thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Online, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Salt Lake City, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.62 ( 535 reviews )

Thinkful is an online school that equips students for new careers by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, and product management. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech (and even offer a tuition refund guarantee). While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s flagship programs are the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, and Data Analytics Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and daily mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can set their schedules, learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.62

all (535) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (80) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Python, Data Visualization, SQL, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date November 18, 2019
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced degree
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    November 18, 2019 - Online Apply by October 23, 2019
    January 2, 2020 - Online Apply by December 11, 2019
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    AngularJS, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$9,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/pricing/#financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date December 2, 2019
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    December 2, 2019 - Online Apply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - Online Apply by November 18, 2019
  • Engineering Nights & Weekends

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time25 Hours/week30 Weeks
    Start Date December 2, 2019
    Cost$12,900
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    An online program that will turn you into a full-stack web developer after hours. Work up from the fundamentals, write strong code, and build the perfect job-ready portfolio.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/web-development/nights-weekends/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    December 2, 2019 - Online Apply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - Online Apply by November 18, 2019
  • Product Design Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/product-design/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,650
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Anonymous • Primary School Teaching Assistant • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Are you totally intimidated by the phrase "Full Stack Web Developer"? I was too. Thinkful's entire Slack community dispelled my fears. Anytime I had a question, Thinkful was there to point me in the right direction. Anytime I was worried about career options or needed further support, Thinkful was there. My mentors were all engaged and helpful, and when (due to scheduling conflicts) I needed to switch to a new mentor in my first few weeks of the course, the mentorship manager was immediately on it to get me the connection I needed. The career services team is up-front, kind and thorough, and I have every confidence that they will be able to place me in the right network as I move past graduation. 

  • Rashad Bayram  User Photo
    Rashad Bayram Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I tried to study by myself, i tried to study with tons of free resources out there ... but it did not work for me. Conceptually with Thinkful you are still learning by yourself, but with one huge difference, there are always either mentors or/and Q&A sessions available for you when you need them. This makes learning process less stressful and demotivating when you stuck. This lets you move forward and not to procrastinate. Thinkful model is very good fit for those who works full time, has family and other things in their life at the same time and also wants to learn Full Stack :). Go for it! you won't regret it.

  • Great Course!
    - 7/30/2018
    Tanner G  User Photo
    Tanner G • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I started off with basically no coding experience at all and was a little nervous starting from scratch - but from day one everyone at Thinkful alleviated those concerns! It starts right from the basics and builds on top so even a beginner can do it if they work at it hard enough. My program manager helped introduce me to the way the course works and is always checking in to see how I'm doing, and my mentor is invaluable in helping me along with the technical side of things. I would definitely reccomend this course to other people like me who are looking for an alternative to college or for anyone wanting a change in careers.

  • Michael John Kessler  User Photo
    Michael John Kessler • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The biggest obstacles to my decision to learn coding, statistics, and data science had been lack of a functional curriculum and access to knowledgeable staff who can guide, counsel, and assist when I get lost or stuck. Thinkful's Data Science program has provided both. 

    The curriculum is well structured. Not only does it offer easy to understand examples of every lesson along the way. But it also increases the complexity of those examples and slowly introduces concepts into the code that you as a student have to go figure out for yourself, which as it turns out is a critical component of surviving in the tech industry. 

    Having access to regular Q&A sessions online augments the bi-weekly hour long mentor sessions that keep my on track and progressing toward each milestone. Perhaps in time, the Data Science program will have more industry professionals who can give more Q&A sessions like is present for Full Stack students. 

    If you want to learn but simply lack the infrastructure in which to learn, this "boot camp" is a solid move. Its cost is reasonable and will likely pay for itself in the first year alone. The community is full of hopeful, intelligent students who are all just trying to break into a growing, lucrative industry. And the lessons themselves are very challenging while keeping you near to guidance that has kept me going when I thought I would never be able to grasp some of the concepts and code. 

  • Andy Ly  User Photo
    Andy Ly • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This has been a very good experience in pushing me to take a step out of my comfort zone. Along with going to Meetups to meet up with other fellow coders, I also get good practice mock interviews with those experienced in the field. The assignments themselves point you in the right direction and it's built step by step. 

    Some issues is that parts of the course may be out of date or recommended resources link broken/out of date. Though, I find the next couple days that a new lecture is added to cement more of the concepts. 

    Instructors are very knowledgeable and tend to know a lot of tips and tricks. I had two instructors, one that is newer, but had a lot of zeal for teaching which I enjoyed. After the introduction phase, was introduced to an older instructor where I have a little more trouble associating with. 

    Currently still taking the course and working on my serverside capstone project.

  • Christopher Whiteman  User Photo
    Christopher Whiteman • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    tl:dr;

    I enrolled in Thinkful's full time web development program in Feburary and graduated in July. I am currently about to go into the careers phase of the program, but I already have one job interview scheduled for next week (they had actually been telling us to begin to apply for jobs about after 14 weeks into the program). My overall experience with Thinkful has been very positive and I would recommend them to anyone seriously considering an online bootcamp to learn full stack web development.

     

    The details: (for those of you considering Thinkful)

    I'll try to write this in a way to be as helpful to prospective students as much as possible. A lot of it may be me just rambling about my personal experience, but I hope it will be useful for prospective students.

    About me- I taught myself how to code for roughly a year before entering Thinkful and had completed a significant amount of Free Code Camp. This meant that I had a head start and found the boot camp relatively easier than other students, many of whom found the boot camp very challenging; quite a few struggled and dropped out. With this said my experience of the bootcamp is going to be more relatable to people who have prior self-taught experience. I also strongly recommend people considering boot camps who don't have any prior coding experience to spend a few months teaching themsleves before considering a boot camp- this comes with multiple benefits: firstly, you actually know very well whether or not this is what you want to do (sounds silly but you'd be surprised how many people just jump with both feet into boot camps), secondly you will be leagues ahead of your peers- and this actually puts you in a good position because the curriculum is designed around the average student and if you are above average, you are performing well and in a comfortable position and... thirdly this will improve your chances of getting not just a job- but a better job outside of bootcamp since you will be far better than you would've if you went through the boot camp without experience. FreeCodeCamp is a great place to learn on your own.

    Applying to Thinkful & The precourse

    When applying to Thinkful, you will schedule a phone call with a program manager who will assess whether you are a good fit for the boot camp or not (no pressure at all, just a phone call). After the phone call, you will be given access to the precourse and a mentor who you will schedule two video chats a week with to help you through the precourse. The precourse teaches basic HTML/CSS/JavaScript knowledge/skills that you will need to begin your journey in the bootcamp with. At the end of the precourse, you will have to undergo a technical evaluation that judges your coding ability, for our cohort of students this came in the form of 5 JavaScript coding problems to solve within an hour (this is how Thinkful ultimately is able to gauge whether a student has a shot at succeeding in the full-time bootcamp or not. This is very important to other students really, because you will be working with other students and you want to be working with other students who aren't going to hold you back... many other boot camps don't even control the quality of their students and let them be weeded out during the boot camp rather than prior to it, so you can consider this a sign of a good boot camp). 

    First Two Weeks

    The first two weeks covers REST API and jQuery- you will make your very first project at the end of the two weeks. The instructor for these two weeks really convinced me that I had selected the right boot camp, he was perfect. The assignments he provided were well thought-out and fool proof yet with enough challenge that a growing developer could improve on.

    Weeks 3-7

    This week included a 1 week break, so really it was just 4 weeks. These 4 weeks were about learning Node.js and database technologies such as PostgreSQL and MongoDB. This is the part of the course that really picks up, and unfortunately our cohort in particular seemed to be the subject of testing for a new node curriculum (I might be wrong, but it seriously felt that way). The instructor would edit the assignments we were working on... on the day of it while we were working on it. This caused quite a bit of frustration in the students despite the instructor's ability to teach. Despite that, we all came out learning everything we needed in these 4 weeks (except a lot of students still felt uncomfortable with PostgreSQL, this resulted in almost all students favoring the use to MongoDB in later projects instead, a large part of this to blame is that many students faced technical difficulties during the PostgreSQL week).

    Weeks 8-9

    This week is dedicated to learning React.js, an advanced front-end web development framework. Many students truly enjoyed this part of the course as they liked coming back to the front-end and doing many cool things with it. I personally found it a challenge since I had used jQuery for so long, unlike other students whose minds jQuery was beginning to slip out of since they had only used it for roughly a little more than a week. For an experienced jQuery user, React can take some time getting used to.

    Weeks 10-11

    These two weeks are dedicated to creating your very first full-stack project. You will do everything from front-end to back-end; the structure of your database, how the server communicates with the client (visible web page), the design for it... everything. This is the point where afterwards we saw a huge amount of students drop out of the program from our cohort. This is really the part of the program that is the true test to see if you currently have what it takes (and if you don't manage to succeed, it probably just means you need more time to learn, but the boot camp isn't going to wait for you). Thankfully for those students who felt they needed more time after these two weeks, they were able to swap over to Thinkful's Flex program rather than drop out, so they could continue the boot camp journey at their own pace instead.

    Week 12

    Break week~ a lot of students used this time to keep polishing their projects and review.

    Weeks 13-14

    Data Structures & Algorithms- This is where you learn computer science fundamentals and coding challenges that job interviewers may pick your brain about. This is the part of the curriculum that gets you ready for interviews at even heavy-hitting job interview companies. The instructor for this part of the curriculum was a really tough instructor but an outstanding one. She would single students out and call them out to present their work and/or their thoughts about how to solve a particular coding problem. I'm pretty sure she scared the living heck out of a lot of students but we all loved her for it- she was an outstanding instructor as she was also a tough one.

    Week 15

    This week is dedicated to your 3rd capstone project- a full-stack project that uses a data structure to create a learning-based application using spaced repetition theory. You will be assigned a partner for this project who you will then divide the work up with.

    Week 16

    "Flex Week"- during this week you can choose a technology that you personally would like to learn (perhaps your specific area has lots of jobs for Python for example and you want to learn it). Many students opted to learn React Native, which allows React developers the ability to create mobile applications for both Android and IOS simultaneously.

    Weeks 17-19

    These Three weeks are dedicated to working on the final capstone project. Our cohort was divided into teams of four. During this time I got along really well with my partners as we created our most polished project yet. Our project not only included a web application but also a mobile application. I felt very good about these three weeks.

    Weeks 20-21

    These two weeks are dedicated to getting ready for the job hunt. You will work on and finalize your portfolio in these two weeks and submit the portfolio for review and get ready to graduate.

    Overall, my experience at Thinkful was a great one and I fully don't regret spending the large amount of money on it. I feel confident and ready to start a career as a web developer... and I have my first job interview just a week after my graduation!

  • Molly Jean Bennett  User Photo
    Molly Jean Bennett • Frontend Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I come from a humanities background and began the Full Stack Flex program with almost no coding experience at all (just a handful of CodeAcademny lessons a teeny bit of HTML/CSS familiarity). Like a lot of people here, I was initially suspicious of intensive online learning. I thought if would feel transactional and impersonal. And at first, I struggled with how to best use the time with my mentor. But as I progressed through the course, I  became more comfortable with my mentor and extremely grateful for his expertise. 
     
    I’m a big fan of Thinkful’s project-based approach. While many of the lessons felt sparse at first, I was always able to deepen my understanding while building out a full project. In addition to the (essential) mentor sessions, Thinkful offers lots of ways to get help on projects, like a very active Slack community and frequent video chat Q&A sessions with professional developers. 
     
    Most important, for me, was Thinkful’s IRL Portland community. Throughout my time in the program, I was able to meet up multiple times per week with other Thinkful students for dinners, workshops, and study sessions (both Thinkful-organized and informal). While all of Thinkful’s coursework is technically online, this additional local community provided me with an essential support system and resources for further learning. 
     
    If I were to do it all over again, I probably would have put in more time self-studying HTML, CSS, and JavaScript fundamentals prior to starting the course. Because I was only working part-time while in the program, I hoped to finish at an accelerated pace, but ended up needing the entire six months. Other than that, though, I have no regrets. I finished Thinkful with a strong portfolio and a totally new skillset. I was pleasantly surprised by how interesting my work was to potential employers. I interviewed at a number of local companies and received an initial offer three weeks after graduating from Thinkful.
     
    Just this morning I just signed an offer letter for my first job in the tech field—a full-time frontend dev position at a small creative agency—and I'm very excited to begin this next chapter!
  • Joanne Lin  User Photo
    Joanne Lin • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I chose Thinkful over other online progams because of the mentorship, the community and the cost.  Thinkful delivered in those aspects!  I was paired with a great mentor who walked me through the lessons when I got stuck, I attended any Thinkful event I could and met other amazing students, mentors, and Thinkful staff, and I didn't have to pay an arm and a leg to pursue a different career path (There's a scholarship for women!).  I was able to find a job before my graduation date!

    Unlike the web development bootcamp, I would say that prospective students should have some background in statistics and programming before coming into the course, or be willing to put in the additional time to learn more.  (This is probably true in any data science course.)  Before becoming a Thinkful student, I had a decent background in statistics and some (mostly self-taught) coding experience in Python.  My last job was doing data analysis.  Because the field of data science is so broad, there is a lot to cover. The more you can bring into the course at the get-go, the better.  And this include time!  I personally would not have been able to do this course while having a full-time job.  

    Also, data science as a field is relatively new and constantly changing.  Thinkful's data science lessons, while robust, only scratch the surface of what is out there.  This is why the project-oriented nature of the program is so important.  Working on projects allows you to put what you learned into practice and expand on the course material.  Having a mentor to guide you offers another way to learn beyond the material.  While data science concepts are important, one of the most important things you will learn in this course is how to Google effectively and how to troubleshoot your code.   

    You do not need to enroll in a data science bootcamp to become a data scientist.  There are plenty of resources out there that are less costly.  It depends on your learning style!  I knew I would benefit from a mentor that could talk me through difficult concepts and hold me accountable when progressing through the course.  As someone who struggles with networking, I knew it was important for me to pick a program with a supportive community.  This community eventually got me a job offer!  For me, Thinkful was the right choice. 

     

  • They Came Through
    - 6/27/2018
    Ian Avery  User Photo
    Ian Avery • Software Application Developer/Analyst I • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The curriculum was tough, and at times I either wanted to quit or thought  there was no way it was going to work out, but I kept at it and sure enough, 2 months after graduating I landed a job as a Software Developer. I had absolutely no coding experience prior to the bootcamp, so that really shows the quality of the curriculum and the dedication of the Program Managers, Mentors, and Career Services people.

  • Sam Gould  User Photo
    Sam Gould • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If you can afford to take the time to commit 5 months to the program, I strongly recommend it. The two aspects of the program that I think helped me succeed throughout my time as a student and now as a graduate were the length, and the community.

    For an immersion program 5 months can feel like a long commitment, but it allows you to dive deeper into the concepts that may not come as easily to you. I found that at various times throughout the program certain people in my cohert were putting in more time depending on how confident they felt about a given concept. Also the longer program allows you to produce on more projects in various group dynamics (solo, partner and small groups of 4 or 5), which is extremely helpful when interviewing for jobs. I found that potential employers were as interested in hearing about my experience of balancing work on a team of 5 people, as my technical experience.

    Also, I can't emphasize enough how impressed I was with the online community that Thinkful creates. I've grown to be quite close with the members of my cohert as we worked through this program together. The daily live classrooms and partner programming made me feel like I was never alone even if I was learning from the comfort of my own living room. The mentoring Thinkful provides, also helps to make the online experience feel very approachable.

    I will acknowledge that it took a certain amount of financial privilege to be able to take 5 months off of work in order to attend their engineering immersion program, but if you have the flexibility and passion for learning software development then I strongly recommend attending Thinkful's Engineering Immersion Program.

  • Quang Nguyen  User Photo
    Quang Nguyen • Software Engineer • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I did not have much coding experience before attending thingful. I enrolled in full-time course which is intensive. I was struggling in the beginning as I was not very comfortable with pair-programing and fast-pace setting, but I tried to adpat quickly. I learned a lot from this program and could not believe that I could build React full-stack applications in a short amount of time. Capstone projects only allow one week to build with your classmates but it really helped me improved a lot of skills from planning steps, drafting wireframes, to creating components. My debugging skills also improved siginifcantly. Another nice thing about full-time course is I could access TAs everyday as we were doing daily assignmnents so it really saved me a lot of time debuggings. Their instructors are extremely knowlegable and their program manager (Theresa) is doing great job to support students in any aspect. Finally, their career service (Stephanie) is really helpful when it comes to the huting job phase, she provided me a lot of good tips on job search. However, in order to suceed in the course, you need to put in a great effort but you will see compound rewardings soon!

  • Grayson Gilmore  User Photo
    Grayson Gilmore • Software Design Engineer II • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Thinkful from Jan-May of 2017. To be honest, I had a lot of prior programming experience, which may not be typical of a bootcamp seeker - but the fine people at Thinkful always went out of their way to adapt to my needs. The curriculum was always well designed and executed, but parts of it were too simple for me, so they found ways for me to expand my knowledge. The mentorship system really sets Thinkful apart - I've been to dozens of meetups in Seattle and met with students from several other bootcamps and I always felt extremely grateful to have attended Thinkful rather than any of these other schools. That said, when I graduated Thinkful had not yet developed deep enough partnerships in the Seattle area so I found the job search long and excruiciating, though eventually successful. My job coach was wonderful and always did everything she could for me, but the market was really tough, and a lot of companies won't even look at juniors with CS degrees, let alone bootcamps. I stay in contact with my job coach and she assures me they are working hard to improve their connections in this area so future students should have a much easier time. If you are a prospective student in the Seattle area, make sure to ask about their progress on this front. You will get a great education and the staff will do everything in their power to motivate you and keep you on track, but help getting a foot in the door will make a world of difference.

  • Nick Bingham  User Photo
    Nick Bingham • Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The flex full stack bootcamp is hard to do remotely but worth it. I worked full time and put in about 15 hours per week and finished in 12 months, well beyond the 6 months.  I think you finish in 6 months if you work park time, not full time. I learned the MERRN stack (MongoDB, Express, React, Redux, Node), but I lucked out with a mentor who really pushed me to make architectural decisions in my apps, to push myelf, and use webpack. I got a got a job two months after graduating at a fortune 500 company and it is honestly my dream job. I would recommend this bootcamp. 

  • Nicole G  User Photo
    Nicole G • Front End Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    If you put in the time, Thinkful will be an amazing return on investment. I highly recommend the engineering immersion program for that reason-- the teaching assistances were key to my success. We learned the MERN stack, but having some knowledge in HTML/CSS/JavaScript or another language will aid you prior to starting the course. Expect to spend 40-50 hours a week minimum studying, so try some coding on your own and make sure you enjoy it! I loved pair programming with other classmates and I found a job before I graduated.

  • Sean Bray  User Photo
    Sean Bray • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I participated in Thinkful's 6-month Flex Program and felt blown away by the results. Let me preface this by stating that I was a theatre major in college, so feel free to make any assumptions about my math ability from that. Thinkful's curriculum increases at a perfect pace to understand everything before moving on. I had several moments throughout the Bootcamp where I felt like I wasn't going to be able to grasp a topic, but without fail after 2 - 3 days learning about the topic I always came around. In short, this bootcamp is for people from all backgrounds and regardless of previous web development knowledge. After graduating I found a job working for Booz Allen Hamilton after one month.

  • Brad Garner  User Photo
    Brad Garner • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful’s Engineering Immersion program was just what I needed to effectively enter tech. The mentors and instructors were smart, experienced, and helpful. The curriculum (mostly Node and React) was fresh and relevant. And a full month of data structures and algorithms was one of the programs’s selling points for me. Thinkful taught me how to continue learning well after graduation and starting a job. 

  • Ryan   User Photo
    Ryan • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had an awesome experience with Thinkful. It was a lot of work, even more time, a lot of frustration but even more reward. 

    Chris, our instructor that led the node/express portion of the course was literally one of the best teachers I have ever had. The amount of support by the TAs and mentors is unparelleled. If you are struggling there is no shame in asking for help and help you they will, everyone that had given me their assistance stayed with me until I thoroughly understood the concept in question. I also really liked the way most of the course was put together with instructor led lectures, then you break off into pairs to practice what the lecture was about and then ended the day with help from TAs and a mentor session to cover anything still not fully understood. 

    That being said there were some things that could be improved. I really did not like the consitancy with some of the instructors using vim as a code editor instead of vs code (which is what all the students used at the time). This discrepency was very hard to follow especially when learning react. During a topic or two that was covered, I think the instructors could have spent a little more time with us during the lectures to go over concepts. 

    All things considered, Thinkful was definitely worth it in my opinion. You only get out what you put into it though! If all the resources are used that Thinkful offers (which is a lot) and you really, truley are attentive during lectures and put in the effort, the reward will definitely be a job of your choosing!

     

  • Nicci Williams  User Photo
    Nicci Williams • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am a software engineer and recent graduate of Thinkful's full-time Engineering Immersion program. I had previous web development experience, but knew that I was falling behind in terms of my modern, relevant development skills. I'd tried books, online tuts, videos and Meetups. They were helpful, but none of them worked - for me - to get me to the next level. I'm not a twenty-something, so I really didn't think a coding bootcamp was an option for someone like me. I happened to find myself in a JavaScript Meetup - and that's when everything changed!

    The Meetup was put on by Thinkful, which I'd never heard of, at the time. After talking to the Community Manager there, I decided it would be worth it to sign-up for their 2-week trial. As soon as I logged into their portal, I WAS SOLD!! The curriculum is challenging, but presented in a very managable way. It is also 100% relevant to what I am doing in my job as a software engineer. There are live Q&A sessions and workshops with experienced mentors almost around the clock (including weekends). Not to mention my designated mentors that I worked with daily, 1-on-1 throughout the entire program. We also had mock interviews after every module of the program to test our knowledge of the material and get us more comfortable with talking through the various technical questions and processes.

    Speaking of the mentors, every single person I interacted with so supportive, so passionate and so committed to my success that I was constantly reassured that this huge investment was going to pay off. I "pair programmed" with other students in my cohort almost every day, so I got to know them pretty well and we got to draw energy from one another, which helped keep productivity high. I did have an issue with one mentor. He was making an effort, but I wasn't getting what I needed from his instruction. I took it up with my Program Manager, who immediately went to work finding me another mentor. The Capstone projects and GitHub repos that we produced were definitely looked at by potential employers, so the mentors and program managers reviewed my work and made me bring it up to a certain level before I could move on or graduate.

    I was initially concerned about the 100% online format, but that concern was quickly put to rest. I never felt stuck, disconnected or alone. Between Slack and the live video sessions every day, I had all of the support and connection I wanted and needed - without ever being in traffic! But for the times I needed to be with real people, my city also offered in-person dinners, events and study sessions. So, I had the best of both worlds.

    Finally, my dedicated Career Services mentor reviewed and advised me on my resume, LinkedIn profile, portfolio, salary negotiations, interview questions, provided emotional support...everything that I needed during my job search.

    I cannot speak highly enough about my Thinkful experience! Again, it IS challenging but if you do the work and stay in communication with them; you will get everything you need out of the Thinkful staff and curriculum -- and, most importantly, you will get a dev job! About 6 months ago, I wasn't sure what I was going to do...and today, I'm living MY dream!

  • Tiani  User Photo
    Tiani • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My qualifications for this review: biology undergraduate education, no formal/previous background in coding at all, joined Thinkful's Data Science Bootcamp about a month and a half ago.

    My program search and why I chose Thinkful: I knew others who had gone through this program and talked with them about their experiences, searched Course Report for what online bootcamps were popular, discussed my questions with Jessica (one of the Thinkful advisors), and spoke with others about their experiences in other programs. I would recommend any prospective students to ask A LOT of questions to people who are just a few steps ahead of you. But, it's ultimately your decision. 

    I chose Thinkful because I liked their track record of taking people with non-coding backgrounds and ensuring they did not just learn the material, but were also confident about their newfound skills, and their ability to apply them in concrete projects at multiple stages along their course. Thinkful also has great graduation rates and job placement records for past graduates. The mentors are highly qualified (ask any program your interested what qualifications all of their mentors need to have). Additionally, I liked all of the different payment plans and potential loans that the Thinkful program offers. Other programs were not as favorable on a month to month payment basis as Thinkful's is. I also liked the idea of being able to specialize in a certain data science focus after developing the basic skills. I had some doubts "how do I know I'm chosing the right one?" and other thoughts like that. But the mentors ensured me that they would work with me, give suggestions, and that I wasn't "locked in" to a specialization after I've chosen one. It might take more time to switch specializations, but the benefit of potentially learning a bit from two might even give me a uniqueness about my background that could be favorable on the job market. Additionally, I hear you get multiple mentors in Thinkful (one program manager, one mentor (who you meet with 2x/week 1:1), multiple Q&A leading mentors, etc..That's a lot of attention, which I think is so essential for an online program where you could just otherwise be a name on a course enrollment list. 

    Overall experience so far: I'm glad that I learned the basics of Python while I was working. In my downtime, I went through Codacademy's free Python modules and got about half way through before starting at Thinkful. That helped me have confidence that I could track with the coding logic for at least the beginning. This helped me go through the pre-course faster than otherwise because there aren't as many interactive lessons for those initial drills as there are in Codacademy. I was thankful for the instructions that told you not to spend more than 20-30 minutes on a CodeWars challenge. That brought a lot of relief to me because I knew it was ok to ask questions after trying a bit on my own. I recognize that my biology background has helped me understand the statistics, research proposal and sampling rationale curriculum so far, but the material is challenging and I get stuck at times on the challenges. Drew, my specific mentor, is superb. He has helped me on this journey and I look forward to what I'll learn as I continue. 

  • John-Alexander Hall  User Photo
    John-Alexander Hall • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    After veering away from a career in web development, I was looking for a bootcamp program that taught me how to leverage python for data science. Thinkful's online model was great for me, as I was looking for a flexible curriculum that I could complete at my own pace and in the comfort of my own home. I also really enjoyed the idead of having a mentor that I could meet with 3 times a week and email as I saw fit. Going through difficult concepts with a mentor who has years of experience in the field made the process that much easier. Thinkful also has lots of learning opportunities throughout the week hosted by various mentors. This course curriculum was definitely the highlight of the program for me, providing a high-level, holisitic view of what can be done with the available data tools. This high-level view was augmented through conversations with my personal mentor, other students and other mentors. 

    One thing that did leave me slightly disappointed concerned the career services section of the course. I expected Thinkful to provide a list of hiring partners, but I think, due to my east coast location, it was slightly more difficult for them to do so. However, I adhered to their guidelines on how to approach the hiring process and things still ended up working out. 

    In summation, I really enjoyed my time with Thinkful. I learned a great deal about how to leverage the available tools for data science and it made me job ready. 

  • Matt  User Photo
    Matt • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful provides a content-rich, supportive learning environment that is designed to help students flourish. I graduated from the full-stack flex program, and came away with the skills, confidence, and connections that would have taken me years to develop on my own.

    This owes to the strength of Thinkful’s staff, curriculum, and student support.

    • Staff: As a Thinkful student you are provided a wealth of dedicated people to help make sure you’re meeting your learning and career goals. Your mentor is your primary guide—in twice weekly one-on-one meetings, they’ll help you squash bugs, offer new explanations for tricky concepts, show you best practices, or just offer encouragement as your work through a difficult project.

      You can also drop in on Q&A sessions that will let you ask questions live to an expert, or just eavesdrop on other people’s programming questions. Or check out the various Thinkful slack channels. There’s always someone around to help.

      Your project manager is the connective tissue for your Thinkful experience. They’ll check in to make sure things are going well with your mentor, give you a heads up on events, help you set check points, and chase down answers to non-programming questions you have.

      I don’t yet have experience with this, but you’ll also get a career mentor who will help you polish up your job materials. (I gave it 5 stars below because I'm required to put something there. I'll come back and edit this if something unexpected happens.)
       
    • Curriculum: Before Thinkful, I checked out a number of other online resources. Thinkful’s curriculum is, far and away, the best I’ve seen for web development.

      The writing quality is, generally, superb. Each section lays out key ideas plainly and with plenty of examples. And most of the units offer multiple, well thought out interactive coding exercises along the way.

      I appreciated the focus that the curriculum offers. On my own, I tended to jump around from topic to topic, learning the same concepts over and over from different sources, or in slightly different ways. Thinkful’s curriculum makes sure you’re constantly learning something new, while reinforcing fundamental concepts.  

      Some of the later sections could use a re-organization. When I went through the course, the section on Node.js seemed to jump around a bit, offering high level overviews of JS Promises, and then not returning to do anything with them until much later, for example. The content was solid, it just came in a strange order.

      The final unit on data structures and algorithms isn’t quite on the level of the other sections. Here you’ll find yourself going outside the curriculum (or bugging your mentor) to really gain an understanding of the ideas.
       
    • Student support: Thinkful does a lot for its students and will find a way to make sure each student can fully leverage its resources. I found the mock interviews to be a really enriching experience, for example. When scheduling those, I was offered the calendar of over a dozen different interviewers, so I could pick the exact day and time that worked for me. When I wanted to switch mentors – just because I wanted to try out a different learning style – my PM listened to me, and made it happen within a day. The various people in the TF community have made sure to include me in all sorts of opportunities—from assisting with in-person instructional sections, to setting up career meetups, to just hosting hang outs.


    Thinkful has been a truly rewarding experience for me, and I hope it can be the same for others.

  • Anonymous  User Photo
    Anonymous • IT Coordinator • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Can't help but wish I had the opportunity sooner. Thinkful provides an incredibly deep and diverse, community experience that supports all of the students with becoming a developer. After shopping around amoungst the other 'bootcamp' styled programs, I decided on Thinkful for this exact reason. 

  • Kayla W.  User Photo
    Kayla W. • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Warning: this is a long review. Skip to TL;DR if you don't care to read it all.

    Attending Thinkful's Engineering Immersion program was definitely one of the best decisions I have made for my career. Everyone in the organization truly cares about your success. I was fortunate enough to have the support of my employer to make this career switch, but even if you make the leap on your own, Thinkful adequately prepares you to be EMPLOYABLE in less than 6 months. This review will be for the full time program.

    TL;DR - The tech stack is top notch and relevant for what the market is looking for. You also learn soft skills that make you a great developer - perseverance, curiosity, patience, working on a team. The full time program is tough and you will doubt yourself over and over but if you stick with it and utilize the wealth of resources around you (mentors, TAs, slack channel, office hours), you WILL be successful and you WILL find a job.

    THE PREP

    You begin with 3-4 weeks of prep material to get you up to speed on HTML, CSS, git and Javascript. The prep course will give you base level knowledge so that you can pass the technical evaluation. It's self paced, but will have "milestones" that you need to complete to be ready to join the next cohort. A new cohort begins every 5 weeks. Therefore, there is no need to panic if you don't do well or feel like you need more time. You also have a prep course program manager and a mentor that you meet with 3 times a week during the prep course. Sidenote -- what other bootcamp gives you a mentor BEFORE the program actually begins?? Mentor support at Thinkful is truly remarkable.

    THE TECHNICAL EVALUATION

    Once you complete the prep course, you will schedule your technical evaluation that is held with one of Thinkful's mentors. Everyone does it differently but it essentially will gauge if you have a handle on the basic concepts to be ready for the rigor of the bootcamp. Be prepared to discuss concepts and do some basic coding challenges. Don't worry -- your program manager will give you a study guide. It won't be on anything that you did not cover in the prep course. After you pass the tech eval, you'll do another interview that's essentially a culture fit. They want to make sure you'll work well with other students. Pair programming is a central part of the full time program.

    MODULE I: JAVASCRIPT FUNDAMENTALS

    For me, the first two weeks of the program felt like getting hit by a truck. No lie. I knew it would be hard but it was super fast paced. We worked on a lot of exercises to get used to git then dove into object-oriented programming, jQuery and hitting APIs from the front-end. I think there was an API project sprinkled in there too. It's all a bit of a blur since we went quick.

    MODULE II: SERVER - NODE, EXPRESS, MONGO, POSTGRES

    After a relatively quick unit in Javascript, OOP and APIs, we moved along to server-side code. It seems like a lot of people struggle with this part of the curriculum simply because the backend isn't sexy. There's not really any instant feedback like there is on the client-side. Personally, I loved it since I have a data background. Anywhoo, after 5-ish weeks on the server, you'll do your first big capstone that should showcase your knowledge of RESTful APIs. 

    MODULE III: REACT, REDUX

    Back on the front-end, you'll learn about React, the Javascript framework developed by Facebook and used by many companies (i.e. AirBnB). The market is HOT at the moment for developers with knowledge of React, so pay attention! (haha) In all seriousness, React is super fun. As someone who struggled a bit with jQuery, it was cool to work with a framework that gives you instance feedback without manually reloading the page. You also will dive into Redux, which is a library that manages your application's state.

    Thinkful does a great job at introducing you to tools that modern Engineering teams use to manage large codebases (you MUST maintain the state of your application SOMEWHERE or there will be CHAOS! ^_^)

    After about 4 weeks learning React and Redux, you'll be paired with someone to do a Full Stack Capstone, marrying what you learned about Node.

    MODULE IV: DESIGN WEEK

    Chill, fun week that gives you a bit of a "break." You learn about design concepts like typography, layout, and color schemes. Here, you'll get a start on your portfolio and receive feedback.

    MODULE V: COMPUTER SCIENCE FUNDAMENTALS

    The last type of formal instruction that you get as an EI student is a crash course in computer science fundamentals -- they fit Data Structures (i.e. Arrays, linked lists, stacks, queues) and algorithms (sorting, searching etc.) into about 2 weeks of material. It's A LOT. But don't panic. This stuff is hard and they want to prepare you for the inevitable white-boarding interview that you may encounter during the job search. It's important to be able to intelligently talk about WHY you solved a technical problem a certain way and what the performance benefits and/or limitations are (Big O notation). Though many companies are shying away from the traditional white-boarding interview, you still need to be prepared to talk about technical concepts. You'll be able to practice during this part of the course with mock interviews (sidenote: there are mock interviews throughout the duration bootcamp but this one is supposed to be more challenging of them all).

    You'll have another capstone centered around algorithms at the end of this unit. This one was probably my favorite because of how much it made my brain hurt (ha). Struggle ====== GROWTH.

    MODULE VI: FLEX WEEK

    Pick a technology and you have a week to learn about it. Don't pick a low-level language like C -- there simply isn't enough time. Most students do a different front-end framework like Angular, React Native or Vue. The goal of flex week is to figure out how best you can learn new technologies on your own. That is honestly 80% of the job as a developer. Speaking as someone who has only been working professionally as a developer for two months -- i've had to learn so many new concepts in a short period of time. However, it's no longer daunting because Thinkful floods you with information until you figure out what works for you (everyone is different). 

    MODULE VII: FINAL CAPSTONE, CAREER SERVICES

    After flex week you'll be working on a larger team (about 3-5 of your classmates) to do you final capstone! This is a 3 week project where you'll get a taste of what it's like to work on a real development team. You'll no longer have your instructors or mentors to hold your hand. You're mostly on your own except for your team lead that is a Thinkful mentor and he or she will just make sure your team is on the right track. This project should be impressive (you have 3 weeks!) and you'll each have some sort of role -- Project Manager, design lead etc. etc. It's hard work and almost identical to what you'll experience as a professional.

    After that, you take a week to finalize your portfolio and submit it for feedback, after which CONGRATS, you've graduated. I was lucky enough to have a job before I graduated, so I can't speak about career services other than they make sure to get you ready to apply for jobs. They guarantee that you'll find a job or you get your money back -- that's how confident they are.

    IN CONCLUSION

    Making the leap over to the tech community is the best decision I could have ever made for my career and I'm truly grateful that I was able to attend Thinkful. Not only have I forged awesome relationships (the Thinkful communities in D.C./LA/NYC/ATL are very active!), I now have skills that nobody can take away from me.

    Good luck!
  • Tom Lam  User Photo
    Tom Lam • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The mentors in the program have a lot of experience and knowledge to pass on. I feel I have learned more in these 3 months of taking the program so far than I have ever learned in my life. There are certain times where you can find yourself stuck due to the difficulty of the material but your mentor will always be there to help you get out of that hole. 

  • Peter Benvenuto  User Photo
    Peter Benvenuto • Student • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Honestly the educational experience with Thinkful has been amazing. I'm close to finishing the course and I never thought I could be this comfortable after a regular bootcamp. I was actually supposed ot go to a 9 week immersive bootcamp here in Toronto, but 9 weeks feels too quick and I decided to choose Thinkful because you get 6 months ot learn concepts that are foreign to beginners. I have very little previous knowledge havign completed a prep course for another bootcamp. The curriculum forces you to do research to figure problems out on your own because that's how you learn. My advice for anyone joining is the course materials are there to guide you into finding a solution, do yoru own research online, and in the Slack community it really helps you undertsand what you're doing. 

  • Shannon Callahan  User Photo
    Shannon Callahan • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I guess being as the first deaf student within this bootcamp. My first impression was their resources and expectations. Even if there were some bumps along the way, but they were more willing to figure out the solution. My progress with this bootcamp is at the hard place right now, but there is plentiful support from peers, mentors, and teachers. I could not imagine myself doing some self-taught without any support. I would recommend you to check this out and give it a try. 

Student Outcomes


36%
On-Time Graduation Rate
88%
In-Field Employed
$70,500
Change in Salary

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
69%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
19%
Hired by school in-field
0%

Started a new company or venture after graduation
0%
Short-term contract or part-time position
0%
Hired by school out of field
0%
Out of field
0%

Still seeking a job
12%
Not still seeking a job
0%

Non reporting
0%

Salary Breakdown:

86% of job obtainers reported salaries.

Notes & Caveats:

Thanks!