flatiron-school-logo

Flatiron School

Atlanta, Austin, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Houston, London, New York City, New York City, Online, San Francisco, Seattle, Sydney, Washington

Flatiron School

Avg Rating:4.75 ( 414 reviews )

Flatiron School offers immersive on-campus and online programs in software engineering, data science, and UX/UI Design in NYC, Brooklyn, Washington DC, London, Houston, Atlanta, Austin, Seattle, Chicago, Denver, and Online. Flatiron School’s immersive courses aim to launch students into fulfilling careers as software engineers, data scientists, and UX/UI designers through rigorous, market-aligned curricula, and the support of seasoned instructors and personal career coaches. Through test-driven labs and portfolio projects, Flatiron teaches students to think and build like software engineers and data scientists. Flatiron School’s UX/UI Design Immersive includes a client project to give students client-facing experience and an industry-vetted portfolio.

To apply, applicants must submit a written application about why they want to join Flatiron School, take part in an interview with an admissions advisor, learn some basic skills, and discuss it with an instructor. Flatiron is looking for people with passion and aptitude and aims to admit people with a variety of backgrounds. Flatiron School also offers several free introductory courses, including Coding Bootcamp Prep and Data Science Bootcamp Prep. 

Flatiron School offers a money-back guarantee for their Software Engineering, Data Science, and UX/UI Design Immersives – if students don’t get a qualifying job offer within six months of graduation, they can get their money back (see eligibility at flatironschool.com/terms). Flatiron’s Career Services team provides weekly 1:1 career coaching sessions, mock interviews, and employer introductions to help students launch lifelong careers in tech.

Flatiron School, in partnership with WeWork, also powers the Access Labs Initiative – a 15-week immersive software engineering program in Brooklyn with deferred tuition for applicants earning less than $35,000. To increase diversity in its programs, Flatiron School has awarded over $10 million in scholarships for women, minorities, veterans, and other underrepresented groups in tech.

Flatiron School was one of the first bootcamps in the industry to publish outcomes, backing its 99% employment rate for the NYC Software Engineering Immersive, and 94% employment rate for the Online Software Engineering Immersive with annual independently-verified jobs reports (check out the full report at flatironschool.com/outcomes). 

Recent Flatiron School Reviews: Rating 4.75

all (414) reviews for Flatiron School →

Recent Flatiron School News

Read all (127) articles about Flatiron School →
  • Access Labs Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    AngularJS, HTML, Git, JavaScript, SQL, Sinatra, Rails, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, Front End, Ruby
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week15 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$17,000
    Class size20
    LocationNew York City
    Access Labs Initiative, a new software engineering program powered by the innovators and educators at WeWork and Flatiron School, expands access to coding education and increases opportunity in tech for people who can't afford upfront tuition. Being a software engineer requires more than knowing how to code or build a web app. Utilizing the proven curriculum and 15-week modular program structure developed for Flatiron School's Software Engineering Immersive, students learn to think, and build, like software engineers – from developing coding mastery to gaining an understanding of how products are designed and managed. In each three-week curriculum module, students develop key skills through interactive labs, lectures, and close collaboration, showcasing progress through Portfolio Projects. While the bulk of the material covered encompasses the Ruby and JavaScript ecosystems, we carefully designed our curriculum to prepare students to launch software engineering careers, independent of any specific language or Technology. By the completion of the program, students have done much more than simply build technical skills: they have maintained technical blogs to show they can credibly talk tech; they have become a part of the tech community; they have amassed an impressive portfolio of unique, functional web applications to show employers as they enter the job-search phase.
    Financing
    DepositNo upfront tuition or deposit.
    Tuition PlansOpen only to applicants earning less than $35,000 annually, all Access Labs students enroll with full deferred tuition. Once you have a qualifying job, pay 10% of your income in monthly installments until the full $17,000 tuition is paid.
    Refund / GuaranteeIf the full Career Services Commitment (https://www.accesslabs.org/career-services-commitment) is completed and a Qualifying Job Offer is not received by the student within 6 months, the tuition balance will be waived.
    Scholarship Contact admissions@flatironschool.com to inquire about available scholarship opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Coding Bootcamp Prep course to prepare for their technical review.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Cybersecurity Analytics Immersive

    Apply
    Data Visualization, Virtualization, Ethical Hacking
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$17,000
    Class size20
    LocationWashington, New York City, London
    Over 12 intense weeks on campus at Flatiron School, our Cybersecurity Analytics curriculum will prepare you to handle rapidly-advancing threats. You’ll set traps and catch threat actors with our real-world lab environments paired with industry-grade curriculum. You’ll learn the analytical skills needed to stand out from the competition. Our Cybersecurity Analytics program includes 8 foundational courses designed to prepare you for success in the cybersecurity industry.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    Options vary by location: 
    London: Deferred Payment Plan
    NYC: ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including Skills Fund and Climb.
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: London: £12,500, NYC $17,000, DC $15,000
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School’s Cybersecurity Analytics Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we’ll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous cybersecurity analytics experience is required.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersive

    Apply
    Data Science, Git, R, Python, JavaScript, SQL, jQuery, Machine Learning, Data Structures, Algorithms, Node.js
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week15 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class size20
    LocationChicago, Houston, Atlanta, Washington, San Francisco, New York City, London, Seattle
    The Data Science Immersive provides students with the knowledge, skills, and experience to get a job as a data scientist – which requires a mix of software engineering, statistical understanding, and the ability to apply both skills in new and challenging domains. The program will teach students to gather data, apply statistical analysis to answer questions with that data, and make their insights and information as actionable as possible. Our pedagogy ensures not only job readiness for today’s market, but the aptitude and skills to keep learning and stay relevant. At Flatiron School, students learn by building. Students will come away with an advanced Portfolio Project to demonstrate their technical proficiency and creativity to current or future job managers and hiring leads. Our course dedicates three weeks towards completion of a large-scale data science and machine learning project where students work in groups of two. The project provides an in-depth opportunity for students to demonstrate their learning accomplishments and get a feel for what working a large-scale data science project is really like.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including Skills Fund and Climb.
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: NYC and SF: $17,000; Atlanta, Chicago, Houston, Seattle: $15,000; London: £12,500
    Refund / GuaranteeYes. Flatiron
    ScholarshipVisit flatironschool.com/scholarships to learn about current scholarship opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Data Science Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Online Data Science Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    With more than 650% job growth since 2012, data science has catapulted to be among tech’s fastest-growing and most sought-after fields. This program will provide students with the knowledge, skills, and experience to get a job as a data scientist – which requires a mix of software engineering, statistical understanding, and the ability to apply both skills in new and challenging domains. Students will learn how to gather data, apply statistical analysis to answer questions with that data, and make their insights and information as actionable as possible. Our pedagogy ensures not only job readiness for today’s market, but the aptitude and skills to keep learning and stay relevant. All students in our Online Data Science Immersive receive a one-year WeWork hot desk membership included in their tuition, enabling them to connect and network with other learners in their city. The course is available in full-time, part-time, and self-paced formats.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including Skills Fund and Climb.
    Tuition PlansTuition varies across three course pacing options: Full-Time Course: $15,000 Part-Time Course: $15,000 Self-Paced Course: $9,600
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Online Data Science Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Data Science Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Online Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Flatiron School’s proven Full Stack Web Development Curriculum is at the heart of our instructor-led Online Software Engineering Immersive. This rigorous course of study prepares you for a career in web development through 800 hours of challenging but rewarding coursework, providing you with the skills and experience necessary to obtain and excel in an entry-level software development job. While the bulk of the material covered encompasses the Ruby and JavaScript ecosystems, we carefully designed this curriculum to teach you to think—and build—like a software engineer, independent of any specific language. By the completion of Online Software Engineering Immersive, you’ll have done much more than build your technical skills: you’ll have maintained a technical blog to show you can credibly talk tech; you’ll have become a part of your local developer community; you’ll have amassed an impressive portfolio of unique, functional web applications that show employers your programming abilities in action. With Full-Time, Part-Time, and Self-Paced course options, the Online Software Engineering Immersive is designed to give you the perfect balance of flexibility and structure to ensure your success. All students in our Online Software Engineering Immersive receive a one-year WeWork hot desk membership included in their tuition, enabling them to connect and network with other learners in their city. The course is available in full-time, part-time, and self-paced formats.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including Skills Fund and Climb.
    Tuition PlansTuition varies across three course pacing options: Full-Time Course: $15,000; Part-Time Course: $15,000; Self-Paced Course: $9,600
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Online Software Engineering Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Coding Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Online UX/UI Design

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$15,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Learn the visual, technical, and client service skills essential to launch a successful career as a UX or UI designer. Flatiron School’s online course combines an industry-leading digital design program with dedicated Career Services support. The course is available in full-time, part-time, and self-paced formats.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including Skills Fund and Climb.
    Tuition Plans$15,000 for Full-Time and Part-Time course pace options
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Online UX/UI Design course includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous design experience is required.
    Prep WorkNo.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    MySQL, AngularJS, HTML, JavaScript, SQL, Sinatra, Rails, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End, Ruby
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week15 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class size20
    LocationDenver, Chicago, Houston, Atlanta, Washington, San Francisco, New York City, London, Seattle, Austin
    Being a software engineer requires more than knowing how to code or build a web app. Over 15 challenging weeks on Flatiron School’s campus, students learn to think, and build, like software engineers — from developing coding proficiency to gaining an understanding of how products are designed and managed. In each three-week curriculum module, students develop key skills through interactive labs, lectures, and close collaboration, showcasing progress through Portfolio Projects. While the bulk of the material covered encompasses the Ruby and JavaScript ecosystems, we carefully designed our curriculum to prepare students to launch software engineering careers, independent of any specific language or technology. By the completion of the program, students have done much more than simply build technical skills: they have maintained technical blogs to show they can credibly talk tech; they have become a part of the tech community; they have amassed an impressive portfolio of unique, functional web applications to show employers as they enter the job-search phase with the support of our Career Services team.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including Skills Fund and Climb.
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: NYC and SF: $17,000 Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Seattle, Washington, DC: $15,000 London: £10,000
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Software Engineering Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Coding Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Design Immersive

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$17,000
    Class size24
    LocationSan Francisco, New York City, London, Seattle, Austin
    Powered by Designation, this course combines the world’s leading digital design program with Flatiron School’s best-in-class Career Services team and money-back guarantee (see eligibility details at flatironschool.com/terms). Students learn skills in user experience and user interface design and then practice those skills in a professional, client-based environment. Broken into two 12-week phases – this hybrid learning model allows students to study online for the first 12 weeks, and then join in person for team-based design and live client projects. Students learn quickly that design itself isn’t only about doing or creating; it’s always about learning— about users, clients, teammates, practices, tools, skills, and yourself.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    Lending partners available, including Skills Fund and Climb. 
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: NYC: $17,000; London: £12,500
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's UX/UI Design Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Prep WorkBefore beginning the full time course, all students complete Design Essentials - a six-week online course covering the foundations of UX research, UX design, interaction design, visual design, UI design, and user testing.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     

    Are you seeking a career change? Have you been lured by promises of better compensation and opportunity? Don't be fooled by individuals from the placement-team who will tout falsified job placement percentages as evidence of better professional outcomes. The entire team at Flatiron School, from executive and management to placements and instructors, have absolutely no idea what's going on, and as long as they're getting your money by selling you on the hope of a new career, they don't care. 

    My experience with this bootcamp can be summed up as follows:
    Attending Flatiron School was the single most disastrous professional and financial decision I've ever made.


    For months prior to making the decision to attend a bootcamp, I spent time doing my due diligence and actually spoke with grads and the placements team before applying, and I was assured that job prospects were "good" and that "industry relationships" were abundant. This was the sole reason I was willing to pay an exorbitant fee for a skill I could have learned from books and videos online, however by all appearances myself and my entire class have been misled.

    After an interval greater than most individual's job search, Flatiron's placement numbers have been inflated by hiring individuals from my class as instructors but other individuals in my class have received very little in the way of placement assistance.


    Pros & Cons

    Pros:
    1. Free coffee
    2. Better Teaching of Standards of Practice/Third Party Libraries
    3. "Cool" people (that is, until you start asking for help)
    4. Happy hours/feelings sessions
    5. If you're really lucky (or a sycophant) you might get a job as an instructor after graduating

    Cons:

    1. We're provided with "interviews" during our second to last week for positions that don't actually exist at the companies that come in.

    2. There is no proportionate representation of candidates in the placements process. Some of my classmates had received 4-5 interviews while others received none within months of "graduating."

    3. We're told to accept whatever positions are available regardless of compensation, benefits, or opportunity for advancement.  

    4. Curriculum is disorganized: Many lessons depended on understanding principles or concepts that would only be taught later.

    5. Instructors available for help are composed of the last cohort's lucky chosen placement rate inflaters and don't have any actual professional experience.

     

     

    Remember, for every good review you see on here, there is a bias because students are threatened with retribution for criticism or bad reviews. For every bad review you see on here, there are probably a dozen other students who feel similarly but are unable to say so because they're desperate for any help after spending 3 months and 15k on a program.

    Personally, I've been struggling for more than a reasonable interval to find consistent, well-paying work. The time and finacial investment required and subsequent failure to find work ended a long term relationship. Maintaining a flexible schedule for interviews that never seem to happen means I can't find consistent, steady-paying work in other fields.  



    My advice to those of you who are considering a switch to a programming vocation: buy some books (Big Nerd Ranch et al.), watch videos (UDEMY, TeamTreeHouse, etc), and develop your own projects instead of making the mistake I made by trusting the paid representatives of a bootcamp. 









     

  • Roysan Easo  User Photo
    Roysan Easo • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This place is amazing. I had Joshua Miles as my instructor and he is the best instructor I've ever had. I learned an amazing amount in such a short time. Thanks to Flatiron, I will be starting a job with a better salary than I've ever had and a career that I really enjoy and care about. If you have the funds or are able to get loans for this program, it is VERY worth it.

  • Luis Hong  User Photo
    Luis Hong • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First thing I want to say is that enrolling in the Software Engineering Immersive program at Flatiron was the best decision I had made in some time. 

    I found the course to be challenging and I expected as much; but I am not saying that the course being challenging is an aspect to deter anyone from taking it. Parallel to the difficulty of the course, there was my enjoyment of understanding a topic, which is mostly due to the amazing help I received from my instructor and coaches.

    Instructors, coaches, and staff

    I value a lot the initial efforts made by the school during the first week in order to break the ice betwen the members of the class, both for students, instructors, and coaches. I feel that it did have an impact on starting the social interaction more smoothly, and creating a friendlier environment.

    The school hosts a great place of learning for people of all degrees of familiarity with coding. I was able to feel that I could make mistakes in front of anyone and ask about it and get positive feedback.

    Curriculum

    While I learned more code than I could have imagined, not everything can be covered, that would be impossible. Considering that each module is three weeks long, I would argue that what students can do at the end of each mod is impressive; it does highlight how well curated and presented the topics are. Needless to say that there has to be some will on the students part.

    Job Assisstance 

    Both my career coach, and the career prep track were extremely helpful. The career track has important information on how address interviewers, good interview practices, good habits to keep after graduation among other things.

    My coach was great in guiding me with a mock interview and preparing possible responses to some common questions. Also feedback on body language, speech speed, diction  and articulation of ideas. Additionally, she advised me on useful mindsets to have when interviewing and overall job searching.

    Overall Experience

    I am glad that I pushed myself to to go through the course. I am grateful to everyone who I met and contributed to that journey. Even though I had to repeat a mod; I still found the same support to continue. Hopefully, what I just said made some sense, and helps someone to make a clear decision.

  • Dan Kagan  User Photo
    Dan Kagan • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Flatiron School totally changed my life in a lot of ways, I not only gained the tangible coding skills to be a developer, but Flatiron achieved their goal of getting me to a confidence and skill-level in my coding where I can go off any learn any language, framework and software system via research and practice. To me that is the biggest technical gift that I walked away with.

    In addition, I would not have been able to complete the course if it were not for the incredible coaches, lead instructors and fellow cohortees that all made up the Flatiron community day-to-day. 

    Flatiron's curriculum not only gets you to a level of coding and understanding where you can build a beautiful, full-stack, ReactJS-RoR site, but they teach you the fundamental parts of programming that allow you to be adaptable outside of JavaScript and Ruby. 

    The program is definitely intense in terms of the volume of work that you are expected to complete, but within the first module, most students got comfortable with understanding how they learned the material best and could adjust their schedules accordingly. 

    As a new coder, it is very easy to explore the internet and find people who are extremely passionate about certain ways to go about learning how to code, what's most important. Examples like "Python HAS to be your first language in 2020", which are completely BS, but not obviously so if you are a new developer.

    Flatiron surrounds you with professional software engineers throughout the program who not only reassure you that statements like the one above are non-sense. But they also help you understand being a good person and teammate is when it comes to coding. No company nor any development team wants to work with people who are selfish about their coding knowledge, aren't team players, or are just jerks in general. But you can certainly find a lot of those people spouting their "wisdom" online. 

    There's something to be said for a former senior software engineer looking at your cohort dead in the eye and saying "You are developers." Imposter syndrome is an enormous reason why people quit teaching themselves how to learn coding, and Flatiron does an excellent job to help people navigate all of the technical AND emotional questions that arise through a developers coding bootcamp journey. 

    I am forever grateful for the people who I met at Flatiron!

  • Dario
    - 10/24/2019
    Dario Spina  User Photo
    Dario Spina • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am very glad I changed my career and I kind of went by with a lot of things. But the course is quite bad, run by instructors with not much experience, in an environment very hostile. I have seen many stories on their greediness. Many people who thought they were not able to make it and wanted to leave in the "free to leave" two weeks were convinced to stay and then left by themself totally behind. I swear out of 20 people of my cohort all of them wanted to leave negative feedback but they were afraid the post-job assistance would not provide anything in that case. I was also told that explicitly from Oliver Beach after I argued that we could leave bad reviews if not listened on some basic needs we had (he was the former campus director) who was fired (or as he preferred to say, left to focus on his project) after I reported the event to NY.

    Response From: Peter Hardwick of Flatiron School
    Title: Director, Student Relations
    Tuesday, Oct 29 2019
    Hi Dario,

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your experience - that’s not up to our standards of always striving to create an open and collaborative learning environment for our students. 

    We take this feedback seriously,  please reach out to me directly at Peter.Hardwick@flatironschool.com

    Thank you,
    Peter Hardwick - Director, Student Relations

  • Naomi B.  User Photo
    Naomi B. • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I completed the Web Development Immersive Program at the Access Labs Brooklyn Campus which offered deferred tuition. It's very misleading that the program is called Software Engineering Immersive when their content is web development. I can honestly say I enjoyed the time I was there there, but my overall experience is a bit of a mixed bag.

    About the deferred tuition...

    So it's completely irrelevant to my overall experience but I am grateful that Flatiron has offered this option for those who can't afford to pay the tuition upfront. You can only qualify for this program if you are making under 30k. I am a bit disappointed that once you finish, it's not an option to make over an X amount of money to start paying off the tuition. After my 3 months grace period was over after graduation, I had to pay 10% of what I earned at my part time job (During the program, I was still working part time). I thought it was a bit unfair because I was making very little at the time. I heard from a friend who attended a bootcamp (one that I won't name) that after completing and once they earn over 40k, that they will start to pay back the tuition. 

    In other words, once you get a job (or if you already have a small part time gig to support yourself for the time being) it doesn't matter how much you make. You got a job, now it's time to pay them back. That sort of aggravated me on my job search but on the flip side, they're lenient to you if you don't have the funds. This was something I needed to rant about. I know it's in the contract about the payment but it definitely peeved me. 

    The Curriculum​

    The program is meant to prep you on how to build your own website using a Ruby on Rails backend, and a JavaScript and React frontend. You learn everything online from Flatiron's learning platform, Learn. You are given readings and labs for the night and the next day, the instructor talks about it the next day. That is when you can ask questions to clarify while the instructor talks about the material. The readings will also throw in some extra resources for you to read about if you want a more deeper understanding.  

    What I didn't like about the curriculum: 

    • It wasn't very self-sufficient. Most of the time, I found myself reviewing material outside of Flatiron's learning platform to understand it
    • Some of the topics on the learning platform were not introduced or taught in lectures
      • ie: There was a section on object orientated javascript that was lightly touched in lecture but we never see ever again and is not required when we code  
    • We were taught the basics but I felt like I didn't have a strong grasp on the foundations of either JavaScript or Ruby

    What I did like about the curriculum: 

    • Application- being able to build something from scratch

    The Instructors

    In my first week at Flatiron, I was given the impression that the instructors and teaching assistants really care about you and your growth. To be honest, they really do. They're open to any questions you have and that's what they're there for.

    My only complaint is this one instructor who told us that we would receive limited help in order to be more independent. I get that being self driven is super important in the tech field but at the same time the learning process of asking and understanding is just as important. 

    Job Assistance

    Once you reach towards the end of the program, you're assigned a career coach to help you along your job search. I really like the idea of having a coach to support you and give you advice during your job search. Your coach is always there if you need to ask questions or draft some emails to potential employers. In addition to that, you receive a Career Prep course on the learning platform. You're also given an excel sheet to keep track of blogging, networking, and coding. 

    Honestly: 

    • I found some of the readings for the Career Prep to be useful; I still ended up reading external materials 
    • It's a plus that Employment Partnership for Flatiron connects you with multiple opportunities

    Overall and Advice

    There are things that I personally liked:

    • The amount of support you receive from your peers and instructors 
    • You get to meet amazing people with different backgrounds and experiences 
    • The friendly and open environment  

    What I felt was lacking: 

    • It did not really teach a strong foundation for JavaScript and Ruby
    • There was no foundation in teaching computer science topics, algorithms and data structures
    • No logic but pure application

    Some Advice

    If you really want to attend Flatiron, I'd say go for it. But I suggest you really grind on some computer science topics, master a language, get into theories, algorithms, and data structures for a year or two. I feel like Flatiron is the next step after you learned a chunk on your own. It leads you to apply everything you learned and continue going forward. Stay hungry for knowledge (advice from one of my teaching assistants), be curious, and always ask why. 

  • Cris  User Photo
    Cris • Full Stack Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    About Me

    • Graduate of the Full Stack Web Development on-campus immersive course, 2019
    • Found a Full Stack role (React and C#) with an above-average salary 4 months after declaring a job search
    • Bachelor's degree in a non-traditional background (not tech-related)

    The Flatiron Experience in a Nutshell

    Expect Flatiron to prepare you to be a shoo-in for an internship, to land a lower-paying full-time gig after some additional self-directed study, or to obtain a higher-paying role after some months of dedicated study.

    The Good

    • Knowledgable instructors who cared about my success
    • Inclusive, fun and supportive culture in a fast-paced, immersive learning environment
    • Gained practical industry skills for a solid foundation

    The Not-So-Good

    • Flatiron is not (at this time) set up to bring graduates' technical skills up to par with industry expectations for higher-paying full-time entry-level roles
    • Career support did not provide even the most basic job-search optimization tactics

    What You Can Expect

    I loved my Flatiron on-campus experience. But after graduation, I realized I wasn't prepared to reach my personal career goals and expectations without months of additional study. 

    Technical Expectations

    In my job search, I've found what I learned with Ruby, Rails, SQL, Object-Oriented & Functional Programming, JavaScript and React/Redux are no doubt essentials for grads looking for Junior Engineering positions; But that isn't all you need anymore. 

    Instructors expect interviewers in 2019 to ask us questions like the FizzBuzz problem. That may have been the case 3 or 4 years ago, but with so many bootcamp grads getting churned out the bar has been raised much higher. In interviews, I was asked to create algorithms implementing data structures including linked lists, binary search trees, heaps, stacks & queues and sometimes even graphs. To land a job at a top company like Hulu, Amazon, Facebook, etc. you need a solid understanding of system API design (I believe this will soon be the norm for less prestigious companies as well). Regardless of what may be advertised online, Flatiron does not teach data structures or system design.

    Career Support Expectations

    My career coach gave some solid advice on cultural interviewing. However, through my own study, I found there are a lot of really cool ways to optimize your job search that Flatiron career counselors should be sharing with their grads. I really could have used a job-finding expert on my side. Flatiron has a partnerships team that sends mass referrals out to graduates, but most of these were for low-paying contract work. 

    I met with my counselor almost weekly at the beginning, but most of my one-on-ones felt a lot more like emotional support meetings than focused tactical strategy sessions aimed at getting my resume in the hands of decision-makers and nailing the interview. The great news is you can check out the resources listed below to fill in those gaps.

    Is Flatiron For You?

    All things considered, if you're a dedicated self-starter willing to put in the hours after graduation Flatiron could be an excellent option for you. I know grads from other noteworthy bootcamps experiencing similar struggles, and some that didn't have a positive on-campus experience. Flatiron can help get you where you want to be, but you have to set yourself apart from the thousands of other bootcamp grads looking for the same job opportunities.

    Resources

    Technical

    Job Search Optimization

    Response From: Pete Barth of Flatiron School
    Title: Managing Director
    Tuesday, Oct 29 2019
    Hi Cris,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're incredibly proud of our outcomes and the way we help our students break into the tech industry. We are always striving to make Flatiron School even better. 

    If you'd like to speak directly or in any more detail, please always feel free to e-mail me directly at Peter.barth@flatironschool.com. 

    Thank you,
    Pete Barth - Managing Director


  • Jack Ling  User Photo
    Jack Ling • Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Flatiron's bootcamp prep work really helps you understand the basics of coding. It's also useful to see if you truly enjoy coding and solving problems or not. The interview for the bootcamp will obviously be daunting as it would be your first ever coding related interview. I would advise to stay calm, understand what you have written and explain why you chose to write it that way. Once in the bootcamp, you're greeting with the amazing and lovely instructors and staff. The first week or two will be difficult as you as have to adjust to the bootcamp as well as learning LOTS of new concepts. Some of my classmates did not come from a STEM background and they have all successfully found jobs after graduating - though it does make it easier if you're from a technical/STEM background. Make the most of your time at the bootcamp as you have lots of support from peers and instructors and coaches. Ask meaningful and thoughtful questions. That being said, do not overwork yourself. Sometimes taking a break is what will help you solve your coding problems. I believe that Flatiron School has a great curriculum and really pushes their students to learn how to learn in the world of programming. I'm happy to say that I was able to find a job after graduating - my next goal is to dive deeper in the computer science aspect of coding and hopefully one day be able to mentor the upcoming junior developers.
  • Access Labs Review
    - 6/17/2019
    Raquel  User Photo
    Raquel • Software Engineer Intern • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Flatiron x WeWork's Access Labs in Brooklyn from October 2018 to February 2019. My experience there was overwhelmingly positive. From staff to other students, everyone behaved professionally when communicating with each other and everyone was always very supportive through the experience.

    You will definitely learn everything they promise as long as you put in the effort to learn. A lot of learning comes from their Learn.co website that you can try out through their free bootcamp prep course, it's very helpful in my opinion. After doing the readings and labs there are lectures where the instructor will go over the material you read about and piece everything together for you and students are able to ask questions (or if you're me and a bit shy, ask your questions after lecture directly with the instructor, nothing wrong with that).

    The immersive course was definitely the way to go for me, because I wanted the experience of learning and programming with other people. The people who were in my cohort became some of my best friends because we struggled together, cried together (I cried, a lot), laughed together, ate lunch together, and even got jobs together. It actually gets lonely after you graduate from the program because you go from seeing your cohort-mates everyday to once every few weeks or not at all. 

    When I was being interviewed for this program I asked my interviewer how he was able to get through an intense 15 weeks of learning to code and he told me, "Make friends with your cohort and you'll always want to go back". What he said stuck with me and really did keep me going in every day.

    As for job assistance, they provide career coaches for everyone who graduates. Mine was an awesome, super supportive mom-like lady who helped to keep me on track in my search and prep me for my interviews. Career services also provide you with a career fair, which is actually how I got my job. At the career fair you can expect to interview with 2-3 companies who are looking to hire. It was mostly cultural interviews, but I also had one technical interview at the fair with the company who hired me, so it's good to be prepared. I graduated in February and received my offer end of May (though I start end of June), but there are others who find a job quickly after graduating and others who are still doing their best on the job hunt.

    If you're looking for a supportive, welcoming, professional environment to learn how to code and also make less than 30k/year then Flatiron's Access Labs is the place for you. 

  • Peter Traversa  User Photo
    Peter Traversa • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had been working in Client Service roles for most of my career. After working with a developer team at the last job I was on, I was inspired to start pursuing a developer career. After a company re-org, I was let go, and decided to begin down a path to a new career. I did a significant amount of research, and after everything I read online about Flatiron, and talking to a few recent grads, I pulled the trigger and applied. 
    The baseline level of knowledge to know before entering the program was daunting, but it was reassuring to know that my cohort would be past the basics, and would be learning code at a higher level right from the beginning.
    I was excited right from the beginning to challenge myself at a high level, and was immediately impressed by both the knowledge of the instructors and coaches and their level of care and compassion in an otherwise intense environment.
    I survived the program, made life-long friends, and began my job search in November. I was recently hired into a finance-adjacent firm. I'm a working developer, and couldn't be happier about my decision to attend the Flatiron School. I believe that the skills I learned at the school made me a stronger learner, coder, and communicator, as well as problem solver.

  • Jesus Escalona  User Photo
    Jesus Escalona • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Flatiron School helped me gain the expertise and industry knowledge I needed to become a Software Developer.

    The curriculum is up to date with the latest technologies, they teach everything from beginner to advanced in a period of 4 months, and I'm not going to lie, the whole course is very intense and challenging, so be prepared to study and practice non-stop.

    The best thing about Flatiron School is its people; teachers, coaches, managers, and its students too! They are the most amazing, cool-headed and diverse group of people I've met so far.

    Support is top-notch, everyone was very attentive and care about your code, best practices, and even if you are going through a hard time, they will listen and help out in any way they can. They are people too and they have been on the same path you are now.

    Career services did an excellent job, the put your affairs in order and push you to the stratosphere of job hunting, you just have to follow their lead, and do what they say, trust their team of expert coaches and give it all you got.

    Overall, there's still a lot of good things left to say. If you are looking for a Bootcamp that can help you launch yourself to the moon, you are in the right place. In conclusion, its definitely worth the sweat, tears, and money.

     

  • Marissa M.  User Photo
    Marissa M. • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If you would've told me 1 year ago 6 months ago I'd be where I am now, I don't think I would've have believed you. I started Flatiron in October '18, graduated in January '19, and found a job that I LOVE in exactly 2 months. I came from a totally different background with NO prior developer experience and am now thriving in an incredible new career. I know it sounds crazy and too good to be true, I was completely skeptical at first too... but ask any Flatiron grad and they'll agree - this school is unique and really gets you where you need to be. They teach you what you need to know to land your first dev role and support you in a way that will feel like a second family (in fact I still spend time with a lot of my previous instructors and cohort-mates). I encourage anyone who's scared or unsure to at least give it a shot - try the free pre-work material and go to some of the events they have - see for yourself what it's like. It was seriously one of the best decisions of my life and I would recommend Flatiron school to anyone. 

  • Kay  User Photo
    Kay • Product Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall I am really pleased with my decision to go to Flatiron, without it I would not have been able to change my career and get a job in a relatively short timeframe, it would have taken me years if I had taken a purely self-taught, self-directed route. It was a fantastic and supportive environment with brilliant instructors. 

    I will add the usual caveats by saying that the course does ask a lot of you - I think I averaged 60+ hours a week in order to keep up with the pace of material. At times it was frustrating, there were tears, coding til 1am. Going in you should be prepared that it's not about going there to sit and be taught, you do need to supply your own motivation, though that's the same with any bootcamp. If you are motivated and are able to dedicate the time to complete the course, you really can change your life. 

    Like any bootcamp this is just the beginning, in order to continue as a developer you need to keep learning.  The career support you receive afterwards also really helped to support me through the process of getting a job, which took just under 2 months after graduation.

    I would advise any potential applicant to check out the free bootcamp prep course, which prepares you well for the style of labs throughout the course. 

    To be balanced, I would say some cons of Flatiron are that you don't have a guaranteed job after and the requirements to be eligible for the money back guarantee are quite stringent. Also the mod 3 and mod 4 labs are not quite as strong as those for mods 1 and 2, I think the curriculum team are working on it though. 

     

  • Emily Nielsen  User Photo
    Emily Nielsen • Process Automation Engineer at American Express • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My situation was a little unique in that I was living and working in DC, but knew I was going to move to Miami soon to be with my new husband. I decided to quit my job, do the in-person immersive program, and then move to Miami and search for jobs there, and it was the best decision I could have made for my career! Flatiron helped me move from a $50k/yr job to an $80k/yr junior dev role in Miami. 

    I definitely recommend going into it for the right reasons. Try something technical and see how you like it. Before I applied, I tried Flatiron's free online bootcamp prep course, which is how I discovered I really liked learning about code. Something employers look for is passion for code, so it's important to actually like coding before you start.

    During the program: the experience was really amazing. I bonded really well with my cohort (50% male/ 50% female) and got a scholarship for women in tech. The instructors were very understanding, knowledgeable, and always wiling to help and mentor students. They all come from tech backgrounds, so they can tell you what it's like in the industry too. 

    After the program: The career coaches are very knowledgeable, encouraging, and keep you accountable in your job search. Since I was job searching in a new city, my career coach was a huge resource suggesting lots of job search activities.

    Overall, a great experience and the results speak for themselves!

  • Jessie Huff  User Photo
    Jessie Huff • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I did the online Full Stack Web Development program at the Flatiron School, and like any online program, it had its positives and negatives. On the positive side, I do think that the school and the instructors genuinely care about the students and helping them as much as possible. The focus on labs, projects, and practical application was a good approach though I'm sure that there are ways to improve the currculum which I believe they regularly do. While taking the course, they released a number of additonal lessons, edited lessons, etc. It felt like they were constantly trying to stay current and improve what was there. Getting help on the labs were relatively easy through the "Ask a Question" portal, and they did their best to encourage collaboration and helping others. The projects they had me do were immensely helpful in actually understanding the concepts, and they gave me a great portfolio to use when looking for a job. Employers constantly asked about these projects, and they made me feel more confident in my abilities. 

    However, like other students have already said, it is what you make of it, especially with online programs. It is self taught and self led so that has its own set of challenges. You definitely have to be self motivated so if that is something that you struggle with, you may want to do an in-person class setting. Another area of weakness they had was support for the projects which I've actually talked with them about in trying to improve for the future. When I went through the program, there was only one instructor for each section project so one person had to handle anyone who was currently working on that project which made it nearly impossible to get much help from them during the project. Some instructors were extremely helpful, and I had one that was borderline nonexistent in terms of responsiveness. Hopefully they'll fix that in the future and make it a little easier to get help when that channel fails during projects. There were study groups that we could attend, but they were meant to be led by students' questions and sometimes that was a struggle (sometimes we didn't know what questions to ask- we just weren't as comfortable with that particularly subject material). I do think they've been extremely open to feedback though, and I've had multiple people talk to me about how they can improve and how Flatiron can improve. 

    In terms of after the course, I thought my career coach was excellent. The coaching I got completely changed my perspective on networking, and I just had a coworker call me a "master networker" because of the things I did with Flatiron after graduation. I was always open with my coach about the ups and downs of job hunting, and I really feel like I was given the push I needed to put in the work and find an absolutely incredible job. (They also helped me draft anything I was nervous about sending ahead of time, and they help you practice with mock interviews.) Some days I can't believe that I work where I do, and I wouldn't be here without Flatiron so I'm pretty grateful. I don't know if you'd get quite as lucky as I did with my awesome career coach, but when my first coach ended up leaving (her husband got a job across the country), my next coach was just as great so I'm pretty confident that they have incredible career coaches if you're willing to work with them and be open. 

    Overall, the program has its ups and downs, but it led me to where I am now, so for that, I'm really grateful that I went to the Flatiron School. 

  • Sav  User Photo
    Sav • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I think that Flatiron School can be a great option for getting into Web Development. I did their self-paced online course and got a job within 2-3 months of graduation. The experience is probably very different if you are taking an in-person course, but as for the online course, it's what you make of it. When I took the course (I believe its different now), you paid monthly, so the faster you got through the course, the less money you paid. This was very motivating for me, I was able to finish in just under 4 months, but I was easily studying 50 hours a week. With the new system, you will pay more, but you also might not have as much pressure to rush through things and may take a bit more time to dig into certain topics. 

    All-in-all, I think I made a great decision. With scholarships, I was able to finish in >4 months and pay >$3000. I've been at my job now for about 2 months working mainly in php but also some javascript and although there are plenty of times where I have no clue what I'm doing, I think that's just part of being a web developer and I now have the skills to figure out how to do these things on my own. 

  • Cory Bergquist  User Photo
    Cory Bergquist • Associate • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently completed the Full Stack Web Developer program at Flatiron School (completed in Oct of 2018), I took the course online using the self guided option. This allowed me to do as much or as little as I wanted every day, which turned out to be perfect for me. The online course is definitely a very self driven course, so if you have trouble motivating yourself, you might benefit from connecting with other students in the Slack channel, which is usually pretty active. I really enjoyed the self guided option because I had set a deadline of my own, and was able to keep a quick pace. 

    I agree with others that the lessons at the beginning of the course (Ruby) are more in depth and fully explained compared to the ending lessons on React and Redux. Having said that, keep in mind that technologies are always changing, so the lessons will always change, and nothing is perfect. If you're having trouble, sometimes you have to take the extra step and watch some extra tutorials, or reach out to other students and coaches on Slack. There's almost always someone willing to help you out. After a bit of struggle, at the end of the React section, I definitely felt like I could make a fully functioning website with relative ease. 

    Entering the job search portion of the program, I was pleasantly surprised by a couple things. The time spent correctly setting up your Linkedin profile, github profile, personal blog, and resume was really great. While I was applying, I looked over some other Linkedin profiles of people who had completed bootcamps similar to Flatiron, but they lacked a bit of professionalism and didn't seem very thurough. I felt like Flatiron helped me present myself in a very professional way, and I think that helped me stand out. I was also able to email my coach while I was negotiating my salary with a potential employer, and they were able to give me fantastic advice on how to handle it the entire way through. I will say that they sort of breeze over applying to companies online and almost discourage you from doing it. I agree that most of the time your resume will be passed over, but after talking to a few recruiters I learned how to make a resume that would be more search-friendly for big companies and ended up getting a decent amount of responses that way. 

    In the end, I ended up getting a job with a company that I was referred to by Flatiron, so I feel like it was 100% worth my money and my time. 

  • Lisa Lee  User Photo
    Lisa Lee • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    In terms of what the program was supposed to do, I am technically a success. I left my job, learned web development (including React and Redux), and got a well-paying job as a software engineer at a tech company. But I wish I had paid more attention to some of the critical reviews. 

    I did the online program, where it's self-paced. At least in this program, learning is VERY self-driven. Everything is taught through the Flatiron "Learn" portal, which is sometimes buggy. I've definitely had occasions where I spent an hour coding in the editor and was almost about to submit when it froze and lost all my work. Lessons, as I progressed, became harder to understand, mainly because they were more poorly written. The lessons on Ruby were probably the best out of all of them, given that they were the oldest and most groomed. On the other hand, the ones on CSS, React, and Redux honestly felt laughable given how sparse they were. 

    For the projects, there's no real standard for quality. I put in a lot of work to make ambitious projects with pretty web design so they would actually look good on my resume. But looking at other students' work, I saw most people just did the bare minimum to pass the project requirements. I didn't feel like there was any incentive for people to try and become "great" web developers with projects they could be proud of. 

    During the program, I had a friend who went to another intensive bootcamp (which I won't name). But he gave me access to his school's portal, and I did the majority of their workshops. Honestly, the difference in quality was staggering. Their information was much more so up-to-date and their approach to web development so much more engaging and serious. I learned about websockets, cyper security, flexbox, etc., all things I felt like my curriculum shorted me of. 

    Lastly, the job assistance was fine. They did connect me with 1-2 interviews a week. But the final lessons were just a couple of paragraphs about Big O notation and binary trees. I don't think they drilled to the students how much they need to study and practice algorithms to do well on any of the interviews. Putting this all together, it makes sense that the students aren't doing as well as comparable bootcamp grads. The school doesn't treat its students like serious software engineers, and I do feel like between all the self-studying and catching up to other bootcamp and C.S. grads (if they even know to do this), Flatiron students definitely start out at a disadvantage. 

    Response From: Rebekah Rombom of Flatiron School
    Title: GM of Online Programs
    Tuesday, Apr 16 2019
    Hi Lisa - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take this feedback incredibly seriously, and while we're thrilled you got a great job, we’re sorry your experience hasn’t been what you expected. That's not what we want for any student. 


    We're incredibly proud of our grads and our outcomes, but are always striving to make Flatiron School even better. As we do, we'll be referring to this feedback. If you'd like to speak directly or in any more detail, please always feel free to e-mail me directly at rebekah@flatironschool.com


    Rebekah Rombom, GM of Online Programs
  • Scott Waring  User Photo
    Scott Waring • Junior Software Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Flatiron School's Access Labs program in Brooklyn, and graduated this past January. Since then I have been hired as Junior Frontend Developer, and I can say that it was the absolutely right decision to attend Flatiron.

    I was very unsure how their reputation stacked up in the real world and what the quality of the education was. I looked into App Academy, and Fullstack as well, and was accepted at Fullstack, (I didnt apply to App Academy). Ulitimately I choose Flatiron because the timing of the cohort was better for me, and the finiancing option with the Access Labs program is awesome. I currently work with App Academy graduates and they are all top notch, and know other people who are Fullstack graduates that are excellent programmers too. 

    I didnt find the bootcamp expierence to be crazy overwhemling, its hard work for sure, but if you have a mature attitude and work ethic you'll be fine. Flatiron will teach you how to code, how to build applications, provide a working understanding of how code operates and how the frameworks and languages communicate with each other. If you choose not to do the hard work, you'll still probably graduate but you've just cheated yourself. Like anything in life you get out of it what you put in, and Flatiron has a ton of resources for those who engage and want to learn. Flatiron does an excellent job of helping their students develop their soft skills too, and they offer talks and work shops with working developers.

    When you graduate you'll still have a lot of knowledge to fill in, data types, and algorithms, CS concepts etc. You need to do the work and learn this stuff. 

    Flatiron has a robust career staffing team that actively engage and assist their graduates find jobs, lifetime career coaching support, job fairs, mock tech interviews, and more. This aspect of the school can not be understated, they offer a lot of job hunting support. 

    The teaching assistants are excellent, and extremely helpful, the teachers for the most part are senior devs that have switched to teaching. 

    Flatiron can improve by implementing more code reviews of student projects, and by having stricter requirements for passing course sections. I saw some students that would have benefitted from more focused support from the teaching staff but instead were passed to advanced sections with out fulling grasping the concepts. IF you as a student feel like you are falling behind you need to take the initiative to get the help you need. 

    All in all I very very happy with my decision to attend Flatiron, I now have the best job Ive ever had.

  • Justin  User Photo
    Justin • software engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Speaking as a graduate, this is an outstanding coding bootcamp for several reasons:

    1) Their full stack web development curriculum gives you everything you need to make web apps on both the front and backend. There are many other course choices but this is the one I completed. 

    2) The curriculum is test driven; you write code that passes automated tests just like a real developer does. This means you are really being trained to write good code. Furthermore, there are 5 projects to complete and you are given 30 minute assessments for each one with a trained developer. This prepares you for the real world and ensures that you *really* do know your stuff once you graduate. 

    3) You are given a lot of support. You can use the ask a question feature 16 hours a day (9 AM to 1 AM) and have technical coaches help you with your code. You also have a large Slack community and many study groups available. If you do in person immersive or the structured online track you get more support still. 

    4) You push all of your labs and projects to github so that you have a portfolio ready to show employers (plus, most employers also use github). Your credibility is thus greatly enhanced when it comes time to job hunt. 

    5) The job search assistance is second to none. You are assigned a career coach who teaches you specific skills such as networking, writing a resume, and preparing for interviews. You are given weekly check ins by your career coach. You have a huge network of business and graduates also helping you. Does all this work? You bet! Flatiron has the best independently verified job placement rate of all the bootcamps for a reason. 

    Personal anecdote: I started with zero programming experience, worked my tail off as a Flatiron student and graduate in 6 months, then worked for them part time as a technical coach, and just got a 73K job as a junior software engineer just 9 months after graduating! 

    This is an amazing place to learn to code and launch your career if you are willing to put the dedication in. Added bonus: you can do a lot of free labs they offer to see if it is really right for you. 

  • Mary  User Photo
    Mary • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I should start with the ol' bootcamp adage of "your outcome/success is dependent on you and what you put into the program" as that very much holds true to my experience with Flatiron.  I did the Online Immersive program and managed to land a dream job, but I also passed on the opportunity to qualify for the "Job Guarantee" so I could spend more time post-graduation learning and polishing my portfolio projects (to be eligible for the "job guarantee or your money back" part that they advertise you've got to keep up with a pretty rigorous job search program that many have mentioned is more exhausting than the course work).  I should mention that even though I voluntarily waived my right to the job guarantee, the school still happily provided me with career coaching services that were amazing and impactful in helping me land my first gig.

    Here are my Pros and Cons for the program.

    Pros: 

    -The program was flexible enough for a stay-at-home parent. This was the primary reason I chose Flatiron over other schools.  

    -Excellent Ruby curriculum.  Avi is a master at teaching and his methods are sound.  Every Ruby takehome test I did for a job interview was really well received and I credit the Flatiron curriculum for that.

    -Excellent TAs. If you get stuck on a lab anytime between the early hours of the morning and late at night, there's going to be a TA to help you get unstuck. And if you need help with a project, you can schedule time with them, or bring your problem to one of the many weekly study groups.  Basically, if you need help you'll get it.  Also, most of the TA's are graduates and insanely smart, so I constantly went away from a TA session having more confidence in the program knowing the alumni were so competent.

    -Excellent Career Coaches. My two coaches were tireless cheerleaders for me, helping me successfully self-promote and giving me confidence throughout the ups and downs of the job search.

    -Excellent Instructors.  My interaction with my section leads was limited mostly to my project assessments, but there is an option to schedule office hours with them.  That being said, I learned quite a lot in each 1-hour assessment.

    The Cons:

    - The Javascript curriculum at the time that I was studying at Flatiron needed a reboot, and the React curriculum was still maturing.  If that's the still the case, I would highly recommend using Udemy courses to supplement your study.  If you feel like you're getting lost in those sections, you won't be alone.  It was a frequent complaint in the community slack channels.  That being said, the TA's and section leads are very competent in JS, so there's the option to lean on them a bit more.

    -The Job Guarantee requirements are pretty insane, especially if you're a parent (I'm imagining impossible if you're a working parent).  Really really really check these out if you feel like you'll be reliant on it.

    -I think at least one of the projects should have been a "group assignment" as I found many employers I interviewed with thought it was a negative that I hadn't worked in a collaborative environment with more complicated source control demands.  Flatiron could supplement this group project with more Github curriculum.

    -----

    Overall, I got exactly what I wanted out of the program, and my job offer pretty much exceeded the ROI I was hoping for, so I really can't complain. I'm very proud of being a Flatiron graduate, and I think this year you'll see the school make a bigger name for itself as it expands to new cities and as more graduates find jobs.  I know the month I got a job offer it was one of 60 offers extended to Flatiron grads (and in December, which tends to be slow for hiring).  That's a pretty impressive number. 

    If you're looking for a flexible online program with plenty of support, I'd highly recommend Flatiron.

     

  • Amazing Experience
    - 1/23/2019
    Jesse  User Photo
    Jesse • Technical Apprentice • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I earned my BA in Computer Science, but I had a hard time applying my skills to real world scenarios.  After working in a non-technical setting for about a year, I jumped into learning web development. It was a lot of fun but with no real learning structure to guide me, so I felt like I was always jumping around. I decided to attend Flatiron, and it was a great experience. So much information is thrown at you, but the instructors and fellow students are there to help you.  I think that was the biggest takeaway from Flatiron, the culture they try to foster. Being able to go through a program that is this intense is easier to do when you have people around you trying to push you to be the best you can be.  I graduated in November, and now in January I have accepted an offer with Amazon. The offer was initally set up through Flatiron's Business Development team.  Roughly every three months, the school offers a career fair for qualifying students (you just have to complete some mock interviews and meet with your coach a few times). This was one of the most helpful experiences I went through while at Flatiron. Over the course of 4 days, I met with 5 companies that the BD team matched me with. It's a great opportunity to hone your interview skills and also nail in person interviews so you can proceed to next steps.  Overall, Flatiron was one of the best decisions I made for my career, and I strongly recommend the school to anyone looking to enter into Web Development.

  • Life changing
    - 1/21/2019
    Tristram Jones  User Photo
    Tristram Jones • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Completing the Flatiron Web Dev Immersive course in NYC was one of the best commitments I've ever made. I'm from Utah and after researching bootcamp options decided on Flatiron and a few others. I had no coding background and barely passed the technical interview during the admissions process so the coursework was difficult. However, since I was committed to putting in 12-16 hours/day the material was certainly manageable. By the end of each 3-week module, I felt confident in the material we'd covered. The instructors were absolutely incredible. The quality of teaching surpassed anything I experienced in college. We had 1 instructor for only 1 week who didn't meet this standard, but every other instructor was highly skilled. After a little less than 3 months I got my first (and only) offer and accepted immediately. The pay and growth potential were both outstanding. The job market in Salt Lake City is competitive and I ended up at a startup with a promising future. I couldn't be happier. More than all of that, though, I now have a highly marketable skill that allows me to build and create meaningful things.

  • Lou  User Photo
    Lou • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Flatiron School was a once in a lifetime experience that changed my life. I challenged myself everyday and met a ton of ambitious and intelligent individuals (instructors, mentors and classmates) who I now call friends and most importantly, I walked away with a profoundly valuable skill: the ability to turn ideas into reality through programming.

    I WORKED EXTREMELY HARD AND WAS CHALLENGED!!!

    On average, I spent 10–16 hours a day (~75–80 hours/week, including weekends) dedicated to code. I sat in lectures, watched lecture videos and programming videos, worked on labs, wrote blog posts, and built my own projects. Many times during the week I still found myself on campus past 12AM and during the final weeks of Flatiron School in building my final portfolio project, I still found myself on campus past 2AM especially on the weekends. And honestly the only reason why I didn’t stay later was the support of my family, friends and instructors who requested that I take care of my health and not burn out (seriously take care of your health…). But when I got home, I still wrote code. Truth be told, no one should ever tell you that programming is easy because it isn’t. It’s very invigorating and challenging; like really hard. It’s mind-bending work and you constantly have to hold a million different puzzle pieces in your brain in order to solve the problem. There will be days where I go to bed thinking about how to solve the problem and feeling defeated while other days where I felt like I was the champion of the world. Programming, with its instant feedback loop, will constantly play with your emotions. But when things click and you “figure” it out, you will feel a sense of accomplishment like no other. It really is ADDICTING. 

    The instructors at Flatiron School were all absolutely phenomenal; highly intelligent, humble and experienced individuals who genuinely want you to succeed and do well. Up to this day they still reach out to me and check up on me to make sure that I am doing well and very excited for me when I chose the software engineer role that I wanted.

    The career services at Flatiron School stand out among any other Bootcamps in the world and work hard to get you leads and interviews and the job that you want!

  • Daniel Brazel  User Photo
    Daniel Brazel • Fullstack Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     I graduated from Flatiron School's immersive Web Development program in 2018. It is a great place to learn. The staff is committed to your success and even after graudation there is plenty of support to help you find a job. The best part of Flatiron is the community you build with both students and staff (a lot of the staff are former students). Most classes build really strong bonds that continue even after graduation. Additionally Career Services does an amazing job and can help connect you to companies.

  • Justin  User Photo
    Justin • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall wonderful experience. I came to Flatiron as a recent college graduate with a CS degree, so I had a certain expectation with programming classes. I was pleasantly surprised by my experience at Flatiron. They have a great community where everyone is helping each other out. I did take issue with one instructor who wasn't as engaged with my class as the other instructors were, but they were all extremely helpful and approachable. The only main problem I had was with career services. Although I appreciated all of the tools they provided to help me look for a job, I felt once I received my first job offer, the school pushed me towards taking it just so they could add me to their jobs report. I could be pessimistic but it left a sour taste in my mouth. I would still recommend the course to anyone because of how much you learn in such a short period of time. Just be wary of their career services once you start looking for a job.

Student Outcomes

* These outcomes are not audited by Course Report. In some cases, data is audited by a third party.


99%
Graduation Rate
95%
Employed
$74,447
Median Salary

Flatiron School has an acceptance rate of 8%, of which 85% of accepted students enroll in a course. Of the students who enroll at Flatiron School, 99% graduate. 95% are hired in technical roles within 120 days and report an average income of $74,447.

Matriculation Information

Accepted

289

Enrolled

246

Graduated

244

Job Seeking

205


Job Seeking Graduates Placed:

55%

30 days

76%

60 days

86%

90 days

95%

120 days

98%

After 120 days


Employment Breakdown:

This chart shows the breakdown of roles for job-seeking graduates.

Notes & Caveats:

Flatiron School is one of the first bootcamps to produce an independently audited jobs report actually verifying we achieved the results we do. We have independently examined reports for both the Online and NYC programs. 
You can download the reports here

Thanks!