thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Online, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Salt Lake City, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.6 ( 557 reviews )

Thinkful is an online bootcamp that equips students for new careers in the world’s next workforce by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, product management, and digital marketing. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech. Thinkful also offers a tuition refund guarantee for qualifying courses. While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s programs include the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, Data Analytics Flex, and Digital Marketing Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students can join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.6

all (557) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (86) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Available through SkillsFund
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Available through SkillsFund
    Options: 
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Available through SkillsFund
    Options: 
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced degree
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Flex

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Learn the technical skills needed to build an audience, create a brand, and drive sales. Study with a flexible, online schedule, a personal mentor, and peer groups. Professional career coaches guide you with networking advice and personalized resume tips to help secure a high-income marketing role.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,650
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Available through SkillsFund

    Options: 
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/product-design/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • I'm doing it!
    - 9/27/2019
    Steven  User Photo
    Steven • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am currently halfway through the Engineering Immersion program offered by Thinkful and I am absolutely blown away by how much I have learned and retained in the passed 8 weeks. I have learned several different libraries and languages in order to further my goal as a developer. I am getting ready to start learning Computer Science algorithms and building my capstone projects! Everyone around me including the teachers, my mentor, the TA's and other students are extremely helpful and collabrative. That being said, do not take the warnings lightly. I spend on average 50-60 hours every week for this class and treat it as a full time job plus some. However, if you can handle the work load, you will walk away feeling supported, valued, and happier! If you're on the fence give it a try! They offer a free trial period! 

  • Great Experience
    - 3/30/2020
    Dustin Haefele  User Photo
    Dustin Haefele • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Thinkful was an awesome experience for me. I did an Engineering Immersion program and am now working full time as a software engineer for a remote company. I was a chemical engineer before this and I couldn't be happier with my new career.
  • Anthony Bostic  User Photo
    Anthony Bostic • Front End Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The program all in all is great if you put the effort in. The curriculum is great and you learn a modern stack. There are a few things I wish they would teach (React Hooks & Touch on TypeScript). So going back to effort being put in the offer you so many resources to help you succeed you just have to utilize them, for example, you will have access to a 1:1 mentor, teacher assistants, teacher, and there's also office hours at different times of the day. The only actual complaint I have is a lack of visual aids in the curriculum.  Once you graduate you will be matched with a career services member that will send you tons of job leads for you to act on and they will help you with the interviewing process. So all in all if you are the person that actually loves coding and genuinely interested in it I would highly recommend Thinkful just don't expect to do the classwork and be done with your day you will have to put the time in outside of class.
  • Changed my life
    - 3/30/2020
    Joey Romo  User Photo
    Joey Romo • Java Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I started Thinkful in August with the prep course for the full time engineering immersion course. They taught me everything I needed to know to get my career started with full stack development and working with other developers. If you put in the work at Thinkful and really dedicate your time to learning what they teach, you’ll come out of the program as a confident full stack developer ready for a job.
  • Jameson  User Photo
    Jameson • Application Lead • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I dropped out the Thinkful Data Science Flex program after 20 days. and I was charged of $1745USD. I was amazed at the low quality of learning content. It even doesn't make sense in the context of the article it presents. Also, there is no video at all which is really boring and the way of conveying concepts pretty slow.
  • Not so great
    - 2/24/2020
    juana  User Photo
    juana • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
     I was approved to start the program immediately (Part-time, flex). I did not do any pre-work for the boot camp, was just thrown in.   Later found out people did pre-boot camp course work, which no one suggested I do that first.
     I hope you get a good program advisor that cares about you instead of being a number to fill their quota or don't do the part-time flex since they don't know you exist until you supposedly hit a point in the program. which  they (program managers)
    if i had to do it over again,  I would not go here 
  • Trey Tiller  User Photo
    Trey Tiller • Digital Marketing Specialist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I mean what else can I say... They changed my life. To save time if you don't want to read all of this I'll quickly say 2 things: 
    1. This program is not for the faint of heart. Prepare to be challenged, and feel completely lost the whole time.
    2. If you're up to the challenge then take this program. The curriculum is amazing, the projects you build are amazing, the mentors and people you meet are so supportive, and the amount of knowledge you learn in the time allotted is astounding.

    Now, to dive deeper. I'm going to layout 3 of the biggest things that Thinkful impressed upon me.
    1. The Mentor and Program Manager support team -- This is such an amazing aspect of the program that a lot of others don't have and something you'd never get self-teaching. These counselors help you with anything and everything you need and work with your schedule. The program managers are personable and are there to make sure you're doing okay mentally with the curriculum and that you're following the pace you want to follow in the program. The mentors are highly intelligent and experienced programmers that make time for meetings and can teach you easier ways to do things. Greatly thankful for the support I had during the program.
    2. The projects and capstones are as amazing as you want -- I came out of the program with 4 working, functional, and well-designed projects that helped me get my job. The amount of learning you do while working on these projects is insane. Towards the end of the program, you're kind of given free rein to build whatever you'd like which is really cool and allows you to become passionate about what you're building. My advice is to take time on the projects. They're your biggest leg up in the job market and can push you to learn more. 
    3. The curriculum -- This is sort of negative and positive. To put it plainly, the curriculum is vastly dense and can be difficult to follow at times. This results in a disconnect when assignments come up asking you to do something you feel like you've never seen before. That being said... That's the life of a programmer. The best skill you can learn is problem-solving, and the curriculum, being the way it is, inherently makes you get better and better at that. So, it ends up being a necessary evil that you're kind of thankful for by the end of the program. 

    To sum it all up if you're hard-working, self-driven, organized, and have good time management you'll be fine during the program. I recommend anyone who is interested in programming to take the introductory webinar and spend a couple of weeks in the introductory material they provide for free. If you find you really like programming take the Thinkful course. It's an amazing opportunity and will change your life. They're the best of the best!
  • Daniel Pellegrini  User Photo
    Daniel Pellegrini • Adjunct College Professor • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    This program goes in depth in regards to excel, SQL, tableau, power point, basic stats, and Python.
  • Atilla  User Photo
    Atilla • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Thinkful

     

    I have been participating in Thinkful's Data Science Flex program since early September 2019. 

     

    For the last three months, I have learned a lot. I had no prior experience with Python or SQL. At the moment, I am finishing up my Capstone 3  project and I am satisfied with my process.

     

    I have a quantitative background and I can proficiently operate in Excel and in Tableau.    

     

     

    To start with, Data Science program is not an easy program. Even though they say you can only spend 25 hours a week, that is not the case. For the last three months, I AT LEAST spent 30 hours a week to keep it up with the program. But I was expecting this because I did a vigorous search before I signed up to this program. Data Science is overall not so simple and the amount of information you need to absorb is just too much in only couple of months. That is why the dropout rate is very high. I guess it was around 70 percent. 

     

     

    The curriculum is alright. I wouldn't say it's great or perfect. I think the main problem is the lack of examples. They only give you one example and move to the next point, they don't get into very deep. You need to make good amount of google searches to fully grasp a subject. They teach you the basic but important points. However , I don't really judge them because even with this, it's crazy amount of workload piled into 6 months. For a 6-month-long program, the curriculum is good enough.

     

     

    I get to have two sessions with my mentor every week. They usually last around 45 minutes. 

     

    I requested a change of mentor after four weeks into program because my first mentor was incredibly careless and always looked down on me. He would expect me to know something which was never mentioned in the curriculum, otherwise he would act like I am a moron and  should just go ahead and drop out of the program. He was really disrespectful and disgusting overall. Every session was like I was wasting his precious time. He would always have the session in a loud coffee store and I wouldn't hear whatever he said most of the time. 

     

     

    On the other hand, my current mentor is the best. He is a good explainer, motivator and friend. Whenever I am stuck in something, he patiently helps me with the code or theory. He leads me to search the theory and purpose of the models. Overall, he is helping me to become a Data Scientist and I am very happy that I get to meet him. And yes, he is located in a quiet room whenever we are having our session, thanks God! 

     

    There are about 100 mentors only in Data Science Flex program and it is possible that there might be some bad mentors. Considering both of these mentors have worked with Thinkful for years, you could be matched with any of them. 

     

    I only had one session with my program manager. She was very nice. After having serious problems with my first mentor, she was very supportive and immediately reassigned me to my current mentor. 

     

    I never got a chance to participate in an office hour. It's because I have to work whenever I am not studying. But I have seen some interesting subjects and I am planning to join them starting next week. 

     

     

    I had only one session with the career service but it is okay because I am in the middle of the program. Towards to the end, I am sure I get to spend more time with them. 

     

     

     

    OVERALL

     

    I would recommend Thinkful's Data Science programs only if you have the time and you are sure that you will study hard. As I said, I'm a quantitative person and I have to spend about 30-35 hours a week to keep up with the workload. Yet, this is not Thinkful's fault. If you really want to become a Data Scientist, this is the reality you will face wherever you go. 

     

    If you are ready to allocate the time and and study hard, Thinkful is a nice first step to start!!!!!

  • Olivia Davis  User Photo
    Olivia Davis • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    (I'm writing this review for the people who are stuck and/or trying to decide between Bootcamps like I once was - hence how long and descriptive)

    If you're contemplating even going to a Bootcamp, just do it. The cost alone far outweighs the price of college in general. Not only that, but you will absolutely have no problem at succeeding if you're actually determined to make a career shift. 

     

    My background: I was/am working in customer support, and I had no experience prior to Thinkful except dabbling and failing miserably at trying to retain information from Codecademy alone (resources like this are great and you can learn this way but it isn't for everybody). 

     

    School Structure :

    -  Everything is clear as far as when your assignments are due, when your mentor and manager sessions are, and where you need to go for help when you get stuck. This is why I highly recommend a Bootcamp in the first place, YOU HAVE STRUCTURE. It's hard to do it alone, and that's a big reason that people quit in the first place. 

    - I really can't stress this enough, but there shouldn't be any reason that you are stuck for a long period of time with this course. They really put in the work to make sure that you're covered in all aspects to get you the help you need. 

     

    Learning Curriculum: 

    - This is extremely fast-paced, but they did structure it so that everything is broken down into readable and maintainable parts. You will be learning the current tech stacks that employers are looking for, which is pivotal. This topic is by far the most important, and as a word of advice, you should not only be learning the curriculum but researching on your own behalf (this will help you develop skills to learn at a faster pace, and know where to look).

     

    Price and Course: 

    - The course is extremely affordable (Only paying interest until I find a job, and you actually have an option to do the deferred program, depending on the specific program you choose).

    - This is a great program if you have children, a full-time job, and/or a family. 

    - It's 6 months of learning and 6 months of career advisement and help. This really made me feel comfortable. I can confidently say that I don't think I would've lasted long at a 12-week program, you don't really get to a point of retaining anything, and I feel like the imposter syndrome would be at an all-time high even at the end of your course (just my opinion on my own learning style). 

    Mentorship: 

    - I've seen a lot of people talk about there bad experiences with their mentors. For me, I've had nothing but a positive experience with my mentor sessions. The best part for you is that if you don't like your mentor or you have a schedule change in your life, then you have an option to simply request a new one that aligns with you. This is something they didn't have to do, so this is another sign of actually caring about the students that attend and not just the money. 

    Time Management: 

    - For this program they do recommend between 20-25 hours per week. For me, I spend about 40 to 50 hours because I have the time, and I really love doing it. You don't have to do what I do, but you really have to make sure that you are writing specific times to sit down, study, and be distraction-free. 

    - Recite, Practice, Teach = The formula to fully understanding what you're learning. 

    - Software Engineering has the same concept when it comes to Math, its either right or its wrong. You cannot fake this or procrastinate, because it will show, and you're ultimately doing yourself a disservice.

    - Use Google Calendar, Evernote (personal fav), and any other time management tools. This will help you in actually being accountable for your time and daily tasks.

    - I also time my study sessions and have a study log to track my hours week by week. It gives you the chance to see when you need to pick up the pace or when you're exceeding. 

     

    Overall:

    - The curriculum is hard, frustrating, exciting and you're constantly at a learning curve. But I've come to realize that this would be your day to day at an actual software engineering position. 

    - It's affordable, convenient, and transparent.  

    - There are times where you will feel like you're lost, give yourself time, and know that it will click. Software engineering is not an easy career it really takes time and perseverance. 

    - The curriculum can feel dry sometimes, but make sure to take breaks (Pomodoro Technique is what I implement), and look at other resources (Youtube) to see a different perspective. 

    - If you put in the time and ask for help when you need it than I can guarantee that you'll succeed.

    - This is the best Bootcamp that's come to light so far. They don't just hire any person that claims to be a senior dev to mentor you (some boot camps do it), and they have poured tons of time, energy, and money to make the students feel capable and positive that they chose the right decision. 

    I hope that by reading this you can make a better-informed decision, about what path you want to take. Happy learning and wishing you the best! 

    Olivia Davis :)

  • Good Experience
    - 12/13/2019
    Rabia Omer  User Photo
    Rabia Omer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    First, I recommend this program to anyone looking to start his/her career in data science. You just need to be a person who can fulfill his/her commitment, and follow a clear time management plan.

    In addition, I would like to highlight the following:

    • The curriculum is great for the fundamental stage, but after reaching more advanced topics, it started to become not enough, you are required to do a lot of self-learning out of the curriculum using everybody's friend "Google". It could be part of their plan to encourage your self-learning.
    • They have Q&A at different times of the day. You can come up with your questions and they can help you by guiding you to the answer.
    • You need your mentor twice a week. It is more than enough, and the best way to ask more complicated questions which require a longer time of guidance and discussion.
    • The school is not taking it easy, they are very strict about the quality of your work. They really work on pushing you to learn and provide quality work.
    • They have good and experienced mentors who can support you during your learning journey. In addition, they have a slack channel where you can post any questions or inquiries and they are efficient in providing answers if it is during day time

    I just graduated a few days ago, and I am getting ready to start my job search journey. Thinkful has a tuition reimbursement guarantee if you follow their requirements and did not get hired within 6 months of graduation.

  • Yes and No
    - 11/21/2019
    Courtney  User Photo
    Courtney • Technical Writer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I chose Thinkful because I felt it offered the best comprehensive education in web engineering. After studying on my own for about 6 months, I decided to make the educational (and financial) investment to speed up my learning.

    Some facts about me:

    • Went through some tutorials on freecodecamp.org and codecademy before enrolling
    • Full-time employee (40+ hours a week)

    One thing I can say, plan accordingly. The program is extremely rigorous (which may or may not be subjective) but depending on how you're paying, money can be highly motivating. I was offered an opportunity to transfer to the engineering n&w program and happily accepted as my discipline for learning on my own waned as topics became increasingly advanced.

    Speaking of the curriculum, it was wonderful to have a roadmap to learning. That was one thing I found convenient vs piecemealing and combing through Reddit and other people's perspectives on what to learn next. However, I agree with a previous comment about maybe breaking up the information more. It would also have been nice to have a collection of links to outside sources that spoke to the content I just spent over an hour working through. Oftentimes, you'd read through the content and then be tasked with problem-solving or using concepts/techniques you did not cover in reading. I've heard this is normal and the sooner you get used to it, the sooner you'll gain confidence. If you find yourself being someone that needs additional help whether conceptual or specific, take time to figure out how you learn and how to research answers you need. Googling is really hard if you don't understand how to phrase your search. People in the slack channels are extremely helpful and I'd also encourage joining other Slack workspaces for coding. There are a lot of people who are more than willing to help. Mentors are great, as long as again, you already know what you need help with and you get on with your mentor. If you don't feel comfortable working with that designated person, ask for a new one. You're paying for this.

    Having the benefit of a cohort and instructors was very helpful to building structure with my learning. However, it got to a point where pair programming proved to be not in alignment with my learning style. I found more solace in posing questions in the slack channels, googling, or reaching out to my mentor.

    Just like anywhere, instructors can be hit or miss. I don't know what Thinkful pays, but you'll find some instructors tend to be more invested than others. You can tell who really cares and knows about the content vs someone who is fine with teaching but not necessarily assisting.

    Another pain point I experienced was communication. Oftentimes when I'd reach out to the needed resources, it would be days before I'd get a response. This was extremely frustrating as I reached a critical point that required further instruction/next steps. And to be honest, if you pay attention in the slack channels- many people post asking who and how to reach out to people. Unfortunately, I did not get the information I needed until I was advised my loan ran out and I would need to re-enroll. (I have not graduated yet). I take full responsibility for my part in this, as I could have better planned for contributing factors. However I did reach out, repeatedly, and didn't hear back until it was too late. I'd encourage anyone to make sure you plan ahead as best you can to determine if your circumstances qualify for some sort of leniency.

    Even with these qualms, I still feel like I was and am getting a quality education. Despite not being enrolled, you retain access to the course material - check the FAQ page. That's a huge benefit.  I appreciate people, like admissions counselors, keeping in touch me. I know this is a business but, I think people become invested in your success and it's not just about the money. The more people that graduate, the more Thinkful's stats go up as a reputable place to get your education. And above all, you are paying for this education. Speak up and communicate.

     

     

  • Whitney Wallace  User Photo
    Whitney Wallace • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just completed Thinkful's Engineering Immersion 5-month apprenticeship/bootcamp (today!).  It was an incredible experience and exceeded my expectations.  Prior to starting with Thinkful, I had completed another coding bootcamp that was for front-end development.  That bootcamp was about 80% reading material, 10% watching videos, and 10% actually coding.  My comfort level, if someone had asked me to sit down and code -anything-, would have been about 15% confidence that I could do it.

    I found Thinkful and started looking into their Full Stack program (Engineering Immersion).  Immediately what stood out to me was that it was a structured program with live instruction/instructors, TAs, and mentors.  The structure was also based on collaborative programming and embracing a growth mindset.  

    Before being admitted to the program, a three-week prep course was required and a technical evaluation.  I was shocked that the 3 week prep course covered nearly everything that my previous bootcamp had taken months to do.  It was a good refresher for me, but I was also very thankful that I had some JavaScript background since this prep course was so intense.  

    The program itself was highly rigorous and very time intensive.  I graduated on-time and received nearly perfect scores on my graded assessments - but that required me to put in about 60+ hours a week doing my assignments and readings, practicing the parts I didn't understand, and putting extra effort into my capstones.  But it was completely worth it!

    In my opinion, one of the most successful parts of Thinkful's program is their use of paired programming.  Now, at the end of the course, I am graduating with well over 500 hours of paired programming experience.  Not only is that one way I was able to get such a deep understanding of what I was learning, but it also helped hone my collaboration skills in the context of a development environment.  Paired programming helped me learn from and teach many different styles, attitudes, and personalities - which I feel like is invaluable. 

    The technical interviews at the end of each section were also a huge highlight.  It helped me take everything I was learning and synthesize it into words.  It has prepared me for the job search and given me an extra confidence boost that I can answer those questions.  

    The capstone projects were an eye-opening experience.  They really gave me that vote of confidence that I could actually DO what I was learning.  And that was only possible because every single day I was coding with a pair.  Not reading, not watching videos, or watching someone else code.  I was in the thick of it, sharing my screen, working with another human, trying to understand and solve problems.  When it came time to put all of that knowledge together and do the capstone projects, I was ready and excited!

    Thinkful has very few flaws, in my opinion, and has been an incredible experience.  One flaw that I ran into was the use of Mentors.  I have talked to many of my cohort members that have had incredible experiences with their mentors, but unfortnately my experience was very lack luster and a waste of time.  I look forward to Thinkful giving mentors a little more structure so that when students need help, they can get it.  However, the TAs that were available every afternoon were INVALUABLE.  The amount of time they would take to explain a concept - even using props, playing cards, drawings, etc to help illustrate a hard concept - was truly amazing.  So many of my successes were built off of a TA taking the time to work with me when the concept was first presented.  

    All in all, I would recommend Thinkful to anyone who has a strong work ethic, who has that drive to reach their goals, and has the time to commit to the program.  I would recommend doing some free coding/JavaScript lessons so you don't feel like your feet have been swept out from under you when the prep course comes along.  Along with many things in life, the program is what you put into it.  And if you put in 100%, you'll get an incredible education experience with job-ready skills.

     

  • Ben  User Photo
    Ben • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have just graduated from Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program with high accolades for the most part.

    Firstly, I was working full time when I started the program, so the very fact that the program is offered online was a tremendous selling point for me. That being said, It's not the kind of commitment to take lightly. The good people at Thinkful make a point of saying right from the get-go that it will be a serious undertaking to which you must devote many many hours a week if you are to make any progress.  

    Their model is really efficient and highly professional. The bi-weekly mentor sessions are an invaluable resource, and my program manager was tremendously helpful with any issue that would come up. If the mentor you are assigned turns out to not be a good fit, they will assign you a new one right away. It happened to me, and my new mentor was great and helped me through to the end.
    Outside of mentors sessions you have Thinkful's slack channel where you can ask for help on your project from qualified technical coaches. It's a good option for when you're on a pause period to catch up and mentors sessions are not available. 

    The curriculum and its sections are well crafted and they walk you through it at eye level. The non-programming related tools like the LinkedIn and resume guides they provide are also extremely valuable and go a long way even long after graduation. 

    The few things I felt they could improve is the layout of the actual material. Incoporating more visual aids just to break the monotony of walls of text would go a long way for me. The curriculum is really heavy on the reading, and if you have ADD like me it gets tiresome to try and keep your brain sharp during long studying sessions, especially after coming home from your day job. Not everybody would feel the same as me, just one man's opinion.


    Overall, I highly recommend Thinkful's web development program if you can afford to make the commitment.

  • Christina  User Photo
    Christina • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I found Thinkful to be well worth the money. It is such a great investment into your future! My main reason for choosing Thinkkful was that it was online, yet you still had support from mentor meetings and office hours. I never felt overwhelmed, since I knew that I had such a great support system. I did this while working full time, which is exhausting (you definitely have to put life on hold), but well worth it. I was able to master in demand skills that helped me land a software engineering position before graduation. The salary increase alone paid for the program several times. If you stay focused, which your mentor is there to help with, and put in the work, then you will be successful in the program. The course helped me gain confidence in interviews with thier set of mock interviews throughout. I think that was one of my weakest areas at first. By the end, I was a pro at selling myself and showing off all of the skills I have obtained. If you are interested in web developmet, I highly suggest Thinkul! 

  • Alexandra  User Photo
    Alexandra • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My prior skill level:
    None. I have a BA in History and an M.Ed in Special Education. The closest I had come to coding were the kids coding challenges on code.org.

    Why I chose this program:
    I used Course Report to review several boot camps and decided on Thinkful because of its price compared to others and its job guarantee. The deal is that if you don't find a job within 6 months, you'll get a refund. When reading the fine print, I found that you have to meet a lot of requirements in order to qualify for the refund, such as make 8 phone calls and apply 2 places a week (or something like that). I was okay with that though, because I know that's what it takes to find a job in a new field. It's a good incentive to keep pushing. I also found out that if you finish before the 6 months are up, you can get a prorated refund for the time you didn't use. I wanted to take advantage of that, but the program did take me a full 6 months (and then some extra).

    Why you should choose this program:
    The most valuable part of the program is the mentor pairing. I met with my mentor twice a week for 45 minutes each session. That is the accountability I needed to go through a self-paced program. I feel this is much better accountability than assignment due dates like in academia. Any problems I had with an assignment, I knew I would be talking through them with my mentor soon. Other boot camps didn't seem to offer this level of partnership.

    Curriculum:
    I don't know how the curriculum compares to other programs, but I can comment on the pedogogy. One of the most difficult aspects of any curriculum is creating a Transfer of Knowledge. This means being able to apply your newly learned skill to a new situation. Many of the Thinkful assignments require replicating a process with a different dataset - much like how Math is taught. The problem with this is that if there is any difference between what you have learned and what you are asked to do, you could get stuck and become frustrated. At times, I found myself copying and pasting Python code from the lessons in order to complete an assignment without understanding what was happening. While I know this is part of the learning curve, it did affect my final capstone when I couldn't understand why the code I copied and pasted from Stack Overflow wasn't working. I wasn't able to transfer what I learned in the program to new pieces of code. It seems like this is a problem for coding in general, given how much copy-and-paste-code there is in Stack Overflow. It's only if you're lucky that someone explains their code step-by-step, which enables you to understand where in the process you went wrong. This is something you should keep in mind regardless of what boot camp you choose. 

    Job Placement:
    I just started the "Career Services" part of the program this week, so I can't comment on that. I haven't found a job in the field yet.

  • John McGowan  User Photo
    John McGowan • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am about halfway through the course and am liking it pretty well. Strong points have been finding the right mentor and communicating with technical support- getting the right people to help you through difficult concepts makes a giant difference. 

    The curriculum at times jumps abruptly from subject to subject (somewhat expected given the 6-month span), which makes it hard to tie subjects together and learn cumulatively. My advice here is to click EVERY link to additional resources when provided-this info is much more helpful and central to helping you learn course material than it would initially seem. 

    Overall, I enjoyed it, but since the target audience is people with little to no prior experience in programming there could be a bit more clear explanation of the code written in the curriculum for students to reproduce the results. 

  • Sean McManus  User Photo
    Sean McManus • Data Analyst • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am going to endevour to be objective in the review and point out Thinkful's pros and cons. 

     

    Pros:

    - Cheap
    - Self paced
    - Introduced to a broad range of topics (...but at low depth)

    Cons:

    - They do not hold on to their more talented staff for very long as they underpay and under deliver on promises about workloads. I lost my mentor half way through due to Thinkful's inability to provide him with a steady stream of students. Instead they decided to funnel students to individuals who didn't even know the code the curriculum was written in. They do have a handful of awesome mentors, but many are just not up to the job and as I mentioned, the good ones don't always stay around that long.
    - I hate to say it, but the curriculum sucks. Things are not explained in any depth, there's typos, mis-statements. The math is never addressed. Some of the assignments are completely non-sequiter. Many of the lessons end abruptly once you get into the meat and potatoes of the content - often with a glib: 'That's enough for now! We don't want to go too deep here!'.
    - They take on way too many low quality students - their personell resources are strained due to the fact that they use their platform as a cash cow. Many of the technical (non-mentors) assume the students are bumbling idiots, and they're a reason for that. Can make group sessions difficult if you're engaged and knowledgable. 
    - Employement rates are kind of attrocious...about 1 out of 3 people who start end up with a job.
    - Horrible marketting campaigns that encourage prospective students to 'Quit your job!'

    Now despite all of this, in the aim of being objective, I did learn a fair amount from Thinkful (not without quite a lot of extra work being put in outside the course load). I was offered a job before graduated and never ended up finishing the actual course (context: I also hold a PhD). I am inclined to believe I would have learned just as much by paying for a private tutor and teaching myself from other online resources (many of which Thinkful points to when the going gets tough)...overall I would not reccomend Thinkful. It can provide some useful resources at low resolution to motivated science and math graduates but i'm not sure the value for money is really there. 

  • Got a Job
    - 9/28/2019
    Steve  User Photo
    Steve • Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had a little bit of coding experiance before taking the Full Stack Flex program and I enjoyed my time and learned a lot. The carriculum will give you enough to learn the basics and most best practices but if you aren't a self-learner Thinkful might not be the best fit for you (or really any bootcamp). I felt confident that I could teach myself coding but took this program because you don't know what you don't know and it gave me clear direction on what to learn and what was important to know to get a job, and I think for the most part it does that.

    Cons:
    My first mentor was not very knowledgable. That mentor only mentored people through the first month of basics and my understanding is that some people don't make it past that point so I think they try to save money by hireing less experianced mentors when students are early in the program. My mentor sessions basically just consisted of him checking my questions on stackoverflow. I learned nothing from him. I don't know if this was normal or I just happened to get a bad first mentor. It would be helpful for Thinkful to make sure all of their mentors have more experiance, even when a student is in the begining of the program.

    The curriculum I went through was, in my opinion, really deficent in front-end testing. If you want to do any legitimate front-end testing you will have to teach yourself. It also does a terrible job of giving the student a good idea on what good front-end unit testing coverage would look like. I understand that the curriculum can only go so far in 6 months but i think this is the only place in the curriculum that really falls flat and doesn't set the student up for success.

    Sometimes it felt like it took forever to get assignments graded and sometimes I got the feeling that little effort was put into the grading. I'm not sure that any grader ever actaully reviewed my capstone code and I suspect they spent maybe 10 minutes mindlessly going through the rubric. You'll get a few UI suggestions and they look for accesability isues but I didn't learn anything from the graders that made me a better coder. It would be much better if graders gave more feedback on code and checked for codeing best practices and also spent time to tell you what you did well. It's frustarating to spend a month on a project and the grade comes back with basically just, "Good job" as the only comment.

    Pros:

    My second mentor was great and incredibly knowlodgable and I learned a lot from him and I think his experiance alone was worth the price of the program.

    Now that I have a job in software development I can say that the curruculum did prepare me well for a job. But with that said, you do have to be a self-learner. The curriculum will give you the basics and will point you towards what you need to become competent but you will have to challenge yourself with your capstones to learn new things.

    I think I may have just gotten lucky but I got the first phone interview for the job I ended up taking the same day that I officially graduated. Talking to other students a result like that is not typical, but most did get a job in the field within 6 months.

    Thinkful is online but it did have a lot of resources to take advantage of if I got stuck on something. Most hours during the day there is someone online that can answer questions and help you out. I never felt like I was stuck and had no one to talk to.

    I never felt like I was doing busy work or wasting time. I was always learning and felt like Thinkful was getting me ready for the job field as quickly as possible.

    Disclaimer: Thinkful offered me a $15 dollar giftcard to write a review

  • Engineering Flex
    - 9/28/2019
    Jared   User Photo
    Jared • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Engineering Flex course. It wasn't quite what I expected going into it. It is a lot of information and a lot of reading going into it. Also, there will be some outside studying you need to do to really grasp the concept. Overall I found it really helpful and am really thankful for the course as it taught me a lot! The best thing about the course is definitely the mentor sessions or a least the mentor I had. He was very helpful and would go out of his way to make sure you understood the concepts. 

  • Not for Everyone
    - 9/27/2019
    Jaycee B.  User Photo
    Jaycee B. • Director of Financial Aid • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    As much as I loved what Thinkful had to offer, I can now say that Engineering Flex program was not for me. As an older learner, I felt that the curriculum could have been better written which is why I am giving it 1 star. Many details of whatever subject matter you are on feel like they are left out or not fully explained. 

    The best analogy I can give is, imagine if you were enrolled in a Driver's Education program. The program gives you online lessons that talk about getting in the car, putting your key in, starting it, using turn signals, and then it talks about the Automatic transmission and outlines all of the different gears. It then leaves you with a short description on transmissions like 'Automatic transmissions are the most common transmissions in cars today. There is also a manual or stick shift transmission available but we will discuss that later.'

    The lesson continues to talk about when to use your turn signals, when to put your car in Drive instead of Low Gear, and then discusses seatbelts or something else related to driving the car. When it comes time to actually drive the car, the lesson presents you with a vehicle, you get in, start it, then come to realize that it's a stick shift/manual transmission. You then have 30 minutes to google the solution on how to drive a stick shift. That's where a lot of my frustration came from. 

    I've shared my feedback with the Thinkful staff and they were very responsive but unfortunately, the curriculum can't be changed overnight. That said, that isn't to say that this isn't a good program. For applicants with some prior coding knowledge beyond simple HTML and CSS, this is a great program. For people that are new to coding, I strongly recommend getting a foundation from other coding resources before enrolling because you will always feel behind the curve especially if you are trying to complete this program within the six months on the Flex Program. 

    I have since withdrawn from the program to pursue an in-class program that caters more to my learning style. My last issue is with the refund policy. The policy states in the student catalog that a student may be eligible for a refund after the trial period but when I pressed the finance department on this, they said that I wasn't eligible for a partial refund because they don't calculate refunds on a per day basis. That should be clearly stated in the school catalog. 

    In closing, I'd like to thank my Program Manager and my Mentor for being patient with me and for their encouragement which is why I gave an overall rating of 3 stars - they were the ones that made this learning experience bareable. 

  • Tony bento  User Photo
    Tony bento • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The program is amazing great staff and great teachers. A mentor always there if you need help and plenty of places to go to for help. But if you are not ready for the time dedication or you don't think you will be motivated then don't waste your time. they will give 100% if you give them 100%.

  • One Bad Apple
    - 9/7/2019
    Kelli  User Photo
    Kelli • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This review is highly detailed, as it needs to be to fully outline my experience of being removed from Thinkful’s Engineering Immersion Prep Course.

    After years of apprehension towards pursuing Programming, and approximately 1 year of considering Thinkful, Inc. as my final choice for a school, in August of 2019, I applied to attend Thinkful’s Engineering Immersion Program and was accepted.  I had a great interaction with one of Thinkful’s admission advisors as he explained how admission, prep course and the EI course would work and we discussed my financing options.

    I live in a major city so the living stipend was an option for me; I applied for the living stipend and the ISA (Income Share Agreement) issued via Lief Technologies, Inc.
    I was approved for both the living stipend and the ISA the day after I applied and signed the contract as well.  Things were going off without a hitch and I was very excited to get started.

    I met with my Program Manager who gave me plenty of resources of how to stay connected while in the prep course.  She made sure that I knew of the various avenues of community help and even local communities in my area; all things that allow a person to feel & remain grounded while studying in what may feel like an isolated environment, as distance/online learning can feel like at times.  I credit 2 of her correspondences with me on tech evaluation preparation and progress in the program as one of the primary reasons I remained motivated throughout the latter part of my stay in the prep course.

    During Thinkful’s 4-week prep course, you are assigned to a mentor who you meet with twice a week to help iron out any kinks in your understanding the material that you would study independently for those 4 weeks.  My mentor was [redacted by moderators]
    The dynamic with this mentor who was assigned to me wasn’t as harmonious as it could have been and we definitely had different teaching/learning styles and a few too many awkward silences where he didn’t control the flow of the session, but given the return on investment of a career change and being approved for the living stipend and ISA, it was a simple decision to just take these biweekly sessions on the chin, use the opportunity to learn all that I could and push through the material, as not all partnerships will be ideal. Not to mention, this was only the prep course and not someone who I would be assigned to for the duration of the course.

    During my second to last session with [redacted by moderators], we’d gone over a few principles and he gave me some code to practice and told me to practice writing the code over and over in order to drill in the syntax; no problem there.  In all of our sessions, I made sure to fork what we’d worked on, or copy and paste the code to practice it in a separate editor, but NEVER would I change or add to the code he wrote during a mentor session.
    The next day when I was practicing the syntax he wrote, none of the code would run. 
    Additionally, this rang true for the rest of the code he asked me to practice from the repl.it file we were working on that previous session.  NONE of the code worked!
    So during our next and last session, after our initial greetings, I asked him “Is the code we were working on the other day supposed to run?  I was practicing writing it and none of it runs in the editor and I’d like to get it cleaned up so I’m practicing the correct syntax.”
    To which, he passive-aggressively replied, “Can you give me a link so I know what you’re talking about?”
    And instead of cleaning up the code I brought to his attention, he immediately began to shift gears and began reviewing and teaching me the same code block that was incorrect, and quizzing me on the code.  I reiterated that my primary concern was to make sure this code is written correctly so I wouldn’t be committing incorrect syntax to memory.  Also, I just wanted to be able to cover new material in this session after the code was corrected.
    He insisted on reviewing, after which he removed the incorrect pieces of code at the end.
    This happened over 2 blocks of code I brought to his attention.

    He then wrote an exercise he wanted me to write code for and I noticed it was the same exercise with precisely the same instructions from our previous session; code that he wrote and corrected in the end.
    So I reviewed that exercise and wrote what I saw in the earlier exercise.  He asked me why I wrote this “anti-code” and I showed him the code that had his instructions word-for-word attached to the exercise and it mirrored the exact exercise we were currently working on and I told him I was just reviewing the code he wrote in the same exercise in our previous session.
    [Mentor name redacted by moderators] then became very defensive and said he didn’t write it and accused me having changed code after-session.
    All of this immediately after cleaning up code he'd written and had instructed me to practice.

    I wasn’t very pleased with how this session went, so I emailed my Program Manager because I remember she mentioned I could contact her if I needed to. I asked if we could arrange a time for consultation before our next scheduled meeting.
    My goal in that meeting would have been ensuring that, if possible, I could be assigned another mentor for the duration of my stay in prep course and any additional study materials for the upcoming technical evaluation I was on track to take.
    I never received a response to that email.


    Later that afternoon however, I received an email from my program manager stating that my mentor reported that I had violated the code of conduct and displayed disrespectful behavior during the session and that I would be withdrawn from the prep course effective that day.
    I was never questioned about the session by Thinkful.  
    My reaching out to the program manager wasn’t taken into consideration, no investigation whatsoever. 
    It was just a staff employee’s word over a student’s.
    I replied to the program manager that I did in fact have questions and I hoped that the sessions were recorded at the very least.
    I received no response.

    My advise to other student hopefuls is if you are considering Thinkful or PARTICULARLY if you end up with this mentor is to Cover. Your. Back.
    Keep a record of everything and record your sessions if you don’t think they are going the way they should. Don't shy away from requesting a different mentor if you feel it may be necessary.
    Do not allow one bad apple to ruin your progress, or in this case, cost you the opportunity to be awarded a stipend.
    Onward and Upward!

    Response From: Theresa of Thinkful
    Title: Engagement Formats
    Tuesday, Sep 17 2019
    Kelli,

    Thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention and taking time to leave such a thorough review. It’s our goal to find expert mentors who will tailor a curriculum that best fits YOUR study style from day one, to help you achieve your goals.

    We will definitely investigate this situation further. If there is anything else you'd like to share about what happened in your prep course experience, please email me directly at theresa@thinkful.com.
  • Kara  User Photo
    Kara • Business Analyst • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This course is awful. While they pair you with a mentor and that's a plus, the curriculum is TERRIBLE. There are no videos, there are paragraphs of vague explanations on complex topics (often times riddled with errors), and then a subset of code that is NOT EXPLAINED and you have no idea what each piece is doing. I completed the course successfully and definitely don't feel like I could be a successful data scientist. Don't waste your money--spend a little extra time and money on a course where you will actually learn something. 

    Response From: Jason Manke of Thinkful
    Title: Director of Communications
    Friday, Sep 27 2019
    Hi Kara

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and I’m sorry to hear you were unhappy with the presentation of the course materials. Your feedback is invaluable as we determine how best to present courses in the future. 

    I personally spoke with your program manager and was excited to hear you secured a position in the data science field. While I understand the journey wasn’t what you expected, I trust you’re enjoying the results of your hard work – a new career path. 

    Please contact reviews@thinkful.com if you have any additional questions or concerns. 
  • Good Overall
    - 8/12/2019
    Dylan  User Photo
    Dylan • Full Stack Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enrolled in the Full Stack Flex boot camp because I wanted school like structure because I procrastinate without deadlines.  Curriculum is pretty good, but you'll still have to learn a lot by yourself that isn't covered.  I had 2 mentors.  The first was not great.  He missed meetings, didn't go out of his way to teach me anything unless I explicitly asked.  Second one was really good and I wouldn't have graduated on time without him.  They do guarentee a job but only if you complete it the course in 6 months or less.  I got employed about 3 months after graduating and I'm really happy with my job.

  • Lisa A.  User Photo
    Lisa A. • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I was looking for a flexible/part-time data analytics course available online and, after reading up about the program (here on CR!) & then discussing it with someone in admissions at Thinkful, I decided it was worth it. What attracted me to the program was the careers assistance portion as well as the mentoring and the number of Capstone projects (3) that you have to complete. 
     
    It is a text-based learning format where you follow along and then complete checkpoints (ie: mini-projects in Excel, Tableau, Postgresql & Python) and submit them for review. They use pgAdmin4 for the SQL portion and Google Colab for the Python modules & you will need to set up a Tableau Public profile.
     
    It is a challenging program at times (I do have prior experience w/SQL & Python), but, it is very thorough. What's great is, if you ever get stuck on an assignment, there is always someone in technical support available via the Slack channel or, a workshop Q&A. (I can't say enough positive things about the technical support staff). Another aspect that I really appreciated was my mentor who was incredibly helpful and supportive whenever I had questions about a problem I was working on, or, if I had questions about whatever "real life" data analysts encounter. (You meet w/a mentor 2x/week). 
     
    One thing that I think set them apart from other programs that I researched (besides cost,) was the career modules including resume & LinkedIn profile guidance and mock interview prep. There are two rounds of each type of interview--behavioral, case and culture fit. Let's face it--everyone gets nervous in an interview, but, like anything else, if you practice, it helps. The feedback that I received from the mentors for the mock interviews was insightful and very helpful. They want you to succeed and they do push you to do your best. 
     
    Just remember, you have to put in the work. While the DA Flex program is a p/t program, this is not a program that you can complete on the weekends alone, you must devote a solid block of time every day. When learning anything new, especially coding--you have to be repetitive and keep at it so the concepts stick in your brain. I'm glad I enrolled and look forward to the next steps--to see where my new skills take me. 
     

Thinkful Outcomes


N/A
On-Time Graduation Rate
78%
In-Field Employed
$60,450
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 9 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
77.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
22.2%

Could not contact
0.0%

Salary Breakdown:

100% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Read the full Thinkful CIRR report here

Thanks!