fullstack-academy-logo

Fullstack Academy

Baton Rouge, Chicago, Jacksonville, Los Angeles, New York City, Online, San Diego, San Diego, San Luis Obispo

Fullstack Academy

Avg Rating:4.89 ( 275 reviews )

Fullstack Academy offers full-time and part-time immersive software engineering bootcamps and cyber security bootcamps, with campuses in New York City, Chicago, and online. Fullstack's software engineering courses cover advanced JavaScript-oriented technologies and computer science topics including compiler theory, logic gates, and building an operating system. The cyber bootcamp covers encryption, networking, system architecture, cryptography, risk detection, and more. Fullstack Academy offers flexible options for college students and those who wish to continue working while learning modern tech skills. The Summer of Code program is an accelerated version of the immersive bootcamp for college students on summer break.

The full- and part-time immersives in NY and Chicago are for intermediate programmers who’ve learned the basics before applying, while the cyber and university bootcamps are specifically designed for beginners. Bootcamp Prep classes are available to help students prepare for admissions. To apply, candidates should submit an application via the website, take an online coding assessment (software engineering bootcamp) or a basic logical reasoning test (cyber bootcamp), then participate in a video interview.

Fullstack Academy programs aim to combine a cutting-edge technical curriculum with career counseling to make sure students can both do a technical job, and get a technical job. Fullstack hosts a Demo Day, which includes speed interviewing sessions, and the careers team helps students connect with the right people, interview successfully, and negotiate the best offer possible. 

Recent Fullstack Academy Reviews: Rating 4.89

all (275) reviews for Fullstack Academy →

Recent Fullstack Academy News

Read all (90) articles about Fullstack Academy →
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Month

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$100
    Class size40
    LocationOnline, Chicago, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Month courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper, plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems. Best of all, they’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-Beginner
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Week

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time1 Week
    Start Date August 22, 2020
    Cost$100
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Week courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women’s school), plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems, and best of all? They’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginners
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    August 22, 2020 - Online Apply by August 20, 2020
  • Cal Poly Extended Ed Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Luis Obispo, Online
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp is an online six-month, part-time full-stack software development bootcamp. This beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js and Redux, and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Cal Poly-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available to every Cal Poly alum and current student who enrolls in the Cal Poly Bootcamp.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 13, 2020 - San Luis Obispo Apply by September 29, 2020
  • Cal Poly Extended Ed Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time19 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 20, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Luis Obispo, Online
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Cal Poly Extended Education Cyber Bootcamp is an online six-month, part-time full-stack software development bootcamp. This beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Cal Poly-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 Scholarship for Cal Poly alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 20, 2020 - San Luis Obispo Apply by October 6, 2020
  • Caltech Cyber Bootcamp (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security
    OnlineFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date September 7, 2020
    Cost$13,980
    Class size24
    LocationLos Angeles, Online
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Caltech Cyber Bootcamp is an online six-month, part-time full-stack software development bootcamp. This beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Caltech-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 Scholarship for Caltech alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for September 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners Welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    September 7, 2020 - Los Angeles Apply by September 21, 2020
  • Caltech Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date September 22, 2020
    Cost$13,980
    Class size24
    LocationLos Angeles, Online
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Caltech Cyber Bootcamp is an online six-month, part-time full-stack software development bootcamp. This beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Caltech-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 Scholarship for Caltech alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for September 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    September 22, 2020 - Los Angeles Apply by September 8, 2020
  • Cyber OnRamp

    Apply
    Linux, Ethical Hacking
    OnlinePart Time25 Hours/week
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$0
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Linux Command Line for Beginners. Designed to teach you the Command Line basics for cybersecurity in an online, user-friendly format.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Flex (Part-Time) Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date October 12, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack’s Flex Software Immersive offers an opportunity to complete the rigorous program over a six-month time period while keeping a full-time job. Students attend class in-person two nights per week and remotely one night per week. Each month will feature one immersive weekend, where Flex students come to campus both Saturday and Sunday. The other three weekends will consist of remote work and not require live attendance. These remote weekends will utilize learning tools that work well in that format: video lectures and workshop reviews, solo coding workshops, and even pair-programming with classmates using virtual collaboration tools. This remote work will be self-paced—completed by a deadline, but on the student’s schedule.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit upon enrollment
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy partners with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$1,000 Ada Lovelace scholarship for women $1,000 scholarship for veterans $2,000 built-in scholarship for Chicago students
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week Foundations Course
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    October 12, 2020 - Chicago Apply by August 23, 2020
    October 12, 2020 - New York City Apply by August 23, 2020
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date October 5, 2020
    Cost$17,910
    Class size25
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a full-time, in-person 17-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Penetration Tester, Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 for a limited time (normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipAda Lovelace Scholarship for Women, Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    October 5, 2020 - New York City Apply by September 21, 2020
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date October 6, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class size24
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a part-time, in-person 26-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 (Normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$2,000 Founders Scholarships available to part-time students for a limited time; Ada Lovelace Scholarship for Women; Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    October 6, 2020 - New York City Apply by September 21, 2020
  • Hacking 101

    Apply
    Ethical Hacking
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$0
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Take our self-paced, video-based introduction to the industry to learn what it’s really like to work in cybersecurity and whether it's a good path for you.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Intro to Coding

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$0
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Take our self-paced Intro to Coding class to learn HTML, CSS, and JavaScript fundamentals.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Louisiana State University Coding Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    MongoDB, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge, Online
    Fullstack Academy is a top-ranked coding bootcamp renowned for providing immersive, fullstack JavaScript web development training using the NERD stack (Node.js, Express, React, Databases using SQL). Graduates are assisted by a dedicated career service team and leave as members of the Fullstack community—a supportive alum network that can help open doors to future jobs in Baton Rouge and beyond. Fullstack brings its learning method, reputation, and community to the LSU Coding Bootcamp to make software developer training more accessible to individuals outside of traditional tech hubs.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 13, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by September 29, 2020
  • Louisiana State University Cyber Bootcamp (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Quality Assurance Testing
    OnlineFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date October 5, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge, Online
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Louisiana State University Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 12 weeks of full-time study. This online, beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the LSU-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship-LSU students and employees receive a $500 scholarship. -Military Scholarship for October 2020 cohort, $1,000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts (current military personnel or veterans)
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners Welcome!
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 5, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by September 21, 2020
  • Louisiana State University Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 5, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge, Online
    Students learn the offensive and defensive cybersecurity skills including Foundations (computing and networking basics, Linux, introduction to automation), Security Essentials (practical networking, bash scripting, Python for security), Security Analyst Training (NIST cybersecurity framework, tools, techniques, procedures for network and application protection), and Flight (projects, advanced certifications preparation, career coaching and guidance). Nationally, there are over half a million cyber jobs that employers are trying to fill. Businesses actively seeking cybersecurity professionals span across all industries and sizes, and they include local high-tech employers like CenturyLink, Entergy, and General Dynamics, to name a few. These companies are hiring for roles like Cybersecurity Specialist, Network Security Engineer, and Vulnerability Analyst. Grads studying the LSU Cyber Bootcamp curriculum have been hired for all of these roles—and more.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 Scholarship for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 5, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by September 21, 2020
  • NYC Web Development Fellowship

    Apply
    Data Science, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, SQL
    In PersonFull Time24 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City
    In partnership with the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline, the NYC Web Development Fellowship will award eligible NYC residents tuition-free admission to Fullstack’s award-winning Software Engineering program. This curriculum has been proven successful—Fullstack graduates work at companies like Google, Venmo, Facebook, Amazon, and LinkedIn, as well as hundreds of innovative small- and mid-size tech companies. Learn more about the fellowship as well as eligibility requirements on the Fullstack website: https://www.fullstackacademy.com/nyc-fellowship
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    ScholarshipFree Tuition for Eligible NYC Residents
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Mobile, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, Front End, SQL
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week17 Weeks
    Start Date September 21, 2020
    Cost$17,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, Chicago, New York City
    Fullstack Academy’s flagship course, the Full-Time Software Engineering Immersive is a 17-week career accelerator. Through an advanced curriculum and project-based structure, students learn today’s cutting edge development technologies. The Fullstack Immersive prepares graduates for software engineer roles at top-tier technology companies. Our JavaScript-driven curriculum immerses you in the latest web technologies such as Node.js, React.js, and postgreSQL. You bring the energy, curiosity, and dedication — we’ll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert software developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipThere is a $1,000 scholarship for all women+-identifying applicants and veterans. There is also a built-in $2000 scholarship for all students who enroll in the Chicago Software Engineering Immersive program.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week remote Foundations Course precedes the 13 weeks on-campus
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    September 21, 2020 - Online Apply by August 2, 2020
    September 21, 2020 - Chicago Apply by August 2, 2020
    November 9, 2020 - New York City Apply by August 2, 2020
  • Summer of Code

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$16,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Summer of Code is a coding education program uniquely designed for ambitious college students seeking to supplement their traditional education by learning real world skills and building a portfolio of impressive projects. You bring the energy, curiosity and fierce dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert level coder in one summer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart
    ScholarshipBuilt-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCollege students only.
    Prep Work4-week Foundations course
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • University of North Florida Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End, GitHub
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 20, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp offered through the UNF Division of Continuing Education. Located on UNF’s campus in Jacksonville, FL, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the UNF-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 scholarship available to: Current UNF students UNF alums Employer-sponsored applicants Jacksonville tech community
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 20, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by October 6, 2020
  • University of North Florida Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Through the Cyber Bootcamp at University of North Florida powered by Fullstack, you’ll go from novice to cybersecurity professional and gain the tools to land a job in one of the world’s highest-paying industries—all in just 26 weeks part-time. Students will delve into the exciting world of cybersecurity throughout four program phases. You’ll receive hands-on, real-world experience in multiple facets of computing, networking, security, and programming in offensive and defensive security techniques, tools, and procedures. When you’ve successfully completed the learning phases, you’ll get the career guidance you need to jump into an exciting and lucrative career in cybersecurity, joining thousands of like-minded professionals throughout the world in the global fight against cybercrime.
    Financing
    DepositStudents will need to make a $2,000 dollar initial deposit at enrollment with the remaining balance due one week before class starts.
    Financing
    ScholarshipA $500 scholarship is available to current UNF students and UNF alums. $2000 Military Scholarship for current military personnel or veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 13, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by September 29, 2020
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Full-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 12-week, full-time full-stack software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 13, 2020 - San Diego Apply by September 29, 2020
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Full Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time14 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date October 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    October 13, 2020 - San Diego Apply by September 29, 2020

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Fullstack Academy Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Fullstack Academy scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Software Engineering Immersive (Chicago)

Shared Review

  • Kevin O'Malley  User Photo
    Kevin O'Malley • Front-End Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Fullstack Immersive Program in October 2017 at the Chicago campus.  I came from a strong interest in wanting to learn how to code but no actual practical experience.  Before joining Fullstack, my background was in psychology and then a year of sales experience.  My strongest recommendation for anyone even remotely interested in joining the immersive program is to attend an information session that they host each month or so.  For me, that was the point where I fully decided I wanted to make the jump and pursue applying because it made my perspective on the whole concept much more real.  Rather than just being “something with great reviews that I read online”, I actually got to meet the people who run the program, ask questions, and walk inside the campus area.   

     I signed up for the boot camp prep program, which was great because it helped build up my foundational JS skills and also got me more comfortable with common programming exercises like paired programming and solving coding challenges.  If you are new to coding or are even at a beginning level, I also strongly recommend taking the time to join the boot camp prep course yourself before applying for the immersive part. 

    As for the immersive program itself, I can easily say it was a very tough and challenging experience, but as you can see with many similar reviews, was also one of the most wonderful and memorable experiences I’ve had.  There are many reasons for this.  The first reason is, of course, going to be because of the peers whom you share the experience with.  Fullstack holds strongly to their “no assholes” culture when selecting applicants and also has a somewhat difficult acceptance rate to get in.  Therefore, it’s very likely that your cohort is going to be made up of a diverse group of determined people who are eager to learn, respectful, and excited to be in the program.  With that, you get to share a lot of “magical” moments such as high fiving your coding partner after solving a bug you were both stuck on for a while, or the camaraderie that comes with doing intense coding sprints with your team to complete a feature before its deadline.  These are all experiences that alone make the boot camp worth it and at the end, you will likely realize you are leaving the program with very strong friendships.  

    The second reason is going to be the learning structure.  The curriculum will be very fast-paced and even overwhelming at first, but you will definitely hear from the cohort ahead of you the phrase: “trust the system, work hard, and you will be fine”.  The learning process is also highly focused on paired programming exercises, problem solving rather than hand holding, and gaining the ability to look up documentation on your own.  The good news is that the instructors are super available and are wanting to help you when you ask questions and need the extra help.  Even better, Fullstack provides “teaching fellows” whom are graduated students who stay on for an extra three months and help the newer cohorts of students.   These teaching fellows are trained to not give you the immediate answer when you ask, but rather try and guide you towards problem solving techniques that help you solve the issue yourself.  Before students realize it, the teaching fellows become more like human rubber ducks and students start solving the problems themselves just by talking out loud the issue.  Finally, concepts that you learn each week will be repeated many times and become foundation for future week’s material and what will seem foreign at first will be super familiar by the end of the program. 

    Overall, on top of a very adaptive curriculum that focuses on popular and in-demand libraries and frameworks, due to Fullstack Academy’s teaching style you will be leaving the program with increased problem solving skills and the ability to effectively communicate code to others, and these will be your most valuable tool sets in the work field. 

    In the end, I was able to get an offer three weeks after graduating for a front-end developer position with a company I am really enjoying being at.  I want to be transparent and say that I was one of those teaching fellows and this helped me stand out in the interview process. I also was able to meet the company in person at the Launch Day event that Fullstack will host for each cohort.  Realistically you should expect to have to continue to work hard in applying for at least a few months after graduating before solidifying an offer.  You will have access to the career success department and the fullstack alumni community and they will frequently put the word out for networking events and position offerings, so these will help with your journey to getting that first job in the field.  

    At my job, I am not using all of the frameworks and libraries that I was taught in the program but I am definitely using the problem solving skills that I gained on a daily basis.  I have access to a large group of Fullstack alumni for networking, and I have the career success team to reach out to in case I need assistance with salary negotiations or other career related issues in the future.  I also got to leave the experience with a great group of friends.  My time at Fullstack Academy was very strong and I was happy to write this review because I want to recommend the opportunity of joining to anyone who is interested in making a jumpstart into their career in coding. 

  • Well Worth It
    - 6/13/2018
    Mueed Chaudhry  User Photo
    Mueed Chaudhry • Associate Optimization Manager • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated from college with a Bachelor's degree in Mathematics and knew that I needed another practical skill to make me more marketable.  I lacked any internship experience from college since I had switched majors. I had heard about software engineering bootcamps that would be beneficial for people who were interested in code and a career in technology.  I knew how to code through some of my coursework but I hadn't done any real development so I knew I needed to get ready for a coding exam (such as the Fullstack entrance exam).

    I spent a month learning JS through free resources I found online including some free bootcamp prep sites. I applied to a few bootcamps and decided on Fullstack from the reviews I read and the experience I had during the coding interview. I can definitively say I made the right decision for me. I felt it would take my analytical thinking style and give me something tangible, and through studying for the entrance exam I found a real love for coding.

    The program itself is intense and very fast paced. Theres a foundational period where you learn basics and more advanced topics, in general programming. It's a very valuable experience and something I go back to this day. The instructors are phenomenal.

    The onsite immersive part of the bootcamp is another beast, but its easily the best part. For me pair programming and spending time with others is the best and learning from such skilled instructors only made the experience better. Imposter syndrome can set in because you are surrounded by such talented and smart people, but theres a real sense of community and feeling that everyone wants you to succeed. Its very hands on and gives you real practical knowledge and experience to take forward into your career.

    The career services and post Fullstack experience were equally amazing. They care and prepare you well for what lies ahead.  They know what goes into interviewing and landing jobs at top tech firms and prepare you very well. They set in stone habits that make you not only a good programmer, but a good engineer.

    I cannot say enough good things about Fullstack. The friends I've made, the skills I've learned, and the vast network of skilled engineers who are always available to help is well worth the time and money spent.

  • Patrick Gund  User Photo
    Patrick Gund • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated from college with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and then spent the next 5 years as an officer in the Navy running nuclear reactors. I decided that I did not want to spend the rest of my life deploying for 9 months at a time so I was going to leave the military once my commitment was complete. I started playing around with coding a bit and I fell in love with it. I would think I was working on a problem for 30 minutes and actually, several hours had gone by.

    I started to research the logistics of acquiring a masters degree in CS, but I quickly learned that it was going to take me around 2 years to complete the necessary coursework. So, I decided on attending a coding bootcamp. After looking through all of the available options, I decided on Fullstack. 

    The reason that I chose Fullstack is simply that they teach you how to learn to be a programmer. Many of the boot camps that exist today are teaching some boilerplate code template, and as soon as you deviate from that one bit, you are lost. Fullstack does not do this, they truly teach you the fundamentals of coding and you learn how to build full web applications. After attending Fullstack, I had no issues picking up and using other technologies or languages because the foundations were put in place.

    The program itself is a fast-paced fully immersive program where you will spend your days learning at a rate that you likely have not experienced before. At first, it is very tough, but your mind just needs a bit of time to adjust to the pace. After about a week, the speed at which the information is coming at you is no longer an issue.

    The approach that Fullstack takes of learning by doing was by far my favorite part of the program. I personally despise being PowerPoint-ed to death, and the program tries very hard to minimize the amount of time you are in a lecture compared to the amount of time you are actively building a project. 

    I also can't say enough about the staff and students at Fullstack. Some of my best friends in the Chicago area are from the people that I attended the program with. It was awesome getting to spend 3 months working with like-minded individuals who actually were interested in learning the material, not people who were in class because they were expected to be there. 

    Fullstack also does a very good job of preparing you for the job search. During the senior phase of the program you spend time each morning doing technical interview type questions on a whiteboard. These problems really set me up for success during my job hunt, and I was able to do very well in my technical interviews. Because of what I learned at Fullstack I ended up getting and accepting an offer at very good company 2 weeks after I graduated. 

    I can't recommend Fullstack enough and if you do decide to attend, Ben N. Ben W., Collin, Finn, Brett, Priti, and Holley will make sure it is an absolutely amazing experience.

  • Kevin Lobo  User Photo
    Kevin Lobo • Engineering @ Honey • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Summer of Code (SOC) program was an excellent option for a (then) soon-to-be graduating student like me. I've done my best to briefly describe the reasons why - 

    0. 'How' to learn Comp. Sci. concepts -

    One of the skills which I use every day as a software engineer is the ability to learn new computer science concepts/material/technologies quickly, and then implement them. Full stack's immersive is designed to teach you 'how to learn' along with 'what to learn'.

    1. Curriculum & staff - 

    One of the things which struck me about the curriculum was that how well detailed and thorough it was. The instructors have perfected the curriculum over time. Additionally, the 'career success' team are very helpful in getting you ready for interviews.

    2. Practical coding skills - 

    Most computer science students will relate to this: you know what a database, server & web page is on paper, but how do you implement them together, seamlessly? Building 2 live websites/apps in teams, using Git, was when I realized - now, I'm a software engineer who can make things.

    3. Strong network & colleagues -

    My colleagues were highly determined and bright students. It was great to work & get to know them - and then go on to be part of the Full stack alumni network. 

    The Summer of Code program is perfectly scheduled during the summer break between semesters and I highly recommend it to any soon-to-be graduating student!

  • Ellen Ormerod  User Photo
    Ellen Ormerod • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I graduated from college with a degree in theoretical math and I had no idea what to do next. Luckily I had a friend who was a year above me with the same major who went on to attend a bootcamp and land a great job quickly. So I began to teach myself to code during the summer while looking into bootcamps.

    Fullstack Academy was at the top of every list for bootcamps and it has a Chicago location, which was important to me. I decided to attend Fullstack's bootcamp prep in order to progress my JavaScript skills, to make sure coding was right for me and also to experience Fullstack’s culture. I highly recommend bootcamp prep because it reassured me that this huge commitment I was about to make was right for me, I got a lot of questions answered and felt very prepared to take the assessment and interview for Fullstack which has a rigorous admission process.

    I personally believe the immersive portion of Fullstack is so great because:

    1. They teach you more in six weeks than you can probably teach yourself and having great instructors, fellows and classmates makes this easier because there are people who can answer questions, remind you to stay motivated and push you even further. I believe great people come through the program and make it even more exceptional than it already is. This is portion of the program though was the hardest for me, I felt overwhelmed a lot of days and wasn't sure I was picking up the material fast enough because the pace of the program is quick, but I just kept moving forward and it all came together.

    2. The second part of the bootcamp is all project based which leads to having things to put on your resume. I really solidified my knowledge during this part of the program and gained confidence that I could work a job in this field. I also loved that Fullstack emphasizes a git workflow and agile methodology for teams since this is often found in the real world. My advice for this portion of the program is to figure out what you love and how to incorporate your background somehow with coding. It will make for a seamless transition to finding a job if you work on projects that you truly care about and are in areas you want to get a job in.

    3. Fullstack also has a great career success team. To be honest I was pretty skeptical about this since I think getting a job is hard and I didn’t believe there was honestly that much they can do. But I was wrong because by doing whiteboard problems every morning in the second half, I was prepared for those during interviews. There are also practice technical and behavioral interviews which truly helped me prepare for those questions since I was given great feedback. I also got a lot of resume feedback and honesty it is just a great place to make connections. Go to meetups, reach out to other Fullstack grads and use your own connections and I believe you will be successful because Fullstack prepares you to be. I received 3 offers 3 weeks after finishing and I felt that Fullstack prepared me for the interview process.

    Just remember the point isn’t to finish the bootcamp but to become an excellent coder. Fullstack is an absolutely wonderful resource to achieve this but it requires a lot of commitment from the student to push themselves and ask questions when necessary. You might remember being told to go to office hours all the time in college and similarly go to office hours with instructors and fellows during the program because they are there to help you and can only do that if you make it clear to them that you want and need help. 

    And finally just remember to always question why you are using a technology/library/framework, what are the benefits, the downsides and what would you do if you didn't use that specific one. I think it's easy to just be told we are using React and not think about why and other considerations. This truly was my experience at Fullstack and I hope this helped. Good luck if you are applying!

  • Leigh Steiner  User Photo
    Leigh Steiner • Front End Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

      I applied to the Grace Hopper Program after taking their Bootcamp Prep class, and was accepted on the first application, and began the immersive in June of 2017.  I stayed on as a teaching fellow for two terms, and finished my time there having received a total of five job offers, any of which I would have been happy to take, and which included my absolute dream job.  

      The curriculum prepared me both for the technical demands of a dev job, and for the soft-skills needed to actually land one.

      In many ways, Foundations (the remote, introductory part of the course) was the most challenging, in that the jump from what was tested in admissions to what was tested in Foundations, felt the largest (for other folks considering this course who don't come from a technical background -- when you are getting ready to apply/after you get in, take a minute and get comfy with the CLI if you've never used it before.  It just means one less thing to learn at the same time.) -- a bit like being pushed in the deep end. After that, it was much less stressful.  

    I had a lot of support at Grace Hopper, and it felt great to be in a diverse, LGBTQ-friendly environment.  Both the students and the staff were friendly and helpful.  The atmosphere is demanding, but not competitive -- everyone shares the view that 'a rising tide lifts all boats' and wants to help everyone do as well as they can.  

    Cons: it's a program where you definitely get out of it what you put into it, and it absolutely favors people who are solid self-starters and already good at time management (there's so much to do and learn, you absolutely *must* make choices about what does and doesn't get done).  There is more support available than sometimes is obviously apparent, and so if you're having trouble with something, personally or technically, it behooves you to reach out and ask.  While the staff and management are fierce advocates for their students, communication across the staff isn't always perfect and there were several occasions where it became clear that the left hand didn't know what the right was doing.

  • A great experience
    - 4/11/2018
    Shayan Sheikh  User Photo
    Shayan Sheikh • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    A short disclaimer: I did have some previous coding experience before I joined Fullstack, so I had a comparatively easier time with the curriculum.

    But don't let that scare you. It's a great experience. The curriculum is amazing, the instructors are concise, easy to understand, and make learning an enjoyable experience. I became a much better coder during my time at Fullstack. Not just through the frameworks I learned, but the little stuff. I'm so much better at tracking down bugs now. 

    Many people with no previous coding experience went in and came out polished software engineers. More importantly, they learned to be fast learners and break down problems. I highly recommend it to everybody.

  • Dan H   User Photo
    Dan H • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was very interested in Fullstack because of their excellent reviews online and decided to look into what the have available to prospective students. I was impressed. I took a one day JavaScript class and an online JS fundamentals course. While I felt like I had a good grasp of fundamentals, there was definitely more to learn. I attended both the online and in person information seminars and after looking around at other bootcamps, I decided on Fullstack. After applying, taking the admissions test, and doing the coding interview, I was very happy with my choice. I was accepted and began the pre-bootcamp online course, and would have continued, except I was offered an internship at a tech company. Though I’m employed right now, I do feel like I missed out on a great experience! Everyone I spoke with at Fullstack was professional and I felt like they had my best interests in mind. If you are interested in a bootcamp, I would highly recommend that you take a good look at this one.

  • Ben Friedman  User Photo
    Ben Friedman • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    To start things off: I graduated one month ago, and have not yet found a job. In fact, I have not even had as much as a phone screen after sending 50+ applications. If I do end up getting a job in a timely fashion, I'll update this review.

    The course is alright, but I have some hesitation about the curriculum and teaching style. They throw numerous frameworks at you in a very short period of time. This is intentional - one way I heard it described is that it's like trying to catch up to a speeding truck, except that once you get close, it goes faster. Some of the technologies we learned such as React and Redux are in fact very in demand in the work force right now - I see them mentioned on almost every Front End or Full Stack job posting, so that's a plus. However, we also spend a lot of time learning Sequelize to manage back end. I haven't seen this on a single job posting, but most Full Stack roles DO want an object oriented language like Java or Python. The curriculum would have been more well rounded if something like Python was included.

    We also spent almost no time on the most basic of web technologies such as HTML and CSS - you are essentially expected to figure it out yourself. However, I heard it expressed by multiple students (and myself) that this left a huge skill gap. The lack of time spent on standard web design means that students are not in the best position to succeed at Front End roles. 

    The portfolio we graduated with is also pretty slim. There are only two projects that we can really call our own: a four day hackathon and a group project. So all you have to show is a hastily created app and another that may or may not be great, depending on the strength of the group. 

    Bootcamps like Fullstack sell students on the idea that they can fully prepare you for employment in three months. This doesn't seem to be the case. I do see that students who go on to do the Fellowship (which gives them an additional three months to learn, build a portfolio, and be able to put "mentorship experience" on their resumes) seem to get jobs faster/at a higher rate. So it should be noted that that option is there, but maybe bootcamps should consider that students may need more time, and that these programs should be longer (which would allow more time to fill all the gaps listed above).  

  • Trevor Storey  User Photo
    Trevor Storey • Lead Mobile Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    A note about me. I do not hold any type of college degree. I went to college for music, but started working professionally in that industry before I finished. I was successful, but I've always had an interest in the CS field and wanted to work and live in one place, rather than being gone on tour all the time. I'm glad I made the decision to switch. 3 months after graduating Fullstack Academy I got a job as the Lead Mobile Developer at a startup. I graduated mid-December 2017 and started working at my current company mid-March 2018. I think I sent out 5 applications altogether.

     

    This review is about Fullstack Academy, however, a lot of people are trying to choose between App Academy/Fullstack Academy/Hack Reactor etc. So a note about App Academy - 

    I went to App Academy for 5 weeks of their immersive program and failed out. It was not because of the difficulty of the material, nor that they push you harder as a coder. It had more to do with the method of their instruction. That could be my fault. I would say more, however, they gave me back my $5k deposit in exchange for signing a document that said, essentially, that I could not communicate anything negative about App Academy to anyone ever. I don't think this violates that agreement.

    That being said, if you want to learn the most and best you can at the bootcamp that you choose, I recommend Fullstack Academy.

     

    Fullstack Academy's instructors and curriculum are far and above any other bootcamp that I have had experience with. The instructors are not chosen based on being graduates of the program and thereby being cheap labor.

    The instructors are great programmers, but they are also incredible communicators. They are great instructors who happen to teach software engineering, something they are really great at too. It is abundantly clear that they want you to do well and that includes caring about things outside of simply software engineering.

    I've never had better teaching on any subject than what I received at Fullstack Academy.

     

    Another thing, I visited the facilities of FSA, App Academy, Hack Reactor and Flatiron School, all in NYC. FSA has the most professional environment of all of them, hands down. Flatiron feels like college, Hack Reactor and App Academy feel hack-y, FSA feels professional. I was a professional before this. I was switching professions, going into professional training to be prepared for a professional job afterwards. I wanted a professional environment so I really appreciated that about FSA.

     

    In regards to Job Assistance, personally I think FSA's strategy and implementation could use some work.

    My experience was that their strategy is impossible. They encourage a "spray and pray" approach, but also encourage a personal (continuing the analogy) "sniper precision" approach. For me, that's impossible. I can't send out 20 applications a week and spend the necessary time to make each application convey that I am excited about the specific opportunity without coming off as rote. I think those are two different approaches that don't coincide.

    They encouraged us to have a profile on every coding website under the sun that had a 'jobs profile' option. For me it felt like being told to do 10,000 things, each of which would take 2-3 days to do well, in an hour. It seemed like they didn't know what they were asking us to do, because what they were asking us to do was impossible. For me anyway.

    I believe that the "spray and pray" approach is statistically more successful for finding a job post-bootcamp. I also believe that my personality and the "spray and pray" approach don't work together.

    I'm a very hard working, secure, introvert. I value few deep connections over many shallow connections. I get along with people just fine, I'm not shy. I am overly serious and overly critical of myself and others at times.

    I tried their approach, I chose to trust the process because that's what I did for the code instruction portion of the program. I tried to do everything the career success team told us to do while still in the immersive and it just seemed like no matter what I did or how perfect I tried to do it, it didn't have the results it was supposed to. 

    It was the equivalent of being told that once I pushed this boulder up the mountain it would stay there and I would be rewarded. Only, after pushing it all the way up this mountain, it turns out the only thing at the top is a cliff...and I just pushed it off that cliff...No reward. I was pushing it up the wrong mountain.

     

    Disclaimer: I do think I am an outlier with the way I chose to job search. I think my experience is more likely the exception, not the rule. 

    So, after graduating from FSA, I avoided the career success team. I know that others in my cohort had good experiences with them, but this review is about my experience. Maybe things would have got better had I kept trying their way, but I doubt it.

    My approach was to spend most of my time learning and blogging about it. For professional profiles I focused on linkedin, github and twitter. I would go to 1-2 meetups a week(usually 1). I would only send an application somewhere if I knew that someone was going to look at it. (That’s a no-no, but that’s what I chose to do.)

    When I went to meetups, I would hang out with one or two people and get to know them. Regardless of whether their companies were hiring or not. I would just try to make a connection with one or two professional developers. If I did encounter someone that was hiring, I'd ask them what their stack was and then I would spend time learning that stack. Even if they said they weren't ready to hire me.

    I also spent a lot of time going deeper on the technologies that we had learned at Fullstack.

     

    In the end, I was contacted by the CEO of my current company on linkedin, I did a coding challenge for him in React Native, which I spent 3 full days on, then I met with him and 20 minutes into that lunch/interview he said he wanted to hire me for a very good salary including a little equity. Not to be too specific, but I think the average salary for a just-graduated FSA grad in September 2017 was around 80k and I was offered more than that.

     

    In conclusion, You will NOT regret choosing FSA. I'm certain their career success team will get better with time. But even without using them, in fact outright avoiding them, I got a really great job 3 months after graduating. (And keep in mind that one of those months went right through christmas and new years when there really isn't a lot of action going on with hiring).

  • Life Changing
    - 3/24/2018
    Pat Petillo  User Photo
    Pat Petillo • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    There is absolutely no way I would have became a professional Software Engineer without Fullstack Academy. After spending more than a year trying to teach myself Javascript and Web Development, and making very little progress, I was very fortunate to be able to attend Fullstack Academy. FSA gave me the skills and confidence to pursue my dream career and within a month of graduating I was able to land a full time position as a Software Engineer.

    I was part of the WDF program at FSA sponsored by the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline so I was in a bit of a unique situation but the curriculum was exactly the same with the exception of having to attend the Foundations portion of the curriculum on campus.

    The instructors at Fullstack Academy are nothing short of amazing. They all have a great wealth of Software Engineering knowledge and years of professional experience which they will anecdotally share with you throughout your experience at FSA. It is obvious that the instructors care for each and every student, and hold us all to the highest standards in order for us to be successful in our future careers.

    Fullstack Academy puts a tremendous amount of effort into creating a curriculum that will ensure the success of its students. The curriculum includes cutting edge Web technologies as well as solid fundamental programming knowledge and skills. I left Fullstack Academy with a deep understanding of JavaScript and a wide breadth of full stack development knowledge that I use on a daily basis as a Software Engineer. Not only does the curriculum include programming fundamentals and modern Web technologies, it includes whiteboarding and technical interview prep that is invaluable when it comes time to search for a position as an Engineer.

    The curriculum is project based and you will leave FSA with full scale applications under your belt that you can display while applying or interviewing for positions. It is extremely challenging and you will be putting in long hours to complete workshops and projects but it is incredibly gratifying. I am still proud of the Senior Capstone project my team and I created at FSA

    Fullstack Academy has an incredibly dedicated career success team that will assist you in creating a tech resume as well as increasing your online presence and assist you in growing a network that will greatly help you in your job search. FSA also hosts a hiring day where you will have ten minute sit down interviews with multiple companies, following your one on one interviews there is a networking time where you will be able to speak to all of the companies that attend hiring day. I was hired by a company that I met during the networking hours of hiring day. It is a great opportunity to establish a relationship with companies actively looking to hire developers. The career success team is not only there for you through your time at FSA but will continue to assist you in your job search after you leave FSA and are available even after you are hired.

    Please be aware that it can take 3-6 months to find a full time position, and that is in part due to the nature of tech companies where the hiring process can be quite long. Fortunately the career success team and FSA in general will be there for you through each and every step of the process.

    Overall my experience at Fullstack Academy was amazing. I was in a unique group of amazing people being part of the WDF program but I am confident that FSA could help any hardworking and motivated individual become a professional Software Engineer. If you are truly considering attending a coding bootcamp I could not recommend FSA more highly.

     

  • Andrew Niekamp  User Photo
    Andrew Niekamp • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Fullstack immersive (through the NYC Web Development Fellowship). The instructors were fantastic, and my fellow classmates were a constant inspiration. It's a great experience not just because of what you learn (which is obviously a lot), but because you have an opportunity to be around so many smart and driven people at various life stages that decided to pursue programming. As such, Fullstack is very challenging!

    I couldn't have asked for a better outcome. I ended up receiving an offer from a company that I interviewed with during the career day organized by the school after graduation. I've been working now for almost 3 months as a software developer. My current job is not easy, and I feel Fullstack helped me develop a strong technical foundation and the mindset to be able to build on my knowledge and improve each day.

  • Alyssa Venere Braun  User Photo
    Alyssa Venere Braun • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My background was as a fundraiser in arts and culture nonprofits. Very non-technical. After hitting a bit of a wall in my career, I was tipped off my husband and some friends about careers in tech. Curious, I started playing around with coding a bit on my own. I visited info sessions for a couple of other Chicago bootcamps (Coding Dojo, and now-closed DevBootcamp). Fullstack grabbed me for a few reasons -- the admissions were competitive, you needed to know some JavaScript basics to be accepted, and it was going to dig hard into one very in-demand stack. Coding Dojo boasts learning 3 full stacks in 3 months, but I wanted depth over breadth. (A friend of mine attended Coding Dojo -- I had surpassed him in JavaScript knowledge by the third week at Fullstack.)

    So, I enrolled in Fullstack's Bootcamp Prep course, which was a bit exhausting when paired with a full-time job, but was a great opportunity to dip my toe into what Fullstack would really be like, as well as see if this was really something that I wanted to do. I was hooked, and applied.

    Now, for the first half of the program, it's all about learning the full stack (JavaScript, Node, Express, Postgres, React, Redux). I felt off-kilter every day, but the key is that they're going to throw a LOT at you. Absorb what you can. Take the time in the evenings and on weekends to practice. You won't retain everything, and that's OK. Just keep going. For the second half, you just build build build, both alone and in a group. This not only gives you 3 great pieces for your portfolio, but also hefty relevant experience beyond the theoretical. 

    Career prep is pretty good, including "Launch Day," where you can meet potential employers through speed-dating-like interviews. I didn't get a job through it, but it did connect me to a few great people that I ended up getting lunch with later on -- and it was a great way to rip off the interviewing band-aid, so to speak.

    In the end, I was interviewing with 3 companies, and accepted a job offer from 1 just 4 weeks after graduating. 

    Great things:

    • You learn a very in-demand stack, and are well-prepared going into the job hunt.
    • Knowledgeable, warm, funny instructors.
    • The rest of my cohort. An incredibly fun, supportive, and smart group, almost 50/50 split of men and women, all different ages/backgrounds/hometowns/former professions/levels of expertise. (Disclaimer, this degree of diversity may be fairly unique.)

    Not-as-great things:

    • One of my biggest weaknesses coming out of this program was my ability to speak technically. At the end of the program, we had mock technical interviews which revealed this to me. Personally, would have appreciated the opportunity to practice technical interviews more throughout the program.

    Advice (if you decide to go with Fullstack):

    • It's hard to be an adult who has several working years under her belt, who knows her stuff, and suddenly be in a position where clicking a button doesn't do what you want it to do. It's humbling and uncomfortable. Be kind to yourself! And don't compare your progress to those around you. Focus on you and your learning, or you'll go crazy.
    • You will get out of this program what you put in! Take ownership of your own education. Fullstack will give you the tools, but you won't magically emerge a software engineer just from showing up.
    • Know yourself, and know how you work best. I preferred to get in very early (morning person) than work late. Use that knowledge to your advantage.
    • Trust Fullstack's process. It all comes together. Just keep working and moving forward.

    Highly, highly, highly recommend!

Thanks!