thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Atlanta, Austin, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boston, Boulder, Charlotte, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hartford, Houston, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Madison, Memphis, Miami, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York City, New York City, Oakland, Online, Orlando, Orlando, Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Portland, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, San Antonio, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.59 ( 581 reviews )

Thinkful is an online bootcamp that equips students for new careers in the world’s next workforce by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, product management, and digital marketing. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech. Thinkful also offers a tuition refund guarantee for qualifying courses. While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s programs include the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, Data Analytics Flex, and Digital Marketing Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students can join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.59

all (581) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (90) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week18 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Online Apply by May 25, 2020
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date June 1, 2020
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 1, 2020 - Online Apply by May 4, 2020
  • Digital Marketing Flex

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn the technical skills needed to build an audience, create a brand, and drive sales. Study with a flexible, online schedule, a personal mentor, and peer groups. Professional career coaches guide you with networking advice and personalized resume tips to help secure a high-income marketing role.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Immersion

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date June 1, 2020
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest way to launch your marketing career. Create campaigns and analyze results as you learn relevant, up-to-date technical skills. Showcase your knowledge with an interview-ready portfolio that stands out and earns job offers. Enroll now, and pay nothing until you’ve graduated and landed a job.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options:
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 1, 2020 - Online Apply by May 18, 2020
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$9,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by May 11, 2020
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,650
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Flex

    Apply
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$6,750
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Break into tech as a project manager. Learn how to plan, schedule, and budget in a business setting while developing the leadership skills for long-term career growth. A flexible format that works around your schedule, with industry mentors and career support until you’re hired.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Immersion

    Apply
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$9,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest path to a project management career. Learn to leverage the tools used by top employers in this full-time, online course. Work through a project-based course that builds your portfolio with the support of industry experts, a rigorous curriculum, and paired workshops.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by June 8, 2020
    September 7, 2020 - Online Apply by August 17, 2020
  • UX/UI Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    In PersonFull Time50 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,150
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn career-ready skills in research, web design, and teamwork on your path to a high-paying role in UX/UI. One-on-one mentorship, interview prep and community support take you from newbie to hired and beyond.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Shared Review

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 10/10/2018
    Rebecca Posner  User Photo
    Rebecca Posner • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm currently enrolled in Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program, and I'm really enjoying it so far!  I recently graduated from college with a minor in computer science, and I wanted to get more experience with web development specifically to increase my chances of getting a job.  I feel like I've learned lots of good coding skills since I've started, and my mentor (who is amazing!) has also given me a lot of helpful advice on interviewing and networking.  The local program manager (I'm based in San Diego) has been very friendly and she organizes events periodically so people in the program can meet in person.  

    So far the curriculum hasn't been too overwhelming or difficult for me- however, I had a decent amount of previous coding experience before I started, so your experience may be different.  The lessons are well organized, and they also provide links to many additional resources if you want more background info on a specific topic.

    Overall, my favorite parts so far are probably the mentorship aspect and the fact that the curriculum is fairly project-based, so you end up with a good portfolio of projects that showcase the skills you've learned.  

  • Good Experience
    - 2/15/2019
    Vennie  User Photo
    Vennie • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I signed up for Thinkful's Fullstack Flex program after hearing my friend graduated from the same program and landed a full-time web developer position that paid upward of $80,000 a year. Having no prior knowledge of programming (and no full-time job), I decided to jump into the coding industry and see if I could make a career out of it.

    Thinkful's cirriculum and course materials are rigorous, well-planned, and full of information for beginners. I was assigned mentors for each different unit, and they really do care about helping you succeed. There is no hand-holding though, so most of the time I'd have to either research, or use their free Q&A sessions to come up with solutions if I was stuck. Do note that the courses are not easy, and will definitely become a challenge once you get to the full-stack phase.

    From my personal experience, 20-30 hours a week is definitely NOT how much time you have to invest, regardless of what Thinkful says. I ended up spending around 35-40 a week just to be more confident about what I learned. Also, having a good mentor is the key to success in this program. Some of the mentors are not as trained or knowledgable in teaching, so it could be detrimental to your learning experience. Definitely switch mentors if you feel like you're not understanding the material.

  • jeffrey Hoglen  User Photo
    jeffrey Hoglen • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

      I have been learning with Thinkful for the past three months and it has been amazing. I was nervous first starting because I havent wrote any code in over ten years. But with your mentor and program manager always there to help there is nothing to worry about. The community itself is great and with the slack channel you can get help around the clock. Making the decsion to study with Thinkful is one of the best ones I have ever made. 

  • Perfect for me
    - 1/25/2019
    Clayton Weller  User Photo
    Clayton Weller • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had experience in the tech industry as a marketing guy, and I decided I'd rather make things than tell people about them. 

    I taught myself webdevelopement for about 3 months before deciding on a boot camp. I chose Thinkful's Full-Stack Flex program because it was remote, at my own pace, and the offered a refund if I didn't get a job in the industry within 6 months of graduating.

    I really liked my mentor (who I did code review with twice a week), and I wound up finishing the program ahead of schedule. I credit, learning on my own before starting as a big part of that. I highly recomend doing some video courses before you start so you can hit the ground running.

    Also, they started doing more in person stuff about half way through my program. They're actively seeking to improve. 

     

    Just got a job as a software developer. Totally worth it.

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 1/14/2019
    Travis Callahan  User Photo
    Travis Callahan • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've been trying to learn how to code for some time now, as I have gone through some of FreeCodeCamp, Harvard's CS50, as well as a JavaScript course on Udemy. Although I learned a lot utilizing those free resources, it was frustrating when I would get stuck on a problem and couldn't find a way out. Frustration quickly led to demotivation, and I found myself questioning if a career in programming was really for me. I then realized that although I had gotten quite far on my own, I absolutely needed some sort of rigid structure for learning how to code, if I seriously wanted to change my career. So, I thought about the idea of attending a bootcamp. After doing extensive research on coding bootcamps, Thinkful seemed like the best option due to high reviews, a job guarantee, and the ability to still maintain my full-time job, as I'm enrolled in the Full Stack Flex program.

     

    Upon enrolling, Thinkful pairs you up with both a Program Manager as well as a mentor. The PM is responsible for overseeing your graduation plan and makes sure you are on track. The mentor is (usually) a seasoned developer that you'll meet with twice a week via video chat. In addition to these resources, you'll have an entire community of mentors and students alike that you have access to via Slack. There are also Q&A sessions that you can attend where you can share your screen with a mentor and ask any questions or try to fix a program that you're working on. 

     

    Whereas I would get stuck and demoralized when I was on my own, it's nearly impossible to get stuck and stay stuck with all of these resources at your disposal. Oh and by the way, if for some reason your mentor doesn't work out, Thinkful will pair you up with someone else. It didn't work out with my first mentor as he was often late and straight up no showed me one time. My second mentor, however, has been nothing short of stellar. 

    The Full Stack program is broken up into a few parts:

    • Web Development Fundamentals (Intro to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and jQuery)
    • Asychronous client-side apps
    • Server-side programming (Node.js)
    • React
    • Computer Science Fundamentals

    After each section, you will be required to complete a capstone which is a program that reflects what you learned in that section. You'll also conduct a mock interview where one of the mentors (also via live chat) will ask you behavioral and technical questions in addition to asking you to do live coding exercises. You are required to pass both the capstone and mock interview in order to advance to the next phase.

    The curriculum is very, very reading intensive. I wish that there were some videos to go alongside the material. But even so, I think the curriculum is great. Sometimes you're encouraged to go out and learn about topics outside of Thinkful, and I've done just that.

    I still have a couple months left, but from my understanding upon completion you are then paired up with Career Services and their job is to assist you in finding a position as a Developer. As mentioned before, Thinkful offers a job guarantee, which you can read about on their website.  Overall, my experience has been wonderful and I think this is one of the best decisions I've ever made. I have learned an insane amount over the past few months and I am looking forward to continuing the program, graduating, and changing careers! 

    Finally, I'd like to mention that Thinkful is completely transparent about what percentage of their students graduate, find jobs, etc. If you're serious about attending this bootcamp I'd recommend checking out the below link. 

    https://cirr.org/

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 12/18/2018
    Oscar A. Reyes   User Photo
    Oscar A. Reyes • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have been enrolled in the course for about 2 months and have found the curriculum very valuable. It is definitely guided with the intention of having their grads not just graduate but get employed. The mock interviews are great because they are ensuring i'm ready for the last and final step of the application process. Q&a sessions are extremely helpful when looking for a quick fix to a problem I might have. Most importantly, the mentors are the most valuable asset to any students success in the bootcamp. I am definitely excited to continue the next unit, knowing that I'm not alone in the journey.

  • Michael  User Photo
    Michael • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overview:

    I recently graduated from Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program and I'm currently applying for jobs (will update). The program was challenging but I've learned a lot and I feel fairly well-prepared for an entry-level web developer position. I had the luxury of being able to work on the program full-time, but it still took longer than I anticipated, largely because I spent a lot of time on my capstone projects. These projects are a valuable and unique aspect of the program that teach you a lot and leave you with a great portfolio, but designing, building, testing, and styling these projects from scratch can eat up a lot of time. 

    Community:

    I was suprised that the community was one of the most valuable aspects of Thinkful. Emma, the program manager for Portland and Seattle, is amazing and puts on Thinkful Family Dinners every two weeks. These in-person events are a fun way to get to know other people in the program and often brought in speakers who presented on topics like networking, game development, and hackathons.

    The Slack community was also great and quite active. It was a useful place to get feedback and have questions answered. Q&A sessions (open online office hours) were fairly useful, but I didn't end up using them very often. There is often a line of students waiting and it often takes quite awhile to get a question answered...some sort of quota or ticket system could help make these more valuable. TJ was a standout Q&A mentor and also leads great workshops on a variety of interesting topics almost every day.

    Instructors:

    I had great mentors throughout the program. Thinkful had to switch my mentors twice for administrative reasons, which was disappointing, but I got along well with each and they were all very knowledeable. Alanna was an excellent guide through the fundamentals portion before Lawrence took over for the majority of my program. He was instrumental in helping me choose projects, troubleshoot bugs, and understand difficult concepts. Ali was my mentor for the final month of the course and did an excellent job stepping in. He helped me wrap up my final capstone and was a great help practicing for technical interviews.

    Curriculum:

    Overall, the curriculum was thorough, provided good code examples, and covered the latest development technology. I'm sure it's a monumental task keeping up with constant updates for all the tools, software, and platforms they cover, but at times, it was sometimes frustrating to run into broken instructions (especially on Windows). The material is almost completely text and code examples, which are well-written. It frequently encourages you to use official documentation, which turned out to be a great skill that served me well as I moved through the program.

    The major missing element was a search feature. The curriculum is very large and paginated by Unit, Section, Lesson, etc. It can be a challenge to find that one line you're thinking of without being able to search the whole curriculum.

    Job Assistance:

    Throughout the course, you complete mini career lessons, such as building a resume, optimizing your LinkedIn page, and how to network. These were helpful and I feel well-prepared to look for jobs. As soon as you graduate, you're paired with a career coach who you meet with weekly to check your progress and answer questions. Thinkful isn't going to necessarily find and get you the job you want, but they'll do a lot to prepare you to do it yourself.

  • Annah  User Photo
    Annah • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Overall, I had a pretty good experience at Thinkful. Thankfully I spent about 6 months learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript before starting, so I was able to get through the fundamentals section really fast which helped me to graduate on time. I know quite a few people who weren't able to graduate on time, which really doesn't surprise me since you do have to devote a LOT of time to studying and working on projects. 

    The curriculum was good but really only covers the basics, and it's all readings (no videos or anything). For example, they gave you kind of a short tutorial on React, which definitely was not enough, so in addition to that I also had to read all of the React documentation, do a Codecademy React course, and watch some youtube tutorials. But they give you enough to get started. 

    I also found the Node section to be extremely lacking, and I know a bunch of other people who feel the same about that. 

    Also, I had four different mentors. My first mentor was very good, but unfortunately they only assigned him to me for the fundamentals section. I then got assigned another mentor who was terrible and didn't even know Node or React, so I switched. I then got assigned another mentor who was great, but had a VERY strong accent and it was very difficult to understand him, so I switched again. Then my last mentor was ok. 

    But my husband, who is a full-stack developer, is the one who would help me the most. Sometimes my mentors would spend our entire session trying to help me figure out one of my problems, and they wouldn't be able to solve it, so I would have to ask my husband who would literally solve the problem is under 5 minutes. Sometimes even like 30 seconds. It was crazy. 

    The Q&A sessions are also not very helpful, and I only went to a few of them. A few times they were able to help me, but mostly they weren't much of a help. Unfortunately there can sometimes be like 6 other people in the Q&A so they have to be fast with helping you. There are definitely some good Q&A mentors though, like Luis and TJ. They're really good! 

    But overall, I definitely learned a lot. I still don't really feel like I'm that great of a developer, but I know that takes time, and I'm going to have to keep learning and doing projects on my own. I just graduated though and am hoping to find a job soon! 

  • Alex Webb  User Photo
    Alex Webb • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Very interesting course that covers a lot of ground. Excellent place to test your abilities and push yourself farther than you had before. I came in to the course with some knowledge of C#, Ruby, and JS. This course pushed me to complete projects and then improve and make them professional looking. The mentors are a nice bonus but not as valuable as the reviews and practice interviews which will test your mettle and reveal your weaknesses. If you can afford it and have some experience and are looking to get serious about web development, give it a try.

  • Web Developer
    - 10/24/2018
    Jt  User Photo
    Jt • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First of all, I'm only giving this a 2* mainly because the mentor. I first enrolled in Thinkful's flex bootcamp. It said you need about 20-25 hours a week to complete the program which in my opinion without any coding background is completely inaccurate. You meet with the mentor for 1 hour 3 times a week. Although the experience of having a mentor can be great, Thinkful makes it sound like they will always be able to help you. A lot of these mentors do the teaching as a side job and are incredibly busy with their own jobs as well so don't expect much help from them outside of the mentor sessions.

    Next, their course curriculum was pretty mediocre and can be a bit confusing (After the program I bought many Udemy courses which I thought were far superior). I was constantly using google and youtube to get a better understanding of anything and everything.

    Lastly, I believe Thinkful themselves is still a growing company and therefore vastly short on employees. When I was a student they changed the program when I was directly in the middle of it without any of my knowledge and I had to go back and complete extra parts of the curriculum. I had to go through about 3 mentors and 2 program managers which is completely ridiculous. In the end, I felt completely cheated of not only my experience but my money I paid for the program. They make it sound great and promising in the beginning but in reality I was constantly left alone talking with a few students from slack. Don't comit this much money if you can't put a minimum of 40 hours a week into this program. In my honest opinion, save yourself the money and either try a different bootcamp or buy courses on Udemy.

  • Kyle H.  User Photo
    Kyle H. • Founder • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm currently enrolled in the Full Stack Flex Bootcamp and I'm very much enjoying the process. It's tough so far, but it's been a great experience with my Mentor, Program Manager, and all the other enrolled students in the Slack groups. I always feel like I have support through the process (even late at night or early in the mornings, someone's in the Slack just like me) and I can always bounce off code or issues with my classmates. My mentor has been great, he's always available for a video/screen share and when I've been battling with something he helps me see where the issue came from but also reframes the problem and potential solutions in ways that make sense.

    I'm excited to keep working away at my course and would highly recommend this course, and Thinkful, to anyone looking to extend their knowledge or make a full pivot into something else (like I am).

  • Miguel Niblock  User Photo
    Miguel Niblock • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Hi all! Im a Data Science student with Thinkful. It's been about two months since I started the program. It's been a great experience overall.

    The application process was straightforward. My first contact with Thinkful was at a workshop for interested applicants. I had some great conversations with the people I encountered that day. They gave me access to a two week free-trial of the course. I then formally applied, had a phone interview and was admitted for the fundamentals course.

    The course has been a great match for my background, while still being challenging. I have experience as an accountant in the film industry. I had coding experience with excel and was losely acquainted with Python through some Edx courses I attempted before Thinkful. The reason why I joined is that I wanted an actual commitment, which I didn't feel toward free online courses. The first parts of the fundamentals course were a bit of a steep curve on the programming side, for me. But after I became used to the basics, everything else fell into place gradually. I had more knowledge of statistics/math than programming, so take that into consideration. 

    Ive done great advancements and am excited for the next part of the program. Im currently finishing my capstone report for the fundamentals course and Im impressed at how much I accomplished in just this past month. 

    There's an active Thinkful community in LA. I've been going to several gatherings organized by Thinkful for its students. They are aprox every other week. I've met some awesome people there and learned stuff as well, since they all have discussions or presentations. My favorite was a "Sunday Brunch and Mimosas at the Park" in West Hollywood :). 

    My mentor really makes a difference. I meet with a mentor online twice a week for 45min per session. Thinkful has its own videocall system where you can share your screen with your mentor while calling. Then I write code and follow his suggestions for improvements, etc.

    I would recommend.

  • Shane  User Photo
    Shane • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     

    I’m about halfway through Thinkful’s full stack flex program. It was the best decision I’ve ever made for myself. The curriculum is solid, but the mentors are game changers. I’ve met a handful and they are wonderful people with a passion for helping others. Don’t get me wrong, this is hard work and takes patience and discipline. It’s worth it! 

    The cost of the program may seem like a lot but I can tell you it’s worth every penny. You get a lot of bang for your buck. If I could go back in time, I would’ve joined sooner. Do it! 

     

  • Michael Crane  User Photo
    Michael Crane • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am a graduate of the Full Stack Flex program at Thinkful and would difinitely recommend the program to prospective students. The program is full of many high quality features and benefits designed to help you throughout the learning process. In addition to 2 weekly 1-on-1 meetings with a dedicated mentor, you also have access to several on-going live Q&A sessions as well as a dedicated slack channel where you can turn to with any questions or challenges you're facing. Aside from these, the curriculum is very well structured, and the program interface is very well designed, creating a smooth user experience from start to finish. Overall, I am very satisfied with my experience and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to advance their career as a developer.

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 9/20/2018
    Mohammed Almahbashi  User Photo
    Mohammed Almahbashi Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have been doing Full Stack Flex program at Thinkful for almost three months now and I have learned so many things. One of many things I like about Thinkful is their on going/live Q&A lead instructor sessions. Through out the day and night there are available sessions where students can join and as questions  or get help with their capstone projects.  Another point I like that makes Thinkful special is their weekly mentors. I meet with my mentor whose really knowledgeable and knows how to teach,  twice a week.  We go over examples  but pretty much they can answer those difficult questions that you can't find in your own or  need further explanation. I also appreciate having the slack group but want makes it special  is those local groups  where students can get together for activities or study groups. Over all, I am glad I joined them ! 

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 9/5/2018
    Rahul Vaidya  User Photo
    Rahul Vaidya • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The thinkful coding bootcamp experience was extremely helpful to someone like me with no professional experience or coding experience. I was able to complete the bootcamp while working (delivery driver) and got 4 portfolio projects to show for it. I believe this is what is helping me land interviews and code challenges. Also the mentor they pair you with is very experienced and helpful. I still stay in touch with him to this day. 

    After graduating there is job assistance that is super helpful. My coach has helped with resume and linkden (invaluable for someone with no experience in the area) and we meet weekly to discuss goals 

  • Student
    - 9/5/2018
    Dameon Mendoza  User Photo
    Dameon Mendoza • Independent Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hello World,

     

    I chose Thinkful because of Course Report. After I committed myself to learning development, I spent 3 days reading and using Course Report to get a sense of how students felt about their time in a particular program, what would fit my schedule, my budget, and what I felt I needed for resources to be successful. Course Report has all of that, so read up and see what fits you and start your coding career.

     

    To start, learning something new is going to be all about "YOU". The time you put in and  the drive you have to learn the material will be what makes this program successful for new students. Thinkful will provide the opportunity if you provide the hard work and dedication.

     

    Thinkfuls Engineering Immersion course was a daily 9-5 coding experience. Plus studying at night and at times on the weekend.

     

    Engineering Immersion provides daily stand ups lead by an Industry Certified instructor giving a material overview and explanation of the the days exercises. Paired programming throughout the days exercises to work along with someone. T.A.’s to help during the day to resolve any issues your pair runs into. One on one mentoring sessions to review and share the skills learned from the exercises, and guidance given for better coding practices. Q and A sessions that have a specific technology focus to help get in-depth answers. Workshops to introduce you to new technologies or to learn programming tricks and secrets. Program Managers that go out of their way to make sure you are getting all the resources needed to be successful and that your goals are being met. There is a lot of Active Slack channels. Some are where your group discussions turn into ideas. Tech specific channels to get late night answers. Career channels where alumni recruit new students for employment, and City channels to get to know your community of developers and hear about events in your area.

     

    After this experience, I am excited to take the next steps in my career. Here is a link to my portfolio => https://www.dameonmendoza.com

    Thank you Course Report, and Thinkful for giving me this opportunity.

     

     
  • Matthew Eubanks  User Photo
    Matthew Eubanks • Team Leader • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful has a lot of information and there are good people there but to find them you have to sift through all the mentors and helpers on their Slack channel that think you should already know everything from the curriculum. The curriculum is good for people that learn from nothing but reading. I however have to build applications to truly understand the material. I have had two program managers during my entire time at Thinkful and I have only ever spoken with my first mentor and that was only twice. The first was my introduction and the second was when my mentor quit in the middle of my introductory course. That is a total of 5 out of the 6 months with no contact. I am a project manager at my current job and if I had team members that were not on track to meet their goals I would be reaching out to their mentor and asking them why not. What is the Mentor's plan to get the team member back on track? Has the mentor talked to the mentee about their schedule and about how to help them learn? What goals have the mentor set with the mentee for this week? Did the mentee meet their goals for the previous week? If not what was missed and why? What needs to be done differently to ensure the mentee meets their goal? As a leader we have to take responsibility for everything. I am a leader and I take responsibility for not meeting all my goals but if I was the Program Manager I would have monthly skip level conversations with the mentees to ensure that my mentors are performing as expected, and that the mentees understand where they are and motivate them to succeed. I say there is a lot lacking in the Thinkful model and most of the issues come from the top down. As leaders all failure is a reflection of our leadership.

  • Michael Dolan  User Photo
    Michael Dolan • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've been a self-taught programmer for many years with dreams of taking my skills and enthusiasm into the progessional setting, so I was excited to find out about Thinkful's Full Stack Flex program. They work with you on a curriculum to give you today's most marketable skills like ReactJS and Node as well as professional coding practices you might not pick up on your own like testing frameworks and using Git. 

    Beyond the curriculum and coding practices they instill, the real power of Thinkful's program is the mentors. You get twice weekly meetings with a mentor who has a successful background in bringing web applications to market. They guide your through tough to understand content, trouble shoot with you while you are stuck and help you build and refine your projects. I looked forward to my meetings with my mentor because he could always help me get unstuck, explain important concepts and clear up misicues with patience and understanding. He also helped keep me accountable and pushed me to try more challenging things and be a better programmer. Additionally, when you aren't working one-on-one with your mentor, you have access to other mentors in multiple daily Q+A sessions on all sorts of topics, live Family Dinner events with students and local mentors/program managers and a Slack channel. 

    At the end of your time at Thinkful, you will have a personal portfolio website with at least 3 polished web applications that you built from the ground up. You'll be able to speak about your experience designing apps from the back of a cocktail napkin all the way to deployment with continuous integration. The experience is powerful and much more inline with professional experience than just doing online tutorials. 

    Finally, Thinkful offers career services that go into deep detail - whether it be updating your resume and cover letter to networking strategies. Additionally, they push you to try new strategies that you might not  have thought of or otherwise do to help you secure a job. At the end of each unit, Thinkful has you do live mock technical interviews to help you practice for the real thing. They definately do not feature push over questions- you are expected to know your stuff and perform underpressure. As someone whose only gone through standard interviews in the past, exposure to what a technical interview could be like was an extremely important part of the developer job search.  

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 8/25/2018
    Tyler Stirtz  User Photo
    Tyler Stirtz • Frontend Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful is awesome! I had a great experience. Everyone at Thinkful is dedicated to student's success and the ultimate goal of getting a job as a developer. There is always someone available to help, whether it is your mentor, another mentor via a Q & A session or a mentor or another student through the Thinkful Slack community. As an example, I was having an issue with my first capstone project late at night so I jumped on Slack and asked a question. Within seconds a mentor replied and as we chatted back and forth he realized it was a quick fix kind of problem. We ended up doing a video chat and he helped me for 2 hours (we didn't finish until 2 am his time). That is how dedicated everyone is to helping the students succeed. 

    Throughout my time at Thinkful I had 4 mentors. This was due to a scheduling conflict with one of my mentors. Thinkful is great about finding the right mentor for you if request a new mentor. 

    As far as time commitment goes in the Flex program I probably spent on average about 30+ hours working on the curriculum while working part-time. I will be honest, it is not easy and if you are working at the same time you won't have much of a social life. It is 100% worth it. I love what I do and I am really glad that I chose Thinkful.
     
    Thinkful gives you the tools you need to get a job as a developer and the skills to learn technologies quickly and efficiently. The industry changes very quickly and that is a vital skill as a developer. Overall I would 100% recommend Thinkful to anyone who is passionate about becoming a Web Developer. 

  • RC Maples  User Photo
    RC Maples • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Overall the Thinkful experience has been pleasant. I really enjoy my 1-on-1 meetings with my mentor. The feedback, guidance, and challenges my mentor present have made the program worth while. 

    The curriculum is decent, but I sometimes get lost in the assigments and reading material. I do wish it was laid out a bit differently, I think there is room for improvement in that regard. Another thing I've noticed is that you really need to pay attention to the recommended resources at the end of each lesson. Those additional resources are super hepful in driving the topic home (at least for me :) ). The additional resources are well curated, but this student wishes some of those items were integrated into the native curriculum. Chasing down external links and keeping track of all of them can be a bit tedius. 

    Thinkful offers a student Slack environment which is occasionally helpful, but you've got to be patient due to the sheer number of participants. Another very helpful 'community' type research are the open-sessions held by various mentors and Thinkful instructors. I've found that the instructors genuinely want to help you learn and aren't afraid to answer questions. I find the mentor sessions and open-sessions to be very helpful.

    I believe Thinkful is better geared towards individuals with a strong sense of self-motivation and resourcefulness. There are often times where you need to refer to various documentation and the program definetely rewards those who can find answers on their own. There is a lot of reading, which can be a bit monotonous. For me personally, I do wish there were a few video lectures sprinkled through the reading material. I think that would help tremendously - seeing things demonstrated live (or recorded) and hearing someone explain what they're demonstrating is very helpful for some learners. 

    On the whole, I've enjoyed my Thinkful experience and have seen a marked improvement and progress towards my goal. I still have a little bit left to go in the program, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to individuals looking to jump start their software development education.

  • Rashad Bayram  User Photo
    Rashad Bayram Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I tried to study by myself, i tried to study with tons of free resources out there ... but it did not work for me. Conceptually with Thinkful you are still learning by yourself, but with one huge difference, there are always either mentors or/and Q&A sessions available for you when you need them. This makes learning process less stressful and demotivating when you stuck. This lets you move forward and not to procrastinate. Thinkful model is very good fit for those who works full time, has family and other things in their life at the same time and also wants to learn Full Stack :). Go for it! you won't regret it.

  • Great Course!
    - 7/30/2018
    Tanner G  User Photo
    Tanner G • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I started off with basically no coding experience at all and was a little nervous starting from scratch - but from day one everyone at Thinkful alleviated those concerns! It starts right from the basics and builds on top so even a beginner can do it if they work at it hard enough. My program manager helped introduce me to the way the course works and is always checking in to see how I'm doing, and my mentor is invaluable in helping me along with the technical side of things. I would definitely reccomend this course to other people like me who are looking for an alternative to college or for anyone wanting a change in careers.

  • Michael John Kessler  User Photo
    Michael John Kessler • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The biggest obstacles to my decision to learn coding, statistics, and data science had been lack of a functional curriculum and access to knowledgeable staff who can guide, counsel, and assist when I get lost or stuck. Thinkful's Data Science program has provided both. 

    The curriculum is well structured. Not only does it offer easy to understand examples of every lesson along the way. But it also increases the complexity of those examples and slowly introduces concepts into the code that you as a student have to go figure out for yourself, which as it turns out is a critical component of surviving in the tech industry. 

    Having access to regular Q&A sessions online augments the bi-weekly hour long mentor sessions that keep my on track and progressing toward each milestone. Perhaps in time, the Data Science program will have more industry professionals who can give more Q&A sessions like is present for Full Stack students. 

    If you want to learn but simply lack the infrastructure in which to learn, this "boot camp" is a solid move. Its cost is reasonable and will likely pay for itself in the first year alone. The community is full of hopeful, intelligent students who are all just trying to break into a growing, lucrative industry. And the lessons themselves are very challenging while keeping you near to guidance that has kept me going when I thought I would never be able to grasp some of the concepts and code. 

  • Andy Ly  User Photo
    Andy Ly • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This has been a very good experience in pushing me to take a step out of my comfort zone. Along with going to Meetups to meet up with other fellow coders, I also get good practice mock interviews with those experienced in the field. The assignments themselves point you in the right direction and it's built step by step. 

    Some issues is that parts of the course may be out of date or recommended resources link broken/out of date. Though, I find the next couple days that a new lecture is added to cement more of the concepts. 

    Instructors are very knowledgeable and tend to know a lot of tips and tricks. I had two instructors, one that is newer, but had a lot of zeal for teaching which I enjoyed. After the introduction phase, was introduced to an older instructor where I have a little more trouble associating with. 

    Currently still taking the course and working on my serverside capstone project.

  • Christopher Whiteman  User Photo
    Christopher Whiteman • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    tl:dr;

    I enrolled in Thinkful's full time web development program in Feburary and graduated in July. I am currently about to go into the careers phase of the program, but I already have one job interview scheduled for next week (they had actually been telling us to begin to apply for jobs about after 14 weeks into the program). My overall experience with Thinkful has been very positive and I would recommend them to anyone seriously considering an online bootcamp to learn full stack web development.

     

    The details: (for those of you considering Thinkful)

    I'll try to write this in a way to be as helpful to prospective students as much as possible. A lot of it may be me just rambling about my personal experience, but I hope it will be useful for prospective students.

    About me- I taught myself how to code for roughly a year before entering Thinkful and had completed a significant amount of Free Code Camp. This meant that I had a head start and found the boot camp relatively easier than other students, many of whom found the boot camp very challenging; quite a few struggled and dropped out. With this said my experience of the bootcamp is going to be more relatable to people who have prior self-taught experience. I also strongly recommend people considering boot camps who don't have any prior coding experience to spend a few months teaching themsleves before considering a boot camp- this comes with multiple benefits: firstly, you actually know very well whether or not this is what you want to do (sounds silly but you'd be surprised how many people just jump with both feet into boot camps), secondly you will be leagues ahead of your peers- and this actually puts you in a good position because the curriculum is designed around the average student and if you are above average, you are performing well and in a comfortable position and... thirdly this will improve your chances of getting not just a job- but a better job outside of bootcamp since you will be far better than you would've if you went through the boot camp without experience. FreeCodeCamp is a great place to learn on your own.

    Applying to Thinkful & The precourse

    When applying to Thinkful, you will schedule a phone call with a program manager who will assess whether you are a good fit for the boot camp or not (no pressure at all, just a phone call). After the phone call, you will be given access to the precourse and a mentor who you will schedule two video chats a week with to help you through the precourse. The precourse teaches basic HTML/CSS/JavaScript knowledge/skills that you will need to begin your journey in the bootcamp with. At the end of the precourse, you will have to undergo a technical evaluation that judges your coding ability, for our cohort of students this came in the form of 5 JavaScript coding problems to solve within an hour (this is how Thinkful ultimately is able to gauge whether a student has a shot at succeeding in the full-time bootcamp or not. This is very important to other students really, because you will be working with other students and you want to be working with other students who aren't going to hold you back... many other boot camps don't even control the quality of their students and let them be weeded out during the boot camp rather than prior to it, so you can consider this a sign of a good boot camp). 

    First Two Weeks

    The first two weeks covers REST API and jQuery- you will make your very first project at the end of the two weeks. The instructor for these two weeks really convinced me that I had selected the right boot camp, he was perfect. The assignments he provided were well thought-out and fool proof yet with enough challenge that a growing developer could improve on.

    Weeks 3-7

    This week included a 1 week break, so really it was just 4 weeks. These 4 weeks were about learning Node.js and database technologies such as PostgreSQL and MongoDB. This is the part of the course that really picks up, and unfortunately our cohort in particular seemed to be the subject of testing for a new node curriculum (I might be wrong, but it seriously felt that way). The instructor would edit the assignments we were working on... on the day of it while we were working on it. This caused quite a bit of frustration in the students despite the instructor's ability to teach. Despite that, we all came out learning everything we needed in these 4 weeks (except a lot of students still felt uncomfortable with PostgreSQL, this resulted in almost all students favoring the use to MongoDB in later projects instead, a large part of this to blame is that many students faced technical difficulties during the PostgreSQL week).

    Weeks 8-9

    This week is dedicated to learning React.js, an advanced front-end web development framework. Many students truly enjoyed this part of the course as they liked coming back to the front-end and doing many cool things with it. I personally found it a challenge since I had used jQuery for so long, unlike other students whose minds jQuery was beginning to slip out of since they had only used it for roughly a little more than a week. For an experienced jQuery user, React can take some time getting used to.

    Weeks 10-11

    These two weeks are dedicated to creating your very first full-stack project. You will do everything from front-end to back-end; the structure of your database, how the server communicates with the client (visible web page), the design for it... everything. This is the point where afterwards we saw a huge amount of students drop out of the program from our cohort. This is really the part of the program that is the true test to see if you currently have what it takes (and if you don't manage to succeed, it probably just means you need more time to learn, but the boot camp isn't going to wait for you). Thankfully for those students who felt they needed more time after these two weeks, they were able to swap over to Thinkful's Flex program rather than drop out, so they could continue the boot camp journey at their own pace instead.

    Week 12

    Break week~ a lot of students used this time to keep polishing their projects and review.

    Weeks 13-14

    Data Structures & Algorithms- This is where you learn computer science fundamentals and coding challenges that job interviewers may pick your brain about. This is the part of the curriculum that gets you ready for interviews at even heavy-hitting job interview companies. The instructor for this part of the curriculum was a really tough instructor but an outstanding one. She would single students out and call them out to present their work and/or their thoughts about how to solve a particular coding problem. I'm pretty sure she scared the living heck out of a lot of students but we all loved her for it- she was an outstanding instructor as she was also a tough one.

    Week 15

    This week is dedicated to your 3rd capstone project- a full-stack project that uses a data structure to create a learning-based application using spaced repetition theory. You will be assigned a partner for this project who you will then divide the work up with.

    Week 16

    "Flex Week"- during this week you can choose a technology that you personally would like to learn (perhaps your specific area has lots of jobs for Python for example and you want to learn it). Many students opted to learn React Native, which allows React developers the ability to create mobile applications for both Android and IOS simultaneously.

    Weeks 17-19

    These Three weeks are dedicated to working on the final capstone project. Our cohort was divided into teams of four. During this time I got along really well with my partners as we created our most polished project yet. Our project not only included a web application but also a mobile application. I felt very good about these three weeks.

    Weeks 20-21

    These two weeks are dedicated to getting ready for the job hunt. You will work on and finalize your portfolio in these two weeks and submit the portfolio for review and get ready to graduate.

    Overall, my experience at Thinkful was a great one and I fully don't regret spending the large amount of money on it. I feel confident and ready to start a career as a web developer... and I have my first job interview just a week after my graduation!

Thinkful Outcomes


N/A
On-Time Graduation Rate
78%
In-Field Employed
$60,450
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 9 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
77.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
22.2%

Could not contact
0.0%

Salary Breakdown:

100% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Read the full Thinkful CIRR report here

Thanks!