university-of-utah-professional-education-boot-camps-logo

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

Average Rating4.53
46 Reviews
6 Courses
University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps offer 24-week, part-time web development, cybersecurity, data analytics, and UX/UI courses. The full stack curriculum includes HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Bootstrap, Express.js, Node.js, databases, MongoDB, MySQL, and Git. The cybersecurity curriculum offers hands-on training in networking, systems, web technologies, databases, and defensive and offensive cybersecurity. The UX/UI program provides hands-on train...

46 University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps Reviews

Sort by
Filter by
  • Andi Carlstrom
    Andi Carlstrom
    Software Engineer • Student • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    Feb 20, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    High Quality Full Stack Development Program

    I highly recommend the University of Utah's Full Stack Web Development program. I participated in the 6 month part time program where I comprehensively learned industry standard frontend and backend web dev technologies and languages. My instructor was extremely knowledgeable and consistently took the time to ensure that we were taken care of. I got a job as a Software Engineer right out of the program and I can directly attribute that to the programs quality and a lot of hustle. I will sa...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Feb 21, 2019

    Amazing, Andi! Thank you for recommending our program. We're thrilled you found our instructor to be so knowledgeable and supportive. Great advice for prospective students — utilizing the boot camp's resources is key. Congratulations on graduating and best of luck in all your future endeavors!
  • Brooklee
    Brooklee
    jr web dev • Graduate • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    Jan 28, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Pretty good

    it's fast-paced and not for everyone that being said if you are willing to work hard put in extra hours outside of class to really learn, it is well worth it. Keep in mind it's more of a let's get your career started you will have to take what you learn and build on that knowledge to make a good career out of it.

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jan 28, 2019

    Thank you, Brooklee! You're completely right that this program is fast-paced, but if you're willing to put in the work, you can succeed. Congratulations on completing such a rigorous course, we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.
  • Logan Lee
    Logan Lee
    FreelanceFullstack Web Developer & TA for the University of Utah Professional Education Coding Bootcamp • Graduate • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    Jan 16, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Best decision I have made.

    My name is Logan Lee and I took this course January of 2018, and finished in July of 2018.  My experience during those 6 months was different than any other education I have had.  I will not lie, it was challenging. One of the harder things I've done in my life.  Especially as someone who had absoltely no prior experience or knowledge on the subject.  The course moves fast, and there are a lot of topics that you will need to absorb to the best of your abilities.  However, all of the tools ...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jan 16, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Logan! We're so glad you enjoyed your instructor and made life long connections with other classmates — we also think Jonathan is outstanding. We appreciate your helpful advice for future students navigating the course and completely agree that utilizing all the boot camp's resources will help you succeed. Congratulations on graduating, we are rooting you on as you continue towards your future goals!
  • Andrew R.
    Andrew R.
    Web Developer • Graduate
    May 24, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Great Bootcamp!

    After completing this full-stack web development course, I can confidently recommend it to anyone who's interested in becoming a web developer. This program lasts for 6 months, and allows you to work during the day and attend classes at night, while completing projects on your own time at home. Now I know that some bootcamps get a bad rap, and it may or may not be for a good reason, but let me tell you why this bootcamp is among the best.

    Pros:

    • The staff in this depa...
    Report

    Corrine Padilla of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    May 29, 2018

    Thank you so much for your review, Andrew! Congratulations on graduating, we applaud all of the hard work you put into learning these valuable skills. It made our day to hear that you found the curriculum to be competitive with today's latest technologies and that you enjoyed your instructional team, career support, and the program as a whole.

    Like you mentioned, this is a fast-paced and challenging course, covering a wide range of knowledge in a limited amount of time. Though it ramps up fast, we're constantly working to ensure that our program sets up students for success from the very beginning. We do our best to communicate to students that because we cover a full-stack, topics are introduced quickly and at a higher level, after which students are expected to dive in and gain a deeper understanding outside of class. This helps individuals learn how to problem-solve and self-teach, a necessary key skill in a developer’s career. We understand you would have wanted to learn additional programming languages like C# or Python, and we truly appreciate this feedback as our curriculum is constantly being updated to be in line with market demands.

    You are completely right that being motivated and using all available resources is vital to an individual's success in this program, as it's easy to fall behind - this is great advice for potential students. We can't wait to see all you will accomplish and wish you nothing but the best going forward! 
  • Emery Darby
    Anonymous
    Unemployed • Graduate • Cybersecurity - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    May 18, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Even IF you don't have a degree THIS IS A WASTE OF MONEY

    I attended the UofU Cyber security boot camp. According to my instructor I was very impressive. A year later I was working as a tech support agent, (not a cybersecurity agent) making 20K less than when I was a civilian, so I could get some experience. Then I found myself laid off. The fact is they promise you a career making 75 to 90K while you're signing up and in the program. The fact is unless you have a bachelors degree no one will touch you with this program under your belt, which w...
    Report
  • Lucas Clementi
    Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    Mar 15, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    terrible experience, lack of help

    This bootcamp is not a "part-time" style program. It has part-time class hours but is not suitable for anyone working with a real job. The classes are large with not enough tutors. Pace is fast and they are okay with leaving students behind. I would never recommend this program to anyone. Terrible all around. 
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Apr 07, 2023

    Thank you for your review. We understand that the fast-paced nature of the boot camp did not match up with your expectations.

    Our program serves a mix of individuals ranging from beginners to experienced industry professionals. This is a fast paced course and we do our best to communicate the time commitment needed outside of class. Though the program quickly advances, we constantly try to provide the resources (TA, Tutors, Student Success Manager) students need to be successful.

    It's our goal for all learners to leave the course feeling properly equipped to step out into the industry. We would love the opportunity to speak with you further about how we can supplement your boot camp experience or career search at this time. If you would like, please reach out to us at (801) 895-2166.
  • Dennis Plank
    Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    Jul 12, 2021
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Found it very difficult to navigate past the Admissions process

    The admission reps were pushy and acted more like salesmen than Advisors. Every time I had a question I felt as though my question was dismissed or ultimately circled back to "complete the application and pay the down payment before we speak again". After weeks of trying to get clear answers I ultimately decided I wasn't comfortable giving them my money and withdrew my application. 
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jul 15, 2021

    Thank you for your feedback. Like you noted, we do have a multi-step admissions process to ensure that interested candidates and future students are set up for success. During this process, it's our goal for individuals to be able to ask any and all relevant questions, feel supported, and receive answers in a timely manner. From your review, we understand that your experience may not have lived up to our standards and we regret any inconvenience it may have caused.

    We strive to excel in every part of our boot camp experience. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and determine what additional assistance we can provide for you at this time to make it right. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (801) 895-2166.
  • Mark
    Anonymous
    Graduate
    Sep 29, 2020
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Waste of Time and Money

    First of all, this is run through Trilogy Education, not the U of U.  The U of U just stamps their name on the certificate (which doesn't even include a certificate number).  The teaching method and curriculum were complete garbage.  This boot camp won't prepare you for the real world at all.  Not worth the money, time, or effort.  Half the curriculum was Disney Princess pep talks rather than preparation for reality.  The curriculum doesn't match the job market and even if it did, it was...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Oct 02, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. From your review, we understand the program did not meet your expectations.

    As you noted, the University of Utah Professional Education has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES) to offer the University of Utah Professional Education Coding Boot Camp. The University of Utah Professional Education is deeply involved in the curriculum, instructor selection, and outcomes of each of our classes, and routinely meet in conjunction with TES to monitor the learning experience and performance. Both the University of Utah Professional Education and TES are completely dedicated to transforming students' lives and are fully transparent about this relationship throughout the entire course.

    As a boot camp, we know that the curriculum is fast-paced and challenging while covering a wide range of topics, and we do our best to make this clear to prospective students. We pride ourselves on teaching individuals how to learn, providing a strong foundational skillset that allows them to easily dive into other programming languages, even after the course ends. This helps participants learn how to problem-solve and self-teach through internet research and other available resources; crucial abilities needed in any real-world role.

    Our course material is based on extensive market research, teaching in-demand skills that learners can use to enter the current tech field, and we are proud of our ability to frequently make necessary optimizations. We appreciate your feedback as we are constantly working on improving our curriculum to ensure participants are learning the most valuable skills and concepts. 

    Our career services team is built on the principle of empowerment. This experience is focused on helping students become employer competitive through a variety of resources and tools, including technical interview training, portfolio reviews, resume/social media profile support, online Tech Talk panels, and one-on-one coaching with their Career Director.

    We sincerely care about our students and it is our goal for all participants to feel equipped with the necessary knowledge and resources to complete the course. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn how else we can assist you at this time and help improve your current experience. If you would like, please reach out to us at (801) 895-2166.
  • Alan
    Anonymous
    Full Stack Developer • Graduate • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    Feb 20, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Coding Boot Camp Review

    The coding Boot Camp at the University of Utah is a great program. During the 6 month course I learned a lot about HTML, CSS, Boostrap, React, Javascript, node, Handlebarsjs, and many other things. I became fairly comfortable with all of it. With that being said you are given a lot but only have so much time to learn everything in class so be sure to set time aside to study and to work on the assignments. Because if you plan on just showing up to class to learn everything you are going to ...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Feb 22, 2019

    Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to hear you found our instructional team to be knowledgeable and appreciate your advice for prospective students. Congratulations on your recent graduation, we are cheering you on in your new career path!
  • Anonymous
    Student • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time • Salt Lake City
    Oct 01, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Current Student

    For any of you thinking of enrolling - or those who will start soon - please do more pre-work than is recommended.  I wish I would have come to the program more prepared, and most of the class feels like they are behind.  I don't get as much out of the lectures as I would like - because of the speed at which they move.  I am seven weeks in and there is so much I wish I would have done before the class started.  Get a good handle on JavaScript before class starts!  The pre-work only had one...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Oct 04, 2018

    Hi Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the challenging nature of the program and have felt supported by our team thus far.

    We understand that due to the fast pace of the program, you would have liked to spend more time on learning materials before the course began in order to maximize on the in-class lectures. Like you mentioned, we provide students with 30 hours of pre-work, and completely agree that beginners should spend additional time on online tutorials as this is a rigorous course. Before classes begin, we try to emphasize the importance of this. We are always looking to improve, so we appreciate your input and recommendation to spend more time on JavaScript exercises prior to our pre-work, this is great advice for future students.

    As you're still in the initial stages of the course, we would welcome any other suggestions you may have to improve your experience. Our goal is for students to feel equipped to master the course material, so we encourage you to tap into our other support services, including office hours, weekly walk-throughs, our tutor and peer networks, as well as consider joining study groups. You can also rewatch lectures and video postings of each classroom session on BCS. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (801) 895-2166. We wish you all the best as you continue through the program.

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps Alumni Outcomes

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps Scholarships

$500 University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps Discount

Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps discount for $500 off tuition!

Eligibility

Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

Qualifying Courses

  • UX/UI Boot Camp - Part-Time (Salt Lake City)
  • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time (Salt Lake City)
  • Digital Marketing - Part-Time (Salt Lake City)
  • Data Analytics - Part-Time (Salt Lake City)
  • Cybersecurity - Part-Time (Salt Lake City)
  • AI Boot Camp - Part-Time (Salt Lake City)

Recent University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps News

Imogen Crispe
Imogen Crispe
Updated July 21, 2017
Haven’t had time to keep up with all the coding bootcamp news this March? Not to worry– we’ve compiled it for you in a handy blog post and podcast. This month, we read a lot about CIRR and student outcomes reporting, we heard from reporters and coding bootcamp students about getting hired after coding bootcamp, a number of schools announced exciting diversity initiatives, and we added a handful of new schools to the Course Report school directory! Read below ...
Liz Eggleston
Liz Eggleston
Updated May 22, 2024
You've heard of household bootcamps like General Assembly, Springboard, and Flatiron School but have you noticed universities that offer coding bootcamps? Universities have now been partnering with coding bootcamps since 2016, but these university coding bootcamps aren't all the same! Research your options below and find out which coding bootcamps offer college credit, which are part-time to accommodate your schedule, and read our tips for choosing the best university ...

Course Report readers can receive an Exclusive Scholarship to University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps!

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps Alumni Reviews Summary

Overall Experience
4.5
Instructors
4.7
Curriculum
4.6
Job Assistance
4.1
Write A Review
More Information
Guarantees Job
Job Assistance
Includes Housing
Offers Corporate Training
Accepts GI Bill
Licensing
Yes
Awards
Recent University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps News
FAQs

How much does University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps cost?

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps costs around $13,995. On the lower end, some University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps courses like Digital Marketing - Part-Time cost $9,495.

What courses does University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps teach?

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps offers courses like AI Boot Camp - Part-Time, Cybersecurity - Part-Time, Data Analytics - Part-Time, Digital Marketing - Part-Time and 2 more.

Where does University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps have campuses?

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps has an in-person campus in Salt Lake City.

Is University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps worth it?

University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps hasn't shared alumni outcomes yet, but one way to determine if a bootcamp is worth it is by reading alumni reviews. 46 University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps on Course Report - you should start there!

Is University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps legit?

We let alumni answer that question. 46 University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.53 out of 5.

Does University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps offer scholarships or accept the GI Bill?

Yes, Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps discount for $500 off tuition!

Can I read University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps reviews?

You can read 46 reviews of University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps on Course Report! University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.53 out of 5.

Is University of Utah Professional Education Boot Camps accredited?

Yes

Get our FREE Ultimate Guide to Paying for a Bootcamp

By submitting this form, you agree to receive email marketing from Course Report.

Get Matched in Minutes

Just tell us who you are and what you’re searching for, we’ll handle the rest.

Match Me