fullstack-academy-logo

Fullstack Academy

Baton Rouge, Chicago, Jacksonville, New York City, Online, San Diego, San Diego, San Luis Obispo

Fullstack Academy

Avg Rating:4.89 ( 271 reviews )

Fullstack Academy offers full-time and part-time immersive software engineering bootcamps and cyber security bootcamps, with campuses in New York City, Chicago, and online. Fullstack's software engineering courses cover advanced JavaScript-oriented technologies and computer science topics including compiler theory, logic gates, and building an operating system. The cyber bootcamp covers encryption, networking, system architecture, cryptography, risk detection, and more. Fullstack Academy offers flexible options for college students and those who wish to continue working while learning modern tech skills. The Summer of Code program is an accelerated version of the immersive bootcamp for college students on summer break.

The full- and part-time immersives in NY and Chicago are for intermediate programmers who’ve learned the basics before applying, while the cyber and university bootcamps are specifically designed for beginners. Bootcamp Prep classes are available to help students prepare for admissions. To apply, candidates should submit an application via the website, take an online coding assessment (software engineering bootcamp) or a basic logical reasoning test (cyber bootcamp), then participate in a video interview.

Fullstack Academy programs aim to combine a cutting-edge technical curriculum with career counseling to make sure students can both do a technical job, and get a technical job. Fullstack hosts a Demo Day, which includes speed interviewing sessions, and the careers team helps students connect with the right people, interview successfully, and negotiate the best offer possible. 

Recent Fullstack Academy Reviews: Rating 4.89

all (271) reviews for Fullstack Academy →

Recent Fullstack Academy News

Read all (87) articles about Fullstack Academy →
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Month

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$100
    Class size40
    LocationOnline, Chicago, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Month courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper, plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems. Best of all, they’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-Beginner
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Week

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time1 Week
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$100
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Week courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women’s school), plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems, and best of all? They’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginners
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Cal Poly Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Luis Obispo
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp is an online six-month, part-time full-stack software development bootcamp. This beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js and Redux, and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Cal Poly-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available to every Cal Poly alum and current student who enrolls in the Cal Poly Bootcamp.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - San Luis Obispo Apply by June 1, 2020
  • Flex (Part-Time) Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date July 7, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack’s Flex Software Immersive offers an opportunity to complete the rigorous program over a six-month time period while keeping a full-time job. Students attend class in-person two nights per week and remotely one night per week. Each month will feature one immersive weekend, where Flex students come to campus both Saturday and Sunday. The other three weekends will consist of remote work and not require live attendance. These remote weekends will utilize learning tools that work well in that format: video lectures and workshop reviews, solo coding workshops, and even pair-programming with classmates using virtual collaboration tools. This remote work will be self-paced—completed by a deadline, but on the student’s schedule.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit upon enrollment
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy partners with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$1,000 Ada Lovelace scholarship for women $1,000 scholarship for veterans $2,000 built-in scholarship for Chicago students
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week Foundations Course
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 7, 2020 - Chicago Apply by May 18, 2020
    July 7, 2020 - New York City Apply by May 18, 2020
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$17,910
    Class size25
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a full-time, in-person 17-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Penetration Tester, Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 for a limited time (normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipAda Lovelace Scholarship for Women, Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date June 22, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class size24
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a part-time, in-person 26-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 (Normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$2,000 Founders Scholarships available to part-time students for a limited time; Ada Lovelace Scholarship for Women; Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 22, 2020 - New York City Apply by December 19, 2020
  • Louisiana State University Coding Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    MongoDB, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 20, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge
    Fullstack Academy is a top-ranked coding bootcamp renowned for providing immersive, fullstack JavaScript web development training using the NERD stack (Node.js, Express, React, Databases using SQL). Graduates are assisted by a dedicated career service team and leave as members of the Fullstack community—a supportive alum network that can help open doors to future jobs in Baton Rouge and beyond. Fullstack brings its learning method, reputation, and community to the LSU Coding Bootcamp to make software developer training more accessible to individuals outside of traditional tech hubs.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 20, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by January 30, 2021
  • Louisiana State University Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge
    Students learn the offensive and defensive cybersecurity skills including Foundations (computing and networking basics, Linux, introduction to automation), Security Essentials (practical networking, bash scripting, Python for security), Security Analyst Training (NIST cybersecurity framework, tools, techniques, procedures for network and application protection), and Flight (projects, advanced certifications preparation, career coaching and guidance). Nationally, there are over half a million cyber jobs that employers are trying to fill. Businesses actively seeking cybersecurity professionals span across all industries and sizes, and they include local high-tech employers like CenturyLink, Entergy, and General Dynamics, to name a few. These companies are hiring for roles like Cybersecurity Specialist, Network Security Engineer, and Vulnerability Analyst. Grads studying the LSU Cyber Bootcamp curriculum have been hired for all of these roles—and more.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 Scholarship for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 13, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by January 23, 2021
  • NYC Web Development Fellowship

    Apply
    Data Science, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, SQL
    In PersonFull Time24 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City
    In partnership with the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline, the NYC Web Development Fellowship will award eligible NYC residents tuition-free admission to Fullstack’s award-winning Software Engineering program. This curriculum has been proven successful—Fullstack graduates work at companies like Google, Venmo, Facebook, Amazon, and LinkedIn, as well as hundreds of innovative small- and mid-size tech companies. Learn more about the fellowship as well as eligibility requirements on the Fullstack website: https://www.fullstackacademy.com/nyc-fellowship
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    ScholarshipFree Tuition for Eligible NYC Residents
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Mobile, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, Front End, SQL
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week17 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$17,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack Academy’s flagship course, the Full-Time Software Engineering Immersive is a 17-week career accelerator. Through an advanced curriculum and project-based structure, students learn today’s cutting edge development technologies. The Fullstack Immersive prepares graduates for software engineer roles at top-tier technology companies. Our JavaScript-driven curriculum immerses you in the latest web technologies such as Node.js, React.js, and postgreSQL. You bring the energy, curiosity, and dedication — we’ll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert software developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipThere is a $1,000 scholarship for all women+-identifying applicants and veterans. There is also a built-in $2000 scholarship for all students who enroll in the Chicago Software Engineering Immersive program.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week remote Foundations Course precedes the 13 weeks on-campus
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Chicago Apply by May 3, 2020
    June 15, 2020 - New York City Apply by May 3, 2020
  • Summer of Code

    Apply
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$16,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Summer of Code is a coding education program uniquely designed for ambitious college students seeking to supplement their traditional education by learning real world skills and building a portfolio of impressive projects. You bring the energy, curiosity and fierce dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert level coder in one summer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart
    ScholarshipBuilt-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCollege students only.
    Prep Work4-week Foundations course
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Chicago Apply by April 19, 2020
    June 15, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 19, 2020
  • University of North Florida Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 27, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp offered through the UNF Division of Continuing Education. Located on UNF’s campus in Jacksonville, FL, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the UNF-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 scholarship available to: Current UNF students UNF alums Employer-sponsored applicants Jacksonville tech community
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 27, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by February 6, 2021
  • University of North Florida Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Through the Cyber Bootcamp at University of North Florida powered by Fullstack, you’ll go from novice to cybersecurity professional and gain the tools to land a job in one of the world’s highest-paying industries—all in just 26 weeks part-time. Students will delve into the exciting world of cybersecurity throughout four program phases. You’ll receive hands-on, real-world experience in multiple facets of computing, networking, security, and programming in offensive and defensive security techniques, tools, and procedures. When you’ve successfully completed the learning phases, you’ll get the career guidance you need to jump into an exciting and lucrative career in cybersecurity, joining thousands of like-minded professionals throughout the world in the global fight against cybercrime.
    Financing
    DepositStudents will need to make a $2,000 dollar initial deposit at enrollment with the remaining balance due one week before class starts.
    Financing
    ScholarshipA $500 scholarship is available to current UNF students and UNF alums. $2000 Military Scholarship for current military personnel or veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by December 19, 2020
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Full-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 12-week, full-time full-stack software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Full Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - San Diego Apply by September 4, 2020
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time14 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 13, 2020 - San Diego Apply by January 23, 2021

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Fullstack Academy Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Fullstack Academy scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Software Engineering Immersive (Chicago)

Shared Review

  • Ana • Software Engineer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Definitely the biggest pro about Fullstack Academy is its flexibility.  They offer flex programs, immersive programs, and a remote version.  Throughout all these programs, they use the same curriculum and the same standards for admission.  They even offer a deferred tuition option for women enrolled in the Grace Hopper program.

    They also offer a lot of flexibility in terms of how to grow as a developer.  For my cohort, they allowed us to explore project ideas on our own because the biggest skill they wanted us to hone was using each other as a team to make the best decisions from start to finish.  There was also no restriction on what type of project we could build.  And we received A LOT of support from every instructor.  Kate and Ashi were there to back our team up with answers to our technical questions no matter what we decided for our project.  And even when the first half of the program ended, Karen and Dan, our junior instructors who prepared so well for the project phase were there available to cheer us on and only an elevator away for further advice.  My teaching fellows were also the best!  Biggest thanks to Christine, Luisa, Liz, and Aria!

    A bit of nitpick from me would be that the job support on the technical side wasn't the best right after I came out of Grace Hopper.  Because I had no idea how to prepare for technical interviews...and honestly, this was my first official job hunt ever.  Luckily, after 6 months of searching,  Ceren started this Mentor-Mentee program and I was seriously lucky to have Wenson Tsai as my  mentor (a volunteer mentor too, bless those Fullstack alumni's souls who volunteered).  Coming from an physics background with only 3-4 semesters of CS-related classes and no formal job experience in tech (or any formal job really), I was not up to date with the jargon in the tech field and Wenson helped me present myself as a confident developer.  He pointed out weaknesses to me in System Design and helped me work on my communicating my projects better.   One of the useful things he pointed out to me is that I should use declarative language when solving problems during JS technical interviews. 
     

    Fullstack also assigned me another career counselor to help me on the behavioral side.  That person was Natalie Giuliano.  I had no idea what a job hunt was supposed to be like, and I had a lot of phone interviews already before she was assigned as my counselor.  So she made sure to help me practice answering those hard behavioral questions and helped me come up with better answers.  She also helped me with a lot of job hunt etiquette that I didn't even know.

    The biggest thing I like about Fullstack is that they really listen to feedback and offer plenty of support in return.  And thanks to all of this support, I've now accomplished my overdue dream of wanting to make an immediate impact as a software engineer :)

  • Stefanie  User Photo
    Stefanie • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
     I came into this course with very limited coding skills and couldn't afford to pay Fullstack's tuition for their other programs so I decided to enroll in the WDF program. The curriculum is exactly the same as the Software Engineering Immersive and Grace Hopper program but is completely free! The instructors and teaching fellows were literally the best and truly cared about all the students and made sure we understood the materials. Our teaching fellows went above and beyond for us and on many occasions stayed after class to work with us if we had any material we were still unsure about. After graduation our career counselor was constantly in touch with us to make sure our job search was going well and providing us with any support we needed. 
    Overall, Fullstack Academy is a phenomenal bootcamp and worth the investment. The skills we learned are very in-demand and provide a solid foundation for applying to entry-level software engineering roles. 
  • Bootcamp Hacktiv8
    - 4/27/2020
    bhakti  User Photo
    bhakti • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Hacktiv8 is one of the most popular Coding Bootcamp which exists in Indonesia, with their numerous of facilities there are no reasons not to choose them as your platform to gain even more experience and better career in the future. As one of the hacktiv8 alumni, I would like to say and share to you some of the pros and cons (of course in my point of view) when I was attending their class...

    pros :
    - Instructor quality is great
    - Fascinated Curriculum
    - Modern classroom
    - Premium support by the instructor!

    cons :
    - They don't share your grades until you graduates! this is BAD actually...
  • Worth it
    - 4/20/2020
    Edward Lu  User Photo
    Edward Lu • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I took a calculated risk when I made a career change last August from finance to tech. I knew I had some background in coding already, and that I wanted to work in tech as an engineer, but I also knew I was taking a risk. The bootcamp experience itself was fantastic; I had a great time learning interesting material and building apps with like-minded people. Fullstack does a good job screening applicants not just for their technical ability but for their people skills as well. The main reason I chose Fullstack over other bootcamps was for the latter reason. Career services also does a great job keeping tabs post graduation and sending out opportunities. This helps keeps grads up-to-date and informed as they navigate the job search process, which is probably the most stressful part.

    I can't blanket recommend bootcamps in general to everyone. As I mentioned the bootcamp experience itself was great, but I think you have to really want to be an engineer as well as understand that it is a time and money investment in order to make the most of it. Lack of coding background doesn't have to be an issue if you put in the work and are persistent.


  • Abdul Hamid Raufi   User Photo
    Abdul Hamid Raufi • Cyber Threat Analyst • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Words can’t describe how amazing my experience in Fullstack Academy’s cybersecurity bootcamp was.  I never thought I would learn as much as I did in such a small period of time. I am someone who had zero security experience and no degree coming into the bootcamp. After graduating, within 20 days I had found myself signing an offer letter to work for the Department of Treasury. All thanks to the amazing teachers, staff and of course Mark! Shout out to Cory and Veer for passing their knowledge to us. 
  • Megan Donnelly  User Photo
    Megan Donnelly • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Prior to attending Fullstack's immersive program, I was working in quality assurance at a tech company and I was interested in changing careers to software engineering. I spoke with a number of my coworkers who had attended bootcamps, and the Fullstack / Grace Hopper alumni by far had the most glowing reviews of the programs they attended. After taking Fullstack's bootcamp prep course, I decided that Fullstack had the inclusive learning atmosphere and hiring outcomes I was looking for. I ended up enrolling in the program and becoming a teaching fellow afterward and it is by far the best investment I've ever made. I'm a few weeks out from finishing up my teaching fellowship and I'm excited to say that I've accepted a full-time software engineering role that far exceeded my expectations. I have nothing but great things to say about the wonderful and dedicated instructors and career success advisors at Fullstack. I would highly recommend this program to anyone considering a career shift into software engineering. I will say that my prior experience working in tech and my experience working as a teaching fellows were very helpful during my job search, but I think Fullstack can be a great option for people without prior technical experience as well.
  • Jasmine Wang  User Photo
    Jasmine Wang • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Prior to my career shift, I worked in continuing education and interacted with some software engineering bootcamps that left much to be desired. When I learned about Fullstack Academy and the Grace Hopper program, I was equally skeptical. After reviewing their coursework and taking their online/discounted prep materials, I decided that the material and program was rigorous and worth pursuing. I ended up completing the program as a Grace Hopper Program participant, and then later as a teaching fellow. I'm really glad that I did!

    * CULTURE *
    Never have I been in a more inclusive environment. My classmates were thoughtful, funny, and pretty self-aware. The support (instructors, staff, teaching fellows) were always warm, friendly, available. I have made some lasting friendships from this program.

    * MATERIAL *
    The instructors are ON. IT. Software engineering / web development is a constantly changing landscape, and it is evident that the instructors are working to teach the most up-to-date and effective stack to their students. I often noticed typos and minor errors in the course materials, but I am now realizing that it is because instructors will rewrite/update their course materials constantly to make sure it is fresh.

    * RETURN OF INVESTMENT aka, GETTING A JOB *
    Holly was instrumental in helping me find my job! I was able to apply while working as a teaching fellow, and I was given an offer about two weeks after I started looking. The career success team is there to provide resources and real advice on how to pursue work, negotiate a salary offer, and build a network in the tech industry. Above all of this, they are here to help you deal with impostor syndrome and job search anxiety.

    I really wasn't sure what to expect when going through this program but I am definitely glad that I did. This program is what you make of it - if you are looking for a program that will make you think, work, and learn, this might be the one for you!
  • Teressa  User Photo
    Teressa • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I have so much gratitude and love for my Fullstack and Grace Hopper fam. The instructors are super knowledgable (S/O NATALIE LANE  AND DAVID ADEWOYIN), the career success coaches, my cohort mates, just the ENTIRE staff. You are set up for success the minute you enter the program. Despite the challenging pace and the jam-packed curriculum, I had the time of my life building web apps with teammates that I could later talk about in interviews. Staying engaged with the material and vocalizing your concerns will get you the personalized support you need to get up to speed in learning the newest technologies. The program is aptly named as an "immersive" course - there are workshops, lectures, office hours, panels, review sessions, and checkpoints to test your mastery of the material. The cohort sizes may vary depending on the time of the year but there are smaller learning teams with a dedicated teaching fellow who will help you navigate through the bootcamp's material. There is also a program lead that checks in with the cohort to address any real-time improvements that can be made to the learning environment. I put in my all, and as a result I've gained lifelong friends, robust projects that make me a competitive software engineer applicant, and a network of fierce women software engineers. 
  • Charmagne Ladannie Cayetano  User Photo
    Charmagne Ladannie Cayetano • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I was part of a small class (just group of 10, eventually 9, students) and I think that was very advantageous to the students in our cohort, as each student got more attention and help from our instructor and fellow (teaching assistant). We also got to know everyone in the class - got more familiar with them and realized how to pair with them better/work with them better as a teammate.

    I like how the curriculum started out with some foundations, especially Javascript, then progressed to DOM manipulation, then to React, then to Node and Express. And then eventually they added some PostgreSQL, then Babel/Webpack, then Redux. I just think that the lesson builds up from the previous technology/framework really well, and helps the students (especially those new to programming) feel less overwhelmed about all the new stuff they're learning. Eventually, all the things you learn are applied to group projects that simulate working in a real-world team.

    I would say that our instructor, Prof. Erik, really tried his best to give us a learning structure that would make it easier for us to understand and also appreciate the language and framework we're learning. I loved how he would show first how to do something in a very vanilla way, show you the most basic way you can solve or approach a specific problem. Then in the next or a later lesson, he'll show how to work with a framework that makes life easier and addresses the tediousness of the earlier approach you were taught.

    Aside from our instructor, we also have a teaching assistant (also called a fellow) assigned to our class. Haoyu was an ally as we tried to gain the most out of the course. When we have questions, he tried his best to make us understand how something works. He also made sure we are challenging ourselves by giving us stretches and algorithm practices. If we're done with an exercise and there's still time, he'd also suggest what harder use cases we can try to handle.

    Aside from the instructors, our class was well taken cared of by the staff assigned to us - Crystal (our program lead), Chris, and Meg (our career coach). Crystal made sure that we are well fed when we stay late or go to campus on weekends. If we have logistic concerns, we raise them to Chris and he takes care of them for us. Meg helped us with career and job hunting preps - how to pitch yourself, how to make your resume/LinkedIn better, how to answer interview questions, how to negotiate salary, you name it!

    Overall, I really enjoyed the time I spent as a student in Fullstack Academy's Part-Time Flex program. I would say that I spent my money wisely. I was able to level up my skills. I gained mentors, friends, allies. I became part of a community that makes me feel more confident as a Software Engineer!
  • Brian  User Photo
    Brian • Solutions Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Fullstack Academy was truly one of my best educational experiences! Not only was I able to learn the latest technologies / methodologies, but I was able to do so in a very collaborative environment, where everyone would go out of their way to help you.
     
    This program allowed us to learn a large amount of information in a short amount of time while also still having time to build several solid projects to build out our portfolios.
     
    I just want to thank my excellent instructors (Eric K., Eliot S., and Gabriel R.) and my career services advisor (Meg D.) – all of whom are very knowledgeable and genuinely care about our learning / job search. They truly contributed to an awesome experience.
     
    I highly recommend Fullstack Academy for anyone looking to attend a coding bootcamp!
  • Alexander Z.  User Photo
    Alexander Z. • Associate Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Other reviewers here who were in my cohort have already said everything I might have to say to analyze the program as a whole or any particular people (see Eric's Review from 2/5/2020, and Jennie's review from 2/3/2020).

    Just to quickly reiterate however:
    Fullstack does a really great job picking the right people for their program, has a strong curriculum, and excellent instructors. The job search help is detailed and gives you a clear process to follow for interacting with potential employers. 

    The instructors are wonderful individuals and it shows how much care has gone into selecting the right people to teach. Learning from Collin and Finn was a pleasure. Collin is one of the most knowledgeable, inquisitive, and patient people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. His instruction is excellent and very down to earth while maintaining a strong conceptual framework around whatever issue he is explaining. Finn is also very knowledgeable, and is extremely friendly, approachable, funny, and had a real knack for breaking any difficulty  down into approachable parts. Both of them are extremely supportive and among the best educators I have had the pleasure to learn from in any field. 

    Holly, the career services lead, is amazing. Beyond knowing her stuff and having an excellent and down to earth approach, she is extremely supportive and was critical in helping me work my way through the job seeking process. To anyone who attends Fullstack, as far as job hunting goes, the best advice I can give is to listen to Holly, and talk to her regularly. 

    If you are thinking about a bootcamp, Fullstack is a great program, but be aware of what you are jumping into. Fullstack is a ton of work. Depending on your background and level of experience coming in, it might not be unreasonable to expect to be doing 80ish hours of work per week. Even if you do have a reasonable amount of prior experience, this is an intense program. Relax before your start, take your health seriously, and ask for help when you need it. 

    Finally,  a note about the other students. Fullstack does an excellent  job picking people who have a collaborative and growth focused attitude. Without exception, everyone I met at Fullstack was supportive and interested in working together. Despite the workload and time constraints. I would go so far as to say that I made friends here.


  • Eric  User Photo
    Eric • Full-Stack Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I won't drone on too long about how amazing this course is.  Instead, I'll just tell you what makes Fullstack special.
    1.  You don't just feel like a number - Fullstack really cares about its students and that is clear from day one.  I was worried that I would fall behind and I would just be left in the dust, but every goes the extra mile to help you learn and succeed.  The instructors all know your name within the first day or two, and they cater to the specific needs of each student.
    2.  The instructors are unbelievable - I don't really know what more to say.  They really, truly care about not only what they are teaching, but all of the students.  You can approach any one of them with any problem and they are patient, understanding, and extremely helpful.  They really made the difference for me.  Collin is probably the most knowledgeable person I've ever met, but even so, his patience was incredible.  I often had discussions with him in which I would ask the same questions multiple times, and each time he would patiently rephrase his answers so that I was able to understand.  In addition, he was willing to spend a great deal of extra time with my capstone group so that we could achieve a higher level of organization.  Our other main instructor, Finn, was incredible at using analogies and humour to explain complex problems.  At the beginning of every week, I honestly felt like there was no way I'd be able to understand all the material we were expected to learn, but Finn had a way of breaking down very complex programming concepts in understandable chunks.   In addition, he is relentless debugger.  During one of the projects, I had a very strange bug that he helped me to understand even though it took a long time.
    3.  The other students - We all wanted to do Fullstack to change our life course, and it is very apparent that nearly every student is aware of this all the time.  I was astonished by the level of dedication shown by my classmates.  There was no sense of competition.  On the contrary, I felt like we were all working together toward a common goal.
    4.  Holly rocks - the career services lead, Holly Valenty is such a rockstar.  Even though there were many of us (30-40 I think), she was willing to spend extra time with each student to make sure we all understood the tools we needed to get a job.  Holly really made me feel like I was ready to enter the job market.  I don't think I would have ever gotten a job without her!
  • Jennie  User Photo
    Jennie • Associate Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    When I started looking at software engineering bootcamps, I prioritized finding one with a challenging curriculum. Fullstack’s rigorous application process and focus on “productive struggle” during Bootcamp Prep made it my top choice, and the hands-on, fast-paced coursework did not disappoint. Fullstack’s magic, however, lies with its instructors, fellows, and career success team. Their support throughout made the otherwise daunting experience of switching careers feel very attainable.

    Fullstack’s curriculum requires hard work, especially for those like me without a programming background. Students have to pass checkpoints in Foundations (4-week online course) to make it to Junior Phase (6-week on-site lectures / workshops), and there’s a similar checkpoint before the project-based Senior phase begins. Having access to fellows and instructors through help tickets and office hours helped me grasp important concepts for homework and looming tests. In Junior Phase, we had the additional benefit of weekly learning lunches led by fellows who answered questions on course content and their experiences at Fullstack.

    Relationships with fellows and instructors deepened in Senior Phase: fellows advised us on our projects and instructors led code reviews. The Chicago campus instructors, Collin, Finn, and Priti, gave practical advice when we hit technical snags and encouraged us to learn beyond the curriculum. They held retrospectives for feedback after each project and seemed intune with our needs. (We received an impromptu lecture on React hooks, for instance, after they saw our interest in the topic.)

    Chicago also has an amazing career success lead, Holly, who coaches students through resume and LinkedIn updates, technical interviews, and job offers. Holly brought in great companies for Launch Day, where local companies watch capstone project presentations and conduct interviews. Launch Day interviews can lead to job offers, and did for me.

    I would only tweak one thing: while the team does a great job of teaching algorithms and data structures during Senior Phase, seeing those exercises earlier on would have been beneficial. 

    Overall, however, I would recommend Fullstack’s program for its rigorous coursework and excellent support from instructors, fellows, and career success team. 

Thanks!