springboard-logo

Springboard

Online

Springboard

Avg Rating:4.77 ( 377 reviews )

Springboard is an online coding school offering online, flexible, mentor-led courses including the Data Science Career Track, UX Design Career Track, and Machine Learning Career Track (all offer job guarantees). While learning cutting-edge digital skills entirely online, students receive teaching and mentorship from industry experts. Springboard offers a number of self-paced, mentor-led workshops, plus a full Data Science Career Track program. The Data Science Career Track includes a deferred tuition option, so students can enroll for a small deposit and finish paying after starting a job. In all of Springboard’s self-paced courses, students develop job-ready skills that display industry-worthy capstone and portfolio projects. Throughout the entire process, students receive support from their industry mentor, as well as Springboard's resident advisors and the larger student/alumni community. Springboard combines expert-curated curricula with one-on-one mentorship. Springboard has served thousands of students from around the world.

To apply, applicants fill out an online form, take an aptitude test, then talk with a school representative about their background and motivations. For the data science career track a background in statistics and/or programming is required. For the UX career track, students should have academic or professional background in user design or development-oriented fields.

All graduates receive 1:1 career coaching including networking tips, resume and LinkedIn assistance, interview prep, and salary negotiation. Graduates go on to considerable success: those who accepted new jobs reported an average annual salary increase of $19,919. And because of the job guarantee, students who don’t find a job within six months of graduation receive a full refund.

Recent Springboard Reviews: Rating 4.77

all (377) reviews for Springboard →

Recent Springboard News

Read all (20) articles about Springboard →
  • Cybersecurity Career Track

    Apply
    Penetration Testing, Mobile Security, Ethical Hacking
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,900
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Your springboard to a cybersecurity career The cybersecurity industry is expected to have 3.5 million high paying unfilled jobs by 2021 (source). If you have experience in related technical fields and are interested in a cybersecurity career, now is the time to get started! In this bootcamp, you will develop your cybersecurity skill set under the guidance of an industry expert who will mentor you 1-on-1 throughout the course. With our online labs, you can advance the technical skills needed to make systems and software more secure as well as prepare for passing the certification exam. All this will culminate in a multi-part capstone project that you can highlight on your resume for prospective employers. You will also get bonus prep materials to help you pass the CISSP certification so you stand out when applying for software security analyst roles. Career transitions are hard, but we’ll support you every step of the way - until you are hired. By the end of the course, you will: - Develop the technical proficiency needed to make software and applications more secure - Gain preparation to help you pass the CISSP security certification - Be able to conduct a full risk and vulnerability assessment for a software application, write a report of your findings and recommend improvements. - Have the skills to get hired for Software/Application Security Analyst roles
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit available.Deferred Tuition available. Pay when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $2900
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Analytics Career Track

    Apply
    Python, Data Visualization, SQL, Excel, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a data analyst in six months, job guaranteed! Through this course, developed in partnership with Microsoft, you’ll master the technical and business thinking skills needed to get hired. In addition to learning fundamental business statistics concepts, key tools (like Excel, SQL, Python, Power BI, and Tableau), and advanced analysis techniques, you’ll develop your problem-solving skills—something hiring managers told us most job applicants lack. Two capstone projects will allow you to bring all of your skills together, becoming the center of a powerful portfolio. And you’ll do it all with the guidance of your personal mentor and career coach, plus support from your fellow students and Springboard alumni.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb financing availableDeferred tuition plan: Pay $500 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $5,500 upfront or $1,100 monthly payments, or deferred tuition plan.
    Refund / Guarantee
    Become a data analyst. Job Guaranteed.
    Scholarship
    $500 scholarship for veterans and women in tech.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    2 years of professional work experience working regularly with office, design or programming tools. Strong critical thinking and problem-solving skills.
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Science, Git, Python, SQL, Machine Learning, Spark
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Get a job, or your money back, through Springboard’s mentor-guided online bootcamp. With our job guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. Students will master the data science process, from statistics and data wrangling to advanced topics like machine learning and data storytelling, by working on real projects designed by industry experts. With the guidance of your personal mentor and career coaches, you will graduate with an interview-ready portfolio and a network of data scientists. We won’t stop there. We know that career transitions are hard, and we’ll support you every step of the way—until you get hired.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit. Deferred Tuition available: Pay $700 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1490/month or $7,500 upfront or deferred tuition plan.
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Comfortable programming and comfortable with statistics.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track Prep

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $490
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Need more prep before you begin the Data Science Career Track? In this mentor-led course, you'll spend 4-6 weeks mastering the foundational Python and statistics skills needed to pass the admissions challenge and start your career. This course was designed specifically for go-getters who want to enroll in our Data Science Career Track, but who need an introduction to, or a refresher in, Python programming, statistics, or other core data science concepts. With guidance from your personal mentor, you’ll finish the course having learned how to use Python to complete real-world coding exercises. You’ll also be able to ace our Data Science Career Track admissions challenge and begin your data science journey.
    Financing
    Deposit
    None
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginnger
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track

    Apply
    Python, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,940
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Fast-track your machine learning career through our mentor-guided, hands-on machine learning engineering course—the first to come with a job guarantee. Our curriculum, designed for people with software engineering experience, is rigorous and deeply technical, teaching the foundations of machine learning and deep learning. But it’s also hands-on. Of the 400 hours of work we estimate it will take to complete this course, 100 hours go toward capstone projects. You’ll build and deploy large-scale AI systems—with guidance from your mentor, an experienced machine learning engineer currently working in the industry.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit
    Tuition Plans
    $7,940 upfront $1490/month Climb Credit Loan
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee. Get a job after 6 months or get your money back.
    Scholarship
    Women In Tech: $750 Veterans: $750
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • UI / UX Design Career Track

    Apply
    Data Visualization, Design, User Experience Design
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week39 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $8,200
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Want to break into the tech and have a creative impact? Even if you have no previous design or tech experience, you can become a UI or UX designer in 9 months, equipped to own the product design process end-to-end. With our guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. The course curriculum is ideal for those looking to career transition from non-design related backgrounds. You'll learn to apply design tools and concepts in the context of real-life design problems. Receive rigorous training from user research and wireframes to high fidelity mockups and working with developers to implement them. Build your confidence and a stellar portfolio curated from hands-on projects with clients. You have the flexibility to study online whilst working full time. Plus get 1-1 expert mentor support and a dedicated career coach to ensure your success throughout your journey.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner: Climb Financing.Deferred Tuition: Pay $700 upfront, and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1099/month, $8,200 upfront, or deferred tuition
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee
    Scholarship
    $750 for women and veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    All backgrounds are welcome as long as you can demonstrate strong visual, creativity, and communication skills.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No
  • UX Career Track

    Apply
    Data Visualization, Design, User Experience Design
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,400
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a UX designer in six months, job guaranteed! The UX Career Track is an intensive user experience course with a full career services component. With our guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. This self-paced, mentor-guided, online bootcamp is designed for people with adjacent skills from a few specific backgrounds: visual design, coding, marketing, and research. With the fundamentals already in place, you'll master design thinking, develop cross-functional communication skills, and create real-world projects that you can show off in a unique portfolio. After graduation, you’ll continue to enjoy the support of career coaches and access to our employer network so that you can land an entry-level UX job.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner: Climb Financing.Deferred Tuition: Pay $500 upfront, and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1199/month, $5,400 upfront, or deferred tuition
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Academic or professional experience in user design or development oriented fields.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Springboard Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Springboard scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Data Science Career Track (Online)
    • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track (Online)
    • UX Career Track (Online)
    • Data Analytics Career Track (Online)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • UX Design
    - 2/21/2019
    Rosemary • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    A course that steps you through all of the components of user experience design at a high level, but provides a tangible (capstone project) opportunity to apply the knowledge to actual work and practice the concepts. If you're completely new to the space (i.e. never used adobe illustrator or photoshop, built a website (such as squarespace, or just aren't used to sketching) be prepared to build in some extra time to learn new tools to be able to create your projects. I really enjoyed the mentorship component to learn how my mentor works in the space, but also have support and guidance along the way. Plus a weekly call helps with some accountability to actually get some work done. 

  • Anish Khanal • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The boot campt was a good learnig experince. The support from TA abd mentors was outstanding. Job search support from the career coahces is excellent. It provides a good foundation for the data science career, specially for students with academic background.

    There are some videos in the curriculum which can be difficult to follow. Springboard should have enough data now to create their own course material.

  • Mandar Mulherkar • Data Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The course is well curated and you have access to DataCamp as well. A real mentor helps keep things on track. There are a lot of resources to help with the course, many I did not use as much (Office hours, advisor help). There is a lot of study material, but you can skip over some parts. Overall, a very helpful course. 

  • Taylor Brightwell • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Springboard's mentorship and project-based learning were crucial to my success. The ability to work on actual marketing projects with the help of an experienced marketer gave me the confidence to move forward in my career. I have since started doing freelance marketing consulting and am excited for my future career opportunities.

  • Dylan • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Overall the course was an awesome experience. The course contains interactive coding courses through Datacamp.com. You are given a free memebership to DataCamp while you are enrolled in the course. There are also actual Harvard Comupter Science lectures provided for some of the machine learning topics. Something I didn't know going in, but was a nice suprise. Then, there are mini projects and your major capstone project. The projects can be challenging at times, but that is what it takes to learn. There is also the mentor aspect, which is great. Weekly calls with an expert to keep you focused and provide assistance on projects or any other advice. The community is not as strong as they advertise, but I think this is expected as most people are very busy and aren't looking to go out of their way to help other students. If you are coming from minimal coding experience in python, it will take a lot longer than average to complete this course. 

  • Daria • Data Scientist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Making a career shift into data science was one of the hardest decisions I had to make, but enrolling in Springboard's Data Science Career Track made it a decision that has paid dividends. Through the 6 month course, I was able to go from being a novice with knowledge of C-programming and some knowledge of Python to a fairly competent data scientist. Along the way, my career coach and personal mentor assessed my progress and made sure I was on the path toward success. With their help, I had multiple interviews and offers come in, and was able to find a job by the end of the course. If you're looking to make the jump into Data Science, look no further than Springboard. I recommend them wholeheartedly.

  • Joo Park • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Overall, I had a great experience with the class. The curriculum was nicely organized, and the reading materials were all up to date. I am very happy the fact that I can access to these materials even after finishing the course. I especially thought that weekly mentor meetings were very helpful. 

     

  • Great Experience!
    - 1/31/2019
    Austin • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The curated curriculum was an excellent way to learn and the mentor-led format (Renata was awesome!), as well as the projects, made the learning experience very effective and enjoyable. As a current instructional designer (now Learning Experience Designer), I can attest to the quality of the coursework and highly recommend this course to anyone remotely interested in gaining a deep understanding of the principles of User Experience Design. 

  • Lewis • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before I took the course, I read a lot of these reviews and I can say that the positive feedback they give Springboard is true.

    If you're someone like me who needs a structure to their learning then this is a great course for the price. The Mentor meetings are really great, my mentor Andre provided great insight whilst taking an in-depth interest in my project, which made me feel like I was getting my money's worth.

    The course content is also brilliant as a new starter in UX.

    Something I really wanted to know was how long it would take:

    • If you're working part-time, you can complete it in 2-3 months.
    • If you're working full-time, you are looking at 3-4 months.

    I was working full-time during the completion of this course and it took me 4 months. However, the insight I've gained is massive and I feel like I've learnt a lot about UX.

  • Vivian Wu • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I’ve had an amazing experience at Springboard. Their Data Science Career Track program is curated, but they you can tell they really took the time to find all the best resources out there. It’s  not going to be easy because you’re learning so much in s limited time, but it will be so worth it if you’re seeking for a career change or to enhance your skills. In addition to getting one-on-one mentoring, you also get extra support from the community. Also, their career services is also amazing! Coming out of this program, I not only learned the skills to become a data scientist, but the drive to become an independent learner. If you’re seeking to venture into data science, I definitely recommend Springboard!

  • Best investment
    - 1/22/2019
    Cristina "Misty" McPadden • Business Owner • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Great investment I have ever made. The curriculum was challenging and fun. The best part is you get to work with a mentor who will guide you through the experience.

  • Rachel Redford • Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I would definitely recommend taking the Springboard UX Design course because it connects you with so many valuable resources and material. The best part was having a mentor who has a lot of experience in the field. You get to talk with him or her once a week and talk about the course material, your project, or any questions you might have. The hardest part for me personally was sticking to the schedule. It's nice that you can set your own pace and they help you with a completion schedule but there isn't very much accountability, which might be fine for some people but I need at least a little. Overall, I would definitely recommend it if you want to get into the UX design field or you just want to freshen up your design skills. 

  • Learned a lot
    - 1/16/2019
    Adrienne Pontani • Graphic Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I learned a lot from Springboard's UX Bootcamp. I thought the curriculum was well-organzied, and there is a ton of information that's accessible forever, which is also another huge plus. I'm sure I'll refer back to the dashboard to brush up or strengthen my skills by re-watching some videos. My mentor was also very helpful during the course. He was promt, experienced, and very in-depth for each section's expecations. The only con I have is that the price could be a little lower for those who are taking longer than 3 months to complete the course. With a full-time job, it took me longer and began to hurt my wallet a bit! But, overall it was worth it. I can now apply my knowledge at my job.

  • ANNA BARTESAGHI • UX Designer
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Springboard gave me the passion of get deep in the field of my interest.
    By the way the main strength of springboard are the mentors. My mentor help me more than he supposed to do, and a lot of my friend had the same experience with their own mentors.

  • Excellent Course!
    - 1/14/2019
    Shane • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I attended the Springboard UX Desing course and loved it. I already have 3 projects I am working on after finishing. The program was very well laid out, the mentoring was top-notch, and it allowed you to learn a lot as long as you put in the effort which is a really good thing. I also loved the studend hours and the attention paid to your journey - many programs do not do this and so you feel like you matter instead of just being a number.

     

  • Adam Hay • UX Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    before participating in the online UX course from Springboard i had a general idea of what user experience entailed, but had no idea the steps, processes and skills involved in creating a full fledged team of contributors. this program was initially appealing to me for a few reasons. 1) my current position has always been a hybrid design/front-end coding and i wanted to be able to create more effective designs backed by user data 2) my company had started to explore the UX space and toy with installing a process and team and 3) this course also comes with a mentor that can help you through the course materials and project.

     

    the course materials are sourced from many different sites and while i thought this strange at first, i felt that it really added something extra to the course. first and foremost, it resulted in a large list of resources in the way of design and UX websites, blogs, organizations and tutorial sites that i now had in my back pocket and could continue to use for years to come (not to mention you still have access to all the course materials after completion). the other thing i found that i liked about this was that everything was not in the same voice, so you tend to get different perspectives on processes and techniques. that along with the fact that i felt the course dove deep enough into each discipline to get one’s feet wet made this a very valuable course IMO.

     

    to top it all off, Springboard as a part of the UX course matches each student with an experienced UX professional. each week you meet (online) with this mentor and review all the knowledge you are soaking up and discuss to make sure you’re understanding how all the pieces fit together. my mentor had years of contract experience working for companies like PayPal, Apple and Cisco, so she had a wealth of first-hand experience and knowledge to share with me and helped me to understand the application of all that i was learning. this feature alone was worth the price of admission for me.

     

    the one drawback i would take from this course could also be turned into a positive depending on your availability and drive. this course is a “work at your own pace” situation, so if you are overly busy (like i was) or just not motivated enough, the course can drag on and get expensive (you are charged monthly in some cases). that being said, another good part of having the mentor is that they help to keep you on track so if you are ready to make your way through the course, you should be fine!

  • Ross Bradley • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Springboard had a nice style that allows you to go at your own pace but I found that their weekly office hours and weekly mentor calls left too much of an opening for me when I had questions. Mentors are available by email, and there is a community board for posting but I felt like that by the time I was meant to review I had forgotten what questions I had. Overall I think it was a bit too free forming and needed to be more concrete. On the plus side, my mentor was very smart and offered valuable input when it was asked. There were some great subjects that I felt really stuck and couldn't be forgotten. I really enjoyed how Springboard utilized DataCamp to teach R. On the other hand, I did not like how they used Khan Academy for the probability and stats chapter. The other Youtube video for machine learning was very difficult to follow. 

  • Emily Er • Applicant
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Initially, what I had in mind was to find a UX course that wouldn’t affect my work schedule and offers a reasonable course fee. I came across Springboard online and decide to give it a try since they charge on a monthly subscription basics. Everything turns out amazing for me within just 4 months. I graduated with a UX certificate, made useful connections with liked minded people over the springboard community and also get to learn UX from an industry expert who is patience and provide career guidance throughout the course.

    Pros

    • Springboard will assign a mentor who is a subject expert in the field or areas that you are interested in.
    • You don’t have to worry about time zone differences. In my case, Springboard assigned a mentor who has a time zone close to mine.
    • Don’t have to fret over busy work schedule since it’s an online course. Communicate with your mentor to plan ahead in time.
    • Weekly calls with mentor to discuss ideas and give you feedbacks on your course work.
    • There are mini projects to get you started with understanding UX and the quickest way to learn is to get your hands on it.
    • The Springboard community is useful to share ideas, find volunteers (eg. Interviewees) and get feedbacks for your assignments.
    • Since the final submission is a capstone project, you will get to choose your own topic and build a full fledge UX portfolio (Which I find extremely useful especially for starters)

    Cons
     

    • I find some of the course materials really time consuming such as long videos and lots of readings in some chapters. But some of the materials are optional and also it is not mandatory to complete 100% of the course materials (Although it will be good to)

    Overall, I find this course really interesting and the concepts are relatively easy to understand.

    I would rate Springboard a 4.5/5 ! I’m really glad I joined Springboard and I would recommend anybody who is interested in learning UX or wants to be a UI/UX designer to take the course!

  • UX Design
    - 1/3/2019
    Jessica • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I completed the Springboard UX course in December of 2018, and as a previous graphic/web designer I could not be happier with it. I recently took some time off from work to stay home with my small kids, and am looking to get back into the field. Springboard gave my resume a boost and helped me fill in some gaps, as well as the confidence boost I needed! I worked with a terrific mentor, Michelle, who was able to give me advice and feedback that I needed to complete my Capstone project! If you are looking to move into UX  from a similar field, then I do recommend Springboard. 

  • Mike • Engineer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'd heard that the Springboard mentors were great, and I was not let down. My mentor had a huge amount of UX experience and was happy to share it with me. He was super supportive the entire time, and I'm sure will be there to offer advice as time passes.

    I was surprised that most of the course was sourced from online resources. There is no original content, but this was not a bad thing. The conent they have currated is of a high quality and would have taken me a long time to find myself.

    Over-all I had a great experience with Springboard and would highly recommend! 

  • Katherine Hanneken • Graphic Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the class to learn how to better digitally market my buisenss in the internet. I learned a lot, and loved having a mentor to help me with the process. 

  • Great Overview
    - 12/28/2018
    Erin Borja • Creative Area Manager • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Springboard was a great overview to the UX design process. The curriculum was thorough and my mentor helped me to focus on what really matters based on his experience in the field. I work full time and have a family, so the course took me a little less than 4 months. For the $2000 I paid, I wish I had more than the one capstone project to add to my portfolio. I am thankful that I have access to the curriculum after the course is done so that I can go through the process for another project on my own. One suggestion I have is to facilitate relationships between non profits who need UX volunteer work and students, allowing for real-world projects and case studies. 

  • Jonathan Orr • Data Scientist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    o I completed my Bachelors, went directly into my Masters, but then was really struggling with landing a job. I was failing the technical interviews, and then a good friend of mine recommended Springboard.

    I took the entrance exam (At the time it was timed exam with a few simple to moderate coding problems) and was accepted into the program.

    In my first week I was assigned a mentor and introduced to all of the software / learning platforms.

    The first month was centered around learning python, SQL, and completing a slew of DataCamp courses (You get a DataCamp membership with your Springboard course) that really prepare you for your big projects, the Capstone Projects.

    You work with your mentor to choose your projects (The first one is intended for a simple but deep data set, a good example is the Capital Bikeshare dataset from the UCI Repository, feel free to checkout my github for an example Username: JonOrr . Meanwhile the second project requires a bit more data cleaning, think along the lines of a kaggle competition.) then you follow up through weekly calls that keep you on point.

    Throughout the course you'll also learn how to better conduct your job search, interviews, and role targeting (Do you want to be a Data Engineer, Machine Learning Engineer, Data Scientist, Data Analyst, etc.). There is a job guarantee that gave me a lot of confidence while I was doing the course, it has a good amount of terms and conditions, but all of them are reasonable. They include but aren't limited to: Apply to 5 jobs a week, don't skip any interviews, etc. The career team works hard to make sure you get into a role that both fits your skill level, and your career goals. Let's say you want to be a Data Engineer and are quite suited to it, they won't push you to be a Data Analyst instead.

    One month after the completion of my course I was offered a Data Scientist position with a competitive salary (going to keep the number confidential but it was strong) in one of the regions of my choice (You choose 2-3 regions at the start of the course, I chose: Boston & San Francisco) I could not be happier with my experience.

     

    If you found my review helpful and decide to pursue a Springboard course please consider using the following referral link: https://www.springboard.com/invite/6HPPV

  • Thomas Chan • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The springboard UX Design online course is a cheap alternative to the in-person bootcamps. The course goes through the basics of UX design, allows students to complete 1 full project, and pairs students with mentors. Mentors are extremely knowledgeable and helpful and are well-connected in the industry. The project goes through the full UX design process, and gives you material to put onto your portfolio at the end of the course. The online forums, or community, is composed of fellow classmates who are available to give feedback and provide information or help.
    The concept of UX design relies on obtaining feedback for any work you have created, and this is one area that Springboard struggles with. Students who have completed some work need to spend a lot of valuable time finding people to help them with things like surveys, interviews, user testing, card sorting. Additionally, some of the curriculum can be repetitive and overlapping.

  • Patrick Sheegog • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Springboard UX Design program from September 2017 to April 2018 and had a great experience. I initially started my course in 2016 for three months before pausing the program. Since that time the curriculum was significantly revamped for the better. The strongest aspect of the course are the mentors providing weekly coaching. I had three mentors throughout my Springboard courses, two of which had experience in the game development industry, which was important to me. One of my mentors did not have much experience in the industry and as a result I requested a change in mentors. This was the only negative experience I had with the course, and resulted in some duplicated work when I transitioned to my next mentor. Even though this mentor did not have game development experience, they had plenty of Fortune 500 UX knowledge and if my desired job was not so niche, I believe the mentor relationship would have been excellent.

    The curriculum has a relatively short beginner's guide to UX concepts before introducing the capstone project. The capstone will take up most of your time, and all of the small assignments build to this final project. I felt like the training content (largely through Lynda videos) was applicable and engaging. It helped to apply the ideas from the video directly to my project as I took notes. Having a capstone to constantly build on while studying these concepts provided constant motivation. My mentor also helped take concepts and apply them to my project. I found it easy to speed through sections I was already well versed in, and enjoyed being able to take my time in sections that were new to me.

    Overall, I'd recommend this program with the caveat that if your mentor doesn't feel right for you in your gut don't feel afraid to contact Springboard support immediately and talk it out with them. They are very responsive and immediately placed me with a mentor that fit my needs. I'm glad I learned the skills I did, and was able to create a professional portfolio from my learning experiences.

    Something they don't mention in the on-boarding/ marketing material is that you also get a year's Lynda.com subscription with your Springboard course. This is a great resource to access if you have other disciplines you want to study.

Thanks!