nyc-data-science-academy-logo

NYC Data Science Academy

New York City, Online

NYC Data Science Academy

Avg Rating:4.83 ( 265 reviews )

NYC Data Science Academy offers 12-week data science bootcamps in New York City. In these programs, students learn beginner and intermediate levels of Data Science with R, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Github, and SQL as well as popular and useful R and Python packages like XgBoost, Caret, dplyr, ggplot2, Pandas, scikit-learn, and more. Once the learning foundation has been set, students work on multiple projects through the bootcamp. The program distinguishes itself by balancing intensive lectures with real world project work, and by the breadth of its curriculum. Throughout the program students work alone and in teams to create at least four projects that are showcased to employers through multiple channels; private on-campus hiring partner events, student blogs, meetups, and filmed presentations. 

Ideal applicants should have a Masters or PhD degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience in quantitative science or programming. Candidates with BA’s who have appropriate experience are also considered.

Throughout the data bootcamp, students are assisted in preparing for the employment process through resume review and interview preparation. NYC Data Science Academy works closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interest for its students.

Recent NYC Data Science Academy Reviews: Rating 4.83

all (265) reviews for NYC Data Science Academy →

Recent NYC Data Science Academy News

Read all (21) articles about NYC Data Science Academy →
  • 12-Week Immersive Data Science Bootcamp (In-person)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $17,600
    Class size
    50
    Location
    New York City
    In this program students will learn the modern data analytic techniques and master the requisite skills, such as Python and R programming languages as well as Hadoop, to address real-world data science problems. Throughout the program, students work alone and in teams to create at least five projects that are showcased to employers. Along the way, students will have assistance in preparing for the job search through resume review, interview preparation, and opportunities to interview with our hiring partners. Successful completion of the curriculum will present a certification of graduation certified by the New York State Board of Education.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $5,000
    Financing
    Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 monthsFull Tuition Total $17,600Skills Fund Student Loan$397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition Plans
    We have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Scholarship
    Limited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ideal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Work
    http://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Big Data with Amazon Cloud, Hadoop/Spark and Docker

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time5 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,840
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City
    This is a 6-week evening program providing a hands-on introduction to the Hadoop and Spark ecosystem of Big Data technologies. The course will cover these key components of Apache Hadoop: HDFS, MapReduce with streaming, Hive, and Spark. Programming will be done in Python. The course will begin with a review of Python concepts needed for our examples. The course format is interactive. Students will need to bring laptops to class. We will do our work on AWS (Amazon Web Services); instructions will be provided ahead of time on how to connect to AWS and obtain an account.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Students are expected to be familiar with using an operating system from the command line; knowledge of Python is helpful.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science with Python: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Start Date
    October 27, 2019
    Cost
    $1,590
    Class size
    20
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This five week course is an introduction to data analysis with the Python programming language, and is aimed at beginners. We introduce how to work with different data structure in Python. We covered the most popular modules, including Numpy, Scipy, Pandas, matplotlib, and Seaborn, to do data analytics and visualization. We use ipython notebook to demonstrate the results of codes and change codes interactively during the class. Our past students include people with no programming experience or those who have minimal exposure to Python. Students told us our classes are very informative, engaging, and hands-on.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Knowledge of basic data types (e.g. string, numeric), data structures (e.g. list, tuple, dictionary) Familiarity with concepts of list comprehension and for/while loop
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 27, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 25, 2019
  • Data Science with Python: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week5 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 27, 2019
    Cost
    $1,990
    Class size
    10
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This 20-hour Machine Learning with Python course covers all the basic machine learning methods and Python modules (especially Scikit-Learn) for implementing them. This includes linear regression, Naïve Bayes classifiers, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis, cross-validation, bootstrapping, feature selection, regularization, model selection, SVM, decision trees, random forest, PCA, K-Means, and Hierarchical clustering. In addition, this course teaches the basics of natural language processing. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to explain the principles of machine learning algorithms and implement these methods to analyze complex datasets and make predictions in Python.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Completion of Data Science with Python: Data Analysis; Data Science with R: Machine Learning
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 27, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 25, 2019
  • Data Science with R: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Data Structures, Data Visualization, Data Analytics
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    September 7, 2019
    Cost
    $2,190
    Class size
    15
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This course is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to R. Students will practice programming and analyzing data with R. Students will learn how to load, save, and transform data as well as how to write functions, generate graphs, and fit basic statistical models to data. In addition to a theoretical framework in which to understand the process of data analysis, this course focuses on the practical tools needed in data analysis. This course also covers the creation of dynamic reports with the knitr package in R as well as the creation of dynamic dashboards with R Shiny. By the end of the course, students will have mastered the essential skills of processing, manipulating and analyzing data of various types, creating advanced visualizations, generating reports, and documenting the code.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic knowledge about computer components Basic knowledge about programming
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    September 7, 2019 - New York CityApply by September 5, 2019
    October 26, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 24, 2019
  • Data Science with R: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 26, 2019
    Cost
    $2,990
    Class size
    40
    Location
    New York City, Online
    This 35-hour Machine Learning with R course introduces both the theoretical foundation of machine learning algorithms as well as their practical applications in R. It will introduce you to data mining, performance measures and dimension reduction, regression models, both linear and generalized, KNN and Naïve Bayes models, tree models, and SVMs as well as the Association Rule for analysis. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to break down the mathematics behind major machine learning algorithms, explain the principles of machine learning algorithms, and implement these methods to solve real-world problems. Unit 1: Foundations of Statistics and Simple Linear Regression Unit 2: Multiple Linear Regression and Generalized Linear Model Unit 3: kNN and Naive Bayes, the Curse of Dimensionality Unit 4: Tree Models and SVMs Unit 5: Cluster Analysis and Neural Networks Final Project After 35 hours of structured lectures, students are encouraged to work on an exploratory data analysis project based on their own interests. A project presentation demo will be arranged.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Knowledge of Python programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in Python
    Prep Work
    Knowledge of R programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in R
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 26, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 24, 2019
  • Data Science with Tableau (Online)

    Apply
    Data Science, Data Visualization, Business Intelligence
    In PersonPart Time5 Hours/week3 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,590
    Class size
    20
    Location
    Online
    This course offers an accelerated intensive learning experience with Tableau – the growing standard in business intelligence for data visualization and dashboard creation. Without prior experience, students will learn to work with multiple data sources, create compelling visualizations, and roll out their data science products for continuous, scalable outputs to key stakeholders. By building insight and weaving narrative, students will be empowered to harness data in a striking way that provides value to organizations large and small. This course offers an accelerated intensive learning experience with Tableau – the growing standard in business intelligence for data visualization and dashboard creation. Without prior experience, students will learn to work with multiple data sources, create compelling visualizations, and roll out their data science products for continuous, scalable outputs to key stakeholders. By building insight and weaving narrative, students will be empowered to harness data in a striking way that provides value to organizations large and small. We utilized 4 user cases drawn from finance (public data from major stock exchanges) and sitcom data (Game of Thrones 1 ).
    Financing
    Deposit
    1590
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Know how to use Mac, Windows. Familiarity with relational databases is preferred but not required. gain a greater appreciation for the logic underlying Tableau’s features utilize their capstone project to visualize ‘big data’
    Prep Work
    Before the course begins, pre-work will be available for students interested in strengthening their ability to access and extract data from relational databases (e.g. SQL-based servers).
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Deep Learning with Tensorflow (Weekends and In-Person Only)

    Apply
    Start Date
    October 19, 2019
    Cost
    $2,990
    Class size
    15
    Location
    New York City
    Via analogy to biological neurons and human perception, this course is an introduction to artificial neural networks that brings high-level theory to life with interactive labs featuring TensorFlow, the most popular open-source Deep Learning library. Essential theory will be covered in a manner that provides students with an intuitive understanding of Deep Learning’s underlying foundations. Paired with hands-on code run-throughs in Jupyter notebooks as well as strategies for overcoming common pitfalls, this foundational knowledge will empower individuals with no previous understanding of neural networks to build production-ready Deep Learning applications across the major contemporary families: Convolutional Nets for machine vision; Long Short-Term Memory Recurrent Nets for natural language processing and time series analysis; Generative Adversarial Networks for producing realistic images; and Reinforcement Learning for playing video games.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Object-oriented programming, ideally Python (introductory course: https://nycdatascience.com/courses/introductory-python/) Simple shell commands, e.g., in Bash (tutorial of the fundamentals: https://learnpythonthehardway.org/book/appendixa.html)
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 19, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 15, 2019
  • Introduction to Python (Online)

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Data Structures, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time5 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $795
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Online
    The Introduction to Python covers the basic Python programming. Graduates will be able to write Python programs that read files, manipulate strings, and perform mathematical computations. The class is hands-on; participants will learn to write Python program by practicing coding along the way. The course covers most of the basic features of the Python language, including built-in data types and control structures, Python’s featured supporting object-oriented and functional programming, intro to Pandas, and regular expression.
    Financing
    Deposit
    795
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Comfort with Windows, Mac or Linux environment and ability to install third-party software.
    Prep Work
    This is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introductory Python (Evenings)

    Apply
    Start Date
    October 21, 2019
    Cost
    $1,590
    Class size
    40
    Location
    New York City
    This is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis. We concentrate on language basics such as list and string manipulation, control structures, simple data analysis packages, and introduce modules for downloading data from the web. This Introductory Python class runs over four weeks, with five hours of class per week (split into 2 ½ hour evening classes). Classes will be given in a lab setting, with student exercises mixed with lectures. Students should bring a laptop to class. There will be a modest amount of homework after each class.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $1590
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This Introductory Python class is designed for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming.
    Prep Work
    In the class, we will use Python 3. If you are following this video to set up Python environment, please make sure you download the Python 3.X version starting from 1 min 23 s in the video. Link: https://vimeo.com/160172414
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 21, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 18, 2019
  • Remote Immersive Data Science Bootcamp (Online)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $17,600
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Online
    Our Remote Intensive Bootcamp is an online full-time program. We live-stream our on-campus classes to the remote intensive bootcamp students. This program was designed for students that have the time to be a full-time student, but can't commute to our school. Students will be placed on a rigorous curriculum that spans from 9:30 AM to 6:00 PM EST as well as have access to prerecorded modules with over 1000 coding challenge questions on online learning platform for additional practice. In addition, they have access to dedicated TA’s as well as the larger network of a shared slack channel between both in person and remote bootcamp students. Live Classes: You will learn real-time streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Live Communication: They will learn real-time streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Personalized Job Support: Students also have access to the full resources of NYC Data Science Academy to help them find their dream job upon graduation. Our curriculum covers the expanse of all the skills required in the data science industry. We cover both R and Python as well as Machine Learning Theory, Big Data, and Deep Learning.
    Financing
    Deposit
    5000
    Financing
    Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 monthsFull Tuition Total $17,600Skills Fund Student Loan$397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition Plans
    We have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Scholarship
    Limited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ideal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Work
    http://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Remote Self-paced Data Science Bootcamp (Online)

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $17,600
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Online
    This is an online part-time self-paced program. Students have 4 - 10 months to complete this program. The curriculum is the same as our on-campus program, with full-financing options, career support and with a one on one support from our mentors. This program is designed for students that work full-time and are not able to quit their jobs. Our curriculum is drawn from data science engagement with corporate consulting and training, hiring partners and active industry participation. Our remote bootcamp ensures that students achieve a very high level of proficiency. Students are expected to dedicate themselves fully to this program and fulfill all the requirements, which include completing lecture videos, daily homework, and four projects. The Remote Bootcamp is built as a collaborative environment utilizing online chat and meeting systems. Students also have the opportunity to collaborate on homework, projects, job applications, interview preparation, paired programming, and even further through our extended alumni community. We work closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interests for students. Each student receives one-on-one support with job searching and access to all kinds of job assistance resources, including coding reviews, interview prep, resume workshop, and access to our exclusive hiring partner network.
    Financing
    Deposit
    17600
    Financing
    Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 monthsFull Tuition Total $17,600Skills Fund Student Loan$397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition Plans
    We have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / Guarantee
    NYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Scholarship
    Limited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ideal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Work
    http://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Trang Nguyen  User Photo
    Trang Nguyen • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had the Python Data Analysis class with Tony. He did a great job in explaining Python in details and gave specific examples every time new knowledge was introduced. I would definitely take his class again. 

  • Khanan Grauer  User Photo
    Khanan Grauer • Co-Founder & President • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the class with Jon Krohn and could not be more pleased. Jon has a rare ability to take a complicated subject and reduce it to its fundamental elements. Instead of approaching the problems with math alone, Jon spends time crafting examples and analogies to make sure students understand the actual building blocks conceptually. That produces an epiphanic experience where we were able to visualize what is happening behind the scenes. The concepts I’ve learned in this class is something I plan to apply to real-world problems and therefore highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn about this field. 

  • Neuton Fonseca  User Photo
    Neuton Fonseca • Senior Consultant • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am Brazilian and I was working in the business area for 7 years in Brazil, analyzing health and safety indicators, incidents, and some other data to try to get insights and drive some business decisions. I didn’t have any coding background and I was lacking advanced statistics knowledge to help me out on finding insights. So, after reading a lot about data science I started a MBA in Big Data and Analytics here in Brazil but this MBA was not exactly what I was looking for. I needed something more practical with more coding challenges and more details (theory and coding) on machine learning models, etc. With that in mind, I started looking for other courses to fulfill my needs. I ended up finding the data science bootcamp at NYC Data Science Academy, quitting my job, stopping my MBA and went to New York to attend the bootcamp. This was the best decision I have ever made.

     
    Learning how to code in both R and Python is very useful and the way that the bootcamp teaches you theory and the application of machine learning is great. It’s not easy, the pace is very fast, so you really need to focus and study a lot and you will see how much you can learn in only 12 weeks. You will be very busy learning theory and completing exercises everyday, besides projects, coding challenges, labs, machine learning challenges, etc.
     
    The projects are very challenging and very useful to learn and practice what you have learnt by the time of the project. If you do a good job, you will have a good portfolio to present to future employers.
     
    The instructors and the TA’s have different backgrounds, so you can reach them with any subject you are learning. They are very helpful and easy to reach out. The entire team is very hardworking and they push you hard to go deeper and learn more and more. 
     
    The environment is great, the students help each other, share what they learnt from other materials and from completing the exercises as well. The facilities are very good, I spent late nights there studying together with other students.
     
    This bootcamp allowed me to change quickly my career. I came back to Brazil after the bootcamp and 2 months later I got the job offer I wanted in a great consulting company. I think if you really want to become a data scientist, this is the place to start. The team is very good in preparing the students for all the steps on interviews, writing a good resume, etc.
  • Deep Learning
    - 2/9/2018
    Mahipal Singareddy  User Photo
    Mahipal Singareddy • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Deep Learning course at the NY Data Science Academy that was taught by Jon Krohn during October 2017 - December 2017. Overall it was exactly what I hoped it would be. It gave me a strong foundation of all the core deep learning concepts. The class was hosted on every other saturday which allowed enough time to fully explore a particular topic between classes. Jon made a particular effort to keep the material simple and explained the concepts intuitely rather than with complicated math. Jon has great understanding of the content and is well prepared for each lesson. I thoroughly enjoyed the class and it has motivated me to pivot my career into deep learning. I would recommend this class to anyone who is passionate about deep learning but don't know where to begin. It is also great for anyone who has worked with some but not all of the deep learning techniques.

  • Patrick Masi-Phelps  User Photo
    Patrick Masi-Phelps • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    TL;DR: The NYCDSA full-time bootcamp is a great way to start a career pivot into data science. The curriculum covers the most important topics in the space; the instructors are accessible and actually care; and you'll get out what you put in.

    The first four weeks are python and R basics. These can get a little tedious and heavy on programming, but are important so that you can fly around when doing the more advanced stuff. The next couple are on web scraping, then a few more on machine learning, then some on more advanced topics like distributed computing, time series analysis, and deep learning. 

    The 3-hour morning lectures are helpful and touch on the most important issues from a high level. The homework assignments (usually every other day) and projects (4 total) are how you actually retain the information. If you stay on top of these assignments and aren't afraid to ask for help, you'll learn so so much! I thought the first ~8 weeks were thorough and well-paced. I thought the last 4 weeks rushed through a number of advanced topics without enough time to retin the information through projects, homeworks, and other "real world" practice. I'd recommend choosing a few of these topics to really focus on in your projects rather than trying to understand everything from the last 4 weeks just from a high level.

    This particular bootcamp has a lot of industry connections. After graduating, the hiring partner cocktail event will lead to a number of interviews with companies looking for entry level people.

    Taking this bootcamp (or any other, frankly) provides a stamp of legitimacy on your pivot to data science that you probably couldn't get from just teaching yourself python and doing online coursera courses.

    You'll get out what you put in with NYCDSA. Sometimes this means 60 hour weeks right before projects are due.

  • Raj Tiwari  User Photo
    Raj Tiwari • Research & Analytics • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The introductionary course in Python (Data Analysis and Visualization) was an invaluable first-step in the Data Science journey. The course provides hands-on experience with the core analytical packages of the Python language. Tony makes great use of class-time; he is extremely effective in delivering instructional content and fielding questions related to the languages applicability.

  • John Chen  User Photo
    John Chen • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    It's important when learning anything to get the fundamentals right. If you build bad habits, it can become difficult to fix them later on, especially if you have also built many dependencies on those bad habits. This is why when I wanted to start learning about data science, I chose to take this course to help me make the right choices from the very beginning.

    I would say that I got exactly what I came for. Tony is a very good instructor. He is able to express complicated concepts in an understandable way, and I would definitely say that now I understand enough about the Python ecosystem that I could start learning on my own if I wanted. 

  • Thomas Kassel  User Photo
    Thomas Kassel • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I spent my undergraduate years focusing on the life sciences without much formal educational background in programming and advanced statistics. While working as a data analyst my first few years out of college, I gained practical coding experience in R, picking up general programming and modeling experience - even still, I lacked the underlying foundation needed to understand and implement more complex machine learning for my projects at work.

    The NYCDSA online bootcamp was the perfect blend of machine learning theory and practical, hands-on projects helping to solidify the lecture concepts. The overall experience was intense: I worked full-time at my day job and spent most of my free time (~30 hours/week) keeping up with lectures, course projects and career development - but got out an incredible learning experience, which helped me to perform more advanced projects at my current job and ultimately to find a new full-time data science role. My TA, meeting with me at least weekly, along with my online cohort of 4 other students, held us all accountable for staying on track with course deadlines and project work. This accountability was a crucial component in keeping us motivated throughout the 5 months; other online programs fail to do this and suffer student dropout as a result.

    Another invaluable outcome of the program is the portfolio of projects (~5), which NYCDSA greatly emphasizes and helps groom. I used these as a demonstration of my experience (both from a coding standpoint on GitHub, and data storytelling standpoint, on the NYCDSA blog) in almost all job applications. While one does not need to attend a bootcamp in order to create a project portfolio, NYCDSA makes sure to curate and grade the assignments so as to demonstrate in the portfolio an important mix of technical skillsets sought in the job market, and holds its students to higher standards of work quality than they might hold themselves.

  • Aarsh Sachdeva  User Photo
    Aarsh Sachdeva • Quantitative Research Portfolio Analyst, Derivatives • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came to NYCDSA immediately after graduating from college with a bachelors in math and finance. I had been struggling with passing quantitative interviews due to my lack of programming skills. The New York City Data Science Academy helped out sooo much on that end by constantly keeping us busy with lectures, homework, and projects. I was very surprised at how quickly I was able to learn programming in Python and pass assessments and interviews for a number of top hedge funds. There is no way I would've been able to learn as much as I did in as short amount of a time anywhere else. On top of that, having instructors, TAs, and a team devoted to helping me develop the skils and connections I needed was invaluable. After graduating from the bootcamp, I completed a project in Python for a quantitative investment firm, impressed them, and got the job. I'm so glad I came to NYCDSA to build the skills I needed for a career I'm truly passionate about. 

  • Jake  User Photo
    Jake • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came into NYC Data Science with experience working as a data analyst at several companies and active data consulting work.

    At NYDSA, I wanted to spend three months solidifying my existing skillset as data analyst and learning areas that I did not know much about like machine learning and big data.  In my jobs, I had previously worked with both Python and R, and appreciated the value of both languages. I also liked that NYDSA wasn't part of some big cookie cutter data science bootcamp chain. 

    For the first month of NYCDSA when we covered topics like data wrangling, visualization, shiny, and web scraping,  it was mostly review for me. That being said, I learned some new tools and tricks, and was able to work on some interesting projects with some help with from our great teachers. I also got to meet and learn from a lot of interesting classmates. The students at NYDSA come from a wide variety of backgrounds, from PHDs to straight out of bachelors programs, and are definitiely part of the value of the program. 

    After watching me instruct classmates on web scraping, which I had a lot of experience with before the bootcamp, NYCDSA asked me if I wanted to record web scraping lectures for their online data science bootcamp. I agreed to record them and got to have some experience teaching while I was still a student in the bootcamp, which both solidied my skills and helped me earn back some of tuition. 

    During the machine learning and big data portion of the bootcamp, I was exposed to lots of new material and learned a lot. While I still have a lot to learn, I now have a good understanding of different machine learning models and techniques, and some of the big data technologies. 

    One month after the bootcamp ended, I started working full-time at a consulting company that I was consulting for during the bootcamp. With my experience in the program, I was able to negotiate better terms on my contract with the company. In addition, I have been doing some additional data science consulting on the side (one project referred by NYCDSA) and the skills learned at NYDSA have benefited me in all my work. 

    If you invest your time in the program, you will get three months of data science learning with awesome teachers who know their stuff and are willing to help you through any learning hurdles. As someone who has and continues to learn most of this stuff on my own, three months with expert teachers definitely accelerated my learning pace. So if you want to spend three months learning a lot of data science, I would recommend you sign up 

  • Scott Edenbaum  User Photo
    Scott Edenbaum • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have had a very positive experience during and after completion of the NYC Data Science Academy's Full-Time Data Science BootCamp. I chose this particular school because they were the most transparent (the full - and very rigirous ciriculum is available on their website) and the depth and breadth of interview questions from the Data Science Academy convinced me that they take this very seriously - and that this would be a very difficult but rewarding 12 weeks.

    To start from the beginning. the application process of the time was rather straightforward - a web application, a short programming assignment, and an interview. Although I didn't have much familiarity with Python or R and had been working in the retail wealth management industry for the past 3 years, my educational background is a B.S. in Mathematics and a minor in Computer Science and was considered sufficicient for me to be accepted into the program. In hindsight, I think the most important prerequisite (outside of the base math/computer knowledge) is having passion for data/programming/AI/statistics/etc then the potential difficultiy of the content becomes secondary to your desire to learn and improve.

    The Data Science Academy did a terrific job selecting the studens - the main commonality being the passion and desire to learn a lot of difficult content in a short amount of time.

    The program is project oriented - both individual and group projects. There is a good deal of flexibility about the project topic/content so each student ends up with a unique portfolio of ~4 projects (and corresponding presentations/blog posts).

    For example, I did an EDA (Exploratory Data Analysis) project and created an interactive webapp using R and Shiny based on data for a particular anti-poverty initiative from a large mulitinational charity. This webapp visualized the breakdown in demographics, geography, and other metrics to help that organization identify trends in the data and better allocate their resources going forward.

    The other projects I worked on utilized a wide array of popular datascience tools and techniques, my personal favorites: web scraping (big fan of Selenium + BeautifulSoup ), natural language processing, visualizations, and machine learning.  There are a few technical resources available that not all students take adavantage of, those are the various linux servers and hadoop/spark clusters available. During the machine learning project, each time I ran my ensemble of models it woud incapacitate my laptop for ~30hours. I soon discovered the value of using a high powered remote server for number crunching - and polished my linux/BASH scripting skills in the process.

    The staff and instructuors are very thoughtful about keeping an environment condusive to learning. Every Friday there would be a Q&A session with the staff where they would ask the students their thoughts on the pace of this week's ciriculum along with other questions/issues. I mentioned that the hand sanitizer dispensar was empty, they listened and had it filled the next week.

    The instructors are great. The lecture sessions can run on a bit long, but they are finely tuned machines, packed with a ton of great content and example code. They are accessible on slack and answer frequently answered my coding questions at odd hours of the evening. As the content grew in difficulty, it was very obvious that each instructor has mastered the topic of their lecture - I never felt dissapointed with their answers to my questions.

    The atmosphere was condusive to learning, everyone was open to helping each with homework/project coding questions if asked. I was pleased with the sense of comradary among the students as opposed to the toxic competitive environments I've seen at some traditional higher education institutions.

    The Raspberry Pi computers have been a personal interes of mine, and one of my projects usilng a Pi 3 caught the attention of the managent staff at the Academy. He saw some good potential, and put me in touch with their PR contact, two months later my project gets publised online and in print  - https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi/issues/61/ (page 13).

    Towrds the end of the BootCamp their staff put me directly in contact with several managers/exeutives at business hiring data science personell. I had much better job application results when I leveraged their network as opposed to a cold application. Althought it took a few months after graduating, the Data Science Academy put me in contact with my future employer.

    Currently I'm working with the title Data Science Contractor for a Data Science Consultancy. I am extremely happy with the work I'm doing. Every day I get to work on interesting conceptual puzzles and work with Amazon and Google's cloud computing and big data tools. Our work is primarily done in Python, BASH, and SQL, and the NYC Data Science Academy really helped me prepare for the various technical and statistiacal challenges in this profession.

    I couldn't be happier with my decision.

  • Haseeb Durrani  User Photo
    Haseeb Durrani • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Spring 2017 Cohort of the data science bootcamp at the NYC Data Science Academy. Originally I had read up about the program in 2015 but did not feel prepared to quit my job and take a leap into a full-time bootcamp. I spent about 2 years preparing myself by taking courses online (mostly through coursera) to build up my Python and R skills. Part of me was hoping that coursera courses would be enough to land a job as a Data Scientist or even as a Data Analyst, however that was not the case. Finally in January of 2017 I felt a bit more confident to apply to the bootcamp, and once accepted I decided to officially make the switch into a career in data science. 

    The bootcamp curriculum is very intensive and cannot be taken lightly. A majority of my fellow students were in a similar situation where they quit their jobs, and invested a great deal of time and money considering that this program is not cheap. Keeping that in mind it's very important to understand that this is not a golden ticket to a better paying job. Simply showing up every day will not be enough to get the most out of your investment while attending this program. 

    Before the Bootcamp:

    The pre-work which is part-time and can be completed online or in person is very important as it serves as a preview of the first couple of weeks of the program. If you complete all of the pre-work (which I highly suggest) the first few weeks of the bootcamp might seem to be full of redundant information and make you question your decision to pay for a very expensive course which is teaching you things you already know. Don't worry too much about that because that is just the calm before the storm as things pick up very quickly as you approach the end of the first month. It's also much better to spend the first few weeks mastering the basics by going over things you know as compared to jumping into the deep end by learning everything for the first time on Day 1 of the bootcamp. Take advantage of this "down time" to master the basics and prepare yourself for what's to come because once you get to machine learning things start to get very serious. 

    The pre-work mostly covers Python and R programming which are vital skills to have in order to make it through the program. If you can have a basic understand of Python and R before the bootcamp it will only help you because just like anything else the more you do it the better you get at it. The pre-work doesn't include SQL which I believe is very important to have at least a general understanding of the basics. It also doesn't unclude linear algebra or statistics which are also extremely important especially if you have been out of school for a while. You do not have to master any of these (Python, R, SQL, linear algebra, or basic statistics) before the bootcamp but having a basic understanding will help a great deal. 

    During the Bootcamp:

    During the 12 weeks every day involves learning new information, and that is why it is extremely important to keep up with the homework to review what you have learned. The projects are also very helpful to link everything together. The projects are a great opportunity to showcase your data science skills and you should pick topics which are relevant to industries you are interested in. Make sure you can explain every aspect of your project because you will be asked questions about them during interviews. 

    The staff is extremely helpful and will take the time needed to help you with anything you need to keep you moving forward so do not hesitate to pull an instructor or TA aside to ask questions. The program is not perfect and the staff is constantly working to improve the curriculum. Pulse check on Friday afternoons is a great opportunity to voice your concerns (which my cohort took full advantage of) and speak your mind of what you find helpful and what can be improved. This is not only helpful to you and your cohort, but also for future cohorts.   

    After the Bootcamp:

    Once you make it through the 12 weeks the learning does not stop, because you will feel that there is much you still do not feel confident about. This is an unfortunately do to the fact that during the limited amount of time (12 weeks) there is a great deal of breadth of materials covered but it's impossible to go into great depth on each topic. This is when your show of commitment comes into play where you have to review concepts which you do not feel confident about. Reviewing the material is helpful, and completing coding challenges through HackerRank also helps. The recommended textbook is another great resource (ISLR) which should ideally be read before or during the bootamp. I unfortunately waited until after to read the text which is great for reviewing the machine learning concepts. There are many resources available to help review. I found some very helpful YouTube videos other other textbooks to review machine learning concepts I did not feel confident about. This will obviously vary from person to person depending on your learning style. You can choose to spend time reviewing everything, or focus on mastering concepts which are relevant to jobs your are applying to. 

    Job Hunt:

    The NYC Data Science Academy is there for you during your job hunt. They will help you fix your resume which helped me go from getting no replies for jobs that I would apply to before the bootcamp, to having 10 phone interviews lined up within 2-3 weeks of finishing the program. The hiring partner event is a great opportunity to connect with prospective employers. Mock interviews are available to help work on interviewing skills. I had my mock interview 2 days before my actual interview, and it was a previous graduate who is currently working as a data scientist. His advice helped to boost my confidence and within a few days of my actual interview I received an offer. 

    Take Home Message:

    Overall it was a great experience for me and I do not regret the sacrifices I made to attend the program. If you are interested in this program please give it your best and keep in mind that at the end of the day the burden is on you. You are the one who has the most to lose if you do not take full advantage of this opportunity. There is a great deal of self-studying involved before, during, and after the program. The more dedication and effort you put into your journey to become a data scientist, the more likely it will result in a positive outcome. You might hear back from some of the jobs that you apply to, you might not hear back from most of them. Not all interviews will go well but with each failure you will learn what needs to be improved. My advice is that if you are motivated and dedicated to start a career in data science, and willing to put in the required work then this 12 week data science bootcamp at the NYC Data Science Academy is the right choice for you. 

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 9/10/2017
    Cheryl  User Photo
    Cheryl • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    It is one of my best decisions to attend NYC Data Science Academy. During the bootcamp, I gained more confidence in programming. The coding skills taught are always on trend. Followed by the schedule of the bootcamp, I smoothly transferred my career path into data science. I do not only learned R, Python with corresponding practical, popular libraries in industrial applications but also acquired the ability in quickly learning new skills. NYC Data Science Academy provides students a good platform to communicate computer programming, machine learning algorithms, and its applications. Instructors and TAs are always helpful and patient for students to overcome difficulties in the study and provide supports. At the same time, students could have a blog platform with editing help to present projects. Interview skill development and career advice from Chris and Vivian are powerful to develop students as strong competitors in the job market. I really appreciate the knowledge, skills, and support I acquired from NYC Data Science Academy. I highly recommend NYC Data Science Academy to anyone who is interested in this career.

  • Chao Shi  User Photo
    Chao Shi • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Long story short --

    I have a PhD in computational geoscience and worked as a geophysicist in Houston for five years. I joined NYCDSA for the 12-week bootcamp, and worked as hard as I could. I was hired after my first interview, with an offer in hand within two weeks post graduation. NYCDSA has helped me achieve this smooth transition into a brand new field in just 3.5 months.


    How I made the decision to join --

    1) The time commitment is right: I was willing to put in a few months of my time through well-designed highly-intensive training, rather than spending a year or so to learn on my own. I do not want to go through a one-to-two-year data science master's program, considering a) I have a computational PhD degree, and b) although many data science theories have been long established, data science platforms and tools are evolving fast.

    2) Word-of-Mouth: I have friends in New York working in the data domain recommending this academy over other data science training offerings. "richer content", "up-to-date material", "good instructors" are among the key words that I recall.

    3) A balanced focus on teaching and job service: I have interviewed with a few different data science bootcamps. Many of them gave me a feeling that they want me to be 90% ready for a data scientist role coming in, and they are only willing to do the 10% polishing to get me "sold". NYCDSA convinced me with their road map that they will first focus on teaching the content that they are proud of, then switch gear near the end to the job search part. They shared their online pre-work content with me, so I could get ready. I was impressed by the quality of the recorded lectures and coding platform, which further boosted my faith in the academy.


    Experience at the bootcamp --

    1) The content

    The teaching material is well developed and feels fresh. They keep polishing the core content and introduce many newly developed "jump start" sessions along the way. You are well informed about what's new out there while learning all the fundamentals.

    2) The instructors

    They have a stable teaching team here. Unlike many other camps which keep losing instructors and hiring recently graduated trainees as instructors, NYCDSA has a stable team. The majority of them started working here from years ago when the 12-week bootcamp was initiated.

    They are a knowledgeable, friendly and hardworking group of people, with finance, math, computer science, physics background. When they are not teaching, they either help the students or work together on their side projects. It is smooth to learn from people you respect and admire.

    3) The fellow campers

    A vast majority of the students here have or are working on a graduate STEM degree, with a solid quantitative background. Many also bring in years of experience from finance, health care, software engineering, marketing or other fields. What they all share is a strong will to perform and succeed in data science.

    I feel honored to have worked with a few of them on the group projects. We helped each other not just during the bootcamp, but also during the job search period. I am convinced that it is a great professional and personal network to be in, for the long future after our time at the academy.

    4) The career service

    NYCDSA organizes hiring events for each cohort. You will see quite a few Fortune 500 companies coming to the event, as well as promising start-ups. The NYSDSA career team verify the job vacancies, collect details about the hiring teams, and prepare cohort members individually for a successful outcome (resume, LinkedIn, GitHub, blog posts, interview skills, and many other aspects.) They also utilize their own personal network to get interview opportunities when they see a great match.

    They keep supporting and motivating the students during the course of job search. There are rooms set aside for graduates to come back to and work on things. Here you get daily check-in's from the instructing team and helpful discussion with fellow cohort members. I have been enjoying this cozy and welcoming space often, and plan to keep gaining knowledge and energy from this ideally located data science hub.


    Advice for future students --

    1) Complete the pre-work, have an initial plan for the projects coming in.
    2) Work hard during the bootcamp, be curious and independent. Treat it as a 3-month internship.
    3) Plan to jump right into job hunting effort right after.
    4) When working with wonderful teammates, make sure to deliver your parts; after achieving your goals, remind yourself that you have been kindly helped along the way.


    Closing comments --

    It has been a great investment. With the guidance, help, and support from NYCDSA, my job preparation and search time frame has been shortened by at least 3-6 months. For people with solid STEM background and strong desire to work in Data Science, this bootcamp should be a challenging and rewarding journey. I would continue to cherish the relationship I have built with my mentors and friends met during Cohort 9 at the academy. I wish them well.

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 8/20/2017
    Claire Vignon  User Photo
    Claire Vignon Verified via Linkedin
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Going to NYC Data Science Academy is a decision I don’t regret for a second. These were ones of the most challenging 3 months but well worth it. I learnt a lot and got a lot of support that I would not have gotten anywhere else.

    As long as you are ready to put in a lot of sweat, hours and effort, you will be successful and do extremely well because you will always get the support of the TAs, staff and fellow students. You are surrounded by a bunch of smart people and TAs who are here to support you and help you grow. 

    The fact that NYC DSA selects students with a Masters or PhD degree is a big plus because you end up working with people from whom you can learn tremendously. Their experience and background make the bootcamp that much more interesting.

    The curriculum is solid and half of it is dedicated to machine learning. Some bootcamps only dedicate a few weeks to machine learning which does not make sense to me given that it is the core of a data science position. The curriculum keeps evolving based on the feedback the students give every week during the pulse check. 

    I believe that you won’t have any difficulty finding a data science position after attending the bootcamp as long as you have the drive and treat the bootcamp and your job hunting as a full time job. 

    Also, NYC DSA offers a lot of help in your job hunting. The last 3 weeks of the bootcamp are dedicated to helping you with your job hunt (don’t worry you’ll still be working on your data science skillset in the meantime with probably the toughest classes of the bootcamp happening at that time too…). You’ll receive a lot of support to find a job from the staff and they will prepare you for interviews.

    All in all, get ready to work hard and if you do, this will be one of the best decisions you will ever make to advance your career in data science

  • YR Gong  User Photo
    YR Gong • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had been in the 12 week data science bootcamp last year summer, which changed my view to myself about leaning data science. It was a big challenge for me at that time as I had little programming experience. Although the course was extremely intensive, the tutors and TAs were very helpful and encourage us to find a way to achieve the goal. Also, I believe that the course are very comprehansive and good for someone who really wanna find  a related job in Data Science industry. Now I am studying Master of Data science in University of Rochester. My experience in the 3 month bootcamp, defenitely increased my chance to be admiited. I would like to say thanks to all of them who helped me at that time and make me ever stronger. 

  • 100% Recommended!
    - 8/14/2017
    Yvonne  User Photo
    Yvonne • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall: 

    100% YES!!! I wholeheartedly recommend NYC Data Science Academy! If you want to switch into data science, the bootcamp will help you land your dream job. I got an internship offer shortly after the end of bootcamp(~2.5 weeks) through the bootcamp’s hiring partner event, and recently became a full-time data scientist at the same company. All of this would not have been possible without the help of NYCDSA!

     

    Full Review

    When I was reading through bootcamp reviews, I personally thought it was more helpful to find people of similar background as mine and see how well they fared.  For instance, knowing that people with only bachelors degree attended NYCDSA and got data scientist jobs helped to not only inspire me, but also to set realistic expectations on what type of jobs I could get and how long it could take. So here is a blurb about myself:

     

    TL-DR; 

    • Bachelors degree In math and economics
    • <1 yr of work experience
    • Limited exposure to R/SQL/Big Data tools prior to the bootcamp(Does using a select statement in SQL count?)
    • Prior experience coding in C and basic Python through an intro level computer science course in college. No exposure to data packages in Python. 

     

    Prior to coming into the bootcamp, I asked myself: “Is the bootcamp worth the $16,000 investment?” Is it going to give me enough skills to find a job as a data scientist?”. If you read my introduction, the ultimate answer is an obvious YES! Below, I am listing the top 7 reasons why I think NYDSCA was a worth investment for me:

    1. Top-notch job assistance:  From teaching how to craft your resume to preparing for technical interviews, Vivian and Chris did an excellent job at explaining what interviewing for data scientist positions was like. This “soft skill” portion was really important for me since I wasn’t accustomed to interviewing for technical roles. Thank you Vivian for always pushing me to become a better data scientist! Thank you Chris for all the earnest advices on job hunting!
    2. Connections of the bootcamp: As I mentioned earlier, I got my job through the bootcamp’s hiring partner event. Being able to take advantage of the wide network of employers definitely made “getting the foot in the door” much easier
    3. Learning both R and Python: I wanted to learn both as I knew it would help me cover my bases and be prepared for most data science-related jobs. 
    4. Transforming me into a confident coder: having learned coding through a class in college and a bit of self-learning, I knew I needed to improve my skills if I ever wanted to land a serious job as a data scientist. The pre-work material along with projects were really helpful in that sense
    5. Structured curriculum: There is a lot of thought put into the structure of each class. It was very nice to have all materials that I needed to learn organized for me so that my only worry was to learn.  
    6. Instructors: They deserve their own section as most staff have been teaching for quite a few cohorts. They are all very knowledgeable and approachable. Special shoutout to Zeyu for being an amazing TA and always offering helpful guidance through my projects!
    7. Projects: Each project covers an essential area of data science-data visualization, web scraping, machine learning - and I learned so much through them. The projects were also essential to build my data science portfolio and showcase my skillset to employers.

    If you made it all the way to the end, thank you reading this review! All in all, NYCDSA was great!! It worked perfectly for me as it gave me the skills (both technical and soft) I needed to land a data scientist job.  BE PREPARED TO WORK HARD. Treat both the bootcamp and job hunting as a full-time job and you will be rewarded. :)

  • Best 3 Months Ever
    - 8/10/2017
    Kamal Sandhu  User Photo
    Kamal Sandhu • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the January-March 2017 boot camp of the New York Data Science Academy. It was the most densely packed and learning filled 3 month period of my life. NYCDSA has the right balance of theory and practise built into their curriculum.

    Projects were fun and challenging. Instructors and TA's with expertise in both coding and statistics were available round the clock. I personally asked for assistance on many topics and was more than satisfied with the help. Staff's knowledge about theory and real world applications blew my mind.

    Perhaps, the best part about NYCDSA is working with fellow students who are as passionate, knowledgeable and hard working as you are. Highly recommended.

  • Kyle   User Photo
    Kyle • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Honestly one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Yes it’s a reasonably difficult course, but if you are truly interested in data science you enjoy every second of it. Like anything, you get out what you put in. If you’re ready to work as hard as you need to in order to master this wealth of knowledge in 12 weeks, this course is 100% for you.

    The instructors and TAs are excellent, all accomplished data scientists with a wealth of skill and knowledge. The resources, from slides to code examples and practice questions, are things I will continue to use throughout my career as a data scientist. There is ALWAYS more to learn in the field of data science.

    If you’re thinking about going because you simply want a pay raise, then don’t. The course is relatively difficult, and if you aren’t willing to put in the work to master everything you need to land a job, then you won’t get a job. Simple as that.

    However, if you are committed to becoming an expert data science, the job support here is immense. There are mock interviews, code interview practice questions, linkedin workshops, presentations from hiring companies and data scientists etc…I myself recently accepted a dream offer from a company I was connected with through the bootcamp.

    You likely won’t get a job immediately, it’ll take awhile and a lot of interview practice. It took me about 3 months. If you haven’t mastered the skills you need to be a data scientist, then you don’t have the skills to pass through the interview process. But again, if you are committed there is no shortage of resources made available to you. If you do not succeed here, it is because you did not put as much effort into them as they did into you.

    Finally, an underrated part of the experience is the other students. Some of my best friends in the city I met through the bootcamp, and we still go out for drinks all the time. The course not only provides you with knowledge, but connections. It’s a room full of intelligent, driven and entrepreneurial people. You could expect nothing less.

    If you want to be a data scientist, and more importantly you have the drive to learn and succeed, you’ll thrive here. Simple as that.

  • Life Changed
    - 5/26/2017
    Mayank Shah  User Photo
    Mayank Shah • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This course was the best thing to ever happen to me. In 20 weeks (4: pre work, 12: course, 4 job hunt) I went from someone who couldn't write 'Hello World' in python to a full blown Data Scientist, making six figures, with multiple companies vying for my interest. 

    What you should know:

    You will get as much out of this course as you put in. I had many, many days where I was working well past midnight and back in class by 9:30am. You learn how to learn, which is THE skill required for any coding job. The curriculum is intensive, and a lot of times I couldn't totally complete the homework without checking for answers from my peers, and that's okay! In the real world, much of your job will be interacting and working with a team. 

    Course:
    Go every day, work hard, finish the projects on time, and hold yourself accountable. The lecturers do a great job, but ultimately when you're 24+ years old, nobody is going to spoon feed you. The homework is great, but when you try to put everything you've learned together into a well rounded project (there are 4-5 projects), that is when you really understand what is going on. Throw yourself full bore into the projects, and take pride in your work. 90% of what I learned, no exaggeration, was in the 3-5 days before projects were due. Its one thing to figure out homework by looking at the example sets, and a different thing entirely to apply those concepts to a data set with different structure and goals. If you are proud of your projects at the end, you will get a job. Period.

    Job Hunt:

    The job is the ultimate goal for 99% of people entering the camp. Unfortunately, there is some confusion about how the search will work. For one, you will not be "given" a job. For most people, the job search will take 1.5-3 months. Vivian has excellent contacts but she also has 40+ students. In order to guarantee yourself a job, you need to approach the process like a data science project. For me, I did "easy apply"s on LinkedIn, 50 a day. These take literally 15 seconds each. I then selected 15 companies a day with a more formal interview process, and sent them a variation of a pre-written cover letter. For my top picks, I tried to find a hiring manager or data scientist on the team, and add them on LinkedIn. I put my name on AngelList, and got many companies reaching out. I humbled myself and told everyone I was more interested in a great learning position, not a great salary. I iteratively changed my own interview methods, including voice tone, inflections, negotiations, honesty levels, until I found a balance that worked for me. You cannot just apply and hope. That is not a method.

    Basically, the bootcamp is the first big step. The second big step is learning how to apply and interview. Many people send out 5-10 applications to their top picks (who are often everyone else's top picks as well) and then sit on their hands and wonder why they haven't gotten a job. When entering a new field, you have to make concessions about your salary and place of work, in order to reap the rewards down the line. Also, without multiple options, you will not be able to negotiate because you'll feel this is your only chance. BROADEN YOUR HORIZONS!

     

    Overall:

    The camp was the best decision I ever made. I read a book called Design Your Life, which basically said take how you want your life to be, then decide what is necessary to get it there.

    I wanted to live in NYC, with a six figure job, working in an office with low stress, and love what I do. NYCDSA made all of that possible. If you have gotten a degree that isn't taking you where you want to be, but you know you're smart and can work hard, I strongly urge you to apply to NYCDSA today. 

  • SEAN SW LEE • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before I attended NYC data science academy bootcamp, I already had chances to take some short introductory courses in R, Python, and machine learning at other institutes. But even after taking such courses,  my skills  and understanding were very limited, and I actually had difficulties doing researches. This is why I came to attend the NYC data science bootcamp.

    During the bootcamp, we learned data science/machine learning not only in R but also in Python. The codes that I got from lecture codes and  homework are valuable, and I find them  very helpful for conducting my research. In particular, since R and Python have their own highs and lows, I'm able to use both R and Python in complementary ways in my researches, which are actually very good points of the bootcamp program.

    When I conmpare the lecture notes from NYC data science bootcamp with lecture notes obtained elsewhere, I find that the lecture notes from NYC data science bootcamp are well organized to successfully explain fundamental theories.

    I think the teachers here are very knowledgeable, and their lectures are very  efficient. Many of the teachers also shared their experience in the data science industry and gave us ideas about what it is like to work in the data science industry, which was another good point of this program. When students needed helps, TAs, managers, or teachers were available either in person or on slacks for discussions.

    I think this is a highly recommendable program for anyone interested in data science. But, before this program starts, enrolled students are highly recommended to do their best in the preliminary lectures to be better prepared. In addition, students need to work really hard in lectures, homework, and projects.

    I'd highly recommend this program.

  • Paul C • Data Analyst • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I recently completed two NYCDSA courses: 'Python Introductory' and 'Python Data Visualization & Analysis' taught by Tony Schultz in July 2019. First, the courses provide a really great foundation to learn python and bulding out your technical skills for applications. Second, Tony is a great instructor and walks you through everything. He takes the time to explain difficult concepts and provides simple explanations to understanding code. Highly recommend to those who are looking to build out their technical skills.

  • A+ Bootcamp
    - 7/22/2019
    David Levy • Data Analyst at FanDuel Sportsbook • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Amazing bootcamp and experience! The teachers and TA's are extremely knowledgable and caring- going over and beyond in their support of students. The program is also exceptionally well-managed and upper management genuinely cares about the success of their students; both throughout the bootcamp and after graduation.

    As in most things in life- you will get what you put in. Be prepared to work really hard- you will learn a TON and set yourself up for success in the data science field. You will also build an outstanding network and support system of like-minded, good people!

    HIGHLY recommended!

  • Devika Pradhan • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the "Data Science with Python: Data Analysis and Visualization" class taught by Tony Schultz this summer.  The course content is thorough, well formed and covered a lot of areas within the short amount of time. Tony was great with explaining all the concepts. Often times he covered more than just one way to solve a problem and encouraged us to develop our own coding styles. Definitely recommend this  class to all working professionals interested in learning Data Science using Python. 

  • Good and Difficult
    - 6/13/2019
    Adrian Gillerman • Global Data Analyst • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

           The bootcamp offers even seasoned machine learning practitioners something new, and everyone (regardless of their coding background) can get something out of it.  The instructors are nice and want you to succeed but there is so much information packed into such a short amount of time. I liked this bootcamp but found it difficult.

           On a more personal note, I would not have gotten the job that I have now at Bloomberg without this bootcamp. I received letters of recommendation from two instructors as well as a practice interview with one of the camp’s alumni who had recently gone through the same interview process. The interviewer mentioned that the bootcamp made me stick out as an applicant and was part of the reason why I got this position. As I reflect on this experience though, I felt like I was floundering the entire time and overall the experience was not enjoyable because of the magnitude of work. However, I ended up learning so much about R and the different machine learning techniques. Even though I came from a mathematical background with some machine learning experience I was not able to comprehend some material during the program.

            Some of you reading this review may be thinking in a strictly cost-benefit mindset. For me, the financial benefit has outweighed the cost especially because I am at the beginning of my career. Because of the quality of the instructors, the opportunities the bootcamp unlocks, and the interesting subject material I would recommend this bootcamp to anyone looking for a challenging way to jumpstart their machine learning adventure.

  • Jane Li • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Python course about Data Analysis and Visualization. Tony taught everything in a very clear and organized manner. Highly recommend the course to anyone who are interested to learn more about data analytics and pursue the data scientist career.

Thanks!