thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Online, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Salt Lake City, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.63 ( 513 reviews )

Thinkful is an online school that equips students for new careers by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, and design. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech (and even offer a tuition refund guarantee). While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s flagship programs are the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, and Data Analytics Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and daily mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can set their schedules, learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.63

all (513) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (79) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Python, SQL, Excel, Data Visualization, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,990
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Atlanta, Washington, Los Angeles, Portland, Phoenix, San Diego, Dallas, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis, Salt Lake City, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Austin, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,990
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Atlanta, Washington, Los Angeles, Portland, Phoenix, San Diego, Dallas, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis, Salt Lake City, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Austin, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date
    September 30, 2019
    Cost
    $18,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Atlanta, Washington, Los Angeles, Portland, Phoenix, San Diego, Dallas, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis, Salt Lake City, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Austin, Orlando, San Francisco
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced degree
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    September 30, 2019 - OnlineApply by August 4, 2019
    November 18, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 23, 2019
    January 2, 2020 - OnlineApply by December 11, 2019
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    AngularJS, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $9,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Atlanta, Washington, Los Angeles, Portland, Phoenix, San Diego, Dallas, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis, Salt Lake City, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Austin, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/pricing/#financing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 21, 2019
    Cost
    $16,000
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Atlanta, Washington, Los Angeles, Portland, Phoenix, San Diego, Dallas, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis, Salt Lake City, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Austin, Orlando, San Francisco
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options:https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/web-development/full-time/#payment-options
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    October 21, 2019 - OnlineApply by September 2, 2019
    December 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - OnlineApply by November 18, 2019
  • Engineering Nights & Weekends

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time25 Hours/week30 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 2, 2019
    Cost
    $12,900
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Atlanta, Washington, Los Angeles, Portland, Phoenix, San Diego, Dallas, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis, Salt Lake City, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Austin, Orlando, San Francisco
    An online program that will turn you into a full-stack web developer after hours. Work up from the fundamentals, write strong code, and build the perfect job-ready portfolio.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/web-development/nights-weekends/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    October 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by September 2, 2019
    December 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - OnlineApply by November 18, 2019
  • Product Design Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $8,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Atlanta, Washington, Los Angeles, Portland, Phoenix, San Diego, Dallas, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Houston, Seattle, Minneapolis, Salt Lake City, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Austin, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/product-design/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Go For It
    - 2/22/2019
    Christina L  User Photo
    Christina L • Developer • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Thinkful has been a great course so far! I am about 2 months in, and have really gotten into the flow of the course. I chose Thinkful because I wanted a course that I could complete without actually having to show up to a physical classroom. The great thing is that you still get a massive amount of support. Between mentor meetings, classroom hours, and the community of students, I never feel overwhelmed or stuck. There is always somebody who can lend a hand and give insight to a problem. I tried learning all of this on my own before, but quickly got overwhelmed with the mass amount of technologies and information that is out there. Thinkful lays it all out for you, so that you can focus on learning the skills in an organized, efficient way.

  • A.L.  User Photo
    A.L. • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I picked Thinkful because I didn't want to quit my day job.. and it turned out to be a great choice!

    Your experience with the program will very much depend on the quality of your mentor. You are expected to have three 1-on-1 meetings per week, for 1 hour each. The best use of the time is to make sure you establish goals with the curriculum, then come to the meeting with questions. Aside from the curriculum, you can ask your mentor about the industry or CS theories.

    After graduation, you are matched with a career coach to help with your resume, LinkedIn, cover letter,etc etc... and to help you stay on track with the requirements for the money back graduante. Like your mentor, the career coach is very helpful and friendly with advices. Thinkful will try to introduce you to 3 companies.. but I didn't need this service so I can't comment much on it. I found a Web Developer job with a good company within 2 months after graduation (4 months in total as I started job searching before graduation as well).

    The Thinkful community is also very good. I had an alumni reaching out to me to offer helps if needed. I also reached out to an alumni when I noticed he work at a company I was applying for, and he didn't mind giving me an introduction.

    Overall, I would recommend this to my friends or others who are serious about a career change.

  • Simran Gill  User Photo
    Simran Gill • React-Native Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My experience with Thinkful has been great. The skills and technologies that i picked up these past months have really helped me understand complex libraries and frameworks. My honest adivse to anyone thinking of taking Thinkful or any other  bootcamp would be that, you have to make it a habit to  f**king code day and night. It is the only way to stand out once you come out of one.  Another thing I really liked about Thinkful is that even now that i have a job, i can pop into their Q/A  sessions and ask questions about things that still may be new to me. As for their staff, they are all really nice and considerate. They really do try their best to help you stand on your feet as a developer, so hats off the to staff. 

  • William Huang  User Photo
    William Huang • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came into Thinkful's program with zero prior programming knowledge. I used their prep course as an opportunity to figure out whether I'd like programming, and then completed the full-time full-stack program. I started my job as a web developer last week - it took a total of ~3 months for me to get a good offer. The TL;DR is that I had an excellent experience with Thinkful and would recommend it to anyone.

    Thinkful is a remote-only program, which I thought might be problematic at first but didn't turn out to be much of a problem. The curriculum is constantly being iterated on, and - in my opinion - reflects a lot of thought about how to learn effectively (pair programming, a focus on creating projects, etc.) I think it covers all of the important building blocks for developers and prepares you on the relevant areas of knowledge for developers (e.g., common Git/Github practices). In terms of mentorship and resources, it's quite clear that Thinkful provides as much additional help as you want - "help" being one-on-one time with developers that have been in the industry, teaching you how they'd do something.

    The curriculum uses JavaScript (through Node.js) on the back-end as well, which I think is a bit of a trade-off - it is much easier to handle learning just one language, but I saw few companies that use Node. I don't think this is a major issue - you can advertise your general knowledge of back-end, and typically I don't think companies hire junior developers with the thinking that they need to know the specific server-side technology already. I'm also not sure if there are any bootcamps that offer a significant improvement in this regard.

    I am really happy with the position I have now, but it did take longer than I would've liked to get a position. Some of that was probably some bad luck, and I was happy with the career support Thinkful provided. The career services group knows what they're doing - I came out with what seemed like every box ticked off (a portfolio of projects, a tuned resume, a presence on LInkedIn and Angellist). Thinkful also provides you invaluable access to a career coach for weekly sessions, and continues to give you access to mentors if you want to polish up the coding side. 

  • Alex  User Photo
    Alex • Front end developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was accepted in the Nov '16 cohort that finished this past March '17. Prior to Thinkful, my coding experience was negligible, though I had a good deal of advanced math. Four months after completion I received a job offer as a front-end developer and successfully made career shift from a previously non-technical role.

    In short, the staff and instructors were lovely people who knew their stuff. Thinkful's dedication to their student's success was clear. I loved the individualized mentor relationship. This is a person who not only helps you with day to day issues, but also with longer term goals, strategies, and struggles.

    Special shout out to manager Theresa, instructor Ben, TAs Alex and Sidharth, and my mentors Jason and Jennifer.

    Regarding the online experience, Thinkful did a great job overcoming the difficulties inherent in online education. 98% of the time, everything wen smoothly. The majority of the curriculum was great, with the rare exception of 4 or 5 days out of 4 months where my partners and I would lose confidence in the lesson plan and abandoned it for some self-study alternative. However, Thinkful seems very open to feedback and I've since learned that Thinkful has reworked some of the lesson days.

    In total, I'm grateful of my Thinkful experience and highly recommend them.

  • Ben Altieri  User Photo
    Ben Altieri • Operations Manager • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have been a student at Thinkful for a little over a year in the Python Programming course.  I am 50 years old, married with a couple of kids.  I also have a demanding job in IT at a company in the Boston area.  I highly recommend Thinkful because of the immersion that is difficult to reproduce any other way.  The immersion consists of a dedicated mentor who will colllaborate with you as you learn how code and how to properly communicate with others on your programming projects using tools such as Github and TravisCI.  In the process, I learned skills and vocabulary have become second nature.  As a Thinkful student, you will not only learn how to code, but also how to speak the language which is an invalubale skill required to land coding jobs as a freelancer or a full time developer.  The assignments can seem daunting at first, but the Thinkful mentors I worked with helped me get over that initial fear of what I didn't know when I started the course. Even though I had a hectic schedule, I did manage to finish the Thinkful Python Programming course.  Sign up and make the commitment and you will be surprised how much you can learn and develop your skills. Learning never stops.  It is a life long process.  Thinkful is like vitimins for your professional growth. 

  • Derek D.  User Photo
    Derek D. • Student • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am currently still working with Thinkful after the phase I introduction phase and this has been the best experience to date to learn programming.

    I have tried other programs to learn the same material but for some reason the way Thinkful teaches just sticks with me the best.  The combination of reading and applying that knowledge I find to be the best way to progress effectively.

    Have the one on one mentor time I think is one of the best parts about this program.  As an introvert, I struggle in larger class settings but having one person to talk to about what I am working on works for me very well.  I find that am able to ask all the questions I may have been hesitant in a classroom setting and thus I am moving forward to ideally become a software engineer.

  • Tanner Gill  User Photo
    Tanner Gill • Frontend Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    4 months ago I was working behind the bar one of my favorite places to be, my place of work, a hip and trendy coffee shop in the Downtown area of San Diego. I've often considered school to study computer programming, but more often than not the idea seem unachievable. In my area there are many developers, often filtering in and out my store, sparking my interest yet again in web development. Through them I learned of FreeCodeCamp.com which rapidly became my second favorite place to be as I began learning the basics of HTML/CSS. After spending a few hours every evening working on fun little projects for my photography friends and I, I decided to take it more seriously, I just didn't know how. After expressing my interest and enthusiasm with the before mentioned developers filtering in and out of my shop, I learned about the concept of a boot camp. Having experience with unconventional forms of learning, having been home schooled most of my life, the idea intrigued me, and I started entertaining the idea by researching programs in my area. After touring a place or two, having a few discussions with friends of mine (one of which an employee of GitHub), I kept hearing about Thinkful, the online alternative. 

     

    Thinkful's course covers fullstack JavaScript development. They focus on the idea of project based learning all the while being taught by personable instructors and guided by a mentor assigned to you in the beginning of the camp. Through the instructors I learned new concepts, through my fellow students I learned how to "speak code" and work with other developers, and through my mentor I learned new ideologies for troubleshooting issues, new resources for learning, exciting new technologies, and recieved help on my personal projects.

     

    Two weeks before graduating the program I was recommended by my program manager to a company out of San Francisco who was in the market for a Junior Developer, and got the job. I am now no longer working behind the bar at that hip and trendy coffee shop, instead i'm working infront of it in the tables I once served. The transition from barista to developer has been a wild one, but I couldn't recommend it enough. 

  • Jamie Wang  User Photo
    Jamie Wang • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If anyone is looking for a professional, supportive, and effective coding bootcamp, particularly in the DC area, Thinkful is the best place! I came here on a complete career switch and wanted not only a school with a robust curriculum but also one that could provide me with effective career services and local networking opportunities. Thinkful's staff delivered on both of these and more. I had zero technical background or experience and managed to get hired before graduation thanks to Thinkful's help and encouragement on my portfolio, resume, and project management. Definitely a lot of hard work but totally worth it! 

  • Thomas Kastanek  User Photo
    Thomas Kastanek • Software Engineering Apprentice • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    In short: I had an extremely positive experience with Thinkful's Full-Time Web Development program and would highly recommend it to others. Thinkful is still a fairly young company and it does show--some of their material is not as polished as you'll see at more established companies like GA. However, it also means that they are much more flexible with the curriculum (which is a good thing). 

    When I went through the program they had just switched to full JavaScript front and back-end. While they do offer resources for learning Python and, I think, Ruby/Rails as well, I felt that the all JavaScript approach was excellent. The market is definitely moving in that direction and I was able to land a full-stack Software Engineering role before finishing the bootcamp and was able to dive into the code base and contribute production code very quickly thanks to what I had learned at Thinkful. 

    You'll have to make the decision whether the all-remote approach is right for you and, of course, you'll get out of the experience only what you're willing to put into it. But I found the support to be excellent and the all JavaScript approach is, IMO, the correct one.

  • My Thoughts
    - 9/29/2017
    Shay Kennedy  User Photo
    Shay Kennedy • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Short Story:

     

    Overall, I had a positive experience at Thinkful. I was in the 3rd cohort for the Full Time Full Stack program. I graduated in November 2016 and started a job on February 6th, 2017 as a Software Developer. I love my job and the company I work for and consider entering a bootcamp and getting into this career as the best professional decision I’ve made. I learned a ton while at Thinkful that directly contributed to me getting hired, specifically my React/Redux skills/experience.

     

    Longer Story:

     

    Like I mentioned earlier, my experience at Thinkful was very positive. There were a few things I didn’t necessarily agree with, but they collected feedback and you could tell were making efforts to improve their program (based on feedback) as we were going through. Since I’ve graduated, I’m sure a lot has changed and their program is even better. I learned a lot while I was there and it was very hard work, so expect to put in your best effort if you want to maximize the return on your time – this would likely hold true to any bootcamp. I thoroughly enjoyed what I was learning and put in many hours outside of the scheduled time. There were certainly times when it was frustrating because things just didn’t make sense, but once it started to click, it was amazing!

     

    I specifically choose Thinkful for a few reasons. I was looking for an online program due to my geographical area (Phoenix, AZ) and the limited in-person options at that time. So, I wanted a bootcamp that specialized in online education, which I felt like Thinkful checked that box. I also wanted a program that was longer than the traditional programs. A lot of the bootcamps I saw were between 9 – 12 weeks and I just didn’t really feel like that was long. So, I was looking for something a bit longer, but not too long due to time constraints for myself and needing to get a job. (The longer you can spend learning, the better off you will be. To most of us, this stuff doesn’t come easy, especially in the beginning.) At the time, I think the Thinkful program ran 16 weeks, which I felt was much better than 12 weeks. Finally, I wanted a program that had a lot of resources. Thinkful had many resources, including: instructors, TAs, mentors, program managers, training sessions, open Q&A sessions, lectures, career advisors, and a lot more. I really think the amount of resources is one of the things that sets Thinkful apart from others and makes them a great program.

     

    My Advice:

     

    This advice applies to learning to become a developer and selecting a program in general and is not specific to Thinkful. From a cost perspective, there are a variety of options out there, some even free. So, depending on your situation, take into consideration what options would work best for you and make sure you understand what you are getting for your money. I am a believer in investing in yourself, but that’s just my opinion and you should do what’s best for you. When looking at different bootcamps, don’t be afraid to ask questions, even the tough questions. If they won’t give you answers, they probably aren’t worth your time (or money). This is a big investment in your time (and money), so you want to make sure everything is clear before you sign up for anything. After you do select a program, don’t hesitate to ask questions or raise concerns. In my opinion, a good program is one that would welcome feedback and the chance to make improvements that will be beneficial to their students. LASTLY AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, once you start a program, work hard! Like really hard! It is not an easy journey and it shouldn’t be. I consider myself to be a fairly intelligent person, and it was very difficult for me. But I put in my best effort and it paid off, big time! Put in the extra hours, ask questions, ask for help, and try to help others (trust me, you’ll help yourself doing this). You don’t want to finish a program and look back with regrets on not trying harder. Like I said earlier, this is a big investment in your time (and possibly money), so maximize that investment the best you can.

     

    Feel free to reach out if you have any specific questions and I’ll do my best to respond. You can find me on LinkedIn.

     

    Shay Kennedy

     https://www.linkedin.com/in/shaykennedy/

  • John Knotts  User Photo
    John Knotts • software developer in training • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I’m about halfway through Thinkful’s Flexible Web Development Program and I’ve been really happy with it so far. After years of dabbling with tutorials and other programs, I think that Thinkful is finally the perfect fit.

    The Node/Express/React curriculum is current and is exactly what I was looking for. The flexible schedule is still challenging enough to keep you moving forward, but also allows room for the important things in your life.

    But the key for me has been having 3 mentor sessions a week. At every step of the way I have a knowledgable, experienced developer that can look at my code and let me know if I’m doing it “the right way” or there are some things to change or improve upon. I was always able to get through lessons in other programs, but I still never knew if what I was doing was really applicable in the real world. Now I know!

    And all of this at about half the price of a traditional bootcamp!

     It’s great to finally feel like I’m on the right track to a career as a software developer.

  • Cameron  User Photo
    Cameron • none • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful has an amazing program. I chose to enroll in Thinkful's Flexible Web-Development Bootcamp after trying to learn web development on my own for about a year.  I was at the point where I wanted some mentorship or guidance on the decisions I was making since my projects were becoming more complicated.  I strongly feel that Thinkful was the best choice.  I say that based on an analysis of Thinkful's program of instruction based on the three components that make their program what it is; the people, the curriculum and how they are managed in the process of education.  Thinkful does a phenomenal job in all three areas.

    From an administrative perspective Thinkful has always been prompt and accurate with billing and any questions that I have had. They offer a veteran’s discount which I appreciated.  The people on the staff are all professional and are located globally; so there is flexibility in scheduling your mentoring sessions.  I have worked with two mentors because I had a scheduling conflict with the first.  The change was smooth and I did not lose any momentum in my education.

    The curriculum at Thinkful is focused on the Node stack and Javascript web development.  That should probably be your first consideration in choosing a school, do you want to learn their technology?  If you decide on Node you won't find any better school than Thinkful. I have seen the curriculum at another coding school and Thinkful's is far superior; the other school did nothing to explain the utility of Ruby's gem system and left a lot of the programming decisions to the "black box" of Rails. Thinkful walks through the components used at length.  Both in developing a CSS grid system and in the introduction to testing Thinkful's curriculum unpacked what was going on so that the final functionality was clearly understood based on how it was built.  I believe that it is better to understand than rely on a "black box" from your framework's package system, but that is only my opinion.

    In the execution of the program the Thinkful team has been stellar as well; they really do function as an integrated team.  Due to travel I had to suspend my program a week and that was executed smoothly, so basic administrative functions are solid in this regard.  The sessions with my Mentors have always been professional and productive; they have been both attentive to my questions and able to guide the process.  As part of the education I have held three mock-interviews with other members of the staff, two where I had to perform coding demonstrations.  This was new to me and real value added, because it was hard, and something I could not have done on my own.  The evaluators were thorough and professional and demonstrated the high caliber of the Thinkful Team.  I have several interviews left in the program and I am confident that the future members of the staff that I interact with will be of equally high caliber.

    Coding bootcamps are expensive but it is my opionion Thinkful is well worth the money.  That said you don't get handed anything, you have to work for it; Thinkful provides a comprehensive program that guides you along by focusing on the most important tasks needed to become competent in web-development using the Node stack.  I highly recommend the school.

     

  • DZ  User Photo
    DZ • Web developer Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated in April and got a job in June, it is great program, definatly worth to check it out! Stephanie is my career coach manager, she is very helpful and responsive. Once you enroll into the program, you get access to the slack channel, you can look for help there, also Q&A session is my faviorite thing, even when you done with the program you still get access to it, Kyle is a great mentor, very knowledgebale and nice. 

  • Ria Camrin  User Photo
    Ria Camrin • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Why I Chose Thinkful

    I am a Product Designer working mostly on web products. I am also self-taught front-end dev. I watched tens of hours of tutorials, went to meetups and conferences and got to the point where I could comfortably turn my designs into HTML mockups. I found it very difficult to progress from here into programming. I tried learning JS frameworks myself but had difficulty finding help and understanding best practices and so on.

    I was looking for a bootcamp that would provide:

    - guidance on how to approach switching to a full-stack development,

    - active student community,

    - and most importantly, lots of 1:1 time with a mentor.

    I compared a few programs and then I had a chance to join Thinkful's online community for a bit to explore and talk to a few people. I really liked the community I found there and all the Q/A sessions going on, so I decided to give it a shot.

     

    Curriculum

    I thought the curriculum was very modern, very challenging with a lot of great content. I supplemented my learning with additional resources like Egghead and FrontendMasters, but I thought it was a perfect roadmap of concepts and techniques I needed to master.

     

    Mentor

    My mentor is by far the best part of the program. I have a tremendous respect for him. He is extremely knowledgeable, but also kind and patient. I have three hours a week of face-to-face time with him, but we also Slack on a regular basis if I am stuck and need help.

     

    Community

    I don't know how many students are taking the program simultaneously, but it always seems busy in Slack. Moreover, there are Q/A sessions available every day with other mentors over a video chat. To me personally, it was very very helpful to have a community of folks I can talk to and learn from.

     

    Carrer Support

    There are five interview practice sessions. They are hard, mentors are rigorous, just like a real interview.

  • Andy Amaya  User Photo
    Andy Amaya • Database Analyst • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I've been at Thinkful for about 3 months now. There are three very valuable features about Thinkful to me: 1.) Flexibility 2.) One on One Mentoring 3.) Soft Skills development. 

    The curriculum is very good and they are constantly updating it so I know the quality of the content is itteratively improving. I honestly believe that the team I'm working with has their best interest in my success; that makes a big difference.  

    It's a bit expensive. 

  • Nicole Kelley  User Photo
    Nicole Kelley • Software Developer and Integrator • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated Thinkful's Flexible Web Development Bootcamp in May. I have gotten a job and an offer from a fortune 100 company. The Bootcamp does exactly what I expected it to do, which was to give me a start in the web development world. HOWEVER, there is one thing all boot camp seekers should know and understand. A web development boot camp is only as good as what you put into it. This is a field that requires a love and great interest in coding/programming. If you are going to spend the time and money to change careers, wouldn't you want to make sure that it is really what you want to do? Not only does this have to be something you are extremely interested in, you have to be willing to put in the hard work. Meaning you have to be willing to research, read, breathe, eat, and sleep code all while working full time and or having a newborn like I did. Thinkful does not hold your hand. They do not give you the answers all the time. They do not give you a master book saying here is everything now you're a web developer. Thinkful requires you to research, read, analyze and understand outside of what is printed and what they have as assignments. You MUST do this in order to actually understand what you are doing and learn a valuable skill set. 

    Thinkful was great while I was paying. Meaning that I had 1-1 mentorship, I had a program manager who kept in touch or would respond when I reached out. I had a mentor who was experienced and challenged me to fight for every single word in my code. They even allowed me time to pause in my program to have my son, and then continue. However, the hiccup came when I was in this sort of limbo. I requested to stop being charged tuition because I was refining my portfolio and waiting on feedback. This process in total took me a month which I didn't deem as fair to pay if I had no mentor support. Once I stopped paying with the agreement of Thinkful, it seems services died down. It took 2 months to get full access to career support and by then I had already landed my first job offer.
     
    So while there are issues that could be addressed, that doesn't mean Thinkful failed me. It only means things could be improved as all systems could. Thinkful is a good boot camp and provides flexibility in which course to take as well as financially. 

  • Scott Fontenot  User Photo
    Scott Fontenot • Environmental Protection Specialist • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I'm a student at Thinkful's Flexible Web Development program. I'm about a month into the 6 month curriculum. Prior to this, I had taken a handful of coding courses online with Codecademy, Lynda.com, and CodeSchool. I also took advantage of Thinkful's 3-week prep course on Web Development prior to officially starting the FlexWebDev program. If you are on the fence, I do recommend taking this prep course, it's not very expensive to start and it gives you an accurate assessment of what the 6 month program would be like.  The course material seems to be a healthy combination of active/passive learning. You are never alone in your learning. You have access to a mentor for 1-1 discussions, there's several slack channels to seek out help or review. There's also workshops and Q and A sessions, all thorought the day making it accessible to someone like myself who's stuck at a 9-5 job during the day. Overall, I'm happy and satisfied with Thinkful and would recommend their services.

  • Blake Sager  User Photo
    Blake Sager • Node Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:


    TL;DR: Thinkful’s flex web development program helped me land a dev position within 40 days of graduating. While I do think the program could improve in a few areas, I still think it is well worth the time, money, and effort.

    There’s a lot that could be covered in this review but for brevity’s sake, I’ve chosen to focus on the curriculum. Let it be known that the Slack community, QA sessions,  Mentors, and Career Services team are all incredible.

    I started Thinkful’s flex bootcamp with roughly two months of development experience under my belt; I knew what variables were and understood the basics of control flow, but had yet to build any real apps. The first curriculum module quickly got me up to speed on basic web development, and I completed my first capstone project with a reasonably solid understanding of framework-less front end development.

    The second curriculum module focused on Node and the basics of backend development. There was considerably less handholding in this module, which forced me ask better questions and sharpen my Google-Fu skills. While being able to teach yourself and google your way through new concepts is an absolutely vital development skill, I would have had less difficulty during this section had I known that the curriculum intentionally contained less information. All that being said, the curriculum was well written and successfully explained the more abstract backend concepts.

    The third module focused on React. Following the pattern established with module two, there was even less spoon-fed information and I spent more time reading the React docs than I did the curriculum. However, the curriculum does a great job explaining the topics it covers, and always links to more in-depth resources when necessary.

    The fourth and final module focused on Computer Science (CS) basics. The curriculum was really well written, but I still spent a TON of time grappling with the sorting algorithms and data structures. I completed this module convinced that I had learned absolutely nothing, but I gleaned enough knowledge to satisfy most of the CS interview questions I encountered.

    Overall, I really enjoyed the curriculum. There were a fair amount of typos and a few instances of non-functioning code examples, but most of them occurred because Thinkful is constantly updating the lessons. I’d rather have slightly unpolished curriculum than a pristine set of lessons on old tech and legacy projects.

    My one critique here is that, while the curriculum does not teach UI/UX design, all of the capstones still have to satisfy certain UX metrics. These standards may be intuitive to designers and front-end oriented students, but this was not the case for me. I am a terrible designer and having to wrestle with design principles I did not know or understand severely hampered my progress. Having said that, the program still helped me land a job as a backend developer. I'd enthusiastically reccommend the flex program to any committed student excited about cutting-edge web development.

  • Benjamin Johnson  User Photo
    Benjamin Johnson • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    # Some Good Title
     
    In June 2016 I started Thinkful's (TF) part-time web development bootcamp. I can easily and honestly say that this has been one of the better decisions that I have made in my life. Here I am one year out, employed full-time in an exciting job with enormous career opportunities with a company that treats me like I'm a valued asset rather than simply another cog in the machine. And all of this due to the amazing crew over at TF.
     
    Quick background: I did half of TF's program, dropped out (although technically I graduated early) to take a short-term job, and then after the job completed the rest of the curriculum. In April 2017 I started TF's career services. My program manager told me that I had them in the bank when I finished back in November. So when I came back this April they let me pick up as if I had just graduated the program! This is just a single example of the folks over there going above and beyond.
     
    Here's a few things that I think set TF excels and sets themselves apart.
     
    1. Cost & Financing
     
    Bootcamps can get to be very expensive, but my experience in financing TF has been relatively painless. When I enrolled in TF I was a poor college grad and because of the financing opportunities I never felt like the cost was too much of a burden.
     
    It's no the cheapest bootcamp out there, but you get what you pay for. In comparison to going back for a CS degree, I saved thousands of dollars, and I felt like I got a good foundation on which to continue learning.
     
    2. Flexibility
     
    The primary thing that made TF doable for me was the ability to enroll in a part-time bootcamp. Sure, it takes longer (about 6 months), but this meant that I could continue working valet to pay rent while I taught myself the skills to become a developer. It's the difference between starting on your career change now and starting after you've saved up enough to take 3 months off work.
     
    It should also be noted that they also offer a full-time bootcamp, if you are able to take off the 3 months to expedite your career change.
     
    3. Remote
     
    Also, in addition to making TF work around my schedule, I could attend my meetings and do my coursework from anywhere. This made integrating TF into my life all the more simple.
     
    4. Mentorship
     
    One of the best things about TF is that they follow the mentorship model. Rather than throwing 10-20 students in a classroom with a single instructor and a few TAs, they assign each student a personal mentor, typically a senior engineer working for TF on the side (this is important! Your mentor is actually working on production code on a daily basis, rather than teaching full-time). For the part-time program, you meet with them 3 times per week. Having that personal touch to guide you when you're stuck or want to study something outside of the curriculum (gasp!) is the extra push it takes to speed up the learning process and separate yourself from the rest of the pack in an extremely competitive field.
     
    5. Career Services
     
    I have yet to see another bootcamp offer continued career services as comprehensive and effective as TF's. To be honest, I feel like Career Services is its own little bootcamp. I started Career Services April 2017 with little knowledge of how to network, present myself confidently, or make a sales pitch for myself as a candidate. 6 weeks later I had two competing job offers and I feel like I've gained the networking/job-searching skills so that next time I need to find a job in the future I will be well-equipped and confident.
     
    6. Community
     
    For being a 100% remote bootcamp, TF has a killer community. They have a Slack channel for all current students, alumni, and mentors. Usually when you're stuck on a problem there's at least one person on there that can get you unstuck quickly. In addition, TF puts on multiple workshops per week on a wide range of topics, all of which are accessible to students.
     
    Some people complain about the curriculum, but to be honest, I feel like the mentor relationships are more important anyways (TF is also very good about updating problems in their curriculum quickly). But the real learning happens from the mentors — they're the ones that show you how to teach yourself (because TF's curriculum isn't gonna be there when you need to learn the custom framework being used at your new employer)
     
    Also, online learning is not for everyone. For myself, I found that the online experience was refreshing and TF has done an amazing job of blending the automated, online approach with the personal touch.
     
    All in all, 100% worth it. Every. Single. Penny. Decide whether online mentor-based learning is your cup of tea, if you're more of a brick and mortar type then it's definitely not for you. But talk to the people there because it's a life-changing decision and Thinkful's doing an excellent job of equipping people for the next step in the their career.
  • Worth It For Me
    - 7/21/2017
    JP Earnest  User Photo
    JP Earnest • Product Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated Thinkful's Full-time Web Development Bootcamp in January 2017. 

    After spending a month working on my portfolio, resume and personal portfolio projects, I started the job hunt. Thinkful was with me the whole way.

    I started at my new job in late April 2017, doing exactly what Thinkful trained me to do. I love the company and the people (and the paycheck), and the web development work I now do.

    Do you need a bootcamp like Thinkful in order to get into this industry? Absolutely not. Everything you need to know you can learn for free. But Thinkful makes the tuition worthwhile:

    -course material is streamlined, clear and concise. You spend your study time effectively. I bounced around through online tutorials before joining. Thinkful helped me focus my efforts.

    -when you get stuck (and you will), Thinkful mentors and faculty are only a few clicks away. You will need to learn how to work through problems on your own, and Thinkful helps show you where to look or where to ask.

    -there are a lot of tools out there. Thinkful introduces you to many of them, and shows you how to develop an efficient workflow.

    -javascript proficiency is not the same as fluency. I could read and write javascript with some hesitancy before joining Thinkful. Midway through the program, it became second nature. But I didn't become fluent until tackling data structures and algorithms at Thinkful. The code review and refactoring that faculty lead me through proved invaluable.

     

    Thinkful is not perfect. It's composed of people after all. The biggest challenge I saw with it was were growing pains. A few newer faculty were not be as well versed in the course material, or able to answer your questions as well as others. But they will not hold you back. There are lots of very well-versed faculty and mentors on hand to help you through the hurdles.

    The only other criticism I found with Thinkful was in their course material. Most of it was very clear and easy to follow. But, a few places needed flushing out. Fortunately, they have been, and continue to be. Thinkful's course material is always being revised, updated and augmented. This continues being relevent after the program, since graduates maintain lifetime access.

     

    Like everything in life, you will get out of Thinkful what you put into it. I put my undivided attention into the program throughout, and focused just as intensively (maybe more) on perfecting my job application materials for six weeks afterwards. It was one of the most rewarding investments of my time and money yet.

    This is not a get-rich-quick-scheme. You cannot buy yourself a job through Thinkful. But, if you're willing to put the work in, Thinkful will deliver.

     

    Web Development job search suggestions:

    -have a blog, sharing problems you ran into in your projects, and how you solved them

    -spend time on your portfolio and your portfolio projects. Make them look good and work well. Create documention for your portfolio projects.

    -take an interest in continuously learning new skills, and showcase them in your blog and/or portfolio.

  • Christopher B  User Photo
    Christopher B • Web Applications Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was an 18-year military veteran transitioning to the civilian side after being let go due to congressional sequester budget cuts. Without any prior knowledge of JavaScript and only a basic understanding of HTML/CSS I successfully completed their 6-month course and landed a full-time position in 4 weeks after graduating at $60K+. My course mentor guided me through their curriculum focusing on topics that would improve my ability to land a job. After graduating, I entered their job assistance program and received outstanding personal support. 

    This isn;t easy. No one is going to spoon feed you the answers. You are going to have to do the work. But if you dedicate yourself to completing the course, understanding the material, and getting a job. You will be successful.

  • Mike Constantino  User Photo
    Mike Constantino • Web Developer • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First off - let me say this: I put going to pursue my four year degree on the backburner to attend Thinkful.

    I already had prior experience and a good coding knowledge, but needed direction and mentorship more than anything. I could tell from the moment I enrolled at Thinkful that everyone was there to help to their fullest capacity.

    I have progressed relatively quick through the course due to my past experience, but my mentor has been a tremendous help on advanced topics and workflow. The guy seems to know literally everything about everything.

    Additionally, Thinkful comes with a job guarantee for certain cities. The strategy they roll out to help you get the job is amazing. It forces you to make real world connections and not just shotgun your resume everywhere. While I'm not 100% in the career services phase yet, the contact I have had with them so far shows that they are completely committed and very knowledgable in what they are doing.

    I highly reccomend Thinkful even if you're an absolute beginner. The value of a mentor and a team devoted to you in priceless.

  • Sean Jun  User Photo
    Sean Jun • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    About a year and a half ago, I was like you. I was reading through these course report reviews trying to decide on which bootcamps to take. After reading hundreds of reviews (literally), I decided to take Thinkful's Full Time Web Development Course. There were couple of deciding factors:

    1. Ease of Enrollment

    While some might argue that a good bootcamp needs to be hard, I wholeheartedly disagree. I think a good school needs to be able to take someone whose level is at absolute 0 and be able to teach him/her all the skills required to become 100. For this reason, Thinkful was perfect for me. They gave me a 2-week assignment to follow, which I was able to finish with little difficulty. Then, I had some skype interviews to talk about my goals, personalities. After that I was admitted and ready to learn. However, don't let this fool you to think it's an easy course. I got employed within 2 months of graduation. That tells you how complete this course is.

    2. Contents

    Speaking of the 'completeness' of the course, Thinkful definitely surprised me. At the time of searching, Thinkful was the only bootcamp that made all of its course materials end-to-end. I'm talking about chrome extensions, skype-like video lecture room, bootstrap-themed responsive course notes that you can view from your phone, easy-to-follow lecture slides, etc. You also get life-time access to these contents even after you graduate (and they get updates as well). It's different from other bootcamps where it looks like they ctrl-c/v some notes from wikipedia or blogs into craiglist-styled webpages. If the content makers were that dedicated to creating their own contents full-stack, I knew I could trust them into making me a full-stack developer. 

    3. Mentors

    Unlike other bootcamps I was searching at that time, Thinkful offered what's called a 1-on-1 mentorship (on daily basis). I knew that I learn best when I have a person to interact with. So, I decided to go with Thinkful. Although I was only given 30-40 minutes of mentorship everyday, my mentor, Jason was very generous with time and effort. We would work on concepts, problems that I did not understand during lectures/projects. The instructors are also extremely dedicated to helping students. When I requested some 1-on-1 tutoring (other than mentorship) outside of course, everyone was willing to devote their time into teaching extra. Obviously, you have to show effort, but when you do, teachers will match your enthusiasm.

    4. Size of Classroom

    This was an important factor to me because I wanted to be appreciated as a student. I didn't want a course where I have to wait hours before someone could answer my question. At the same time, I didn't want a course where my only interaction is with a teacher (not enough pair programming experience). To me, the ideal size of classroom would be somewhere aronud 10 students. That way, you have mutual interaction between teachers and students. At the time of enrollment, Thinkful's course had maximum of 8 students (they refused to accept more due to same reason). By the end of the course, I made some life-time friends and mentors, whom I still reach out to.

    5. Career Support

    Before researching on coding bootcamps, I thought to myself, "If a bootcamp does not have a great career support, I might as well be doing a self-study." It was already intimidating to spend thousands of dollars on learning something I wasn't familar with. I wanted to make sure I get some kind of fail-safe insurance. Thinkful provided 6 months guarantee, which is a promise of full refund in case of unemployment 6 months after graduation date. Most of top-tier bootcamps didn't provide this option (probably because they wanted to advertise that they can 'confidently' place students in jobs without the 'insurance'). Truth is, getting a job isn't all about a student's excellence. Sometimes, it's really about how lucky you are. I've seen students (from Thinkful or other top bootcamps) who are miles better than me struggling to get a job for months. I have no doubt that Thinkful will prepare you to become employable by great companies, but it shouldn't hurt to have a back-up plan, just in case that takes longer than 6 months.

    As for the actual career support, I cannot recommend the program enough. Thinkful takes career support like its own course. After you graduate, you will immediately enter what's called a 'career-search' mode. You will have industry-styled agile scrum meetings every day with career mentors (these are different from your code mentors) who will help you with every career related issues--building resume/portfolio, preparing elevator talks, interview questions, etc. I felt like I was supported by the whole team throughout the day. Plus, the career team usually has pretty big network of recruiters, which was crucial at landing my first job.

    **

    That being said, I don't want to give impression that Thinkful works for everyone (that would sound like an ad). It's certainly designed for specific group of people. If you are someone who cares about all the factors listed above, I highly recommend this program. If not, there are other bootcamps (or even self-studies) that will meet your need. As for myself, it worked perfectly. I got my first programming job (working for Intel) within 2 months of graduation.

  • Bryan Swagerty  User Photo
    Bryan Swagerty • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If you're like me, motivated to pickup the skills needed to be a developer but lacking the discipline and structure to commit, Thinkful's part time bootcamp will likely be the perfect program for you.

    This truly is one of those things where you get out exactly how much you put in. Do not enroll expecting someone else to do the heavy lifting for you. Do expect to get paired with an expert mentor who is more than just an instructor, but a confidant and Jedi Master who will push you along your quest. Do expect other smart, talented mentors who offer office hours for answering anything from technical questions to industry tips. Expect to engage in a community of hungry developers in training and help eachother out. Ask questions as well as answer questions in the Slack channels from your peers (see the rubber duck debugging).

    Thinkful proved, for me, to be an amazing experience and a real game changer. Towards the end of program track I began to put my resume out and apply for jobs. Derek, my program manager was very flexible allowing me to pause my mentor sessions and was really supportive, even getting me in touch with career counslors before I finished. Within a week I was landing interviews and was fortunate enough to get an awesome offer from a company where I love to go to work everyday. 

    Changing careers and becoming a developer is not easy, but it's extremely rewarding. With a little guidance and the right support, it's very doable. I recommend Thinkful to friends all the time, it's that good.

  • DY  User Photo
    DY • Front End Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enrolled Thinkful's online flexible bootcamp in December 2016, graduated in May 2017, found a Front-End Engineer job in June 2017. Overall it was a good experience and has toally changed my life. I was paired with who I think is the best programming mentor ever. We had 3 sessions every week and each session is for an hour. That being said, you pretty much need to teach yourself and learn how to learn programming. That is also my favorite part of this bootcamp experience.

    After I graduated, they gave one 1-hour session every week to chat with me about my progress on job hunting and gave me some tips on how to write a resume and how to interview. Just like learning programing, hearing someone talking about it one hour a week is not enough. To ace your interview skills you'd need to spend much more effort on it. In terms of job search you're pretty much on your own and it's definitely NOT as easy as how every coding bootcamp advertises. What I really appreciated was that after I received a job offer they were very prompt on assisting me with salary and benefit neogociations.

    Thinkful as a coding bootcamp has grown very fast in the past one or two years and they have, I think, over 100, if not over 200, programming mentors working with them. I have talked with about 15 mentors at Thinkful at their Q&A sessions. To be very honest, none of them were as great as my own mentor, in terms of knowledge, the ability of explaining things, as well as patience and attitude. So you'd have a really great experience with Thinkful if you're paired with the right mentor. But if you're less lucky when they assign you a mentor, I'd be a little worried.

    Overall, if you are willing to commit and put in very hard work, I think Thinkkful is a great place to learn coding and pivot your career. I would recommend it.

Student Outcomes


40%
On-Time Graduation Rate
84%
In-Field Employed
$63,700
Change in Salary

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
63%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
21%
Hired by school in-field
0%

Started a new company or venture after graduation
0%
Short-term contract or part-time position
0%
Hired by school out of field
0%
Out of field
0%

Still seeking a job
16%
Not still seeking a job
0%

Non reporting
0%

Salary Breakdown:

92% of job obtainers reported salaries.

Notes & Caveats:

Thanks!