fullstack-academy-logo

Fullstack Academy

Baton Rouge, Chicago, Jacksonville, New York City, Online, San Diego, San Diego, San Luis Obispo

Fullstack Academy

Avg Rating:4.89 ( 271 reviews )

Fullstack Academy offers full-time and part-time immersive software engineering bootcamps and cyber security bootcamps, with campuses in New York City, Chicago, and online. Fullstack's software engineering courses cover advanced JavaScript-oriented technologies and computer science topics including compiler theory, logic gates, and building an operating system. The cyber bootcamp covers encryption, networking, system architecture, cryptography, risk detection, and more. Fullstack Academy offers flexible options for college students and those who wish to continue working while learning modern tech skills. The Summer of Code program is an accelerated version of the immersive bootcamp for college students on summer break.

The full- and part-time immersives in NY and Chicago are for intermediate programmers who’ve learned the basics before applying, while the cyber and university bootcamps are specifically designed for beginners. Bootcamp Prep classes are available to help students prepare for admissions. To apply, candidates should submit an application via the website, take an online coding assessment (software engineering bootcamp) or a basic logical reasoning test (cyber bootcamp), then participate in a video interview.

Fullstack Academy programs aim to combine a cutting-edge technical curriculum with career counseling to make sure students can both do a technical job, and get a technical job. Fullstack hosts a Demo Day, which includes speed interviewing sessions, and the careers team helps students connect with the right people, interview successfully, and negotiate the best offer possible. 

Recent Fullstack Academy Reviews: Rating 4.89

all (271) reviews for Fullstack Academy →

Recent Fullstack Academy News

Read all (87) articles about Fullstack Academy →
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Month

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$100
    Class size40
    LocationOnline, Chicago, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Month courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper, plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems. Best of all, they’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-Beginner
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Week

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time1 Week
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$100
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Week courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women’s school), plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems, and best of all? They’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginners
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Cal Poly Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Luis Obispo
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp is an online six-month, part-time full-stack software development bootcamp. This beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js and Redux, and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Cal Poly-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available to every Cal Poly alum and current student who enrolls in the Cal Poly Bootcamp.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - San Luis Obispo Apply by June 1, 2020
  • Flex (Part-Time) Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date July 7, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack’s Flex Software Immersive offers an opportunity to complete the rigorous program over a six-month time period while keeping a full-time job. Students attend class in-person two nights per week and remotely one night per week. Each month will feature one immersive weekend, where Flex students come to campus both Saturday and Sunday. The other three weekends will consist of remote work and not require live attendance. These remote weekends will utilize learning tools that work well in that format: video lectures and workshop reviews, solo coding workshops, and even pair-programming with classmates using virtual collaboration tools. This remote work will be self-paced—completed by a deadline, but on the student’s schedule.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit upon enrollment
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy partners with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$1,000 Ada Lovelace scholarship for women $1,000 scholarship for veterans $2,000 built-in scholarship for Chicago students
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week Foundations Course
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 7, 2020 - Chicago Apply by May 18, 2020
    July 7, 2020 - New York City Apply by May 18, 2020
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$17,910
    Class size25
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a full-time, in-person 17-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Penetration Tester, Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 for a limited time (normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipAda Lovelace Scholarship for Women, Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date June 22, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class size24
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a part-time, in-person 26-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 (Normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$2,000 Founders Scholarships available to part-time students for a limited time; Ada Lovelace Scholarship for Women; Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 22, 2020 - New York City Apply by December 19, 2020
  • Louisiana State University Coding Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    MongoDB, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 20, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge
    Fullstack Academy is a top-ranked coding bootcamp renowned for providing immersive, fullstack JavaScript web development training using the NERD stack (Node.js, Express, React, Databases using SQL). Graduates are assisted by a dedicated career service team and leave as members of the Fullstack community—a supportive alum network that can help open doors to future jobs in Baton Rouge and beyond. Fullstack brings its learning method, reputation, and community to the LSU Coding Bootcamp to make software developer training more accessible to individuals outside of traditional tech hubs.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 20, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by January 30, 2021
  • Louisiana State University Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge
    Students learn the offensive and defensive cybersecurity skills including Foundations (computing and networking basics, Linux, introduction to automation), Security Essentials (practical networking, bash scripting, Python for security), Security Analyst Training (NIST cybersecurity framework, tools, techniques, procedures for network and application protection), and Flight (projects, advanced certifications preparation, career coaching and guidance). Nationally, there are over half a million cyber jobs that employers are trying to fill. Businesses actively seeking cybersecurity professionals span across all industries and sizes, and they include local high-tech employers like CenturyLink, Entergy, and General Dynamics, to name a few. These companies are hiring for roles like Cybersecurity Specialist, Network Security Engineer, and Vulnerability Analyst. Grads studying the LSU Cyber Bootcamp curriculum have been hired for all of these roles—and more.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 Scholarship for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 13, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by January 23, 2021
  • NYC Web Development Fellowship

    Apply
    Data Science, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, SQL
    In PersonFull Time24 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City
    In partnership with the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline, the NYC Web Development Fellowship will award eligible NYC residents tuition-free admission to Fullstack’s award-winning Software Engineering program. This curriculum has been proven successful—Fullstack graduates work at companies like Google, Venmo, Facebook, Amazon, and LinkedIn, as well as hundreds of innovative small- and mid-size tech companies. Learn more about the fellowship as well as eligibility requirements on the Fullstack website: https://www.fullstackacademy.com/nyc-fellowship
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    ScholarshipFree Tuition for Eligible NYC Residents
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Mobile, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, Front End, SQL
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week17 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$17,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack Academy’s flagship course, the Full-Time Software Engineering Immersive is a 17-week career accelerator. Through an advanced curriculum and project-based structure, students learn today’s cutting edge development technologies. The Fullstack Immersive prepares graduates for software engineer roles at top-tier technology companies. Our JavaScript-driven curriculum immerses you in the latest web technologies such as Node.js, React.js, and postgreSQL. You bring the energy, curiosity, and dedication — we’ll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert software developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipThere is a $1,000 scholarship for all women+-identifying applicants and veterans. There is also a built-in $2000 scholarship for all students who enroll in the Chicago Software Engineering Immersive program.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week remote Foundations Course precedes the 13 weeks on-campus
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Chicago Apply by May 3, 2020
    June 15, 2020 - New York City Apply by May 3, 2020
  • Summer of Code

    Apply
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$16,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Summer of Code is a coding education program uniquely designed for ambitious college students seeking to supplement their traditional education by learning real world skills and building a portfolio of impressive projects. You bring the energy, curiosity and fierce dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert level coder in one summer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart
    ScholarshipBuilt-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCollege students only.
    Prep Work4-week Foundations course
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Chicago Apply by April 19, 2020
    June 15, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 19, 2020
  • University of North Florida Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 27, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp offered through the UNF Division of Continuing Education. Located on UNF’s campus in Jacksonville, FL, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the UNF-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 scholarship available to: Current UNF students UNF alums Employer-sponsored applicants Jacksonville tech community
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 27, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by February 6, 2021
  • University of North Florida Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Through the Cyber Bootcamp at University of North Florida powered by Fullstack, you’ll go from novice to cybersecurity professional and gain the tools to land a job in one of the world’s highest-paying industries—all in just 26 weeks part-time. Students will delve into the exciting world of cybersecurity throughout four program phases. You’ll receive hands-on, real-world experience in multiple facets of computing, networking, security, and programming in offensive and defensive security techniques, tools, and procedures. When you’ve successfully completed the learning phases, you’ll get the career guidance you need to jump into an exciting and lucrative career in cybersecurity, joining thousands of like-minded professionals throughout the world in the global fight against cybercrime.
    Financing
    DepositStudents will need to make a $2,000 dollar initial deposit at enrollment with the remaining balance due one week before class starts.
    Financing
    ScholarshipA $500 scholarship is available to current UNF students and UNF alums. $2000 Military Scholarship for current military personnel or veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by December 19, 2020
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Full-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 12-week, full-time full-stack software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Full Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - San Diego Apply by September 4, 2020
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time14 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 13, 2020 - San Diego Apply by January 23, 2021

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Fullstack Academy Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Fullstack Academy scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Software Engineering Immersive (Chicago)

Shared Review

  • Alex Baden • Software • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    During my coding bootcamp search, my main goals were to become extremely proficient in programming, learn from great mentors, and land a great job once I was done. I'll assess my experience based on these three criteria.

    Coding

    Thanks to Fullstack, I can now have an intelligent conversation about the pros and cons of SQL vs. NoSQL databases, explain what $watch and $digest are in AngularJS, build apps from scratch, and show you how to do three-way data binding with AngularJS and Firebase. I have a Github repo full of code that I can explain, and projects that I was able to show employers during interiews. I definitely felt like I got my money's worth here.

    Mentors

    David and Nimit, the co-founders, have pretty impressive backgrounds. David was a former early employee at Gilt Groupe & RecycleBank. Both worked at Yahoo! together (and have the stories to prove it). Nimit was the co-founder of Bloomspot (acquired by J.P. Morgan Chase in 2010), and a Wharton grad. I didn't just want to learn from someone who was good at teaching, I also wanted to learn from someone who has been in and understands the startup world. They did -- they made the coding real by peppering in stories about how things were done at Gilt, Bloomspot, etc.

    Job Prospects

    The market is extremely hot for developers. The 2 weeks after graduating, I ended up having about 6 to 8 interviews, and ended up landing a position at a great startup which I am loving.

    If you are serious about becoming a professional developer, I'd highly recommend attending Fullstack. If interested, I wrote a a more extended review on my blog here.

  • Matthew Chan  User Photo
    Matthew Chan • Software Engineer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I consider Fullstack Academy to be a complete education in web development that turned me from a web development hobbyist into a professional.
     
    Attending Fullstack showed me how important a structured curriculum and hands-on projects are when it comes to learning a skill as practical and results-oriented as web development. Before Fullstack, I was learning development through Udemy courses and other online tutorials. It was a slow and unguided approach that led me to build apps that were unmaintainable and error-prone. I was freelancing at the time and this showed in my work.
     
    Fullstack taught me how to build web applications from the ground up using best practices that made my work faster and more reliable as a result. The instructors were extremely helpful and able to answer any technical questions we had, about the curriculum or otherwise. I revisited one of my freelance projects (a web app) after attending Fullstack and was able to remake it in half the time with far better results. 
     
    Their career team was top-notch as well, providing invaluable advice regarding the tech recruitment process and helping me polish my application materials and develop an effective job application plan. Despite not having a college degree, I was able to land two (successive) full-time roles as a developer within months of graduating.
     
    I'm now enjoying a flexible and remote-work-friendly development job while building a fullstack web application on the side, in large thanks to the technical and career-finding skills I learned at Fullstack Academy.
     
  • Madison Jennings  User Photo
    Madison Jennings • Junior Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    In thinking about how to effectively review my experience at Fullstack, I guess it’s most useful to let my trajectory speak for itself: I attended Fullstack Academy in the fall, graduated in December, and was hired within 2 weeks of graduation as a Junior Developer at an awesome company.  Altogether, Fullstack met and exceeded every expectation I had and I can recommend it without hesitation.

    Prior to attending FSA (and more specifically, Grace Hopper), I was a high school math teacher with very iffy coding skills.  I knew that I liked to code, and I could write basic for-loops in Ruby.  I decided that I wanted a more challenging career and I wanted a skillset that was more in-demand than teaching experience.  I talked to a few friends who had attended bootcamps to hear their experiences, and I also spoke to a hiring manager at a tech company, all of whom encouraged me to go for it.

    I chose Fullstack for two main reasons: because admissions were competitive, and because of the curriculum.   Valuing competitive admissions was a great call: all of the students, fellows, and instructors in my cohort were unfailingly curious, driven, and intelligent.  I evaluated the curriculum with the help of some tech friends who recognized that FSA’s curriculum taught skills like React and Redux that were highly in-demand.  Once I had my eyes set on Fullstack, I studied, applied, and fortunately was admitted to the Grace Hopper program.

    Bootcamp was hard and so much fun.  I learned a ton of code (obviously) but also how to pair program effectively, how to work in an agile team, and (probably most importantly) how to read technical documentation.  The people at FSA are fantastic, and we hung out every Friday after class.

    Finally, the career success support was phenomenal.  It was invaluable to have someone examine my resume, LinkedIn profile, cover letters, personal pitch, and even follow-up emails to companies to ensure that I was putting my best foot forward.  In the final week of the program, Holly organized 16 companies that came in to interview us so we could work on our behavioral interview skills.  We practiced white-boarding every morning, and we had 1:1 mock technical interviews with feedback afterwards.  I felt 100% prepared when I entered the job market because nothing was unexpected.

    As you can probably tell from this review, I am so grateful for my time at Fullstack and had a fantastic experience.  I would recommend this program to anyone.

  • Zohaib Farooqi  User Photo
    Zohaib Farooqi • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My experience at Fullstack was completely unique compared to any of my traditional education. Where in the past I felt like I didn't understand the reason why we learned things or whether or not it would prepare me for a worthwhile career, Fullstack was able to definitively change my life in the span of four months. I'm so happy to have a job with a high ceiling and so much to learn. The best thing about Fulsltack was the community you're exposed to, and how much love and care is poured into the process. I made great friends at Fullstack and now have a wonderful career to boot!

  • MINAMI KATO  User Photo
    MINAMI KATO • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was a musician with some web design background (no real coding experience). Attended fullstack in 2017 as a WDF student and now I'm working for AWS as an engineer.  English isn't my first language.. In 2017 I was already over 30 year old. AWS is my first tech job.

    WDF is a free tuition program partnered with NYC and was a very competitive process. Had to go through several exams to go to the final “immersive program”. It was sad to see sizing of the class was getting smaller.... but I really liked how energish our instractors were. They were really supportive and good at teaching. Had such a good energy.

    Also I was so happy how attentive Fulsltack’s career success counselor was. After graduation, she contacted me every week to check in my job search progress.  I took 6 months to get this offer letter from AWS. Until then, I and some of my classmates kept going to AWS loft (free workspace. coder's heaven) everyday to study and hang out.  After all, most of my classmates got really great full time engineering positions as well and I'm so happy to see them at reunion. 7 months was short but now we are such good friends after the intense period.

    Learning process during bootcamp was just “INTENSE” but see the result. It's worth trying!

  • Software Engineer
    - 11/29/2018
    Irene H  User Photo
    Irene H • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fullstack Academy met and exceeded all of my expectations. I had decided to make a career change to software engineering and was researching different bootcamps. I had heard great things, but it wasn't until I was in the program that I really appreciated how great it was. All of the instructors are excited to teach and the curriculum was well designed ot get someone (like me) who had very little experience in coding up to speed and proficient in the stack they were teaching. Building projects was a great way to learn how to apply the technology and I am extremely greatful for the experience. Everything is taught in a way that is understandable and there is never a feeling that you can't ask questions. I highly recommend Fullstack Academy (and in particular the Grace Hopper Program).

  • Eric Guo  User Photo
    Eric Guo • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    To echo a lot of other sentiments, my decision to go to Fullstack Academy was one of the best of my life. Previously, I had been working in the business (sales, support, marketing) side of tech. While I had some basic coding experience, I learned an immense amount from the robust curriculum taught at Fullstack. The entire staff in Chicago - whether instructional (Collin, Ben W, Priti, and Finn) or career/operations (Ben N, Holly, Brett) have been incredibly helpful in my success.

    I'm depletely indebted to them for both my education and for the opportunity to serve as a Teaching Fellow. And without the hard work of the Career Success team, I would not have the amazing job I do now as I was able to land it through Fullstack's Launch Day.

    Overall, the highest praise I can give.

  • Great Experience
    - 11/6/2018
    Mark B.  User Photo
    Mark B. • Full Stack Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Going to Fullstack Academy was easily one of the best decisions in my life.

    When you go to a bootcamp, if you're just going for the material, you're doing it wrong. If you just want the material, it's all available for free somewhere on the internet. You should be going to a bootcamp for several reasons:

    1) Learning how to learn various techs, and how to learn them quickly. Fullstack handles this wonderfully by constantly never allowing you to become complacent in your learning or start slacking. You constantly have to be pushing yourself to absorb new material and how to digest documentation.

    2) You have zero idea how to actually break into the industry. Again, Fullstack provided this with great career coaching and prepping you to have a resume that is worth looking at. Fullstack as well provides an opportunity to meet several companies, towards the end of your bootcamp, allowing you to potentially to turn these meetings into on-site interviews (which definitely happened for me).

    3) If you're new to this... you don't actually realize your own knowledge gaps and weaknesses. And it takes an instructor to help you with these and point you towards things you may have never come across before. You can have all the motivation in the world, but without a good teacher to take you there, it's useless. Fullstack has wonderful instructors who are extremely passionate about not only teaching, but improving their teaching (shout out to Corey Greenwald, one of the best instructors I've ever had in any sort of educational setting).

    This being said, prepare to work hard. You will only get out of it what you put in. If you think you can just go during the day and not also put in the time, constantly, during your nights and weekends... and think things will go just as well, you're mistaken. Maybe you can coast. But if that's what you're intending to do... what's even the point? I really recommend Fullstack. But if you're going to do it, do it right. Give up your life for three months. It will pay off.

  • Filadelfo F Braz  User Photo
    Filadelfo F Braz • Full stack Developer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I started the program without any knowledge in coding. The speed of the course is high and you as a student will fell you aren't in control more often than you imagine. To follow that, I had to dedicate more than I had ever dedicated myself to any other academic experience. And after three months, you will be ready to get into the market that changes every single minute. More than JavaScript or any other framework, Fullstack taught me how to learn new things in the speed that the market requires. The school environment is also a plus. They take seriously themes like diversity and all the staff and teachers are very supportive. I couldn't be more grateful for the teacher and fellows I had during the program. Trust the process!

  • Patrick Kilgore  User Photo
    Patrick Kilgore • Junior Software Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    A focused, refined education with excellent people participating and running the show—especially the instructors!

    I know FSA is expensive but it is worth it. You are paying for a sterling reputation and amazing network of graduates. Think Harvard of boot camps, with a no-assholes policy that is written down and clearly enforced. If you can get in, embrace the process, and focus, I doubt there is a better program in the country.

  • Adam Sisk  User Photo
    Adam Sisk • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am currently in the foundations portion of the Immersive Software Engineering cohort. I completed Bootcamp Prep in a Month recently and it was an amazing experience. Before the prep course I had only been studying on my own for about 3  months, and I can honestly say I learned FAR more in the 1 month of prep than I did the 3 months prior on my own. Now that I am in the Foundations course I feel so much better equipped to learn and understand new concepts. Having a solid background from the Prep course has allowed me to focus on studying big picture and practicing my new skills. There are a lot of complex concepts taught in foundations and with my Prep knowledge I'm able to understand these new concepts a lot quicker and am not struggling just to understand the concepts. I highly recommend to anyone who's thinking about joining an immersive cohort to take the Prep course.

    The instructor was extremely knowledgeable and took the time to make sure all of us in the class (there were 7 of us total) really understood the concepts he was teaching. We worked together with the instructor, he really encouraged feedback throughout each lecture. Once the lecture was over it was our time to Pair Program (a technique explained in detail at Fullstack, where 2 people code on 1 machine or sharing a screen, one as the 'driver' actually writing the code, and the other as the 'navigator' walking through what to write and how to approach the problem) and work through a set of problems in the workshop. Pair Programming was by far one of the most influential aspects of this course, as it really helped to solidify any knowledge I had just received from the lecture. To be able to explain yourself and even to teach a concept ensures that you understand the concept and also helps you to identify the weaknesses you might have in that concept.

    There was a plethora of options for support during the prep course. At any time during each class we could reach out to either the instructor or one of the Fellows who were there to assist us. On off hours we could reach out to the instructors and fellows on Slack, any time of day. A solid support team is so important when receiving this level of education.

    The way I look at it, our time at Fullstack will only be a few short months, so why not get as much attention and education as physically possible and take advantage of all of the available options.

     

    Overall I had an amazing experience. This 1 month course was one of the defining moments in my life and one of the most exciting moments in the journey to my future career as a software engineer. I can't stress enough how beneficial this course was in my educational journey. 10/10 would attend

  • Jeff Goldbeck  User Photo
    Jeff Goldbeck • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Attending Fullstack was one of the best decisions I have ever made. The instructors are incredibly knowledgeable and passionate. The curriculum is constantly being updated to always be relevant to the top tech trends.

    My favorite part of the entire experience was getting to pair program with fellow students. It was the first time I was around people as motivated to learn how to code as I was, and it taught me a lot about how to collaborate with others.

    I was fortunate enough to be selected to stay on as a teaching fellow for another 3 months after graduating from the program. Having the opportunity to help others with the same material I had been taught cemented the concepts for me and made me more confident for my upcoming job search.

    I am happy to say for me, fullstck was a worthwile investment. Just over 1 month after my fellowship, I was hired as a Software Engineer at Bloomberg.

  • Jasmine Munoz  User Photo
    Jasmine Munoz • Software Dev Engineer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fullstack has been one of the best decisions I made in my life. All the instructors were not only knowledgeable of all the concepts in the curriculum, but they were all very compassionate in helping every student grow their skillset in coding. 

    Fullstack is split into three separate phases: Foundations, Junior Phase, and Senior Phase. Foundations is 5 weeks long and is primarily self-paced. You are given online video lectures, weekly assignments, and checkpoint tests throughout the course of those five weeks. This phase is primarily self paced and helps reinforce advanced JavaScript concepts like functional programming, recursion, and closure, which will be useful to know in Junior and Senior phase. 

    Junior phase is 6 weeks long at the Fullstack campus. About half of each day are live lectures, and the other half are pair programming workshops. Pair programming was one of the best learning experiences I had at Fullstack. Not only do you learn more about each person in your class, but you acquire knowledge from your time working with each individual (i.e. setting up your code editor to be more efficient when coding, understanding the Github workflow, keyboard shortcuts, organizing your code in a DRY manner, etc.). Pair programming is also reflective of how programmers code in their day job and is one of the fastest ways to really learn the technology taught for that day.

    Senior phase is also 6 weeks long on campus, but focused primarily in building three projects, an E-Commerce website, a personal project, and a Capstone project. Both the E-Commerce website and Capstone project are built in teams of three or four people, and really help you learn how to work agile. The personal project helps you learn new sets of technologies outside the Fullstack curriculum to build a project you're passionate in and want to highlight in your portfolio. I built a Pokemon Augmented Reality game. 

    At the end of my 17 week long journey at Fullstack, I was picked as one of the three Teaching Fellows to help teach the next incoming cohort of students. Being a Teaching Fellow added another level of coding experience that was invaluable. Not only did I have another 3 months of reinforcing all the concepts I learned from Fullstack, but also was given the opportunity to teach these concepts to incoming students. I also helped manage senior project teams to be more agile, and conducted daily stand up meetings. I am happy to say that after 1.5 weeks from graduating as a Teaching Fellow at Fullstack, I will be accepting a Software Dev. Engineer role at Expedia. 

    If you are passionate in growing your coding career and want a quality curriculum, please consider Fullstack. If you are worried about the large expense, there are free information sessions, bootcamp prep, web development workshops, and other resources to give you a taste of what you may expect at Fullstack, and see if it is a worthy investment for yourself.

Thanks!