nyc-data-science-academy-logo

NYC Data Science Academy

New York City, Online

NYC Data Science Academy

Avg Rating:4.84 ( 296 reviews )

NYC Data Science Academy offers 12-week data science bootcamps in New York City. In these programs, students learn beginner and intermediate levels of Data Science with R, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Github, and SQL as well as popular and useful R and Python packages like XgBoost, Caret, dplyr, ggplot2, Pandas, scikit-learn, and more. Once the learning foundation has been set, students work on multiple projects through the bootcamp. The program distinguishes itself by balancing intensive lectures with real world project work, and by the breadth of its curriculum. Throughout the program students work alone and in teams to create at least four projects that are showcased to employers through multiple channels; private on-campus hiring partner events, student blogs, meetups, and filmed presentations. 

Ideal applicants should have a Masters or PhD degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience in quantitative science or programming. Candidates with BA’s who have appropriate experience are also considered.

Throughout the data bootcamp, students are assisted in preparing for the employment process through resume review and interview preparation. NYC Data Science Academy works closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interest for its students.

Recent NYC Data Science Academy Reviews: Rating 4.84

all (296) reviews for NYC Data Science Academy →

Recent NYC Data Science Academy News

Read all (22) articles about NYC Data Science Academy →
  • 12-Weeks In-Person Data Science Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date July 6, 2020
    Cost$17,600
    Class size50
    LocationNew York City
    In this program students will learn the modern data analytic techniques and master the requisite skills, such as Python and R programming languages as well as Hadoop, to address real-world data science problems. Throughout the program, students work alone and in teams to create at least five projects that are showcased to employers. Along the way, students will have assistance in preparing for the job search through resume review, interview preparation, and opportunities to interview with our hiring partners. Successful completion of the curriculum will present a certification of graduation certified by the New York State Board of Education.
    Financing
    Deposit$5,000
    Financing
    $397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 6, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 19, 2020
  • Big Data with Amazon Cloud, Hadoop/Spark and Docker

    Apply
    Data Science, Hadoop, Spark, Data Structures, Python, Cloud Computing
    In PersonPart Time5 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,990
    Class size10
    LocationNew York City
    This is a 6-week evening program providing a hands-on introduction to the Hadoop and Spark ecosystem of Big Data technologies. The course will cover these key components of Apache Hadoop: HDFS, MapReduce with streaming, Hive, and Spark. Programming will be done in Python. The course will begin with a review of Python concepts needed for our examples. The course format is interactive. Students will need to bring laptops to class. We will do our work on AWS (Amazon Web Services); instructions will be provided ahead of time on how to connect to AWS and obtain an account.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelStudents are expected to be familiar with using an operating system from the command line; knowledge of Python is helpful.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science with Python: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$1,590
    Class size20
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This five week course is an introduction to data analysis with the Python programming language, and is aimed at beginners. We introduce how to work with different data structure in Python. We covered the most popular modules, including Numpy, Scipy, Pandas, matplotlib, and Seaborn, to do data analytics and visualization. We use ipython notebook to demonstrate the results of codes and change codes interactively during the class. Our past students include people with no programming experience or those who have minimal exposure to Python. Students told us our classes are very informative, engaging, and hands-on.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelKnowledge of basic data types (e.g. string, numeric), data structures (e.g. list, tuple, dictionary) Familiarity with concepts of list comprehension and for/while loop
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science with Python: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week5 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$1,990
    Class size10
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This 20-hour Machine Learning with Python course covers all the basic machine learning methods and Python modules (especially Scikit-Learn) for implementing them. This includes linear regression, Naïve Bayes classifiers, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis, cross-validation, bootstrapping, feature selection, regularization, model selection, SVM, decision trees, random forest, PCA, K-Means, and Hierarchical clustering. In addition, this course teaches the basics of natural language processing. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to explain the principles of machine learning algorithms and implement these methods to analyze complex datasets and make predictions in Python.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCompletion of Data Science with Python: Data Analysis; Data Science with R: Machine Learning
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science with R: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Data Visualization, Data Analytics , Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,190
    Class size15
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This course is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to R. Students will practice programming and analyzing data with R. Students will learn how to load, save, and transform data as well as how to write functions, generate graphs, and fit basic statistical models to data. In addition to a theoretical framework in which to understand the process of data analysis, this course focuses on the practical tools needed in data analysis. This course also covers the creation of dynamic reports with the knitr package in R as well as the creation of dynamic dashboards with R Shiny. By the end of the course, students will have mastered the essential skills of processing, manipulating and analyzing data of various types, creating advanced visualizations, generating reports, and documenting the code.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic knowledge about computer components Basic knowledge about programming
    Prep WorkNone
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science with R: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,990
    Class size40
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This 35-hour Machine Learning with R course introduces both the theoretical foundation of machine learning algorithms as well as their practical applications in R. It will introduce you to data mining, performance measures and dimension reduction, regression models, both linear and generalized, KNN and Naïve Bayes models, tree models, and SVMs as well as the Association Rule for analysis. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to break down the mathematics behind major machine learning algorithms, explain the principles of machine learning algorithms, and implement these methods to solve real-world problems. Unit 1: Foundations of Statistics and Simple Linear Regression Unit 2: Multiple Linear Regression and Generalized Linear Model Unit 3: kNN and Naive Bayes, the Curse of Dimensionality Unit 4: Tree Models and SVMs Unit 5: Cluster Analysis and Neural Networks Final Project After 35 hours of structured lectures, students are encouraged to work on an exploratory data analysis project based on their own interests. A project presentation demo will be arranged.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelKnowledge of Python programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in Python
    Prep WorkKnowledge of R programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in R
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Deep Learning with Tensorflow (Weekends and In-Person Only)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,990
    Class size15
    LocationNew York City
    Via analogy to biological neurons and human perception, this course is an introduction to artificial neural networks that brings high-level theory to life with interactive labs featuring TensorFlow, the most popular open-source Deep Learning library. Essential theory will be covered in a manner that provides students with an intuitive understanding of Deep Learning’s underlying foundations. Paired with hands-on code run-throughs in Jupyter notebooks as well as strategies for overcoming common pitfalls, this foundational knowledge will empower individuals with no previous understanding of neural networks to build production-ready Deep Learning applications across the major contemporary families: Convolutional Nets for machine vision; Long Short-Term Memory Recurrent Nets for natural language processing and time series analysis; Generative Adversarial Networks for producing realistic images; and Reinforcement Learning for playing video games.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelObject-oriented programming, ideally Python (introductory course: https://nycdatascience.com/courses/introductory-python/) Simple shell commands, e.g., in Bash (tutorial of the fundamentals: https://learnpythonthehardway.org/book/appendixa.html)
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Full-time Online Data Science Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date July 6, 2020
    Cost$17,600
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    This program was designed for students that have the time to be a full-time student, but can't commute to our school. Students will be placed on a rigorous curriculum that spans from 9:30 AM to 6:00 PM EST as well as have access to prerecorded modules with over 1000 coding challenge questions on online learning platform for additional practice. In addition, they have access to dedicated TA’s as well as the larger network of a shared slack channel between both in-person and remote bootcamp students. Classes: You will learn streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Personalized Job Support: Students also have access to the full resources of NYC Data Science Academy to help them find their dream job upon graduation. Our curriculum covers the expanse of all the skills required in the data science industry. We cover both R and Python as well as Machine Learning Theory, Big Data, and Deep Learning.
    Financing
    Deposit5000
    Financing
    • Full Tuition Total $17,600
    • Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 months
    • SkillsFund Student Loan $397.88 pm for 60 months

    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 6, 2020 - Online Apply by June 19, 2020
  • Introductory Python (Evenings)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$1,590
    Class size40
    LocationNew York City
    This is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis. We concentrate on language basics such as list and string manipulation, control structures, simple data analysis packages, and introduce modules for downloading data from the web. This Introductory Python class runs over four weeks, with five hours of class per week (split into 2 ½ hour evening classes). Classes will be given in a lab setting, with student exercises mixed with lectures. Students should bring a laptop to class. There will be a modest amount of homework after each class.
    Financing
    Deposit$1590
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelThis Introductory Python class is designed for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming.
    Prep WorkIn the class, we will use Python 3. If you are following this video to set up Python environment, please make sure you download the Python 3.X version starting from 1 min 23 s in the video. Link: https://vimeo.com/160172414
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Part-time Online Data Science Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date July 6, 2020
    Cost$17,600
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    This is an online part-time self-paced program. Students have 4 - 10 months to complete this program. The curriculum is the same as our on-campus program, with full-financing options, career support and with a one on one support from our mentors. This program is designed for students that work full-time and are not able to quit their jobs. Our curriculum is drawn from data science engagement with corporate consulting and training, hiring partners and active industry participation. Our remote bootcamp ensures that students achieve a very high level of proficiency. Students are expected to dedicate themselves fully to this program and fulfill all the requirements, which include completing lecture videos, daily homework, and four projects. The Remote Bootcamp is built as a collaborative environment utilizing online chat and meeting systems. Students also have the opportunity to collaborate on homework, projects, job applications, interview preparation, paired programming, and even further through our extended alumni community. We work closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interests for students. Each student receives one-on-one support with job searching and access to all kinds of job assistance resources, including coding reviews, interview prep, resume workshop, and access to our exclusive hiring partner network.
    Financing
    Deposit17600
    Financing
    • Full Tuition Total $17,600
    • Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 months
    • SkillsFund Student Loan $397.88 pm for 60 months

    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 6, 2020 - Online Apply by June 19, 2020

Shared Review

  • Trang Nguyen  User Photo
    Trang Nguyen • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had the Python Data Analysis class with Tony. He did a great job in explaining Python in details and gave specific examples every time new knowledge was introduced. I would definitely take his class again. 

  • Excellent class
    - 1/11/2020
    Kirsten Schulz
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took  Dr. Krohn's Deep Learning class with the intention of keeping my self updated with new skills. After a week of class I found myself immersed on Deep Learning reading as much articles as I could on the subject. Dr. Krohn taught the class with a perfect balance between the math and the implementations, ideal for our class which had professionals with different backgrounds. We received a lot of information in each of the five sessions but the pace was OK because the 5 weeks were not exactly in a row. I would recommend this class to any body who wants to get ahead with  new technologies or who is just curious about them. If you decide to take the class, make sure to do the reading assignments and play with the software on your own. For the one optional project, I would recommend to immediately start a project with the material of the second class (our first implementation); so that you can get the help that you need if you get stuck and you can even have a chance to make a second project (maybe in NLP).  This would be specially useful  if you are a software developer and want to try the different implementations.

  • Dylan Dempsey • Head of Revenue Operations • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Very solid class with an excellent professor Ryan Courtney. We covered all the bases and the professor was very careful to make sure that everyone was being brought along with the course material but still went out of his way to challenge us. Classic socratic method style of pushing the class. Like most courses it still comes down to what you are willing to put in time and effort wise but it was an excellent guided adventure. 

  • Amazing Bootcamp
    - 11/2/2019
    zhuoyi liu • Data science fellow • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated in end of June(Cohort 17). Right now I'm a Data engineer at top tech firm in China. 
    The bootcamp materies encompass big data, machine learning, and data analysis tool such as Python, R, SQL.
     This include all the to-go package to be a Data Scientist. I'm so grateful that I attended this bootcamp. Peoples in the bootcamp are very nice and helpful. 
    This is the big community for every people that want to be a data scientist, come and join us! 

  • Josh • Data Scientist
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the in person 12 Week Bootcamp during the end of 2017 and I am working as a Data Scientist at a highly recognized tech startup!  For those considering studying data science I highly recommend NYC Data Science Academy.  The main differentiator of NYC Data Science Academy from all the competitors is the curriculum.  The founder herself(Vivian) was one of the first era of data scientists who studies statistics and programming before "data science" got popular.  So the curriculum reflects this in that the bootcamp knows what it takes to succeed in data science in the real world.   The 12 weeks consist of SQL, R, Python, Machine Learning Algorithms, and Bid Data/Deep Learning with the emphasis primarily on practical aspect of these tools.  After the 12 weeks I wasn't a master of all things data science, but the bootcamp really equips you to be able to find your own answers to any data science question (engineering as well!) and make yourself a highly sought after candidate.  

    The only "con" I guess is that you have to work your butt off! You're cramming years worth of an equivalent master's degree into 12 weeks, so you really have to be able to focus and have a passion for data and learning.  But as an encouragement,  all the people that worked hard ALL ended up with a really solid data job that they are proud of. You don't have to take my word for it, check LinkedIn to verify that NYC Data Science Acadey worked for a lot of great students

  • SEAN SW LEE • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before I attended NYC data science academy bootcamp, I already had chances to take some short introductory courses in R, Python, and machine learning at other institutes. But even after taking such courses,  my skills  and understanding were very limited, and I actually had difficulties doing researches. This is why I came to attend the NYC data science bootcamp.

    During the bootcamp, we learned data science/machine learning not only in R but also in Python. The codes that I got from lecture codes and  homework are valuable, and I find them  very helpful for conducting my research. In particular, since R and Python have their own highs and lows, I'm able to use both R and Python in complementary ways in my researches, which are actually very good points of the bootcamp program.

    When I conmpare the lecture notes from NYC data science bootcamp with lecture notes obtained elsewhere, I find that the lecture notes from NYC data science bootcamp are well organized to successfully explain fundamental theories.

    I think the teachers here are very knowledgeable, and their lectures are very  efficient. Many of the teachers also shared their experience in the data science industry and gave us ideas about what it is like to work in the data science industry, which was another good point of this program. When students needed helps, TAs, managers, or teachers were available either in person or on slacks for discussions.

    I think this is a highly recommendable program for anyone interested in data science. But, before this program starts, enrolled students are highly recommended to do their best in the preliminary lectures to be better prepared. In addition, students need to work really hard in lectures, homework, and projects.

    I'd highly recommend this program.

  • Paul C • Data Analyst • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I recently completed two NYCDSA courses: 'Python Introductory' and 'Python Data Visualization & Analysis' taught by Tony Schultz in July 2019. First, the courses provide a really great foundation to learn python and bulding out your technical skills for applications. Second, Tony is a great instructor and walks you through everything. He takes the time to explain difficult concepts and provides simple explanations to understanding code. Highly recommend to those who are looking to build out their technical skills.

  • A+ Bootcamp
    - 7/22/2019
    David Levy • Data Analyst at FanDuel Sportsbook • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Amazing bootcamp and experience! The teachers and TA's are extremely knowledgable and caring- going over and beyond in their support of students. The program is also exceptionally well-managed and upper management genuinely cares about the success of their students; both throughout the bootcamp and after graduation.

    As in most things in life- you will get what you put in. Be prepared to work really hard- you will learn a TON and set yourself up for success in the data science field. You will also build an outstanding network and support system of like-minded, good people!

    HIGHLY recommended!

  • Devika Pradhan • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the "Data Science with Python: Data Analysis and Visualization" class taught by Tony Schultz this summer.  The course content is thorough, well formed and covered a lot of areas within the short amount of time. Tony was great with explaining all the concepts. Often times he covered more than just one way to solve a problem and encouraged us to develop our own coding styles. Definitely recommend this  class to all working professionals interested in learning Data Science using Python. 

  • Good and Difficult
    - 6/13/2019
    Adrian Gillerman • Global Data Analyst • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

           The bootcamp offers even seasoned machine learning practitioners something new, and everyone (regardless of their coding background) can get something out of it.  The instructors are nice and want you to succeed but there is so much information packed into such a short amount of time. I liked this bootcamp but found it difficult.

           On a more personal note, I would not have gotten the job that I have now at Bloomberg without this bootcamp. I received letters of recommendation from two instructors as well as a practice interview with one of the camp’s alumni who had recently gone through the same interview process. The interviewer mentioned that the bootcamp made me stick out as an applicant and was part of the reason why I got this position. As I reflect on this experience though, I felt like I was floundering the entire time and overall the experience was not enjoyable because of the magnitude of work. However, I ended up learning so much about R and the different machine learning techniques. Even though I came from a mathematical background with some machine learning experience I was not able to comprehend some material during the program.

            Some of you reading this review may be thinking in a strictly cost-benefit mindset. For me, the financial benefit has outweighed the cost especially because I am at the beginning of my career. Because of the quality of the instructors, the opportunities the bootcamp unlocks, and the interesting subject material I would recommend this bootcamp to anyone looking for a challenging way to jumpstart their machine learning adventure.

  • Jane Li • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Python course about Data Analysis and Visualization. Tony taught everything in a very clear and organized manner. Highly recommend the course to anyone who are interested to learn more about data analytics and pursue the data scientist career.

  • Leona Isabelle • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I attended the Introductory Python course at NYC Data Science Academy taught by Tony Shultz. I really appreciate his style of teaching - it was a great balance of theory and practice. He also brought a lot of energy to the class which made a big difference especially as it was in the evenings after work. He also takes the time to go through the HWs and clarify students' questions - he is clearly very engaged in teaching and makes a lot of effort to support his students. 
    I highly recommend this class.

  • Dmitri Levonian • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Jon Krohn gave a wide overview of basic deep learning models - convolutional, recurrent, some unsupervised learning approaches, etc. This is obviously a lot of material and there are only 5 sessions, so discussion was typically sacrificing depth for breadth.

    As a starting point to understand DL, e.g. for someone with traditional stat/quant background, this is a great course. Jon explains the basic mechanics of a neural network down to matrix transformations. 

    On the other hand, if you already understand the basic DL and are looking to develop practical application skills including TensorFlow, this course may be a slight disappointment. 

Thanks!