thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Online, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Salt Lake City, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.62 ( 532 reviews )

Thinkful is an online school that equips students for new careers by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, and design. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech (and even offer a tuition refund guarantee). While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s flagship programs are the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, and Data Analytics Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and daily mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can set their schedules, learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.62

all (532) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (79) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Python, Data Visualization, SQL, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,990
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $12,250
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,990
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date
    November 18, 2019
    Cost
    $18,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced degree
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    November 18, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 23, 2019
    January 2, 2020 - OnlineApply by December 11, 2019
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    AngularJS, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $9,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/pricing/#financing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 21, 2019
    Cost
    $16,000
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options:https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/web-development/full-time/#payment-options
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    October 21, 2019 - OnlineApply by September 2, 2019
    December 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - OnlineApply by November 18, 2019
  • Engineering Nights & Weekends

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time25 Hours/week30 Weeks
    Start Date
    December 2, 2019
    Cost
    $12,900
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    An online program that will turn you into a full-stack web developer after hours. Work up from the fundamentals, write strong code, and build the perfect job-ready portfolio.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/web-development/nights-weekends/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    December 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - OnlineApply by November 18, 2019
  • Product Design Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $8,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/product-design/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 10/10/2018
    Rebecca Posner  User Photo
    Rebecca Posner • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm currently enrolled in Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program, and I'm really enjoying it so far!  I recently graduated from college with a minor in computer science, and I wanted to get more experience with web development specifically to increase my chances of getting a job.  I feel like I've learned lots of good coding skills since I've started, and my mentor (who is amazing!) has also given me a lot of helpful advice on interviewing and networking.  The local program manager (I'm based in San Diego) has been very friendly and she organizes events periodically so people in the program can meet in person.  

    So far the curriculum hasn't been too overwhelming or difficult for me- however, I had a decent amount of previous coding experience before I started, so your experience may be different.  The lessons are well organized, and they also provide links to many additional resources if you want more background info on a specific topic.

    Overall, my favorite parts so far are probably the mentorship aspect and the fact that the curriculum is fairly project-based, so you end up with a good portfolio of projects that showcase the skills you've learned.  

  • Ben  User Photo
    Ben • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have just graduated from Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program with high accolades for the most part.

    Firstly, I was working full time when I started the program, so the very fact that the program is offered online was a tremendous selling point for me. That being said, It's not the kind of commitment to take lightly. The good people at Thinkful make a point of saying right from the get-go that it will be a serious undertaking to which you must devote many many hours a week if you are to make any progress.  

    Their model is really efficient and highly professional. The bi-weekly mentor sessions are an invaluable resource, and my program manager was tremendously helpful with any issue that would come up. If the mentor you are assigned turns out to not be a good fit, they will assign you a new one right away. It happened to me, and my new mentor was great and helped me through to the end.
    Outside of mentors sessions you have Thinkful's slack channel where you can ask for help on your project from qualified technical coaches. It's a good option for when you're on a pause period to catch up and mentors sessions are not available. 

    The curriculum and its sections are well crafted and they walk you through it at eye level. The non-programming related tools like the LinkedIn and resume guides they provide are also extremely valuable and go a long way even long after graduation. 

    The few things I felt they could improve is the layout of the actual material. Incoporating more visual aids just to break the monotony of walls of text would go a long way for me. The curriculum is really heavy on the reading, and if you have ADD like me it gets tiresome to try and keep your brain sharp during long studying sessions, especially after coming home from your day job. Not everybody would feel the same as me, just one man's opinion.


    Overall, I highly recommend Thinkful's web development program if you can afford to make the commitment.

  • Christina  User Photo
    Christina • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I found Thinkful to be well worth the money. It is such a great investment into your future! My main reason for choosing Thinkkful was that it was online, yet you still had support from mentor meetings and office hours. I never felt overwhelmed, since I knew that I had such a great support system. I did this while working full time, which is exhausting (you definitely have to put life on hold), but well worth it. I was able to master in demand skills that helped me land a software engineering position before graduation. The salary increase alone paid for the program several times. If you stay focused, which your mentor is there to help with, and put in the work, then you will be successful in the program. The course helped me gain confidence in interviews with thier set of mock interviews throughout. I think that was one of my weakest areas at first. By the end, I was a pro at selling myself and showing off all of the skills I have obtained. If you are interested in web developmet, I highly suggest Thinkul! 

  • Alexandra  User Photo
    Alexandra • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My prior skill level:
    None. I have a BA in History and an M.Ed in Special Education. The closest I had come to coding were the kids coding challenges on code.org.

    Why I chose this program:
    I used Course Report to review several boot camps and decided on Thinkful because of its price compared to others and its job guarantee. The deal is that if you don't find a job within 6 months, you'll get a refund. When reading the fine print, I found that you have to meet a lot of requirements in order to qualify for the refund, such as make 8 phone calls and apply 2 places a week (or something like that). I was okay with that though, because I know that's what it takes to find a job in a new field. It's a good incentive to keep pushing. I also found out that if you finish before the 6 months are up, you can get a prorated refund for the time you didn't use. I wanted to take advantage of that, but the program did take me a full 6 months (and then some extra).

    Why you should choose this program:
    The most valuable part of the program is the mentor pairing. I met with my mentor twice a week for 45 minutes each session. That is the accountability I needed to go through a self-paced program. I feel this is much better accountability than assignment due dates like in academia. Any problems I had with an assignment, I knew I would be talking through them with my mentor soon. Other boot camps didn't seem to offer this level of partnership.

    Curriculum:
    I don't know how the curriculum compares to other programs, but I can comment on the pedogogy. One of the most difficult aspects of any curriculum is creating a Transfer of Knowledge. This means being able to apply your newly learned skill to a new situation. Many of the Thinkful assignments require replicating a process with a different dataset - much like how Math is taught. The problem with this is that if there is any difference between what you have learned and what you are asked to do, you could get stuck and become frustrated. At times, I found myself copying and pasting Python code from the lessons in order to complete an assignment without understanding what was happening. While I know this is part of the learning curve, it did affect my final capstone when I couldn't understand why the code I copied and pasted from Stack Overflow wasn't working. I wasn't able to transfer what I learned in the program to new pieces of code. It seems like this is a problem for coding in general, given how much copy-and-paste-code there is in Stack Overflow. It's only if you're lucky that someone explains their code step-by-step, which enables you to understand where in the process you went wrong. This is something you should keep in mind regardless of what boot camp you choose. 

    Job Placement:
    I just started the "Career Services" part of the program this week, so I can't comment on that. I haven't found a job in the field yet.

  • John McGowan  User Photo
    John McGowan • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am about halfway through the course and am liking it pretty well. Strong points have been finding the right mentor and communicating with technical support- getting the right people to help you through difficult concepts makes a giant difference. 

    The curriculum at times jumps abruptly from subject to subject (somewhat expected given the 6-month span), which makes it hard to tie subjects together and learn cumulatively. My advice here is to click EVERY link to additional resources when provided-this info is much more helpful and central to helping you learn course material than it would initially seem. 

    Overall, I enjoyed it, but since the target audience is people with little to no prior experience in programming there could be a bit more clear explanation of the code written in the curriculum for students to reproduce the results. 

  • Sean McManus  User Photo
    Sean McManus • Data Analyst • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am going to endevour to be objective in the review and point out Thinkful's pros and cons. 

     

    Pros:

    - Cheap
    - Self paced
    - Introduced to a broad range of topics (...but at low depth)

    Cons:

    - They do not hold on to their more talented staff for very long as they underpay and under deliver on promises about workloads. I lost my mentor half way through due to Thinkful's inability to provide him with a steady stream of students. Instead they decided to funnel students to individuals who didn't even know the code the curriculum was written in. They do have a handful of awesome mentors, but many are just not up to the job and as I mentioned, the good ones don't always stay around that long.
    - I hate to say it, but the curriculum sucks. Things are not explained in any depth, there's typos, mis-statements. The math is never addressed. Some of the assignments are completely non-sequiter. Many of the lessons end abruptly once you get into the meat and potatoes of the content - often with a glib: 'That's enough for now! We don't want to go too deep here!'.
    - They take on way too many low quality students - their personell resources are strained due to the fact that they use their platform as a cash cow. Many of the technical (non-mentors) assume the students are bumbling idiots, and they're a reason for that. Can make group sessions difficult if you're engaged and knowledgable. 
    - Employement rates are kind of attrocious...about 1 out of 3 people who start end up with a job.
    - Horrible marketting campaigns that encourage prospective students to 'Quit your job!'

    Now despite all of this, in the aim of being objective, I did learn a fair amount from Thinkful (not without quite a lot of extra work being put in outside the course load). I was offered a job before graduated and never ended up finishing the actual course (context: I also hold a PhD). I am inclined to believe I would have learned just as much by paying for a private tutor and teaching myself from other online resources (many of which Thinkful points to when the going gets tough)...overall I would not reccomend Thinkful. It can provide some useful resources at low resolution to motivated science and math graduates but i'm not sure the value for money is really there. 

  • Got a Job
    - 9/28/2019
    Steve  User Photo
    Steve • Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had a little bit of coding experiance before taking the Full Stack Flex program and I enjoyed my time and learned a lot. The carriculum will give you enough to learn the basics and most best practices but if you aren't a self-learner Thinkful might not be the best fit for you (or really any bootcamp). I felt confident that I could teach myself coding but took this program because you don't know what you don't know and it gave me clear direction on what to learn and what was important to know to get a job, and I think for the most part it does that.

    Cons:
    My first mentor was not very knowledgable. That mentor only mentored people through the first month of basics and my understanding is that some people don't make it past that point so I think they try to save money by hireing less experianced mentors when students are early in the program. My mentor sessions basically just consisted of him checking my questions on stackoverflow. I learned nothing from him. I don't know if this was normal or I just happened to get a bad first mentor. It would be helpful for Thinkful to make sure all of their mentors have more experiance, even when a student is in the begining of the program.

    The curriculum I went through was, in my opinion, really deficent in front-end testing. If you want to do any legitimate front-end testing you will have to teach yourself. It also does a terrible job of giving the student a good idea on what good front-end unit testing coverage would look like. I understand that the curriculum can only go so far in 6 months but i think this is the only place in the curriculum that really falls flat and doesn't set the student up for success.

    Sometimes it felt like it took forever to get assignments graded and sometimes I got the feeling that little effort was put into the grading. I'm not sure that any grader ever actaully reviewed my capstone code and I suspect they spent maybe 10 minutes mindlessly going through the rubric. You'll get a few UI suggestions and they look for accesability isues but I didn't learn anything from the graders that made me a better coder. It would be much better if graders gave more feedback on code and checked for codeing best practices and also spent time to tell you what you did well. It's frustarating to spend a month on a project and the grade comes back with basically just, "Good job" as the only comment.

    Pros:

    My second mentor was great and incredibly knowlodgable and I learned a lot from him and I think his experiance alone was worth the price of the program.

    Now that I have a job in software development I can say that the curruculum did prepare me well for a job. But with that said, you do have to be a self-learner. The curriculum will give you the basics and will point you towards what you need to become competent but you will have to challenge yourself with your capstones to learn new things.

    I think I may have just gotten lucky but I got the first phone interview for the job I ended up taking the same day that I officially graduated. Talking to other students a result like that is not typical, but most did get a job in the field within 6 months.

    Thinkful is online but it did have a lot of resources to take advantage of if I got stuck on something. Most hours during the day there is someone online that can answer questions and help you out. I never felt like I was stuck and had no one to talk to.

    I never felt like I was doing busy work or wasting time. I was always learning and felt like Thinkful was getting me ready for the job field as quickly as possible.

    Disclaimer: Thinkful offered me a $15 dollar giftcard to write a review

  • Engineering Flex
    - 9/28/2019
    Jared   User Photo
    Jared • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Engineering Flex course. It wasn't quite what I expected going into it. It is a lot of information and a lot of reading going into it. Also, there will be some outside studying you need to do to really grasp the concept. Overall I found it really helpful and am really thankful for the course as it taught me a lot! The best thing about the course is definitely the mentor sessions or a least the mentor I had. He was very helpful and would go out of his way to make sure you understood the concepts. 

  • I'm doing it!
    - 9/27/2019
    Steven  User Photo
    Steven • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am currently halfway through the Engineering Immersion program offered by Thinkful and I am absolutely blown away by how much I have learned and retained in the passed 8 weeks. I have learned several different libraries and languages in order to further my goal as a developer. I am getting ready to start learning Computer Science algorithms and building my capstone projects! Everyone around me including the teachers, my mentor, the TA's and other students are extremely helpful and collabrative. That being said, do not take the warnings lightly. I spend on average 50-60 hours every week for this class and treat it as a full time job plus some. However, if you can handle the work load, you will walk away feeling supported, valued, and happier! If you're on the fence give it a try! They offer a free trial period! 

  • Not for Everyone
    - 9/27/2019
    Jaycee B.  User Photo
    Jaycee B. • Director of Financial Aid • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    As much as I loved what Thinkful had to offer, I can now say that Engineering Flex program was not for me. As an older learner, I felt that the curriculum could have been better written which is why I am giving it 1 star. Many details of whatever subject matter you are on feel like they are left out or not fully explained. 

    The best analogy I can give is, imagine if you were enrolled in a Driver's Education program. The program gives you online lessons that talk about getting in the car, putting your key in, starting it, using turn signals, and then it talks about the Automatic transmission and outlines all of the different gears. It then leaves you with a short description on transmissions like 'Automatic transmissions are the most common transmissions in cars today. There is also a manual or stick shift transmission available but we will discuss that later.'

    The lesson continues to talk about when to use your turn signals, when to put your car in Drive instead of Low Gear, and then discusses seatbelts or something else related to driving the car. When it comes time to actually drive the car, the lesson presents you with a vehicle, you get in, start it, then come to realize that it's a stick shift/manual transmission. You then have 30 minutes to google the solution on how to drive a stick shift. That's where a lot of my frustration came from. 

    I've shared my feedback with the Thinkful staff and they were very responsive but unfortunately, the curriculum can't be changed overnight. That said, that isn't to say that this isn't a good program. For applicants with some prior coding knowledge beyond simple HTML and CSS, this is a great program. For people that are new to coding, I strongly recommend getting a foundation from other coding resources before enrolling because you will always feel behind the curve especially if you are trying to complete this program within the six months on the Flex Program. 

    I have since withdrawn from the program to pursue an in-class program that caters more to my learning style. My last issue is with the refund policy. The policy states in the student catalog that a student may be eligible for a refund after the trial period but when I pressed the finance department on this, they said that I wasn't eligible for a partial refund because they don't calculate refunds on a per day basis. That should be clearly stated in the school catalog. 

    In closing, I'd like to thank my Program Manager and my Mentor for being patient with me and for their encouragement which is why I gave an overall rating of 3 stars - they were the ones that made this learning experience bareable. 

  • Tony bento  User Photo
    Tony bento • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The program is amazing great staff and great teachers. A mentor always there if you need help and plenty of places to go to for help. But if you are not ready for the time dedication or you don't think you will be motivated then don't waste your time. they will give 100% if you give them 100%.

  • One Bad Apple
    - 9/7/2019
    Kelli  User Photo
    Kelli • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This review is highly detailed, as it needs to be to fully outline my experience of being removed from Thinkful’s Engineering Immersion Prep Course.

    After years of apprehension towards pursuing Programming, and approximately 1 year of considering Thinkful, Inc. as my final choice for a school, in August of 2019, I applied to attend Thinkful’s Engineering Immersion Program and was accepted.  I had a great interaction with one of Thinkful’s admission advisors as he explained how admission, prep course and the EI course would work and we discussed my financing options.

    I live in a major city so the living stipend was an option for me; I applied for the living stipend and the ISA (Income Share Agreement) issued via Lief Technologies, Inc.
    I was approved for both the living stipend and the ISA the day after I applied and signed the contract as well.  Things were going off without a hitch and I was very excited to get started.

    I met with my Program Manager who gave me plenty of resources of how to stay connected while in the prep course.  She made sure that I knew of the various avenues of community help and even local communities in my area; all things that allow a person to feel & remain grounded while studying in what may feel like an isolated environment, as distance/online learning can feel like at times.  I credit 2 of her correspondences with me on tech evaluation preparation and progress in the program as one of the primary reasons I remained motivated throughout the latter part of my stay in the prep course.

    During Thinkful’s 4-week prep course, you are assigned to a mentor who you meet with twice a week to help iron out any kinks in your understanding the material that you would study independently for those 4 weeks.  My mentor was [redacted by moderators]
    The dynamic with this mentor who was assigned to me wasn’t as harmonious as it could have been and we definitely had different teaching/learning styles and a few too many awkward silences where he didn’t control the flow of the session, but given the return on investment of a career change and being approved for the living stipend and ISA, it was a simple decision to just take these biweekly sessions on the chin, use the opportunity to learn all that I could and push through the material, as not all partnerships will be ideal. Not to mention, this was only the prep course and not someone who I would be assigned to for the duration of the course.

    During my second to last session with [redacted by moderators], we’d gone over a few principles and he gave me some code to practice and told me to practice writing the code over and over in order to drill in the syntax; no problem there.  In all of our sessions, I made sure to fork what we’d worked on, or copy and paste the code to practice it in a separate editor, but NEVER would I change or add to the code he wrote during a mentor session.
    The next day when I was practicing the syntax he wrote, none of the code would run. 
    Additionally, this rang true for the rest of the code he asked me to practice from the repl.it file we were working on that previous session.  NONE of the code worked!
    So during our next and last session, after our initial greetings, I asked him “Is the code we were working on the other day supposed to run?  I was practicing writing it and none of it runs in the editor and I’d like to get it cleaned up so I’m practicing the correct syntax.”
    To which, he passive-aggressively replied, “Can you give me a link so I know what you’re talking about?”
    And instead of cleaning up the code I brought to his attention, he immediately began to shift gears and began reviewing and teaching me the same code block that was incorrect, and quizzing me on the code.  I reiterated that my primary concern was to make sure this code is written correctly so I wouldn’t be committing incorrect syntax to memory.  Also, I just wanted to be able to cover new material in this session after the code was corrected.
    He insisted on reviewing, after which he removed the incorrect pieces of code at the end.
    This happened over 2 blocks of code I brought to his attention.

    He then wrote an exercise he wanted me to write code for and I noticed it was the same exercise with precisely the same instructions from our previous session; code that he wrote and corrected in the end.
    So I reviewed that exercise and wrote what I saw in the earlier exercise.  He asked me why I wrote this “anti-code” and I showed him the code that had his instructions word-for-word attached to the exercise and it mirrored the exact exercise we were currently working on and I told him I was just reviewing the code he wrote in the same exercise in our previous session.
    [Mentor name redacted by moderators] then became very defensive and said he didn’t write it and accused me having changed code after-session.
    All of this immediately after cleaning up code he'd written and had instructed me to practice.

    I wasn’t very pleased with how this session went, so I emailed my Program Manager because I remember she mentioned I could contact her if I needed to. I asked if we could arrange a time for consultation before our next scheduled meeting.
    My goal in that meeting would have been ensuring that, if possible, I could be assigned another mentor for the duration of my stay in prep course and any additional study materials for the upcoming technical evaluation I was on track to take.
    I never received a response to that email.


    Later that afternoon however, I received an email from my program manager stating that my mentor reported that I had violated the code of conduct and displayed disrespectful behavior during the session and that I would be withdrawn from the prep course effective that day.
    I was never questioned about the session by Thinkful.  
    My reaching out to the program manager wasn’t taken into consideration, no investigation whatsoever. 
    It was just a staff employee’s word over a student’s.
    I replied to the program manager that I did in fact have questions and I hoped that the sessions were recorded at the very least.
    I received no response.

    My advise to other student hopefuls is if you are considering Thinkful or PARTICULARLY if you end up with this mentor is to Cover. Your. Back.
    Keep a record of everything and record your sessions if you don’t think they are going the way they should. Don't shy away from requesting a different mentor if you feel it may be necessary.
    Do not allow one bad apple to ruin your progress, or in this case, cost you the opportunity to be awarded a stipend.
    Onward and Upward!

    Response From: Theresa of Thinkful
    Title: Engagement Formats
    Tuesday, Sep 17 2019
    Kelli,

    Thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention and taking time to leave such a thorough review. It’s our goal to find expert mentors who will tailor a curriculum that best fits YOUR study style from day one, to help you achieve your goals.

    We will definitely investigate this situation further. If there is anything else you'd like to share about what happened in your prep course experience, please email me directly at theresa@thinkful.com.
  • Kara  User Photo
    Kara • Business Analyst • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This course is awful. While they pair you with a mentor and that's a plus, the curriculum is TERRIBLE. There are no videos, there are paragraphs of vague explanations on complex topics (often times riddled with errors), and then a subset of code that is NOT EXPLAINED and you have no idea what each piece is doing. I completed the course successfully and definitely don't feel like I could be a successful data scientist. Don't waste your money--spend a little extra time and money on a course where you will actually learn something. 

    Response From: Jason Manke of Thinkful
    Title: Director of Communications
    Friday, Sep 27 2019
    Hi Kara

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and I’m sorry to hear you were unhappy with the presentation of the course materials. Your feedback is invaluable as we determine how best to present courses in the future. 

    I personally spoke with your program manager and was excited to hear you secured a position in the data science field. While I understand the journey wasn’t what you expected, I trust you’re enjoying the results of your hard work – a new career path. 

    Please contact reviews@thinkful.com if you have any additional questions or concerns. 
  • Good Overall
    - 8/12/2019
    Dylan  User Photo
    Dylan • Full Stack Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enrolled in the Full Stack Flex boot camp because I wanted school like structure because I procrastinate without deadlines.  Curriculum is pretty good, but you'll still have to learn a lot by yourself that isn't covered.  I had 2 mentors.  The first was not great.  He missed meetings, didn't go out of his way to teach me anything unless I explicitly asked.  Second one was really good and I wouldn't have graduated on time without him.  They do guarentee a job but only if you complete it the course in 6 months or less.  I got employed about 3 months after graduating and I'm really happy with my job.

  • Lisa A.  User Photo
    Lisa A. • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I was looking for a flexible/part-time data analytics course available online and, after reading up about the program (here on CR!) & then discussing it with someone in admissions at Thinkful, I decided it was worth it. What attracted me to the program was the careers assistance portion as well as the mentoring and the number of Capstone projects (3) that you have to complete. 
     
    It is a text-based learning format where you follow along and then complete checkpoints (ie: mini-projects in Excel, Tableau, Postgresql & Python) and submit them for review. They use pgAdmin4 for the SQL portion and Google Colab for the Python modules & you will need to set up a Tableau Public profile.
     
    It is a challenging program at times (I do have prior experience w/SQL & Python), but, it is very thorough. What's great is, if you ever get stuck on an assignment, there is always someone in technical support available via the Slack channel or, a workshop Q&A. (I can't say enough positive things about the technical support staff). Another aspect that I really appreciated was my mentor who was incredibly helpful and supportive whenever I had questions about a problem I was working on, or, if I had questions about whatever "real life" data analysts encounter. (You meet w/a mentor 2x/week). 
     
    One thing that I think set them apart from other programs that I researched (besides cost,) was the career modules including resume & LinkedIn profile guidance and mock interview prep. There are two rounds of each type of interview--behavioral, case and culture fit. Let's face it--everyone gets nervous in an interview, but, like anything else, if you practice, it helps. The feedback that I received from the mentors for the mock interviews was insightful and very helpful. They want you to succeed and they do push you to do your best. 
     
    Just remember, you have to put in the work. While the DA Flex program is a p/t program, this is not a program that you can complete on the weekends alone, you must devote a solid block of time every day. When learning anything new, especially coding--you have to be repetitive and keep at it so the concepts stick in your brain. I'm glad I enrolled and look forward to the next steps--to see where my new skills take me. 
     
  • Kelly Harrington  User Photo
    Kelly Harrington • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Starting the Data Science course to this program, I had no computer science background. I had earned a master's in biology 5 years prior and really enjoyed processing the data (Excel, sigma plot and sigma stat). After comparing a few programs, I decided Thinkful was the way to go since they are so sure of the program that they offered a money back guarantee if you don't get a job in the field within six months. I just graduated the program, so I will start my career search now. What I can say about the program is that I learned a TON. Some of it I may never use, but I am glad to have the information. Other info such as the supervised learning techniques I see as indispensible. I started with a mentor who eventually left the company and I therefore ended up with a really helpful mentor half-way through the program. He always gave great advice and was super encouraging. I did not find Slack, the online collaborative chat to be very helpful, as I would often just get responses that sent me to stack overflow links that I had already seen and did not help my situation. I would also say that the timing estimates were not all that accurate for me. Some tasks that were only supposed to take a few days took me weeks. I work 40-50 hours a week and was anticipating dedicating 20 hours to Thinkful but it ended up being closer to 30-35. I used all my pause days as I juggled work, a family emergency, and an unexpected trip so it took me about 8 months to do this six month course. But therein also lies the amazing thing about this program: I was able to balance my life with this program and I came out of it with so much more knowledge than I had 8 months ago. It's cheaper than some of the other programs I looked at as well and for someone who, again, was starting with no foundation, it was necessary to endure a longer program as I don't think I would have understood anything going into a 'Learn Python in a week' course. I also ended up with two different program managers in the course and they were both amazing. Super nice and encouraging and always very quick with their responses and help. I think the curriculum could use some tweaking as some assignments are a bit ambiguous, or show you something simple and then ask you to do something far more complex. Overall though, I learned a lot and was glad to work on real world problems and not just theory during this course.

  • Matt Francsis  User Photo
    Matt Francsis • Data Scientist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enjoyed and strongly recommend Thinkful.  

    The program is fundamentally a broad, though shallow, overview of the core data science toolkit. It’s primarily designed for people without a coding background. The curriculum features a structured, top-down, conceptual overview of topics and algorithms followed by hands on exercises, challenges, and capstone projects.  Thinkful does not provide a holistic, nor deep-dive, into the math behind the algorithms but the lessons often have links to additional resources for the students to consider in due course. Given that students come from diverse backgrounds, I think this is smart.

    The real highlights of Thinkful are the things which go beyond the actual data science curriculum, namely all of the technical support. This includes: one-on-one mentorship multiple times a week, open technical coach "office hours" multiple times a day, an active student message board with mentors available 10 hours every day, and finally, a career support team to assist with your job hunt after graduation. It amazes me that they offer so much personalized technical support.  This is the strength of the program in my eyes.

    They created a successful program to lift students into the data science field. I couldn’t have asked for more from a bootcamp. 

  • Graduate
    - 7/20/2019
    Charla  User Photo
    Charla • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I chose Thinkful over other boot camps because of the cost, the mentorship, and the job guarantee.  My experience has been positive on all fronts.  I can't say enough about my mentor and my program manager, they were the key to my success along with my hard work.  My program manager was there to assist with any questions I had about the program, such as staying on track to graduate on time.  My mentor was patient, helpful and knowledgeable about various Data Science topics. If you don't have the math and programming skills, you will definitely have to put in more time. I am glad I stuck with this course and finished strong.  If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn't change a thing.  It's never too late to start something new!

  • Clinton Owen  User Photo
    Clinton Owen • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Apologies for the wall of text that's about to follow! Apparently I had a lot to say, so I hope that some will find it useful.

    Overview (TL/DR)

    Enrolling at Thinkful is one of the best decisions I've ever made. They have a solid curriculum with staff who are really invested in student success. Not only do you graduate the program having obtained a highly-sought-after skillset, but Thinkful continues to support you in your job search and provides the strategies, resources, and connections that will really help you reach your goal of becoming a Developer.

    Why Learn to Code?

    I assume that if you're reading this, you've already thought about the answer to that question. For me, I started coding as a side-project when my former company asked me to redesign their website—I had no prior experience, but it was so rewarding to dive in, solve problems on-the-fly, and emerge with something I was really proud of. After taking some time to reflect, I decided that my interests and skills were more aligned with a career in programming.

    I found it helpful to figure out my own, personal "why" and think about what I really wanted to get out of this journey. Defining a simple, reasonable, quantitative goal gave me something to aim for and helped me to stay motivated and focused. The goal I came up with for myself was to "obtain a growth-oriented software developer job in the Chicago area within 6 months of graduating from boot camp with a salary that would allow me to comfortably start a family."

    One of the first major steps I took was to complete Udacity's "Intro to Computer Science" course, which validated my feelings that this is something I would really enjoy doing. There are many similar resources out there (freeCodeCamp is another good one) where you can get a taste of what being a programmer is all about and decide if it's right for you. Additionally, Thinkful has a mandatory Prep Course (which I'll discuss in more detail later) that also allow you to dip your toes in the water before taking the full plunge.

    Why A Boot Camp?

    One thing I know about myself is that when I’m trying to learn something on my own, I can spend hours just researching the "best" way to learn it, often to the point of paralysis by analysis. That's why the concept of a boot camp really resonated with me—allowing someone else to handle the "what" and "how" of my education by curating a solid curriculum would help me stay focused and moving forward. My next step was… research!

    Why Thinkful?

    Using sites like SwitchUp and CourseReport, I created a comparison spreadsheet of all the boot camps I was interested in. Thinkful's Engineering Immersion program checked all the right boxes—it combined the ideal qualities of a modern, comprehensive, project-based curriculum, high-quality teaching staff, regular 1-on-1 mentorship, daily peer collaboration, and outcome-oriented career services. From the glowing reviews of alumni, I got the impression that Thinkful is constantly striving to improve and update the program to the benefit of future student cohorts. So, I decided to take the leap and applied for the July 2018 cohort.

    Prior to Starting

    After applying to the Engineering Immersion program, I had a phone call with one of Thinkful's program coordinators to make sure that I was a good "culture fit." They mainly wanted to hear about my background and why I was learning to code, answer any questions I had, and go over the next steps.

    Then I began the Prep Course, the cost of which went towards the full program tuition. It was 4 weeks long and required a 30 hours/week commitment. The course is designed to get you up to speed on the basics of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. This was mostly self-guided learning using the curriculum they provided, however I was assigned a Mentor during the Prep Course, who I met with twice a week to go over what I was learning and discuss anything I was struggling with or had questions about.

    The Prep Course also included a few short lessons on communication and other soft skills which provided some tools and strategies to help you work well in a group environment. I loved that they provided this and it gave me the impression that they really wanted everyone to have a great experience collaborating in our cohort.

    Towards the end of the Prep Course, my Mentor helped me prepare for the Technical Evaluation, which you need to pass in order to be admitted to the full-time program. They asked some general questions about the topics covered in the Prep Course and then I had to complete 5 coding challenges using JavaScript.

    Once I passed the Technical Evaluation and was admitted into the full-time Engineering Immersion program, I had an orientation session where I got to meet all of the other students in my cohort and got an overview of the program.

    The Curriculum

    There were four main instructional "units" of the program, each led by a different instructor. After each unit ended, we would schedule a mock interview (similar to the Prep Course Technical Evaluation) which would focus on the material covered in that unit.

    1. The first unit (2 weeks) covered JavaScript, jQuery, and how to architect and build asynchronous web applications, culminating in a 3-day solo project where I built my own web app.

    2. The second unit (4 weeks) was all about server-side programming, using Node/Express to build RESTful APIs, PostgreSQL and Mongo to build databases. We also learned how to write tests and construct user authentication strategies.

    3. The third unit (2 weeks) was dedicated to learning React and Redux, an extremely popular framework for building web apps.

    4. The fourth unit (2 weeks) was on data structures and algorithms, a very useful topic to prepare you for programming interviews.

    Interspersed between and around these core instructional units, we had about 7 total weeks dedicated to working on projects, both solo and in groups. In the final week of the program, we focused on completing our online portfolios and polishing up our projects in preparation for the job search.

    Overall I was extremely impressed with the quality and freshness of the curriculum. One of the program coordinators told me that they try to make at least one substantial update to the program after each cohort of students, and it really shows in the quality and attention to detail of the curriculum. You can tell that Thinkful really cares about what their students think. There are many opportunities to provide feedback, both solicited and unsolicited.

    There were a few scattered instances of an outdated or broken link, but that just comes with the territory of a curriculum which is constantly improving and evolving to keep up with the pace of the industry.

    Thinkful was really, really good about teaching us to be independent developers. There was some necessary hand-holding in the beginning as we learned the basics, but they pretty quickly transitioned us to working both independently and on group projects where it was really up to us to come up with an idea, organize the projects, research different technologies that might be useful, study documentation, and work autonomously.

    A Typical Day

    Class started at 9am (Central) every morning with a lecture by the lead instructor for that unit of the curriculum. This was typically about an hour long and was held in a group chat room where we could watch the instructor and ask questions via text, voice, or video. I really enjoyed this format and thought that the instructors provided a lot of great insights. They were also very good at explaining things in a way that was easy to follow and understand.

    Next, we would break into pairs (we had a different partner each day) and work on coding exercises using a technique called pair programming—this is where you take turns writing code ("driving") and providing direction ("navigating"). This definitely took some getting used to, but quickly started to feel more natural as we progressed. It's great practice for learning to work with different people and different personalities, and it helps us pull each other along—I noticed on some days that my partner was teaching me a lot, while on others I was doing the teaching. Most days it was a mix of both. If you ran into any trouble, you could always message the instructor/TA's, who would join your room and help you figure things out. 

    After a 45-minute lunch break, we'd have an afternoon lecture, which was usually a short review or small addition to the content we covered in the morning lecture.

    Then, we'd break into our pairs again and work on some more exercises until the end of the day (4:30pm Central).

    In the evenings, we'd meet with our personal Mentors at an agreed-upon time for 30 minutes. Thinkful Mentors work regular jobs in the industry and provide mentorship on the side, so in addition to getting help with your coursework, they can provide valuable insight about life as a real Developer.

    We'd also usually have an assigned reading each night to introduce the topic for the next day's class. Thinkful recommended that we dedicate at least 2 hours per night to studying outside of class. Obviously, the more time you put into it, the more you'll get out of the program, so it's important that your family/friends understand the time commitment you've made so that they allow you time to focus and study. I found that in order to keep up" at the level I wanted to be at, I had to devote more like 3-4 hours every night, plus an additional 3-4 hours per day on weekends.

    Projects

    The projects were a great way to really apply our knowledge in a practical setting and review and reinforce some of the lessons we had learned. They also provided great material for our portfolios.

    The highlight of the program for me was our first Full-Stack Capstone project. We had finally reached the point where we had the knowledge to build a complete web application and then were given two weeks to brainstorm, plan, design, build, and deploy a full-stack project of our choice. While we still had regular progress check-ins with our instructor, it was so cool to have the freedom to flex our skills and creativity and dive deep into a project.

    During the final Capstone project, I was on a team of five, where we came up with the concept for an app, decided on the features we wanted to implement, created user stories and wireframes, organized our tasks on a Trello board, and had daily morning stand-ups to discuss our progress and any hurdles we encountered. I think we all learned a lot about the importance of communication, organization, and version control when working in a collaborative environment. It was so cool to be put into an Agile development environment, simulating the type of tasks and interactions we might encounter in our professional work.

    Pace/Difficulty

    The pace of the program was very quick—it often felt like we were just starting to wrap our heads around one subject when another would get introduced. Some days were definitely more difficult than others, but the days seemed well-balanced so it never got too overwhelming.

    I sometimes wished that I had time to read more about a few of the more complex topics we covered, but then you run the risk of going down a rabbit hole and losing focus, so overall I'm happy with the pace and structure. It did feel at times like I was literally just coding, eating, and sleeping, but I knew the program would be time-consuming, so it's hard to complain, especially when I look at how far I developed in such a short time.

    Job Search

    One of the key selling points for the program was the focus on giving me the skills required to land a Developer job, and that includes the soft skills. There was an entire section of the curriculum dedicated to crafting application materials, networking, and interviewing.

    Upon graduating, I was also paired with a dedicated Career Coach, who would meet with me every 1-3 weeks (more frequently earlier on) to go over your application materials, talk about different job hunting techniques, and help you refine your strategy if things weren't working.

    They definitely expect a lot from you during the job searching phase (see the specific requirements in their Tuition Refund Guarantee), but it's all designed with the goal of getting you a job as quickly as possible.

    Thinkful is great about connecting with companies who are looking for Developers like you. Your mileage may vary depending on where you live, but Thinkful introduced me to quite a few companies in Chicago.

    Outcome

    I'm thrilled to say that, having recently been hired as a Software Engineer at Groupon's Chicago headquarters, I've surpassed my wildest expectations of what I'd be able to accomplish in only a year's time. Thinkful was absolutely instrumental in every step of the way. Not only did they provide me with the current, relevant skills I would need to impress during my interviews, but their incredibly hard-working Careers Team helped me get a foot in the door by making an introduction with Groupon and helping me cut through the high volume of applications they receive on a regular basis.

    One of the highlights of my life will be the moment after I received the job offer and then immediately called my wife to deliver the good news and got to hear her cries of joy. This means so much to us and our aspirations of starting a life together. It's also incredibly significant to me, personally, to be doing something that I love in an environment where I'll be challenged and inspired to learn and grow. As I think about my future and start to set new goals for my life and career, I'm so grateful for the time I had with Thinkful and for their incredible team of instructors, mentors, managers, and coaches. I'll always look back fondly on Thinkful as the pivotal factor in propelling me along my desired career path.

  • Charles Hebert  User Photo
    Charles Hebert • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    ...quite thoughtful, if you'll forgive the pun. In my experience with the program over the last few months, I've come to this conclusion on more than one occassion. From the screening process to the curriculum development to the mentoring, there's ample evidence throughout that the community which designed & developed this bootcamp put a lot time and effort (and therefore a lot of thought) into its creation & maintenance. I think the most impressive aspect though is the confidence that everyone on staff has in the mission to prepare you for a job when you're ready, or upon completion (it's up to you, truly). And that goes for the resources that are made available throughout: it seems that there is a constant drive towards what is relevant whether it's a project management tool, or another Excel reference. Thinkful as indeed the right choice for me.

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 5/20/2019
    Timothy  User Photo
    Timothy • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am currently in Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program, and I'm very happy with my decision. I was initially planning on doing a local in-person bootcamp. I wanted the face to face mentorship and the opportunity to have an immediate network of local partners. I decided to go with Thinkful primarily for two reasons (aside from being able to keep my day job while I learn...):

     

    1) Mentorship. I have learned a ton by meeting with my mentor twice a week. And since it is a self-paced program (unlike a structured local bootcamp) I'm not held back by the class when I easily understand a concept, and I'm not rushed past a concept when I am slower to understand it. Also, I have a regional advocate, a project manager, that helps with bigger picture things, and helps support a local community of learners.

    2) Job guarantee. Although I feel confident that if I put in the work that Thinkful is preparing me to enter the industry, I don't need blind faith. Thinkful is transparent about its outcomes, and reports are released by a third party (CIRR). Basically, if you can graduate, you are extremely likely to find a job. The caveat seems to be that because the barrier to entry is low for Thinkful, a lot of people don't make it through the program (roughly half). I am committed to taking it seriously and putting in the hours, and I am on pace to graduate on time. Even if I can't find work upon graduation (which I don't think will be the case), I am guaranteed my money back.

     

    This program is not easy, especially while working a full-time job and being a father of two young children. For background context, I have a B.S. degree in Science, and have been putting in pretty close to the 25 hours a week to keep nicely on pace for the 6-month graduation.

  • Daniel  User Photo
    Daniel • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful's program provides incredible support for students seeking to jump into full-time development. They seek to emulate a professional dev environment by utilizing paired programming throughout ~80% of the course, setting you up to do very well in many coding interview formats. Mock interviews and mentor support are top-notch. The staff is incredibly passionate about shaping the next generation of developers, and it shows!

  • Emet Ozar  User Photo
    Emet Ozar • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had a phenomenal experience in Data Analytics. Usually when I am taking a course "fun" isn't usually the first thing that pops up in my mind, but I really did have fun taking this course. That is probably partly because I am a nerd and data really fascinates me, but I think it is also because I enjoyed the projects and content immensely.

    A huge part of the experience was my mentor, Alicia. Not only did she help with the trickier technical aspects, but she helped me to feel really supported. I think the worst feeling when you are learning something new can be that self-doubt or feeling that you're stupid or not getting the concepts or that things are too hard. Alicia always made me feel like I could conquer the projects and master the concepts and let's be real- it feels great when someone praises you and notices the good and hard work you've done, and she was wonderful at that too!

    Overall I learned a ton and felt great about the new skills that I acquired.

  • John Young  User Photo
    John Young • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful's Engineering Immersion program was a pretty life-changing experience for me. It finally allowed me to pursue Software Engineering, which is what I have wanted to do for years.

    Pros:

    - Excellent support staff

    - Curriculum is well thought out, and constantly evolving

    - Data Structures and Algorithms section

    - Apprentice feedback is welcomed and acted upon

     

    Cons:

    - Instructors need to be more involved during the final days of the program. This feedback has already been given, so I expect it to change quickly.

     

    Overall, I would 100% recommend Thinkful to any and everyone thinking about switching careers, or looking for a post-education boost to their resume.

  • Will Nixon  User Photo
    Will Nixon • Associate Applications Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I spent a good few weeks researching all the available bootcamps - emailing alum and current students to find out what they thought.

    With Thinkful - the overriding feedback was that the course was great as long as you were willing to work hard and do what you need to succeed. Thankfully, that's what I planned to do!

    What separated Thinkful from the others was that they offered money back if they didn't help land you a role within 6 months of graduating. To me, that spoke highly of how successful they believe themselves to me. They were willing to put their money where their mouth was - again, as long as I played my part!

    I attended the flex course, which meant I could continue working full time. It worked perfectly for me, and I loved that I was able to meet twice a week with a mentor to help me push through the barriers that slowed me down to allow me to keep on growing.

  • Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Some of the pros for me is being able to schedule times that work for me since my goal was also to continue to work alongside the program. I also really like being paired up with a professional mentor that really can help me narrow down my struggling points and help me progress through the program.  I think the material does a great job of covering up to date topics and complementing projects to go along with the material which can also be used in your personal portfolio when it comes down to applying for your first job. There are also 5 mock interviews which have given me a taste of what a typical interview will feel like and you get personalized feedback so you can work on improving yourself for the real one. One last thing I would personally recommend to anyone out there considering starting the program is making sure you have the time to dedicate to learning, practicing and progressing through the program because it is very easy to fall behind schedule.​

Student Outcomes


40%
On-Time Graduation Rate
84%
In-Field Employed
$63,700
Change in Salary

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
63%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
21%
Hired by school in-field
0%

Started a new company or venture after graduation
0%
Short-term contract or part-time position
0%
Hired by school out of field
0%
Out of field
0%

Still seeking a job
16%
Not still seeking a job
0%

Non reporting
0%

Salary Breakdown:

92% of job obtainers reported salaries.

Notes & Caveats:

Thanks!