flatiron-school-logo

Flatiron School

Atlanta, Austin, Brooklyn, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Houston, London, New York City, Online, San Francisco, Seattle, Sydney, Washington

Flatiron School

Avg Rating:4.71 ( 435 reviews )

Flatiron School offers immersive on-campus and online programs in software engineering, data science, UX/UI design, and cybersecurity in NYC, Brooklyn, Washington DC, London, Houston, Atlanta, Austin, Seattle, Chicago, Denver, and Online. Flatiron School’s immersive courses aim to launch students into fulfilling careers as software engineers, data scientists, and UX/UI designers through rigorous, market-aligned curricula, and the support of seasoned instructors and personal career coaches. Through test-driven labs and portfolio projects, Flatiron teaches students to think and build like software engineers and data scientists. Flatiron School’s UX/UI Design Immersive includes a client project to give students client-facing experience and an industry-vetted portfolio.

To apply, applicants must submit a written application about why they want to join Flatiron School, take part in an interview with an admissions advisor, learn some basic skills, and discuss it with an instructor. Flatiron is looking for people with passion and aptitude and aims to admit people with a variety of backgrounds. Flatiron School also offers several free introductory courses, including Coding Bootcamp Prep and Data Science Bootcamp Prep. 

Flatiron School offers a money-back guarantee for their Software Engineering, Data Science, and UX/UI Design Immersives – if students don’t get a qualifying job offer within six months of graduation, they can get their money back (see eligibility at flatironschool.com/terms). Flatiron’s Career Services team provides weekly 1:1 career coaching sessions, mock interviews, and employer introductions to help students launch lifelong careers in tech.

Flatiron School, in partnership with WeWork, also powers the Access Labs Initiative – a 15-week immersive software engineering program in Brooklyn with deferred tuition for applicants earning less than $35,000. To increase diversity in its programs, Flatiron School has awarded over $10 million in scholarships for women, minorities, veterans, and other underrepresented groups in tech.

Flatiron School was one of the first bootcamps in the industry to publish outcomes, backing its 99% employment rate for the NYC Software Engineering Immersive, and 94% employment rate for the Online Software Engineering Immersive with annual independently-verified jobs reports (check out the full report at flatironschool.com/outcomes). 

Recent Flatiron School Reviews: Rating 4.71

all (435) reviews for Flatiron School →

Recent Flatiron School News

Read all (133) articles about Flatiron School →
  • Cybersecurity Analytics Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class size20
    LocationWashington, New York City, London
    Over 12 intense weeks on campus at Flatiron School, our Cybersecurity Analytics curriculum will prepare you to handle rapidly-advancing threats. You’ll set traps and catch threat actors with our real-world lab environments paired with industry-grade curriculum. You’ll learn the analytical skills needed to stand out from the competition. Our Cybersecurity Analytics program includes 8 foundational courses designed to prepare you for success in the cybersecurity industry.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    Options vary by location: 
    London: Deferred Payment Plan
    NYC: ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: London: £12,500, NYC $17,000, DC $15,000
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School’s Cybersecurity Analytics Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we’ll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous cybersecurity analytics experience is required.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersive

    Apply
    Data Science, Git, R, JavaScript, jQuery, Data Structures, Algorithms, Node.js, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week15 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class size20
    LocationChicago, Washington, San Francisco, New York City, London, Seattle
    The Data Science Immersive provides students with the knowledge, skills, and experience to get a job as a data scientist – which requires a mix of software engineering, statistical understanding, and the ability to apply both skills in new and challenging domains. The program will teach students to gather data, apply statistical analysis to answer questions with that data, and make their insights and information as actionable as possible. Our pedagogy ensures not only job readiness for today’s market, but the aptitude and skills to keep learning and stay relevant. At Flatiron School, students learn by building. Students will come away with an advanced Portfolio Project to demonstrate their technical proficiency and creativity to current or future job managers and hiring leads. Our course dedicates three weeks towards completion of a large-scale data science and machine learning project where students work in groups of two. The project provides an in-depth opportunity for students to demonstrate their learning accomplishments and get a feel for what working a large-scale data science project is really like.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: NYC and SF: $17,000; Chicago, Houston, Seattle: $15,000; London: £12,500
    Refund / GuaranteeYes. Flatiron
    ScholarshipVisit flatironschool.com/scholarships to learn about current scholarship opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Data Science Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Online Cybersecurity Analytics

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    In as little as 16 weeks at Flatiron School, our Cybersecurity Analytics curriculum will prepare you to handle rapidly-advancing threats. You’ll set traps and catch threat actors with our real-world lab environments paired with the industry-grade curriculum. You’ll learn the analytical skills needed to stand out from the competition. Our Cybersecurity Analytics program includes 8 foundational courses designed to prepare you for success in the cybersecurity industry.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit.
    Tuition PlansFull-Time Course: $15,000 Part-Time Course: $15,000
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Online Cybersecurity Analytics includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms).
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous cybersecurity analytics experience is required.
    Prep WorkOptional
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Online Data Science Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    With more than 650% job growth since 2012, data science has catapulted to be among tech’s fastest-growing and most sought-after fields. This program will provide students with the knowledge, skills, and experience to get a job as a data scientist – which requires a mix of software engineering, statistical understanding, and the ability to apply both skills in new and challenging domains. Students will learn how to gather data, apply statistical analysis to answer questions with that data, and make their insights and information as actionable as possible. Our pedagogy ensures not only job readiness for today’s market, but the aptitude and skills to keep learning and stay relevant. All students in our Online Data Science Immersive receive a one-year WeWork hot desk membership included in their tuition, enabling them to connect and network with other learners in their city. The course is available in full-time, part-time, and self-paced formats.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansTuition varies across three course pacing options: Full-Time Course: $15,000 Part-Time Course: $15,000 Self-Paced Course: $9,600
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Online Data Science Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Data Science Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Online Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Flatiron School’s proven Full Stack Web Development Curriculum is at the heart of our instructor-led Online Software Engineering Immersive. This rigorous course of study prepares you for a career in web development through 800 hours of challenging but rewarding coursework, providing you with the skills and experience necessary to obtain and excel in an entry-level software development job. While the bulk of the material covered encompasses the Ruby and JavaScript ecosystems, we carefully designed this curriculum to teach you to think—and build—like a software engineer, independent of any specific language. By the completion of Online Software Engineering Immersive, you’ll have done much more than build your technical skills: you’ll have maintained a technical blog to show you can credibly talk tech; you’ll have become a part of your local developer community; you’ll have amassed an impressive portfolio of unique, functional web applications that show employers your programming abilities in action. With Full-Time, Part-Time, and Self-Paced course options, the Online Software Engineering Immersive is designed to give you the perfect balance of flexibility and structure to ensure your success. All students in our Online Software Engineering Immersive receive a one-year WeWork hot desk membership included in their tuition, enabling them to connect and network with other learners in their city. The course is available in full-time, part-time, and self-paced formats.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansTuition varies across three course pacing options: Full-Time Course: $15,000; Part-Time Course: $15,000; Self-Paced Course: $9,600
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Online Software Engineering Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Coding Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Online UX/UI Design

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    At a full-time or part-time pace, online students learn skills in user experience and user interface design, then practice those skills in a professional, client-based environment. Broken into two phases – Flatiron School’s learning model allows students to study part-time for the first phase, Design Essentials, and then continue at a full-time or part-time pace for team-based design and live client projects for the remainder of the course. Students learn quickly that design itself isn’t only about doing or creating; it’s always about learning— about users, clients, teammates, practices, tools, skills, and yourself. Upon graduation, students can expect to be job-ready UX or UI Designers. Flatiron's unique blend of technical training, apprenticeship-style project work, and personalized career coaching prepare students to excel in the sought-after design market. Dedicated career coaches provide 1:1 mentoring to every graduate, including resume reviews, mock interviews, and proven strategies for building a job opportunity pipeline. All students in our Online UX/UI Design course receive a one-year WeWork hot desk membership included in their tuition, enabling them to connect and network with other learners in their city. The course is available in full-time and part-time formats.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition Plans$15,000 for Full-Time and Part-Time course pace options
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Online UX/UI Design course includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous design experience is required.
    Prep WorkNo.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    MySQL, AngularJS, HTML, JavaScript, Sinatra, Rails, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End, Ruby, SQL
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week15 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$15,000
    Class size20
    LocationDenver, Chicago, Houston, Atlanta, Washington, Brooklyn, San Francisco, New York City, London, Seattle, Austin
    Being a software engineer requires more than knowing how to code or build a web app. Over 15 challenging weeks on Flatiron School’s campus, students learn to think, and build, like software engineers — from developing coding proficiency to gaining an understanding of how products are designed and managed. In each three-week curriculum module, students develop key skills through interactive labs, lectures, and close collaboration, showcasing progress through Portfolio Projects. While the bulk of the material covered encompasses the Ruby and JavaScript ecosystems, we carefully designed our curriculum to prepare students to launch software engineering careers, independent of any specific language or technology. By the completion of the program, students have done much more than simply build technical skills: they have maintained technical blogs to show they can credibly talk tech; they have become a part of the tech community; they have amassed an impressive portfolio of unique, functional web applications to show employers as they enter the job-search phase with the support of our Career Services team.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    ISAs available in select states. Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: Atlanta: $10,000 London: £10,000 Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Seattle, Washington, DC: $15,000 NYC and SF: $17,000
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's Software Engineering Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo previous coding experience is required, but we encourage all applicants to start learning through Flatiron School’s free Coding Bootcamp Prep course.
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Design Immersive

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$17,000
    Class size24
    LocationSan Francisco, New York City, London, Seattle, Austin
    Powered by Designation, this course combines the world’s leading digital design program with Flatiron School’s best-in-class Career Services team and money-back guarantee (see eligibility details at flatironschool.com/terms). Students learn skills in user experience and user interface design and then practice those skills in a professional, client-based environment. Broken into two 12-week phases – this hybrid learning model allows students to study online for the first 12 weeks, and then join in person for team-based design and live client projects. Students learn quickly that design itself isn’t only about doing or creating; it’s always about learning— about users, clients, teammates, practices, tools, skills, and yourself.
    Financing
    DepositYes
    Financing
    Lending partners available, including SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansTuition varies by campus location: NYC: $17,000; London: £12,500
    Refund / GuaranteeFlatiron School's UX/UI Design Immersive includes a money-back guarantee: get a job offer within six months of graduation, or we'll refund your full tuition. (See eligibility terms at flatironschool.com/terms)
    ScholarshipContact admissions@flatironschool.com to learn about current opportunities.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Prep WorkBefore beginning the full time course, all students complete Design Essentials - a six-week online course covering the foundations of UX research, UX design, interaction design, visual design, UI design, and user testing.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Dan Kagan  User Photo
    Dan Kagan • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Flatiron School totally changed my life in a lot of ways, I not only gained the tangible coding skills to be a developer, but Flatiron achieved their goal of getting me to a confidence and skill-level in my coding where I can go off any learn any language, framework and software system via research and practice. To me that is the biggest technical gift that I walked away with.

    In addition, I would not have been able to complete the course if it were not for the incredible coaches, lead instructors and fellow cohortees that all made up the Flatiron community day-to-day. 

    Flatiron's curriculum not only gets you to a level of coding and understanding where you can build a beautiful, full-stack, ReactJS-RoR site, but they teach you the fundamental parts of programming that allow you to be adaptable outside of JavaScript and Ruby. 

    The program is definitely intense in terms of the volume of work that you are expected to complete, but within the first module, most students got comfortable with understanding how they learned the material best and could adjust their schedules accordingly. 

    As a new coder, it is very easy to explore the internet and find people who are extremely passionate about certain ways to go about learning how to code, what's most important. Examples like "Python HAS to be your first language in 2020", which are completely BS, but not obviously so if you are a new developer.

    Flatiron surrounds you with professional software engineers throughout the program who not only reassure you that statements like the one above are non-sense. But they also help you understand being a good person and teammate is when it comes to coding. No company nor any development team wants to work with people who are selfish about their coding knowledge, aren't team players, or are just jerks in general. But you can certainly find a lot of those people spouting their "wisdom" online. 

    There's something to be said for a former senior software engineer looking at your cohort dead in the eye and saying "You are developers." Imposter syndrome is an enormous reason why people quit teaching themselves how to learn coding, and Flatiron does an excellent job to help people navigate all of the technical AND emotional questions that arise through a developers coding bootcamp journey. 

    I am forever grateful for the people who I met at Flatiron!

  • Fernando  User Photo
    Fernando • Data Analyst • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I had a fantastic experience at Flatiron that ended up in me receiving two job offers two days apart, a month after my graduation! They provide the necessary structure and resources to ensure your success in this field. I agree with some reviews that you could self-teach this material, but that is true for everything. The value of this bootcamp relies on these critical elements: 
    - Its structured and comprehensive data science curriculum,
    - Interaction with seasoned mentors (technical coaches) as you learn the material,
    - Vetted outside resources to deepen your knowledge and understanding of the content on your own,
    - Relevant projects to build your portfolio,
    - WeWork membership to have a space to study and network, 
    - An educational coach that sees to your well-being,
    - A community of fellow students willing to lend a hand and share experiences,
    - A career coach that prepares you and guides you through your entire job search, and
    - Access to career events and employer partnerships.
    As you can see, you are not just paying for the material, which you could access for free in many ways. You are paying for an entire support network and a whole learning framework that, in the end, will increase your chances of success and minimize the time it takes to transition into this growing, lucrative, and exciting field.
  • Data Science
    - 3/6/2020
    Logan  User Photo
    Logan • Data Scientist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Being part of the first on-campus DS cohort came with its bumps, but that was to be expected.  Overall I really enjoyed my time at Flatiron and it prepared me to land an entry level DS role.  I would recommend learning a lot more SQL, because a lot of entry level jobs require a lot more than we learned.  I would highly recommend Flatiron to anyone looking to make a career change or better their DS skillset. 
  • Alison  User Photo
    Alison • Product Designer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I just accepted an offer to my first UX JOB! I really would recommend this program but be aware.... you will need to hustle and work VERY hard to get a job, breaking into UX is no joke. That being said, Flatiron has given me all the tools to succeed: great curriculum, amazing instructors, awesome projects to feature in my portfolio (one is which with a real startup), and I can't speak highly enough about the career services. I highly recommend the in-person UX Design track. 
  • Fahima Hyder  User Photo
    Fahima Hyder • Database analyst • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I joined the inaugural Data Science part-time bootcamp in October 2018 and finished in September 2019. Brace yourself, the program is no joke. You will be banging your head on a desk for the next year. If at all possible, join the full-time program, you're learning a new language and it's important that you dedicate as much time to it as possible. However, if that's not possible for you (like myself) the part-time program is still great burt requires waaaaaayyyy more discipline as it is all online.

     

    They provide you with a mentor/instructor, a life coach, and a wework membership. You might think having a life coach is silly but lemme tell you, I would've dropped out of the program without Katie McKenna's encouraging words throughout the program. My mentor. Jeff Herman, is the f***ing best. All of our 1:1 meetings were super helpful. He does a great job at explaining any piece of code that isn't making sense and then providing you with extra reading material so you can really lock it in. 

    Career services was also super helpful. They keep you on a track with a schedule and secure interviews for you that might otherwise be hard to get. I accepted an offer for a full-time job in under three months through a company that Flatiron School hooked me up with.

    It's not all rainbows and daisies though. The nature of the tech industry is that you have to teach yourself to teach yourself. Don't expect anyone to hold your hands through this program. Expect to spend a lot of time on Stack Overflow and wondering why you're inflicting this type of torture on yourself. Reach out to your cohorts for support. Reach out to your mentors as often as you need. Getting through this program has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life, but don't forget they're not kidding when they call it a 'bootcamp'. Good luck!

     

     

  • Haley  User Photo
    Haley • Junior Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Flatiron School's online, full-time software engineering program without any prior coding experience. I completed the program on-time, in six months. I received a job offer after five weeks from my official job search start date!

    Flatiron School's career services are amazing. My career coach was extremely helpful in reviewing my resume, talking through my job search strategy, providing constructive feedback, and giving me advice regarding salary negotiation. In addition, the job search prep lessons I was given access to upon graduation were extremely helpful and comprehensive. I highly recommend following the number of networking outreaches that Flatiron encourages you to do every week of your job search!

    As an online student, I never felt isolated due to the various channels Flatiron provides to get involved in the community, including Slack and Zoom. It helped to have face-to-face interaction with people throughout the week via Zoom, including weekly standups with my cohort, bi-weekly lectures, and weekly one-on-ones with my technical coach. If you get stuck on a lab, you can ask a question on the Learn platform and receive prompt responses from technical coaches. The WeWork Hot Desk membership eased my transition from working in an office five days a week to being an online student.

    Overall, the online curriculum was well done. The labs are designed to stretch your existing knowledge a bit further, which helps develop your problem-solving and trouble-shooting skills. I gave the curriculum 4/5 stars because it could be cleaned up a bit. For example, the order of the lessons seemed out of order at times. I noticed this mostly in the JavaScript and React/Redux sections.

    Students have the opportunity to provide feedback about the curriculum, technical coaches, etc at the end of each section. I believe Flatiron takes this feedback to heart and is constantly trying to make improvements in order to provide the best learning experience.

    I had a great experience as an online student at Flatiron School, and I would highly recommend it. Just be aware that it requires a lot of self-discipline, both during the program and the job search!

  • Edward Beck  User Photo
    Edward Beck • Data Analyst • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    First and most importantly I started listening listening to the girls on the podcast 2 years ago and i loved listening to them. I was in the first DS cohort and it was pretty intense, i mean i only thought about DS for 14 months and i took about 5 days off where i didn't code or read code. I had a bachelor mathematics degree, that was getting a little stale and switched to a completely different field (environmental) however i had a job within two weeks after i had applied to 4 position. I also had 2 second in person interviews. My salary was increased substantially with the career change.
  • flatiron = worth it
    - 12/25/2019
    Matthew Parker  User Photo
    Matthew Parker • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    great instructor, good curriculum, lots of resources for graduates on the job hunt. Even though the program comes with a 6-month money-back guarantee if you don't get a job, it's not needed. With no prior experience I got a job after only 6 months on the job market.

  • SAY NO TO FLATIRON
    - 12/16/2019
    Carlos  User Photo
    Carlos • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If your looking to self teach yourself and pay $15,000, then Flatiron is your school. If you want to learn the pure basics and then have to Google everything else, then say YES! Otherwise, this is school is an utter rip off. They don't have a plan, it is all lecture, and very little study time. You will end your day with daily challenges on topics you barely touched on. This is where Google comes in. You are told that in the real world, you will have to Google the answers so this is preparation. I say NO WAY! I am here to build a solid foundation and if I have to, research the harder bits. I am not about to GOOGLE the most basic tools of the trade. For that, I can stay home and take a less expensive route. APPLICANTS BE WARNED. Prepare yourself for an incredible bright future elsewhere.

    Response From: Peter Barth of Flatiron School
    Title: Managing Director
    Tuesday, Jan 14 2020
    Hi Carlos - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take this feedback incredibly seriously, and we're sorry your experience was not what you expected. We work closely with our online and on-campus students to ensure they have the support they need from instructors, coaches, and community. Your experience is not what we want for any student. 

    We're incredibly proud of our graduates, our community, and our jobs placements, but are always striving to make Flatiron School even better. As we do, we'll be referring to this feedback. If you'd like to speak directly or in any more detail, please always feel free to e-mail me directly at peter.barth@flatironschool.com
  • Alison Golden  User Photo
    Alison Golden • Full Stack Web Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Flatiron School was the most challenging yet rewarding expereince Ive had in life. The highs and lows are real. There were days I thought about giving up, I thought I couldnt make it through, I thought maybe this wasnt for me. Yet I kept showing up, putting the time and effort in, taking advantage of the excellent help of technical coaches and tech leads...and after 5 months I graduated. I think the cirriculum and technical assistance is top notch at Flatiron. It wasnt until maybe a month after graduation that I realized all of the information floating around my head finally made sense. It all started to fall into place and I could see clearly the effectiveness of the Flatiron cirriculum. It no doubt teaches you what you need to know to be valuable in this industry. I can proudly say that two months after graduation I received my first ever Full Stack Web Developer job offer. I am excited for this new journey and thankful to Flatiron for the dedication to excellence and providing such a truly robust program as well as an amazing experience. My advice to all who are considering is this:

    1. Be prepared to put the time and effort in. Some weeks I spent more than 60 hours studying and coding.
    2. Take advantage of the Ask a Question and meeting with your Cohort Lead and join the Study Groups. This is where I feel I learned the most. 
    3. Dont give up. We all doubt ourselves at some point. Whats important is to stay positive, keep showing up, learning and doing what you can.

  • 👍
    - 11/30/2019
    Keith Burgie  User Photo
    Keith Burgie • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before Flatiron I'd had several years of experience working as a front-end developer and previously paid for education at a community college and through Harvard Extension School. I had known of bootcamps for a long time and not had much interest or belief in them. But, I was hitting a plateau in my particular niche and within 48 hours of seeing a Flatiron ad on Facebook or Google, I was all in. For me, with mostly HTML and CSS experience, I could tell that this program would fill foundational gaps in my programming knowledge and teach me to use the hottest library in town: React.

    The Good

    The program really did provide me with everything that I hoped it would and brought me to a level I don't believe I could have acheived on my own. I had several interviews before landing a job, and in the final, live, 90-minute code test, I was tested on everything I learned at school and nothing that I had prior knowledge of. This was hugely gratifying because 1) it confirmed that I had been taught the right way to do things and 2) that any of my classmates who were making complete career changes could also have passed this test. It is not an easy program to get into or to complete, but if you can do it, it really means you have the skills to do it professionally.

    Tuition

    This will apply to any bootcamp, but really do the math on tuition options. The $15,000 price tag turns into something like $21,000 if you take their loan. On their income share agreement webpage it says "With Flatiron School, you’ll never pay more than 1.5x the ISA portion of the tuition amount." 1.5x is A LOT more than 1x and you're on the hook for 48 to 96 months (8 years), depending on the loan option you take. Read all the fine print.

    Career Services

    I felt that the career services were a little bit over-sold. I don't live in the city where I went to school, so maybe I had a different experience, but I expected Flatiron to actually provide more job leads than they did. I got a handful from them, but I live in Virginia and the opportunities were in places like Florida, Texas and Ohio.

    Mock-technical interviews were handled by a third party and none of my classmates had a good experience with them. We all had our asses kicked by questions that were over our heads. I'm a good developer and I was rated a 2 out of 5 in this interview. A classmate, who was the first or second best programmer in our class was similarly crushed, and we all walked away feeling very discouraged about our abilities and hireability.

    The career coaching aspect was good. My coach gave good advice and helped me plan answeres to questions that have been historically difficult for me. The résumé help is also very valuable.

    Caution: The Money Back Guarantee

    When you officially declare your job search after graduation, you begin working off a spreadsheet with specific requirements for networking and continued education. The requirements are signficant and if you do what they say for 6 months, you'll almost definitely get a job. However, if you miss a single checkbox for a single week of that 6 month period, you are out. There is a lot of legalise on their money-back page (https://flatironschool.com/career-services-commitment/) and I have no doubt that if I had followed the procress for six months and not been hired, they would have found some bullet point on that page that would take away my refund.

    You're going to work hard after graduation. Think of this as a 25-week program and not 15. If you 100% follow their process you will get a job, which is great because if you 99% follow their process you won't get your money back.

    Overall

    Flatiron was definitely the right program for me, based on what I had to learn. (It may not be that way for everyone, so think about what you actually want to do.) I came out with the skills I wanted and made great friends. I expect that my 4 months at Flatiron will stay will me for the rest of my life.

  • Jeremiah Tabb  User Photo
    Jeremiah Tabb • C# Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Flatiron School will change your life --- if you put in the work. They hire Incredible staff, support your learning with fantastic materials, and work alongside you after graduation to keep you motivated. The entire environment is designed for your success, but as with many things in life, nobody does the work for you.

    A year ago today, I was a senior music composition major in college crying over my grad school rejection letters --- this morning, I signed an offer for a full-time C# position. This mind-blowing transition is all thanks to the incredible instruction I received from the Flatiron School in Denver.

    If you signup and put in the work - you will be exposed to a neverending world of learning, and given the tools to explore. The skills you learn at this school make any technology and concept possible for you to master - only for you to shift into learning something else.

    I would recommend this school to anyone who is very motivated to make a career switch. It will be hard, sometimes very hard, - but the outcomes speak for themselves.

  • Roysan Easo  User Photo
    Roysan Easo • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This place is amazing. I had Joshua Miles as my instructor and he is the best instructor I've ever had. I learned an amazing amount in such a short time. Thanks to Flatiron, I will be starting a job with a better salary than I've ever had and a career that I really enjoy and care about. If you have the funds or are able to get loans for this program, it is VERY worth it.

  • Luis Hong  User Photo
    Luis Hong • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First thing I want to say is that enrolling in the Software Engineering Immersive program at Flatiron was the best decision I had made in some time. 

    I found the course to be challenging and I expected as much; but I am not saying that the course being challenging is an aspect to deter anyone from taking it. Parallel to the difficulty of the course, there was my enjoyment of understanding a topic, which is mostly due to the amazing help I received from my instructor and coaches.

    Instructors, coaches, and staff

    I value a lot the initial efforts made by the school during the first week in order to break the ice betwen the members of the class, both for students, instructors, and coaches. I feel that it did have an impact on starting the social interaction more smoothly, and creating a friendlier environment.

    The school hosts a great place of learning for people of all degrees of familiarity with coding. I was able to feel that I could make mistakes in front of anyone and ask about it and get positive feedback.

    Curriculum

    While I learned more code than I could have imagined, not everything can be covered, that would be impossible. Considering that each module is three weeks long, I would argue that what students can do at the end of each mod is impressive; it does highlight how well curated and presented the topics are. Needless to say that there has to be some will on the students part.

    Job Assisstance 

    Both my career coach, and the career prep track were extremely helpful. The career track has important information on how address interviewers, good interview practices, good habits to keep after graduation among other things.

    My coach was great in guiding me with a mock interview and preparing possible responses to some common questions. Also feedback on body language, speech speed, diction  and articulation of ideas. Additionally, she advised me on useful mindsets to have when interviewing and overall job searching.

    Overall Experience

    I am glad that I pushed myself to to go through the course. I am grateful to everyone who I met and contributed to that journey. Even though I had to repeat a mod; I still found the same support to continue. Hopefully, what I just said made some sense, and helps someone to make a clear decision.

  • Dario
    - 10/24/2019
    Dario Spina  User Photo
    Dario Spina • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am very glad I changed my career and I kind of went by with a lot of things. But the course is quite bad, run by instructors with not much experience, in an environment very hostile. I have seen many stories on their greediness. Many people who thought they were not able to make it and wanted to leave in the "free to leave" two weeks were convinced to stay and then left by themself totally behind. I swear out of 20 people of my cohort all of them wanted to leave negative feedback but they were afraid the post-job assistance would not provide anything in that case. I was also told that explicitly from Oliver Beach after I argued that we could leave bad reviews if not listened on some basic needs we had (he was the former campus director) who was fired (or as he preferred to say, left to focus on his project) after I reported the event to NY.

    Response From: Peter Hardwick of Flatiron School
    Title: Director, Student Relations
    Tuesday, Oct 29 2019
    Hi Dario,

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your experience - that’s not up to our standards of always striving to create an open and collaborative learning environment for our students. 

    We take this feedback seriously,  please reach out to me directly at Peter.Hardwick@flatironschool.com

    Thank you,
    Peter Hardwick - Director, Student Relations

  • Naomi B.  User Photo
    Naomi B. • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I completed the Web Development Immersive Program at the Access Labs Brooklyn Campus which offered deferred tuition. It's very misleading that the program is called Software Engineering Immersive when their content is web development. I can honestly say I enjoyed the time I was there there, but my overall experience is a bit of a mixed bag.

    About the deferred tuition...

    So it's completely irrelevant to my overall experience but I am grateful that Flatiron has offered this option for those who can't afford to pay the tuition upfront. You can only qualify for this program if you are making under 30k. I am a bit disappointed that once you finish, it's not an option to make over an X amount of money to start paying off the tuition. After my 3 months grace period was over after graduation, I had to pay 10% of what I earned at my part time job (During the program, I was still working part time). I thought it was a bit unfair because I was making very little at the time. I heard from a friend who attended a bootcamp (one that I won't name) that after completing and once they earn over 40k, that they will start to pay back the tuition. 

    In other words, once you get a job (or if you already have a small part time gig to support yourself for the time being) it doesn't matter how much you make. You got a job, now it's time to pay them back. That sort of aggravated me on my job search but on the flip side, they're lenient to you if you don't have the funds. This was something I needed to rant about. I know it's in the contract about the payment but it definitely peeved me. 

    The Curriculum​

    The program is meant to prep you on how to build your own website using a Ruby on Rails backend, and a JavaScript and React frontend. You learn everything online from Flatiron's learning platform, Learn. You are given readings and labs for the night and the next day, the instructor talks about it the next day. That is when you can ask questions to clarify while the instructor talks about the material. The readings will also throw in some extra resources for you to read about if you want a more deeper understanding.  

    What I didn't like about the curriculum: 

    • It wasn't very self-sufficient. Most of the time, I found myself reviewing material outside of Flatiron's learning platform to understand it
    • Some of the topics on the learning platform were not introduced or taught in lectures
      • ie: There was a section on object orientated javascript that was lightly touched in lecture but we never see ever again and is not required when we code  
    • We were taught the basics but I felt like I didn't have a strong grasp on the foundations of either JavaScript or Ruby

    What I did like about the curriculum: 

    • Application- being able to build something from scratch

    The Instructors

    In my first week at Flatiron, I was given the impression that the instructors and teaching assistants really care about you and your growth. To be honest, they really do. They're open to any questions you have and that's what they're there for.

    My only complaint is this one instructor who told us that we would receive limited help in order to be more independent. I get that being self driven is super important in the tech field but at the same time the learning process of asking and understanding is just as important. 

    Job Assistance

    Once you reach towards the end of the program, you're assigned a career coach to help you along your job search. I really like the idea of having a coach to support you and give you advice during your job search. Your coach is always there if you need to ask questions or draft some emails to potential employers. In addition to that, you receive a Career Prep course on the learning platform. You're also given an excel sheet to keep track of blogging, networking, and coding. 

    Honestly: 

    • I found some of the readings for the Career Prep to be useful; I still ended up reading external materials 
    • It's a plus that Employment Partnership for Flatiron connects you with multiple opportunities

    Overall and Advice

    There are things that I personally liked:

    • The amount of support you receive from your peers and instructors 
    • You get to meet amazing people with different backgrounds and experiences 
    • The friendly and open environment  

    What I felt was lacking: 

    • It did not really teach a strong foundation for JavaScript and Ruby
    • There was no foundation in teaching computer science topics, algorithms and data structures
    • No logic but pure application

    Some Advice

    If you really want to attend Flatiron, I'd say go for it. But I suggest you really grind on some computer science topics, master a language, get into theories, algorithms, and data structures for a year or two. I feel like Flatiron is the next step after you learned a chunk on your own. It leads you to apply everything you learned and continue going forward. Stay hungry for knowledge (advice from one of my teaching assistants), be curious, and always ask why. 

  • Cris  User Photo
    Cris • Full Stack Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    About Me

    • Graduate of the Full Stack Web Development on-campus immersive course, 2019
    • Found a Full Stack role (React and C#) with an above-average salary 4 months after declaring a job search
    • Bachelor's degree in a non-traditional background (not tech-related)

    The Flatiron Experience in a Nutshell

    Expect Flatiron to prepare you to be a shoo-in for an internship, to land a lower-paying full-time gig after some additional self-directed study, or to obtain a higher-paying role after some months of dedicated study.

    The Good

    • Knowledgable instructors who cared about my success
    • Inclusive, fun and supportive culture in a fast-paced, immersive learning environment
    • Gained practical industry skills for a solid foundation

    The Not-So-Good

    • Flatiron is not (at this time) set up to bring graduates' technical skills up to par with industry expectations for higher-paying full-time entry-level roles
    • Career support did not provide even the most basic job-search optimization tactics

    What You Can Expect

    I loved my Flatiron on-campus experience. But after graduation, I realized I wasn't prepared to reach my personal career goals and expectations without months of additional study. 

    Technical Expectations

    In my job search, I've found what I learned with Ruby, Rails, SQL, Object-Oriented & Functional Programming, JavaScript and React/Redux are no doubt essentials for grads looking for Junior Engineering positions; But that isn't all you need anymore. 

    Instructors expect interviewers in 2019 to ask us questions like the FizzBuzz problem. That may have been the case 3 or 4 years ago, but with so many bootcamp grads getting churned out the bar has been raised much higher. In interviews, I was asked to create algorithms implementing data structures including linked lists, binary search trees, heaps, stacks & queues and sometimes even graphs. To land a job at a top company like Hulu, Amazon, Facebook, etc. you need a solid understanding of system API design (I believe this will soon be the norm for less prestigious companies as well). Regardless of what may be advertised online, Flatiron does not teach data structures or system design.

    Career Support Expectations

    My career coach gave some solid advice on cultural interviewing. However, through my own study, I found there are a lot of really cool ways to optimize your job search that Flatiron career counselors should be sharing with their grads. I really could have used a job-finding expert on my side. Flatiron has a partnerships team that sends mass referrals out to graduates, but most of these were for low-paying contract work. 

    I met with my counselor almost weekly at the beginning, but most of my one-on-ones felt a lot more like emotional support meetings than focused tactical strategy sessions aimed at getting my resume in the hands of decision-makers and nailing the interview. The great news is you can check out the resources listed below to fill in those gaps.

    Is Flatiron For You?

    All things considered, if you're a dedicated self-starter willing to put in the hours after graduation Flatiron could be an excellent option for you. I know grads from other noteworthy bootcamps experiencing similar struggles, and some that didn't have a positive on-campus experience. Flatiron can help get you where you want to be, but you have to set yourself apart from the thousands of other bootcamp grads looking for the same job opportunities.

    Resources

    Technical

    Job Search Optimization

    Response From: Pete Barth of Flatiron School
    Title: Managing Director
    Tuesday, Oct 29 2019
    Hi Cris,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're incredibly proud of our outcomes and the way we help our students break into the tech industry. We are always striving to make Flatiron School even better. 

    If you'd like to speak directly or in any more detail, please always feel free to e-mail me directly at Peter.barth@flatironschool.com. 

    Thank you,
    Pete Barth - Managing Director


  • Jack Ling  User Photo
    Jack Ling • Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Flatiron's bootcamp prep work really helps you understand the basics of coding. It's also useful to see if you truly enjoy coding and solving problems or not. The interview for the bootcamp will obviously be daunting as it would be your first ever coding related interview. I would advise to stay calm, understand what you have written and explain why you chose to write it that way. Once in the bootcamp, you're greeting with the amazing and lovely instructors and staff. The first week or two will be difficult as you as have to adjust to the bootcamp as well as learning LOTS of new concepts. Some of my classmates did not come from a STEM background and they have all successfully found jobs after graduating - though it does make it easier if you're from a technical/STEM background. Make the most of your time at the bootcamp as you have lots of support from peers and instructors and coaches. Ask meaningful and thoughtful questions. That being said, do not overwork yourself. Sometimes taking a break is what will help you solve your coding problems. I believe that Flatiron School has a great curriculum and really pushes their students to learn how to learn in the world of programming. I'm happy to say that I was able to find a job after graduating - my next goal is to dive deeper in the computer science aspect of coding and hopefully one day be able to mentor the upcoming junior developers.
  • Access Labs Review
    - 6/17/2019
    Raquel  User Photo
    Raquel • Software Engineer Intern • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Flatiron x WeWork's Access Labs in Brooklyn from October 2018 to February 2019. My experience there was overwhelmingly positive. From staff to other students, everyone behaved professionally when communicating with each other and everyone was always very supportive through the experience.

    You will definitely learn everything they promise as long as you put in the effort to learn. A lot of learning comes from their Learn.co website that you can try out through their free bootcamp prep course, it's very helpful in my opinion. After doing the readings and labs there are lectures where the instructor will go over the material you read about and piece everything together for you and students are able to ask questions (or if you're me and a bit shy, ask your questions after lecture directly with the instructor, nothing wrong with that).

    The immersive course was definitely the way to go for me, because I wanted the experience of learning and programming with other people. The people who were in my cohort became some of my best friends because we struggled together, cried together (I cried, a lot), laughed together, ate lunch together, and even got jobs together. It actually gets lonely after you graduate from the program because you go from seeing your cohort-mates everyday to once every few weeks or not at all. 

    When I was being interviewed for this program I asked my interviewer how he was able to get through an intense 15 weeks of learning to code and he told me, "Make friends with your cohort and you'll always want to go back". What he said stuck with me and really did keep me going in every day.

    As for job assistance, they provide career coaches for everyone who graduates. Mine was an awesome, super supportive mom-like lady who helped to keep me on track in my search and prep me for my interviews. Career services also provide you with a career fair, which is actually how I got my job. At the career fair you can expect to interview with 2-3 companies who are looking to hire. It was mostly cultural interviews, but I also had one technical interview at the fair with the company who hired me, so it's good to be prepared. I graduated in February and received my offer end of May (though I start end of June), but there are others who find a job quickly after graduating and others who are still doing their best on the job hunt.

    If you're looking for a supportive, welcoming, professional environment to learn how to code and also make less than 30k/year then Flatiron's Access Labs is the place for you. 

  • Peter Traversa  User Photo
    Peter Traversa • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had been working in Client Service roles for most of my career. After working with a developer team at the last job I was on, I was inspired to start pursuing a developer career. After a company re-org, I was let go, and decided to begin down a path to a new career. I did a significant amount of research, and after everything I read online about Flatiron, and talking to a few recent grads, I pulled the trigger and applied. 
    The baseline level of knowledge to know before entering the program was daunting, but it was reassuring to know that my cohort would be past the basics, and would be learning code at a higher level right from the beginning.
    I was excited right from the beginning to challenge myself at a high level, and was immediately impressed by both the knowledge of the instructors and coaches and their level of care and compassion in an otherwise intense environment.
    I survived the program, made life-long friends, and began my job search in November. I was recently hired into a finance-adjacent firm. I'm a working developer, and couldn't be happier about my decision to attend the Flatiron School. I believe that the skills I learned at the school made me a stronger learner, coder, and communicator, as well as problem solver.

  • Jesus Escalona  User Photo
    Jesus Escalona • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Flatiron School helped me gain the expertise and industry knowledge I needed to become a Software Developer.

    The curriculum is up to date with the latest technologies, they teach everything from beginner to advanced in a period of 4 months, and I'm not going to lie, the whole course is very intense and challenging, so be prepared to study and practice non-stop.

    The best thing about Flatiron School is its people; teachers, coaches, managers, and its students too! They are the most amazing, cool-headed and diverse group of people I've met so far.

    Support is top-notch, everyone was very attentive and care about your code, best practices, and even if you are going through a hard time, they will listen and help out in any way they can. They are people too and they have been on the same path you are now.

    Career services did an excellent job, the put your affairs in order and push you to the stratosphere of job hunting, you just have to follow their lead, and do what they say, trust their team of expert coaches and give it all you got.

    Overall, there's still a lot of good things left to say. If you are looking for a Bootcamp that can help you launch yourself to the moon, you are in the right place. In conclusion, its definitely worth the sweat, tears, and money.

     

  • Marissa M.  User Photo
    Marissa M. • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If you would've told me 1 year ago 6 months ago I'd be where I am now, I don't think I would've have believed you. I started Flatiron in October '18, graduated in January '19, and found a job that I LOVE in exactly 2 months. I came from a totally different background with NO prior developer experience and am now thriving in an incredible new career. I know it sounds crazy and too good to be true, I was completely skeptical at first too... but ask any Flatiron grad and they'll agree - this school is unique and really gets you where you need to be. They teach you what you need to know to land your first dev role and support you in a way that will feel like a second family (in fact I still spend time with a lot of my previous instructors and cohort-mates). I encourage anyone who's scared or unsure to at least give it a shot - try the free pre-work material and go to some of the events they have - see for yourself what it's like. It was seriously one of the best decisions of my life and I would recommend Flatiron school to anyone. 

  • Kay  User Photo
    Kay • Product Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall I am really pleased with my decision to go to Flatiron, without it I would not have been able to change my career and get a job in a relatively short timeframe, it would have taken me years if I had taken a purely self-taught, self-directed route. It was a fantastic and supportive environment with brilliant instructors. 

    I will add the usual caveats by saying that the course does ask a lot of you - I think I averaged 60+ hours a week in order to keep up with the pace of material. At times it was frustrating, there were tears, coding til 1am. Going in you should be prepared that it's not about going there to sit and be taught, you do need to supply your own motivation, though that's the same with any bootcamp. If you are motivated and are able to dedicate the time to complete the course, you really can change your life. 

    Like any bootcamp this is just the beginning, in order to continue as a developer you need to keep learning.  The career support you receive afterwards also really helped to support me through the process of getting a job, which took just under 2 months after graduation.

    I would advise any potential applicant to check out the free bootcamp prep course, which prepares you well for the style of labs throughout the course. 

    To be balanced, I would say some cons of Flatiron are that you don't have a guaranteed job after and the requirements to be eligible for the money back guarantee are quite stringent. Also the mod 3 and mod 4 labs are not quite as strong as those for mods 1 and 2, I think the curriculum team are working on it though. 

     

  • Emily Nielsen  User Photo
    Emily Nielsen • Process Automation Engineer at American Express • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My situation was a little unique in that I was living and working in DC, but knew I was going to move to Miami soon to be with my new husband. I decided to quit my job, do the in-person immersive program, and then move to Miami and search for jobs there, and it was the best decision I could have made for my career! Flatiron helped me move from a $50k/yr job to an $80k/yr junior dev role in Miami. 

    I definitely recommend going into it for the right reasons. Try something technical and see how you like it. Before I applied, I tried Flatiron's free online bootcamp prep course, which is how I discovered I really liked learning about code. Something employers look for is passion for code, so it's important to actually like coding before you start.

    During the program: the experience was really amazing. I bonded really well with my cohort (50% male/ 50% female) and got a scholarship for women in tech. The instructors were very understanding, knowledgeable, and always wiling to help and mentor students. They all come from tech backgrounds, so they can tell you what it's like in the industry too. 

    After the program: The career coaches are very knowledgeable, encouraging, and keep you accountable in your job search. Since I was job searching in a new city, my career coach was a huge resource suggesting lots of job search activities.

    Overall, a great experience and the results speak for themselves!

  • Jessie Huff  User Photo
    Jessie Huff • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I did the online Full Stack Web Development program at the Flatiron School, and like any online program, it had its positives and negatives. On the positive side, I do think that the school and the instructors genuinely care about the students and helping them as much as possible. The focus on labs, projects, and practical application was a good approach though I'm sure that there are ways to improve the currculum which I believe they regularly do. While taking the course, they released a number of additonal lessons, edited lessons, etc. It felt like they were constantly trying to stay current and improve what was there. Getting help on the labs were relatively easy through the "Ask a Question" portal, and they did their best to encourage collaboration and helping others. The projects they had me do were immensely helpful in actually understanding the concepts, and they gave me a great portfolio to use when looking for a job. Employers constantly asked about these projects, and they made me feel more confident in my abilities. 

    However, like other students have already said, it is what you make of it, especially with online programs. It is self taught and self led so that has its own set of challenges. You definitely have to be self motivated so if that is something that you struggle with, you may want to do an in-person class setting. Another area of weakness they had was support for the projects which I've actually talked with them about in trying to improve for the future. When I went through the program, there was only one instructor for each section project so one person had to handle anyone who was currently working on that project which made it nearly impossible to get much help from them during the project. Some instructors were extremely helpful, and I had one that was borderline nonexistent in terms of responsiveness. Hopefully they'll fix that in the future and make it a little easier to get help when that channel fails during projects. There were study groups that we could attend, but they were meant to be led by students' questions and sometimes that was a struggle (sometimes we didn't know what questions to ask- we just weren't as comfortable with that particularly subject material). I do think they've been extremely open to feedback though, and I've had multiple people talk to me about how they can improve and how Flatiron can improve. 

    In terms of after the course, I thought my career coach was excellent. The coaching I got completely changed my perspective on networking, and I just had a coworker call me a "master networker" because of the things I did with Flatiron after graduation. I was always open with my coach about the ups and downs of job hunting, and I really feel like I was given the push I needed to put in the work and find an absolutely incredible job. (They also helped me draft anything I was nervous about sending ahead of time, and they help you practice with mock interviews.) Some days I can't believe that I work where I do, and I wouldn't be here without Flatiron so I'm pretty grateful. I don't know if you'd get quite as lucky as I did with my awesome career coach, but when my first coach ended up leaving (her husband got a job across the country), my next coach was just as great so I'm pretty confident that they have incredible career coaches if you're willing to work with them and be open. 

    Overall, the program has its ups and downs, but it led me to where I am now, so for that, I'm really grateful that I went to the Flatiron School. 

  • Sav  User Photo
    Sav • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I think that Flatiron School can be a great option for getting into Web Development. I did their self-paced online course and got a job within 2-3 months of graduation. The experience is probably very different if you are taking an in-person course, but as for the online course, it's what you make of it. When I took the course (I believe its different now), you paid monthly, so the faster you got through the course, the less money you paid. This was very motivating for me, I was able to finish in just under 4 months, but I was easily studying 50 hours a week. With the new system, you will pay more, but you also might not have as much pressure to rush through things and may take a bit more time to dig into certain topics. 

    All-in-all, I think I made a great decision. With scholarships, I was able to finish in >4 months and pay >$3000. I've been at my job now for about 2 months working mainly in php but also some javascript and although there are plenty of times where I have no clue what I'm doing, I think that's just part of being a web developer and I now have the skills to figure out how to do these things on my own. 

Flatiron School Outcomes

* These outcomes are not audited by Course Report. In some cases, data is audited by a third party.


99%
Graduation Rate
91%
Employed
$74,447
Median Salary

Of the students who enroll at Flatiron School, 99% graduated. 84% of graduates were job-seeking and 91% of job-seeking graduates found in-field employment after 180 days and report a median income of $74,447. Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 205 graduates included in this report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full Time, In-Field Employee
56.6%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
33.2%
Short-term contract, part-time position, freelance
1.0%
Employed out-of-field
0.0%

Notes & Caveats:

Flatiron School is one of the first bootcamps to produce an independently audited jobs report actually verifying we achieved the results we do. We have independently examined reports for both the Online and NYC programs. 
You can download the reports here

Thanks!