thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Atlanta, Austin, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boston, Boulder, Charlotte, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dallas, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Hartford, Houston, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Madison, Memphis, Miami, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York City, New York City, Oakland, Online, Orlando, Orlando, Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Portland, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, San Antonio, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.59 ( 581 reviews )

Thinkful is an online bootcamp that equips students for new careers in the world’s next workforce by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, design, product management, and digital marketing. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech. Thinkful also offers a tuition refund guarantee for qualifying courses. While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s programs include the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, Product Management Flex, Data Analytics Flex, and Digital Marketing Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students can join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.59

all (581) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (90) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Visualization, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence, SQL, Python
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week18 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$12,250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Online Apply by May 25, 2020
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,990
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Algorithms, SQL, Python, Machine Learning
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date June 1, 2020
    Cost$18,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIntermediate
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 1, 2020 - Online Apply by May 4, 2020
  • Digital Marketing Flex

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$4,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn the technical skills needed to build an audience, create a brand, and drive sales. Study with a flexible, online schedule, a personal mentor, and peer groups. Professional career coaches guide you with networking advice and personalized resume tips to help secure a high-income marketing role.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/flexible/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Immersion

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Growth Hacking, SEO, Data Analytics
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date June 1, 2020
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest way to launch your marketing career. Create campaigns and analyze results as you learn relevant, up-to-date technical skills. Showcase your knowledge with an interview-ready portfolio that stands out and earns job offers. Enroll now, and pay nothing until you’ve graduated and landed a job.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Options:
    https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/digital-marketing/full-time/#pricing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 1, 2020 - Online Apply by May 18, 2020
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$9,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$16,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by May 11, 2020
  • Product Management Flex

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,650
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    This flexible, online Product Management course is built to help you start a brand new, high-paying tech career. You’ll receive a personal mentor, work on real-world projects, and benefit from career coaches.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Flex

    Apply
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$6,750
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Break into tech as a project manager. Learn how to plan, schedule, and budget in a business setting while developing the leadership skills for long-term career growth. A flexible format that works around your schedule, with industry mentors and career support until you’re hired.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Technical Project Management Immersion

    Apply
    OnlineFull Time50 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date June 29, 2020
    Cost$9,000
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    The fastest path to a project management career. Learn to leverage the tools used by top employers in this full-time, online course. Work through a project-based course that builds your portfolio with the support of industry experts, a rigorous curriculum, and paired workshops.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 29, 2020 - Online Apply by June 8, 2020
    September 7, 2020 - Online Apply by August 17, 2020
  • UX/UI Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$8,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX/UI Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    In PersonFull Time50 Hours/week20 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,150
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, San Antonio, St. Louis, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, Cleveland, Columbus, Atlanta, Austin, Baltimore, Boise, Boulder, Charlotte, Cincinnati, Dallas, Hartford, Houston, Indianapolis, Jacksonville, Kansas City, Las Vegas, Madison, Memphis, Milwaukee, Nashville, New York City, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Portland, Richmond, Sacramento, Salt Lake City
    Learn career-ready skills in research, web design, and teamwork on your path to a high-paying role in UX/UI. One-on-one mentorship, interview prep and community support take you from newbie to hired and beyond.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    ScholarshipSelf-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Shared Review

  • Shane  User Photo
    Shane • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     

    I’m about halfway through Thinkful’s full stack flex program. It was the best decision I’ve ever made for myself. The curriculum is solid, but the mentors are game changers. I’ve met a handful and they are wonderful people with a passion for helping others. Don’t get me wrong, this is hard work and takes patience and discipline. It’s worth it! 

    The cost of the program may seem like a lot but I can tell you it’s worth every penny. You get a lot of bang for your buck. If I could go back in time, I would’ve joined sooner. Do it! 

     

  • Giuseppe Messina
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    hi there,

    I am really happy with the course so far, I'm learning a lot and this is exactly what I was looking for.

    I have only one thing to share with you,

    Obviously it might be only me, but I found the jQuery section a bit confusing. I didn't know anything about jQuery and JavaScript and I think the lesson covers too many things at the same time instead of giving a step by step overview of what you can do with jQuery and how to write it.

    so, before going properly through that section, I studied all the jQuery lessons that W3s chool has to offer, I found them really helpful and easy to learn. After that, I came back to Thinkful and going through that section was way easier than before and I understood everything.

    Obviuosly I don't know about other students, so maybe it's just me, but I wanted to share this with you.

    Anyway as I already told you I really like the course so far.

    Many thanks

    Giuseppe

  • Awesome courses
    - 3/8/2016
    Glen • Engineer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have done the Front End Web Developer course and now I am doing the Angular course. Thinkful has got everything just right:

    - one on one mentor

    - course material that challenges you but you have assistance if you get stuck

    - show you how to use real industry tools like sublime text and GitHub

    - career advice

    - price: great value for money

    At the end of four months I feel confident in being able to change career path, what more can I say!

  • Rachel Lee • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    It's been great so far. The curriculum's well designed and has helped me feel a lot more comfortable with frontend development. And my mentor Ben's awesome. Period.

  • Courtney Waller • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I've been super pleased with everything. The curriculum scales in a way that is always challenging but never impossible. My mentor Marius is awesome!

  • Tucker Beauchamp • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I haven't gotten past the initial stages of the front end developer side, so my opinion may change, but Thinkful has helped me excel in my career path exponentially.

  • Frontend grad
    - 3/7/2016
    Luis P • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    As a new web developer I found the course challenging but not overwhelming. The main reason that I selected Thinkful was because of the mentorship program, which was excellent. I enjoyed having the access to someone who had experience in what I was studying and be available to breakdown problems and provide guidance to find solutions.

  • Frontend course
    - 3/2/2016
    Stella C • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Studying at Thinkful was an invaluable experience. I am really happy because I have acquired much of new knowledge and I managed to create a small portfolio, demonstrating my new skills. The curriculum is written in a very clean and simple way and you have full guidance on your projects. Of course as the lessons go by you get to work more independently but there is always enough information and online help to walk through the challenge set. People at Thinkful were really helpful and caring, from my mentor to the Slack community! I hope I will come back to a new course soon!

  • Great course
    - 3/1/2016
    Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This was a great course for me. I learned a ton and acquired a lot of best practices...plus got a few projects for my portfolio. Nicolas has been a great resource. He gave me a lot of advice and I have a lot of new ideas for my next steps based on our conversations.

  • Excellent Mentor
    - 3/1/2016
    Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Alvin was a tremendous mentor. He was patient and empathetic, but knowledgeable enough to guide me to exactly where I needed to go.

  • great program
    - 3/1/2016
    Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I am finishing up the coursework today. Marius has been incredibly helpful and supportive and a great resource throughout the course. I've had a great time working with him and will really miss our regular meetings. The course has helped me really develop my skills and gain a great deal of confidence in myself as a developer, and I look forward to attending the workshops and continuing my growth.
  • Waste of Money
    - 2/19/2016
    Anonymous
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful was a complete waste of money and time. They have little to no curriculum and my mentor was impossible to get a hold of. You might as well just go through free content on your own.

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I decided to give thinkful a try. I sure do regret it. It's just a total waste of time and money. The cirriculum is non exsistant and instead of teaching you what you need to know they refer to you outside sources and they also want you to ask your mentor for help last. What was I paying them all that money for then?

  • great!
    - 2/8/2016
    Anonymous • ruby/js developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I did 3 thinkful courses over about 8-10 months from late 2013 - mid 2014...and by the end of the 3rd course I had a fulltime job as a developer! I did the rails, frontend, and angular courses.

    They recommend 10 hours per week, but really the amount of effort you put in dictates how successful you will be. Go to office hours, hang out on slack, etc. The mentors are the biggest value and you should really try to use office hours for code reviews of your work and let your mentor tear your stuff apart. Use office hours/other channels for support and troubleshooting.

    Their courses do have things like typos, occassional missing instructions, but they are quick to help out if you get in touch. You really can't expect perfection because once you get into the industry, you'll see plenty of incorrect readmes, bugs, etc and you'll have to figure things out yourself.

    There was no job assistance when I did the courses, but I guess they offer that now. I picked thinkful because it was inexpensive, got me developer facetime when I was living in Asia and I could do it remotely. I still jump into office hours / hang around on slack because they are all really nice people and the mentors are brillliant resources who are always up to talk shop.

  • M Nickey • SMB Analyst • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My experience with Thinkful was for the most part positive. The slack community was responsive, fun and helpful. The staff was/is friendly and understanding and the ciriculum was right for me.

    The ciriculum started with the basics and then moved to more advanced topics such as frameworks, argparse, object orientated code. Knowing this was in-part why I signed up.

    All that said, I signed up was assigned a mentor and left feeling much more confident in my web-dev skills especially in python. This is a great first step for enyone looking into starting web-dev as a career but wants to have a skilllike python that will be able to be used in multiple arenas.

    When I say that the coursework is what you make of it, it truly is. If you spend time with the mentors online, ask questions and learn with their program, you'll be OK. If however you're shy or don't ask questions, you might be better off with something that's a bit lower in price. There are times that you have to bark in order to get help. This is rare but it happens.

    At the time of my graduation, I didn't receive any job assistance however the skills that I learned were able to help me land a position as a developer. Job assistance just wasn't available when I was a student.

    Pros:
    Friendly staff
    Fun content
    Current & topical information for job hunting

    Cons:
    A lot of the time, I would be pushed to read the docs, even if I had already done so.
    It did not feel the the mentor I was assigned was invested in my growth
    Project Feedback was sparse
     

  • Bruce • Software Quality Assurance
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    It is 2016,  I just spent a month stepping thru the Thinkful Front-End Development course.  While my mentor was helpful and talented,  the course-work was disappointing.  "Think of reading a book with many pages missing from the story" .   You are left with a feeling of confusion as too much essential subject matter is not provided by Thinkful coursework regarding HTML and CSS.   While the mentor can fill-in some gaps,  you must go to other websites to complete your answers to your many questions.    For a price of $300 to $1500 per month,  the student deserves more robust course materials to properly leverage their time spent with their mentor.  Unfortunately skilled mentors will not makeup for the flawed course materials.

  • Brandon • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came in with the goal of admission to a bootcamp.  When I left I had admission to RefactorU, MakerSquare, and Hack Reactor.  So I accomplished my goal. 

    I started out in their Front End Development course, but switched about halfway though to their MakerSquare Bootcamp Prep Course as it was more in line with my goal of admission to a fullstack javascript bootcamp.  Both expereinces were good.  I would recommend Thinkful, if you have a goal and want help getting there.  I took the Javascript codeacdemy course before entering and as a result I think I got more out of the javscript aspects of the course.  Along those lines I regret not also doing the HTML/CSS codeacdemy course beforehand, as I would have gotten more out of my thinkful course and my time with my mentor. 

    One of the best parts of thinkful is their indivudualized approach to customer service.  When you need help with anything and they email you back, its not a auto-generated email, its a real person.  I moved once in the middle of a course and there were very accompodating.  Other little things popped up throughout my time with them and it was always handled painlessly, logically, and to my satisfaction.

  • Got me there
    - 11/28/2015
    Seth • Technical Writer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    When shopping for bootcamps, I was looking primarily at in-person programs, as I learn better in social situations. The cost of these programs were prohibitively high for me though. Thinkful seemed to offer a nice compromise with their mix of online cirriculum and weekly google hangouts with a mentor. The price point ($500 at the time, though they've changed up their programs/prices a bit since I began), delivered good value for the money. 

    I did the Python program, which has a focus on backend web development. The cirriculum was decent. On par with Google's online Python classes- my only point of comparison for purely online courses. I didn't spend much time in the Slack channels or online workshops, though I did find them useful. Several times I got blocked and posted a question in the Python Slack channel. Each time someone from Slack answered my questions and unblocked me with a response time averaging ~1-15 mins. The real value of the program though came from my mentor (Tudor), who was excellent. In our always-too-short 45 min weekly sessions, I learned exponentially more per minute than when I was learning on my own. Also, having another human to meet with regularly held me accountable and kept me motivated. 

    The average time it takes to finish the course is three months. I ended up taking four (for a grand total of $2,000), mainly because I chose a fairly ambitious capstone project (a Django site), which took much longer than expected (Django is awesome but hard!).

    I feel this course could get you within "striking distance" of a junior software development position, if that's your goal. It teaches you enough about some fundamental technologies (Python, Flask, databases (Postgres), Heroku, basic front end stuff (html, css)), that you can build real-world applications. I didn't take advantage of their career services, so can't review those. I'm currently doing some basic freelance web development work I got through a friend and looking to keep building and learning.

    Would (and have) recommend Thinkful to people looking to pursue coding without quitting their day job, or just looking for a more economical learning experience. 

     

     

     

     

  • Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    It works with my learning style and for a busy professional like me. I enjoy talking one on one with the mentor who helped me alot.

  • Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    It works with my learning style and for a busy professional like me. I enjoy talking one on one with the mentor who helped me alot.

  • Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    A good overview of what the world of Data Science is like. This is a great course for someone looking for beginners' knowledge with a little extra. The plan to finish within the recommended time frame (12 weeks) is a little unrealistic, especially if you have other commitments, such as full time work. However, it is absolutely worth it to invest the extra time. The mentorship you get is invaluable as being introduced to coding for the first time can be overwhelming and a more hands on approach by a mentor can make this seem less daunting.

    Keep pushing through the content! The last unit will introduce machine learning, which is very interesting. Don't get burned out at this point, it is a LOT to go through!

  • Anonymous • Business Systems Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My background: Degree in Comp Sci 6 years prior to starting the course. Acquainted with HTML, CSS, JS.

    My goal: To gain relevant skills so I can get a job in web development.

    My reason: Thinkful offers flexible, self-paced, and guided curriculum which fits my schedule since I have a full-time job.

    My result: Gained a full-time job as a developer before finishing the Front-End Career Path Course

    My experience (in summary):

    I had a great learning experience with Thinkful. Your experience will depend a great deal on your mentor. So if you think you're not paired with the right mentor, ask for a change as soon as possible. Fortunately, my mentors were great developers. Like everything else, just because you can do it, doesn't mean you can teach it. The same applies to Thinkful mentors. It's up to you to pick their brain. Be proactive by asking questions, explanations, helps, and clarifications.

    One notable mention is Derek. Derek's not my mentor, though I wish he was. There is hardly anybody as interested or as hard working in helping me as Derek. From advice, to extra mentor sessions, to extra curriculum. Anything that will aid me in accomplishing my goal.

    I highly recommend Thinkful, but please realize that it's not a utopia for dev bootcamps (I can bet you that no place is). You'll learn to think and solve problem as a developer.

  • Max Carlquist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My time at Thinkful started when I was quite aware that to pursue a career in Freelance Web Development I needed a reputable institution as a reference point to future employers. I had some previous experience coding, intermediate HTML & CSS skills, but no javascript knowledge - even said that javascript was uneccesary and too complicated to implement in my, then, web projects. By the end of this course I thought I'd never say the words: "Javascript IS necessary and fun!" I had a great mentor, a guide along the dark alleyways fo learning a new language, and a fantastic, closely-knit, community of fellow classmates, coders, and eventually friends. Within two months I had grasped not only an advanced level of Javascript, but honed my HTML & CSS skills to the MAX (yes I know, my name is Max, pun intended)! By now I'm a season programmer, with many projects under my belt, a whole new skillset, and the ability of utilizing this new found knowledge to pursue that Freelance Web Developement that I was so desperately in search of! Come one, come all, join me at Thinkful!

  • Nathen • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My background includes more than two years of QA and Test Automation experience working as a contractor for various companies in northern Colorado. My focus had been to write software that would test against web sites, meant to ensure sites wouldn't break and user experience remained high. My goal with Thinkful's FEWD career path was to help me transition into the development side of things and not remain just a tester. 

    Success with education is always left up to the student, whether you go to a university or choose Thinkful, it is up to you the student to get what you want out of the experience. If you intend to get a junior or entry-level web developer role then Thinkful's FEWD career path is a great option considering they will show you what web developers go through on a day-by-day basis (yes this includes - using Google, StackOverflow, code reviews, debugging, test-driven development *hopefully*, refactoring). 

    Every concept you will use as a web developer is taught in this curriculum, so my advice would be to not focus so much on the tools being used but rather the concepts and reasons for using the tools (version control, build processes, testing, design, MVC frameworks). Learn and practice daily even if for only 20 minutes - it adds up over the 4 to 6 months you're in the program.

  • Asa Toburen • Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The frontend developer Career Path program created by Thinkful is an excellent program for the aspiring developer. After 6 months working one on one with a professional developer, I was able to land a job almost immediately after completing the program. Thinkful's modern curriculum and professional mentors create a unique and effective learning experience. The Career Path is project-based and each project addresses a different real-world programming challenge. Whenever I hit a wall or had a question, I had immediate access to a professional mentor who would  answer my questions and provide valuable feedback on my work. I would recommend this program for anyone who is interested in starting a career in web development.

  • Career Path
    - 10/28/2015
    Kyle • Director of Academic Technology • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The front end career path at Thinkful is exactly what it sounds like: a course intended to help you land a job via tech skills. Thinkful recommends allowing six months to complete the course with a mentor. By explaining to my mentor what I wanted, and by dedicating myself to the course, I landed a job within a month of starting the front end career path!

    I currently teach AP programming ,created a "Start Up" course based on tech innovation, and I'm designing the school's computer science curriculum (hello oculus rift programming!). I also have the fun title of Director of Academic Technology, and I am currently helping the school build an innovation building. I get to seek out edtech pitch competitions, go to them, and work with a startups to push the school to frontier.

    I was able to shift the course to my needs, interests, and projects. This was critical in the learning process. My mentor was key in helping me succeed. I loved the one-on-one aspect of the course- rather than committing to a physical space and inflexible times. I treated this course like I was designing and attending my own coding bootcamp. If you are a hard worker, and are serious about learning to code, you will. If you depended on others as your driving force, I would not recommend. I like being in charge of my learning, and having a course that adapts to my life and needs, rather than the other way around.


    I'm currently working on my own side project of creating a native app (can't spill the beans on it!), and looking at accelerators to fund my own edtech startup. The key is that Thinkful empowered me to enter the tech workforce, and has shown me that I can learn whatever it is I need to do what I want. Thinkful offers a monthly subscription to partake in as many side courses as you like. This is nice, because a little help goes a long way. Plus, the price is right.

     

Thinkful Outcomes


N/A
On-Time Graduation Rate
78%
In-Field Employed
$60,450
Median Salary

100% of students intended to seek in-field employment within 180 days of graduating. 0% of students did not intend to seek in-field employment.Below is the 180 Day Employment Breakdown for 9 graduates included in report:

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
77.8%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0.0%
Short-term contract, part-time, or freelance
0.0%
Started a new company or venture after graduation
0.0%

Employed out-of-field
0.0%
Continuing to higher education
%
Not seeking a job for health, family, or personal reasons
%

Still seeking job in-field
22.2%

Could not contact
0.0%

Salary Breakdown:

100% of job obtainers reported salaries. 0% of job obtainers were hired by the school itself.

Notes & Caveats:

Read the full Thinkful CIRR report here

Thanks!