unc-chapel-hill-boot-camps-logo

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

Average Rating4.83
95 Reviews
5 Courses
UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps offer 24-week, part-time courses in web development, or data analytics, and 18-week, part-time courses in digital marketing, technology project management, and product management. The full stack curriculum includes HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Bootstrap, Express.js, Node.js, databases, MongoDB, MySQL, and Git. The data curriculum includes programming in Excel, Python, R programming, JavaScript charting, HTML/CSS, API interactions, SQL, Ta...

95 UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps Reviews

Sort by
Filter by
  • Miles Helm
    Miles Helm
    Graduate • Full Stack Flex • Chapel Hill
    Sep 08, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Intense but worth it

    Our instructor mentioned on the first day that the people who do best in the class are usually those who spend the most time outside of class studying and doing homework assignments and projects. Although it is true that with this course you get out of it what you put into it, there is a great deal of support from the instructor and the teaching assistants. You aren't left alone, and if you are struggling with a concept they will work hard to make sure you really understand the subject mat...

    Report

    Ilyssa Rosenzweig of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    Sep 18, 2017

    Thank you so much for your review, Miles! We love hearing that your instructors and TAs worked hard to ensure that our students understand the course material. We’re so proud of our team for showing their passion for web development and student success.

    It’s incredible to hear that you had such a positive experience with this program. Congratulations on completing the course, we wish you nothing but the best of luck as you move forward in your career.
  • Michael Eggers
    Michael Eggers
    Graduate • Full Stack Flex • Chapel Hill
    Sep 08, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Life-Changing

    My overall experience with the boot camp was a great one. It was a lot of hard work, but I learned a ton in a very short amount of time. More so than the knowledge learned, the confidence built from working hands on to create apps with course technologies and experiencing first hand how much can be learned with enough focus and dedication was the greatest takeaway from the course.

    Additionally, working with the other classmates and the networking that spawned from that was of hug...

    Report

    Ilyssa Rosenzweig of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    Sep 19, 2017

    Hi Michael,

    We really appreciate your review. We understand that this course can be challenging, so we commend you on all of your hard work.

    We love hearing that you learned valuable new skills from caring instructors, gained confidence in your abilities, and formed a lasting network with your peers. Congratulations on completing the program, we wish you the best of luck moving forward.
  • Houston Breedlove
    Houston Breedlove
    Full stack developer • Graduate • Full Stack Flex • Chapel Hill
    Sep 08, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Arguably more valuable than a degree

    When choosing a coding bootcamp three major criteria should be taken into account: does the staff genuinely care about student success, is course content valid for career aspirations, and does the course's curriculum effectively leave students with skills needed to be effective in a professional environment? 

    The Coding Boot Camp at UNC Chapel Hill delivered on every level.  Course management was engaging and took time to engage with students and their career aspirations. Course ...

    Report

    Ilyssa Rosenzweig of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    Sep 19, 2017

    Congratulations on your full time position with a local SaaS company, Houston! We’re thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with this program, and that you enjoyed the course management, instruction, and curriculum. We hope you’re proud of all the hard work you put into completing this course. We’re cheering you on as you move forward in your career.
  • Remain Anon
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time • Chapel Hill
    Dec 01, 2022
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Glowing Promises, No Returns

    I wish I had waited before writing a cautiously positive review after graduating January '22. There were various moments during the onboarding process and even the class itself where I felt like this was going to significantly change the course of my life. I passed the class with an A average and I felt well-versed in a majority of the topics covered mostly in part because the instructors, TA's and tutors were patient, kind and helpful. It's been almost a year since I graduated and I sti...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Dec 05, 2022

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We understand that you have experienced difficulties following your successful completion of the boot camp.

    We know that enrolling in a boot camp is a big commitment, which can come with new challenges or hurdles for learners and their families. Although it must not have been easy, we applaud your dedication to learning during the course of your program.

    It is our intent for all learners to be job-ready once they complete the boot camp. We regret to hear that your experience with the career services team and resources has not produced the results you were hoping for. As a graduate of the boot camp, you are eligible to continue receiving access to helpful resources, workshops, and exclusive job postings through the Career Engagement Network. 

    We welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly and learn how else we can assist you at this time. If you would like, please reach out to us at (919) 425-0055.
  • carter
    Anonymous
    Jul 09, 2022
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Instructors are great...Curriculum not so much.

    The instructional team is excellent. The instructors do a good job explaining complex subjects and are there for you to either help with your code/homework or just hear you out and share their experiences. The success manager is also kind, friendly, and willing to listen to students. 
    However, before enrolling in this Bootcamp, just know the curriculum comes from Trilogy. I strongly recommend reading reviews on Trilogy Bootcamp (especially on Reddit), and you can make your own opinion...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jul 13, 2022

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're glad to hear you benefited from the support of our entire boot camp team although regret the entire learning experience did not live up to your expectations.

    Like you noted, UNC-Chapel Hill Digital and Lifelong Learning has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES), a 2U, Inc., brand, to offer The Coding Boot Camp at UNC-Chapel Hill. UNC-Chapel Hill Digital and Lifelong Learning is deeply involved in the curriculum, instructor selection, and outcomes of each of our classes, and routinely meets in conjunction with TES to monitor the learning experience and performance. Both UNC-Chapel Hill Digital and Lifelong Learning and TES are truly dedicated to transforming participants' lives and aim to be fully transparent about this relationship throughout the entire learning experience.

    We not only strive to equip individuals with a robust academic framework, but we also work hard to help students develop strong problem-solving and self-teaching abilities: two qualities necessary in any real-world role. Our curriculum is based on extensive market research, teaching in-demand skills that learners can use to enter the current field. We also provide supplemental resources throughout the course and host structured review sessions to increase academic understanding of core concepts and frameworks. From your review, we understand that you did not feel this learning approach was sufficiently beneficial for you and we appreciate your input as we are constantly working on optimizing our program offerings to ensure individuals are learning the most valuable skills and concepts.

    Job seeking is difficult and takes hard work on the part of the participant. Our professional development services are built on the principle of empowerment. While we do not secure employment for learners, we do provide more than 75 hours of professional development, consisting of resume and portfolio reviews, virtual tech panels, technical interview training, and more.

    We are committed to students feeling confident in their skills upon leaving our boot camp, so we'd love to hear from you directly to see what else we can do at this time to best meet your expectations and reinforce your learning. If you would like, please reach out to us at (919) 425-0055.
  • Borjan
    Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time • Chapel Hill
    Oct 29, 2020
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Best Team Ever

    I enjoyed every part of this class, even though at times it was frustrating, it was totally worth it. The team i had: Zach, Tim, and Carl, were all great and attentive instructors. It isnt called a Bootcamp for nothing, its fast, brutal and painful. Would i do it again, hands down yes. Everyone is there to support you and make sure you succeed! No downsides.
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Oct 30, 2020

    Way to go! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your boot camp experience and found our entire instructional team to be supportive. We also have to agree that Zach, Tim, and Carl are al pretty fantastic. We truly appreciate your review and wish you all the best moving forward!
  • Cara
    Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time • Chapel Hill
    Jul 27, 2020
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    UNC Bootcamps

    It was great. Learned a ton.
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jul 28, 2020

    Thank you, we're glad to hear you enjoyed the program! All the best in your future endeavors. 
  • Ron Wazny
    Anonymous
    Graphic Designer • Graduate
    May 21, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Full Stack Development-Part Time

    Great Experience! Even though it was stressful at many (most) times, the support from the instructor and TA's where outstanding. They were always there to help. Even if you were completely lost, they made every effort to get you on track. Over the corse of 6 months, everyone really did become a bit of a coding family. 

    This was a fast paced corse, and an excellent opportunity to add a whole host of new skills to my resume. My goal was to be able to add on to an...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Community Team

    May 22, 2019

    Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you benefited from the support of our instructional team and made lasting connections within your cohort. Congratulations on successfully completing the program! We wish you continued success as you move forward.
  • Anonymous
    Tr • Graduate • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time • Raleigh
    Sep 21, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Trilogy Coding Boot Camp

    I did not have the experience that many bootcampers have expressed.  I expressed concerns many times while taking this course.  The standard response I received was "Don't worry it will all come together in the end".  Although I spent many hours studying and researching topics, it did not all come together in the end.  I would recommend spending $10.99 and purchasing the Udemy course Web Developer Bootcamp by Colt Steele.  When this course is complete purchase the Advanced Web Developer Bo...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Sep 24, 2018

    Hi Anonymous, thank you for your feedback. From your review, we understand you may have not had previous coding experience and do not feel that you were able to successfully master the material. We designed our curriculum to teach individuals across varying proficiency levels, from those with more knowledge to true beginners. Before starting the boot camp, all students are provided 30 hours of pre-work, and we do recommend that those without prior experience spend extra time on free online tutorials in addition to the pre-work.

    Upon starting the course, we begin by covering the basics, building a solid foundation on which students can continue to expand. Each lesson iteratively builds on the last, and we find that as the curriculum progresses, students feel more and more confident in the material. We strive to make sure students are clear before enrolling that they will also need to spend 20-30 hours a week studying outside of class to be job-ready by graduation.

    Because we know this is a challenging course, we do offer several means of support. Our instructors hold office hours before and after every class to provide 1:1 support, along with weekly walk-throughs to expand upon upcoming topics and reinforce prior concepts. Our free tutoring network is also always available for those who request additional assistance. All classes are also recorded so that students can access and refer back to any lesson if they need to review the material further. Were you able to take advantage of these resources?

    We work with all of our students' when it comes to unexpected situation-specific absences. In these instances, individuals are still able to fulfill their program responsibilities by watching class videos, attending tutoring and remote classes when possible, and submitting outstanding homework and projects. Once these conditions are met, students are able to successfully graduate and receive their certificate of completion.

    We sincerely care about our students, and it is our goal for all individuals to complete the program feeling equipped with the knowledge and resources to find the right tech role. If there is any other way in which we can support you at this time to ensure that you feel confident in your skills, please reach out to us at (919) 425-0055.
  • Wes Bubeck
    Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time • Raleigh
    Sep 03, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Raleigh Grad

    I waited until I was close to a year removed from finishing the program so that I could write I very honest and not emotional review.

    I will preface this with I had an amazing experience and I landed a great job at one of the top companies in the Triangle. Trilogy's strength are great and their weaknesses are terrible. One of there weaknesses is their non-existent acceptance criteria. Most people in the class did not complete there pre class assignments and I would say 10-20% shoul...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Sep 10, 2018

    Hi Anonymous, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're thrilled to hear you had an amazing student experience and landed a great job at a top company. Our instructors and SSMs love hearing about the transformative impact they've made on students' lives.

    We appreciate your personal account on how we can continue to improve the program. In the time since your graduation, we've taken significant steps towards enhancing many of the areas you mentioned with a specific focus on career services. These updates have been met with positive input, and we're continually working to get better.

    For example, a recent career services change we've made is to offer more in-depth assistance to our 'Seven Milestones to Become Employer Competitve.' While we do not secure direct employment for our students', this comprehensive approach prepares and coaches individuals to find the right role for them through: technical interview training, portfolio reviews, resume/social media profile support, online Tech Talk panels, and one-on-one meetings with their Career Director starting approximately one month before completing the course and continuing for up to three months post-graduation. As you mentioned, it's crucial for individuals to continue developing their skills, particularly after concluding the course. We believe this approach, along with our students' hard work and commitment, will truly supplement their job search.

    We understand you would have preferred for some of your classmates to have more experience and prior knowledge. We designed our curriculum to teach individuals across various proficiency levels, and do have a multi-step admissions screening process. During this time, we evaluate individuals to ensure they are aware of the extensive time they will have to dedicate to their studies and are truly committed to their boot camp journey. Upon being accepted, students are provided with 30 hours of pre-work and we recommend beginners to spend additional time on free online tutorials.

    Once classes begin, our instruction centers around teaching students' how to learn. This strong foundation equips individuals with the necessary skills and capabilities to continue learning new concepts on their own. Since our program is fast-paced and challenging, we continue to assist our students' through weekly tutoring, office hours, and personal guidance with the help of our SSM. We truly appreciate your insight, as we seek to continuously improve our curriculum.

    We know the amount of hard work and dedication it takes to complete such an immersive course and commend you for all your achievements. At this time, we would welcome any other helpful suggestions you may have. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (919) 425-0055. We wish you all the success moving forward!  
  • Zachary J Bartlett
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Full Stack Flex • Chapel Hill
    Sep 08, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    No Regrets

    I started the bootcamp in February of this year, but even before that there was a lot of people reaching out and making sure I was fully prepared for what was ahead of me.  From career services to instructors, everyone was extremely outgoing and helpful, I never felt like them helping me was not a top priority. The course itself was extremely challenging and almost 100% hands-on learning. I had tried to pick up programming in the past, with little to show for it, but after only 6 months in...

    Report

    Ilyssa Rosenzweig of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    Sep 19, 2017

    Thank you for your review! It’s fantastic that you had such a positive experience with our program. It makes us incredibly proud of our team to hear that they provided you with the help and support you needed during your boot camp journey.

    We’re thrilled to have earned your recommendation, as the student experience is our top priority. Congratulations on completing the program, we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps Alumni Outcomes

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps Scholarships

$500 UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps Discount

Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps discount for $500 off tuition!

Eligibility

Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

Qualifying Courses

  • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time (Raleigh)
  • Digital Marketing - Part-Time (Raleigh)
  • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (Raleigh)
  • Cybersecurity - Part-Time (Raleigh)
  • AI Boot Camp - Part-Time (Raleigh)
  • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time (Chapel Hill)
  • Cybersecurity - Part-Time (Chapel Hill)
  • AI Boot Camp - Part-Time (Chapel Hill)

Recent UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps News

Liz Eggleston
Liz Eggleston
Updated May 29, 2024
You've heard of household bootcamps like General Assembly, Springboard, and Flatiron School but have you noticed universities that offer coding bootcamps? Universities have now been partnering with coding bootcamps since 2016, but these university coding bootcamps aren't all the same! Research your options below and find out which coding bootcamps offer college credit, which are part-time to accommodate your schedule, and read our tips for choosing the best university ...

Course Report readers can receive an Exclusive Scholarship to UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps!

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps Alumni Reviews Summary

Overall Experience
4.8
Instructors
4.9
Curriculum
4.7
Job Assistance
4.2
Write A Review
More Information
Guarantees Job
Job Assistance
Includes Housing
Offers Corporate Training
Accepts GI Bill
Licensing
Yes
Awards
Recent UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps News
FAQs

How much does UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps cost?

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps costs around $13,495. On the lower end, some UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps courses like Digital Marketing - Part-Time cost $9,245.

What courses does UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps teach?

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps offers courses like AI Boot Camp - Part-Time, Cybersecurity - Part-Time, Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time, Digital Marketing - Part-Time and 1 more.

Where does UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps have campuses?

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps has in-person campuses in Chapel Hill and Raleigh.

Is UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps worth it?

UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps hasn't shared alumni outcomes yet, but one way to determine if a bootcamp is worth it is by reading alumni reviews. 95 UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps on Course Report - you should start there!

Is UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps legit?

We let alumni answer that question. 95 UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.83 out of 5.

Does UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps offer scholarships or accept the GI Bill?

Yes, Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps discount for $500 off tuition!

Can I read UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps reviews?

You can read 95 reviews of UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps on Course Report! UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.83 out of 5.

Is UNC-Chapel Hill Boot Camps accredited?

Yes

Get Free Bootcamp Advice

Sign up for our newsletter and receive our free guide to paying for a bootcamp.

By submitting this form, you agree to receive email marketing from Course Report.

Get Matched in Minutes

Just tell us who you are and what you’re searching for, we’ll handle the rest.

Match Me