fullstack-academy-logo

Fullstack Academy

Chicago, New York City, Online

Fullstack Academy

Avg Rating:4.9 ( 239 reviews )

Fullstack Academy offers full-time and part-time immersive software engineering bootcamps and cyber security bootcamps, with campuses in New York City, Chicago, and online. Fullstack's software engineering courses cover advanced JavaScript-oriented technologies and computer science topics including compiler theory, logic gates, and building an operating system. The cyber bootcamp covers encryption, networking, system architecture, cryptography, risk detection, and more. Fullstack Academy offers flexible options for college students and those who wish to continue working while learning modern tech skills. The Summer of Code program is an accelerated version of the immersive bootcamp for college students on summer break.

The full- and part-time immersives in NY and Chicago are for intermediate programmers who’ve learned the basics before applying, while the cyber and university bootcamps are specifically designed for beginners. Bootcamp Prep classes are available to help students prepare for admissions. To apply, candidates should submit an application via the website, take an online coding assessment (software engineering bootcamp) or a basic logical reasoning test (cyber bootcamp), then participate in a video interview.

Fullstack Academy programs aim to combine a cutting-edge technical curriculum with career counseling to make sure students can both do a technical job, and get a technical job. Fullstack hosts a Demo Day, which includes speed interviewing sessions, and the careers team helps students connect with the right people, interview successfully, and negotiate the best offer possible. 

Recent Fullstack Academy Reviews: Rating 4.9

all (239) reviews for Fullstack Academy →

Recent Fullstack Academy News

Read all (78) articles about Fullstack Academy →
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Month

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 9, 2019
    Cost
    $250
    Class size
    40
    Location
    Online, Chicago, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Month courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy's Bootcamp Prep courses are free with refund (which means you'll get back everything you've paid upon completion of the course) and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women's school), plus Fullstack's part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems. Best of all, they're taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack's programs, so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the kinds of smart, driven, generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Refund / Guarantee
    Full refund upon course completion.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-Beginner
    Prep Work
    Includes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 9, 2019 - ChicagoApply by October 3, 2019
    October 9, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 3, 2019
    October 9, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 3, 2019
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Week

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time1 Week
    Start Date
    October 5, 2019
    Cost
    $250
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Week courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy's Bootcamp Prep courses are free with refund (which means you'll get back everything you've paid upon completion of the course) and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women's school), plus Fullstack's part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems, and best of all? They're taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack's programs, so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the kinds of smart, driven, generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Refund / Guarantee
    Full refund upon course completion.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-beginners
    Prep Work
    Includes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    October 5, 2019 - OnlineApply by September 30, 2019
    October 5, 2019 - New York CityApply by September 30, 2019
  • Flex (Part-Time) Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date
    October 15, 2019
    Cost
    $15,980
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Chicago, New York City
    Flex offers an opportunity to complete the rigorous Fullstack immersive program, but over a six-month span, while keeping a full-time job. Students attend class in-person two nights per week, and remotely one night per week. Each month will have one immersive weekend, where Flex students come to campus both Saturday and Sunday. The other three weekends will consist of remote work -- not requiring live attendance. These remote weekends will utilize learning tools that work well in that format: video lectures and workshop reviews, solo coding workshops, and even pair-programming with classmates using virtual collaboration tools. This remote work will be self-paced -- completed by a deadline, but on the student’s schedule.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy partners with Skills Fund.
    Scholarship
    $1,000 scholarship for women; $1,000 scholarship for veterans. $2,000 built-in scholarship for Chicago students.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work
    4-week Foundations Course
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    October 15, 2019 - ChicagoApply by August 25, 2019
    January 14, 2020 - New York CityApply by November 17, 2019
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date
    September 30, 2019
    Cost
    $17,610
    Class size
    25
    Location
    New York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a full-time, 17-week training program that prepares students to get cyber security jobs as pen testers and SOC analysts after graduation. Operated by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running coding bootcamps in the nation, the Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is part of New York City’s $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. In keeping with this mission, the City is sponsoring 24 low-income New Yorkers to attend the first cohort of the Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp tuition-free. Head to the web page for eligibility information.
    Financing
    Deposit
    2,000
    Scholarship
    Full scholarships to our inaugural cohort (including deposit refund upon program completion) available for qualifying NYers. Made possible by the City of New York's CyberNYC initiative. See website for eligibility information & additional scholarships.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Prep Work
    Take our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    September 30, 2019 - New York CityApply by August 19, 2019
  • NYC Web Development Fellowship

    Apply
    Data Science, HTML, Git, JavaScript, SQL, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonFull Time17 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    N/A
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City
    In partnership with the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline, the NYC Web Development Fellowship will award ~40 NYC residents tuition-free admission to Fullstack's award-winning Software Engineering program. This curriculum has been proven successful -- Fullstack graduates are now working at companies like Google, Venmo, Facebook, Amazon, and LinkedIn, as well as hundreds of innovative small- and mid-size tech companies. Learn more about the fellowship as well as eligibility restrictions on the Fullstack website: https://www.fullstackacademy.com/nyc-fellowship
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Scholarship
    Free Tuition for Eligible NYC Residents
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date
    November 4, 2019
    Cost
    $17,910
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Chicago, New York City
    Fullstack Academy’s flagship course, the Full-Time Software Engineering Immersive is a 17-week career accelerator. Through an advanced curriculum and project-based structure, students learn today’s cutting edge development technologies. The Fullstack Immersive prepares graduates for software engineer roles at top-tier technology companies. Our JavaScript-driven curriculum immerses you in the latest web technologies such as Node.js, React.js, and postgreSQL. You bring the energy, curiosity, and dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert software developer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart.
    Scholarship
    Built-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women; $1,000 scholarship for veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work
    4-week remote Foundations Course precedes the 13 weeks on-campus
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    November 4, 2019 - New York CityApply by September 15, 2019
    January 13, 2020 - New York CityApply by November 24, 2019
    November 4, 2019 - ChicagoApply by September 15, 2019
    January 13, 2020 - ChicagoApply by November 24, 2019
  • Summer of Code

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $16,910
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Chicago, New York City
    Summer of Code is a coding education program uniquely designed for ambitious college students seeking to supplement their traditional education by learning real world skills and building a portfolio of impressive projects. You bring the energy, curiosity and fierce dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert level coder in one summer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart
    Scholarship
    Built-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    College students only.
    Prep Work
    4-week Foundations course
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Fullstack Academy Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Fullstack Academy scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Software Engineering Immersive (Chicago)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Alex Tatarinov  User Photo
    Alex Tatarinov • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was part of the first WDF cohort. We spent almost 5 months on the NYC campus going first through the foundational materials and later through the main curriculum. Fullstack gave me a very solid understanding of software engineering principles, and most importantly, taught me how to be self sufficient. 

    The instructors and the stuff were excellent. I was never bored but was continuosly challenged. The level of students at FS is very high, yet everybody was always super supportive.

    I accepted a job offer at arguably one of the toughest companies to get in after about 4 months after graduation. 

    If you are thinking about becoming a professional developer, I can't recommend Fullstack enough. With that being said, I want to empisize that your results will be directly proportionate to the effort you put in (during the program and especially during the job search).

  • Revenge of the Nerd
    - 11/16/2016
    John Gruska • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    It was like a scene out of Revenge of the Nerds:  there I sat on my NYC apartment couch a few days before Christmas of 2015, casually flipping through the latest issue of CPU Magazine.  As a self-employed IT consultant and occasional programmer in the big city, keeping myself apprised of the latest tech trends was always important...albeit rarely exciting.  

    Despite enjoying fiscal success since 2009, the ratio of time spent on IT work to software development had simply been way too high for my tastes.  For several years I had considered pursuing a computer science master's degree, but the substantial commitment of time and money required for graduate school was daunting.  To put it bluntly, I felt lost and stuck...sitting idly by with a highly-demanded skill set wondering whether it would ever find its way into the scalding-hot tech scene.  

    And then it happened.  Out from a sea of processor benchmark scores and graphics card advertisements jumped the article that would change my life forever:  "The Camper's Code:  Coding Bootcamps Promise A Bright, High-Paying Future."

    I spent the next several hours churning through every online reference I could find on coding bootcamps.  How did they differ from one another?  What languages did they focus on?  What sort of success rates did their graduates have?  How challenging were they?  These among countless other questions were painstakingly analyzed and funneled into one master question...

    Which coding bootcamp is best?  Luckily for me, the answer was clear:  Fullstack Academy. 

    Not wasting one more minute, I hopped onto Fullstack's website and applied for admission into their 24-week Flex Immersive Program.  The application process was vigorous and thorough, and it was immediately apparent that I had made the right choice.  Before even setting foot on campus, I had already had in-depth conversations with BOTH founders of the academy (David and Nimit), each of whom was patient enough to answer all of the scheduling-related questions one might expect from a professional with limited free time.

    The first six months of 2016 were easily the best of my 15-year career, as my classmates and I found ourselves plunged into the center of the startup tech scene.  While computer science fundamentals and theory are at the heart of the program, there is truly nothing hypothetical about Fullstack Academy.  All lessons are immediately put to good use, with workshops and projects comprising the vast majority of time spent by each and every student.

    The atmosphere on campus (and FSA online) is electric, which is clearly the result of a unique continuity of information flow among students, fellows, instructors, and alumni.  From simple tweaks and tricks of the trade to the latest in cutting-edge web development trends, nothing goes under the radar at Fullstack Academy.  

    By the time I presented on Hiring Day in June of 2016, I had been fully transformed from an on-the-outskirts programmer to an in-the-know software engineer.  Fullstack's ever helpful and knowledgeable staff walked me through all of the necessary steps for preparing myself and my resume for the ultimate goal:  career transformation.  Several months of hard work and job hunting later, I can proudly say that it has all paid off as I have recently accepted a job offer from Google as a full-time software engineer.

    As co-founder David Yang warned me during our first conversation last year, there is no such thing as a "magic pill" when it comes to anything in life, and Fullstack is no exception.  It requires hard work and determination, but the experience and end result -- at least in my case -- is nothing short of magical.

  • JP • Mobile Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My time during Fullstack was amazing, I could learn in a very fast pace and had fun while doing it. My main instructor was Omri Bernstein and I also had classes with Joe Alves. Both are amazing teachers and awesome people. I finished the program in July and I still ask Omri some questions now and then, always with a happy response.

    Make sure to try to learn extra stuff during the program - e.g. some people in my cohort studied React (our curriculum had Angular, they just changed it to React for next year) and left the program already knowing it. In my case I had to work on React after the program and I only wish I had already tried it while studying at Fullstack.

    Most of the people from my cohort got offers already and I just got mine! I was an international student and went back to my country afterwards, that's why I prefered to leave Job Assistance as N/A in my case.

  • Kevin Hurley • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just finished the first Chicago Fullstack Academy cohort, and one week later I received, and accepted, an offer to work for a very exciting startup here in Chicago. This program has completely changed my life and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    A little bit about me - prior to attending Fullstack I was a high school math teacher for 17 years. I got into coding through teaching, as there was an opportunity to teach computer science a few years ago and I jumped at the chance, even though I had very little experience coding. My teaching experience eventually developed into a passion for software development, and I saw Fullstack as a way to get me professionalized, quickly. It was absolutely worth every penny.

    The instructors were extremely knowledgeable, and most important- passionate. The best part of the instruction is that they didn’t just give you a recipe to follow - they taught you how to think like a software engineer. I’ve been able to pick up new frameworks with ease because their philosophy was about understanding why you’re doing things and what was happening under the hood.

    Most of the early part of the program focuses on their workshop format and pair programming, which is heavy on test-driven development and struggling through challenging problems. I really liked that the instructors didn’t shy away from letting us struggle through things, as there is so much personal growth that comes from the struggle.

    The second part of the program was building real-world applications, and it was here where the program really shines. I felt completely prepared to be a contributing team member on our projects and I was thrilled with how our projects turned out.

    Ultimately, as one of the “older” students in the program, the most important outcome for me was getting a job, and here again Fullstack shines. They have a team of dedicated career people ready to assist you with any questions you have and I felt completely prepared for all of the challenges that were thrown at me throughout the job hunt.

    As a final note, one big concern I had going in was this- would the Chicago version of Fullstack be as successful as the New York one has been? I think I can answer that with a resounding YES.

  • Falafel Mastadon • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I attended the full-time program at Fullstack Academy in NYC.  It's focused on a particular group of technologies called the MEAN stack.  I looked at the bureau of labor statistics and did some research on the most needed/hottest languages and what the outcomes were of graduates from the programs.
     
     
    I moved to NYC for a few months and worked my tail off during the 13 or so weeks.  It was not easy, but it was a lot of fun.  I had been doing front end work prior to but wasn't getting paid anything special.  About three months after graduating I landed a dream job.  It has given me a huge opportunity for a long term upward career path, and starting somewhere rewarding (in many ways).  When I was there Fullstack guaranteed job placement within a certain number of months or you retrain and do it again on them.  I highly recommend taking the full time program. Just be relentless before, during and after to achieve.
     
    If you are interested in software programming, take some courses online and see how you like it.  The desirable immersive programs will anyway require some level of knowledge with HTML, CSS, Javascript and/or Ruby depending on the program.  I recommend studying jQuery, html, css, and javascript on codeacademy and codeschool.  They are mostly free, or a nominal monthly membership.
     
  • Excellent Course
    - 5/9/2016
    Yustynn Panicker • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I attended Fullstack Academy’s November course last year, and then stuck aroud for a few months as a teaching fellow afterward. I came in knowing very little about coding. Now that I’m out though, I see aspects that annoy me about my computer (Wunderlist’s app interface is top of my list right now), and the craziest thing happens. Before I just accepted things like this. Now I'm legitimately considering whether it’s worth leveraging their API to create my own desktop client for Wunderlist, tailored to my liking.

    The curriculum is intense, rigorous and excellent. I was challenged just the right amount to grow a lot. That’s not a normal situation for me - it’s usually either too much challenge or too little. They’ve found the sweetspot. And as someone who’s seen several cohorts, it’s clear that they take feedback and industry standards very seriously and implement changes, usually immediately. One perhaps extreme example is a recent switch to SQL from MongoDB, which must have been a break from comfort for the teaching staff. But they did it because they felt that SQL would best serve their students.

     

    To be clear, Fullstack’s education extends beyond the syllabus listed on their website. I mentioned earlier that I was considering making a desktop app, and their syllabus only covers web apps. But the program itself taught me how to teach myself to quickly pick up new technologies. Several people in my cohort, of their own accord during the second half of the program, taught themselves to build desktop apps and made one for their Capstone project. Several others did the same for their side projects and ‘stackathon’ projects. Personally I learnt to make mobile apps with Facebook’s React Native relatively quickly. My point is that the syllabus here is bootstrapping, and not constrained to those tools.

     

    The environment is very important with things like this, and Fullstack’s atmosphere is something I’ll miss for the rest of my life. Everybody’s intelligent, passionate and interested, all the way from the instructors to the students. It’s very, very motivating to be surrounded by people like that. The instructors in particular are probably the most brilliant people I’ve ever met, and they’re able to make everything so easily relatable. I had a workshop or two (out of many, many workshops) I didn’t particularly like, but when feedback was given on it, I saw those workshops improve for the following cohorts.

    I won’t talk extensively about hireability after the program - I’m personally going to school and so was not looking for a job. But at a cursory glance, the vast majority of my cohort seems to be happily employed, and the Fullstack staff dedicated to helping graduates through the hiring process are excellent and always on the ball, always ready and willing to help out and give advice on navigating different situations.

    Fullstack’s a very special place that had a profound impact on my life. I can’t speak from a hiring perspective (although everything I’ve seen points to that aspect being excellent). But I can say with certainty that if you want to learn to code, you should go to Fullstack. Not just for the technical skills, but also for the culture and community, which motivate you to excel.

  • Sean Johnston • Software Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am extremely glad I decided to go to Fullstack. I was hitting a dead end trying to find jobs where I could transition from being a PhD wet-bench biochemist into someone who was more computational. I looked into web development, and figured it might be something I could do on my own, following a course like The Odin Project. I eventually started looking into bootcamps, and decided that I wanted to do a full stack JavaScript bootcamp like Fullstack or Hack Reactor.

    I got into Fullstack, and it was one of the best experiences of my life. The fast pace, the extremely smart and engaging instructors, and the job support was exactly what I needed and what I was looking for. It was only three months (amazing that it's already been 6 months since I graduated), but I learned an amazing amount and met some fantastic people that I still keep in touch with.

    Fullstack is a cut above every other bootcamp I applied to. The pre-course (Foundations) takes the place of most other bootcamps' first 2-4 weeks, so you really can get a running start to get into the depths of JavaScript as a language. The projects/final projects are much more impressive than anything anyone else has out there (I'm currently working with a bootcamper from a different camp, and he was awestruck at my final project).

    Full stack JavaScript allows you to write in the same language on the front end and the back end, and building your JS skills allows you to benefit you all over the stack. Nodejs and Express, the back end framework we learned, allows you to really understand how web requests are being passed from function to function. With this experience, you can easily pick up another framework. It's also a rarer sort of bootcamp: with the preponderance of Ruby on Rails bootcamps, there are a whole hell of a lot of people who have done RoR, but Nodejs experience is a little more rare.

    Long story short, I had a lot of interest from potential employers on LinkedIn directly after I updated my profile before graduating, had an onsite interview the week after, and started at my new job the week after that. Fullstack was exactly what I was looking for!

  • Liana Chin • Junior Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    About eight months ago, I didn't know what the command line was or what constitutes a 'for-loop'. In a few days, I'll be starting a new career in software engineering.

    My background:
    I have a biology degree and several years of health administration/clinical research experience. I never took a high school or college CS course and had no coding experience going into Fullstack. While working full-time at my previous job, I started learning Python and Javascript on my own using free online resources. I could only devote an hour or two each day, but started to really love how programming works and what it could do. I decided to quit my job and learn programming with Fullstack's immersive program.

    I learned more in 13 weeks of hands-on workshops, projects, and hackathons than I did in my years of working in healthcare, and Fullstack more than prepared me with the skills, technologies, and network to succeed in NYC's tech world. The instructors are always available for one-on-one help and will take the time to guide you through questions and problems. Their level of engagement in each student's learning process is what sets Fullstack apart. The curriculum teaches everything you would need to know to build a strong foundation in Javascript and the MEAN stack and really prepares each student for success in their job search and starting a new career in software engineering.

     

    One bit of advice if you're wrestling with the idea of going to a bootcamp - you have to really want it. It is an intense immersive program that teaches challenging stuff, and it's not like those college courses where you just show up and get an 'A'. You'll be learning a lot in a short period of time, but in the process you'll gain a great group of friends, a solid network of instructors/alumni/staff, and a strong foundation to build a software engineering career.

    I highly recommend attending Fullstack if you're looking for a career change, or even if you want to learn more about programming. It is, without question, the best coding bootcamp.

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came out of college with a liberal arts degree and a lack of direction. My friend introduced me to Fullstack Academy and I decided to apply... Turns out it was the best decision I could have made. Fullstack helped me not only gain the skills I needed for a software engineering job, but gave me access to a huge network of alumni, instructors, and other students. Attending Fullstack will allow you to engrain yourself immediately in the bustling NYC tech scene.

    The curriculum is right on par with what companies are looking for. The hiring managers will be at your side throughout the post-grad job search. The instructors give it their all to make sure each individual is comfortable with the fast-paced environment.

    I've recommended Fullstack to many other people and I will continue to do so.

  • Great experience
    - 3/31/2016
    Sarah • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I feel like I thoroughly learned the skills I needed as a software engineer. The instructors clearly care about learning and explaining everything correctly - concepts and best practices. Nothing is glossed over, you will learn the how and why of everything. Lectures, workshops, working in a team to develop a product. The whole experience was great. Well worth it! 

  • Justin B Christensen • Software Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I made the decision to attend Fullstack Academy about two years ago, and it has been one of the best decisions that I have ever made. The entire process, from start to finish was absolutely amazing.  I contacted Fullstack to express my interest, and they very quickly got back to me and were very helpful and encouraging as I started the application process. 

    I went through the stages of preparation and interview and was accepted.  I had no idea what to expect, but eagerly looked forward to beginning a new stage of my career and life. Fullstack provided me with a whole month's-worth of training, resources, excercises, and programs to help get me up to speed with the basics of Javascript.  (I came in with very little experience/knowledge).  Those courses prepared me for day 1 in New York City.

    From the very first day, it was very intense and challenging, but also very fun.  They created a great atmosphere for learning and collaborating with teachers and fellow students. We started with an intro to some computer science fundamentals, then explored everything from jquery to Express to Node and Angular and everything in between. There was a great balance between lecture and practical application so that we were educated enough to give us direction, but then pushed to learn the javascript principles for ourselves. 

    And, even though the schooling experience was great, what really matters at the end of the day is that I could get a job at the end of all of this.  After all, the schooling is costly, and New York is expensive, so I fully expected to get a job after Fullstack.  I moved back to Utah and began my search.  I started actively reaching out to companies and interviewing around November 2014. By December 2014, I had secured a developer job for Ancestry.com.  Though I didn't have the work experience or the deep knowledge that other applicants had, I had the basic concepts and the ability to continue to learn and grow.

    To sum it all up... Fullstack is amazing.  I completely owe my current job to Fullstack and am extremely grateful for their assistance and care to help me get to where I am today.  I started with very very little knowledge of development, but in 3 months, I was able to learn enough to get a job in which I have gained a world of knowledge and experience.  Fullstack was really the catalyst that started the reaction that is now a great and rewarding career, and I am extremely grateful.

    Thank you Fullstack.

  • Andrew Mejia • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Accepting an invitation at Fullstack Academy became one of the best decisons I've ever made. I met extremely bright and motivated people and learned an immense amount which ultimately helped me land a great position as a Software Engineer. The instructors are amazing, the staff and job placement guides are incredibly resourceful and helpful, and the cofounders David and Nimit are very welcoming. 

    Was a fantastic overall experience and would recommend to all those who are considering entering the web development world.

  • Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I went to Fullstack as a career changer, having previously worked in Project Management.  I was looking for a curriculum that would help me get from a novice JavaScripter to somewhere near entry-level.  It was a big risk considering that you don't get a degree or a job at the end, but I took it because I met the instructors and felt that they were skilled, patient, and had personal stake in whether I succeeded or not.

     

    At Fullstack, I received hours of 1-on-1 instruction in addition to the modules and group work.  They also set me up with a payment plan that worked for me.  Shanna Gregory gave me resume and interviewing advice, and Scott did mock interviews with us.  

     

    Now having worked in full-time web development for more than a year, I am glad I chose to attend Fullstack.  The experience, along with a lot of hard work, gave me a huge boost toward being able to get a job in this field.

  • Stephen Colacurcio • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came into Fullstack with virtually no programming knowledge or experience, and two months after I graduated I had a job as a software developer earning twice what I was making a year ago, and enjoying my work a whole lot more. Fullstack was the hardest I've ever worked in my life, and I went to an Ivy League University. If you think it's too late for you to change careers, it's not true.

    I researched a lot of bootcamps, and I chose Fullstack because of their emphasis on JavaScript. The internet is eating the world, and the internet can't run without JavaScript. So to me, it is one of the more future proof languages to learn.

    Lastly, the instructors and all my classmates were all super great, and I still keep in touch with lots of them.

  • Game Changer
    - 1/23/2016
    Lester Echem • Full Stack Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before taking the course at Fullstack Academy, I was doing photography, graphic design, marketing, and Wordpress development — it was more creative than technical. Not many creatives get into the program since the selection process is stringent and partial towards individuals who can rapidly pick up technical skills (extra emphasis on rapid and technical). My cohort was joined by physics, math, CS, and other mostly technical majors from around the world.

     

    They have a respectably-sized campus in Manhattan's financial district with an interesting selection of lunch places and pubs. Getting there is easy as they have numerous subway lines that are accessible to the campus.

     

    Like most bootcamps, thirteen weeks will fly by incredibly fast. You will learn at warp-speed, talk code on a daily basis, attend tech meet-ups & hackathons, and play boardgames with a group of highly motivated individuals who are kind-hearted as they are smart. While the faculty and staff are compassionate, they are serious on having the students comply academic requirements to maintain the competitiveness of senior projects. A good number of our cohort had to join succeeding cohorts because of the rigidity of the curriculum, which is build on Javascript’s MEAN Stack (MongoDB, Express, Angular, & Node). Learning Javascript, as opposed to Ruby and Python, is incredibly practical as most of the web is already written in Javascript and you can now run scalable and performant servers written in Javascript with the help of Node & Express! The key to learning rapidly in the program is getting lost in code and documentation while figuring out how to build modular, production-grade code in a small time period in a scrum/agile project framework.

     

    Job support is plenty in the program. In the second half of the program, the career development team whips up your resume, LinkedIn profile, GitHub codebase, and your interview skills to a point that puts you ahead of regular CS graduates. It worked so much for me that I got hired a week before the program ended.

    For someone who moved to the US five years ago, Fullstack Academy has turned my life around and gave me the tools to pursue an enjoyable career at an expanding field. It also connected me to a group of friends who are smart, fun, and motivated who continue to push me further into becoming a better developer even after the program ended. Many people have commented how much growth I’ve attained in three months based on the projects I can roll out, and tech recruiters have been sending messages on a semi-daily basis.

    If you haven’t applied, make sure you’re well-prepared for the application. I’d take two months of at least two hours of consistent study from Codecademy, Codeschool, & Treehouse with supplementary practice from Code Wars if you haven’t done coding before. If you’ve been selected — make the commitment to quit whatever you’re doing and pursue the curriculum full time! Fullstack makes for a smart investment and trumps four years of college. Their graduates make a higher starting salary than Harvard so there’s a good chance you’ll earn back the tuition in less than three months with your job after the program.

  • Teachers
    - 1/9/2016
    Nandan Rao • Full Stack Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have never been to any other bootcamp, and I have never had any other instructors teach me software development. 

    I have, however, met many different humans in my life. I can tell you without any hesitation that this organization is run by some of the best you will find anywhere. Forever curious and honestly intelligent, enthusiastic, good-willed, and optimistic. This is what makes them such good teachers and this is why I insist that I can confidently say that Fullstack Academy will be a positive investment of time, sweat, and money for anyone with an honest curiosity and inner desire to learn. 

    I have attended a lot of classes in my life, and I have a very strong belief that the absolute most important thing to evaluate is the teacher. A good teacher teaches you so much more than just the material, they show you an example of what it means to have a positive and fruitful relationship with the subject, and they give you space to foster that relationship yourself. That is absolutely what I got from attending Fullstack Academy. 

    I am 100% satisfied with my experience, I got everything I hoped for and more. I felt completely prepared to enter the workforce as a software engineer, I found myself able to meaningfully contribute to the work of a succesful engineering team, and I found that I had an incredible foundation from which my learning and understanding in this field has exploded. 

    If you are accepted, make sure to attend with your whole heart. If you're in the immersive program, stay late into the evening whenever you can. You never know when David or Nimit will be perched on a desk at 7pm, a small huddle of students eagerly listening to their every word, relating stories, memories, and pearls of wisdom on everything and anything. These are teachers whose words you will remember.

  • Heather Pike • Senior Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Enrolling in Fullstack Academy was one of the best things I have ever done. In college I dabbled in a couple CS and web design courses really enjoyed them, but for some reason never pursued web development further. Coding was always in the back of my mind while I carried on with my career in a different field in which I never felt quite at home. I heard about the emergence of coding bootcamps a couple years ago and knew instantly that this could be my chance to make a big change.
     
    I researched and applied to a few of the immersive coding programs in NYC and was accepted to all of them, but Fullstack really stood apart from the pack from the beginning. The founders, David and Nimit, were both seasoned engineers and entrepreneurs and really knew their stuff. I also liked how Fullstack teaches the MEAN stack, which was unique from all the schools teaching Rails. During the interview process, I truly felt challenged, yet supported already – when I got stuck on some problems during the interview, Huntly was able to provide me just enough direction to help me figure it out on my own without giving anything away. I felt like I really learned something during the interview, which really impressed me. I also felt like Fullstack did a better job than other schools of gleaning my learning potential through their unique interviewing style. Also, I was able to gather from my contact during the interviews and admissions process that the people at Fullstack really cares about their students – I didn’t feel like a number like I did at some of the other, bigger schools that seem to churn people in and out.
     
    Prior to the program we completed a month of pre-work, about 100-120 hours. This was incredibly challenging for a noob like myself, working alone while finishing up my old job. Scott, our online instructor during this period, was incredibly helpful and made himself available for live sessions to help me through any difficulties. I think it was really beneficial to complete such an intense amount of pre-work, since we all arrived with a similar knowledge base and could hit the ground running. The pre-work gave us a solid foundation in JavaScript and object-oriented programming and an intro to Node.js.
     
    The on-site program curriculum walked us through programming and the MEAN stack from the bottom up – building upon concepts week by week to complete the stack. We received interactive lectures and then daily projects to apply our learnings in Node.js, building Express servers, MongoDB and database management, some SQL, a little HTML/CSS/SASS, AngularJS, REST APIs, and more. We crammed SO MUCH into our heads during those first 6 weeks that I sometimes couldn’t remember ever hearing about certain concepts, but amazingly, when it came time to do projects during the second half of the program, everything started coming back to me and all the concepts came together – I was amazed at how much I actually knew.
     
    I was thoroughly impressed with the skill and passion exhibited by our instructors – Zeke, Omri, Joe, and Gabe – they all really knew their stuff and knew how to break complicated ideas down into a digestible form for the students. They all seemed to really love software engineering and, more importantly, teaching it. I sometimes felt hopelessly lost during the program, but I often had one-on-one sessions with the instructors and fellows to check in on my progress and how I was feeling, and it was reassuring to hear from them that this was normal. It was also great to be surrounded by so many other smart students from diverse backgrounds who really wanted to be there and learn.
     
    The career support was also excellent. Shanna gave us great resume and interviewing advice, and continued to help us after we graduated and connect us with contacts wherever she could. Charlotte, the operations manager, also helped create a fun and smooth experience for everyone throughout the program with fun activities, parties, and other support as needed during the admissions process and during our time at Fullstack.
     
    If you’re thinking about applying to Fullstack but scared to leave your current career behind, spend some time teaching yourself to code on your own (try Codecademy, Code School, and Team TreeHouse courses) to make sure it feels right before taking the plunge. It’s incredibly difficult, yet so rewarding if you dedicate the time to really learn it. Get your finances and family support system in place to help you survive those grueling 3 months before you start the program – you don’t want to have any distractions while you’re in the program.
     
    It took me a year after when I initially applied to actually go through with quitting my job and starting at Fullstack when I was finally ready. It was terrifying to walk away from a job at a good company, with a good salary, with a boss and team I really liked – I felt like I had a lot to lose, and I was afraid of the unknown, but I’m so glad I took the chance. I was in great hands with the Fullstack team and they were devoted to helping me succeed during and after the program. Now I’m extremely happy with my new career as a software engineer, and I have Fullstack to thank for empowering me to transform myself.
  • Sonia Trehan • CEO and Co-Founder • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I began Fullstack right after graduating from Columbia with only an introductory CS course and some online tutorials under my belt. I had majored in Religion and was looking for a course that would accelerate my fledgling interest in programming to professional capability. It's an understatement to say that I found so much more at Fullstack.

    As many of my fellow peers have said in their reviews, the community at Fullstack is truly unbeatable. The instructors are by far some of the best teachers I have ever had in any subject. That we were able to learn as much as we did in 13 weeks is a testament to their skills both as programmers and teachers. And my cohort was simply ... an amazingly talented and beautiful bunch of people. In a field like programming, where so much depends on teamwork and collaboration, who you work with is vital to the quality and depth of your learning. Fullstack did everything possible to foster this kind of exchange at every step in the curriculum, and I walked out learning more from one day of working with a fellow Fullstacker than I had in months of online courses. 

    The curriculum itself is one of the most comprehensive, well-thought out and rigorous that I've ever gone through. If you want to master the MEAN stack, you undoubtedly will by the end of the course. Of course, it's impossible to learn everything there is to know about Javascript and fullstack development in 3 months, but Fullstack preps you to the point that picking up additional skills afterwards becomes intuitive and easy. I personally taught myself React in a couple days after graduating, and know that my fellow fullstackers have applied for jobs working in PHP, Python, Go, etc. Fullstack gives you the best possible foundation, after which you will have the confidence and agility to keep building on your skillset.

    Finally, David and Nimit are reason enough to attend Fullstack. They are incredible founders, and I would encourage anyone who is interested in startups and entrepreneurship to learn from them. I shared an idea I had for an e-commerce company with them early on in my Fullstack journey, and both David and Nimit encouraged me to the point that I went off and launched the company right after finishing Fullstack. They gave me advice, introduced me to some amazing mentors in the field, guided me both from a technical and business perspective, and generally have been my biggest supporters till date. They also allowed me to find the first two developers on my team... fellow fullstackers from my cohort :). Although David and Nimit always emphasize that Fullstack is not a start-up incubator (people are there truly for the love of code!), it's no exaggeration to say that attending pushed me to pursue a dream I never could have otherwise. I am forever grateful.

    In sum, Fullstack is the best thing that ever happened to me. I don't know a single person, either in my cohort or any other, that felt differently about their time there. If you want to spend 3 months learning an empowering skillset that will either enhance or change your career, Fullstack is, from my experience, the best choice you could make.

  • Excellent People
    - 1/3/2016
    Wesley • Success Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    "Everyone here is special" -Nimit Maru, Fullstack Academy of Code cofounder

    Not every special person goes to Fullstack, obviously, but this remains a true statement.

    If you have been accepted to Fullstack Academy and are hungry to learn web development and are reading this review to figure out which program to choose, congrats, you are on a great path!

    I believe Fullstack Academy is among the top coding programs, as it focuses on computer science fundamentals, follows an academically rigorous Javascript curriculum, and continues to add to the already high-quality leadership team, instructors, and staff (including former students) with an endless supply of positivity and humility!

    "If you build one thing really well, I can imagine how you could build another great thing. If you build 10 average or half-complete things, all I can imagine is an 11th average or half-complete thing.” -Fullstack Academy of Code cofounder David Yang (https://www.quora.com/profile/David-Yang)

    To be successful in this field, one must develop and maintain a deep hunger for learning and problem solving—read a ton of articles, watch a bunch of videos, and ask a million questions!

    Curriculum Overview:

    Foundations (pre-work): 4 weeks of teaching yourself Javascript & acclimating to a developer environment

    Academy: 13 weeks of immersion; during this time you are advised to only:

    1. Learn

    2. Write Code

    3. Teach ("A short-circuit in the learning process" -David and Nimit)

    4. Take care of your health

    Fellowship (optional): 13 weeks of a less intense version of the above 1-4

    Flight: ?? weeks of however much you want to keep learning and job hunting

    This is the portion of the education where the school you choose is most important! 

    Will you be well-prepared for the lifetime learning aspect of becoming a successful web developer/ programmer/ coder?

    Attending Fullstack Academy of Code will give you access to the highest quality resources; what you do with them is up to you!

    -----

    Wesley is a Success Engineer at segment.com, where he helps developers, engineers and business-minded folks integrate Segment’s analytics and data platform into their products—complex, intelligent software in countless configurations of common development environments, leveraging many different languages and a host of tools.

  • Kyle Burke • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    In Short
    This is the top coding bootcamp in NYC. The school itself has an amazing track record of churning out high quality engineers regardless of previous experience or background.

    The Reason
    The people. I am not just referring to the co-founders or instructors but the larger community that makes up Fullstack Academy. FS does a great job of selecting motivated and intelligent individuals all of whom are passionate about learning what it takes to become a full stack software engineer. As a part of the community for about 8 months I can attest to the willingness of former students, current students, instructors and co-founders to respond to and ask questions, post pertinent links to educational readings, and work at the forefront of the software engineering world. There is truly a strong community of talented and dedicated individuals willing to share, all you need to do is ask.

    My Experience
    I want to keep this review short as you can reference other responses to get a deeper delve into the specifics. While my story is mostly anecdotal evidence of the experience, I believe that these personal stories do the job of representing what is possible as long as you work hard, dedicate yourself to the experience, and take advantage of being in this high-leverage environment.

    First just so you know, prior to applying to FS, I already held a CS minor and worked for about a year an a half as a front-end developer. This granted me a slightly more well-rounded foundation compared with some of the other students.

    The first half of the course is fairly straightforward - getting up to speed on CS concepts, big O notation, getting to learn the ins and outs of JS and your development environment. You do a lot of pair programming during the first half. Something that I can't stress enough is how important pair programming is. Not only does it allow you to meet new people but you are opened up to opportunities to teach people and are often exposed to new ways of approaching problem sets.

    Things got really interesting during the second half. I was able to build two projects that were extremely in line with my interests. One being a MIDI enabled web synthesizer, and the other, my final project, being a digital audio workstation where people could record short clips of audio and use the loops to build their own songs. I was lucky enough to be interviewed by Fox 5 News for the final project which was a feature on the news that day.

    At the end of the course FS has a Hiring Day in which they invite representatives from companies to see the presentation of your final project and interview a number of students as potential employees. One of the companies there took great interest in the product my group and I created. Thanks to that final product (and my interviewing skills of course), I was offered a job which I accepted only 2 weeks after graduating from FS.

    I now work with a fellow Fullstack classmate from my cohort. We remain in contact with David and Nimit as well as our instructors through multiple channels. At anytime they are willing to assist with technical, personal, and industry questions via email, slack, or in person. Both of us have returned to campus both as participants on alumni panel as well as to continue learning as FS has held a number of alumni events. Why? We are eager to contribute to the environment that afforded us the skills and abilities that we now posses. Doesn't that sound like something you want to be a part of?

    In Summation
    Saying that it was the best career choice I have made thus far in life would be an understatement. I have made some great friends, contacts in the engineering field, and more importantly made myself a much more valuable engineer. However (if you choose to attend) your level of success is entirely dependent upon the amount of work you put inThe resources are all there you just need to make sure you take full advantage of the best learning environment I personally have ever experienced.

  • Lindsay Levine • Software Engineer @ Venmo • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    If you're sold on the idea of being a software engineer, there really isn’t more of a decision to make. Fullstack javascript is, in my opinion, the best way to learn web development, and no one does it better than Fullstack. FS gave me the opportunity to work at my dream job, and at the end of my cohort, they had to (gently) force me out because I really didn’t want to leave. It was home for 13 weeks. The people are amazing, and I wouldn't trade in my experience for anything.
     
    Before FS, I was a McGill engineering dropout on the run from adulthood, convinced that pursuing one of those career things would guarantee me a long life of disappointment. Eventually, though, I had to do something, and I decided a 3 month bootcamp might be the least terrible / most doable path to a tolerable life.
     
    In the weeks leading up to my cohort, I was worried I wouldn’t be able to keep up after 2.5 years of hanging around and being out of school. I heard that FS would be a really intensive 13 weeks; the stress of university had been too much for me so I wondered how I’d manage the full time gig of FS.
     
    To my surprise, I was able to totally and completely immerse myself in the community and curriculum while staying 100% stress-free. I never worried about falling behind because the instructors are so good at what they do. I never felt overwhelmed or burnt out, even being on campus for 10-13 hours per day, because I always wanted to be there. As FS equips you with the means to learn and build more and more, you really do get the urge to keep iterating on what they teach / whatever project you’re hacking together.
     
    The point of FS is not just to learn a particular stack but to learn how to learn. FS grads are very well prepared to learn new technologies and jump into unfamiliar stacks at whatever job they might accept. 
     
    All of the glowing reviews here are so spot on. FS is the most special place, and it’s reborn so many lives. If you’re skeptical, that’s fair. It’s a major investment of time and money. But trust me (and everyone else) - the ROI is ten-fold. If you choose FS, you will not regret it.
  • Frances Coronel • CS Major • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This review is long overdue, but I will say that when I was first deciding what sort of bootcamp I should attend over the summer before my senior year of college, I was looking at this very site - Course Report. Hopefully my review here helps others make their big decision as to which coding bootcamp to attend as well (there’s so many now!).

    What appealed to me most about Fullstack in the beginning was how nice they were during the admissions process. It was clear they were focused not just on my technical abilities, but also on my character. They also happened to be hosting their first ever Summer of Code program this past summer which was designed explicitly for college students such as myself who wanted to get a leg up with web development. This turned out to be a great aspect of the program later on since I could relate more with the other college kids in the program (we were teamed up in groups towards the end for projects).

    If I had to describe the bulk of the program in one word, it would be “rigorous”. This kind of program requires a lot of energy given you’re going to be primarily coding and learning how to code all day long Monday through Friday for roughly 11 weeks. It is not for the weak minded. Be prepared to invest all your time and effort into the program unless you’re some super human living off Soylent, which in that case, that’s just bloody crazy.

    In my first week of Fullstack, I described it as a full out marathon and I consider myself more of a short distance runner.

    However, this doesn’t mean the whole program was so tiring that I wasn’t having fun. In fact, I made sure to explore quite a bit of New York City during my time there (i.e. one Saturday, I randomly decided to roam around the Met by myself). The instructors were lively and always trying to make sure we (the noobs) understood the new material that was introduced every day.

    There were fun activities Fullstack planned out some weeks too. One in particular that was pretty splendid was when the juniors and seniors were grouped up into teams and sent off to the American Museum of Natural History for a “coding scavenger hunt” of sorts. Then again, I also consider learning fun in general (especially if it relates to web dev) and there was no doubt I was being challenged all the time which to people like me is also indeed fun but in a more “arghhh” kind of way.

    Let’s put it this way: you’re not going to be bored.

    The project phase (or “senior” phase) was even more exciting (yet also tiring) than the learning phase (or “junior” phase) since this is where our actual knowledge would be put to the test and our work open to judgement.

    My favorite project was the Capstone (or the final one), which is where I worked with only one other person (Joanna) to create this internal LinkedIn of sorts for Fullstack called Hiredot. Joanna and I described Hiredot as this virtual portal for students and interested companies to explore projects and hackathons as well as create their own profiles and set up hiring event preferences using the stable marriage algorithm/MEAN stack. Granted, Hiredot wasn’t even the first of it’s kind, but I’m proud of what we were able to pull off in such a short amount of time.

    My learning team mentor Jimmy Farrell (no, not Jimmy Fallon thankfully) was also especially helpful during this phase and I can truly say he contributed to a large part of my success and happiness while at Fullstack. You da the man, Jimmy!

    At the end of the day, I’m just genuinely grateful I was able to enjoy everything Fullstack Academy has to offer, from Ladies Lunches, my learning team laughs, eye-opening pair programming sessions, and the amazingly bright people.

    The experience was exactly how others have described it here before… it was like drinking water out of a firehose. BUT since I’m more of a sweet iced tea kind of gal, I’d describe my personal experience as drinking iced tea out of a firehose. And yeah, it was pretty sweet.

    p.s. I, for one, feel it’s great that Fullstack is also now branching out to other sectors, like with their new Grace Hopper Academy which has no upfront tuition and is appropriately targeting women who want to enter the tech scene.

    p.s.s. If you’re interested in hearing more about my experience at Fullstack, I blogged about my experience every week of the program, so there’s that.

  • Victor Atteh • Web Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was a student in Fullstack Academy’s first Flex Immersive course (Jan 2015 - July 2015) which spans over 24 weeks, 3 days a week, 6:30pm to 9:30pm on Monday/Wednesday or Tuesday/Thursday and 10am to 6:30pm on Saturdays. It is basically designed to cover the exact same material as their full time course, but in a part time schedule that allows you to keep your day job in the process.

    This was very appealing to me for many reasons:

    • Taking 13+ weeks off of work to pursue a whole new career just isn't feasible for many people. Due to financial reasons, school or family dependencies, leaving your job just might not be an option.

    • Many people might not be 100% ready to fully commit to web development as a career. Taking the Flex Immersive course can be a way get the bootcamp immersive experience in a more risk averse format.

    • Having class only 3 days a week allows for more personal study time on your days off. Having more time to better absorb the material before moving on to the next topic can be more your style of learning as the momentum of the full time course can be too fast for many people.

    Thier Flex Immersive program was ultimately the deciding factor for me when choosing which bootcamp I wanted to attend. There was no other bootcamp in NY that offered their full time immersive curriculum in a part time format (and I believe that is still the case). The class sizes in the Flex program are much smaller than in the full time cohort (13 compared to 25) meaning a better student to instructor ratio. And in general, the Fullstack Academy bootcamp is no doubt one of the better accredited bootcamps in NYC.

    Now of course I should say that bootcamps are not for everyone. Immersive bootcamps are very fast paced and even though the Flex course is twice as long at half the speed, it can be just as intensive as taking the full-time program because you’re forced to spend all of your evenings and weekends outside of work learning to code. Some people might just prefer to learn all of this solo; I definitely thought about doing that. But for me, the pros of attending this bootcamp ended up being very much worth it. Following a curriculum of the current web development frameworks and technologies was much easier and faster than trying to figure out what’s worth and not worth learning. Having instructors direct you across common pitfalls in the fraction of the time it would have taken for you to figure it out yourself was valuable in itself. There is just no possible way I could have learned all of this material by myself at the speed that I did.

    Definitely do your research when deciding which bootcamp you want to attend, or whether you want to attend a bootcamp at all. But overall, I would highly recommend Fullstack’s Flex program as a feasible way to get the learning experience of their full time course but in a part time format.

  • Ben • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My Background:  Undergraduate degree in Economics, MBA in Finance.  Left my job as a Management Consultant within the Financial Services industry to attend Fullstack Academy.  I had very little prior coding experience. 

    Founders: David and Nimit are great guys.  Both extremely knowledgable about coding and the industry in general.  No matter how well the program seemed to be running, they were always looking for feedback and ways to improve the program.  Fullstack Academy will just continue to get better over time with them in charge. 

    Curriculum: Overall very well structured and always improving.  First half of the course typically consisted of instructor led lessons, followed by paired programming exercises.  Throughout all exercises instructors were available to provide guidance. The second half of the curriculum consisted of two team projects, a 3 day Hackathon, and hiring day.  There was also time spent during the second half of the course to help prepare for interviews.  

    Instructors: I was very impressed by the professionalism and knowledge of the instructors.  Every instructor clearly had a passion for coding/teaching (one even described working at Fullstack as his “dream job”.  When smart people are doing something they are passionate about, they do an amazing job.   

    Students:  The only commonality was everyones passion to code.  Incredibility eclectic group of individuals who were all amazing in different ways.  One day you would be working with someone who used to be an Investment Banker, and the next day you were working with someone who was a past stunt actor for the Call of Duty video game (those are factual backgrounds).  You will make great friends and you will be surrounded by people who are all working together to help each other succeed.  

    Outcome:   I accepted a full-time Software Engineering position about a month after graduating.    I went on a number of interviews (some direct outcomes from hiring day some not).  Overall, I received excellent feedback on my coding challenges as part of the interview process at various companies and I always felt as if I was well prepared.     

    Summary:  Exactly as advertised.  You come into a great program with awesome people (instructors and students) and you leave with an in-demand skill that allows you to do something you love. 

  • Dien N. • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had such a great experience at Fullstack that I just had to leave a comment.

    Before Fullstack
    Like many students that went through Fullstack, I came from an entirely different career path (Civil Engineering) non-related to programming. After mustering the courage to make a career change, I did my research on how I could best transition to a new career in programming and came across programming bootcamps. 

    I was very skeptical at first because these bootcamps offered short programs (ranging between 3-6 months) for a substantial amount of money (~$12000 - $15000). Furthermore, there were also a lot of bootcamps available, so it was tough deciding which one was right for me. I dug deeper and reached out to graduates from many bootcamps such as Fullstack Academy, Flatiron School and DEV Bootcamp. To me, I found the most responsive people were the ones from Fullstack. Some of the major questions that I asked them were:

    1.    How quickly were they able to find jobs after graduating?
    2.    Did they feel like they were ready for the workforce after completing the program?
    3.    Did they feel like their experience was worth the time and money?

    I've received very positive feedback. The students I've spoken with had many interviews lined up the week after Fullstack and most found jobs ranging between 2 weeks to 2 months. Even more surprisingly, they all stated that they loved their experience at Fullstack and some have even mentioned that "it was the best career decision they've made in their life".

    During Fullstack
    As the program is split into 3 parts: 6 weeks of lectures/workshops (Junior Phase), 1 week for break, and 6 weeks for project phase (Senior Phase). 

    In the first 6 weeks, we had our work cut out for us. Although the workload was heavy, I felt that Fullstack did a great job scheduling and planning it in a way where the material didn't seem too rushed. We spent a lot of our time learning from JavaScript Fundamentals, Data Structures and Algorithms, Server Side JS (Node, Express), databases (MongoDB, some SQL), Front End Js (Angular), Promises, OAUTH and the list continues... What I loved most about my experience in the junior phase was that all the workshops were done in pairs. This taught me how to adapt to other people's coding styles, which will be very common in the work force. It also taught me how to code as part of a team, which can be very different than if you were to code individually. By the end of the junior phase I would have worked with most people at least once, which made it very comfortable working in groups leading into the Senior Phase.

    In the last 6 weeks, this was entirely project based. There was a lot less hand holding from the teaching staff, which gave teams the freedom of how to complete their projects and divide up their work. It was in this phase where I learned the most because I started to see how the entire tech stack fell in place, and what I learned from the first 6 weeks started to make a lot more sense. However, this only came through hours of hard work and debugging which is the learning process all students inevitably will go through. The teaching staff and teaching assistants (Fellows) were very quick in providing help when you are completely stuck with a problem, and did a great job in guiding you towards a solution rather than just simply telling you what to do. Also during this phase, Fullstack helps with your career preparation such as resume building, cleaning up your LinkedIn and Github Profile, interview preparation, whiteboarding sessions, as well as providing a hiring day where many companies come out to see your capstone projects and interview with you. Shanna, who led all this career preparation, has been extremely approachable for career-related questions or advice that I had.  

    After Fullstack
    After graduating, I was fortunate enough to land many interviews within my first week out, some of which came from the hiring day event. Even more fortunately, I accepted a job offer within 3 weeks of graduating. A large part of this success I owe to Fullstack's continued help in which they called "Fullstack Flight". Shanna was integral in helping us by providing us resources for preparing for interviews with coding challenges, and questions, networking and job application advice, and being accessible whenever we had any questions, even when it came down to salary negotiation! 

    As a side note, Fullstack does an excellent job creating a friendly, personal and down-to-Earth environment from planning weekly events for people to mingle, mentor groups and more. From the Fullstack staff to students, everyone was extremely friendly and open to conversation. I never had any difficulty reaching out to anyone for coding help, not even David or Nimit given their busy schedule managing Fullstack. I personally feel that it was because of this aspect of Fullstack that turned it from a good experience to an amazing one. A million thanks to the entire Fullstack team!

  • Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was part of the very first cohort at Fullstack. David and Nimit are amazingly knowledgable and passionate instructors who believed in me before I believed in myself. Almost two years later, I can confidently say that going to Fullstack was the best decison I've ever made.

    Coding is not for everyone, but if you have tried coding on the job/on the side and enjoyed it I highly encourage you to apply to Fullstack.  

Thanks!