springboard-logo

Springboard

Online

Springboard

Avg Rating:4.75 ( 409 reviews )

Springboard is an online coding school offering online, flexible, mentor-led courses including the Data Science Career Track, UX Design Career Track, and Machine Learning Career Track (all offer job guarantees). While learning cutting-edge digital skills entirely online, students receive teaching and mentorship from industry experts. Springboard offers a number of self-paced, mentor-led workshops, plus a full Data Science Career Track program. The Data Science Career Track includes a deferred tuition option, so students can enroll for a small deposit and finish paying after starting a job. In all of Springboard’s self-paced courses, students develop job-ready skills that display industry-worthy capstone and portfolio projects. Throughout the entire process, students receive support from their industry mentor, as well as Springboard's resident advisors and the larger student/alumni community. Springboard combines expert-curated curricula with one-on-one mentorship. Springboard has served thousands of students from around the world.

To apply, applicants fill out an online form, take an aptitude test, then talk with a school representative about their background and motivations. For the data science career track a background in statistics and/or programming is required. For the UX career track, students should have academic or professional background in user design or development-oriented fields.

All graduates receive 1:1 career coaching including networking tips, resume and LinkedIn assistance, interview prep, and salary negotiation. Graduates go on to considerable success: those who accepted new jobs reported an average annual salary increase of $19,919. And because of the job guarantee, students who don’t find a job within six months of graduation receive a full refund.

Recent Springboard Reviews: Rating 4.75

all (409) reviews for Springboard →

Recent Springboard News

Read all (21) articles about Springboard →
  • Data Analytics Career Track

    Apply
    Python, Data Visualization, SQL, Excel, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$5,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Become a data analyst in six months, job guaranteed! Through this course, developed in partnership with Microsoft, you’ll master the technical and business thinking skills needed to get hired. In addition to learning fundamental business statistics concepts, key tools (like Excel, SQL, Python, Power BI, and Tableau), and advanced analysis techniques, you’ll develop your problem-solving skills—something hiring managers told us most job applicants lack. Two capstone projects will allow you to bring all of your skills together, becoming the center of a powerful portfolio. And you’ll do it all with the guidance of your personal mentor and career coach, plus support from your fellow students and Springboard alumni.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit

    Deferred tuition plan: Pay $500 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans$5,500 upfront or $1,100 monthly payments, or deferred tuition plan.
    Refund / GuaranteeBecome a data analyst. Job Guaranteed.
    Scholarship$500 scholarship for veterans and women in tech.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level2 years of professional work experience working regularly with office, design or programming tools. Strong critical thinking and problem-solving skills.
    Prep WorkNone
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science Career Track

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Science, Git, Python, SQL, Machine Learning, Spark
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Get a job, or your money back, through Springboard’s mentor-guided online bootcamp. With our job guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. Students will master the data science process, from statistics and data wrangling to advanced topics like machine learning and data storytelling, by working on real projects designed by industry experts. With the guidance of your personal mentor and career coaches, you will graduate with an interview-ready portfolio and a network of data scientists. We won’t stop there. We know that career transitions are hard, and we’ll support you every step of the way—until you get hired.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit

    Deferred Tuition available: Pay $700 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans$1490/month or $7,500 upfront or deferred tuition plan.
    ScholarshipWomen in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelComfortable programming and comfortable with statistics.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewNo
  • Data Science Career Track Prep

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$490
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Need more prep before you begin the Data Science Career Track? In this mentor-led course, you'll spend 4-6 weeks mastering the foundational Python and statistics skills needed to pass the admissions challenge and start your career. This course was designed specifically for go-getters who want to enroll in our Data Science Career Track, but who need an introduction to, or a refresher in, Python programming, statistics, or other core data science concepts. With guidance from your personal mentor, you’ll finish the course having learned how to use Python to complete real-world coding exercises. You’ll also be able to ace our Data Science Career Track admissions challenge and begin your data science journey.
    Financing
    DepositNone
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginnger
    Prep WorkNone
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track

    Apply
    Python, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$7,940
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Fast-track your machine learning career through our mentor-guided, hands-on machine learning engineering course—the first to come with a job guarantee. Our curriculum, designed for people with software engineering experience, is rigorous and deeply technical, teaching the foundations of machine learning and deep learning. But it’s also hands-on. Of the 400 hours of work we estimate it will take to complete this course, 100 hours go toward capstone projects. You’ll build and deploy large-scale AI systems—with guidance from your mentor, an experienced machine learning engineer currently working in the industry.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit
    Tuition Plans$7,940 upfront $1490/month Climb Credit Loan
    Refund / GuaranteeJob Guarantee. Get a job after 6 months or get your money back.
    ScholarshipWomen In Tech: $750 Veterans: $750
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Software Engineering Career Track

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, jQuery, React.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week36 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$8,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Launch your career as a software engineer with 1:1 mentorship, career coaching, and a job guarantee. If you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition is refunded. We’ve partnered with legendary coding instructor Colt Steele to develop a cutting-edge curriculum covering everything from Python and SQL to the latest JavaScript frameworks that employers are hiring for, React and Node. As part of the course, you’ll build your own production-ready web apps to showcase to employers. You’ll also be paired with a personal mentor, an experienced software engineer currently working in the industry, who will guide you throughout the course.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb CreditPay $500 upfront. Then make low monthly payments of
    $61-121 during the course, and $346-380 for 33 months after.
    Tuition PlansOne-time Upfront Payment: $8500 Month-to-month: $1,150/month
    Refund / GuaranteeLand a software engineering job in 6 months of graduating or get a full tuition refund.
    ScholarshipWe offer a $750 scholarship for women in tech and veterans.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelPrerequisites: JavaScript fundamentals & programmatic problem solving skills. Recommended: HTML & CSS fundamentals
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • UI / UX Design Career Track

    Apply
    Data Visualization, Design, User Experience Design
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week39 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$8,200
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Want to break into the tech and have a creative impact? Even if you have no previous design or tech experience, you can become a UI or UX designer in 9 months, equipped to own the product design process end-to-end. With our guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. The course curriculum is ideal for those looking to career transition from non-design related backgrounds. You'll learn to apply design tools and concepts in the context of real-life design problems. Receive rigorous training from user research and wireframes to high fidelity mockups and working with developers to implement them. Build your confidence and a stellar portfolio curated from hands-on projects with clients. You have the flexibility to study online whilst working full time. Plus get 1-1 expert mentor support and a dedicated career coach to ensure your success throughout your journey.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit

    Deferred Tuition: Pay $700 upfront, and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans$1099/month, $8,200 upfront, or deferred tuition
    Refund / GuaranteeJob Guarantee
    Scholarship$750 for women and veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAll backgrounds are welcome as long as you can demonstrate strong visual, creativity, and communication skills.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewNo
  • UX Career Track

    Apply
    Data Visualization, Design, User Experience Design
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$5,400
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Become a UX designer in six months, job guaranteed! The UX Career Track is an intensive user experience course with a full career services component. With our guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. This self-paced, mentor-guided, online bootcamp is designed for people with adjacent skills from a few specific backgrounds: visual design, coding, marketing, and research. With the fundamentals already in place, you'll master design thinking, develop cross-functional communication skills, and create real-world projects that you can show off in a unique portfolio. After graduation, you’ll continue to enjoy the support of career coaches and access to our employer network so that you can land an entry-level UX job.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Lending partner: Climb Credit

    Deferred Tuition: Pay $500 upfront, and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans$1199/month, $5,400 upfront, or deferred tuition
    Refund / GuaranteeJob Guarantee
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelAcademic or professional experience in user design or development oriented fields.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewNo

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Springboard Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Springboard scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • Data Science Career Track (Online)
    • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track (Online)
    • UX Career Track (Online)
    • Data Analytics Career Track (Online)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Tolga Tuncoglu  User Photo
    Tolga Tuncoglu • Sr. Data Scientist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a statistics degree and moved to the US from a 3rd world country.  My skill set wasn't a good match for the data science community in the States. I needed a boost and found Springboard.

    Unlimited mentoring is a gem. Thanks to all the mentors I have bothered.

    You can ask your questions to  TA's. They say they will return in 24 hrs. It takes more than that but they return for sure.

    Weekly mentor calls feel unnecessary at first but they are almost not enough towards to the end.

    Got my job offer before finishing the course. Definitely, suggest it.

  • Nisha pattan  User Photo
    Nisha pattan • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Great coursework with awesome assignments, one-one with a mentor who works as a data scientist is just amazing thing. More strategic in successful accomplishment of Capstone project. Worth for all the money you spent.
  • Great experience
    - 6/3/2018
    George Mendoza  User Photo
    George Mendoza • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Comprehensive curriculum and great support throughout. The resulting portfolio is a great starting point for a career in data science and the two capstone projects allow for some personalization. Best bang for your buck.

  • Vishal Kumar  User Photo
    Vishal Kumar • Applicant Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I wanted to change my career from DBA to Data Science and hence I enrolled in this bootcamp. I joined it because of it was cheap compared to other online bootcamps and the job guarantee associated with this course. The best part is you get all kind of support you need it. There are dedicated team of professionals who work towards achieving your goal.

  • UX Design Course
    - 5/26/2018
    Cindy Barry  User Photo
    Cindy Barry • Creative Designer + Director • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've been working as a creative (visual) designer and director for the past 18 years, but wanted to learn more about the initial UX process (research, wireframes, prototypes, etc). Aside from being able to learn at your own pace, Springboard pairs you with an experienced mentor. My mentor was my absolute favorite part about this course. He was kind, patient and very knowledgeable about all aspects of user experience design. I have learned so much over the last couple of months, and have started incorporating my new knowledge in various projects already. Highly recommend!

  • Great Course
    - 5/11/2018
    Randall Bennington  User Photo
    Randall Bennington • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This course is a nice fit between 'learn on your own' and 'get a Masters' for people looking to work as data scientists. I tried learning Python on my own but it was only getting me so far, and I didn't want to do a full Masters because of time and money. This specific course gives an excellent Primer to all of the major data science subdomains. Python, Statistics, NLP, Classification, Time Series, Network Analysis, Spark, and more. Data Science is a Deep Field, this course gives you the skills needed to navigate that Random Forest, including a wise guide in the form of a mentor. The mentor to me was the most invaluable part of this, I could solve a problem in a 5min conversion what might have taken 3hours, if ever, by Googling. By the end, I was able to 'Read the Docs' and apply methods that were not even covered in the official curriculum (Survival Analysis, PyTorch, PyHive), something I was NOT able to do prior to this course.

    It is, as the name suggests, a springboard, which worked well in my case.

  • UX Design
    - 5/7/2018
    Kirsten G.  User Photo
    Kirsten G. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the UX Design Certificate Program at Springboard and learned a great deal!!

    Because I was working fulltime - the program did last longer than 3 months - but, that was ok - because I really believe this is something you can't and don't want to rush through - the more you are willing to learn and take the time to do that, the more I believe you will get out of it and not only should you leave with a great portfolio piece -- but you will have the knowledge to talk about what you did in an interview. The whole process.

    I had a great mentor - who is a working UX professional that I met with once a week and could email or/and post in the forum if I got stuck.

    I recommend this program! 

  • Johanna  User Photo
    Johanna • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the UX Design workshop to spaek a career change and I cannot recommend it more! The course content is really well structured and your mentor meetings help you stay focussed on your progress. It was also super easy to incorporate with working full-time! So if you have interest in the topic and want to learn more about UX do it!!! This course is on point in terms of value for money! 

  • Jennifer K.  User Photo
    Jennifer K. • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I'm really happy I took this course. After working for almost 10 years in marketing & sales in the New York media world, I moved to the Silicon Valley area and found my job skills weren't transferring to my new location. Springboard gave me the skills I need to pivot my career from traditional to new media. I'm proud of what I've accomplished in this course and am grateful to the mentors and team at Springboard for all their help.

    I'm really excited about this new direction and to see what the future holds for me and it's all thanks to Springboard!

  • Vanessa Naja  User Photo
    Vanessa Naja • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I can't say enough good things about my experience in the Springboard Digital Marketing certificate program. After researching multiple programs, I decided to join Springboard for several reasons: 

    1. Because I couldn't find a single negative review about their programs (and I did search for them)

    2. Because of the mentorship part of the program

    The material Springboard offers is superb and their team is incredible. Every single person I've interacted with from my student advisor to the community manager to my career coach and all the other students have been amazing. Everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful, the material is excellent and the course is very well structured. My favorite part has been the mentorship. Before I joined the program, I figured that the mentorship alone was worth the price of admission and I was soooo right. I actually think the mentorship is worth the price of admission several times over. My weekly calls with my mentor have been incredibly helpful. She really is an expert in her field and with her guidance through the program, I know I'm getting the most out of it.  The real-life projects are incredibly helpful and really build confidence because when you move into the job market, you already have real-world experience under your belt and a portfolio to share with potential employers.  I can't recommend this program enough. It's awesome! 

  • Zack  User Photo
    Zack • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My overall experience with the DS career track was very positive and provided me with a very useful skillset. The curriculum is very good, though it would not hurt to include a bit more of tools such as TensorFlorw. By far the most useful portion to me was the support and insight provided by the mentor program. This is one of the main reasons I chose SB over others programs and I was not disappointed. The career coaching was also very helpful and consistent feedback was provided throughout the course. My only comment here would be for more help on the insustry connections/ referrals front. However, this is only a minor critique the continued job search support will likely help on this front. 

  • Denis Dalidovich  User Photo
    Denis Dalidovich • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I found the Data Science Career Track program very useful for anyone who decides to start a Data Science career regardless of the background. The amount of material necessary to master is quite large but everything in the topics offered is important. The structure of the program itself is well organized and allows to build up solid skills. I really liked interaction with my mentor who gave me a lot of useful advices that broadened my views on all aspects of Data Science. Communications with career coaches were extremely helpful and informative as well. To summarize, my experience with Springboard's Data Science Career Track was overwhelmingly positive.

  • Great Course
    - 4/3/2018
    Josh Friedman  User Photo
    Josh Friedman • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took this course with minimal programming experience. I found it challenging, but I learned a lot. The best part of the course is the projects as they are extremely relevant and useful. I recently graduated from business school and this course helped me land my first job. It is comforting to know that I can refer back to the course curriculum and projects when necessary. I would highly recommend Springboard to anyone that is looking to broaden their skillset.

     

     

     

  • Egon Bohler  User Photo
    Egon Bohler • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall, my experience with Springboard's User Experience design course was overwhelmingly positive. The content and mentor calls do a fantastic job of introducing and reinforcing concepts with hands-on project work that ultimately builds into a polished portfolio case study.

    Content

    One of the things I like most about Springboard is that the content is [mostly] non-proprietary. The course is essentially a curation of the internet's best free and paid resources on UX design, which makes the course very accessible and true to the lean UX concept. Why remake already great content? 

    At some points the content does seem to be a bit overkill (I think there were ~6 different resources on building paper prototypes) but overall it was well-rounded and very helpful.

    Mentors

    If I'm being honest, having a mentor is the biggest factor in me completing the course. Had it not been for my weekly meetings with Andre it would have been far more difficult to find the motivation to complete. Every week we had insightful discussions about my submissions, and more generally about the UX process.

    Main Takeaways

    If you're debating whether or not to take the course – do it. This course was by far the most economical option I came across with the level of content and engagement. Would highly recommend jumping in!

  • Brandon Beidel  User Photo
    Brandon Beidel • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a phenomenal experience with Springboard.  As a remote learner,  I was initially skeptical of the value an online course, but I am glad to be wrong.

    The structure of the course is very intentional to bring people up to speed quickly.  The real value in the class is in the support team and mentors.  Having the opportunity to have dedicated conversations with my mentor about data science concepts, my coursework, and some tangential learning set my experience apart from some of the other online courses I have taken.  

    The effort of the support and career services staff were equally essential to help bring the course together.  Having a dedicated professional sit and discuss job search strategies, review resumes, and conduct mock interviews provided additional confidence to communicate my data science knowledge and find that next role using my new skills.

  • Vinutha Shreekrishna  User Photo
    Vinutha Shreekrishna • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I’m a current student in Data Science Career Track Program. It’s been a month in this course and I’m fully satisfied with the course curriculum and support from the mentor and the student advisor.

    I have Master’s in Physics. And I am from Mathematics background. I do not have experience in programming or computer science. I just learnt Basic Python before joining the course. Now I am confident that I can definitely move forward in this field as I already know many tools and techniques to dive into the Data Science world. 

    I will update here as soon as I finish the course and after landing into my dream job.

    Thanks for taking time to read my review. Good luck.

     

  • Angela Krontiris  User Photo
    Angela Krontiris • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enrolled in Springboard's Online Data Science Career Program in August 2017 and completed the course in March 2018. I started the course with no programming skills. While this was difficult for me at the start, I became comfortable with python in the first two months.  My favorite part about Springboard is the connection with my mentor.   My mentor helped me tremendously with my capstone projects and gave me great advice in the workplace. The one thing that I had hoped for from Springboard is referrals. It is very difficult to build connections in a short period of time and then ask for referrals when applying for jobs. Hearing back from companies after applying and reaching out via Linkedin has been a struggle for me.  It would be nice to receive a little more help in the job search.  I am still looking for a job.  In the end, the skills that you learn are invaluable. I definitely recommend Springboard to someone who is looking to get into Data Science or just wants to learn a new skill. 

  • UX Design
    - 2/22/2018
    Gabriela   User Photo
    Gabriela • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I really had a good experience with Springboard and I have learned so much and found the course one of the best technical courses I have attended. 

  • Erik E.  User Photo
    Erik E. • Research Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Springboard Data Science Career track has been an amazing investment for me. Even though I had studied data science online for 6 months on my own before starting the course, the they the course content has been curated and laid out helped me to build a much stronger foundation. There is also a wealth of resources from counselors and a mentor that I was matched up with who had a similar academic background to my own which really helped me to build out my technical and professional skills for a career in data science. Overall, I'm pretty sure that this Springboard course is the best personal investment I have ever made. I highly recommend it to anyone thinking of starting out a career or transferring their current skill set to the field of data science!

  • UX Design Course
    - 1/3/2018
    Emma Albert  User Photo
    Emma Albert • Product Manager • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The UX Design course was a great experience. It really went into all aspects of UX and having a mentor to help you along the way was extremly valueable. This would be a great course for a refresher or to get started in the UX field.

  • Omar Al-Naimi  User Photo
    Omar Al-Naimi • Epidemiologist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took Data Science Career Track course after I did many mini-courses and read many books. The main issue with data science is that there is no clear start and end points. After a while of taking diffirent courses, you feel that you do not know what is data science career. In Spring board, besides learning more, I also could connect the dots and the field became clear to me.

    After finishing Career Track Data Science course, you can continue your journey by yourself.

     

    Thank you

    Omar

  • Melanie Hanna  User Photo
    Melanie Hanna • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took Springboard's Career Track Data Science course, which was exactly what I needed to transition my career.  I'm pretty self motivated, which you'll need as the course is self-paced (you can also choose to pay per month which is an extra motivation to complete the course as fast as you can!), but wanted some sort of defined path to teach myself data science.  There are a ton of online resources for free but it's pretty much impossible to know where to start without guidance.

    The course does a great job of starting you from basics but they move you on pretty quick from there in case you already have a foundation in CS or statistics.  They match you with a mentor who can give feedback on your projects or answer any questions you might have about the material or the industry.  

    The job guarantee is a big reason why I chose this course.  It was pretty much a win-win.  I started looking for a job about a month from finishing the course and got a job offer in about two months.  I absolutely LOVE my new job and what I'm doing now.  

    There seriously isn't a better deal out there.  I recommend this program to anyone who wants to become a data scientist.  The ROI here is unbeatable.

  • Rounak Banik  User Photo
    Rounak Banik • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was a student of Springboard's Data Science Career Track between July and November 2017. Completing the track has been one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life. The track was extremely streamlined and sufficiently challenging to keep you involved for the entire duration.
    The biggest take away of the program was the mentorship. My mentor, Baran, taught me skills that you will never find in a book or a publicly offered MOOC. He also gave me invaluable glimpses into the world of professional data science. With his constant guidance, I was able to participate in Data Science Hackathons, publish and gather traction for my kernels on Kaggle and  develop a proposal for a talk on Inferential Statistics which was accepted in SciPy India 2017.
    Another huge benefit of the program is the network you get to build. Springboard mentors and alumni work at amazing places. I connected and interacted with more than a dozen people doing inspiring work. My mentor personally introduced me to Data Scientists at Airbnb (my first capstone project was on Airbnb User Bookings) and Amazon.  They, in turn, gave me a sneak peak of their work at their respective companies.
    As part of DSC, I completed over 15 technical projects and 2 major Capstone Projects. With the help of my mentor, I was able to channel my work in the right places. My analysis on TED Talks caught the eye of the Kaggle CEO who then submitted my notebook to the official TED Team. My second capstone project on Movie Recommender Systems had me publishing a dataset that was trending at the top for 3 straight days. 
    The material I learnt from Springboard also helped me in performing reasonably well in Data Science Competitions. My bachelors' thesis project on Fake News Detection is also based on the knowledge I acquired from the program. 
    Finally, DSC prepares you for the non technical aspects of getting a job. There are intensive, personal evaluations of your LinkedIn Profile, your resume and mock interviews. These exercises prepare you well for evaluating, applying and eventually interviewing for various data science jobs.
    All in all, DSC is a great investment if you want to switch careers or get started with the field of Data Science. It prepares you for entry level Data Science jobs and equips you with enough expertise to jump into more advanced material after the program. Highly recommended!

  • Great Course!
    - 11/3/2017
    Alla Prazyan  User Photo
    Alla Prazyan • Graphic Designer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am in Graphic Design industry for more than 8 years and I was happy to explore UX Design course here on Springboard.  The curriculum is very well designed and covers all aspects of UX design. This course is ideal for busy people, who cannot attend scheduled classes on site. Mentors are all professionals from the UX field, and student's advisors are always right away ready to assist with any question.

Thanks!