thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Atlanta, Austin, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boston, Boulder, Charlotte, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hartford, Houston, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Madison, Memphis, Miami, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York City, New York City, Oakland, Online, Orlando, Orlando, Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Portland, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, San Antonio, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.59 ( 581 reviews )

Thinkful is an online bootcamp that equips students for new careers in the world’s next workforce by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, product management, and digital marketing. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech. Thinkful also offers a tuition refund guarantee for qualifying courses. While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s programs include the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, Data Analytics Flex, and Digital Marketing Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students can join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.59

all (581) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (91) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week18 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Online Apply by May 25, 2020
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Flex

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn the technical skills needed to build an audience, create a brand, and drive sales. Study with a flexible, online schedule, a personal mentor, and peer groups. Professional career coaches guide you with networking advice and personalized resume tips to help secure a high-income marketing role.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Immersion

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest way to launch your marketing career. Create campaigns and analyze results as you learn relevant, up-to-date technical skills. Showcase your knowledge with an interview-ready portfolio that stands out and earns job offers. Enroll now, and pay nothing until you’ve graduated and landed a job.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options:
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$9,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by May 11, 2020
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,650
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Flex

    Apply
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$6,750
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Break into tech as a project manager. Learn how to plan, schedule, and budget in a business setting while developing the leadership skills for long-term career growth. A flexible format that works around your schedule, with industry mentors and career support until you’re hired.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Immersion

    Apply
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$9,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest path to a project management career. Learn to leverage the tools used by top employers in this full-time, online course. Work through a project-based course that builds your portfolio with the support of industry experts, a rigorous curriculum, and paired workshops.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by June 8, 2020
    September 7, 2020 - Online Apply by August 17, 2020
  • UX/UI Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    In PersonFull Time50 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,150
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn career-ready skills in research, web design, and teamwork on your path to a high-paying role in UX/UI. One-on-one mentorship, interview prep and community support take you from newbie to hired and beyond.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Shared Review

  • Emet Ozar  User Photo
    Emet Ozar • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had a phenomenal experience in Data Analytics. Usually when I am taking a course "fun" isn't usually the first thing that pops up in my mind, but I really did have fun taking this course. That is probably partly because I am a nerd and data really fascinates me, but I think it is also because I enjoyed the projects and content immensely.

    A huge part of the experience was my mentor, Alicia. Not only did she help with the trickier technical aspects, but she helped me to feel really supported. I think the worst feeling when you are learning something new can be that self-doubt or feeling that you're stupid or not getting the concepts or that things are too hard. Alicia always made me feel like I could conquer the projects and master the concepts and let's be real- it feels great when someone praises you and notices the good and hard work you've done, and she was wonderful at that too!

    Overall I learned a ton and felt great about the new skills that I acquired.

  • Brian Thomas • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I started knowing nothing about this industry but have a passion for creating things and especially technology. I started the 2 week trial where they give you all the normal tools has a full time student but it only last 2 weeks. It’s a great “get your feet wet” opportunity. I’m about 2-3 months into the course out of 6 months, starting on APIs and there will be a lot of times where you will feel very overwhelmed but with the 1 on 1 mentorship and the around the clock Q & A sessions you’ll never feel alone and always have help! 

  • Corey Highland • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The Thinkful staff is quite helpful and my mentor is very knowledgable and quite experienced. After coming from a terrible experience with a different company's course (long story short -I was put in the wrong course, dropped from the program, and then billed for it) I am excited to have the chance to learn relevant technologies in a truly hands on way in the Thinkful "Full Stack Flex" program. My mentor takes the time to answer my questions in our twice a week sessions and allows me the chance to do my work and my research to find the answers before he simply gives them to me. If it is important to you to learn by doing but to have the support necessary to handle those tough questions in the difficult scenarios then enroll in Thinkful.
    I look forward to graduating!

  • Bryan Spearman • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hi, my name is Bryan.  I'm 47 years old.  I spent well over 10 years of my career in web development building simple info sites and WP sites and basically just taking advantage of the fact that web design was in high demand but the digital iq of clients was quite low.

    Then social media hit, then easy site builders came back.  The world changed quite quickly.  By this time I had hung up web development and moved into management so I let my UI/UX people worry about the tech changes.

    But along came a life changing/career changing event that left me struggling to find work in management and I decided it was time to go back to the thing I loved more than any other career path: web development.  

    But the digital world had gone racing by me during my time away from the coding chair and I was clearly not in the 'know' anymore.  I needed a hardcore update to my skill set and clearly additional coding skills that I hadn't bothered with in the past because they just weren't a necessity.  Or so I thought.

    So I turned to a bootcamp for this purpose.  I did weeks of research and digging to make sure I was not going to fall into something that cost thousands but that didn't help me reach my goal of being back in the industry and very hirable.  

    Through resources like coursereport.com, forums, reviews, articles and even talking to trusted associates of mine, what I decided on was Thinkful.com.  I needed a program that would allow me the flexibility to not relocate in order to take the course and I needed flexibile time because obviously at this age I've got a family and many commitments.  

    Aside from that I wanted the best program available (if possible).  What I learned was that Thinkful's program offered mentorship throughout the educational process as well as long-term support (if needed) after graduation to assist in finding a job.  

    Both of those attributes stood out and in fact did seem to be unique to Thinkful so I began my correspondence with them.  They were completely transparent and open about their course, the process, the benefits and even the options that exist outside of bootcamps.  I was pleasantly surprised by this and although I was pretty much ready to pull the trigger right there, I continued to ask "what if" questions of my program counselor and she never missed a beat in getting me the answers that I needed/wanted.  So after another week of 'cooling off time' to think about the decision, I felt it was my best option and I jumped.  Student loan.  All in.

    Right out of the gate I was given clear guides as to what exactly was going to happen each day/week of the course.  I was assigned a mentor and allowed to take part in setting my twice per week, one hour mentor sessions.  That for me was just pure gold.  I am person that must know what's going on and what to expect without having to go digging for it and Thinkful had that already well thought out and prepared for me.  Huge plus.

    Next I began the pre-course web basics which I moved through with considerable ease because I had years of HTML and CSS behind me, yet I found the curriculum to be extremely helpful and in fact did expose me to resources and techniques that I had not explored prior.  In addition, one of the most valuable attributes of the program for me is that each and every step of the curriculum focues on preparing you for a job interview. 

    Being in management for many years which at times required me to hire devs, I can tell you this is an outstanding feature of the program.  And it's not only training for tech interviews, it's training on interviews themselves!  I can't tell you how many people I interviewed that were uber talented but just plain sucked at interviewing. So this feature is awesome in my book.  In addition to that, after your final capstone project, you'll work on your resume, social channels, portfolio polishing etc.  Again, Thinkful being focued on your professional success after the program is clear and something I value hightly. 

    Educationally, my first challenge came as the intro to JavaScript began.  I'd never coded a single line of JavaScript and was quite nervous that I could fall behind in this section and/or possilby just get overwhelmed and regret my decision to enroll in a bootcamp.

    Not the case.  I had an unbelievable amount of resources to use for answers/guidance including my mentor which proved to be the most impactful resource of all.  Two hours each week with him was like access to a massive trove of knowledge and no topic was too trivial. If he was tied up on our off hours I simply jumped to the Thinkful slack channel where it seems that every mentor stays plugged in to and is ready to help.  I can't tell you how many mentors (that aren't my mentor of course) have helped me solve issues with my code. On top of that I attend Q&A sessions each week to either listen in or present an issue I'm experiencing.  All three of those resources have been immeasurably valuable.  

    Fastforward to now, I'm over half way through the program and I have overcome some serious challenges in terms of learning things that I knew nothing of prior, again, thanks to the Thinkful environment.  Clearly I'm not suddenly, or about to be, a senior level full stack dev but I can tell you that without this course, the self learn path for me would simply have not gotten me ANYWHERE close to what I know and can do currently.  

    I would consider myself a skilled web developer again (which is/was a goal coming into this) and most definitely better than I ever was before taking this course.  I've still got three months of the program left so the challenges of learning completely new concepts and coding continue but no question, this program has been worth every cent and every second of time that I've spent on it. 

    If you're on the fence about whether a boot camp is worth it, take it from me (a self-taught hacker that's seen a lot of evolution in web development) this is absolutely a sound investment.  Is it the end of the road?  Hardly.  It's the on-ramp.  Albeit, an on-ramp with a jetpack attached but an on-ramp.  It takes dedication, hard work, persistence and desire to attain a high level of expertise in this industry but it can be done, and even at my age.  

    In conclusion I will say that Thinkful (for me) has been an absolute dead ringer.  I can and will get where I want to go because of this program and I believe that it has to do with how their program is setup and how it aligned with my learning style and goals.  

    Hope this review helps someone as I know I needed help in making my decision as well.  Good luck!!

     

  • Adriana Suarez • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     I just finished the prep course and I can’t believe how much I’ve learned already. So far my experience has been awesome at Thikful. My mentor is a great help. There are lots of Q&A sessions throughout the day so whenever I’m stuck I just drop by and ask for help. I like it that they change the curriculum often to be up to date (yes, I was going through previous material to get ready for my first mock interview and noticed the updates) I’d totally recommend this bootcamp to a friend :)

  • Pounding Sand
    - 8/1/2018
    Mike Townley • Senior Full-Stack Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Starting out, you're eased into introductory-level skills that are considered the foundation for later learning. The problem is, those introductory-level skills have no bridge between them and the professional-level cirriculum. There's a lot of referencing students to outside online resources (even Google) to gain a grasp on concepts that should be taught by the instructor.

    I was very lucky to already have a working familiarity with HTML/CSS/Javascript and really only needed Node and React skills. The thing is, without strong mathematic prowess and an analytical mind, you will struggle in these courses. No, I'm not saying it can't be done, but these courses are designed to be fast-paced and self-reinforcing. You will rely on instructors, mentors, Slack, and other resources to the point where... I hate to say it, they just quit responding to you and leave you out to dry.

    I graduated and was declining offers through Career Assistance. Many of these "Fortune 500" companies are actually contractors looking for cheap contract employees and don't really care about a CS degree. The best offer I had was for $51,600 entry level. I make over $100k at my current job!

    Bottom line, they're a business and they're in it to make money. While my experience was mostly positive, I can spot how they prey on people wanting to be these big-shot devs with fat salaries. One gal I knew sold her car just to pay tuition, only to be continually ignored. Another gal was completely blown off by career assistance after graduating. Not good. It's bad enough this field is lacking in diversity, this program didn't help that.

    If you're tech-savvy and analytical, this would be a great fit for you. If you're looking to enter as a beginner to development and hope for a larger-than-life salary competitive with a Computer Science Master's degree; think again.

  • Shari Hobbs • Frontend/UX Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I chose Thinkful from 3 different schools and the reason it won was the flexibility of the programs offered as well as the service level from the very first email exchange. They made sure that, at every step, I was aware of my status in the program, was still fully satisfied and supported and that I was happy with my experience. I joined the local in-person community since I live in a hub city and also began assisting at the free intro classes and that really helped make my experience a well-rounded one. The caliber of instruction from the curriculum, mentors, and Q&A sessions was high in my humble estimation and the project based learning was a good fit for me. It has also translated well to my first job as a developer. The reputation of Thinkful is the last thing I'll mention here as they have built it in such a way that hiring managers and recruiters were seeking me out based solely on the fact that I had completed the Thinkful program. Overall, I'm so glad I chose Thinkful and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Chris Valle • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I started the full stack flex program at Thinkful with the intention of switching careers to that of a computer programmer/web developer.  I had very little knowledge of computer programming beforehand and was looking for a time-efficient way of switching careers while still getting a quality education.  I have to say that I am very happy for choosing to study with Thinkful.  Being that the course is over the span of 6 months, the program is intensive and challenging, but the quality of education is very good and the resources Thinkful provides are invaluable.  The curriculum is thorough and my mentor has been a huge help is helping support my learning when I get stuck.  

    I also appreciate how honest and straightforward Thinkful was before I started the course.  They told me in advance what I could expect and how much time I would have to invest.  Instead of just trying to sell the course, they accurately depicted what the next 6 months would look like if I decided to take part in the program.  The program also teaches the more in-demand aspects of programming (from what friends already in the field have informed me of) so I am definitely confident this will be a successful yet efficient way of transitioning my career.  

  • Andrea • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've been in the Thinkful full stack flex program for about a couple months now. I researched a lot of 'bootcamps' and programs before committing and couldn't be happier having landed on Thinkful. From the first interaction with people of Thinkful everyone I have worked with (mentors, program managers, other students) has been great. They always engaged with me very positively and on a very individualized, personal level. The curriculum is great so far. I had learned on my own for awhile previously, so the first month was an easier recap and now I am getting into new and exciting stuff. It's a great mix of text based learning and projects. Though parts of the program, like mock interviews and attending meetups, can be intimidating for me, I know they are incredibly beneficial for real world experience.

    Mentors and mentor sessions are great. Not only are they nice and knowledgeable but the regular sessions keep you motivated to get work done before each session. It's a good way of keeping yourself accountable for moving forward on the material (something I was struggling with learning on my own). Having all the useful Q and A sessions to access is also great as a back up resource.

    What really exceeded my expectations was my local Thinkful community (Portland, OR). Getting to meet with folks IRL on a weekly or more basis has been really positive. I thought a drawback of Thinkful was going to be the it was an "online program" but I couldn't have been more wrong. Mentors and students alike are always offering to meet up and work together. It's been really helpful to have these opportunities to again help with accountability, to learn more, and to foster a network of people in my local tech community. 

    Lastly,  a consistent thread through all of this is that Thinkful is 100% focused on getting students where they want to be...hired. It was obvious that other bootcamps just want to get tuition and churn out students and hopefully keep their stats up and only paying lip service to career help afterwards. Thinkful is not like this. Everything the do from changing curriculum, to networking with local companies, to incorporating mock interviews, to their robust career services is student first focused and I have real confidence that our goals are aligned.

  • Tony Thompson • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Learning to code for whatever reasons is a daunting task. Its intimidating and super easy to get discouraged especially if you aren't making the progress you assumed you'd have. Thinkful covers all bases for students looking to learn while focusing on a huge piece most other resources fail to aknowledge. Confidence is truly key. Thinkful does a great job exploring this competency by opening the door to an incredible network of alumni and other students who have had similar experiences while also pairing you with incredible mentors who have a clear understanding how to get you to the next level. The curriculum is written incredibly well, the team is inviting with feedback and the people are all excited to not only learn, but to teach. I think theres something to learn here from thinkful when we think about learning to code in todays world. 

  • Thinkful Graduate
    - 6/19/2018
    Derek D. • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have finally graduated from Thinkful's Flex program as a fullstack developer.  I am currently in the job search phase for a week and have already connected with several companies wanting interviews.  Even though I am not in the largest tech area of the United States I find myself feeling confident moving forward and answering questions without any issue.  I feel ready to be a developer and I will forever be in Thinkful's debt for preparing me well. I feel that their mentor program and the support of the program managers cannot be matched and gave me the support I needed to push through even when I wanted to quit.

    Thanks Thinkful

  • William Park • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have been taking the Full Stack Flex program from Thinkful and I am very satsified with the amount of knowledge, help, and support I have received these past few months. I was very skeptical in the beginning of bootcamps with the cost and all the job guarantee reports that you see, but I can assure you that it was very worth the investment. I think the mentor sessions are what sets Thinkful apart from other bootcamps. You have a mentor who is actually a professional developer in the industry help you and guide you throughout the course and it is very helpful. I am finishing up and I am very excited to start my developer journey through Thinkful. 

  • Full Stack Flex
    - 6/11/2018
    Stephanie Joy Chamblee • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am wrapping up the full stack flex program and have found a lot of value in it. It set me up well to find a job in web development. I spent about 15-30 hours on the course per week and am finishing in 5 months. The technologies are relevent and the curriculum is updated frequently. The slack channel community is helpful in helping out when you are stuck. The Q & A sessions are very helpful. The mentorship model was great to keep me on track. Definately worth the time, money and hard work!

Thinkful Outcomes


N/A
On-Time Graduation Rate
78%
In-Field Employed
$60,450
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 9 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
77.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
22.2%

Could not contact
0.0%

Salary Breakdown:

100% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Read the full Thinkful CIRR report here

Thanks!