university-of-toronto-school-of-continuing-studies-boot-camps-logo

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

Average Rating4.28
82 Reviews
8 Courses

The University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps offer a 12-week, full-time and 24-week, part-time web development program, 24-week, part-time programs in data analytics, cybersecurity, financial technology, and UX/UI, and an 18-week, part-time program in digital marketing. The full stack curriculum includes HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Bootstrap, Express.js, Node.js, databases, MongoDB, MySQL, and Git.

The data curriculum includes progra...

82 University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps Reviews

Sort by
Filter by
  • Anonymous
    Student • Toronto
    Dec 30, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Waste of time

    Chitchat for three hours every week. Being working professional, we don't have a lot of time, it is useful if there are practical (classwork/quizzes) to make us understand well and install in brain within the time we have. Online courses do these very well.
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jan 10, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. From your review, we understand that you were dissatisfied with the high-level nature of the class lectures. As the technical job market continuously changes, we pride ourselves on teaching participants how to learn, providing a strong foundational skill set that individuals can use to continue expanding their knowledge—even after the program ends. To supplement the in-class curriculum, we provide weekly homework assignments and hands-on projects to help reinforce topics covered. We would like the opportunity to personally speak with you in order to determine what additional support we can provide you with at this time. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (647) 245-1020.
  • Anonymous
    Graduate • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time • Toronto
    Aug 01, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Challenging but worth it

    This course is quite challenging and needs to be taken seriously - definitely not low maintenance and more difficult to balance if you're already working full-time. However, it's 100% worth taking because of the quality of the work and the teachings you will be exposed to. I learned so much to help further project my self-learning and ideas. Even though it was difficult to keep up, I was adequately challenged which in my opinion is more valuable. There is a lot of support available along t...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Aug 01, 2019

    Amazing! Like you noted, this is a challenging course that will require learners to dedicate extensive time to their studies, so we commend all your hard work. We're glad to hear you benefited from the curriculum and our entire boot camp team. Congratulations on successfully completing the program and thank you for your review! Best of luck moving forward.
  • Anonymous
    Graduate
    Feb 07, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Would recommend!

    Took the full stack development course at UTM. Like a lot of you reading I wasn't sure based on the reviews if this course would be worth it but after graduating i can definitely say i dont regret it.

    If you are someone who needs a structured learning environment this program is perfect. The instructor and TAs are a great support as well as the fellow students. Although the program is challenging it is definitely doable. You get out of this program what you put into it.

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Feb 08, 2019

    Amazing! We're happy you enjoyed the curriculum and felt not only supported by our instructional team but by your classmates as well. Congratulations on completing the course and thank you for your review! We wish you all the best in your future endeavors. 
  • Anonymous
    Student • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time (Mississauga) • Toronto
    Jan 09, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    In Demand Skills + Great instructional staff

    It was a hard decision to start any program, especially part time while working. The program was very flexible and it gave me the time and space I needed to get my mind wrapped around all the new coding concepts that were completely new to me. 

    I have to give big credit to the instructional staff that we had. Their support and effort went well beyond what I expected. The staff genuinely cared about my success and even if I was not vocal about it, they would take the time to talk ...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jan 09, 2019

    Amazing, Anonymous! We're thrilled you had such an amazing learning experience and found our instructional team to be so supportive and encouraging. Thank you for your review and congratulations on completing such a rigorous course! We wish you all the success in your future endeavors.
  • Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Flex • Toronto
    Jun 20, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Do not waste your time and money here

    The course is run by Trilogy, not UofT. As such, you're technically just using UofT facilities and that's it. You will get a UofT student ID card from the School of Continued Studies, and you will be able to login into UofT WiFi, but that's as far as it gets.

    You will get substandard UofT rooms that are not equipped for software development training. You will not be taught by a UofT instructor, or assisted by a UofT TA. It's all Trilogy.

    Now, here is where it gets even ...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jul 05, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Anonymous. As you mentioned, the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES) to offer the UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp. TES is a leading continuing education program manager that has partnered with more than 25 top universities across North America to support their skills-based program efforts. This partnership allows individuals to learn about the latest technologies in an environment that fosters lifelong learning through our constantly advancing curriculum that is informed by employers in our network and is carefully reviewed by the university. We strive to be transparent about this partnership by noting it on our website and during the admissions process. UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp and our partners at TES are absolutely passionate about what we do and we thrive on seeing our learners succeed.

    We regret your classroom experience did not meet your expectations. Our program has an intensive vetting process for instructors and requires a minimum of three years' experience as an active practitioner in the tech industry. We hire professionals in lieu of traditional professors to best simulate real-life working environments. We measure our instructor success based on participant feedback, video audits of their teaching, and classroom assessments. We value our instructor's skills and efforts toward keeping our curriculum in-line with the latest market demands, however, we understand not all teaching styles will resonate with every program participant.

    Initially, upon completing the UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp, learners would receive an Acknowledgement of Completion; a formal signed and dated document including the individuals name, the name of the program, date, seal, and a signature from the Dean of the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies, recognizing the skills and knowledge the individual had acquired. Following participant feedback regarding the nomenclature of this document, we underwent a name change and determined learners would be issued a Certificate of Completion. As you noted, both the Certificate of Completion and Acknowledgement of Completion are subject to HST and UofT SCS is currently not able to issue T2202A’s. We are constantly striving to ensure our learners have the necessary tools and support they need to be successful, both during and following the course, so we truly appreciate your input.

    We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn how else we can assist you at this time. If you would like, please reach out to us at (647) 245-1020.
  • Anonymous
    mujovyx@banit.club • Student • Full-Stack Flex - Part-Time (Toronto) • Toronto
    Jun 20, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Scam

    This is a scam.

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jul 05, 2018

    Hi Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to share your review. We regret your experience did not live up to your expectations. We take participant feedback about our program seriously and are constantly working on improving our course as a whole. If there is additional assistance we can provide at this time, please reach out directly at (647) 245-1020, so that we can further discuss your concerns.
  • Anonymous
    ruhefu@99pubblicita.com • Student • Full Stack Flex • Toronto
    Jun 20, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Ever heard of Trump University... thats what this is

    This is not a valid certificate program... its a $10,000+HST course that's not eligible for a T2202A (Tuition and Enrolment Certificate) claim on your taxes. UofT does not even recognised certification programme.

    Everything you are going to be rushed through in this program can be learned at your own pace on sites like udemy and freecodecamp.

    The student experience has been horrible, the classrooms are not appropriate for a computer class and are hot and unorganized.

    <...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jul 05, 2018

    Hi, Anonymous, thank you for sharing your review. We regret your experience has not lived up to your expectations. Upon graduating from the UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp learners receive a formal, signed and dated document including the individual's name, the name of the program, date, seal, and a signature from the Dean of the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies recognizing the learner has completed the course and acquired additional web development knowledge. We take participant input seriously and after receiving feedback regarding our naming convention, we determined the course would be issuing a Certificate of Completion. Like you noted, this acknowledgment is subject to HST and the UofT SCS is currently not able to issue T2202A's. We value the hard work and commitment our learners dedicate to the boot camp course and are constantly evolving our services based on individual responses, so we thank you for sharing this insight.

    This is a fast-paced and challenging course, covering a wide range of knowledge in a limited amount of time. Though it quickly advances, we constantly work to ensure student success, even prior to the first day of class. We do our best to communicate to learners that because we cover a comprehensive full-stack curriculum, topics are introduced at a high-level after which individuals are expected to dive in and gain a deeper understanding outside of class. This methodology is designed to help participants learn how to problem-solve and self-teach - two key skills a developer needs to master in their field. 

    We would love to hear from you directly to further discuss your concerns. If you would like, please reach out to us at (647) 245-1020 .
  • Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Flex • Toronto
    May 19, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Keep looking...

    I attended this part-time in person bootcamp for a week before asking for a refund. If you are in Toronto and considering a bootcamp please KEEP LOOKING...I feel that there are many better coding bootcamps both in Toronto and online that you don't need to subject yourself and your hard earned money to a below average program which still not fully developed.
    First of all, as other reviewers have stated, the classroom is cramped, uncomfortable and there is a surprising l...

    Report

    Christina Pearsall of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    May 22, 2018

    Hi Anonymous,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, we really appreciate you sharing your personal feedback.

    We regret your learning experience during the first week of our program did not meet your expectations. As you noted, the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES) to offer the UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp. Both UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp and TES are dedicated to the experience of our program learners, constantly evolving our services based on participant input, so we thank you for sharing your insight.

    We understand the first week of the program’s course material and instructional staff may not have been as structured as you expected, and we regret you were unable to stay in the program and experience the full scope of our curriculum. Our program prides itself on teaching participants how to learn, providing a strong foundational skill set learners can use to master additional programming languages post-graduation. We strive to provide strong and supportive guidance throughout the entirety of our program and regret to hear our team members were unable to impart this during your initial days. We do our best to vet our instructors extensively, hiring practitioners with a minimum of three years of active experience in the tech field and a demonstrated passion for coding. We take participant feedback about our program, instructors, and TAs most seriously, measuring success based on individual feedback, board input, video audits during teaching, and classroom assessments. We have recently updated our course materials to include a weekly summary of relevant external links outlining additional support, homework assignments, in-class exercises, and any other pertinent information participants might need for the week ahead. We are constantly working on improving our program as a whole, and feedback like yours truly helps us to do that.

    Our refund policy, as well as the enrollment agreement you signed when you paid your deposit, does note that $1,000 of the deposit is not refundable. While we never want our learners to drop from the program, we are transparent about the nonrefundable part of the deposit so that learners are aware of how a refund would be processed if they choose to drop. By making clear the non-refundable portion of the deposit at the time of enrollment, we also ensure that learners reserving a seat feel confident in their decision to enroll. This is important since that seat will not be available to any other learner interested in the program.

    We’d love to hear from you directly to discuss your concerns further. If you would like, please reach out to me at (647) 245-1020.
  • Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Flex • Toronto
    May 02, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Do not take this course

    The only good things I have to say about this program is that curriculum is good as it seems relevant and the assistant instructors are helpful.

    The class Instructor is not good at staying on topic, has difficulty explaining core concepts and gives very little theory knowledge that we can build our foundation understanding on.

    Don't waste your money on this program, as it will leave feeling lost and confused and ignored by trilogy educational services.

    ...

    Report

    Christina Pearsall of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    May 10, 2018

    Hi, Anonymous. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. It's great to hear you are are enjoying our curriculum and that your TAs are providing you with the assistance you need as you work hard to master the course material. 

    We know how challenging it can be to learn new skills and the importance of having strong instruction in the classroom, and we take your feedback very seriously. We do our best to vet our instructors carefully, hiring active practitioners with a minimum of three years experience who demonstrate a passion for helping participants succeed in the web development field. Throughout our courses, we analyze instructor performance and their levels of engagement in the classroom, providing feedback to help them develop and elevate their teaching competency. We constantly evaluate participant feedback and work to take action whenever necessary, and we understand that your original instructor did not meet your expectations. We do believe that your new Lead Instructor who began on May 8 will live up to the task, joining us with nine years of experience as a Developer and Software Engineer and previous history working on Instructional Teams for the University of Toronto. 

    During this transitional period and throughout the next five months of the program, we want to ensure our learners have the necessary support and tools to be successful, by implementing new, in-depth academic support through weekly virtual review sessions to revisit and reinforce introductory material, as well as extending tutoring sessions to supplement the classroom experience. 

    UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp and our partners at Trilogy Education Services are truly committed to the experience of our program participants. We are working hard to provide your class with assistance both in and outside of the classroom and want to thank you for your patience and trust in us as we take action. Please allow us the opportunity to provide any and all additional support you need to make sure you are equipped for continued success. Contact me directly at (647) 245-1020 so I can further address any questions or comments you may have.

  • Anonymous
    Student • Full Stack Flex • Toronto
    Aug 16, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    The best Coding Boot Camp in Toronto

    I never write reviews, however I feel if i dont it would rob others from taking this wonderful course. The course is very well structured, with some amazing facilitators and TA's.We have regular knowledge checks that help substantiate learning. I have learned so much in such a short time. I'm at the middle of the course and i already feel confident of stepping into the world as a jr programmer. i wish i had discoverd this course earlier. 

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Aug 16, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you are enjoying our course structure and instructional team. It's great to hear you have already learned so much and are feeling confident about stepping out into the job market. We can't wait to see your final project in a few weeks time and are cheering you on as you work towards completing the program! 

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps Alumni Outcomes

Recent University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps News

Jess Feldman
Published September 07, 2022
Working at a startup as a mechanical engineer, Akinsola “Sola” Salami quickly learned he would rather be manipulating data to help drive business and product decisions. With University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (UofT SCS) Boot Camps (offered in collaboration with edX), Sola was able to gain foundational knowledge in data analytics as well as build a professional project portfoli...
Jess Feldman
Published April 14, 2022
Rory Quenneville Thorpe had an undergraduate degree in criminology, but hit a wall when it came to finding work he felt passionate about, so he ended up working in retail. When COVID hit, Rory reassessed his career goals and decided to make a career change into cybersecurity by enrolling at University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (UofT SCS) Boot Camps, offered in collaboration with...

Frequently Asked Questions

Is University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps worth it?
+
Is University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps legit?
+
Does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps offer scholarships or accept the GI Bill?
+
Can I read University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps reviews?
+
Is University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps accredited?
+
FAQs

How much does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps cost?

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps costs around $12,495. On the lower end, some University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps courses like Digital Marketing - Part-Time cost $8,745.

What courses does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps teach?

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps offers courses like Cybersecurity - Part-Time, Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time, Digital Marketing - Part-Time, Financial Technology - Part-Time and 4 more.

Where does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps have campuses?

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps has an in-person campus in Toronto.

More Information
Guarantees Job
Job Assistance
Includes Housing
Offers Corporate Training
Accepts GI Bill
Licensing
No
Is University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps worth it?
-
Employment Rate
-
Graduation Rate
-
Median Salary
Awards
Recent University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps News

Get our FREE Ultimate Guide to Paying for a Bootcamp

By submitting this form, you agree to receive email marketing from Course Report.

Get Matched in Minutes

Just tell us who you are and what you’re searching for, we’ll handle the rest.

Match Me