was tested to my limits as I dove into the universe of information covered - but at every step the instructors, my fellow cohort-mates and the alumni community were there for support. The great thing about LearningFuze is that the program is not over after graduation. There is a strong community among alumni who continue to support each other by providing information, knowledge and even inside job opportunities. LearningFuze also provides constant career support post-graduation, which was one of the key factors as to how I landed my first job after the program. Joining the program does not mean you can sit back, attend lectures for 12 weeks then by working by the 13th; it takes intense mental willpower and courage to make the transition into the new field. But LearningFuze is the perfect environment to foster this sense of growth and I do not regret my choice to attend.

  • Great ROI
    - 12/20/2019
    Daniel Seong  User Photo
    Daniel Seong • Programming Instructor (TA) • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Great Return Of Investment! Purely from a business standpoint, committing to the 12-week program and coming out of it knowing how to code and program an entire application from scratch is more than worth the price tag. The technical skills and people skills you learn in the span of three months are truly life-changing and will benefit you not only in your job search but also in life in general. Learningfuze addresses the importance of becoming a good, likable human being with great soft skills before becoming a master of coding who has no clue how to work in a team. If you all-in and grind through the rigorous schedule and workload, you will become a self-sufficient coder who knows how to learn which is an important trait to become a lasting programmer.  

  • Christian Parizeau  User Photo
    Christian Parizeau • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came into the Full-Immersion program with about a year of self-taught programming and learned something new every day. You get out what you put in and the instructors will help you achieve all of your goals.

    The career servies are also fantastic. The LearningFuze services extend beyond graduation and even beyond getting the job. 

     

    Overall, I think this is the best bang for your buck and you won't be disappointed! 

  • Julie Chung  User Photo
    Julie Chung • Student • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My time at LearningFuze has probably been one of the best experiences of my life. It's not just about what you learn (and you learn SO much), but about every other aspect of your life also changing and growing with you as you do. I feel that it has somehow shaped me into a much more well-rounded version of myself, in the short 12 weeks that I have been here, for the full-immersion.

    Let's talk TECHNICAL: That's why you're here, isn't it? What will I learn, how will I learn it, and will it actually work?! Suffice to say, the answer is: you will learn a lot of relevant, useful coursework/material, you will learn it in the most efficient and effective way possible, and you will most certainly be able to apply it to the real world in order to find an actual job.

    The support at LearningFuze is really what it's all about. Yes, you will absolutely learn everything you need to know in order to become a full-stack developer and land a career in tech. However, you will also have guidance and support, as well as some much-needed nudges/encouragement in the right direction. They won't spoon-feed you here, you need to put in the work and effort to actually learn. However, they will be there with you for every question, concern, or difficulty you come across. I did so much research before finally choosing this bootcamp, and highly recommend visiting for a info-session to personally experience how kind and nurturing (yet also motivating) this environment is as well as the instructors/fellow students.

    LearningFuze operates like an actual working developer environment, and teaches you the skills (technical, behavioral, and social) that you need to become a real developer. The support doesn't just end once you graduate the program. I still see alumni (including already full-time employed alumni) working here every day as they continue to use/receive support for building up their portfolio, and preparing for job interviews/job offers.. and some come around just to work and be here. I personally love LearningFuze!

  • Vicky Huynhcao  User Photo
    Vicky Huynhcao • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came into LearningFuze with zero knowledge of coding. I was so scared that I wouldn't be able to code anything. But now that I'm nearing the end, I learned more than I would've if I self-taught myself code.

    I never thought I would receive a huge support from staff at a school like LearningFuze. Right from the beginning they have lectures from the basic HTML/CSS to networking to interviewing for a position. The staff work with students to get them to their goal line.

    I learned so much from LearningFuze. Day by day we are reminded of our foundation and the instructors make sure that we know our foundation in JavaScript. The instructors are at hand to answer any questions and help with any debugging.

    The style of teaching is very enjoyable. I look forward to going to LearningFuze every day and love every moment there. I would highly recommend going to LearningFuze if you're looking for a fun but very insightful experience with coding.

  • Samantha Nagle  User Photo
    Samantha Nagle • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Going through LearningFuze has been one of the most "worth it" experiences of my life. Between the network of passionate students and alumni, the dedicated teachers and staff, and amazing career services provided, attending students are supported 100% of the way through their journey to become a junior developer.

    Having done a fair bit of programming before entering, I was initially on the fence about entering a program like LearningFuze, thinking I could make it by learning on my own. However, the experience of going through this program has helped me grow stronger both as a developer and as a person more so than I could have alone. Every day I walk into class, I know I will be surrounded by people who are dedicated both to learning and to helping each other learn. The curriculum is well-paced, as every day you are facing a new challenge designed to help you understand the fundamentals of programming, while also learning in-demand skills and technologies for developers. 

    I highly recommend LearningFuze to anyone looking to start their coding journey! Everyone there wants to see you succeed and will support you every step of your way there.

  • Kevin Akahoshi  User Photo
    Kevin Akahoshi • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The experiences that I have had at LearningFuze are unlike anything I've ever had in a traditional education system.  They've exceeded my expectations in every way, and shown me that it's possible for anyone to program if they put their mind to it.

    The 12 week full immersion program has been a whirlwind to say the least.  The cirriculum is heavily focused on teaching programming fundamentals to ensure that every student has a solid foundation to learn and grow.  The support system is great, and the staff genuinely wants every student to succeed.  The staff encourages constant curiosity and critical thinking to further your understanding of programming as a whole.  The program is challenging, but you will always have support from the staffl, and your cohortmates.

    I found that the program is a great mixture of guidance/structure and creative freedom.  There are projects and exercises designed to teach you how to approach different programming principles, but they also allow you to take the ideas you have and run with them.  When you're learning new things and realizing your potential, the world is your oyster.  Additionally, I particularly liked the tech stack that LearningFuze focuses on, as it is relevant to what companies in the area are looking for. 

    Lastly, I think one of the most important aspects that someone should consider when it comes to selecting a bootcamp are the career services.  This is why I ended up choosing LearningFuze over other bootcamps in the area.  They offer robust career services that you probably won't find with other bootcamps.  Bill and TJ make it a point that yes, the technical part of the bootcamp is a large portion of what you're paying for, but you will never get hired if you cannot land an interview.  The ultimate goal is to be employed as a developer or engineer, and they know that.  They regularly have workshops for LinkedIn profiles, resume writing, mock interviews, etc. to teach you what employers are looking for and how you should approach searching for a job.  Those are skills that are invaluable, and people pay a lot of money for career coaching alone.

    So, is LearningFuze worth the investment?  Without a doubt, yes.  The technical and soft skills that you will leave with make it worth the investment.

  • Dane Maison  User Photo
    Dane Maison • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If you choose to come to LearningFuze, you will be immersed in an incredibly supportive environment. The instructors at LearningFuze are knowledgeable and helpful. The curriculum is structured in a way that caters to students at every skill level. Each concept is introduced in manageable chunks and reinforced through structured exercises. 

    At the end of the program, you will not only have extremely solid programming fundamentals but also arguably the most important skill in a developer's toolkit: the ability to teach yourself. LearningFuze teaches you how to teach yourself. You will learn how to confidently read documentation and code, and figure out problems so that you can succeed in the future.

    The environment at LearningFuze is awesome. There is a reason that Alumni constantly check back in. You are always surrounded by like-minded, passionate students and other knowledgable developers.

    If you are on the fence about coming to LearningFuze, just attend an info session. LearningFuze puts absolutely no pressure on you to enroll in the program. They want you to succeed and will answer any questions you have.

  • Adison L  User Photo
    Adison L • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The 12 week full-immersion program at LearningFuze provided me with a very thorough education in full-stack web development. Even as someone with very limited background in writing code, I feel like the program has really taught me to understand the fundamentals of programming. I started the program in August 2019 and I can absolutely recommend LearningFuze as an excellent bootcamp!

    As someone wanting to find a career in web development, I found the career services at LearningFuze to be a great part of the program. All throughout the course, there is a huge emphasis on the job search process, which provides a ton of value in not just becoming a developer, but also a professional, which I feel has helped to prepare me for getting into the industry.

    The curriculum is intensive and challenging, but the instruction is really engaging and you are encouraged to learn by building projects which really teaches you programming at a fast pace. There are instructors available to provide help at virtually any time, so you don’t get stuck for too long and can keep moving forward. I would have never thought I could learn so much material in such a short amount of time, but the program really pushes you to get the most of those 12 weeks.

    Also, the learning environment that LearningFuze provides for students is very collaborative and welcoming. The staff, alumni, and other students are all very helpful, which makes the experience of learning web development easier. Overall, I can confidently say my experience at LearningFuze has been incredible and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn programming.

  • Uzair Ashraf  User Photo
    Uzair Ashraf • Full Stack Web Developer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    It's crazy to think that seven weeks ago, I was staring at this website reading these reviews, and here I am now writing one. 

    Fighting complaceny? Living paycheck to paycheck? Feeling like you're running out of options?  If you're wondering why this place has higher ratings than most other places.  Theres no secret to it. I was skeptical at first with the lack of negative reviews about this place when I first thought of attending, but during the interview I immediately realized that its just that good.

    Every aspect of this bootcamp is absolutely phenomenal.  The instructors are geniuses, the curriculum is designed for anybody to learn.

    I wrote an article on linkedin about finding the right bootcamp and some advice on what to do when you are attending.

    I highly recommend you give it a read, and it will go into detail as to why I chose this place.

    https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/message-future-coding-bootcampers-uzair-ashraf/

  • Sri  User Photo
    Sri • Full-Stack Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    There is a myriad of technologies, languages, and libraries out there so much so that it would take a lifetime of learning. However, they all share commonalities and the ability to decipher them, break them down into their components, and comprehend the underlying principles is what is taught here at LFZ. This approach is not only applied to learning technologies but every other aspect of the job application process and working environment. From prepping us for technical and behavioral interviews, reducing anxiety and making the best out of meetups, to teaching us how to succeed in an agile team environment. The staff has somehow caught lightning in a bottle and shared it with the rest of us. The best and most telling thing to me is the continued support the staff gives you from the moment you join to perpetuity. They are truly invested in your success and are willing to help you in any way shape or form even if that means giving constructive feedback. 

    TLDR: I highly recommend it, you won't regret it

  • Samantha Durant  User Photo
    Samantha Durant • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

         To say that choosing to attend LearningFuze was a great decision would be a major understatement. I can confidently say that coming here was one one of the best decisions of my life. I come from a humanities background and was an English teacher just weeks before I came here. Aside from a few short online tutorials, I really had no programming experience. Although I was apprehensive at first about the idea of attending a coding bootcamp, when I spoke to TJ and Bill during the application process and talked to them about the learning environment and how successful previous students had been, I got a great feeling about the program and decided to enroll. 

        The whole time leading up to the course, though, I was incredibly nervous. Could I actually do this? Were those online courses deceptively easy? When I finally arrived at the school, I felt immediately at home in this environment. I had expected to be intimidated by the knowledge of these longtime programmers, but I really wasn’t. All of the teachers were very relatable, and while they knew more than I could imagine, they always reminded us that they also started where we were, and that they also struggled and got stuck and confused in the beginning. They make the learning environment not only approachable but also fun, with lots of interesting and useful activities everyday (and lots of great dad jokes to explain programming concepts).

        Since the beginning of the course I have learned so much, not only about programming, but about myself and what people are capable of. Everything that seems insurmountable at first has turned out to be doable. We’ve had two hackathons, in which we completed two entirely different applications in under 48 hours, which prior to these hackathons sounded completely impossible. React and OOP seemed difficult for me to wrap my head around at first, and now I use them both daily. I’ve realized over the last few months, thanks to LearningFuze, that programming is not limited to the chosen few geniuses who have the gift of mastering this complex skill, it’s about patience and the drive to spend hours a day problem solving, and to keep trying things until they work.

        I am still in the last few weeks of the program, and I am genuinely sad that the program is coming to an end because I’ve enjoyed coming here everyday so much. If you are hesitant because you don’t come from a programming background and think programming is going to be too hard, please don’t let that stop you. I can confidently recommend this course to anyone who is determined to learn to code. You will not regret it!

     
  • The Best Choice
    - 9/10/2019
    John South  User Photo
    John South • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    You may be skeptical when you hear about being "job ready" after only 12 weeks of work. Before attending the program at LearningFuze I was skeptical as well. This school proved me wrong. I know so much than I thought I ever could in such a short time. The things I've learned here has also given me a foundation to continue to learn either on my own or at the work place. Web development is not easy, but LearningFuze has made the process fun and gratifying.

  • My Best Choice
    - 8/23/2019
    Jase  User Photo
    Jase • Student • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    LearningFuze has exceeded my expectations in every way. The teachers go above and beyond the bar to ensure you get the most out of every activity, no matter how small or big. I am currently in my ninth week of the program and loving every minute of it. If you want to learn web development, LearningFuze is the place to do it. 

     

     

  • Great Program!
    - 8/23/2019
    Juliann Talkington  User Photo
    Juliann Talkington • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    ​Whether you are looking for technical training so you can become a better manager or are hoping to become a world class coder, LearningFuze is a great option. 

    I completed the full immersion program a few weeks ago and feel well equiped to work in the web development field. LearningFuze has fantastic instructors who have a lot of real world experience, a well thought out and executed curriculum, a great career coaching program, and a class structure that encourages you to learn from and bond with your classmates. 

    I tried an introductory course at another highly touted bootcamp before settling on LearningFuze. LearningFuze is better at everything from instruction to career planning and support.
     

  • David  User Photo
    David • React Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    As soon as I entered the LearningFuze office, I was certain it would be the right place for me to start my web development career. The staff, curriculum, and my peers made my time at LFZ an unforgettable and rewarding experience. 

    The staff is composed of incredible people. They are always willing to drop what they are working on to answer your questions and ensure you understand the material. Additionally, the LFZ culture balances being light-hearted and fun, while being focused on the task at helping the students become web developers. A great balance! 

    I thought the cirriculum was well-structured and refined. The subject material is tough, but you're given the tools you need to find success. To get the most out of the program, I recommend trusting the process and attempting your best work every day. 

    Finally, I'd like to share that the whole experience was made even better thanks to the people in my cohort. Together, we fostered an environment that valued providing support and having fun and I am thankful I was able to build relationships with such wonderful people. 

  • Amazing program
    - 8/5/2019
    Jeremy Wang  User Photo
    Jeremy Wang • React Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated from LearningFuze 6 weeks ago.

    I enrolled in the full-immersion course.

    Please let me share you with you what I think is special about this Bootcamp.

     

    1. Career service: LearningFuze has a magical event called demo-day. After your portfolios get approved, you are qualified to it. It is an event that Lfz helps you connect directly to employers. As the oldest and the most successful Bootcamp in SoCal, lfz has a very strong connection to local tech companies. At demo day, local companies come to you, talk to you, and check out your projects. You can see it as an express line to an offer, which is much better than applying online. TJ Kinion puts so much effort to keep demo-day ongoing. Many many students, include me, got their first offer through this event.
    2. Post-graduation time: You signed the contract with them that you will be a student there for 3 months. But after you graduate, you are more than welcomed staying in. LearningFuze set up an alumni room for graduates, where you can continue work on your portfolio and projects. You can still access all the instructors. They will help you just like they always did during the course.
    3. Cohort: After 3 months, friendship among cohort mates developed deeply. More than that, I get close with my previous, next cohort and even some alumni graduated a long time ago. I have to say, students in lfz just have class. Learning code is hard. But it is fun when you are with persons that have the same passion and goal as you. You won't feel lonely or lost when intelligent students are around you and grow together with you. You will make some life-long friends in this school.
    4. Course curriculum: they know what local tech company needs, and they design the course adapting that requirements. You learn what the industry is looking for. Besides that, they take feedback and update in each cohort. For example, my previous cohort didn't have enough time to dive deep into Redux, so they didn't cover that in my cohort, instead, they focus more on core React. For my cohort, students showed great interest in Node.js, so my next cohort, they support students to build the final project in Node. They do listen to students and change their content to make us happier. Tim.D, one of the lead instructors there, he creates his own materials, which is pure awesome. He knows what you know, you don't know and your think pattern. He doesn't only deliver knowledge but teach you competency to think like a programmer.

     

    My overall experience is amazing. Actually, it turned out than I expected. It is a high-quality program that you won't be regretted to enroll in.

  • Stephanie Burcombe  User Photo
    Stephanie Burcombe • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Coming from a background as an elementary school teacher and no formal coding exposure or experience, I had plenty of apprehensions about learning any kind of web development in such a short period of time.  I am in now in week 9 of the 12 week full immersion program. Looking back at the last 8 weeks of the program, I am in awe of what I have been able to learn and create. It has been quite a unique learning experience.

    Some of the exceptional aspects:

    1)Instructors

    The instructors are what make Learning Fuze so exceptional.  As a student who was struggling to understand some of the most foundational concepts in the beginning, I found immense support during class time, on the weekend (whether it be through a Google Hangout or during the open hours on Saturday), and after class time during the week.  They are extremely knowledgeable and supportive and have been a vital resource in navigating my way into becoming a web developer. 

    2)Materials/Information/Access

    Prior to the program, Learning Fuze provides a comprehensive guide to materials you should reference, read, and/or utilize before beginning the program. Their prep courses are a great introduction to the foundational concepts needed for web development and also give a small glimpse into what the full time program will be like, as well. In retrospect, it is easy for me to see that they have thoughtfully designed this to help students prepare for the full immersion program (particularly those of us who have no previous coding background). Additionally, the curriculum during the program is extremely comprehensive considering the short timeline.  

    Another great resource provided is job search support.  Starting from the first week, we have been provided with tips on creating our resume, LinkedIn profiles, interviewing practice, and hearing guest speakers from the industry. This aspect has been extremely beneficial and educational as I pursue this career change.


    Some of the challenges:

    1)Pace

    When I first began researching bootcamps, I kept reading about the fast pace associated with an accelerated web development program but didn’t fully comprehend what that meant until I was a part of it.  The pace of the Learning Fuze bootcamp is faster than any educational environment I have experienced. The same day that you learn about a topic (or multiple topics), you are also coding a project to apply those skills.  This definitely could feel daunting and overwhelming at times but with the support of the instructors, it was manageable...still challenging, but manageable.

    2)Workload/Time

    While the technical class hours are Monday -Friday from 10:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m., the studying time, practice exercises, and projects that need to be completed will easily require your focus and a time commitment of  7 days a week and about 12-14 hours a day (including the 10-6 time on Monday-Friday).

    Overall, I am extremely pleased with my decision to choose Learning Fuze bootcamp as my school of choice to pursue a career in web development. As challenging as it has been, I have seen my abilities improve more than I could’ve imagined and I have grown even more passionate about building my coding abilities than before starting the program. Learning Fuze has been a great place to learn.

     
  • Billy  User Photo
    Billy • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently graduated from LearningFuze's full immersion program (June 2019) and absolutely, 100% recommend making LearningFuze the place where you begin your journey into development.

    I had been working in non-profit for the past 9 years with no prior experience of coding and wanted to be sure that I'd be at a place that would help build a strong foundation. I did a lot of research through many review sites and saw so many alumni of LearningFuze consistently write about how passionate the instructors are and how they foster a positive (yet, challenging) environment for growth. I went to an evening info session to get a feel for the culture and made my decision to sign up when I saw just how much the staff really cares for each individual student.

    The instruction is fast-paced and challenging because there's a lot of content to go through, but the instructors always put a premium on understanding the content rather than just dumping information. I found it incredibly helpful that every time we received new content during lecture, that there was always a prototype/exercise that we would immediately work on to be sure that we understood what we learned. Plus, we had two, 48-hour hackathons where we would have to complete different projects that simulated a team-environment with an AGILE process and real-time Git/GitHub that really helped put into practice everything we had been learning.

    During the second half of the program, we dove deeper into server-side topics so that we could complete a 3-week, full stack final project. I can't say it enough, but the emphasis on project-based learning pushed me from just knowledge to practical understanding and execution of the myriad of concepts we learned.

    I love how LearningFuze fosters an environment for growth with driven and motivated peers and many of us would regularly stay after hours to cement our learning together and instructors would be present to help us. On top of that, the staff are constantly up-to-date to be sure you're getting the most relevant content and tech that will prepare you best for the job search.

    I'm thankful for the staff at LearningFuze because undertake an honest and transparent process where they strive to be sure each student has great competency and character that makes a great web developer, great.

  • Tony Jin  User Photo
    Tony Jin • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am currently in my 7th of 12 weeks in the full immersion program at Learningfuze. This was my 4th or 5th bootcamp that I had checked out and applied to, and ultimately the decision was down to Hack Reactor or LearningFuze. I think the experience that made me ultimately decide to come here was during my first visit to the campus; this bootcamp felt different compared to the mega bootcamps like App Academy and Hack Reactor. While the latter are not wrong in their methodology or approach, LearningFuze just had this atmosphere that the instructors were there because of their passion for teaching code and not to "ladder up" or to have a comfy job. It didn't take long for me to decide after my initial meeting with the instructors, TJ (who is in charge of making sure students get jobs), and Bill (who runs the entire operation side). 

    After passing the halfway mark in my curriculum, I can confidently say I have no regrets in my decision. The instructors are available at basically any time that you need them, they are very knowledgeable in the industry's current practices, and will answer any questions that you may have during the learning process. The overall culture is possibly my favorite aspect of the camp - while the instructors encourage their students to work hard, they make an effort to make all the lectures interesting and interactive. Best decision of my life!

  • Jessica Yang  User Photo
    Jessica Yang • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently graduated from the Full Immersion program, and I would 100% recommend LearningFuze to any prospective students.  Over a year ago, I started considering my career pivot from digital marketing into web development, and LearningFuze was one of the schools that stood out to me while researching online.  I read a bunch of reviews, started to teach myself with free tutorials, and finally attended an info session in January.  I got to see for myself how honest, genuine, and dedicated the LFZ staff are towards visitors, students, and alumni alike!  I felt no pressure to choose them, but they are wholly there for you in your decision making process and beyond.  I joined the two prep classes to get a feel for their teaching style and to gauge my own readiness for the full immersion program, and I dove in shortly after that!

    The following 12 weeks brought a tidal wave of new material, constant challenge, and personal growth.  Going into the program, I knew I wanted an efficient/fast-paced learning environment, mentorship, and like-minded peers, and that's what I got from day 1.  Every week ramps up in intensity, building on the knowledge and practice from the previous week.  In lectures, we were encouraged to engage with the instructor and discover our blind spots as quickly as possible.  In solo projects, we applied that week's core concepts while given opportunities to stretch our toolset a bit more each time.  We also had two exhilarating 48-hour hackathons for practicing real-world skills around Git/GitHub workflows, working in a team, and planning/tracking project tasks.  And in the final 3 weeks of the program, we were split into teams to build full stack applications--with one instructor assigned to each one as project manager.  The job hunt is also emphasized throughout the program with lectures on networking, proper use of LinkedIn, and resume prep, as well as practice whiteboards and mock interviews.  Every step of the way, you are surrounded by classmates to struggle (and celebrate!) with and can laugh together about the growing pains we all experience as beginners. 

    All that being said, it's really true that you get what you put in.  I can see why people say that a strong foundation is critical, because it is on that foundation that we will continue to hone our skills and pick up new technologies more quickly.  Review core concepts regularly, don't neglect the practice problems, and ask questions often!  Programming really takes persistence and a willingness to be frustrated over and over again, but those happy moments when you finally understand a concept or successfully debug your code are so worth it!

    If you are still on the fence, I'd recommend visiting the campus for an info session and voicing any concerns with the staff and current students/alumni.  I guarantee that at the very least, you'll come away with more clarity, and maybe like me, you'll discover that LFZ is exactly where you want to begin your programming journey.

Thanks!