fullstack-academy-logo

Fullstack Academy

Baton Rouge, Chicago, Jacksonville, New York City, Online, San Diego, San Diego, San Luis Obispo

Fullstack Academy

Avg Rating:4.89 ( 271 reviews )

Fullstack Academy offers full-time and part-time immersive software engineering bootcamps and cyber security bootcamps, with campuses in New York City, Chicago, and online. Fullstack's software engineering courses cover advanced JavaScript-oriented technologies and computer science topics including compiler theory, logic gates, and building an operating system. The cyber bootcamp covers encryption, networking, system architecture, cryptography, risk detection, and more. Fullstack Academy offers flexible options for college students and those who wish to continue working while learning modern tech skills. The Summer of Code program is an accelerated version of the immersive bootcamp for college students on summer break.

The full- and part-time immersives in NY and Chicago are for intermediate programmers who’ve learned the basics before applying, while the cyber and university bootcamps are specifically designed for beginners. Bootcamp Prep classes are available to help students prepare for admissions. To apply, candidates should submit an application via the website, take an online coding assessment (software engineering bootcamp) or a basic logical reasoning test (cyber bootcamp), then participate in a video interview.

Fullstack Academy programs aim to combine a cutting-edge technical curriculum with career counseling to make sure students can both do a technical job, and get a technical job. Fullstack hosts a Demo Day, which includes speed interviewing sessions, and the careers team helps students connect with the right people, interview successfully, and negotiate the best offer possible. 

Recent Fullstack Academy Reviews: Rating 4.89

all (271) reviews for Fullstack Academy →

Recent Fullstack Academy News

Read all (87) articles about Fullstack Academy →
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Month

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time12 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$100
    Class size40
    LocationOnline, Chicago, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Month courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper, plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems. Best of all, they’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-Beginner
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Bootcamp Prep in a Week

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time1 Week
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$100
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline, New York City
    **NOTE: Prep In a Week courses are best for folks who have some previous experience with programming.** Fullstack Academy’s Bootcamp Prep courses are $100 and will prepare you for the full-time software engineering programs at both Fullstack and Grace Hopper (our all-women’s school), plus Fullstack’s part-time Flex program. These courses teach the fundamentals of programming and show you how to use JavaScript to solve real-world coding problems, and best of all? They’re taught by working developers who once graduated from one of Fullstack’s programs so you can really get a feel for the environment we foster and the smart, driven, and generous people our community is made up of.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginners
    Prep WorkIncludes a 10-hr prep workshop. Not required, but highly recommended to help students get the most out of class.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Cal Poly Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Luis Obispo
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp is an online six-month, part-time full-stack software development bootcamp. This beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js and Redux, and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Cal Poly Extended Education Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Cal Poly-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available to every Cal Poly alum and current student who enrolls in the Cal Poly Bootcamp.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - San Luis Obispo Apply by June 1, 2020
  • Flex (Part-Time) Immersive

    Apply
    Start Date July 7, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack’s Flex Software Immersive offers an opportunity to complete the rigorous program over a six-month time period while keeping a full-time job. Students attend class in-person two nights per week and remotely one night per week. Each month will feature one immersive weekend, where Flex students come to campus both Saturday and Sunday. The other three weekends will consist of remote work and not require live attendance. These remote weekends will utilize learning tools that work well in that format: video lectures and workshop reviews, solo coding workshops, and even pair-programming with classmates using virtual collaboration tools. This remote work will be self-paced—completed by a deadline, but on the student’s schedule.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit upon enrollment
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy partners with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$1,000 Ada Lovelace scholarship for women $1,000 scholarship for veterans $2,000 built-in scholarship for Chicago students
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week Foundations Course
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 7, 2020 - Chicago Apply by May 18, 2020
    July 7, 2020 - New York City Apply by May 18, 2020
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Full-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$17,910
    Class size25
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a full-time, in-person 17-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Penetration Tester, Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 for a limited time (normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipAda Lovelace Scholarship for Women, Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Start Date June 22, 2020
    Cost$15,980
    Class size24
    LocationNew York City
    The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is a part-time, in-person 26-week training program that prepares students to start lucrative cyber careers. Grads will be ready for roles like Information Technology Analyst, Security Engineer, Cybersecurity Analyst, and Cyber Threat Analyst. Students will learn the industry’s most in-demand tools, techniques and procedures like Kali Linux, Command Line, Python, Wireshark, Bash, Nmap, Metasploit, Meterpreter, Penetration Testing Methodology, Threat Modeling, Vulnerability Scanning, Splunk, Snort, and SIEMs. The Fullstack Cyber Bootcamp is the only bootcamp trusted by New York City as a partner in its $100-million-dollar Cyber NYC initiative, which aims to transform the City of New York into a global cyber hub. The Cyber Bootcamp is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Cyber Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 (Normally $2,000)
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    Scholarship$2,000 Founders Scholarships available to part-time students for a limited time; Ada Lovelace Scholarship for Women; Veteran's scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Prep WorkTake our introduction to the industry, Hacking 101, before you interview: https://cyber.fullstackacademy.com/prepare/hacking-101
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 22, 2020 - New York City Apply by December 19, 2020
  • Louisiana State University Coding Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    MongoDB, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 20, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge
    Fullstack Academy is a top-ranked coding bootcamp renowned for providing immersive, fullstack JavaScript web development training using the NERD stack (Node.js, Express, React, Databases using SQL). Graduates are assisted by a dedicated career service team and leave as members of the Fullstack community—a supportive alum network that can help open doors to future jobs in Baton Rouge and beyond. Fullstack brings its learning method, reputation, and community to the LSU Coding Bootcamp to make software developer training more accessible to individuals outside of traditional tech hubs.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 available for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 20, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by January 30, 2021
  • Louisiana State University Cyber Bootcamp (Part-Time)

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationBaton Rouge
    Students learn the offensive and defensive cybersecurity skills including Foundations (computing and networking basics, Linux, introduction to automation), Security Essentials (practical networking, bash scripting, Python for security), Security Analyst Training (NIST cybersecurity framework, tools, techniques, procedures for network and application protection), and Flight (projects, advanced certifications preparation, career coaching and guidance). Nationally, there are over half a million cyber jobs that employers are trying to fill. Businesses actively seeking cybersecurity professionals span across all industries and sizes, and they include local high-tech employers like CenturyLink, Entergy, and General Dynamics, to name a few. These companies are hiring for roles like Cybersecurity Specialist, Network Security Engineer, and Vulnerability Analyst. Grads studying the LSU Cyber Bootcamp curriculum have been hired for all of these roles—and more.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 Scholarship for LSU alumni, current students and employees. $2000 Military Scholarship for July 2020 cohort ($1000 Military Scholarship for subsequent cohorts).
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 13, 2020 - Baton Rouge Apply by January 23, 2021
  • NYC Web Development Fellowship

    Apply
    Data Science, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, SQL
    In PersonFull Time24 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City
    In partnership with the NYC Tech Talent Pipeline, the NYC Web Development Fellowship will award eligible NYC residents tuition-free admission to Fullstack’s award-winning Software Engineering program. This curriculum has been proven successful—Fullstack graduates work at companies like Google, Venmo, Facebook, Amazon, and LinkedIn, as well as hundreds of innovative small- and mid-size tech companies. Learn more about the fellowship as well as eligibility requirements on the Fullstack website: https://www.fullstackacademy.com/nyc-fellowship
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    ScholarshipFree Tuition for Eligible NYC Residents
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • Software Engineering Immersive

    Apply
    MySQL, MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Mobile, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, Front End, SQL
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week17 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$17,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Fullstack Academy’s flagship course, the Full-Time Software Engineering Immersive is a 17-week career accelerator. Through an advanced curriculum and project-based structure, students learn today’s cutting edge development technologies. The Fullstack Immersive prepares graduates for software engineer roles at top-tier technology companies. Our JavaScript-driven curriculum immerses you in the latest web technologies such as Node.js, React.js, and postgreSQL. You bring the energy, curiosity, and dedication — we’ll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert software developer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has a financing partnership with SkillsFund
    ScholarshipThere is a $1,000 scholarship for all women+-identifying applicants and veterans. There is also a built-in $2000 scholarship for all students who enroll in the Chicago Software Engineering Immersive program.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAdvanced-beginner/Intermediate programming skills
    Prep Work4-week remote Foundations Course precedes the 13 weeks on-campus
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Chicago Apply by May 3, 2020
    June 15, 2020 - New York City Apply by May 3, 2020
  • Summer of Code

    Apply
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$16,910
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationChicago, New York City
    Summer of Code is a coding education program uniquely designed for ambitious college students seeking to supplement their traditional education by learning real world skills and building a portfolio of impressive projects. You bring the energy, curiosity and fierce dedication — we'll provide a world-class school for becoming an expert level coder in one summer.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Fullstack Academy has partnerships with Skills Fund and Upstart
    ScholarshipBuilt-in $2,000 student scholarship; $1,000 scholarship for women.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCollege students only.
    Prep Work4-week Foundations course
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Chicago Apply by April 19, 2020
    June 15, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 19, 2020
  • University of North Florida Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 27, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp offered through the UNF Division of Continuing Education. Located on UNF’s campus in Jacksonville, FL, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the Coding Bootcamp at University of North Florida, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the UNF-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit2000
    Financing
    Scholarship$500 scholarship available to: Current UNF students UNF alums Employer-sponsored applicants Jacksonville tech community
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 27, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by February 6, 2021
  • University of North Florida Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationJacksonville
    Through the Cyber Bootcamp at University of North Florida powered by Fullstack, you’ll go from novice to cybersecurity professional and gain the tools to land a job in one of the world’s highest-paying industries—all in just 26 weeks part-time. Students will delve into the exciting world of cybersecurity throughout four program phases. You’ll receive hands-on, real-world experience in multiple facets of computing, networking, security, and programming in offensive and defensive security techniques, tools, and procedures. When you’ve successfully completed the learning phases, you’ll get the career guidance you need to jump into an exciting and lucrative career in cybersecurity, joining thousands of like-minded professionals throughout the world in the global fight against cybercrime.
    Financing
    DepositStudents will need to make a $2,000 dollar initial deposit at enrollment with the remaining balance due one week before class starts.
    Financing
    ScholarshipA $500 scholarship is available to current UNF students and UNF alums. $2000 Military Scholarship for current military personnel or veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Jacksonville Apply by December 19, 2020
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Full-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 12-week, full-time full-stack software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Data Structures, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp is an immersive 26-week, part-time software development bootcamp. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and GitHub, as well as front-end technologies, like React.js, AJAX, and FlexBox and backend skills, like Node.js, databases, and Sequelize. By the time students finish the University of San Diego Coding Bootcamp, they will have a portfolio of three impressive projects and will know how to talk about the technologies and their own process to actively demonstrate their understanding in an interview. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$2,000 military scholarship; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees, info session, Intro to Coding attendees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Full Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time30 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - San Diego Apply by September 4, 2020
  • University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp - Part-Time

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, Network Security, Python
    In PersonFull Time14 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date July 13, 2020
    Cost$11,910
    Class size24
    LocationSan Diego
    Powered by Fullstack Academy, the University of San Diego Cyber Bootcamp is built to take students from cybersecurity novice to in-demand cybersecurity professional in just 26 weeks of part-time study. Located on USD’s campus in San Diego, this beginner-friendly program covers the most important techniques, tactics and tools for a lucrative cybersecurity career including networking essentials, Linux & Python, Command Line Input (CLI), pen testing methodology, vulnerability discovery, threat modelling, and preventing recon. The immersive is powered by Fullstack Academy, one of the longest-running and most successful coding bootcamps in the nation. Its graduates are equipped to succeed in the professional world through Fullstack’s foundational teaching method which allows students to thrive in their first job and every job after. Bootcamp grads also gain the assistance of Fullstack’s dedicated career services team and leave as members of the USD-Fullstack community— a supportive alumni network that can help open doors to future career opportunities.
    Financing
    Deposit$2,000 deposit, $9,910 remaining tuition due by first day of class, $50 transparency deposit
    Financing
    Scholarship$1,000 military scholarship for veterans and active duty members; $500 scholarship for USD alumni, current students and employees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginners welcome!
    Prep WorkNo preparation necessary for the logic assessment.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    July 13, 2020 - San Diego Apply by January 23, 2021

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Fullstack Academy Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Fullstack Academy scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Software Engineering Immersive (Chicago)

Shared Review

  • Great Experience
    - 11/6/2018
    Mark B.  User Photo
    Mark B. • Full Stack Software Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Going to Fullstack Academy was easily one of the best decisions in my life.

    When you go to a bootcamp, if you're just going for the material, you're doing it wrong. If you just want the material, it's all available for free somewhere on the internet. You should be going to a bootcamp for several reasons:

    1) Learning how to learn various techs, and how to learn them quickly. Fullstack handles this wonderfully by constantly never allowing you to become complacent in your learning or start slacking. You constantly have to be pushing yourself to absorb new material and how to digest documentation.

    2) You have zero idea how to actually break into the industry. Again, Fullstack provided this with great career coaching and prepping you to have a resume that is worth looking at. Fullstack as well provides an opportunity to meet several companies, towards the end of your bootcamp, allowing you to potentially to turn these meetings into on-site interviews (which definitely happened for me).

    3) If you're new to this... you don't actually realize your own knowledge gaps and weaknesses. And it takes an instructor to help you with these and point you towards things you may have never come across before. You can have all the motivation in the world, but without a good teacher to take you there, it's useless. Fullstack has wonderful instructors who are extremely passionate about not only teaching, but improving their teaching (shout out to Corey Greenwald, one of the best instructors I've ever had in any sort of educational setting).

    This being said, prepare to work hard. You will only get out of it what you put in. If you think you can just go during the day and not also put in the time, constantly, during your nights and weekends... and think things will go just as well, you're mistaken. Maybe you can coast. But if that's what you're intending to do... what's even the point? I really recommend Fullstack. But if you're going to do it, do it right. Give up your life for three months. It will pay off.

  • Brandon  User Photo
    Brandon • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had two expectations for a bootcamp:

    1) to learn the skills of web development quickly and thoroughly

    2) to gain a great network of really smart people

    I am happy to say that I got both. Creating our capstone project was a great boost of confidence in the skills that I had just learned. I know I could have learned all of this information on my own, but it the organization of the information and the efficiency of how fast I was able to learn was well worth the cost of the bootcamp. I estimate that it would have taken me at least a year to pick up the same skills on my own. I didn't have to waste time figuring out what to learn and what were the best ways to learn them. 

    I have a lot to learn in software engineering, but I have a great framework of how to improve and learn new technologies on my own. I also got my first job in Software Engineering because of Fullstack!

    I also still get together with my classmates and it is really great to have a network and friends who code right out of the gate. I highly recommend Fullstack!

  • Gerry  User Photo
    Gerry • Software Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I always thought coding seemed cool, so I thought I'd pay the super resonable fee take Bootcamp Prep on-campus and just see what happens... 8 months later I am nearing the end of my fellowship, having accepted a life-changing job offer, and I can now officially define myself a software engineer. This is not the way I ever imagined my life would go, considering I graduated college with a creative writing degree, but I've truly never been happier or ever felt this proud of myself.

    The curriculum, the staff, and the other students are all incredibly dedicated and hardworking. I feel as though I have gained lifelong friends and mentors.

    If you're considering a coding bootcamp, no matter if you're considering Fullstack or a lesser camp, take Fullstack's Bootcamp Prep to experience the deeply supportive culture and supreme curriculum. Who knows, maybe 8 months later you'll be crushing it as a software developer at a major international company just like me! 

  • Yaodi Hu  User Photo
    Yaodi Hu • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great experience during my time at Fullstack Academy Chicago, and the people there really foster an awesome environment for learning. The instructors are very knowledgeable, friendly, and accessible. The fellows are always there to help someone through a bug or a difficult concept. The students are committed to learning and helping each other out. The career success lead Holly did a great job helping me transition to my first software developer role, even months after I graduated. Fullstack really built an incredible community with good people, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone trying to break into the software development field.

  • Grant Weiss  User Photo
    Grant Weiss • Full Stack Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First and foremost if you are thinking about Fullstack, just do it! The knowledge, experience, and friendships you will gain are life-changing and lifelong. I attended the Software Engineering-Immersive course and allow me to say, it was certainly a journey. Here is some background about the course.

    It starts off with a four-week remote portion called "Foundations". This is where you will learn or refresh on some fundamental to fairly advanced topics regarding JavaScript. For some, this was the most challenging portion of the course. Something to keep in mind is that throughout all of Foundations and the rest of the in-class portion, you are required to pass several "Checkpoints", and short of a passing grade, you will be held back. But do not let this intimidate you... In fact, it is for good reason. It aids in your development as an engineer/teammate and ensures that everyone you are working with is on the same page.

    Once you pass Foundations you begin on a grueling 6-week Jr. Phase portion where you continue to build upon the concepts you learned in Foundations. But it doesn't stop there. You will learn cutting edge technologies, data structures, abstract data types, and more. As someone who recently graduated and is now happily employed I strongly recommend that the most important thing throughout this entire experience is your health. Make sure you give yourself enough time to eat and sleep. Give yourself every chance to come into class the next day psyched and ready to learn... because it is incredibly fast-paced, and it is easy to get overwhelmed. But just remember everyone feels the same way and to 'Trust the process".

    Lastly, once you pass Jr. Phase, you will start... Yes, Senior Phase. To be totally honest this is where it all clicks. You start having more than just a high-level understanding of how data is flowing through the stack, and you are able to make a decision that impacts your entire application. And I don't mean add a div here or a div there... I am talking about highly educated and insightful decisions to engineer a full-stack application. For me, this was the most incredible part and a feeling I will never forget.

    With that being said, you still have your fair share of challenges. Several projects, REACTO, Career success, and most importantly your health. At this point, you will have started the last 6 weeks of the Fullstack experience and it is definitely less intense, but even more impactful.

    To sum it all up there is an incredible Carrer Success team. Fullstack goes out of their way to make sure every student is as prepared as possible to find a job as soon as they graduate. From Mock interviews, Resume workshops, Career counseling, and everything in between, Fullstack does not skip a beat. I know we all come here to learn how to code, but learning how to represent yourself as a candidate to a potential employer is seldom taught anywhere. Which is yet another thing that sets Fullstack apart from other bootcamps.

    Every instructor I interacted with is amazing. Everyone is brilliant, helpful, and engaging. I never once felt any sort of negative vibe from any instructor. Even after the first day of Jr. Phase, you start becoming more than just another class going through the program, but you become a family. A family that supports and encourages everyone to do the very best they can. All in all, I highly recommend this program to anyone interested in learning more about Software Engineering. It is beyond just another "learn how to code" bootcamp. It is a life-changing, challenging, and gratifying experience.

    All my respect to future Fullstackers, fellow graduates and instructors in the program. Thank you for everything, and I am excited to see the Fullstack family grow!

  • So Much Support
    - 3/10/2019
    Gayane Selimyan  User Photo
    Gayane Selimyan • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fullstack Academy is the bootcamp for you if you're looking to learn the right technologies as well as get career support to find a job quickly. The teachers, career councelors and the staff are very student-centric and are always available to provide support.

    The curriculum is very enhanced, so be prepared to work a lot and dedicate as much time as you can if you want to make the most of the process. Pair programming is a big part of the course and is a great way to absorb the material faster. The curriculum also includes career workshops that prepare students for the market.

    I loved having Corey, Matt, Dakota and David as my teachers, Jackie as my career councelor and Emily as the program lead. They are all wonderful professionals and I've learned a lot from them.

  • Daniel Eimer  User Photo
    Daniel Eimer • Application Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The first place I came when i was interested in starting a developer career was right here to look at reviews, so I figured I'd do my part for the process as well. 

    Fullstack was a great experience from day one. You're thrown into a mix of students from all backgrounds, and immediately need to start absorbing information. I graduated from a top university, but have never had an educational experience as demanding and productive as this. The course is fast paced and challenging, but you come out confident that you can use the skills you acquired, and learn the skills you haven't yet.

    The staff is very knowledgable and helpful. The instructors, Ben, Collin, and Finn, really seem to care about every individual's performance and success. The Career Success aspect of the course far surpassed my expectations. Holly works with you every step of the way, even once you're finished with the course, to land you a job. 

    Overall, Fullstack was a great expereince, both in the classroom learning how to code, and the support they provide coming out into the world and looking for a job.

  • So much support
    - 2/22/2019
    Sara  User Photo
    Sara • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Grace Hopper (all women) division of Fullstack Academy. I couldn't imagine a better environment to not only to learn but to completely change careers.  I had a huge support network, between my three dozen classmates, half a dozen fellows, the instuctors, directors, and career success team. Additionally, the curriculum is up to date with the current frameworks and technologies most widely used in the industry--javascript, react, redux--which I feel gives me an edge both interviewing and once on the job.

  • Two big thumbs up
    - 2/15/2019
    Homum A.  User Photo
    Homum A. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had an extremely positive experience attending FSA in Chicago, and would recommend it to anyone who is seriously considering making a career switch. The instructors (Colin, Ben, Priti) were incredibly helpful and approachable, and their presence complemented the rigorous curriculum very well. If you're looking to jumpstart your Web Development proficiency, this is your best bet. 

    I gave the Job Assistance 5 stars because the support provided was great. Fullstack's Launch Day connects you with many local employers and Holly continues to do a great job of keeping in touch and keeping alumni engaged in the job hunt. However, I believe that FSA's strength is in upgrading your Web Dev skills, and not necessarily teaching you DS/Algo or other technical interview curriculum. These topics do not necessarily come up in all SWE interviews, however, depending on what kinds of jobs you're looking for, they can be absolutely critical to know. 

  • K. Wright  User Photo
    K. Wright • Software Developer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I wrote my first line of code in January 2018. Prior to becoming a software developer, I was an elementary school teacher and non-profit director of 10 years. I was motivated to come to the Grace Hopper Program here at Fullstack Academy becasue of my desire to do something completely different. Leaving a secure career was such a risk. Fullstack Academy made the risk well worth it because of the great instruction, real-world application of skills, and the phenomenal career success team. I am especially grateful to Natalie, Jackie, and Trent who were very supportive with me focusing in on my pitch and making myself as marketable as possible. Also, I hope everyone has the opportunity to be taught by or work with Jessica B, Matt, Geoff, and Dakota. They are all fantastic instructors and people.

  • Hong Le  User Photo
    Hong Le • Web Application Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fullstack Academy has developed a challenging and exhaustive curriculum that will definitely keep you busy past 5pm. Fullstack is a great program for people who want balance (i.e. maintain a social life, have families) and for independent learners who have plenty of time to become immersed in the curriculum 24/7. If you're not sure if you can handle a 10+ hour day at another program or if you can manage studying on your own outside normal class hours, then Fullstack is for you. (Also, it's very likely that no one is going to plan out your entire day for you on the job, so get used to being self-sufficient.) 

    The staff and teaching fellows are incredibly understanding and assess each situation on an case-by-case basis if something comes up. They will give you more, if you ask. But you have to ask, but I have never been hesitant since they are all so welcoming. As far as social culture goes, it is what you make of it. Fullstack is a educative environment first and foremost, so I've found that your social experience will depend more on students taking the initiative to hang out and organize events. Also, once you graduate, you get to utitlize a large and supportive network of Fullstack grads--I got my first dev job thanks to one of those connections. I highly recommend attending Fullstack especially if convenience matters to you and you plan to work in the same city. Many schools advertise the big tech companies where students have been hired but don't let that be the only factor in your decision--especially if you're not 100% sure if you even want to work at large companies. 

  • Jonah Lau  User Photo
    Jonah Lau • VP of Product • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've been asked recently on a number of occasions to comment on my experience at Fullstack so I decided to repost my thoughts here in case anyone was interested:

    1. JavaScript level required:

    Before embarking on coding, I had been a corporate lawyer for almost 5 years - so the last time I touched anything remotely close to programming was when I did a course on algorithms 10 years ago in high school. The only JS knowledge I had going into the interview was what I had managed to pick up from codecademy and Code School. Do know that this level definitely wont be enough to get you through the program! Fullstack does pride itself on its pre course prep though, and justifiably so. If you, like me, come from a non technical background, hard work, persistence and putting in the hours to do as much extra reading as possible beforehand to immerse yourself in JS is key. If you decide on Fullstack, take comfort in the fact that their pre course materials will put you in good stead for the 13 gruelling weeks up ahead. Lead instructor Nimit used to tell us to trust the process and know that you will come out on top. I think there's a lot of truth in that and I'm glad I took his word for it.

    2. My experience of Fullstack:

    I had a very good experience overall. David, Nimit and Zeke are three of the most knowledgeable programmers that I've met. However, what was more important was their ability to distil these extremely abstract concepts into nuggets that someone like me would be able to digest and internalise. I think what was also crucial in why things just work at Fullstack is that they are so selective in who they take as students. The result is everyone is there to learn, work hard and help each other out. In my opinion, this is more important than the curriculum itself because your "eureka" moments in programming never really come in the classroom. They come when late at night as you and your classmates are grinding away at a problem.

    3. How Fullstack compares to other bootcamps

    I can't really say to how I fare against other schools' graduates, but what I can say is that my first employer did tell me the practical knowledge that I had coming through the door was that of a CS Grad with a year's working experience. All in all, I wouldn't worry too much about the competition and whether going to bootcamp A or bootcamp B will give you a step up over someone else. At the end of the day, which school you go to won't matter much the moment you step in front of that whiteboard in an interview because you're on your own. Bootcamps aren't silver bullets that will turn anyone into a rock star programmer after 13 weeks. It's all down to what you put in, so if you're committing yourself to a career in programming/tech then all you can do is work your butt off and persist until you succeed. Do that and you will acquire skills that any employer will want in a junior engineer. Persistence and hunger to keep learning are the qualities that of any good programmer, and that is what a bootcamp environment, be it Fullstack or any other school, is able to help you develop.

    Hope that helped, and good luck!

  • Hollie Lambert  User Photo
    Hollie Lambert • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I did a lot of research before deciding to attend Fullstack and I'm confident I made the right choice. There are other bootcamps in Chicago but none of them have the high admissions standards or strong alumni network that Fullstack does. While in the program I met a group of amazing people with diverse backgrounds and learned a lot very quickly. Within a year I went from teaching myself to code to being employed at a job doing work I absolutely love, and Fullstack helped me achieve that.

Thanks!