nyc-data-science-academy-logo

NYC Data Science Academy

New York City, Online

NYC Data Science Academy

Avg Rating:4.84 ( 288 reviews )

NYC Data Science Academy offers 12-week data science bootcamps in New York City. In these programs, students learn beginner and intermediate levels of Data Science with R, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Github, and SQL as well as popular and useful R and Python packages like XgBoost, Caret, dplyr, ggplot2, Pandas, scikit-learn, and more. Once the learning foundation has been set, students work on multiple projects through the bootcamp. The program distinguishes itself by balancing intensive lectures with real world project work, and by the breadth of its curriculum. Throughout the program students work alone and in teams to create at least four projects that are showcased to employers through multiple channels; private on-campus hiring partner events, student blogs, meetups, and filmed presentations. 

Ideal applicants should have a Masters or PhD degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience in quantitative science or programming. Candidates with BA’s who have appropriate experience are also considered.

Throughout the data bootcamp, students are assisted in preparing for the employment process through resume review and interview preparation. NYC Data Science Academy works closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interest for its students.

Recent NYC Data Science Academy Reviews: Rating 4.84

all (288) reviews for NYC Data Science Academy →

Recent NYC Data Science Academy News

Read all (22) articles about NYC Data Science Academy →
  • 12-Weeks In-Person Data Science Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date July 6, 2020
    Cost$17,600
    Class size50
    LocationNew York City
    In this program students will learn the modern data analytic techniques and master the requisite skills, such as Python and R programming languages as well as Hadoop, to address real-world data science problems. Throughout the program, students work alone and in teams to create at least five projects that are showcased to employers. Along the way, students will have assistance in preparing for the job search through resume review, interview preparation, and opportunities to interview with our hiring partners. Successful completion of the curriculum will present a certification of graduation certified by the New York State Board of Education.
    Financing
    Deposit$5,000
    Financing
    $397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 6, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 19, 2020
  • Big Data with Amazon Cloud, Hadoop/Spark and Docker

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Data Structures, Python, Cloud Computing
    In PersonPart Time5 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,990
    Class size10
    LocationNew York City
    This is a 6-week evening program providing a hands-on introduction to the Hadoop and Spark ecosystem of Big Data technologies. The course will cover these key components of Apache Hadoop: HDFS, MapReduce with streaming, Hive, and Spark. Programming will be done in Python. The course will begin with a review of Python concepts needed for our examples. The course format is interactive. Students will need to bring laptops to class. We will do our work on AWS (Amazon Web Services); instructions will be provided ahead of time on how to connect to AWS and obtain an account.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelStudents are expected to be familiar with using an operating system from the command line; knowledge of Python is helpful.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science with Python: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Start Date June 13, 2020
    Cost$1,590
    Class size20
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This five week course is an introduction to data analysis with the Python programming language, and is aimed at beginners. We introduce how to work with different data structure in Python. We covered the most popular modules, including Numpy, Scipy, Pandas, matplotlib, and Seaborn, to do data analytics and visualization. We use ipython notebook to demonstrate the results of codes and change codes interactively during the class. Our past students include people with no programming experience or those who have minimal exposure to Python. Students told us our classes are very informative, engaging, and hands-on.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelKnowledge of basic data types (e.g. string, numeric), data structures (e.g. list, tuple, dictionary) Familiarity with concepts of list comprehension and for/while loop
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 13, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 12, 2020
  • Data Science with Python: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week5 Weeks
    Start Date June 13, 2020
    Cost$1,990
    Class size10
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This 20-hour Machine Learning with Python course covers all the basic machine learning methods and Python modules (especially Scikit-Learn) for implementing them. This includes linear regression, Naïve Bayes classifiers, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis, cross-validation, bootstrapping, feature selection, regularization, model selection, SVM, decision trees, random forest, PCA, K-Means, and Hierarchical clustering. In addition, this course teaches the basics of natural language processing. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to explain the principles of machine learning algorithms and implement these methods to analyze complex datasets and make predictions in Python.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCompletion of Data Science with Python: Data Analysis; Data Science with R: Machine Learning
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 13, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 12, 2020
  • Data Science with R: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Data Visualization, Data Analytics , Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,190
    Class size15
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This course is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to R. Students will practice programming and analyzing data with R. Students will learn how to load, save, and transform data as well as how to write functions, generate graphs, and fit basic statistical models to data. In addition to a theoretical framework in which to understand the process of data analysis, this course focuses on the practical tools needed in data analysis. This course also covers the creation of dynamic reports with the knitr package in R as well as the creation of dynamic dashboards with R Shiny. By the end of the course, students will have mastered the essential skills of processing, manipulating and analyzing data of various types, creating advanced visualizations, generating reports, and documenting the code.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic knowledge about computer components Basic knowledge about programming
    Prep WorkNone
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science with R: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,990
    Class size40
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This 35-hour Machine Learning with R course introduces both the theoretical foundation of machine learning algorithms as well as their practical applications in R. It will introduce you to data mining, performance measures and dimension reduction, regression models, both linear and generalized, KNN and Naïve Bayes models, tree models, and SVMs as well as the Association Rule for analysis. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to break down the mathematics behind major machine learning algorithms, explain the principles of machine learning algorithms, and implement these methods to solve real-world problems. Unit 1: Foundations of Statistics and Simple Linear Regression Unit 2: Multiple Linear Regression and Generalized Linear Model Unit 3: kNN and Naive Bayes, the Curse of Dimensionality Unit 4: Tree Models and SVMs Unit 5: Cluster Analysis and Neural Networks Final Project After 35 hours of structured lectures, students are encouraged to work on an exploratory data analysis project based on their own interests. A project presentation demo will be arranged.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelKnowledge of Python programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in Python
    Prep WorkKnowledge of R programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in R
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Deep Learning with Tensorflow (Weekends and In-Person Only)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,990
    Class size15
    LocationNew York City
    Via analogy to biological neurons and human perception, this course is an introduction to artificial neural networks that brings high-level theory to life with interactive labs featuring TensorFlow, the most popular open-source Deep Learning library. Essential theory will be covered in a manner that provides students with an intuitive understanding of Deep Learning’s underlying foundations. Paired with hands-on code run-throughs in Jupyter notebooks as well as strategies for overcoming common pitfalls, this foundational knowledge will empower individuals with no previous understanding of neural networks to build production-ready Deep Learning applications across the major contemporary families: Convolutional Nets for machine vision; Long Short-Term Memory Recurrent Nets for natural language processing and time series analysis; Generative Adversarial Networks for producing realistic images; and Reinforcement Learning for playing video games.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelObject-oriented programming, ideally Python (introductory course: https://nycdatascience.com/courses/introductory-python/) Simple shell commands, e.g., in Bash (tutorial of the fundamentals: https://learnpythonthehardway.org/book/appendixa.html)
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Full-time Online Data Science Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date July 6, 2020
    Cost$17,600
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    This program was designed for students that have the time to be a full-time student, but can't commute to our school. Students will be placed on a rigorous curriculum that spans from 9:30 AM to 6:00 PM EST as well as have access to prerecorded modules with over 1000 coding challenge questions on online learning platform for additional practice. In addition, they have access to dedicated TA’s as well as the larger network of a shared slack channel between both in-person and remote bootcamp students. Classes: You will learn streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Personalized Job Support: Students also have access to the full resources of NYC Data Science Academy to help them find their dream job upon graduation. Our curriculum covers the expanse of all the skills required in the data science industry. We cover both R and Python as well as Machine Learning Theory, Big Data, and Deep Learning.
    Financing
    Deposit5000
    Financing
    • Full Tuition Total $17,600
    • Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 months
    • SkillsFund Student Loan $397.88 pm for 60 months

    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 6, 2020 - Online Apply by June 19, 2020
  • Introductory Python (Evenings)

    Apply
    Start Date June 2, 2020
    Cost$1,590
    Class size40
    LocationNew York City
    This is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis. We concentrate on language basics such as list and string manipulation, control structures, simple data analysis packages, and introduce modules for downloading data from the web. This Introductory Python class runs over four weeks, with five hours of class per week (split into 2 ½ hour evening classes). Classes will be given in a lab setting, with student exercises mixed with lectures. Students should bring a laptop to class. There will be a modest amount of homework after each class.
    Financing
    Deposit$1590
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelThis Introductory Python class is designed for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming.
    Prep WorkIn the class, we will use Python 3. If you are following this video to set up Python environment, please make sure you download the Python 3.X version starting from 1 min 23 s in the video. Link: https://vimeo.com/160172414
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 2, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 1, 2020
  • Part-time Online Data Science Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date July 6, 2020
    Cost$17,600
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    This is an online part-time self-paced program. Students have 4 - 10 months to complete this program. The curriculum is the same as our on-campus program, with full-financing options, career support and with a one on one support from our mentors. This program is designed for students that work full-time and are not able to quit their jobs. Our curriculum is drawn from data science engagement with corporate consulting and training, hiring partners and active industry participation. Our remote bootcamp ensures that students achieve a very high level of proficiency. Students are expected to dedicate themselves fully to this program and fulfill all the requirements, which include completing lecture videos, daily homework, and four projects. The Remote Bootcamp is built as a collaborative environment utilizing online chat and meeting systems. Students also have the opportunity to collaborate on homework, projects, job applications, interview preparation, paired programming, and even further through our extended alumni community. We work closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interests for students. Each student receives one-on-one support with job searching and access to all kinds of job assistance resources, including coding reviews, interview prep, resume workshop, and access to our exclusive hiring partner network.
    Financing
    Deposit17600
    Financing
    • Full Tuition Total $17,600
    • Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 months
    • SkillsFund Student Loan $397.88 pm for 60 months

    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 6, 2020 - Online Apply by June 19, 2020

Shared Review

  • David Corrigan  User Photo
    David Corrigan • Bioinformatics Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I joined NYCDSA for their 12-week bootcamp in fall 2018. I had graduated with a PhD in biology that summer, but I was looking to improve my data science skills (which were limited to basic knowledge of R) to work towards a more quantitative scientific career.  My decision paid off, as I am now working as a bioinformatics data scientist after a relatively short (~2 month) job search and interview process.

    NYCDSA has a great deal to offer to anyone looking to move into data science. They provide excellent career counseling throughout the course and connect students to a large number of opportunities in many different fields (finance, marketing, biomedical, business operations, etc) through in-course talks/panels, and a very large career/hiring event after completion. The career guidance is an invaluable aspect of the course.

    During these 12 weeks, I learned more than I thought possible. I was one of those who considered trying to teach data science to myself. After doing the bootcamp, I would now discourage this for the following reasons: 1) The projects: You will complete 4 thorough projects, with experienced instructors and TA’s, which will serve as a critical piece of your resume during the application process. *I specifically went through my projects and code while interviewing for the job that I ultimately accepted. 2) The aforementioned career guidance, which was so indispensable. And 3) You will learn far more efficiently here than you would on your own. There is simply too much material to learn in such a short time – without knowledgeable instructors who know how to plan and execute a curriculum, you will take much longer to master the same amount of material.

    Be warned – the course is very challenging and will require a lot out of you. It is designed, and is most effective, for driven individuals looking to push hard and create opportunities for themselves in the data science field. A small number of the students were frustrated by the amount of content and workload, but in my opinion, NYCDSA is teaching you as much as you need to be competitive as a data science candidate. Read other reviews from people with no coding experience who were hired as data scientists – this is only possible because of the challenging 12-week curriculum offered here.  Bottom line, it’s a great career move if you are properly motivated – I highly recommend it!

  • Fantastic Bootcamp
    - 3/13/2019
    James Lee  User Photo
    James Lee • Data Analyst III • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fantastic Bootcamp.  I was able to gain a solid fundamental on Python, R, and Data Science skills.  I was able to start my career and advance quickly in this field.  Be sure to be ready to climb up a steep learning curve with highly knowledgeable mentors.  The job assistance has been great and Vivian has always provided me with stellar recommendations and references.  

     

     

  • Data Scientist
    - 3/11/2019
    Thomas Deegan  User Photo
    Thomas Deegan • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I could not have been happier with the bootcamp experience I had at NYC Data Science Academy.  The staff was incredible and does an amazing job of designing a curriculum and creating an environment for a broad range of participants to develop their data science skills.  They are constantly working to update the curriculum and are very open to feedback.  

    I gained a great deal of confidence with both the theory and applications behind supervised and unsupervised machine learning methods, data analysis, statistics, data visualization, and big data tools.  I became very comfortable with both Python and R and completed four projects that were enormously helpful come interviewing time.  Post-bootcamp, I received several job offers as a Data Scientist that I was very pleased with.

    Perhaps most importantly, should you decide to attend this bootcamp, you'll be joining a constantly growing alumni network.  There will be endless opportunities for networking, corporate training, and engagement.

    I would highly recommend this bootcamp to an aspiring data science professional.

  • Tristan Dresbach  User Photo
    Tristan Dresbach • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I didn't have a coding background and I was hired as a data scientist after graduating from the bootcamp.

    The program is extremely comprehensive, with challenging problem sets and 4 mandatory projects to showcase your abilities. The support staff (TAs, teachers and bootcamp management) are always available and are more than helpful when job hunting. Not only does the bootcamp have deep connections with a multitude of firms, but they also setup a networking event for recent graduates to meet potential future employers which is how I ended up finding a job.

  • Deep Learning
    - 12/20/2018
    Navin Krishnakumar  User Photo
    Navin Krishnakumar • Applicant Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Deep learning course conducted by Jon offers a great learning experience for people starting with their journey on deep learning. Jon starts with the basics and gradually moves on the advance topics. The topics are shared well in advance so that we can prep ourselves before the class. Jon mixes the intuitiveness and the mathematics on the topic in a balanced way. As part of the course, Jon also encourages everyone to do a project and offers great support. My only piece of constructive criticism (which by the way is not at all a criticism) would that the last class is a bit heavy content wise and hence breaking it down a little would be something to consider. Overall, I would highly recommend this course to someone who wants to start with deep learning.

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 12/20/2018
    Fangye Shi  User Photo
    Fangye Shi • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First off, my background: I have a PhD in mathematics. I learned coding (C++, python), machine learning and deep learning myself before bootcamp. But I still struggled to find a job. Therefore, I decided to attend an onsite bootcamp to boost my chance of landing a job. I picked NYCDSA because of recommendation from friends and positive online reviews.

    The overall experience with NYCDSA is amazing: Attending a bootcamp is different from learning from books/online lectures. It is more systematic and designed towards requirements on current job market. In addition to lectures, I have to do four projects on different aspects of data science (visualization, web scraping, machine learning, deep learning) where I get essential practice on how to apply theory to real problems. Besides, I made many good friends from different backgrounds and we learned a lot from each other. Last but not least, the career assistance is comprehensive: from resume review, mock interview to alumni referal and hiring event, the team there helped with every step in the job hunting process.

    In conclusion, I will recommend NYCDSA to anyone who would like to switch career to data science and is willing to work hard to get the most out of what the bootcamp can provide.

  • Ha Seon Yun   User Photo
    Ha Seon Yun Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The Deep Learning course by Jon Krohn at the NYCDSA has been one of the best courses I've taken. With a focus on projects, Jon teaches students the tools they need to create their own deep learning project at any level. When I say at any level I really mean at any level. I'm a biology major originally and printed my first 'hello world' a year ago. Even with my very limited coding and programing background, I was able to complete a deep learning project involving creating my own labeled dataset and a convolutional network classifier. You can see it here on my medium page, https://medium.com/@jhaseon/glut1ko-genotyping-classifier-e49f0e5a4ca9. 

    I really appreciated his course structure as he drills in the beginning of class what he terms 'arsenal' deep learning terms and theories which I believe played a huge role in my ability to even create a project. The course is just 5 weeks so a lot of information is packed in weekly, but it really is for deep learning hopefuls of all levels from the basics of keras in machine vision or natural language processing to the intricacies underneath tensorflow. 

    Jon was insightful, responsive, and encouraging to his students throughout the course. He often broke down difficult theories and concepts on the whiteboard with easy to understand examples and drawings which I found very helpful. I am looking forward to more classes from him!

  • Zach McCormick  User Photo
    Zach McCormick • Senior Software Engineer • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Jon's course on Deep Learning was great. It started with the basics including the background theory, then progressed to looking at concepts in different fields like computer vision, NLP, reinforcement learning, etc. It required a bit of programming experience, but not too much for those worried about their experience level. Likewise for math chops - having a basic understanding of linear algebra helps in understanding the theory, but it's not required to use it in practice. Following along in class was great, and the materials he had available for learning outside of the classroom were fantastic as well (i.e. his materials on GitHub, links from his presentations to outside materials, etc.) If Jon does a course on Intermediate/Advanced Deep Learning, or deep dives on topics within deep learning, I'll definitely be on the waiting list!

  • Jennifer Lee  User Photo
    Jennifer Lee • Manager • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall, I had a great experience with NYC Data Science Academy (NYC DSA). I was part of the fall 2018 bootcamp cohort. Specifics regarding the different components of my experience are listed below: 

    • Recruiting: I found the alumni interviews and reviews on the website to be extremely helpful. Because I was not coming from a statistics or development background, it was great to see success stories from people who had similar educational backgrounds and work experience. During the interview process, the recruiting contacts were extremely helpful, welcoming, and engaging, which made my experience much better than the more ‘transactional’ feel that I received from other bootcamps. Another key factor for me choosing this bootcamp is that NYC DSA allows you to complete the pre-work after you have been accepted.
    • Curriculum: The curriculum gets very difficult very quickly, especially for those that have little experience with coding and statistics. For someone coming from a more business-facing background, it does require significant work and time to get up to speed throughout the entire bootcamp. NYC DSA does provide all materials (i.e., lecture recordings, lecture slides, homework solutions, theory reviews) online, so it is a good resource for those that need to self study outside of class.
    • Staff Engagement: Leadership individuals from NYC DSA’s program are very personable, open to questions, and receptive to feedback. They are very open to revising the curriculum based on suggestions, which I found to be refreshing compared to other educational programs that I have been a part of.

    I have a technology / business consulting background and I am continuing with the same career path after the bootcamp. It was a great experience to gain deep exposure into AI and machine learning; even though I will not be acting in a true Data Scientist role, this is the type of experience that I will use regularly while working on data-focused projects and initiatives.

  • Paul Ton  User Photo
    Paul Ton • Data Scientist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My experience at NYCDSA was really great. All aspects of the program (the curriculum, the instructors, fellow students, and the job support) were top-notch! If I were sent back in time and had to make the choice again whether or not to join the bootcamp, I would say yes every time.

    The material they cover is three months of non-trivial exposure to a wide breadth of relevant, practically useful topics. And because they've been able to carefully tailor and refine the curriculum over the course of 15+ cohorts, it's highly distilled, but also designed in a way to constantly reinforce the most important concepts.

    Their job support and career coaching really streamlined the job search process for me. They have great industry connections, which increase opportunities. I found my current job from a hiring event the bootcamp hosts.

    But even beyond the course material and job support, it's the people and environment that really made the experience special for me. The instructors and TAs are both extremely knowledgeable and also super supportive and helpful. Additionally, you're surrounded by fellow students that come from all different background, but have all made the same choice as you, and they are all highly motivated and fully engaged - which is a rare thing.

  • Data Analyst
    - 12/7/2018
    Jingyu Zhang  User Photo
    Jingyu Zhang • Data Analyst • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the bootcamp of NYC Data Science Academy in the summer of 2016. I started my career as Data Analyst one month after the program. I chose this bootcamp because my friend got Data Science training there and got a Data Scientist job right after that. It was a very intensive training program with systematic classes and materials, which covered frontier machine learning algorithms and applications, big data tools, and analysis tools with a path you would be able to further develop your career. The instructors are top notch with mathematic Ph. D degrees. They condensed the Data Science skills and knowledges to approachable class materials. Hand by hand coding help. Vivian, the CTO, pushed us to our limitation and to get  good job offers. Almost 99% of our classmates got job offer, where most of them are Data Scientist, and others are Data Analyst.  The training was a whole package with knowledges, skills, resume writing and interview mock. 

    The 12 months studies helped me get my first job in 2016 , and now the second job in 2018. What I learned from NYC Data Science Academy is still helping me in my career.

    Strongly recommend.

  • Taino Pacheco  User Photo
    Taino Pacheco • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    As someone who read many reviews during my decision to switch to data science, I understand how important these testimonials are for prospective students.  That being said, if you are apprehenisive about changing careers or investing in a bootcamp, rest assured that NYCDSA  provides a quality education and valuable resources. 

    This industry changes so fast.  With that said, the academy really has their ear to the wall when in comes to new technologies, software, and machine learning algorithms.  This will really keep your skill set competitive in the market no matter when you choose to join the program.  

    Many other reviews have adressed the strength of the curriculum. So I want to comment on another benefit:  Your professional network will grow tremondously by attending the program.  When it comes to job searching, it's all about engaging with your network, hearing about opportunities from peers, alumni, and faculty, and getting referalls.  The people you meet here can really be your support system for your job search and beyond.

    When it comes to how fast you can get a job, a lot depends on how well you learned the material and getting those elusive referalls.

    This bootcamp is by no means easy.  You will be studying and brushing up on skills after you get your diploma!  

  • phoebe zhou  User Photo
    phoebe zhou • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    For someone without much programing experience or statistical training but want to get into data science. This is a great bootcamp for you to start. This does not mean it's easy, you still will have a lot of struggle and late night working on projects, but the school sets a great learning path and offer amazing assistance along the way.
    I'll list a few reasons why I picked NYCDSA : First, it has the most comprehensive and transparent curriculum online. It covers both Python and R and the skills and toolsets you get to use on the 4 projects are the most widely used ones across the industry. Second, it has pre-work and devotes the first 4 weeks of the bootcamp to review and practice the programming skills in the pre-work. This is really helpful for someone not coming from a CS background like me, helps me to better focus and learn the machine learning concepts that come later in the course. Third, the school is always updating the curriculum to catch up with the trend such as including deep learning and big data track upon students choice. Fourth, the final project is with real companies and dealing with real world business problems, which is always good talk about during job interviews. Fifth, the job hunting assistance is super,  vivian is always on top of everything and ready to help. 
    Having finished the program and landing a job offer after a few months. I'd say joining NYCDSA is definitely one of the best choices of my life. I have got what I came for, which is switch my career path. But I realized I gained so much more than that. I made a lot life-long friends who share the same passion and will continue to support each other in the future career. 

Thanks!