thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Atlanta, Austin, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boston, Boulder, Charlotte, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hartford, Houston, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Madison, Memphis, Miami, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York City, New York City, Oakland, Online, Orlando, Orlando, Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Portland, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, San Antonio, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.59 ( 594 reviews )

Thinkful is an online bootcamp that equips students for new careers in the world’s next workforce by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, product management, and digital marketing. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech. Thinkful also offers a tuition refund guarantee for qualifying courses. While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s programs include the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, Data Analytics Flex, and Digital Marketing Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students can join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.59

all (594) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (92) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week18 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Flex

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn the technical skills needed to build an audience, create a brand, and drive sales. Study with a flexible, online schedule, a personal mentor, and peer groups. Professional career coaches guide you with networking advice and personalized resume tips to help secure a high-income marketing role.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Immersion

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest way to launch your marketing career. Create campaigns and analyze results as you learn relevant, up-to-date technical skills. Showcase your knowledge with an interview-ready portfolio that stands out and earns job offers. Enroll now, and pay nothing until you’ve graduated and landed a job.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options:
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Flex

    Apply
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Break into tech as a project manager. Learn how to plan, schedule, and budget in a business setting while developing the leadership skills for long-term career growth. A flexible format that works around your schedule, with industry mentors and career support until you’re hired.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Immersion

    Apply
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date September 7, 2020
    Cost$9,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest path to a project management career. Learn to leverage the tools used by top employers in this full-time, online course. Work through a project-based course that builds your portfolio with the support of industry experts, a rigorous curriculum, and paired workshops.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    September 7, 2020 - Online Apply by August 17, 2020
  • UX/UI Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    In PersonFull Time50 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,150
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn career-ready skills in research, web design, and teamwork on your path to a high-paying role in UX/UI. One-on-one mentorship, interview prep and community support take you from newbie to hired and beyond.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Shared Review

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 5/20/2019
    Timothy  User Photo
    Timothy • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am currently in Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program, and I'm very happy with my decision. I was initially planning on doing a local in-person bootcamp. I wanted the face to face mentorship and the opportunity to have an immediate network of local partners. I decided to go with Thinkful primarily for two reasons (aside from being able to keep my day job while I learn...):

     

    1) Mentorship. I have learned a ton by meeting with my mentor twice a week. And since it is a self-paced program (unlike a structured local bootcamp) I'm not held back by the class when I easily understand a concept, and I'm not rushed past a concept when I am slower to understand it. Also, I have a regional advocate, a project manager, that helps with bigger picture things, and helps support a local community of learners.

    2) Job guarantee. Although I feel confident that if I put in the work that Thinkful is preparing me to enter the industry, I don't need blind faith. Thinkful is transparent about its outcomes, and reports are released by a third party (CIRR). Basically, if you can graduate, you are extremely likely to find a job. The caveat seems to be that because the barrier to entry is low for Thinkful, a lot of people don't make it through the program (roughly half). I am committed to taking it seriously and putting in the hours, and I am on pace to graduate on time. Even if I can't find work upon graduation (which I don't think will be the case), I am guaranteed my money back.

     

    This program is not easy, especially while working a full-time job and being a father of two young children. For background context, I have a B.S. degree in Science, and have been putting in pretty close to the 25 hours a week to keep nicely on pace for the 6-month graduation.

  • Good Experience
    - 12/13/2019
    Rabia Omer  User Photo
    Rabia Omer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    First, I recommend this program to anyone looking to start his/her career in data science. You just need to be a person who can fulfill his/her commitment, and follow a clear time management plan.

    In addition, I would like to highlight the following:

    • The curriculum is great for the fundamental stage, but after reaching more advanced topics, it started to become not enough, you are required to do a lot of self-learning out of the curriculum using everybody's friend "Google". It could be part of their plan to encourage your self-learning.
    • They have Q&A at different times of the day. You can come up with your questions and they can help you by guiding you to the answer.
    • You need your mentor twice a week. It is more than enough, and the best way to ask more complicated questions which require a longer time of guidance and discussion.
    • The school is not taking it easy, they are very strict about the quality of your work. They really work on pushing you to learn and provide quality work.
    • They have good and experienced mentors who can support you during your learning journey. In addition, they have a slack channel where you can post any questions or inquiries and they are efficient in providing answers if it is during day time

    I just graduated a few days ago, and I am getting ready to start my job search journey. Thinkful has a tuition reimbursement guarantee if you follow their requirements and did not get hired within 6 months of graduation.

  • Yes and No
    - 11/21/2019
    Courtney  User Photo
    Courtney • Technical Writer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I chose Thinkful because I felt it offered the best comprehensive education in web engineering. After studying on my own for about 6 months, I decided to make the educational (and financial) investment to speed up my learning.

    Some facts about me:

    • Went through some tutorials on freecodecamp.org and codecademy before enrolling
    • Full-time employee (40+ hours a week)

    One thing I can say, plan accordingly. The program is extremely rigorous (which may or may not be subjective) but depending on how you're paying, money can be highly motivating. I was offered an opportunity to transfer to the engineering n&w program and happily accepted as my discipline for learning on my own waned as topics became increasingly advanced.

    Speaking of the curriculum, it was wonderful to have a roadmap to learning. That was one thing I found convenient vs piecemealing and combing through Reddit and other people's perspectives on what to learn next. However, I agree with a previous comment about maybe breaking up the information more. It would also have been nice to have a collection of links to outside sources that spoke to the content I just spent over an hour working through. Oftentimes, you'd read through the content and then be tasked with problem-solving or using concepts/techniques you did not cover in reading. I've heard this is normal and the sooner you get used to it, the sooner you'll gain confidence. If you find yourself being someone that needs additional help whether conceptual or specific, take time to figure out how you learn and how to research answers you need. Googling is really hard if you don't understand how to phrase your search. People in the slack channels are extremely helpful and I'd also encourage joining other Slack workspaces for coding. There are a lot of people who are more than willing to help. Mentors are great, as long as again, you already know what you need help with and you get on with your mentor. If you don't feel comfortable working with that designated person, ask for a new one. You're paying for this.

    Having the benefit of a cohort and instructors was very helpful to building structure with my learning. However, it got to a point where pair programming proved to be not in alignment with my learning style. I found more solace in posing questions in the slack channels, googling, or reaching out to my mentor.

    Just like anywhere, instructors can be hit or miss. I don't know what Thinkful pays, but you'll find some instructors tend to be more invested than others. You can tell who really cares and knows about the content vs someone who is fine with teaching but not necessarily assisting.

    Another pain point I experienced was communication. Oftentimes when I'd reach out to the needed resources, it would be days before I'd get a response. This was extremely frustrating as I reached a critical point that required further instruction/next steps. And to be honest, if you pay attention in the slack channels- many people post asking who and how to reach out to people. Unfortunately, I did not get the information I needed until I was advised my loan ran out and I would need to re-enroll. (I have not graduated yet). I take full responsibility for my part in this, as I could have better planned for contributing factors. However I did reach out, repeatedly, and didn't hear back until it was too late. I'd encourage anyone to make sure you plan ahead as best you can to determine if your circumstances qualify for some sort of leniency.

    Even with these qualms, I still feel like I was and am getting a quality education. Despite not being enrolled, you retain access to the course material - check the FAQ page. That's a huge benefit.  I appreciate people, like admissions counselors, keeping in touch me. I know this is a business but, I think people become invested in your success and it's not just about the money. The more people that graduate, the more Thinkful's stats go up as a reputable place to get your education. And above all, you are paying for this education. Speak up and communicate.

     

     

  • Whitney Wallace  User Photo
    Whitney Wallace • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just completed Thinkful's Engineering Immersion 5-month apprenticeship/bootcamp (today!).  It was an incredible experience and exceeded my expectations.  Prior to starting with Thinkful, I had completed another coding bootcamp that was for front-end development.  That bootcamp was about 80% reading material, 10% watching videos, and 10% actually coding.  My comfort level, if someone had asked me to sit down and code -anything-, would have been about 15% confidence that I could do it.

    I found Thinkful and started looking into their Full Stack program (Engineering Immersion).  Immediately what stood out to me was that it was a structured program with live instruction/instructors, TAs, and mentors.  The structure was also based on collaborative programming and embracing a growth mindset.  

    Before being admitted to the program, a three-week prep course was required and a technical evaluation.  I was shocked that the 3 week prep course covered nearly everything that my previous bootcamp had taken months to do.  It was a good refresher for me, but I was also very thankful that I had some JavaScript background since this prep course was so intense.  

    The program itself was highly rigorous and very time intensive.  I graduated on-time and received nearly perfect scores on my graded assessments - but that required me to put in about 60+ hours a week doing my assignments and readings, practicing the parts I didn't understand, and putting extra effort into my capstones.  But it was completely worth it!

    In my opinion, one of the most successful parts of Thinkful's program is their use of paired programming.  Now, at the end of the course, I am graduating with well over 500 hours of paired programming experience.  Not only is that one way I was able to get such a deep understanding of what I was learning, but it also helped hone my collaboration skills in the context of a development environment.  Paired programming helped me learn from and teach many different styles, attitudes, and personalities - which I feel like is invaluable. 

    The technical interviews at the end of each section were also a huge highlight.  It helped me take everything I was learning and synthesize it into words.  It has prepared me for the job search and given me an extra confidence boost that I can answer those questions.  

    The capstone projects were an eye-opening experience.  They really gave me that vote of confidence that I could actually DO what I was learning.  And that was only possible because every single day I was coding with a pair.  Not reading, not watching videos, or watching someone else code.  I was in the thick of it, sharing my screen, working with another human, trying to understand and solve problems.  When it came time to put all of that knowledge together and do the capstone projects, I was ready and excited!

    Thinkful has very few flaws, in my opinion, and has been an incredible experience.  One flaw that I ran into was the use of Mentors.  I have talked to many of my cohort members that have had incredible experiences with their mentors, but unfortnately my experience was very lack luster and a waste of time.  I look forward to Thinkful giving mentors a little more structure so that when students need help, they can get it.  However, the TAs that were available every afternoon were INVALUABLE.  The amount of time they would take to explain a concept - even using props, playing cards, drawings, etc to help illustrate a hard concept - was truly amazing.  So many of my successes were built off of a TA taking the time to work with me when the concept was first presented.  

    All in all, I would recommend Thinkful to anyone who has a strong work ethic, who has that drive to reach their goals, and has the time to commit to the program.  I would recommend doing some free coding/JavaScript lessons so you don't feel like your feet have been swept out from under you when the prep course comes along.  Along with many things in life, the program is what you put into it.  And if you put in 100%, you'll get an incredible education experience with job-ready skills.

     

  • Ben  User Photo
    Ben • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have just graduated from Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program with high accolades for the most part.

    Firstly, I was working full time when I started the program, so the very fact that the program is offered online was a tremendous selling point for me. That being said, It's not the kind of commitment to take lightly. The good people at Thinkful make a point of saying right from the get-go that it will be a serious undertaking to which you must devote many many hours a week if you are to make any progress.  

    Their model is really efficient and highly professional. The bi-weekly mentor sessions are an invaluable resource, and my program manager was tremendously helpful with any issue that would come up. If the mentor you are assigned turns out to not be a good fit, they will assign you a new one right away. It happened to me, and my new mentor was great and helped me through to the end.
    Outside of mentors sessions you have Thinkful's slack channel where you can ask for help on your project from qualified technical coaches. It's a good option for when you're on a pause period to catch up and mentors sessions are not available. 

    The curriculum and its sections are well crafted and they walk you through it at eye level. The non-programming related tools like the LinkedIn and resume guides they provide are also extremely valuable and go a long way even long after graduation. 

    The few things I felt they could improve is the layout of the actual material. Incoporating more visual aids just to break the monotony of walls of text would go a long way for me. The curriculum is really heavy on the reading, and if you have ADD like me it gets tiresome to try and keep your brain sharp during long studying sessions, especially after coming home from your day job. Not everybody would feel the same as me, just one man's opinion.


    Overall, I highly recommend Thinkful's web development program if you can afford to make the commitment.

  • Christina  User Photo
    Christina • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I found Thinkful to be well worth the money. It is such a great investment into your future! My main reason for choosing Thinkkful was that it was online, yet you still had support from mentor meetings and office hours. I never felt overwhelmed, since I knew that I had such a great support system. I did this while working full time, which is exhausting (you definitely have to put life on hold), but well worth it. I was able to master in demand skills that helped me land a software engineering position before graduation. The salary increase alone paid for the program several times. If you stay focused, which your mentor is there to help with, and put in the work, then you will be successful in the program. The course helped me gain confidence in interviews with thier set of mock interviews throughout. I think that was one of my weakest areas at first. By the end, I was a pro at selling myself and showing off all of the skills I have obtained. If you are interested in web developmet, I highly suggest Thinkul! 

  • Alexandra  User Photo
    Alexandra • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My prior skill level:
    None. I have a BA in History and an M.Ed in Special Education. The closest I had come to coding were the kids coding challenges on code.org.

    Why I chose this program:
    I used Course Report to review several boot camps and decided on Thinkful because of its price compared to others and its job guarantee. The deal is that if you don't find a job within 6 months, you'll get a refund. When reading the fine print, I found that you have to meet a lot of requirements in order to qualify for the refund, such as make 8 phone calls and apply 2 places a week (or something like that). I was okay with that though, because I know that's what it takes to find a job in a new field. It's a good incentive to keep pushing. I also found out that if you finish before the 6 months are up, you can get a prorated refund for the time you didn't use. I wanted to take advantage of that, but the program did take me a full 6 months (and then some extra).

    Why you should choose this program:
    The most valuable part of the program is the mentor pairing. I met with my mentor twice a week for 45 minutes each session. That is the accountability I needed to go through a self-paced program. I feel this is much better accountability than assignment due dates like in academia. Any problems I had with an assignment, I knew I would be talking through them with my mentor soon. Other boot camps didn't seem to offer this level of partnership.

    Curriculum:
    I don't know how the curriculum compares to other programs, but I can comment on the pedogogy. One of the most difficult aspects of any curriculum is creating a Transfer of Knowledge. This means being able to apply your newly learned skill to a new situation. Many of the Thinkful assignments require replicating a process with a different dataset - much like how Math is taught. The problem with this is that if there is any difference between what you have learned and what you are asked to do, you could get stuck and become frustrated. At times, I found myself copying and pasting Python code from the lessons in order to complete an assignment without understanding what was happening. While I know this is part of the learning curve, it did affect my final capstone when I couldn't understand why the code I copied and pasted from Stack Overflow wasn't working. I wasn't able to transfer what I learned in the program to new pieces of code. It seems like this is a problem for coding in general, given how much copy-and-paste-code there is in Stack Overflow. It's only if you're lucky that someone explains their code step-by-step, which enables you to understand where in the process you went wrong. This is something you should keep in mind regardless of what boot camp you choose. 

    Job Placement:
    I just started the "Career Services" part of the program this week, so I can't comment on that. I haven't found a job in the field yet.

  • John McGowan  User Photo
    John McGowan • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am about halfway through the course and am liking it pretty well. Strong points have been finding the right mentor and communicating with technical support- getting the right people to help you through difficult concepts makes a giant difference. 

    The curriculum at times jumps abruptly from subject to subject (somewhat expected given the 6-month span), which makes it hard to tie subjects together and learn cumulatively. My advice here is to click EVERY link to additional resources when provided-this info is much more helpful and central to helping you learn course material than it would initially seem. 

    Overall, I enjoyed it, but since the target audience is people with little to no prior experience in programming there could be a bit more clear explanation of the code written in the curriculum for students to reproduce the results. 

  • Sean McManus  User Photo
    Sean McManus • Data Analyst • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am going to endevour to be objective in the review and point out Thinkful's pros and cons. 

     

    Pros:

    - Cheap
    - Self paced
    - Introduced to a broad range of topics (...but at low depth)

    Cons:

    - They do not hold on to their more talented staff for very long as they underpay and under deliver on promises about workloads. I lost my mentor half way through due to Thinkful's inability to provide him with a steady stream of students. Instead they decided to funnel students to individuals who didn't even know the code the curriculum was written in. They do have a handful of awesome mentors, but many are just not up to the job and as I mentioned, the good ones don't always stay around that long.
    - I hate to say it, but the curriculum sucks. Things are not explained in any depth, there's typos, mis-statements. The math is never addressed. Some of the assignments are completely non-sequiter. Many of the lessons end abruptly once you get into the meat and potatoes of the content - often with a glib: 'That's enough for now! We don't want to go too deep here!'.
    - They take on way too many low quality students - their personell resources are strained due to the fact that they use their platform as a cash cow. Many of the technical (non-mentors) assume the students are bumbling idiots, and they're a reason for that. Can make group sessions difficult if you're engaged and knowledgable. 
    - Employement rates are kind of attrocious...about 1 out of 3 people who start end up with a job.
    - Horrible marketting campaigns that encourage prospective students to 'Quit your job!'

    Now despite all of this, in the aim of being objective, I did learn a fair amount from Thinkful (not without quite a lot of extra work being put in outside the course load). I was offered a job before graduated and never ended up finishing the actual course (context: I also hold a PhD). I am inclined to believe I would have learned just as much by paying for a private tutor and teaching myself from other online resources (many of which Thinkful points to when the going gets tough)...overall I would not reccomend Thinkful. It can provide some useful resources at low resolution to motivated science and math graduates but i'm not sure the value for money is really there. 

  • Got a Job
    - 9/28/2019
    Steve  User Photo
    Steve • Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had a little bit of coding experiance before taking the Full Stack Flex program and I enjoyed my time and learned a lot. The carriculum will give you enough to learn the basics and most best practices but if you aren't a self-learner Thinkful might not be the best fit for you (or really any bootcamp). I felt confident that I could teach myself coding but took this program because you don't know what you don't know and it gave me clear direction on what to learn and what was important to know to get a job, and I think for the most part it does that.

    Cons:
    My first mentor was not very knowledgable. That mentor only mentored people through the first month of basics and my understanding is that some people don't make it past that point so I think they try to save money by hireing less experianced mentors when students are early in the program. My mentor sessions basically just consisted of him checking my questions on stackoverflow. I learned nothing from him. I don't know if this was normal or I just happened to get a bad first mentor. It would be helpful for Thinkful to make sure all of their mentors have more experiance, even when a student is in the begining of the program.

    The curriculum I went through was, in my opinion, really deficent in front-end testing. If you want to do any legitimate front-end testing you will have to teach yourself. It also does a terrible job of giving the student a good idea on what good front-end unit testing coverage would look like. I understand that the curriculum can only go so far in 6 months but i think this is the only place in the curriculum that really falls flat and doesn't set the student up for success.

    Sometimes it felt like it took forever to get assignments graded and sometimes I got the feeling that little effort was put into the grading. I'm not sure that any grader ever actaully reviewed my capstone code and I suspect they spent maybe 10 minutes mindlessly going through the rubric. You'll get a few UI suggestions and they look for accesability isues but I didn't learn anything from the graders that made me a better coder. It would be much better if graders gave more feedback on code and checked for codeing best practices and also spent time to tell you what you did well. It's frustarating to spend a month on a project and the grade comes back with basically just, "Good job" as the only comment.

    Pros:

    My second mentor was great and incredibly knowlodgable and I learned a lot from him and I think his experiance alone was worth the price of the program.

    Now that I have a job in software development I can say that the curruculum did prepare me well for a job. But with that said, you do have to be a self-learner. The curriculum will give you the basics and will point you towards what you need to become competent but you will have to challenge yourself with your capstones to learn new things.

    I think I may have just gotten lucky but I got the first phone interview for the job I ended up taking the same day that I officially graduated. Talking to other students a result like that is not typical, but most did get a job in the field within 6 months.

    Thinkful is online but it did have a lot of resources to take advantage of if I got stuck on something. Most hours during the day there is someone online that can answer questions and help you out. I never felt like I was stuck and had no one to talk to.

    I never felt like I was doing busy work or wasting time. I was always learning and felt like Thinkful was getting me ready for the job field as quickly as possible.

    Disclaimer: Thinkful offered me a $15 dollar giftcard to write a review

  • Engineering Flex
    - 9/28/2019
    Jared   User Photo
    Jared • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Engineering Flex course. It wasn't quite what I expected going into it. It is a lot of information and a lot of reading going into it. Also, there will be some outside studying you need to do to really grasp the concept. Overall I found it really helpful and am really thankful for the course as it taught me a lot! The best thing about the course is definitely the mentor sessions or a least the mentor I had. He was very helpful and would go out of his way to make sure you understood the concepts. 

  • I'm doing it!
    - 9/27/2019
    Steven  User Photo
    Steven • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am currently halfway through the Engineering Immersion program offered by Thinkful and I am absolutely blown away by how much I have learned and retained in the passed 8 weeks. I have learned several different libraries and languages in order to further my goal as a developer. I am getting ready to start learning Computer Science algorithms and building my capstone projects! Everyone around me including the teachers, my mentor, the TA's and other students are extremely helpful and collabrative. That being said, do not take the warnings lightly. I spend on average 50-60 hours every week for this class and treat it as a full time job plus some. However, if you can handle the work load, you will walk away feeling supported, valued, and happier! If you're on the fence give it a try! They offer a free trial period! 

  • Not for Everyone
    - 9/27/2019
    Jaycee B.  User Photo
    Jaycee B. • Director of Financial Aid • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    As much as I loved what Thinkful had to offer, I can now say that Engineering Flex program was not for me. As an older learner, I felt that the curriculum could have been better written which is why I am giving it 1 star. Many details of whatever subject matter you are on feel like they are left out or not fully explained. 

    The best analogy I can give is, imagine if you were enrolled in a Driver's Education program. The program gives you online lessons that talk about getting in the car, putting your key in, starting it, using turn signals, and then it talks about the Automatic transmission and outlines all of the different gears. It then leaves you with a short description on transmissions like 'Automatic transmissions are the most common transmissions in cars today. There is also a manual or stick shift transmission available but we will discuss that later.'

    The lesson continues to talk about when to use your turn signals, when to put your car in Drive instead of Low Gear, and then discusses seatbelts or something else related to driving the car. When it comes time to actually drive the car, the lesson presents you with a vehicle, you get in, start it, then come to realize that it's a stick shift/manual transmission. You then have 30 minutes to google the solution on how to drive a stick shift. That's where a lot of my frustration came from. 

    I've shared my feedback with the Thinkful staff and they were very responsive but unfortunately, the curriculum can't be changed overnight. That said, that isn't to say that this isn't a good program. For applicants with some prior coding knowledge beyond simple HTML and CSS, this is a great program. For people that are new to coding, I strongly recommend getting a foundation from other coding resources before enrolling because you will always feel behind the curve especially if you are trying to complete this program within the six months on the Flex Program. 

    I have since withdrawn from the program to pursue an in-class program that caters more to my learning style. My last issue is with the refund policy. The policy states in the student catalog that a student may be eligible for a refund after the trial period but when I pressed the finance department on this, they said that I wasn't eligible for a partial refund because they don't calculate refunds on a per day basis. That should be clearly stated in the school catalog. 

    In closing, I'd like to thank my Program Manager and my Mentor for being patient with me and for their encouragement which is why I gave an overall rating of 3 stars - they were the ones that made this learning experience bareable. 

Thinkful Outcomes


N/A
On-Time Graduation Rate
78%
In-Field Employed
$60,450
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 9 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
77.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
22.2%

Could not contact
0.0%

Salary Breakdown:

100% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Read the full Thinkful CIRR report here

Thanks!