thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Atlanta, Austin, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boston, Boulder, Charlotte, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hartford, Houston, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Madison, Memphis, Miami, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York City, New York City, Oakland, Online, Orlando, Orlando, Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Portland, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, San Antonio, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.59 ( 581 reviews )

Thinkful is an online bootcamp that equips students for new careers in the world’s next workforce by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, product management, and digital marketing. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech. Thinkful also offers a tuition refund guarantee for qualifying courses. While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s programs include the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, Data Analytics Flex, and Digital Marketing Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students can join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.59

all (581) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (90) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week18 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Online Apply by May 25, 2020
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date June 1, 2020
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 1, 2020 - Online Apply by May 4, 2020
  • Digital Marketing Flex

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn the technical skills needed to build an audience, create a brand, and drive sales. Study with a flexible, online schedule, a personal mentor, and peer groups. Professional career coaches guide you with networking advice and personalized resume tips to help secure a high-income marketing role.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Immersion

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date June 1, 2020
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest way to launch your marketing career. Create campaigns and analyze results as you learn relevant, up-to-date technical skills. Showcase your knowledge with an interview-ready portfolio that stands out and earns job offers. Enroll now, and pay nothing until you’ve graduated and landed a job.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options:
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 1, 2020 - Online Apply by May 18, 2020
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$9,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by May 11, 2020
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,650
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Flex

    Apply
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$6,750
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Break into tech as a project manager. Learn how to plan, schedule, and budget in a business setting while developing the leadership skills for long-term career growth. A flexible format that works around your schedule, with industry mentors and career support until you’re hired.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Immersion

    Apply
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$9,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest path to a project management career. Learn to leverage the tools used by top employers in this full-time, online course. Work through a project-based course that builds your portfolio with the support of industry experts, a rigorous curriculum, and paired workshops.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by June 8, 2020
    September 7, 2020 - Online Apply by August 17, 2020
  • UX/UI Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    In PersonFull Time50 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,150
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn career-ready skills in research, web design, and teamwork on your path to a high-paying role in UX/UI. One-on-one mentorship, interview prep and community support take you from newbie to hired and beyond.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Shared Review

  • Think twice
    - 3/15/2017
    Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Pros:

    • Easy to use platform
    • Mentorship - 45mins once a week
    • Offers Q/A and workshop sessions
    • Price - $500 per month
    • Nice and friendly staff

    Cons:

    • Exercises sometimes doesn't reflect on what was being taught. It's more difficult than what was explained or even asking for completely different solutions at times. I know that they want you to learn and do research yourself, but it just doesn't smoothly transition into the exercises/projects. I don't feel like it's for "beginners" as how they mentioned the course was for.
    • No videos at all. Expect to learn from reading and mini projects only. And if you ask your mentor, they want you to research yourself as well.
    • Although having a mentor is helpful, you need to be the one to ask specific questions and tell them what you want to review during your sessions. Basically, it's YOUR choice. However, if it's more structured, it will be a better guidance for the students. For instance, once you submit your projects, you will hear no feedback from your mentor unless you are THE ONE to bring it up. I feel that as a student, if I submit something, I should receive some comments or etc? Just like when you are in school, you receive a grade/comment. At least that's how I feel.
    • Sometimes typos/errors in given problems to solve. For instance, you are given an algorithm to solve in jsbin, but if you're not able to solve it within a specific time, then look at the solution they gave you. Then after you understood it, write that code on your jsbin to solve it. However, it doesn't work (I did not change any codes at all, parts of the codes were already given when you open the file, so that it will show 'it's working' or 'it's not working'), so I had to copy and paste the same code from the solutions to the jsbin to make it work. Meaning there were already some kind of typos in the given problem to solve.
    • You don't have lifetime access to the course materials unless you stayed at least 3 months in the course. What if people finish in less than 3 months, then they're forced to stay extra long and pay that extra month/s in order to receive lifetime access?

    By no means, I'm trying to make you change your mind if you do decide to join Thinkful. This is all from my personal experience and personal thoughts on the course. I don't recommend it to those who are just starting out as a beginner, but if you do have experience with coding, then Thinkful is for you.

  • Simon Hochmuth  User Photo
    Simon Hochmuth • Data Scientist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I did the flex program which is essentially 100% remote. I worked a full time job during the program and managed to finish 2 weeks earlier than expected. I would definitely do it again. I did have a small amount of coding experience but none in the languages used in this course. 

    They give you a mentor who you speak to 2 times a week. Mine was awesome and I got alot of help from him. 

    You also have an online slack channel where you can ask questions , which I used quite a bit when I got stuck. This was all I felt was needed to complete projects. 

    The course was decently written and had some issues at times, but overall I had no problems with it. They are just teaching you what you need for an entry level job so I didn't expect them to go in depth on advanced topics. 

    I was able to get a full time job before I even graduated. This was definitely due to the program because my capstones were the focus of all my interviews. I would make sure to spend alot of your time on these.

    Since I got a job before I graduated I never used the career services. I heard these are good, but I wouldn't take my word on it. 
  • Violet  User Photo
    Violet • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The thing that really made this bootcamp completely worth the money was the people that I had a chance to work with. From my technical mentor to my career coach, I really felt cared for and like they had my best interest at heart. It is definitely one of those things where you are going to get out of the program the amount of effort you put in, but if you are willing to put in the time you will learn so much. I have heard that there are a lot of bootcamps that just throw you out into the job search once you have completed the curriculum, but that is not the case with Thinkful. My career coach guided me through all of the steps of the job hunt and was always there to give me support when I felt like giving up.

    All in all, I can't recommend this bootcamp enough. It is hard and at sometimes frustrating, but 100% worth the money.
  • Anthony Z  User Photo
    Anthony Z • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I graduated from Thinkful's Data Analytics Flex program in late March and was recently hired for a new position -- I had an overall excellent experience with the program! The curriculum is comprehensive and rigorous, focusing on Excel, SQL, Tableau, and Python. These are core skills for any data analyst; Excel and Python are especially emphasized, and you will mainly use these to complete three capstone projects throughout the course. Although a little bit more weight could be placed on SQL and Tableau, i.e. requiring their use for independent projects, the curriculum provides a solid foundation for all of these tools; students could easily apply them to their own separate projects if desired.

    The instructors are great; you get paired with a mentor for 1-1 sessions twice a week, and an academic success manager whom you meet with every 1-2 months or so. Both my mentor and success manager were very helpful and responsive. After completing the curriculum, you get paired with a career coach for up to six months of career assistance; this stage requires you to apply for jobs and participate in networking activities. I did really appreciate Thinkful's job guarantee, as it demonstrates their confidence in landing new roles for their graduates. Thinkful is currently providing added support in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, which I also really appreciate and believe will be very beneficial to students and recent graduates.

    All in all, I loved my experience with Thinkful and greatly appreciate the education, guidance, and support they provided me in my career transition!
  • Peggy Sturman  User Photo
    Peggy Sturman • QA Engineer • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I attended Thinkful's Engineering Nights and Weekend course. I graduated in May 2020. I would not hesitate to recommend Thinkful. I originally chose Thinkful because of the tech stack that they teach (JavaScript, Node, React, Express, SQL). I choose that tech stack because that is most common for the jobs I see listed here in the bay area and what I'm interested in. I made a great choice. I learned a lot through blood, sweat, and tears. What else I really like about Thinkful is they really want to see you succeed. You are assigned a Project Manager as well as a Mentor. What else I loved was being in a cohort with other students. My cohort was amazing and I learned as much as I did with my classmates as I did with my instructors.

    I feel I got a well-rounded exposure to a full-stack web environment in a supportive environment. In order to help you succeed here are a few things I wish I would have known going in:

    * Have down the basics of JavaScript before you start. There is a JavaScript module, but you really need to go in having a good solid base. If you are new to coding or JavaScript, I recommend doing work (either from free resources or find a good low priced Udemy class) until you are really comfortable with the basics (writing a function, what is an object, array's, etc.). 

    * After each section, you will be tested. The test will consist of verbal questions and live coding. Make sure you are comfortable with both. I get very nervous so I wish I would have known that. That being said, while they can be nerve-wracking, they are exactly what interviews in a real-world environment are like so these are really helping to prepare you!

    * If you get a mentor that you don't feel you connect with it is perfectly ok to ask for a different one. This happened to me. My original mentor while good, did not meet my needs. I requested a new mentor and I was assigned a new one right away. He was amazing! 

    * Make the most of your mentoring sessions. If you don't have anything that you want to ask your mentor for help with in a session, ask for drills that you can do, etc. Never go in without a plan of something you want to work on. While the mentor is there to help, you must drive your own learning. So if you don't need help, you could go in and ask, I want to get better at X, can you give me some drills to do, or can we talk about X. 

    * Coding is hard and you will swear and be frustrated often. This is normal. Just do not give up. Get up, take a break, and get back to it. If you are stuck you have mentors, classmates and technical coaches that are there to help.

    * Get comfortable with troubleshooting and doing research. I see a lot of new students asking questions, such as "I can't get into X site". Did you open Dev. tools and see if there is an error, did you try a different browser, did you clear your cache, did you restart your machine, etc. If you are having problems troubleshooting getting into a site, how are you going to feel troubleshooting when your code is not working. I do realize this is a new skill for some people so it is not meant as a criticism. If you are new to tech and not really familiar with troubleshooting problems, I would do some reading on how to do that. It really will help you in all areas.

     * Give as much as you get. There is a vibrant Slack community of students. Try to get to know other people and contribute where you can. I'm a big believer in giving back where you can.
  • Don  User Photo
    Don • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The curriculum was well written, making new concepts easily digestible. The instructors were great at bridging the gap between my theoretical knowledge and what I would need to be successful professionally. The career assistance was very helpful when it came to preparing application materials and were directly involved in helping me land my first role. Overall a very positive experience.
  • Sara  User Photo
    Sara • UX/UI Designer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Overall, I can genuinely say that I had a great time while enrolled at Thinkful (Bloc was acquired). I used to be in Customer Success/Experience with early-stage startups and although I've been exposed to working in tech, there was still so much to learn about UX/UI Design. 

    Curriculum: Bloc/Thinkful had won me over with its reasonable price and robust curriculum. A lot of other bootcamps during the time that I was researching didn't offer to teach frontend fundamentals and Thinkful did. In addition to this, I liked the idea of it being self-paced which meant that I could finish earlier than the ideal time frame (they gave me a 12-month timeframe but I completed the program in 6 months). 

    The reading materials are easy to understand and follow. They also provide video for some of the modules which was perfect for me since I learned by following. Links to external resources have also been great to have (and I still find myself referring back to some of them) and are plenty. 

    You'll also receive guidance throughout the program in the form of a mentor. I think that this was incredibly important toward my growth as a designer. Luckily, I had 1 mentor, Mike Dekker, from start to finish (I've heard horror stories from others that they've had to switch or weren't happy with the ones they've been assigned with). Mike's someone who I thought was so inspiring and incredibly helpful - I mean, the guy's got around 14-16 years of UX/UI and illustration experience so it was great to have him teach me neat tricks and learn about the "real world" through his stories. 

    That being said, the program is not a walk in the park and you really have to put in the work. If you're the type of person who relies heavily on collaboration and hand holding, this program may not be for you. Although I did have a wonderful mentor, our meetings were limited to 30 minutes per week. Though Thinkful offers design critique sessions, workshops and technical coaches, I know for a fact that I still had to do a lot of self-study and research. Again, there's nothing wrong with wanting to learn from a teacher you see regularly and having content/instructions handed to you but it's crucial to know what you're getting into at Thinkful and if it fits your learning style. 

    Career Support: Just like the curriculum, I hit the jackpot again when I got Elyse Yarnell as a career coach. She taught me additional things that the job hunt portion of the curriculum didn't tackle and was really supportive through the entire job hunt process. I feel that Los Angeles is a tougher environment for junior designers so it meant a lot to me to feel like I had someone cheering me on and giving me advice. 

    Areas of Opportunity: I think that the experience would've been even better if Thinkful can find away for future graduates to be a part of some sort of remote internship since I feel that this would increase the student's chance of gaining employment faster after graduating. Tech coaches and graders could definitely improve by maintaining consistency in the way they grade projects/assignments and answer students through the Slack channel (I've found that some are on it and points me the right direction and others just question me and go around in circles). Last but not the least, I think that they should set expectations for students. I've found that a lot of students drop out because they aren't aware that the program mimics what is out there in the real world (no one really holds your hand and you have to seek answers for yourself). If this expectation is set clearly, it'll help filter students who are willing to put in the work and self-study and drive students who aren't willing to do so to another bootcamp that offers in-person teaching and immediate assistance.

    Wrap-up: It took a while for me to get a job since I had several hiccups (personal reasons + the pandemic) but I recently accepted a position as a UX/UI Designer. We're going through such strange times that it feels odd to feel ecstatic but I don't feel guilty for saying this - I'm so happy to have gone through this experience with Thinkful and owe so much to my mentor, graders and coach for getting me to where I am today. 
  • Matt Childers  User Photo
    Matt Childers • Data Scientist, Consultant • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I just finished the Data Science Flex course and recommend it for any motivated person who wants to update their analytics skill set in a remote learning environment. The operative term is MOTIVATED. You have to self-discipline and motivation to get through the program because you are not learning in a class where you can ask instructors questions in real time and it’s much easier to fall of the face of the Earth in an online format. If you aren’t a self-starter and have the will power to keep yourself on task, you won’t make it through.

    As a former college professor who has taught both in person and online, I have been on the both sides of the learning experience and prefer in person courses because they are more conducive to higher quality learning. But, I was not in a position to enroll in a bootcamp in person nor was I in a position to take a full time course for 12 weeks. Thinkful was appealing for three reasons: it provided you with a mentor who was a senior data scientist and you would meet twice a week during the course, it provided a lot of other online support like virtual office hours with other senior data scientists and Slack channels with technical coaching support, and it was part-time with a flexible schedule. 

    On balance, I had a great experience and learned a ton. The mentor program is its strongest feature because with a good mentor you have someone whom you can regularly ask questions about anything related to what you are doing in the course (including career advice). Your mentor also keep you on schedule for two reasons: 1) you don’t want to waste their time, and 2) they can help get out of ruts when you are struggling with projects. My mentor was outstanding and helped me a lot. My biggest problem was often with syntax and python basics that I would forget and they always provided helpful code. 

    The material is text-based with examples and walkthroughs. They don’t provide lectures or seminars. You must be someone who learns by reading and doing to master the material. I am one of those people, but you may not be. If you prefer video instruction, you may not get as much out of the program. I, along with other students I was in touch with throughout the course went to YouTube for extra guidance or alternative explanations to help clarify some things. Be prepared, however, to do extra reading on your own on a regular basis. I think that you’ll probably do that in any bootcamp course you take. 

    You pay around $8,000 for six months in the program with 42 days of pause time. Once you sign up, you get a customized schedule with deadlines to help keep you on pace. Pause time allows you to temporarily stop the schedule for a period of time and push your deadlines back in case you are behind, work gets crazy, or you need to break to clear your head. 

     Other strengths:
    • Most of the material (80-85%) was accessible and focused on showing you how to apply what you’re learning. They provided enough theoretical and conceptual material so you got the big idea, but the highest quality materials made code accessible to newbies.
    • Technical coaching support was always great. Coaches are patient and stick with you until the problem is solved, regardless of how long it takes to figure things out.
    • Online office hours and other support: Mentors holding office hours were always outstanding and very helpful. 
    • “Pause time”: they give you 42 days of “pause time,” where you can pause your timeline and get deadlines pushed back. You might get behind at some point and this is your option to 
    • Administration: you get an Academic Success Manager who acts like a counselor throughout the course and is there for help related to anything but data-science specific issues. ASMs were always pretty good about supporting you through tough times that were outside of your control. For example, people got extra pause time during the pandemic. 
    • You choose a specialty at the end where you dig a little deeper on a topic of your interest and that serves as the basis for your final capstone project. This is something for you and your mentor to figure out together. 
    • Career Support: You get six months with a career coach to help you find a job, but they require a lot of work. I can’t say more since I am just entering that phase. 

    Weaknesses
    • Some of the material was not so clear. You would occasionally come across a subsection where the concept was not broken down very well or the code explanation was glib and you needed to do a lot of outside reading to figure things out. Or, the explanations about the concept and code were both pretty shallow yet there was a big leap between that and what you were required to do for the accompanying assignment. That didn’t happen often, but did so occasionally. Unfortunately for me, I specialized in NLP and the material was incomplete, requiring me to do read a lot of extra material to bring me up to speed. This caused me to take longer than I wanted to for the final project. It worked out OK in the end, but this was pretty frustrating. From my own discussions with other students, this does was not the case with other specialization modules, thankfully.


  • Jacob M  User Photo
    Jacob M • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I was hesitant to start a bootcamp when there were many indications that the field was saturated with bootcamp grads, yet I went through with it and can say that it was well worth it. The Thinkful bootcamp was great and informative and I learned a lot. There were times when it got rough and I lost focus but my mentor and my academic success manager helped me through it and I got to where I am today with their help. The community is great as a whole and I've made a few peer connections that I hope will help as I go about my coding journey. They have so many great resources and people there to help you out that I didn't for once think about withdrawing. I'm starting the next phase, the job search, and they have even more resources available to help me with that. If you are looking at bootcamps, I would highly recommend giving Thinkful a shot.
  • Elijah  User Photo
    Elijah • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I researched which boot camp to choose for months, overall I chose Thinkful primarily for two reasons:
    1) If you complete the within 7 months (6 is the standard) and you do not get a job 6 months after that, your tuition will be reimbursed.
    2) The mentorship.

    After beginning Thinkful, getting ahead in the course, then falling way, way, way behind in the course, to finally finishing it by the grace of God. I will say that there are many more pros than I originally expected.

    Pros:

    1) The curriculum is amazing! I wish my textbooks in school were written with the simple, easy to understand, and straight forward style of Thinkful's curriculum. Some assignments are graded, which is awesome because it's helpful to get feedback on what you're doing wrong and when you're doing something right.

    2) The mentor sessions were really helpful, being obligated to meet with a mentor twice a week holds you accountable and having an experienced developer who can answer your questions is also helpful and a great source of support. Also, if you don't like your mentor you can switch mentors, and they are very flexible with their schedules, I work an 11 am - 8 pm shift and surprisingly they were able to accommodate that with two separate mentors.

    3) The structure of the course, this ties in with point number 1, but I have to stress this. I attended a university and was majoring in computer science, I know many types of developers and had been programming for years (Python, Java, C++, aka nothing related to web dev) before entering this course. One of the main reasons why I decided to go the route of "boot camp" instead of "self-taught" is because I had no clue about what stack I should learn, what exactly about these frameworks do I need to focus on, how to use git and just other simple facets of developing that they don't teach you in school and really isn't too important when you're doing things on your own. However, now looking back, Thinkful taught me all the tech and concepts that I needed. They set me on the right path and gave me strong foundations. No boot camp will take you from zero to Junior level, but Thinkful really put me in a spot to succeed! From the ordering of the curriculum that they teach you to the capstones (projects) that they have you complete and add to your portfolio. Everything that Thinkful has you do in the course to build your resume or your skills/understanding. There is no pointless/wasted time. 

    4) Program managers, along with mentors, program managers really help shed light on your progress in the course and will level with you on what you need to do to be successful in it. This was especially crucial for me since I fell far behind in the course (not because the content was difficult).

    5) Pause time, Thinkful has a very generous amount of pause time (over a month worth of pause time I believe), not to mention the free Holiday pause time that will be given out. 

    6) Technical support, Thinkful provides support 7 days a week on slack. You can ask any web dev related questions and the technical support group will help you solve any issues with your code (installing software, issues with understanding a data structure, or help you deploy your website).

    7) At the end of the course you have a professional portfolio (with projects), resume, LinkedIn page, GitHub with almost 30 repositories, and continued support from the careers coaches.


    Cons:

    1) The price, it's not cheap, although you get what you pay for. If you can dedicate the time, there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to finish the course before 6 months is up (the sooner you complete the less money you pay).

  • Cody  User Photo
    Cody • Software Engineer • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I chose Thinkful/Bloc because of their self-paced program. I had a lot of things coming up and knew that I could not commit to the very strict schedule of a traditional bootcamp. I needed the flexibility to be able to not miss out on any schooling when things interrupted my schedule.

    I did the Full Stack Web Developer Track through Bloc (which was acquired by Thinkful right after I started). 

    I enjoyed my time with Thinkful. The curriculum was great. They taught me up-to-date technologies that are currently being used in the industry. While I was going through the course, I noticed that they were continuously updating and improving the curriculum.

    My mentor was fantastic. He cared a lot about my understanding of the material and helped me understand the areas that I struggled with. He also made sure that I wrote professional code that would hold up in a real-world application. I can't say enough about how great my mentor was.

    I was able find and start a job 2 weeks after completing the course (I started looking for jobs after I was about 3/4 done with the course, so about a 2 month job search). I got my job because of the skills that I got from my course at Thinkful. 

    During my first month, I was supposed to be paired with a mentor. I got paired with two mentors that never bothered to show up and meet. I was working for an entire month by myself. It wasn't too hard because the curriculum was covering some pretty basic introductions to JavaScript, HTML, and CSS that were easy enough to learn on my own without getting stuck. I reached out to the student success team and they actually credited an entire month of learning to my account for my trouble of not having a mentor. Once I got paired up with my mentor, things went fantastic.

    Their student success (customer support) team was always super helpful. Throughout the course, you have mock interviews that are supposed to mimic real interviews that you are going to have when you start your job search. One time the interviewer never showed up, I told student success and they credited me some more learning time to my account because of the wasted time.

    Their customer support is great and responsive. Every time I had an issue (not too many times) they always solved my problem quickly and in a professional way. I could tell that their support team does their best to help their customers.

    They also have some slack channels set up for students to get extra help if they get stuck with anything in the curriculum and don't have time to wait to meet with their mentor. The support agents in the slack channels are super helpful and quick to help students solve trouble that they're having with the curriculum or personal projects.
  • Web
    - 4/13/2020
    Dakota Heim  User Photo
    Dakota Heim • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I really enjoyed the whole structure of the program that Thinkful/Bloc set up. It really starts you on learning basics and fundamentals of Web development overall, and gives you tools and advice to branch out into other aspects. Web development is an incredibly broad topic and has so many different language's, frameworks and tools that it'd be it impossible to fit everything into one program. This program really outlines things that you should learn to start out and then expand on those skills you've learned.

    I really enjoyed being paired with a senior developer as well and I felt that was a big part of learning. My mentor was able to walk me through certain things that I wasn't able to understand. The mock interviews held were also great help in preparing me for the real world interviews.

    Overall I really enjoyed the boot camp and its curriculum. The one thing that I would suggest is that it to go more into using vanilla JavaScript for DOM Manipulation. They go more into using jQuery and I feel learning how to JavaScript in its vanilla form would help more in comprehending the language just a bit more. Other than that, a great experience and landed me a job that I'm very excited to be at!
  • Great Experience
    - 3/30/2020
    Dustin Haefele  User Photo
    Dustin Haefele • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Thinkful was an awesome experience for me. I did an Engineering Immersion program and am now working full time as a software engineer for a remote company. I was a chemical engineer before this and I couldn't be happier with my new career.
  • Anthony Bostic  User Photo
    Anthony Bostic • Front End Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The program all in all is great if you put the effort in. The curriculum is great and you learn a modern stack. There are a few things I wish they would teach (React Hooks & Touch on TypeScript). So going back to effort being put in the offer you so many resources to help you succeed you just have to utilize them, for example, you will have access to a 1:1 mentor, teacher assistants, teacher, and there's also office hours at different times of the day. The only actual complaint I have is a lack of visual aids in the curriculum.  Once you graduate you will be matched with a career services member that will send you tons of job leads for you to act on and they will help you with the interviewing process. So all in all if you are the person that actually loves coding and genuinely interested in it I would highly recommend Thinkful just don't expect to do the classwork and be done with your day you will have to put the time in outside of class.
  • Changed my life
    - 3/30/2020
    Joey Romo  User Photo
    Joey Romo • Java Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I started Thinkful in August with the prep course for the full time engineering immersion course. They taught me everything I needed to know to get my career started with full stack development and working with other developers. If you put in the work at Thinkful and really dedicate your time to learning what they teach, you’ll come out of the program as a confident full stack developer ready for a job.
  • Jameson  User Photo
    Jameson • Application Lead • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I dropped out the Thinkful Data Science Flex program after 20 days. and I was charged of $1745USD. I was amazed at the low quality of learning content. It even doesn't make sense in the context of the article it presents. Also, there is no video at all which is really boring and the way of conveying concepts pretty slow.
  • Not so great
    - 2/24/2020
    juana  User Photo
    juana • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
     I was approved to start the program immediately (Part-time, flex). I did not do any pre-work for the boot camp, was just thrown in.   Later found out people did pre-boot camp course work, which no one suggested I do that first.
     I hope you get a good program advisor that cares about you instead of being a number to fill their quota or don't do the part-time flex since they don't know you exist until you supposedly hit a point in the program. which  they (program managers)
    if i had to do it over again,  I would not go here 
  • Trey Tiller  User Photo
    Trey Tiller • Digital Marketing Specialist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I mean what else can I say... They changed my life. To save time if you don't want to read all of this I'll quickly say 2 things: 
    1. This program is not for the faint of heart. Prepare to be challenged, and feel completely lost the whole time.
    2. If you're up to the challenge then take this program. The curriculum is amazing, the projects you build are amazing, the mentors and people you meet are so supportive, and the amount of knowledge you learn in the time allotted is astounding.

    Now, to dive deeper. I'm going to layout 3 of the biggest things that Thinkful impressed upon me.
    1. The Mentor and Program Manager support team -- This is such an amazing aspect of the program that a lot of others don't have and something you'd never get self-teaching. These counselors help you with anything and everything you need and work with your schedule. The program managers are personable and are there to make sure you're doing okay mentally with the curriculum and that you're following the pace you want to follow in the program. The mentors are highly intelligent and experienced programmers that make time for meetings and can teach you easier ways to do things. Greatly thankful for the support I had during the program.
    2. The projects and capstones are as amazing as you want -- I came out of the program with 4 working, functional, and well-designed projects that helped me get my job. The amount of learning you do while working on these projects is insane. Towards the end of the program, you're kind of given free rein to build whatever you'd like which is really cool and allows you to become passionate about what you're building. My advice is to take time on the projects. They're your biggest leg up in the job market and can push you to learn more. 
    3. The curriculum -- This is sort of negative and positive. To put it plainly, the curriculum is vastly dense and can be difficult to follow at times. This results in a disconnect when assignments come up asking you to do something you feel like you've never seen before. That being said... That's the life of a programmer. The best skill you can learn is problem-solving, and the curriculum, being the way it is, inherently makes you get better and better at that. So, it ends up being a necessary evil that you're kind of thankful for by the end of the program. 

    To sum it all up if you're hard-working, self-driven, organized, and have good time management you'll be fine during the program. I recommend anyone who is interested in programming to take the introductory webinar and spend a couple of weeks in the introductory material they provide for free. If you find you really like programming take the Thinkful course. It's an amazing opportunity and will change your life. They're the best of the best!
  • Daniel Pellegrini  User Photo
    Daniel Pellegrini • Adjunct College Professor • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    This program goes in depth in regards to excel, SQL, tableau, power point, basic stats, and Python.
  • Atilla  User Photo
    Atilla • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Thinkful

     

    I have been participating in Thinkful's Data Science Flex program since early September 2019. 

     

    For the last three months, I have learned a lot. I had no prior experience with Python or SQL. At the moment, I am finishing up my Capstone 3  project and I am satisfied with my process.

     

    I have a quantitative background and I can proficiently operate in Excel and in Tableau.    

     

     

    To start with, Data Science program is not an easy program. Even though they say you can only spend 25 hours a week, that is not the case. For the last three months, I AT LEAST spent 30 hours a week to keep it up with the program. But I was expecting this because I did a vigorous search before I signed up to this program. Data Science is overall not so simple and the amount of information you need to absorb is just too much in only couple of months. That is why the dropout rate is very high. I guess it was around 70 percent. 

     

     

    The curriculum is alright. I wouldn't say it's great or perfect. I think the main problem is the lack of examples. They only give you one example and move to the next point, they don't get into very deep. You need to make good amount of google searches to fully grasp a subject. They teach you the basic but important points. However , I don't really judge them because even with this, it's crazy amount of workload piled into 6 months. For a 6-month-long program, the curriculum is good enough.

     

     

    I get to have two sessions with my mentor every week. They usually last around 45 minutes. 

     

    I requested a change of mentor after four weeks into program because my first mentor was incredibly careless and always looked down on me. He would expect me to know something which was never mentioned in the curriculum, otherwise he would act like I am a moron and  should just go ahead and drop out of the program. He was really disrespectful and disgusting overall. Every session was like I was wasting his precious time. He would always have the session in a loud coffee store and I wouldn't hear whatever he said most of the time. 

     

     

    On the other hand, my current mentor is the best. He is a good explainer, motivator and friend. Whenever I am stuck in something, he patiently helps me with the code or theory. He leads me to search the theory and purpose of the models. Overall, he is helping me to become a Data Scientist and I am very happy that I get to meet him. And yes, he is located in a quiet room whenever we are having our session, thanks God! 

     

    There are about 100 mentors only in Data Science Flex program and it is possible that there might be some bad mentors. Considering both of these mentors have worked with Thinkful for years, you could be matched with any of them. 

     

    I only had one session with my program manager. She was very nice. After having serious problems with my first mentor, she was very supportive and immediately reassigned me to my current mentor. 

     

    I never got a chance to participate in an office hour. It's because I have to work whenever I am not studying. But I have seen some interesting subjects and I am planning to join them starting next week. 

     

     

    I had only one session with the career service but it is okay because I am in the middle of the program. Towards to the end, I am sure I get to spend more time with them. 

     

     

     

    OVERALL

     

    I would recommend Thinkful's Data Science programs only if you have the time and you are sure that you will study hard. As I said, I'm a quantitative person and I have to spend about 30-35 hours a week to keep up with the workload. Yet, this is not Thinkful's fault. If you really want to become a Data Scientist, this is the reality you will face wherever you go. 

     

    If you are ready to allocate the time and and study hard, Thinkful is a nice first step to start!!!!!

  • Olivia Davis  User Photo
    Olivia Davis • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    (I'm writing this review for the people who are stuck and/or trying to decide between Bootcamps like I once was - hence how long and descriptive)

    If you're contemplating even going to a Bootcamp, just do it. The cost alone far outweighs the price of college in general. Not only that, but you will absolutely have no problem at succeeding if you're actually determined to make a career shift. 

     

    My background: I was/am working in customer support, and I had no experience prior to Thinkful except dabbling and failing miserably at trying to retain information from Codecademy alone (resources like this are great and you can learn this way but it isn't for everybody). 

     

    School Structure :

    -  Everything is clear as far as when your assignments are due, when your mentor and manager sessions are, and where you need to go for help when you get stuck. This is why I highly recommend a Bootcamp in the first place, YOU HAVE STRUCTURE. It's hard to do it alone, and that's a big reason that people quit in the first place. 

    - I really can't stress this enough, but there shouldn't be any reason that you are stuck for a long period of time with this course. They really put in the work to make sure that you're covered in all aspects to get you the help you need. 

     

    Learning Curriculum: 

    - This is extremely fast-paced, but they did structure it so that everything is broken down into readable and maintainable parts. You will be learning the current tech stacks that employers are looking for, which is pivotal. This topic is by far the most important, and as a word of advice, you should not only be learning the curriculum but researching on your own behalf (this will help you develop skills to learn at a faster pace, and know where to look).

     

    Price and Course: 

    - The course is extremely affordable (Only paying interest until I find a job, and you actually have an option to do the deferred program, depending on the specific program you choose).

    - This is a great program if you have children, a full-time job, and/or a family. 

    - It's 6 months of learning and 6 months of career advisement and help. This really made me feel comfortable. I can confidently say that I don't think I would've lasted long at a 12-week program, you don't really get to a point of retaining anything, and I feel like the imposter syndrome would be at an all-time high even at the end of your course (just my opinion on my own learning style). 

    Mentorship: 

    - I've seen a lot of people talk about there bad experiences with their mentors. For me, I've had nothing but a positive experience with my mentor sessions. The best part for you is that if you don't like your mentor or you have a schedule change in your life, then you have an option to simply request a new one that aligns with you. This is something they didn't have to do, so this is another sign of actually caring about the students that attend and not just the money. 

    Time Management: 

    - For this program they do recommend between 20-25 hours per week. For me, I spend about 40 to 50 hours because I have the time, and I really love doing it. You don't have to do what I do, but you really have to make sure that you are writing specific times to sit down, study, and be distraction-free. 

    - Recite, Practice, Teach = The formula to fully understanding what you're learning. 

    - Software Engineering has the same concept when it comes to Math, its either right or its wrong. You cannot fake this or procrastinate, because it will show, and you're ultimately doing yourself a disservice.

    - Use Google Calendar, Evernote (personal fav), and any other time management tools. This will help you in actually being accountable for your time and daily tasks.

    - I also time my study sessions and have a study log to track my hours week by week. It gives you the chance to see when you need to pick up the pace or when you're exceeding. 

     

    Overall:

    - The curriculum is hard, frustrating, exciting and you're constantly at a learning curve. But I've come to realize that this would be your day to day at an actual software engineering position. 

    - It's affordable, convenient, and transparent.  

    - There are times where you will feel like you're lost, give yourself time, and know that it will click. Software engineering is not an easy career it really takes time and perseverance. 

    - The curriculum can feel dry sometimes, but make sure to take breaks (Pomodoro Technique is what I implement), and look at other resources (Youtube) to see a different perspective. 

    - If you put in the time and ask for help when you need it than I can guarantee that you'll succeed.

    - This is the best Bootcamp that's come to light so far. They don't just hire any person that claims to be a senior dev to mentor you (some boot camps do it), and they have poured tons of time, energy, and money to make the students feel capable and positive that they chose the right decision. 

    I hope that by reading this you can make a better-informed decision, about what path you want to take. Happy learning and wishing you the best! 

    Olivia Davis :)

  • Good Experience
    - 12/13/2019
    Rabia Omer  User Photo
    Rabia Omer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    First, I recommend this program to anyone looking to start his/her career in data science. You just need to be a person who can fulfill his/her commitment, and follow a clear time management plan.

    In addition, I would like to highlight the following:

    • The curriculum is great for the fundamental stage, but after reaching more advanced topics, it started to become not enough, you are required to do a lot of self-learning out of the curriculum using everybody's friend "Google". It could be part of their plan to encourage your self-learning.
    • They have Q&A at different times of the day. You can come up with your questions and they can help you by guiding you to the answer.
    • You need your mentor twice a week. It is more than enough, and the best way to ask more complicated questions which require a longer time of guidance and discussion.
    • The school is not taking it easy, they are very strict about the quality of your work. They really work on pushing you to learn and provide quality work.
    • They have good and experienced mentors who can support you during your learning journey. In addition, they have a slack channel where you can post any questions or inquiries and they are efficient in providing answers if it is during day time

    I just graduated a few days ago, and I am getting ready to start my job search journey. Thinkful has a tuition reimbursement guarantee if you follow their requirements and did not get hired within 6 months of graduation.

  • Yes and No
    - 11/21/2019
    Courtney  User Photo
    Courtney • Technical Writer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I chose Thinkful because I felt it offered the best comprehensive education in web engineering. After studying on my own for about 6 months, I decided to make the educational (and financial) investment to speed up my learning.

    Some facts about me:

    • Went through some tutorials on freecodecamp.org and codecademy before enrolling
    • Full-time employee (40+ hours a week)

    One thing I can say, plan accordingly. The program is extremely rigorous (which may or may not be subjective) but depending on how you're paying, money can be highly motivating. I was offered an opportunity to transfer to the engineering n&w program and happily accepted as my discipline for learning on my own waned as topics became increasingly advanced.

    Speaking of the curriculum, it was wonderful to have a roadmap to learning. That was one thing I found convenient vs piecemealing and combing through Reddit and other people's perspectives on what to learn next. However, I agree with a previous comment about maybe breaking up the information more. It would also have been nice to have a collection of links to outside sources that spoke to the content I just spent over an hour working through. Oftentimes, you'd read through the content and then be tasked with problem-solving or using concepts/techniques you did not cover in reading. I've heard this is normal and the sooner you get used to it, the sooner you'll gain confidence. If you find yourself being someone that needs additional help whether conceptual or specific, take time to figure out how you learn and how to research answers you need. Googling is really hard if you don't understand how to phrase your search. People in the slack channels are extremely helpful and I'd also encourage joining other Slack workspaces for coding. There are a lot of people who are more than willing to help. Mentors are great, as long as again, you already know what you need help with and you get on with your mentor. If you don't feel comfortable working with that designated person, ask for a new one. You're paying for this.

    Having the benefit of a cohort and instructors was very helpful to building structure with my learning. However, it got to a point where pair programming proved to be not in alignment with my learning style. I found more solace in posing questions in the slack channels, googling, or reaching out to my mentor.

    Just like anywhere, instructors can be hit or miss. I don't know what Thinkful pays, but you'll find some instructors tend to be more invested than others. You can tell who really cares and knows about the content vs someone who is fine with teaching but not necessarily assisting.

    Another pain point I experienced was communication. Oftentimes when I'd reach out to the needed resources, it would be days before I'd get a response. This was extremely frustrating as I reached a critical point that required further instruction/next steps. And to be honest, if you pay attention in the slack channels- many people post asking who and how to reach out to people. Unfortunately, I did not get the information I needed until I was advised my loan ran out and I would need to re-enroll. (I have not graduated yet). I take full responsibility for my part in this, as I could have better planned for contributing factors. However I did reach out, repeatedly, and didn't hear back until it was too late. I'd encourage anyone to make sure you plan ahead as best you can to determine if your circumstances qualify for some sort of leniency.

    Even with these qualms, I still feel like I was and am getting a quality education. Despite not being enrolled, you retain access to the course material - check the FAQ page. That's a huge benefit.  I appreciate people, like admissions counselors, keeping in touch me. I know this is a business but, I think people become invested in your success and it's not just about the money. The more people that graduate, the more Thinkful's stats go up as a reputable place to get your education. And above all, you are paying for this education. Speak up and communicate.

     

     

  • Whitney Wallace  User Photo
    Whitney Wallace • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just completed Thinkful's Engineering Immersion 5-month apprenticeship/bootcamp (today!).  It was an incredible experience and exceeded my expectations.  Prior to starting with Thinkful, I had completed another coding bootcamp that was for front-end development.  That bootcamp was about 80% reading material, 10% watching videos, and 10% actually coding.  My comfort level, if someone had asked me to sit down and code -anything-, would have been about 15% confidence that I could do it.

    I found Thinkful and started looking into their Full Stack program (Engineering Immersion).  Immediately what stood out to me was that it was a structured program with live instruction/instructors, TAs, and mentors.  The structure was also based on collaborative programming and embracing a growth mindset.  

    Before being admitted to the program, a three-week prep course was required and a technical evaluation.  I was shocked that the 3 week prep course covered nearly everything that my previous bootcamp had taken months to do.  It was a good refresher for me, but I was also very thankful that I had some JavaScript background since this prep course was so intense.  

    The program itself was highly rigorous and very time intensive.  I graduated on-time and received nearly perfect scores on my graded assessments - but that required me to put in about 60+ hours a week doing my assignments and readings, practicing the parts I didn't understand, and putting extra effort into my capstones.  But it was completely worth it!

    In my opinion, one of the most successful parts of Thinkful's program is their use of paired programming.  Now, at the end of the course, I am graduating with well over 500 hours of paired programming experience.  Not only is that one way I was able to get such a deep understanding of what I was learning, but it also helped hone my collaboration skills in the context of a development environment.  Paired programming helped me learn from and teach many different styles, attitudes, and personalities - which I feel like is invaluable. 

    The technical interviews at the end of each section were also a huge highlight.  It helped me take everything I was learning and synthesize it into words.  It has prepared me for the job search and given me an extra confidence boost that I can answer those questions.  

    The capstone projects were an eye-opening experience.  They really gave me that vote of confidence that I could actually DO what I was learning.  And that was only possible because every single day I was coding with a pair.  Not reading, not watching videos, or watching someone else code.  I was in the thick of it, sharing my screen, working with another human, trying to understand and solve problems.  When it came time to put all of that knowledge together and do the capstone projects, I was ready and excited!

    Thinkful has very few flaws, in my opinion, and has been an incredible experience.  One flaw that I ran into was the use of Mentors.  I have talked to many of my cohort members that have had incredible experiences with their mentors, but unfortnately my experience was very lack luster and a waste of time.  I look forward to Thinkful giving mentors a little more structure so that when students need help, they can get it.  However, the TAs that were available every afternoon were INVALUABLE.  The amount of time they would take to explain a concept - even using props, playing cards, drawings, etc to help illustrate a hard concept - was truly amazing.  So many of my successes were built off of a TA taking the time to work with me when the concept was first presented.  

    All in all, I would recommend Thinkful to anyone who has a strong work ethic, who has that drive to reach their goals, and has the time to commit to the program.  I would recommend doing some free coding/JavaScript lessons so you don't feel like your feet have been swept out from under you when the prep course comes along.  Along with many things in life, the program is what you put into it.  And if you put in 100%, you'll get an incredible education experience with job-ready skills.

     

  • Ben  User Photo
    Ben • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have just graduated from Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program with high accolades for the most part.

    Firstly, I was working full time when I started the program, so the very fact that the program is offered online was a tremendous selling point for me. That being said, It's not the kind of commitment to take lightly. The good people at Thinkful make a point of saying right from the get-go that it will be a serious undertaking to which you must devote many many hours a week if you are to make any progress.  

    Their model is really efficient and highly professional. The bi-weekly mentor sessions are an invaluable resource, and my program manager was tremendously helpful with any issue that would come up. If the mentor you are assigned turns out to not be a good fit, they will assign you a new one right away. It happened to me, and my new mentor was great and helped me through to the end.
    Outside of mentors sessions you have Thinkful's slack channel where you can ask for help on your project from qualified technical coaches. It's a good option for when you're on a pause period to catch up and mentors sessions are not available. 

    The curriculum and its sections are well crafted and they walk you through it at eye level. The non-programming related tools like the LinkedIn and resume guides they provide are also extremely valuable and go a long way even long after graduation. 

    The few things I felt they could improve is the layout of the actual material. Incoporating more visual aids just to break the monotony of walls of text would go a long way for me. The curriculum is really heavy on the reading, and if you have ADD like me it gets tiresome to try and keep your brain sharp during long studying sessions, especially after coming home from your day job. Not everybody would feel the same as me, just one man's opinion.


    Overall, I highly recommend Thinkful's web development program if you can afford to make the commitment.

  • Christina  User Photo
    Christina • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I found Thinkful to be well worth the money. It is such a great investment into your future! My main reason for choosing Thinkkful was that it was online, yet you still had support from mentor meetings and office hours. I never felt overwhelmed, since I knew that I had such a great support system. I did this while working full time, which is exhausting (you definitely have to put life on hold), but well worth it. I was able to master in demand skills that helped me land a software engineering position before graduation. The salary increase alone paid for the program several times. If you stay focused, which your mentor is there to help with, and put in the work, then you will be successful in the program. The course helped me gain confidence in interviews with thier set of mock interviews throughout. I think that was one of my weakest areas at first. By the end, I was a pro at selling myself and showing off all of the skills I have obtained. If you are interested in web developmet, I highly suggest Thinkul! 

Thinkful Outcomes


N/A
On-Time Graduation Rate
78%
In-Field Employed
$60,450
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 9 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
77.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
22.2%

Could not contact
0.0%

Salary Breakdown:

100% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Read the full Thinkful CIRR report here

Thanks!