thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Atlanta, Austin, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boston, Boulder, Charlotte, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hartford, Houston, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Madison, Memphis, Miami, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York City, New York City, Oakland, Online, Orlando, Orlando, Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Portland, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, San Antonio, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.59 ( 594 reviews )

Thinkful is an online bootcamp that equips students for new careers in the world’s next workforce by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, product management, and digital marketing. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech. Thinkful also offers a tuition refund guarantee for qualifying courses. While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s programs include the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, Data Analytics Flex, and Digital Marketing Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students can join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.59

all (594) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (92) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week18 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Flex

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn the technical skills needed to build an audience, create a brand, and drive sales. Study with a flexible, online schedule, a personal mentor, and peer groups. Professional career coaches guide you with networking advice and personalized resume tips to help secure a high-income marketing role.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Immersion

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest way to launch your marketing career. Create campaigns and analyze results as you learn relevant, up-to-date technical skills. Showcase your knowledge with an interview-ready portfolio that stands out and earns job offers. Enroll now, and pay nothing until you’ve graduated and landed a job.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options:
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Flex

    Apply
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Break into tech as a project manager. Learn how to plan, schedule, and budget in a business setting while developing the leadership skills for long-term career growth. A flexible format that works around your schedule, with industry mentors and career support until you’re hired.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Immersion

    Apply
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date September 7, 2020
    Cost$9,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest path to a project management career. Learn to leverage the tools used by top employers in this full-time, online course. Work through a project-based course that builds your portfolio with the support of industry experts, a rigorous curriculum, and paired workshops.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    September 7, 2020 - Online Apply by August 17, 2020
  • UX/UI Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    In PersonFull Time50 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,150
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn career-ready skills in research, web design, and teamwork on your path to a high-paying role in UX/UI. One-on-one mentorship, interview prep and community support take you from newbie to hired and beyond.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Shared Review

  • Annah  User Photo
    Annah • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Overall, I had a pretty good experience at Thinkful. Thankfully I spent about 6 months learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript before starting, so I was able to get through the fundamentals section really fast which helped me to graduate on time. I know quite a few people who weren't able to graduate on time, which really doesn't surprise me since you do have to devote a LOT of time to studying and working on projects. 

    The curriculum was good but really only covers the basics, and it's all readings (no videos or anything). For example, they gave you kind of a short tutorial on React, which definitely was not enough, so in addition to that I also had to read all of the React documentation, do a Codecademy React course, and watch some youtube tutorials. But they give you enough to get started. 

    I also found the Node section to be extremely lacking, and I know a bunch of other people who feel the same about that. 

    Also, I had four different mentors. My first mentor was very good, but unfortunately they only assigned him to me for the fundamentals section. I then got assigned another mentor who was terrible and didn't even know Node or React, so I switched. I then got assigned another mentor who was great, but had a VERY strong accent and it was very difficult to understand him, so I switched again. Then my last mentor was ok. 

    But my husband, who is a full-stack developer, is the one who would help me the most. Sometimes my mentors would spend our entire session trying to help me figure out one of my problems, and they wouldn't be able to solve it, so I would have to ask my husband who would literally solve the problem is under 5 minutes. Sometimes even like 30 seconds. It was crazy. 

    The Q&A sessions are also not very helpful, and I only went to a few of them. A few times they were able to help me, but mostly they weren't much of a help. Unfortunately there can sometimes be like 6 other people in the Q&A so they have to be fast with helping you. There are definitely some good Q&A mentors though, like Luis and TJ. They're really good! 

    But overall, I definitely learned a lot. I still don't really feel like I'm that great of a developer, but I know that takes time, and I'm going to have to keep learning and doing projects on my own. I just graduated though and am hoping to find a job soon! 

  • John Young  User Photo
    John Young • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful's Engineering Immersion program was a pretty life-changing experience for me. It finally allowed me to pursue Software Engineering, which is what I have wanted to do for years.

    Pros:

    - Excellent support staff

    - Curriculum is well thought out, and constantly evolving

    - Data Structures and Algorithms section

    - Apprentice feedback is welcomed and acted upon

     

    Cons:

    - Instructors need to be more involved during the final days of the program. This feedback has already been given, so I expect it to change quickly.

     

    Overall, I would 100% recommend Thinkful to any and everyone thinking about switching careers, or looking for a post-education boost to their resume.

  • Will Nixon  User Photo
    Will Nixon • Associate Applications Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I spent a good few weeks researching all the available bootcamps - emailing alum and current students to find out what they thought.

    With Thinkful - the overriding feedback was that the course was great as long as you were willing to work hard and do what you need to succeed. Thankfully, that's what I planned to do!

    What separated Thinkful from the others was that they offered money back if they didn't help land you a role within 6 months of graduating. To me, that spoke highly of how successful they believe themselves to me. They were willing to put their money where their mouth was - again, as long as I played my part!

    I attended the flex course, which meant I could continue working full time. It worked perfectly for me, and I loved that I was able to meet twice a week with a mentor to help me push through the barriers that slowed me down to allow me to keep on growing.

  • Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Some of the pros for me is being able to schedule times that work for me since my goal was also to continue to work alongside the program. I also really like being paired up with a professional mentor that really can help me narrow down my struggling points and help me progress through the program.  I think the material does a great job of covering up to date topics and complementing projects to go along with the material which can also be used in your personal portfolio when it comes down to applying for your first job. There are also 5 mock interviews which have given me a taste of what a typical interview will feel like and you get personalized feedback so you can work on improving yourself for the real one. One last thing I would personally recommend to anyone out there considering starting the program is making sure you have the time to dedicate to learning, practicing and progressing through the program because it is very easy to fall behind schedule.​

  • Bryan Spearman  User Photo
    Bryan Spearman • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hello all,

    I just graduated from the Full Stack Web Development Flex Program at Thinkful.  It was both a great experience and a serious challenge.  Although I had lots of feedback to offer the school about the program and ways that I believe the curriculum could be improved, I do walk away not regretting anything.  

    The program is tough and just because you pay thousands, doesn't mean anything is going to be served on a silver platter.  It was not always fun and just like in real life, I got really frustrated at times with my code and the learning experience in general.  But again, learning something totally new (and something seriously complex) is almost never easy.  I speak for myself anyway.

    It's worth noting that I came to the table with years of HTML and CSS experience under my belt however I'd never written one line of JavaScript.  And despite me having the HTML and CSS experience, I found the Node and React portions of the course to be seriously challenging.  

    That's where your mentor comes in and makes this particular program what it is.  My mentor was an absolute jewl of a human being much less a jedi master with coding and he never grew tired of my stupid questions and/or helping me out of a bind. He coached, tutored, encouraged and at times coded along side me to make sure I did my best. That doesn't mean all mentors are like this.  In fact I requested to change to a new mentor after a few weeks because I didn't gel at all with my first one and thankfully the school catered to this which ended up making a huge difference in my learning experience.

    Being in the "Flex" program also meant that I was studying, coding and solving problems remotely.  So if you go this route, you must learn to use the community!!  For the first part of the course I didn't see a need to do this because I'm self taught and I generally read up on something or hack it to death myself to figure it out so going to Q&A's or asking questions in the forum just wasn't my thing.  I later learned that that was a big mistake.  The forum is filled with mentors and even talented students who can answer questions, analyze code with you and help to solve issues.  When finally pressed into a corner with some Node.js code I began reaching out to the community and holy crap what a huge help.  I should've been doing it from day one so that I was familiar with the other mentors and got to know people.  People who "know you" online tend to be even more helpful I later learned.

    Finally, I'll say that for those considering attending Thinkful, in my humble opinion it's worth it in the end.  Just like you, I came to this website before making the decision because I wanted to know if it would be a sound investment or total waste of time.  Now on the other side I can tell you that it's totallly worth it.  And like me, you may find some things overly easy and you may find other things overly challenging.  But if you work your butt off and really apply yourself, you can do it and you WILL benefit from it. 

    It's also just the beginning of my journey as pro developer not the end.  I can't hang my hat on a Thinkful graduation and think it opens doors.  It simply doesn't.  It's knowledge and discipline.  I learned how to learn and that in and of itself is a major part of this.  I am personally light years beyond where I was when I started the program at Thinkful and I'm now applying for jobs that previously I had to skip because I couldn't even begin to measure up to the requirements.

    So take it from a Thinkful graduate, it's worth the time, effort and money.

    If you have any questions feel free to drop me a line.  I don't mind.

     

    Sincerely,

    Bryan
     

  • Go For It
    - 2/22/2019
    Christina L  User Photo
    Christina L • Developer • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Thinkful has been a great course so far! I am about 2 months in, and have really gotten into the flow of the course. I chose Thinkful because I wanted a course that I could complete without actually having to show up to a physical classroom. The great thing is that you still get a massive amount of support. Between mentor meetings, classroom hours, and the community of students, I never feel overwhelmed or stuck. There is always somebody who can lend a hand and give insight to a problem. I tried learning all of this on my own before, but quickly got overwhelmed with the mass amount of technologies and information that is out there. Thinkful lays it all out for you, so that you can focus on learning the skills in an organized, efficient way.

  • Mark F  User Photo
    Mark F • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was looking for a Data Science bootcamp because I wanted to be more competitive in the job market and learn some new professional skills. After some research, I chose Thinkful. For me, the best things about 
    the course were the mentoring and the careers support. I also met a lot of fellow Thinkful students 
    in my local area to network with. About a month after finishing the course, I got hired as a Data Scientist.
    All in all, it's been well worth the investment.

  • Good Experience
    - 2/15/2019
    Vennie  User Photo
    Vennie • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I signed up for Thinkful's Fullstack Flex program after hearing my friend graduated from the same program and landed a full-time web developer position that paid upward of $80,000 a year. Having no prior knowledge of programming (and no full-time job), I decided to jump into the coding industry and see if I could make a career out of it.

    Thinkful's cirriculum and course materials are rigorous, well-planned, and full of information for beginners. I was assigned mentors for each different unit, and they really do care about helping you succeed. There is no hand-holding though, so most of the time I'd have to either research, or use their free Q&A sessions to come up with solutions if I was stuck. Do note that the courses are not easy, and will definitely become a challenge once you get to the full-stack phase.

    From my personal experience, 20-30 hours a week is definitely NOT how much time you have to invest, regardless of what Thinkful says. I ended up spending around 35-40 a week just to be more confident about what I learned. Also, having a good mentor is the key to success in this program. Some of the mentors are not as trained or knowledgable in teaching, so it could be detrimental to your learning experience. Definitely switch mentors if you feel like you're not understanding the material.

  • jeffrey Hoglen  User Photo
    jeffrey Hoglen • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

      I have been learning with Thinkful for the past three months and it has been amazing. I was nervous first starting because I havent wrote any code in over ten years. But with your mentor and program manager always there to help there is nothing to worry about. The community itself is great and with the slack channel you can get help around the clock. Making the decsion to study with Thinkful is one of the best ones I have ever made. 

  • Perfect for me
    - 1/25/2019
    Clayton Weller  User Photo
    Clayton Weller • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had experience in the tech industry as a marketing guy, and I decided I'd rather make things than tell people about them. 

    I taught myself webdevelopement for about 3 months before deciding on a boot camp. I chose Thinkful's Full-Stack Flex program because it was remote, at my own pace, and the offered a refund if I didn't get a job in the industry within 6 months of graduating.

    I really liked my mentor (who I did code review with twice a week), and I wound up finishing the program ahead of schedule. I credit, learning on my own before starting as a big part of that. I highly recomend doing some video courses before you start so you can hit the ground running.

    Also, they started doing more in person stuff about half way through my program. They're actively seeking to improve. 

     

    Just got a job as a software developer. Totally worth it.

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 1/14/2019
    Travis Callahan  User Photo
    Travis Callahan • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've been trying to learn how to code for some time now, as I have gone through some of FreeCodeCamp, Harvard's CS50, as well as a JavaScript course on Udemy. Although I learned a lot utilizing those free resources, it was frustrating when I would get stuck on a problem and couldn't find a way out. Frustration quickly led to demotivation, and I found myself questioning if a career in programming was really for me. I then realized that although I had gotten quite far on my own, I absolutely needed some sort of rigid structure for learning how to code, if I seriously wanted to change my career. So, I thought about the idea of attending a bootcamp. After doing extensive research on coding bootcamps, Thinkful seemed like the best option due to high reviews, a job guarantee, and the ability to still maintain my full-time job, as I'm enrolled in the Full Stack Flex program.

     

    Upon enrolling, Thinkful pairs you up with both a Program Manager as well as a mentor. The PM is responsible for overseeing your graduation plan and makes sure you are on track. The mentor is (usually) a seasoned developer that you'll meet with twice a week via video chat. In addition to these resources, you'll have an entire community of mentors and students alike that you have access to via Slack. There are also Q&A sessions that you can attend where you can share your screen with a mentor and ask any questions or try to fix a program that you're working on. 

     

    Whereas I would get stuck and demoralized when I was on my own, it's nearly impossible to get stuck and stay stuck with all of these resources at your disposal. Oh and by the way, if for some reason your mentor doesn't work out, Thinkful will pair you up with someone else. It didn't work out with my first mentor as he was often late and straight up no showed me one time. My second mentor, however, has been nothing short of stellar. 

    The Full Stack program is broken up into a few parts:

    • Web Development Fundamentals (Intro to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and jQuery)
    • Asychronous client-side apps
    • Server-side programming (Node.js)
    • React
    • Computer Science Fundamentals

    After each section, you will be required to complete a capstone which is a program that reflects what you learned in that section. You'll also conduct a mock interview where one of the mentors (also via live chat) will ask you behavioral and technical questions in addition to asking you to do live coding exercises. You are required to pass both the capstone and mock interview in order to advance to the next phase.

    The curriculum is very, very reading intensive. I wish that there were some videos to go alongside the material. But even so, I think the curriculum is great. Sometimes you're encouraged to go out and learn about topics outside of Thinkful, and I've done just that.

    I still have a couple months left, but from my understanding upon completion you are then paired up with Career Services and their job is to assist you in finding a position as a Developer. As mentioned before, Thinkful offers a job guarantee, which you can read about on their website.  Overall, my experience has been wonderful and I think this is one of the best decisions I've ever made. I have learned an insane amount over the past few months and I am looking forward to continuing the program, graduating, and changing careers! 

    Finally, I'd like to mention that Thinkful is completely transparent about what percentage of their students graduate, find jobs, etc. If you're serious about attending this bootcamp I'd recommend checking out the below link. 

    https://cirr.org/

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 12/18/2018
    Oscar A. Reyes   User Photo
    Oscar A. Reyes • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have been enrolled in the course for about 2 months and have found the curriculum very valuable. It is definitely guided with the intention of having their grads not just graduate but get employed. The mock interviews are great because they are ensuring i'm ready for the last and final step of the application process. Q&a sessions are extremely helpful when looking for a quick fix to a problem I might have. Most importantly, the mentors are the most valuable asset to any students success in the bootcamp. I am definitely excited to continue the next unit, knowing that I'm not alone in the journey.

  • Michael  User Photo
    Michael • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overview:

    I recently graduated from Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program and I'm currently applying for jobs (will update). The program was challenging but I've learned a lot and I feel fairly well-prepared for an entry-level web developer position. I had the luxury of being able to work on the program full-time, but it still took longer than I anticipated, largely because I spent a lot of time on my capstone projects. These projects are a valuable and unique aspect of the program that teach you a lot and leave you with a great portfolio, but designing, building, testing, and styling these projects from scratch can eat up a lot of time. 

    Community:

    I was suprised that the community was one of the most valuable aspects of Thinkful. Emma, the program manager for Portland and Seattle, is amazing and puts on Thinkful Family Dinners every two weeks. These in-person events are a fun way to get to know other people in the program and often brought in speakers who presented on topics like networking, game development, and hackathons.

    The Slack community was also great and quite active. It was a useful place to get feedback and have questions answered. Q&A sessions (open online office hours) were fairly useful, but I didn't end up using them very often. There is often a line of students waiting and it often takes quite awhile to get a question answered...some sort of quota or ticket system could help make these more valuable. TJ was a standout Q&A mentor and also leads great workshops on a variety of interesting topics almost every day.

    Instructors:

    I had great mentors throughout the program. Thinkful had to switch my mentors twice for administrative reasons, which was disappointing, but I got along well with each and they were all very knowledeable. Alanna was an excellent guide through the fundamentals portion before Lawrence took over for the majority of my program. He was instrumental in helping me choose projects, troubleshoot bugs, and understand difficult concepts. Ali was my mentor for the final month of the course and did an excellent job stepping in. He helped me wrap up my final capstone and was a great help practicing for technical interviews.

    Curriculum:

    Overall, the curriculum was thorough, provided good code examples, and covered the latest development technology. I'm sure it's a monumental task keeping up with constant updates for all the tools, software, and platforms they cover, but at times, it was sometimes frustrating to run into broken instructions (especially on Windows). The material is almost completely text and code examples, which are well-written. It frequently encourages you to use official documentation, which turned out to be a great skill that served me well as I moved through the program.

    The major missing element was a search feature. The curriculum is very large and paginated by Unit, Section, Lesson, etc. It can be a challenge to find that one line you're thinking of without being able to search the whole curriculum.

    Job Assistance:

    Throughout the course, you complete mini career lessons, such as building a resume, optimizing your LinkedIn page, and how to network. These were helpful and I feel well-prepared to look for jobs. As soon as you graduate, you're paired with a career coach who you meet with weekly to check your progress and answer questions. Thinkful isn't going to necessarily find and get you the job you want, but they'll do a lot to prepare you to do it yourself.

Thinkful Outcomes


N/A
On-Time Graduation Rate
78%
In-Field Employed
$60,450
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 9 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
77.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
22.2%

Could not contact
0.0%

Salary Breakdown:

100% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Read the full Thinkful CIRR report here

Thanks!