fullstack-academy-logo

Fullstack Academy

Chicago, Jacksonville, New York City, Online, San Diego, San Diego

Fullstack Academy

Avg Rating:4.9 ( 262 reviews )

Fullstack Academy offers full-time and part-time immersive software engineering bootcamps and cyber security bootcamps, with campuses in New York City, Chicago, and online. Fullstack's software engineering courses cover advanced JavaScript-oriented technologies and computer science topics including compiler theory, logic gates, and building an operating system. The cyber bootcamp covers encryption, networking, system architecture, cryptography, risk detection, and more. Fullstack Academy offers flexible options for college students and those who wish to continue working while learning modern tech skills. The Summer of Code program is an accelerated version of the immersive bootcamp for college students on summer break.

The full- and part-time immersives in NY and Chicago are for intermediate programmers who’ve learned the basics before applying, while the cyber and university bootcamps are specifically designed for beginners. Bootcamp Prep classes are available to help students prepare for admissions. To apply, candidates should submit an application via the website, take an online coding assessment (software engineering bootcamp) or a basic logical reasoning test (cyber bootcamp), then participate in a video interview.

Fullstack Academy programs aim to combine a cutting-edge technical curriculum with career counseling to make sure students can both do a technical job, and get a technical job. Fullstack hosts a Demo Day, which includes speed interviewing sessions, and the careers team helps students connect with the right people, interview successfully, and negotiate the best offer possible. 

Recent Fullstack Academy Reviews: Rating 4.9

all (262) reviews for Fullstack Academy →

Recent Fullstack Academy News

Read all (81) articles about Fullstack Academy →
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Month

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date March 9, 2020
    Cost$250
    Class size40
    LocationOnline, Chicago, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Month courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy's Bootcamp Prep courses are free with refund (which means you'll get back everything you've paid upon completion of the course) and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women's school), plus Fullstack's part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems. Best of all, they're taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack's programs, so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the kinds of smart, driven, generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Refund / GuaranteeFull refund upon course completion.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-Beginner
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    March 9, 2020 - Online Apply by March 7, 2020
    March 9, 2020 - Chicago Apply by March 7, 2020
    March 9, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 7, 2020
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Week

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time1 Week
    Start Date February 29, 2020
    Cost$250
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Week courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy's Bootcamp Prep courses are free with refund (which means you'll get back everything you've paid upon completion of the course) and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women's school), plus Fullstack's part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems, and best of all? They're taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack's programs, so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the kinds of smart, driven, generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Refund / GuaranteeFull refund upon course completion.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginners
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    February 29, 2020 - Online Apply by February 27, 2020
    February 29, 2020 - New York City Apply by February 27, 2020
    March 21, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 19, 2020
  • Flex (Part-Time) Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date April 20, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Flex offers an opportunity to complete the rigorous Fullstack immersive program, but over a six-month span, while keeping a full-time job. Students attend class in-person two nights per week, and remotely one night per week. Each month will have one immersive weekend, where Flex students come to campus both Saturday and Sunday. The other three weekends will consist of remote work -- not requiring live attendance. These remote weekends will utilize learning tools that work well in that format: video lectures and workshop reviews, solo coding workshops, and even pair-programming with classmates using virtual collaboration tools. This remote work will be self-paced -- completed by a deadline, but on the student’s schedule.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy partners with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$1,000 scholarship for women; $1,000 scholarship for veterans. $2,000 built-in scholarship for Chicago students.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week Foundations Course
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    April 20, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 1, 2020
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date March 23, 2020
    Cost$17,610
    Class size25
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a full-time, 17-week training program that prepares students to get cyber security jobs as pen testers and SOC analysts after graduation. Operated by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running coding bootcamps in the nation, the Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is part of New York City’s $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. In keeping with this mission, the City is sponsoring 24 low-income New Yorkers to attend the first cohort of the Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp tuition-free. Head to the web page for eligibility information.
    Financing
    Deposit2,000
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipFull scholarships to our inaugural cohort (including deposit refund upon program completion) available for qualifying NYers. Made possible by the City of New York's CyberNYC initiative. See website for eligibility information & additional scholarships.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    March 23, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 9, 2020
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date April 7, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class size24
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is built to take you from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Operated by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running coding bootcamps in the nation, the Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is part of New York City’s $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. Head to the web page for eligibility information.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipAda Lovelace Scholarship for Women, Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    April 7, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 23, 2020
  • NYC Web Development Fellowship

    Apply
    Data Science, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, SQL
    In PersonFull Time17 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City
    In partnership with the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline, the NYC Web Development Fellowship will award ~40 NYC residents tuition-free admission to Fullstack's award-winning Software Engineering program. This curriculum has been proven successful -- Fullstack graduates are now working at companies like Google, Venmo, Facebook, Amazon, and LinkedIn, as well as hundreds of innovative small- and mid-size tech companies. Learn more about the fellowship as well as eligibility restrictions on the Fullstack website: https://www.fullstackacademy.com/nyc-fellowship
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    ScholarshipFree Tuition for Eligible NYC Residents
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date March 2, 2020
    Cost$17,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack Academy’s flagship course, the Full-Time Software Engineering Immersive is a 17-week career accelerator. Through an advanced curriculum and project-based structure, students learn today’s cutting edge development technologies. The Fullstack Immersive prepares graduates for software engineer roles at top-tier technology companies. Our JavaScript-driven curriculum immerses you in the latest web technologies such as Node.js, React.js, and postgreSQL. You bring the energy, curiosity, and dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert software developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipBuilt-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women; $1,000 scholarship for veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week remote Foundations Course precedes the 13 weeks on-campus
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    March 2, 2020 - New York City Apply by January 12, 2020
    April 20, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 1, 2020
    March 2, 2020 - Chicago Apply by January 12, 2020
    April 20, 2020 - Chicago Apply by March 1, 2020
  • Summer of Code

    Apply
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$16,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Summer of Code is a coding education program uniquely designed for ambitious college students seeking to supplement their traditional education by learning real world skills and building a portfolio of impressive projects. You bring the energy, curiosity and fierce dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert level coder in one summer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart
    ScholarshipBuilt-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCollege students only.
    Prep Work4-week Foundations course
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 19, 2020
    June 15, 2020 - Chicago Apply by April 19, 2020

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Fullstack Academy Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Fullstack Academy scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Software Engineering Immersive (Chicago)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Jonathan Schwartz  User Photo
    Jonathan Schwartz • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently graduated Fullstack Academy, the full-time immersive cohort in NYC. I highly reommend this program to anyone who is interested. Below are my thoughts.

    A quick background, I was a finance major who felt like software engineering was an important skill to understand to stay relevant and valuable in the job search. However, I was skeptical of bootcamps - can I really learn to code in 3 months?? Will an employer ever actually hire someone with 3 months of coding knowledge? Seemed too good to be true.

    However, when I got to FSA, I was impressed at the skill level of the instructors. I went to a good high-school and college, yet the instructors at FSA were by far the best instructors of any educational institution I had ever learned at. They take incredibly complex concepts and make them totally digestable. When you're confused, they take time with you, one on one, to uncover the confusing parts of the course and teach it to you at another angle. Behind the scenes, FSA keeps track of every single student's progress to ensure they are ready to move on and forward. 

    So when you're choosing your bootcamp, ask about the teachers. They are the mentors you will learn from day in and day out and if they aren't talented, you will have a harder time getting hired. At FSA, the questions I asked at the beginning: "can I really learn to code in 3 months?? Will an employer ever actually hire someone with 3 months of coding knowledge?" have been answered. Yes, you can learn to code in 3 months (and at a skill level much higher than some of the other devs out in the working world). It's hard work, but totally worth it. 

  • Teressa  User Photo
    Teressa • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I have so much gratitude and love for my Fullstack and Grace Hopper fam. The instructors are super knowledgable (S/O NATALIE LANE  AND DAVID ADEWOYIN), the career success coaches, my cohort mates, just the ENTIRE staff. You are set up for success the minute you enter the program. Despite the challenging pace and the jam-packed curriculum, I had the time of my life building web apps with teammates that I could later talk about in interviews. Staying engaged with the material and vocalizing your concerns will get you the personalized support you need to get up to speed in learning the newest technologies. The program is aptly named as an "immersive" course - there are workshops, lectures, office hours, panels, review sessions, and checkpoints to test your mastery of the material. The cohort sizes may vary depending on the time of the year but there are smaller learning teams with a dedicated teaching fellow who will help you navigate through the bootcamp's material. There is also a program lead that checks in with the cohort to address any real-time improvements that can be made to the learning environment. I put in my all, and as a result I've gained lifelong friends, robust projects that make me a competitive software engineer applicant, and a network of fierce women software engineers. 
  • Charmagne Ladannie Cayetano  User Photo
    Charmagne Ladannie Cayetano • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I was part of a small class (just group of 10, eventually 9, students) and I think that was very advantageous to the students in our cohort, as each student got more attention and help from our instructor and fellow (teaching assistant). We also got to know everyone in the class - got more familiar with them and realized how to pair with them better/work with them better as a teammate.

    I like how the curriculum started out with some foundations, especially Javascript, then progressed to DOM manipulation, then to React, then to Node and Express. And then eventually they added some PostgreSQL, then Babel/Webpack, then Redux. I just think that the lesson builds up from the previous technology/framework really well, and helps the students (especially those new to programming) feel less overwhelmed about all the new stuff they're learning. Eventually, all the things you learn are applied to group projects that simulate working in a real-world team.

    I would say that our instructor, Prof. Erik, really tried his best to give us a learning structure that would make it easier for us to understand and also appreciate the language and framework we're learning. I loved how he would show first how to do something in a very vanilla way, show you the most basic way you can solve or approach a specific problem. Then in the next or a later lesson, he'll show how to work with a framework that makes life easier and addresses the tediousness of the earlier approach you were taught.

    Aside from our instructor, we also have a teaching assistant (also called a fellow) assigned to our class. Haoyu was an ally as we tried to gain the most out of the course. When we have questions, he tried his best to make us understand how something works. He also made sure we are challenging ourselves by giving us stretches and algorithm practices. If we're done with an exercise and there's still time, he'd also suggest what harder use cases we can try to handle.

    Aside from the instructors, our class was well taken cared of by the staff assigned to us - Crystal (our program lead), Chris, and Meg (our career coach). Crystal made sure that we are well fed when we stay late or go to campus on weekends. If we have logistic concerns, we raise them to Chris and he takes care of them for us. Meg helped us with career and job hunting preps - how to pitch yourself, how to make your resume/LinkedIn better, how to answer interview questions, how to negotiate salary, you name it!

    Overall, I really enjoyed the time I spent as a student in Fullstack Academy's Part-Time Flex program. I would say that I spent my money wisely. I was able to level up my skills. I gained mentors, friends, allies. I became part of a community that makes me feel more confident as a Software Engineer!
  • Brian  User Photo
    Brian • Solutions Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Fullstack Academy was truly one of my best educational experiences! Not only was I able to learn the latest technologies / methodologies, but I was able to do so in a very collaborative environment, where everyone would go out of their way to help you.
     
    This program allowed us to learn a large amount of information in a short amount of time while also still having time to build several solid projects to build out our portfolios.
     
    I just want to thank my excellent instructors (Eric K., Eliot S., and Gabriel R.) and my career services advisor (Meg D.) – all of whom are very knowledgeable and genuinely care about our learning / job search. They truly contributed to an awesome experience.
     
    I highly recommend Fullstack Academy for anyone looking to attend a coding bootcamp!
  • Alexander Z.  User Photo
    Alexander Z. • Associate Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Other reviewers here who were in my cohort have already said everything I might have to say to analyze the program as a whole or any particular people (see Eric's Review from 2/5/2020, and Jennie's review from 2/3/2020).

    Just to quickly reiterate however:
    Fullstack does a really great job picking the right people for their program, has a strong curriculum, and excellent instructors. The job search help is detailed and gives you a clear process to follow for interacting with potential employers. 

    The instructors are wonderful individuals and it shows how much care has gone into selecting the right people to teach. Learning from Collin and Finn was a pleasure. Collin is one of the most knowledgeable, inquisitive, and patient people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. His instruction is excellent and very down to earth while maintaining a strong conceptual framework around whatever issue he is explaining. Finn is also very knowledgeable, and is extremely friendly, approachable, funny, and had a real knack for breaking any difficulty  down into approachable parts. Both of them are extremely supportive and among the best educators I have had the pleasure to learn from in any field. 

    Holly, the career services lead, is amazing. Beyond knowing her stuff and having an excellent and down to earth approach, she is extremely supportive and was critical in helping me work my way through the job seeking process. To anyone who attends Fullstack, as far as job hunting goes, the best advice I can give is to listen to Holly, and talk to her regularly. 

    If you are thinking about a bootcamp, Fullstack is a great program, but be aware of what you are jumping into. Fullstack is a ton of work. Depending on your background and level of experience coming in, it might not be unreasonable to expect to be doing 80ish hours of work per week. Even if you do have a reasonable amount of prior experience, this is an intense program. Relax before your start, take your health seriously, and ask for help when you need it. 

    Finally,  a note about the other students. Fullstack does an excellent  job picking people who have a collaborative and growth focused attitude. Without exception, everyone I met at Fullstack was supportive and interested in working together. Despite the workload and time constraints. I would go so far as to say that I made friends here.


  • Eric  User Photo
    Eric • Full-Stack Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I won't drone on too long about how amazing this course is.  Instead, I'll just tell you what makes Fullstack special.
    1.  You don't just feel like a number - Fullstack really cares about its students and that is clear from day one.  I was worried that I would fall behind and I would just be left in the dust, but every goes the extra mile to help you learn and succeed.  The instructors all know your name within the first day or two, and they cater to the specific needs of each student.
    2.  The instructors are unbelievable - I don't really know what more to say.  They really, truly care about not only what they are teaching, but all of the students.  You can approach any one of them with any problem and they are patient, understanding, and extremely helpful.  They really made the difference for me.  Collin is probably the most knowledgeable person I've ever met, but even so, his patience was incredible.  I often had discussions with him in which I would ask the same questions multiple times, and each time he would patiently rephrase his answers so that I was able to understand.  In addition, he was willing to spend a great deal of extra time with my capstone group so that we could achieve a higher level of organization.  Our other main instructor, Finn, was incredible at using analogies and humour to explain complex problems.  At the beginning of every week, I honestly felt like there was no way I'd be able to understand all the material we were expected to learn, but Finn had a way of breaking down very complex programming concepts in understandable chunks.   In addition, he is relentless debugger.  During one of the projects, I had a very strange bug that he helped me to understand even though it took a long time.
    3.  The other students - We all wanted to do Fullstack to change our life course, and it is very apparent that nearly every student is aware of this all the time.  I was astonished by the level of dedication shown by my classmates.  There was no sense of competition.  On the contrary, I felt like we were all working together toward a common goal.
    4.  Holly rocks - the career services lead, Holly Valenty is such a rockstar.  Even though there were many of us (30-40 I think), she was willing to spend extra time with each student to make sure we all understood the tools we needed to get a job.  Holly really made me feel like I was ready to enter the job market.  I don't think I would have ever gotten a job without her!
  • Jennie  User Photo
    Jennie • Associate Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    When I started looking at software engineering bootcamps, I prioritized finding one with a challenging curriculum. Fullstack’s rigorous application process and focus on “productive struggle” during Bootcamp Prep made it my top choice, and the hands-on, fast-paced coursework did not disappoint. Fullstack’s magic, however, lies with its instructors, fellows, and career success team. Their support throughout made the otherwise daunting experience of switching careers feel very attainable.

    Fullstack’s curriculum requires hard work, especially for those like me without a programming background. Students have to pass checkpoints in Foundations (4-week online course) to make it to Junior Phase (6-week on-site lectures / workshops), and there’s a similar checkpoint before the project-based Senior phase begins. Having access to fellows and instructors through help tickets and office hours helped me grasp important concepts for homework and looming tests. In Junior Phase, we had the additional benefit of weekly learning lunches led by fellows who answered questions on course content and their experiences at Fullstack.

    Relationships with fellows and instructors deepened in Senior Phase: fellows advised us on our projects and instructors led code reviews. The Chicago campus instructors, Collin, Finn, and Priti, gave practical advice when we hit technical snags and encouraged us to learn beyond the curriculum. They held retrospectives for feedback after each project and seemed intune with our needs. (We received an impromptu lecture on React hooks, for instance, after they saw our interest in the topic.)

    Chicago also has an amazing career success lead, Holly, who coaches students through resume and LinkedIn updates, technical interviews, and job offers. Holly brought in great companies for Launch Day, where local companies watch capstone project presentations and conduct interviews. Launch Day interviews can lead to job offers, and did for me.

    I would only tweak one thing: while the team does a great job of teaching algorithms and data structures during Senior Phase, seeing those exercises earlier on would have been beneficial. 

    Overall, however, I would recommend Fullstack’s program for its rigorous coursework and excellent support from instructors, fellows, and career success team. 
  • Madison Carr  User Photo
    Madison Carr • Associate Software Development Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have loved my time at Fullstack Academy! Honestly, I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I attended the program in September, and then applied for and was accepted on as a Teaching Fellow for 3 months. I was allowed to job search during the second half of my fellowship and recently accepted a software engineering role. Here is my impression of Fullstack during the time I've spent here: 

    Strengths
    -Admissions Process: Fullstack requires students to have a basic understanding of programming fundamentals before acceptance into the program, which allows Fullstack to focus on more advanced topics in its curriculum.
    -JavaScript-Centered: Students learn both frontend and backend development focusing on one language: JavaScript. I think this allows students to gain a deep understanding of one language instead of basic familiarity of several. 
    -Career Success: Fullstack has a great Career Success team. Each campus has an on-site Career Success Counselor who provides insight into the job search and hiring process. They will walk students through effective salary negotiation and keep in regular contact with graduates who are job searching. 

    What Can Be Improved
    -Curriculum Update Reconciliation: The only reason that I give their curriculum 4 instead of 5 stars is not due to the content of the curriculum (which is great), but the way that updates are reconciled in the curriculum. A strength of Fullstack is its insight into what up-and-coming technology the industry finds impressive and how it updates its curriculum accordingly. However, on the job a Software Engineer also has to understand and maintain older code, so it's important be familiar with previous versions too (think async/await versus .then() ). Sometimes, it's a bit confusing for students who are taught to do one version of a feature see an older version of a feature in a workshop, but I think the goal of Fullstack is to strike a delicate balance to figure out how to appropriately expose the student to both versions. It can just be hard sometimes to do that in a cohesive way, but that might just be a natural consequence continuing to evolve appropriately. 

    All in all, I'm so happy with the experience I had at Fullstack; I'm glad I took the leap and made the investment. I got to work with smart and creative people in the program and am looking forward to my new career!

  • Great experience
    - 11/27/2019
    Chris Choi  User Photo
    Chris Choi • Solutions Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This entire program was a really rewarding experience starting from the beginning to the end. The curriculum covered in the alotted time span was taught in ways that worked effectively for me from both the instructors and teaching assistants. Thanks to the awesome instructors John M., Ben R., and Orlando C. were honest about their knowledge and provided as much information as possible certain topics to the best of their ability. You can tell they geniunely care for your progress and will take the time to answer any questions you have. The amount of effort that I put in was well received, and you can tell the staff at Fullstack truly want you to succeed. The culture is great and there are many people of different backgrounds that I have never encountered before and learned so much through each individual's story.

    Enrolling at FSA,  just know that perserverance is key. You learn it through the program and you will have to continue after you graduate in the job search. I can't thank FSA enough for allowing me to explore the world of tech and fully start a new career in mind.

    Never give up! Be hungry and strive for success. The only person that can stand in the way is yourself. Good luck :)

  • Great school
    - 11/18/2019
    Maksym Fedorenko  User Photo
    Maksym Fedorenko • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hello everyone. Fullstack was a turning point in my life. I was working in completely different environmental, never deal with engineering before last year. But I was always interested in computers and technologies, so I started to study by myself and after I made some progress, I found an amazing school - Fullstack Academy. I graduated from it  2 weeks ago. It was a great 17 week journey. It honestly was an intensive course, sometimes very hard, but it gave me great knowledge and skills to become a Software developer. 

    Beside that I met  amazing people - my classmates and instructors, who helped me to succeed. Everyone in school is extremely supportive. If you got stuck, or you think you are ready to give up, you can schedule as many office hours as you need and got a ton of help. I never heard 'NO' when I asked a question.

    If you love technologies, looking for career change but dont know how to start - Fullstack is a perfect place for you. You will begin from the scratch and every day will build on top of it. If you will work hard and trust a process you will succeed.

    Best of luck ;)

  • Life-changing
    - 10/31/2019
    A.  User Photo
    A. • Fullstack Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated from Fullstack Academy 2 months ago. It was a great experience. My cohort was a diverse group of like-minded people who were eager to learn. It is as intense as you would expect, so make sure you have a good foundation before starting. The instructors were all passionate about teaching, not just about code, but also how to deal with things like imposter syndrome. The career success team really cares - you aren't just fending for yourself after graduation. They offer weekly remote meetings and 1 on 1 support during the job search. Plus you graduate with a cohort of people all in the same boat to keep in touch with.

    As for the curriculum, I was told more than once during my job search that the skills I had stood out from the majority of bootcamp grads. One interviewer was surprised I had only learned React a few months ago. I put this down to the quality of teaching I received. I would highly recommend Fullstack Academy to anyone serious about attending a coding program and making a career change.

  • Jonathan Helvey  User Photo
    Jonathan Helvey • Full Stack Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fullstack Academy of Code was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. I believe all education should start to follow this model -- make education quick and affordable.  Fullstack teaches the essentials to get you a job as a Software Engineer. 

    This is one of the best bootcamps in America right now. They are very selective on who gets in, they really want to make sure you are serious about your career switch. They take your education seriously. 

    I would recommend taking Bootcamp Prep in a Month with them before applying! I can not stress this enough!!  Start learning code on your own before you apply. The more you know the better you will be. Just focus on JavaScript.  The bootcamp can not teach you everything, it is up to the individual to go out and be able to learn on your own. Fullstack Academy gives you the tools you need to get the job you want.  It can not teach you everything but it will teach you how to keep educating yourself.  

    The support during the program is amazing.  Holly Valenty and the career counselors are just the best and most supportive people in the program. This is what makes Fullstack Academy great.  That support is amazing and very much needed when you are on your job search. I will say it is not easy, it will take dedication and perseverance to keep yourself going everyday.  But never give up. The job search can be frustrating and hard. But with Holly and the career counselors they will give you the support you need to get through it. No matter what keep coding and you will get a job!

     
  • What a journey
    - 10/4/2019
    Tetiana Farhuts  User Photo
    Tetiana Farhuts • Front End Software Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If you had told me a couple of years ago that one day I would become a software developer, I probably would have laughed out loud. I never thought that I would like spending a huge amount of time writing lines of code or enjoy digging in the bushes of the source code. But life has an interesting sense of humor, and here I am enthusiastically describing my new profession.

    I attended the Grace Hopper Program in NYC, then got hired on as a Teaching Fellow afterwards at Fullstack. I finished my Teaching Fellowship recently, and just accepted an offer at a very cool cybersecurity startup!

    When I first heard about the Grace Hopper Program, I heard it described with words such as community, comprehensive curriculum, and support. After I started the program, I was very pleased to learn that these are the real concepts with which the program operates.

    Community: After completing the program, you will be part of the FSA / GH circle. It doesn’t matter if you graduated from the FSA or GH, each former student will be happy to help with anything, such as a job referral or even just a piece of advice. During my job search, I contacted an FSA grad who finished the program in 2017, and he responded almost immediately and provided me with invaluable information.

    Comprehensive curriculum: There is a lot of new information to digest, but it is all presented in a way that allows you to absorb the material through application. The curriculum is well structured for layering in new technologies and for getting you practical experience in a short amount of time.  It is a fast-paced program, so be prepared to speak and dream in javascript.

    Support: The program leads, instructors and teaching fellows really play a big role in their students' success and are constantly going out of their way to make sure everyone is getting the help they need to succeed.

    Participating in the program takes your full dedication; you get out of it what you put into it. In the end, this is an extremely rewarding experience. You gain a tremendous amount of knowledge and are provided with all of the tools necessary for your success. 

  • Amanda  User Photo
    Amanda • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had been eyeing doing a bootcamp for about 5 years, so I think my perception of them was from the earlier days. I honestly expected a more intense experience with more committed peers. A big surprise to me was that Saturdays are optional (and only a handful of us max were ever there) and everyone left campus at 5pm on the dot every day. 

    The curriculum is split between 3 phases - Foundations (remote, vanilla JS), Junior Phase (learning the stack and how to put together a full web app), and Senior Phase (building 3 full projects). I found myself with lots of free time during the junior phase. I was disappointed that when I asked fellows or instructors for ideas on what else to work on, they mostly just told me to relax and have fun. 

    Ok, that's the bad out of the way.

    The good - Fullstack ultimately gave me what I paid for. The ability to get a job as a software engineer. I graduated 3 weeks ago and have already had 4 offers and accepted 1 at my top choice company. I felt very prepared for my interviews (although I think part of that was my exposure to the tech scene in my previous job). Learning React is key as I think that's one of the main things that set me apart from just CS grads and every company I interviewed with uses React. I was able to go from theater producer to account manager to software engineer and I don't think I could have done it nearly as fast without Fullstack. I will also say that Collin the instructor is fantastic. Eager to teach, knows everything, and great at explaining the underlying concepts behind the frameworks. I was very, very thankful for his code reviews and guidance. 

    Suggestions to Fullstack - Please don't ignore students if they are bored/ahead. I really appreciated the extra workshops that started being available to me towards the end of Junior phase. If a student asked me what else they should work on, I would tell them to build a simple CRUD app. Then I would say re-do it using React Hooks instead of Redux. Then I would say use GraphQL. 

    Suggestions to Students

    - Pick your capstone project carefully, but not in the way you think. I was very focused on the actual product and wanted it to be cool, but I am so so thankful that we ended up using new technology and went through struggles and learnings I could talk to. This came up in all my interviews. Several said they brought me in because they liked how well I could communicate in my Youtube video and one had me give a 15 minute presentation on a challenging project to a room full of people. If you don't know how everything in your app works, ask your teammates to talk you through the code AND their decision making process. This was super important for interviews.

    - This is something not everyone can control, but I think my exposure to the tech industry and how software is built was invaluable. The people in my class who had similar backgrounds really stood out and seemed to grasp the bigger picture much much better. So if you can work in the field before doing a bootcamp, I highly highly recommend it. I had no technical experience before landing a job as an account manager so I do think this could be an option for lots of people. 

    - And go to the optional Saturdays and do the optional workshops! They were my favorite workshops and the most beneficial. 

     

    I think Fullstack is a top tier bootcamp and I am very grateful for all that it gave me.

  • Elizabeth Silverstein  User Photo
    Elizabeth Silverstein • Software Engineer Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Simply put, Fullstack's cirriculum can help you change the trajectory of your life. After years working in non-profit and for-profit sector, I was ready to pursue my interest in coding. I choose fullstack because of its emphasis on a challenging cirriculum and only accepting good people. The instructors at Fullstack were more than willing to work closely with me as a student to answer any lingering questions I had after lectures, I was honestly surprised how much one-on-one time I was able to get with all of them. After the program I went on to become a teaching fellow at fullstack which gave me a peek behind the curtain and I can say with confidence that everyone who I interacted with on the fullstack staff level was as commited to helping students suceed as anyone I have met. From the more behind the scenes staff like Ben and Brett, to the instructors like Collin, Priti, and Finn everyone was kind and working everyday to make this a better program. Software is a quickly changing field and Fullstack provide the flexibility for the cirriculum to stay up to date with the newest tech and best practices. Also must give a shout out to the career sucess team including Holly in Chicago. No one has been more commited to getting me a job, Holly is the best! 

  • Jon Kurinsky  User Photo
    Jon Kurinsky • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Prior to attending Fullstack's full-time immersive web development program in Chicago, I'd worked in logistics and operations within the publishing industry for a bit less than a decade. I self-taught a bunch of Python during that time for purposes of business process automation, and after coming to really enjoy this part of my job I eventually decided to try to break into the tech industry. After looking at the job market for web development, I realized that despite some demonstrable technical skills in order to actually get hired I'd need to do a few things: (1) learn the tooling and ecosystem that surrounds the immensely complex, fast-moving world of modern Javascript, which I couldn't do alone; (2) gain some experience writing code as part of a team, for having only ever worked in relative isolation; and (3) develop a portfolio showing proficiency in web technology stack in demand on the market.

    I looked at bootcamps in Chicago, Denver, and a couple of other cities hoping to find a place that would help me in all three of these respects. I wanted a relatively selective program so I'd be working with people who already had a bit of technical experience (or the facility to acquire it quickly). I wanted a program that required students to come in the door with a fairly solid grasp of the fundamentals of the main language or languages used so classroom work could focus on frameworks and technologies rather than for loops and functions. I wanted the program to have a strong curricular component based on working together in teams. I wanted a program whose graduates' portfolios weren't just cookie-cutter copies of todo apps or simple CRUD applications; I wanted to finish with projects demonstrating some creative engagement with technically challenging problems so I could be competitive on the job market alongside CS majors. Lastly, I wanted a program whose curriculum seemed up-to-date, reflecting new trends and directions the industry is moving in (e.g. React, Angular 2, functional programing concepts and patterns), rather than older technologies, however battle-tested they might be (e.g. Rails, Laravel, etc.).

    I chose Fullstack Academy (hereafter, "FSA") for it seeming to be a good match on all counts-- albeit after no small amount of research (including flying to Denver to spend a couple of days on a competitor's campus). FSA requires students to have a grasp of fundamental control and data structures in at least one language (as well as some demonstrable problem-solving ability) before being admitted. FSA requires admitted students to complete an at-home month-long "Javascript Foundations" curriculum before stepping the door, ensuring that everyone has a base level of proficiency. After getting everyone up to speed in its tech stack, the second half of FSA's program (“senior phase”)  assigns students to teams to complete projects in an environment designed to approximate the practices and rituals of a real-world agile workflow. In this "senior phase", students are not just encouraged but mandated to explore technologies beyond FSA's stack, finding interesting problems to solve along the way, documenting their work with videos and write-ups that prepare them to present their work on the job market. Finally, FSA's curriculum switched to React a couple of years ago emphasizes a functional style (e.g. you learn the syntax for OOP in JS, but SOLID is not taught; on the other hand, students spend lots of time thinking about how to write pure functions and that are easily testable). 

    That's what my research taught me about the program. What I found at FSA vastly exceeded even these expectations. FSA's staff are extremely committed to instructional excellence for every student. In contrast to what I saw when checking out some larger, more impersonal programs, they get to know each student, identifying who is struggling with what and how to best help, on the one hand, and figuring out how to further challenge students who are breezing through the material, on the other. 

    The curriculum is designed not just around teaching Javascript and the chosen stack, but at teaching students how to continue to grow as developers. At the beginning of the junior phase, the workshops do a lot of handholding, but as the program progresses the demands are ramped up: students take on projects involving larger and larger portions of the stack, moving from test-driven learning to building code that meets requirements stated much more abstractly, eventually in the senior phase being pushed to learn new technologies on their own and to solve problems with increasingly less instructor assistance. 

    Throughout this process there is a healthy expectation that students will build up debugging resilience and gradually learn how to use Google to solve their own problems, though always with help from instructors and TAs. In some ways the purpose of the program, beyond teaching a particular stack, is to equip students with the knowledge of technique and confidence necessary to continue learning in a self-directed way, which is part and parcel of working as a software professional. 

    The program places strong emphasis on learning to give and respond to feedback in healthy and productive ways, which does a great deal to ease the transition from pairs to teams and collectively acculturates students to the kind of social organization and processes employed in workplaces.  

    All of this is wonderful, but it’s the approach taken in the “senior phase” and around the capstone project that really sets FSA apart. Throughout the first classroom-instruction phase, FSA collects survey data about which pairs of students work well together. In the senior phase, the instructors build teams based on this data combined with student performance scores and the results of further surveys which ask students what kinds of applications they’re interested in building. Teams are guided through a process which helps them decide between ideas, translate the best ideas into minimum viable products, and then into production-ready applications. The balanced, well-matched teams generated through this process are in a position to be pushed by the instructors and teaching assistants to build technically interesting applications that demonstrate students’ capacity to pick up new technologies and capacity for deep thought about architecture and design. 

    As in any bootcamp program, things move quickly. It’s up to students to dive deep into technologies or parts of the stack in which they would like to specialize. The portfolio projects can end up having a “hackathon” feel, for this being the environment in which they’re produced-- but employers of course understand this. Tough choices have to be made about what to cover and what not to cover. But these are all par for the course with all bootcamps for being built-in to the territory. 

    There are a couple of potential challenges unique to FSA worth mentioning. FSA’s teaching-assistantship model (they’re called “teaching fellows”) is based on keeping former students around for a three-month contract to help guide more students through the program, in contrast with some other programs which keep around a semi-permanent teaching-assistantship staff (i.e. people with less expertise than instructors who are the front-line debugging helpers, coaches, code reviewers, etc.). While the instructors typically stick around for several years, teach many cohorts, and grow their own skills as programmers and pedagogues through this experience, the relatively short duration of the fellowship program makes it hard for FSA to accumulate experience and wisdom in the area of its teaching assistants. On the flip side, teaching fellows always have a fresh memory of what it was like to be a student and are in this respect well-positioned to help other students navigate the program’s many challenges and demands-- the program is quite good at selecting qualified former students for this role.

    FSA prides itself on an always up-to-date curriculum and has a lot of infrastructure in place to collect student feedback on the curriculum and integrate improvements into it. But as of Fall 2019 FSA moved more slowly than should be possible in integrating this feedback due to the many demands placed on instructor time. I believe they are now in the process of reorganizing curriculum design into a separate department to help address this issue. These are growing pains that instructors and management will freely admit to-- and I am fairly confident that FSA will rise to meet them in the years to come. 

    Whatever the challenges faced by the program, I liked the environment at Fullstack so much that I decided to stick around as a teaching fellow despite some leads for local jobs that would have paid much more (I should say that I've wrapped up that contract and am no longer employed by FSA at the time of writing!).

    Some words on the alumni network and the career success program. When FSA advertises that they've helped candidates land jobs at top companies, they're not kidding. While obviously not everybody will end up at Google, or whatever, it's also not just a couple of outliers that have made it into FAANG companies. (In NYC, Google in particular has taken an interest in FSA graduates and it's not uncommon for a few grads in each cohort to go through the interview process-- whether they make it in, or not, it's a great learning experience.) FSA is known for its academically rigorous curriculum and the quality of its graduates relative to other bootcamps, and companies that have hired from FSA are likely to do so again-- facilitated by an alumni network that feels loyalty to the program and helps graduates navigate the complexities of the job market. It's not uncommon as an alum at career fairs or tech events to name-drop Fullstack and see faces light up: "Oh, great! I've heard good things about them / I've worked with a Fullstack grad / My coworker spoke so highly of a Fullstack grad they’ve worked with," and so on.

    After the program I planned a move to a new city in which there was a *much* smaller FSA alumni presence than Chicago or NYC. But the few alumni in my destination city more than made up for their small numbers with a willingness to help me understand the market and find companies where I might be a fit. Not long into my search, with lots of advice from alumni and and the career success team at Fullstack, I was able to land a wonderful position at a Fortune 50 company. And that definitely would not have been possible without FSA!

  • Life changing
    - 8/30/2019
    Wendy  User Photo
    Wendy • Graduate and Former Teaching Fellow • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Bit of background about me before I dive in: I spent 6 years in the advertising field before making this career change, I attended the Grace Hopper Program in NYC, then got hired on as a Teaching Fellow afterwards at Fullstack. I finished my Teaching Fellowship in July, and just accepted an offer recently at my dream company!

    When I used to do admissions interviews, I often get asked about my experience at Fullstack. Obviously I can't speak to how it compares against other coding bootcamps in the city, but what I can say is that when i was "bootcamp-shopping", I identified Fullstack, Hack Reactor and App Academy as the top bootcamps, but after reviewing graduation outcomes on CIRR and interviewing with all 3, I chose Grace Hopper @ Fullstack because of its superior CIRR outcomes and the fact that they don't have weekly Survivor-style elimination rounds like the other 2 bootcamps. 

    Once I started at Fullstack, it was immediately apparent that EVERYONE there was committed to my success. There was an abundance of resources to help you succeed: custom workshop content, live-coding lectures, several Teaching Fellows (like TAs) who get assigned as your mentors, office hours for one-on-one coaching, extra lectures on Saturdays for those who need it, and a never-ending supply of additional study material (videos, articles). When I became a Teaching Fellow after graduation, I realized that this was fully-intentional; each Fellow would discuss how their group of students is doing, coordinating with instructors to make sure that lectures and assistance were tailored to their specific needs. They really leave no stone unturned.

    Further, the staff maintains a startup mentality, in that they maintain an agile approach to their curriculum in response to student feedback. They regularly ask for feedback -- both on the staff memebers as well as the program itself -- and I've seen them implement them within only a few weeks.

    I wouldn't in a million years regret my decision to spend this much money on a bootcamp. Before I joined, I was considering just doing a few nanodegrees on Udacity or going through FreeCodeCamp. However, there was no way those would be able to get me 1) live Q&A during lectures, since I have A LOT of questions, 2) tons of pair programming opportunities, 3) learning 5 new technologies in 1.5 months, and 4) a portfolio of full-blown applications and experience working in an agile team of developers, which I was consistenly asked about in my job interviews after graduation. 

    Like other reviewers here said, going to a bootcamp, be it Fullstack or otherwise, might not necessarily guarantee you a job after graduation. It's not a silver bullet that will solve your life's problems. Like any other educational institution, the outcome you get will be positively correlated with how much work you put in. Be prepared to spend most of your waking hours thinking about, reading, and writing code. Work hard, but also work smart. Understand your learning style early on, as this is a bootcamp and things move at lightning speed. And most of all, don't forget to have fun :)

  • Matti Barzilai  User Photo
    Matti Barzilai • Associate Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    When I first heard about the phenomenon of coding bootcamps, I was incredibly skeptical. However, after completing Fullstack Academy's Software Engineering Immersive, I am a true believer that a good bootcamp can change your life (and career 😉).

    Initially I chose to attend Fullstack for two reasons:

    1. By requiring students come in with a baseline of knowledge, you are able to move more quickly and spend the limited time of the bootcamp covering more advanced topics (side note: I took the Bootcamp Prep course and was more than ready for to apply for the immersive by the end).
    2. The idea of focusing on only one language/stack also leaves more time for honing skills and going deeper into concepts instead of learning different syntax for essentially the same things.

    After completing the program, I still agree with both of those statements. However, they are only the beginning of what sets Fullstack apart...

    Before attending Fullstack, I was a middle school math and science teacher. Coming from a background in education, I was very impressed with the curriculum and overall educational experience Fullstack provides for a variety of reasons, including:

    • Each lecture is followed by a workshop in which students get to actually practice using the new information.
    • The curriculum builds incrementally on itself, introducing concepts in a logical order. While new topics are introduced in quick succession (there is a TON to learn in not a lot of time), the nature of the workshops and projects requires students to continue using all of the skills they have previously covered. This not only provides additional practice, but also helps students understand how the various pieces fit together.
    • Fullstack has found a good balance between explaining the most important ideas, while still requiring students to figure out how to implement them on their own. I think the most important thing I learned at Fullstack Academy is how to read documentation and teach myself to use new technologies.
      • This is then revisited in the second half of the program (see comment above) by asking students to choose new technologies/tools they are interested in learning about and using them to build a project of their own design.
      • When applying to jobs, I was able to tell interviewers that I was confident I could teach myself whatever languages and tools they use. (In fact, for one job application I taught myself an entire new language and became very comfortable using it in about one week!)
    • It feels like the staff really cares about each student and their success. I saw this play out in two main ways:
      • Support: the instructors and teaching fellows are genuinely happy when students ask them questions or request office hours.
      • Assessment: it is made very clear that the purpose of assessments is to ensure that students have made an appropriate amount of progress, or to find out what they might need more help with. During the immersive portion of the program, there are no "passing" or "failing" scores — assessments are looked at holistically to determine what each student needs at that point to be successful.
    • Fullstack purposefully crafts a supportive, collaborative environment by explicitly teaching in the first week such topics as why pair programming is important and how to do it well, how to combat implicit biases, and how to give clear, helpful feedback.
    • The instructors elicit and actually respond to feedback! Not only do they make small tweaks if requested during a specific cohort, but they are constantly looking for ways to improve upon the curriculum and program as a whole and then implement them!
    • On the topic of instructors: each of the instructors is extremely knowledgeable and brings examples from their own experience to highlight what they are teaching!

    As someone who has tremendous anxiety around applying for jobs, I particularly took advantage of the Career Success team. During the bootcamp, I appreciated the guidance on such topics as creating a technical resume or harnessing LinkedIn. Then, during my job search I consistently refered back to the materials they provided us. But most importantly, I felt like I could always reach out to Holly, our Career Success counselor, for answers to even the most inane questions! She was beyond helpful in my search for that first job out of bootcamp, which I can't wait to start next week!

    TL;DR Fullstack Academy provides a well-designed curriculum, supportive and knowledgeable instructors, and personalized career support. I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Software Engineer
    - 8/26/2019
    Helen  User Photo
    Helen • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I found my love for programming very late in college, and as a result was unable to pursue it very far while I was still in school. I weighed the option of a masters vs. a boot camp, and ultimately decided that a boot camp made more sense for me both professionally and financially. When it came to choosing which boot camp I wanted to do, I didn’t shop around much. I figured that if I was going to invest so much time and money, I was going to do it at the best boot camp.

    Coming out of Fullstack, I can confidently say that enrolling here as a student was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made for myself. The program offers high quality instruction, and the staff and instructors are dedicated to creating the best possible experience for students. My fellow cohort-mates as well as the alumni I’ve met have also all been incredibly supportive. I’m now gearing up to start my new job, and couldn’t be more excited for my future!

  • Brandon  User Photo
    Brandon • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had two expectations for a bootcamp:

    1) to learn the skills of web development quickly and thoroughly

    2) to gain a great network of really smart people

    I am happy to say that I got both. Creating our capstone project was a great boost of confidence in the skills that I had just learned. I know I could have learned all of this information on my own, but it the organization of the information and the efficiency of how fast I was able to learn was well worth the cost of the bootcamp. I estimate that it would have taken me at least a year to pick up the same skills on my own. I didn't have to waste time figuring out what to learn and what were the best ways to learn them. 

    I have a lot to learn in software engineering, but I have a great framework of how to improve and learn new technologies on my own. I also got my first job in Software Engineering because of Fullstack!

    I also still get together with my classmates and it is really great to have a network and friends who code right out of the gate. I highly recommend Fullstack!

  • Gerry  User Photo
    Gerry • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I always thought coding seemed cool, so I thought I'd pay the super resonable fee take Bootcamp Prep on-campus and just see what happens... 8 months later I am nearing the end of my fellowship, having accepted a life-changing job offer, and I can now officially define myself a software engineer. This is not the way I ever imagined my life would go, considering I graduated college with a creative writing degree, but I've truly never been happier or ever felt this proud of myself.

    The curriculum, the staff, and the other students are all incredibly dedicated and hardworking. I feel as though I have gained lifelong friends and mentors.

    If you're considering a coding bootcamp, no matter if you're considering Fullstack or a lesser camp, take Fullstack's Bootcamp Prep to experience the deeply supportive culture and supreme curriculum. Who knows, maybe 8 months later you'll be crushing it as a software developer at a major international company just like me! 

  • Yaodi Hu  User Photo
    Yaodi Hu • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great experience during my time at Fullstack Academy Chicago, and the people there really foster an awesome environment for learning. The instructors are very knowledgeable, friendly, and accessible. The fellows are always there to help someone through a bug or a difficult concept. The students are committed to learning and helping each other out. The career success lead Holly did a great job helping me transition to my first software developer role, even months after I graduated. Fullstack really built an incredible community with good people, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone trying to break into the software development field.

  • Grant Weiss  User Photo
    Grant Weiss • Full Stack Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First and foremost if you are thinking about Fullstack, just do it! The knowledge, experience, and friendships you will gain are life-changing and lifelong. I attended the Software Engineering-Immersive course and allow me to say, it was certainly a journey. Here is some background about the course.

    It starts off with a four-week remote portion called "Foundations". This is where you will learn or refresh on some fundamental to fairly advanced topics regarding JavaScript. For some, this was the most challenging portion of the course. Something to keep in mind is that throughout all of Foundations and the rest of the in-class portion, you are required to pass several "Checkpoints", and short of a passing grade, you will be held back. But do not let this intimidate you... In fact, it is for good reason. It aids in your development as an engineer/teammate and ensures that everyone you are working with is on the same page.

    Once you pass Foundations you begin on a grueling 6-week Jr. Phase portion where you continue to build upon the concepts you learned in Foundations. But it doesn't stop there. You will learn cutting edge technologies, data structures, abstract data types, and more. As someone who recently graduated and is now happily employed I strongly recommend that the most important thing throughout this entire experience is your health. Make sure you give yourself enough time to eat and sleep. Give yourself every chance to come into class the next day psyched and ready to learn... because it is incredibly fast-paced, and it is easy to get overwhelmed. But just remember everyone feels the same way and to 'Trust the process".

    Lastly, once you pass Jr. Phase, you will start... Yes, Senior Phase. To be totally honest this is where it all clicks. You start having more than just a high-level understanding of how data is flowing through the stack, and you are able to make a decision that impacts your entire application. And I don't mean add a div here or a div there... I am talking about highly educated and insightful decisions to engineer a full-stack application. For me, this was the most incredible part and a feeling I will never forget.

    With that being said, you still have your fair share of challenges. Several projects, REACTO, Career success, and most importantly your health. At this point, you will have started the last 6 weeks of the Fullstack experience and it is definitely less intense, but even more impactful.

    To sum it all up there is an incredible Carrer Success team. Fullstack goes out of their way to make sure every student is as prepared as possible to find a job as soon as they graduate. From Mock interviews, Resume workshops, Career counseling, and everything in between, Fullstack does not skip a beat. I know we all come here to learn how to code, but learning how to represent yourself as a candidate to a potential employer is seldom taught anywhere. Which is yet another thing that sets Fullstack apart from other bootcamps.

    Every instructor I interacted with is amazing. Everyone is brilliant, helpful, and engaging. I never once felt any sort of negative vibe from any instructor. Even after the first day of Jr. Phase, you start becoming more than just another class going through the program, but you become a family. A family that supports and encourages everyone to do the very best they can. All in all, I highly recommend this program to anyone interested in learning more about Software Engineering. It is beyond just another "learn how to code" bootcamp. It is a life-changing, challenging, and gratifying experience.

    All my respect to future Fullstackers, fellow graduates and instructors in the program. Thank you for everything, and I am excited to see the Fullstack family grow!

  • So Much Support
    - 3/10/2019
    Gayane Selimyan  User Photo
    Gayane Selimyan • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fullstack Academy is the bootcamp for you if you're looking to learn the right technologies as well as get career support to find a job quickly. The teachers, career councelors and the staff are very student-centric and are always available to provide support.

    The curriculum is very enhanced, so be prepared to work a lot and dedicate as much time as you can if you want to make the most of the process. Pair programming is a big part of the course and is a great way to absorb the material faster. The curriculum also includes career workshops that prepare students for the market.

    I loved having Corey, Matt, Dakota and David as my teachers, Jackie as my career councelor and Emily as the program lead. They are all wonderful professionals and I've learned a lot from them.

  • Daniel Eimer  User Photo
    Daniel Eimer • Application Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The first place I came when i was interested in starting a developer career was right here to look at reviews, so I figured I'd do my part for the process as well. 

    Fullstack was a great experience from day one. You're thrown into a mix of students from all backgrounds, and immediately need to start absorbing information. I graduated from a top university, but have never had an educational experience as demanding and productive as this. The course is fast paced and challenging, but you come out confident that you can use the skills you acquired, and learn the skills you haven't yet.

    The staff is very knowledgable and helpful. The instructors, Ben, Collin, and Finn, really seem to care about every individual's performance and success. The Career Success aspect of the course far surpassed my expectations. Holly works with you every step of the way, even once you're finished with the course, to land you a job. 

    Overall, Fullstack was a great expereince, both in the classroom learning how to code, and the support they provide coming out into the world and looking for a job.

  • So much support
    - 2/22/2019
    Sara  User Photo
    Sara • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Grace Hopper (all women) division of Fullstack Academy. I couldn't imagine a better environment to not only to learn but to completely change careers.  I had a huge support network, between my three dozen classmates, half a dozen fellows, the instuctors, directors, and career success team. Additionally, the curriculum is up to date with the current frameworks and technologies most widely used in the industry--javascript, react, redux--which I feel gives me an edge both interviewing and once on the job.

Thanks!