nyc-data-science-academy-logo

NYC Data Science Academy

New York City, Online

NYC Data Science Academy

Avg Rating:4.83 ( 265 reviews )

NYC Data Science Academy offers 12-week data science bootcamps in New York City. In these programs, students learn beginner and intermediate levels of Data Science with R, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Github, and SQL as well as popular and useful R and Python packages like XgBoost, Caret, dplyr, ggplot2, Pandas, scikit-learn, and more. Once the learning foundation has been set, students work on multiple projects through the bootcamp. The program distinguishes itself by balancing intensive lectures with real world project work, and by the breadth of its curriculum. Throughout the program students work alone and in teams to create at least four projects that are showcased to employers through multiple channels; private on-campus hiring partner events, student blogs, meetups, and filmed presentations. 

Ideal applicants should have a Masters or PhD degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience in quantitative science or programming. Candidates with BA’s who have appropriate experience are also considered.

Throughout the data bootcamp, students are assisted in preparing for the employment process through resume review and interview preparation. NYC Data Science Academy works closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interest for its students.

Recent NYC Data Science Academy Reviews: Rating 4.83

all (265) reviews for NYC Data Science Academy →

Recent NYC Data Science Academy News

Read all (21) articles about NYC Data Science Academy →
  • 12-Week Immersive Data Science Bootcamp (In-person)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $17,600
    Class size
    50
    Location
    New York City
    In this program students will learn the modern data analytic techniques and master the requisite skills, such as Python and R programming languages as well as Hadoop, to address real-world data science problems. Throughout the program, students work alone and in teams to create at least five projects that are showcased to employers. Along the way, students will have assistance in preparing for the job search through resume review, interview preparation, and opportunities to interview with our hiring partners. Successful completion of the curriculum will present a certification of graduation certified by the New York State Board of Education.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $5,000
    Financing
    Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 monthsFull Tuition Total $17,600Skills Fund Student Loan$397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition Plans
    We have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Scholarship
    Limited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ideal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Work
    http://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Big Data with Amazon Cloud, Hadoop/Spark and Docker

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time5 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,840
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City
    This is a 6-week evening program providing a hands-on introduction to the Hadoop and Spark ecosystem of Big Data technologies. The course will cover these key components of Apache Hadoop: HDFS, MapReduce with streaming, Hive, and Spark. Programming will be done in Python. The course will begin with a review of Python concepts needed for our examples. The course format is interactive. Students will need to bring laptops to class. We will do our work on AWS (Amazon Web Services); instructions will be provided ahead of time on how to connect to AWS and obtain an account.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Students are expected to be familiar with using an operating system from the command line; knowledge of Python is helpful.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science with Python: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Start Date
    October 27, 2019
    Cost
    $1,590
    Class size
    20
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This five week course is an introduction to data analysis with the Python programming language, and is aimed at beginners. We introduce how to work with different data structure in Python. We covered the most popular modules, including Numpy, Scipy, Pandas, matplotlib, and Seaborn, to do data analytics and visualization. We use ipython notebook to demonstrate the results of codes and change codes interactively during the class. Our past students include people with no programming experience or those who have minimal exposure to Python. Students told us our classes are very informative, engaging, and hands-on.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Knowledge of basic data types (e.g. string, numeric), data structures (e.g. list, tuple, dictionary) Familiarity with concepts of list comprehension and for/while loop
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 27, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 25, 2019
  • Data Science with Python: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week5 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 27, 2019
    Cost
    $1,990
    Class size
    10
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This 20-hour Machine Learning with Python course covers all the basic machine learning methods and Python modules (especially Scikit-Learn) for implementing them. This includes linear regression, Naïve Bayes classifiers, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis, cross-validation, bootstrapping, feature selection, regularization, model selection, SVM, decision trees, random forest, PCA, K-Means, and Hierarchical clustering. In addition, this course teaches the basics of natural language processing. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to explain the principles of machine learning algorithms and implement these methods to analyze complex datasets and make predictions in Python.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Completion of Data Science with Python: Data Analysis; Data Science with R: Machine Learning
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 27, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 25, 2019
  • Data Science with R: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Data Structures, Data Visualization, Data Analytics
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    September 7, 2019
    Cost
    $2,190
    Class size
    15
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This course is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to R. Students will practice programming and analyzing data with R. Students will learn how to load, save, and transform data as well as how to write functions, generate graphs, and fit basic statistical models to data. In addition to a theoretical framework in which to understand the process of data analysis, this course focuses on the practical tools needed in data analysis. This course also covers the creation of dynamic reports with the knitr package in R as well as the creation of dynamic dashboards with R Shiny. By the end of the course, students will have mastered the essential skills of processing, manipulating and analyzing data of various types, creating advanced visualizations, generating reports, and documenting the code.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic knowledge about computer components Basic knowledge about programming
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    September 7, 2019 - New York CityApply by September 5, 2019
    October 26, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 24, 2019
  • Data Science with R: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 26, 2019
    Cost
    $2,990
    Class size
    40
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This 35-hour Machine Learning with R course introduces both the theoretical foundation of machine learning algorithms as well as their practical applications in R. It will introduce you to data mining, performance measures and dimension reduction, regression models, both linear and generalized, KNN and Naïve Bayes models, tree models, and SVMs as well as the Association Rule for analysis. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to break down the mathematics behind major machine learning algorithms, explain the principles of machine learning algorithms, and implement these methods to solve real-world problems. Unit 1: Foundations of Statistics and Simple Linear Regression Unit 2: Multiple Linear Regression and Generalized Linear Model Unit 3: kNN and Naive Bayes, the Curse of Dimensionality Unit 4: Tree Models and SVMs Unit 5: Cluster Analysis and Neural Networks Final Project After 35 hours of structured lectures, students are encouraged to work on an exploratory data analysis project based on their own interests. A project presentation demo will be arranged.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Knowledge of Python programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in Python
    Prep Work
    Knowledge of R programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in R
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 26, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 24, 2019
  • Data Science with Tableau (Online)

    Apply
    Data Science, Data Visualization, Business Intelligence
    In PersonPart Time5 Hours/week3 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,590
    Class size
    20
    Location
    Online
    This course offers an accelerated intensive learning experience with Tableau – the growing standard in business intelligence for data visualization and dashboard creation. Without prior experience, students will learn to work with multiple data sources, create compelling visualizations, and roll out their data science products for continuous, scalable outputs to key stakeholders. By building insight and weaving narrative, students will be empowered to harness data in a striking way that provides value to organizations large and small. This course offers an accelerated intensive learning experience with Tableau – the growing standard in business intelligence for data visualization and dashboard creation. Without prior experience, students will learn to work with multiple data sources, create compelling visualizations, and roll out their data science products for continuous, scalable outputs to key stakeholders. By building insight and weaving narrative, students will be empowered to harness data in a striking way that provides value to organizations large and small. We utilized 4 user cases drawn from finance (public data from major stock exchanges) and sitcom data (Game of Thrones 1 ).
    Financing
    Deposit
    1590
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Know how to use Mac, Windows. Familiarity with relational databases is preferred but not required. gain a greater appreciation for the logic underlying Tableau’s features utilize their capstone project to visualize ‘big data’
    Prep Work
    Before the course begins, pre-work will be available for students interested in strengthening their ability to access and extract data from relational databases (e.g. SQL-based servers).
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Deep Learning with Tensorflow (Weekends and In-Person Only)

    Apply
    Start Date
    October 19, 2019
    Cost
    $2,990
    Class size
    15
    Location
    New York City
    Via analogy to biological neurons and human perception, this course is an introduction to artificial neural networks that brings high-level theory to life with interactive labs featuring TensorFlow, the most popular open-source Deep Learning library. Essential theory will be covered in a manner that provides students with an intuitive understanding of Deep Learning’s underlying foundations. Paired with hands-on code run-throughs in Jupyter notebooks as well as strategies for overcoming common pitfalls, this foundational knowledge will empower individuals with no previous understanding of neural networks to build production-ready Deep Learning applications across the major contemporary families: Convolutional Nets for machine vision; Long Short-Term Memory Recurrent Nets for natural language processing and time series analysis; Generative Adversarial Networks for producing realistic images; and Reinforcement Learning for playing video games.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Object-oriented programming, ideally Python (introductory course: https://nycdatascience.com/courses/introductory-python/) Simple shell commands, e.g., in Bash (tutorial of the fundamentals: https://learnpythonthehardway.org/book/appendixa.html)
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 19, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 15, 2019
  • Introduction to Python (Online)

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Data Structures, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time5 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $795
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Online
    The Introduction to Python covers the basic Python programming. Graduates will be able to write Python programs that read files, manipulate strings, and perform mathematical computations. The class is hands-on; participants will learn to write Python program by practicing coding along the way. The course covers most of the basic features of the Python language, including built-in data types and control structures, Python’s featured supporting object-oriented and functional programming, intro to Pandas, and regular expression.
    Financing
    Deposit
    795
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Comfort with Windows, Mac or Linux environment and ability to install third-party software.
    Prep Work
    This is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introductory Python (Evenings)

    Apply
    Start Date
    October 21, 2019
    Cost
    $1,590
    Class size
    40
    Location
    New York City
    This is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis. We concentrate on language basics such as list and string manipulation, control structures, simple data analysis packages, and introduce modules for downloading data from the web. This Introductory Python class runs over four weeks, with five hours of class per week (split into 2 ½ hour evening classes). Classes will be given in a lab setting, with student exercises mixed with lectures. Students should bring a laptop to class. There will be a modest amount of homework after each class.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $1590
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This Introductory Python class is designed for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming.
    Prep Work
    In the class, we will use Python 3. If you are following this video to set up Python environment, please make sure you download the Python 3.X version starting from 1 min 23 s in the video. Link: https://vimeo.com/160172414
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 21, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 18, 2019
  • Remote Immersive Data Science Bootcamp (Online)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $17,600
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Online
    Our Remote Intensive Bootcamp is an online full-time program. We live-stream our on-campus classes to the remote intensive bootcamp students. This program was designed for students that have the time to be a full-time student, but can't commute to our school. Students will be placed on a rigorous curriculum that spans from 9:30 AM to 6:00 PM EST as well as have access to prerecorded modules with over 1000 coding challenge questions on online learning platform for additional practice. In addition, they have access to dedicated TA’s as well as the larger network of a shared slack channel between both in person and remote bootcamp students. Live Classes: You will learn real-time streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Live Communication: They will learn real-time streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Personalized Job Support: Students also have access to the full resources of NYC Data Science Academy to help them find their dream job upon graduation. Our curriculum covers the expanse of all the skills required in the data science industry. We cover both R and Python as well as Machine Learning Theory, Big Data, and Deep Learning.
    Financing
    Deposit
    5000
    Financing
    Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 monthsFull Tuition Total $17,600Skills Fund Student Loan$397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition Plans
    We have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Scholarship
    Limited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ideal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Work
    http://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Remote Self-paced Data Science Bootcamp (Online)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $17,600
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Online
    This is an online part-time self-paced program. Students have 4 - 10 months to complete this program. The curriculum is the same as our on-campus program, with full-financing options, career support and with a one on one support from our mentors. This program is designed for students that work full-time and are not able to quit their jobs. Our curriculum is drawn from data science engagement with corporate consulting and training, hiring partners and active industry participation. Our remote bootcamp ensures that students achieve a very high level of proficiency. Students are expected to dedicate themselves fully to this program and fulfill all the requirements, which include completing lecture videos, daily homework, and four projects. The Remote Bootcamp is built as a collaborative environment utilizing online chat and meeting systems. Students also have the opportunity to collaborate on homework, projects, job applications, interview preparation, paired programming, and even further through our extended alumni community. We work closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interests for students. Each student receives one-on-one support with job searching and access to all kinds of job assistance resources, including coding reviews, interview prep, resume workshop, and access to our exclusive hiring partner network.
    Financing
    Deposit
    17600
    Financing
    Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 monthsFull Tuition Total $17,600Skills Fund Student Loan$397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition Plans
    We have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Scholarship
    Limited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ideal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Work
    http://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Heather Kleypas  User Photo
    Heather Kleypas • Growth Analyst • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    NYCDSA was referred to me by professionals in the industry. I chose the remote bootcamp and learned a vast amount of topics including SQL, R, Python, and Hadoop & Spark. During my studies, I published 4 blog posts of project work ranging from a visual analysis of the American Music Awards to predicting housing prices. I had an assigned TA who I met with weekly to discuss my courses and homework, which was very helpful. Interview prep was also a great asset to the program. Upon graduating I received a grad package with a NY State Board of Education certificate included. I received a job offer within a month of graduating as a Growth Analyst. 

  • Priya Srivastava  User Photo
    Priya Srivastava • Senior Cloud Data Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    NYC Data Science Academy is the place where you would learn the niche skill sets required to excel as a Data Scientist or Data Engineer in a friendly environment. This is one of the best investment I have done in my career. Having said that, be ready to learn a lot in just 12 weeks of time. It is an intensive course and you learn proportional to the effort you put. Their pre-work was really helpful in transitioning into the Bootcamp. So I would suggest anyone to definitely do the pre-work before entering the Bootcamp and do the homework during the Bootcamp; they give you a good hands on exposure to what was covered during the lectures. I did four projects which were very rewarding as well. I got to talk about my hands on experience gained doing the projects in the interviews. The instructors and Vivian, the CTO of the academy were very approachable. I felt like family here. They provide a good Resume and interview prep  support. I must mention I was praised on my resume during the interviews and I had a good ratio of interview calls per application. I landed my dream job in just 2 months post completion of the Bootcamp. I you are ready to learn and put effort, you will find plethora of material, guidance and support here. I have had a positive experience at NYC Data Science Academy . I learned, made friends, networked and progressed in my career.

  • Sean Justice  User Photo
    Sean Justice • Data Scientist • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    After working as a computer engineer for 11 years, I decided to pursue a career change in to data science. I looked at a number of different programs available across the country, and I ended up deciding to go with the NYC Data Science 12 week intensive program. One of the largest advantages that program had over others is that they teach both Python and R. I think that both languages have their place in data science, but the biggest benefit from learning both is that the core elements of the program were first introduced in one language and were later reinforced in the other language. I found this to be especially helpful for creating a solid foundation during the machine learning portion of the course.

    The program was very demanding, but it was definitely the type of experience where you get what you put in. The instructors and the TAs were all incredibly helpful and responsive whenever I had difficulties with the projects or understanding any of the course materials. 

    The job assistance resources that the program provided were incredibly valuable, from special sessions that were targeted at helping us create a great resume to a hiring event with a large number of prospective companies. The outreach from the school didn’t end once the program was finished, and they were a very valuable resource while I was searching for employment in my new field.

    I would say that overall the program was a great experience, and I am very happy that I decided on attending the NYC Data Science Academy.

  • Matthew Rautionmaa  User Photo
    Matthew Rautionmaa • Data Analyst • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Attending NYCDSA was an incredible experience that allowed me to pivot my career from traditional finance into Data Science and land me a great job with a well-improved salary soon after graduation. I chose it over other bootcamps in NYC because it taught both R and Python, had a strong alumni network, and had a collaborate and family-like environment that made every day enjoyable.

    Be prepared to work very hard and learn a lot in a short amount of time. The curriculum is intense, covers all major areas of data science and teaches you the most up-to-date tools in data analysis, stats, coding and machine learning. I knew only basic SQL and stats before this so it was very challenging for me to learn more advanced stats, Python, R and machine learning in just 3 months. That being said, I typically stayed at the bootcamp 10 hours a day and often 12-14 hours during projects, which helped me learn faster. The TA’s and instructors were always available to provide assistance which aided in the learning process as well.

    Because I spent so much time at the bootcamp around like-minded individuals, I became good friends with many people in my cohort, many of which I still keep in touch with post-graduation. Collaborating on group projects, helping each other with homework, happy hours, and late nights made the experience a lot of fun and made the learning easier.

    Overall, you get what you put into it. Even as one of the least experienced in my cohort, I was able to keep up and become proficient in coding R, Python, SQL, and build a strong portfolio with practical experience in machine learning by putting in the time. The job assistance prepared me as well as it could have and helped tremendously in getting me more interviews, and performing to the best of my ability during interview behavioral questions, whiteboarding and case studies. I highly recommend this program to anyone looking to get into data science or improve their data science skills.

  • Yadi Li  User Photo
    Yadi Li • Data Analyst • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have a Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry, and was looking for a career change before coming to NYCDSA. A friend of mine who had finished the bootcamp and got his Data Scientist job shortly after introduced me to the bootcamp.

    The program was quite intense and comprehensive. The course materials are well prepared and presented. As someone who didn't have much prior coding experience, I was able to absorbing pretty much everything without any problem. Out of the bootcamp, I felt very confident about my technical skills and understanding of data science.

    The job assistance from NYCDSA was valuable for me. They had sessions during the program to prepare resume and workshops for graduates to prepare for interviews. More importantly, their hiring event and referrals helped me to get interviews so that I can show the skills I have gained from the bootcamp. In fact, I got my job through their referral.

    Overall, it was a great experience for me. If you are motivated, interested in data science and willing to put in your effort, the bootcamp will be a rewarding journey for you.

  • Christina  User Photo
    Christina • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was glad that I took the bootcamp in NYC Data Science Academy where I started my journey in data science. I had some experience in data analytics before coming to the bootcamp and I really want to learn more about machine learning and algorithm. The bootcamp does a great job in offering the intro to ML, Deep learning etc and I really appreciate the way in which we worked as a group to finish our ML and capstone projects. It is intensive but it's definitely rewarding if you put all your efforts in. The instrutors and TAs are helpful in guiding us with homework and projects. I also made friends with some bootcamp alumni who are both supportive and wholesome. I finally decided to do a master degree in Data Science and the experience in bootcamp contributes a lot in my application. They also connected me to previous graduate who was able to refer me for internship opportunities. If there is one thing that the bootcamp could improve, it would be that the instructors don't have much experience working in the industry before they become the faculty. It would be more helpful if they know the industry expectation and how to tailor the curriculum to the industry demand. In all, I really recommend this bootcamp!

  • Gabrielle White  User Photo
    Gabrielle White • Sr. Product Manager, Data and Analytics • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Python Data Analysis course and found it very well structured and useful. My instructor Anthony Schultz did a great job covering both theoretical and concrete concepts all the while with a sense of humor and funny analogies. 

    I'm leaving the five weeks feeling that I have a solid foundation of the basics of python and how it can be applied for data analytics and task automation. 

  • rafal zabinski  User Photo
    rafal zabinski • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I attended the Introductory Python course.

    I really enjoyed this class and after just one month I feel like I have strong foundation of Python. (I had no coding expirience prior taking the course).

    Classes were a combination of theory and practice. Anthony Schultz did a great job with covering all necessary course material and making it interesting and funny!

  • Ivan Vasilev  User Photo
    Ivan Vasilev • Product designer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I learned a lot about Python and working with data. I had no prior experience with Python but after this short introductory course, I started to actually understand what, why and when I can do with Python and actually use in for data analysis.

    Anthony Schultz comes up with awesome metaphors that can really explain how stuff works and why it is important.

    I really loved the way the course is structured: we had some theory followed by short practicing that helped to understand the given information better and to stay on track.

  • Mikhail Stukalo  User Photo
    Mikhail Stukalo • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I went through the NYCDSA 12-week Bootcamp in Fall 2018 and later stayed as a TA for the next cohort.

    Before joining the Academy, I had a significant coding experience both in R and Python. Still, I learned a lot. My main goal was to structure my knowledge and learn how to code at the production level. Also, I figured that the program would strengthen my resume as I was switching from investment banking/VC world to Data Science.

    The Bootcamp is a very immersive experience, and as it is the case with many programs, you get out what you put into it. The curriculum is packed with practical and theoretical knowledge and can keep you busy most evenings/nights during the Bootcamp. For those who have limited or no coding experience, there is a pre-course work online with hours of training videos and hundreds of exercises. Instructors are extremely knowledgeable and can be a great asset if you decide to experiment with your Capstone Project.

    Speaking of the Capstone, the Bootcamp leaves you with four projects: web-scraping, visualization, Machine Learning, and a Capstone of your choice. These projects were beneficial for me when I talked to potential employers.

    Now probably the most crucial part. The school is very well connected with high calibre hiring partners from various industries. Most of my classmates landed jobs within a couple of months after graduation. In my case it, it took about two months of a very focused search to get two offers from the companies I dreamt working for.

    All in all, I could not be happier with my experience.

  • Ben Rosen  User Photo
    Ben Rosen • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This bootcamp completely exceeded my expectations. The curriculum was challenging and thorough. The instructors were intelligent and very helpful outside of the classroom. My classmates were very bright, helped foster a fast paced program, and I never expected that we’d have a lot of fun together too. Of course the bootcamp helped with my Python, R, and SQL skills, but I also gained public speaking and teamwork skills from the project-focused curriculum. The career advice given to us about job-searching, communication skills, and analytics in the workplace were valuable too. 11/10.

  • Eric Adlard  User Photo
    Eric Adlard Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The NYC Data Science Academy is an amazing place to get started if you are looking to make a transition into Data Science.

    That being said, you really need to do the pre-work before the boot camp and having math and stats knowledge is very helpful. The program is very challenging and covers a broad range of material to get you exposed to the vast realm that is 'Data Science'.

    You will work with great instructors who are extremely helpful and really care about the students. If you put in the effort it is truly a transformative experience. I could not have landed my most recent job without the skill set I acquired in this boot camp. Finally, you will also make a few friends along the way with your great classmates :)

  • Derek Li  User Photo
    Derek Li • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the immersive 12-weeks bootcamp during fall cohort 2018. It took me a while to write this review because I am busy but happily working as a Data Scientist, solving exciting and challenging data problems. 

    The instructors are very attentive and helpful. If you are Math/Statistics background, it would help a lot during the bootcamp. But the instructors make sure you understand the theories through well-designed course structure, examples and practices no matter what your background is. 

    Not only do they teach you on data science and technical tools, but they also offer exceptional advice on searching and interviewing for jobs. Their support is amazing and is what helped me get my current job. Special thanks to Luke and Vivian!

    The immersive program was intense but I also learned a lot from fellow students. I made a lot of great friends through the bootcamp. You get to know people from various academic backgrounds and industries. You would learn how they formulate solutions to data problems in their domain, which are always enlightening. Shout out to team JLP aka team Ostrich Pillow!

  • David Corrigan  User Photo
    David Corrigan • Bioinformatics Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I joined NYCDSA for their 12-week bootcamp in fall 2018. I had graduated with a PhD in biology that summer, but I was looking to improve my data science skills (which were limited to basic knowledge of R) to work towards a more quantitative scientific career.  My decision paid off, as I am now working as a bioinformatics data scientist after a relatively short (~2 month) job search and interview process.

    NYCDSA has a great deal to offer to anyone looking to move into data science. They provide excellent career counseling throughout the course and connect students to a large number of opportunities in many different fields (finance, marketing, biomedical, business operations, etc) through in-course talks/panels, and a very large career/hiring event after completion. The career guidance is an invaluable aspect of the course.

    During these 12 weeks, I learned more than I thought possible. I was one of those who considered trying to teach data science to myself. After doing the bootcamp, I would now discourage this for the following reasons: 1) The projects: You will complete 4 thorough projects, with experienced instructors and TA’s, which will serve as a critical piece of your resume during the application process. *I specifically went through my projects and code while interviewing for the job that I ultimately accepted. 2) The aforementioned career guidance, which was so indispensable. And 3) You will learn far more efficiently here than you would on your own. There is simply too much material to learn in such a short time – without knowledgeable instructors who know how to plan and execute a curriculum, you will take much longer to master the same amount of material.

    Be warned – the course is very challenging and will require a lot out of you. It is designed, and is most effective, for driven individuals looking to push hard and create opportunities for themselves in the data science field. A small number of the students were frustrated by the amount of content and workload, but in my opinion, NYCDSA is teaching you as much as you need to be competitive as a data science candidate. Read other reviews from people with no coding experience who were hired as data scientists – this is only possible because of the challenging 12-week curriculum offered here.  Bottom line, it’s a great career move if you are properly motivated – I highly recommend it!

  • Great bootcamp
    - 5/8/2019
    Mimi  User Photo
    Mimi • Data Analyst • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The bootcamp provided absolutely everything we needed to boost our resume and give us the skills we needed to start out as a Data Analyst or Scientist. I was offered a position and started working immediately after the bootcamp, and it was due to the resume tweaking and data analysis skill set that I obtained in such a short time.

  • Pranati Jain  User Photo
    Pranati Jain Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I attended the 5 week Python course with Anthony Schultz . The syllabus was extremely comprehensive and provided a very well structured approach to Python and its applications.  Anthony was a fantastic teacher and effectively covered a wide range of concepts and topics in a short time period. I enjoyed the weekly homework problems as well - they cemented what was learnt in class and really made me think. I feel a lot more comfortable in my coding abilities and would highly recommend this course. 

  • Bob Trieste  User Photo
    Bob Trieste • Finance & Investments Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    New York Data Science Academy & Python for Data Anslysis and Visualization 
    This course was not only extremely cutting-edge for all of today's industries and work areas but it gave me a great deal of confidence to continue my data and computer science studies at the next level. This course has actually inspired me to not only enroll in other NYC Data Science Classes but also think longer-term about continuing graduate level work in CS. This was my first class at NYCDSA and all I an say is I am extremely grateful to have had Dr. Anthony Schwartz as an instructor. Anthony kept the material vibrant and fun with colorful analogies that made the subject matter easy to digest and remember. This allowed for both an esoteric understanding of what was happening "inside the code" coupled with real-world applications that began to streamline and automate a lot of my day-to-day work right after Class 1. 
    I cannot day enough good things about NYCDSA and Dr. Shultz !! 
    Bob Trieste
    Long Island, NY

  • Trang Nguyen  User Photo
    Trang Nguyen • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had the Python Data Analysis class with Tony. He did a great job in explaining Python in details and gave specific examples every time new knowledge was introduced. I would definitely take his class again. 

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 3/28/2019
    Chaoran Chen  User Photo
    Chaoran Chen • Data Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Great Bootcamp. 

    The program is very comprehensive and intense. The syllabus is well structured. They make sure your time is only spent on most popular and useful technologies which are needed for a Data Scientist. 

    The instructors are very responsive. They also hold events to build the relationship between you and the potential hiring partners.

  • John  User Photo
    John • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This is perfect for you if you already have some coding and math background and want to tie it all together into data science. The instructors are invested and clearly know their stuff, but with this kind of material you really need to apply yourself and study on your own to gain a complete understanding. You will acquire a good foundational understanding of machine learning techniques, but I think even more valuable is the broad (though in some places not super deep by necessity) exposure to lots of different data science and data engineering tools (R, pandas, AWS, Spark, Hadoop, Keras). The field is huge, and this is a good place to start. You can go a lot of different directions with the knowledge you gain here.

  • Fantastic Bootcamp
    - 3/13/2019
    James Lee  User Photo
    James Lee • Data Analyst III • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fantastic Bootcamp.  I was able to gain a solid fundamental on Python, R, and Data Science skills.  I was able to start my career and advance quickly in this field.  Be sure to be ready to climb up a steep learning curve with highly knowledgeable mentors.  The job assistance has been great and Vivian has always provided me with stellar recommendations and references.  

     

     

  • Data Scientist
    - 3/11/2019
    Thomas Deegan  User Photo
    Thomas Deegan • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I could not have been happier with the bootcamp experience I had at NYC Data Science Academy.  The staff was incredible and does an amazing job of designing a curriculum and creating an environment for a broad range of participants to develop their data science skills.  They are constantly working to update the curriculum and are very open to feedback.  

    I gained a great deal of confidence with both the theory and applications behind supervised and unsupervised machine learning methods, data analysis, statistics, data visualization, and big data tools.  I became very comfortable with both Python and R and completed four projects that were enormously helpful come interviewing time.  Post-bootcamp, I received several job offers as a Data Scientist that I was very pleased with.

    Perhaps most importantly, should you decide to attend this bootcamp, you'll be joining a constantly growing alumni network.  There will be endless opportunities for networking, corporate training, and engagement.

    I would highly recommend this bootcamp to an aspiring data science professional.

  • Tristan Dresbach  User Photo
    Tristan Dresbach • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I didn't have a coding background and I was hired as a data scientist after graduating from the bootcamp.

    The program is extremely comprehensive, with challenging problem sets and 4 mandatory projects to showcase your abilities. The support staff (TAs, teachers and bootcamp management) are always available and are more than helpful when job hunting. Not only does the bootcamp have deep connections with a multitude of firms, but they also setup a networking event for recent graduates to meet potential future employers which is how I ended up finding a job.

  • Deep Learning
    - 12/20/2018
    Navin Krishnakumar  User Photo
    Navin Krishnakumar • Applicant Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Deep learning course conducted by Jon offers a great learning experience for people starting with their journey on deep learning. Jon starts with the basics and gradually moves on the advance topics. The topics are shared well in advance so that we can prep ourselves before the class. Jon mixes the intuitiveness and the mathematics on the topic in a balanced way. As part of the course, Jon also encourages everyone to do a project and offers great support. My only piece of constructive criticism (which by the way is not at all a criticism) would that the last class is a bit heavy content wise and hence breaking it down a little would be something to consider. Overall, I would highly recommend this course to someone who wants to start with deep learning.

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 12/20/2018
    Fangye Shi  User Photo
    Fangye Shi • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First off, my background: I have a PhD in mathematics. I learned coding (C++, python), machine learning and deep learning myself before bootcamp. But I still struggled to find a job. Therefore, I decided to attend an onsite bootcamp to boost my chance of landing a job. I picked NYCDSA because of recommendation from friends and positive online reviews.

    The overall experience with NYCDSA is amazing: Attending a bootcamp is different from learning from books/online lectures. It is more systematic and designed towards requirements on current job market. In addition to lectures, I have to do four projects on different aspects of data science (visualization, web scraping, machine learning, deep learning) where I get essential practice on how to apply theory to real problems. Besides, I made many good friends from different backgrounds and we learned a lot from each other. Last but not least, the career assistance is comprehensive: from resume review, mock interview to alumni referal and hiring event, the team there helped with every step in the job hunting process.

    In conclusion, I will recommend NYCDSA to anyone who would like to switch career to data science and is willing to work hard to get the most out of what the bootcamp can provide.

  • Ha Seon Yun   User Photo
    Ha Seon Yun Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The Deep Learning course by Jon Krohn at the NYCDSA has been one of the best courses I've taken. With a focus on projects, Jon teaches students the tools they need to create their own deep learning project at any level. When I say at any level I really mean at any level. I'm a biology major originally and printed my first 'hello world' a year ago. Even with my very limited coding and programing background, I was able to complete a deep learning project involving creating my own labeled dataset and a convolutional network classifier. You can see it here on my medium page, https://medium.com/@jhaseon/glut1ko-genotyping-classifier-e49f0e5a4ca9. 

    I really appreciated his course structure as he drills in the beginning of class what he terms 'arsenal' deep learning terms and theories which I believe played a huge role in my ability to even create a project. The course is just 5 weeks so a lot of information is packed in weekly, but it really is for deep learning hopefuls of all levels from the basics of keras in machine vision or natural language processing to the intricacies underneath tensorflow. 

    Jon was insightful, responsive, and encouraging to his students throughout the course. He often broke down difficult theories and concepts on the whiteboard with easy to understand examples and drawings which I found very helpful. I am looking forward to more classes from him!

Thanks!