springboard-logo

Springboard

Online

Springboard

Avg Rating:4.77 ( 357 reviews )

Springboard is an online coding school offering online, flexible, mentor-led courses including the Data Science Career Track, UX Design Career Track, and Machine Learning Career Track (all offer job guarantees), in addition to Digital Marketing and Cybersecurity courses. While learning cutting-edge digital skills entirely online, students receive teaching and mentorship from industry experts. Springboard offers a number of self-paced, mentor-led workshops, plus a full Data Science Career Track program. The Data Science Career Track includes a deferred tuition option, so students can enroll for a small deposit and finish paying after starting a job. In all of Springboard’s self-paced courses, students develop job-ready skills that display industry-worthy capstone and portfolio projects. Throughout the entire process, students receive support from their industry mentor, as well as Springboard's resident advisors and the larger student/alumni community. Springboard combines expert-curated curricula with one-on-one mentorship. Springboard has served thousands of students from around the world.

To apply, applicants fill out an online form, take an aptitude test, then talk with a school representative about their background and motivations. For the data science career track a background in statistics and/or programming is required. For the UX career track, students should have academic or professional background in user design or development-oriented fields.

All graduates receive 1:1 career coaching including networking tips, resume and LinkedIn assistance, interview prep, and salary negotiation. Graduates go on to considerable success: those who accepted new jobs reported an average annual salary increase of $19,919. And because of the job guarantee, students who don’t find a job within six months of graduation receive a full refund.

Recent Springboard Reviews: Rating 4.77

all (357) reviews for Springboard →

Recent Springboard News

Read all (19) articles about Springboard →
  • Cybersecurity Career Track

    Apply
    Penetration Testing, Mobile Security, Ethical Hacking
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,900
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Your springboard to a cybersecurity career The cybersecurity industry is expected to have 3.5 million high paying unfilled jobs by 2021 (source). If you have experience in related technical fields and are interested in a cybersecurity career, now is the time to get started! In this bootcamp, you will develop your cybersecurity skill set under the guidance of an industry expert who will mentor you 1-on-1 throughout the course. With our online labs, you can advance the technical skills needed to make systems and software more secure as well as prepare for passing the certification exam. All this will culminate in a multi-part capstone project that you can highlight on your resume for prospective employers. You will also get bonus prep materials to help you pass the CISSP certification so you stand out when applying for software security analyst roles. Career transitions are hard, but we’ll support you every step of the way - until you are hired. By the end of the course, you will: - Develop the technical proficiency needed to make software and applications more secure - Gain preparation to help you pass the CISSP security certification - Be able to conduct a full risk and vulnerability assessment for a software application, write a report of your findings and recommend improvements. - Have the skills to get hired for Software/Application Security Analyst roles
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit available.Deferred Tuition available. Pay when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $2900
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Analytics Career Track

    Apply
    Python, SQL, Excel, Data Visualization, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a data analyst in six months, job guaranteed! Through this course, developed in partnership with Microsoft, you’ll master the technical and business thinking skills needed to get hired. In addition to learning fundamental business statistics concepts, key tools (like Excel, SQL, Python, Power BI, and Tableau), and advanced analysis techniques, you’ll develop your problem-solving skills—something hiring managers told us most job applicants lack. Two capstone projects will allow you to bring all of your skills together, becoming the center of a powerful portfolio. And you’ll do it all with the guidance of your personal mentor and career coach, plus support from your fellow students and Springboard alumni.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb financing availableDeferred tuition plan: Pay $500 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $5,500 upfront or $1,100 monthly payments, or deferred tuition plan.
    Refund / Guarantee
    Become a data analyst. Job Guaranteed.
    Scholarship
    $500 scholarship for veterans and women in tech.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    2 years of professional work experience working regularly with office, design or programming tools. Strong critical thinking and problem-solving skills.
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Science, Git, Python, SQL, Machine Learning, Spark
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Get a job, or your money back, through Springboard’s mentor-guided online bootcamp. With our job guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. Students will master the data science process, from statistics and data wrangling to advanced topics like machine learning and data storytelling, by working on real projects designed by industry experts. With the guidance of your personal mentor and career coaches, you will graduate with an interview-ready portfolio and a network of data scientists. We won’t stop there. We know that career transitions are hard, and we’ll support you every step of the way—until you get hired.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit. Deferred Tuition available: Pay $700 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1490/month or $7,500 upfront or deferred tuition plan.
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Comfortable programming and comfortable with statistics.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track Prep

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $490
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Need more prep before you begin the Data Science Career Track? In this mentor-led course, you'll spend 4-6 weeks mastering the foundational Python and statistics skills needed to pass the admissions challenge and start your career. This course was designed specifically for go-getters who want to enroll in our Data Science Career Track, but who need an introduction to, or a refresher in, Python programming, statistics, or other core data science concepts. With guidance from your personal mentor, you’ll finish the course having learned how to use Python to complete real-world coding exercises. You’ll also be able to ace our Data Science Career Track admissions challenge and begin your data science journey.
    Financing
    Deposit
    None
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginnger
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Digital Marketing Career Track

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Excel, Growth Hacking, SEO
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,300
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    If you're looking to get a fulfilling digital marketing job, Springboard’s Digital Marketing Career Track is the perfect course for you. The Digital Marketing Career Track is a 200+ hour online course. You’ll learn core digital marketing skills and work 1-on-1 with an expert digital marketer on projects designed to help you showcase your competency in this rapidly evolving field. You’ll also learn how to leverage these skills in the job market through a career-focused curriculum and personalized career coaching. We’ll offer all the support you need to land a digital marketing job successfully, from resume review, mock interviews, to exclusive employer partnerships. You’ll get a foot in the door people usually work years to gain.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Affirm. Low monthly payments starting at $145 per month.
    Tuition Plans
    $2394, or $499 per month
    Refund / Guarantee
    7-day risk-free rebate period
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track

    Apply
    Python, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,940
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Fast-track your machine learning career through our mentor-guided, hands-on machine learning engineering course—the first to come with a job guarantee. Our curriculum, designed for people with software engineering experience, is rigorous and deeply technical, teaching the foundations of machine learning and deep learning. But it’s also hands-on. Of the 400 hours of work we estimate it will take to complete this course, 100 hours go toward capstone projects. You’ll build and deploy large-scale AI systems—with guidance from your mentor, an experienced machine learning engineer currently working in the industry.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit
    Tuition Plans
    $7,940 upfront $1490/month Climb Credit Loan
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee. Get a job after 6 months or get your money back.
    Scholarship
    Women In Tech: $750 Veterans: $750
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • UX Career Track

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,400
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a UX designer in six months, job guaranteed! The UX Career Track is an intensive user experience course with a full career services component. With our guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. This self-paced, mentor-guided, online bootcamp is designed for people with adjacent skills from a few specific backgrounds: visual design, coding, marketing, and research. With the fundamentals already in place, you'll master design thinking, develop cross-functional communication skills, and create real-world projects that you can show off in a unique portfolio. After graduation, you’ll continue to enjoy the support of career coaches and access to our employer network so that you can land an entry-level UX job.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner: Climb Financing.Deferred Tuition: Pay $500 upfront, and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1199/month, $5,400 upfront, or deferred tuition
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Academic or professional experience in user design or development oriented fields.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Springboard Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Springboard scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • UX Career Track (Online)
    • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track (Online)
    • Data Science Career Track (Online)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Springboard Review
    - 1/10/2019
    Laura Friese  User Photo
    Laura Friese • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall I had a pretty good experience with Springboard. The curriculum was very robust, and I felt like they covered a wide range of topics. I found the homework to take much longer than the suggested time, but the Student Support was very helpful, and gave me specific help and corrections for my work. I got a job a few months after I started the program, so I can't speak much to the job support, but I'm glad I had the opportunity to build a portfolio. The mentor aspect also kept me honest and on task, which was positive. 

  • Abby • Consultant • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My experience with the UX Design course at Springboard was incredibly pleasant. The materials gathered and provided to the student are thorough without being overwhelming. Being able to work at my own pace has always been the best way to learn for me and the mentor calls provided insight that you wouldn't be able to receive in a traditional classroom setting. My mentor encouraged and helped me set proper goals for our next calls and in the end I had a great portfolio to use for future positions. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone wanting to further their UX knowledge and build a portfolio.

  • Riley • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I really enjoyed the Springboard UX design program. It's self-paced, so you do have to have some motivation to finish / get work done, but I found the curriculum to be a great overview of all aspects of UX. I thought all the info was relevant and interesting, and confirmed that I want to work in UX for a career!

    As for timeline, I was able to finish the program in one month while also working a part time job. I only felt a little pressed for time at the very end when I was finishing up the final project.

    The mentor calls were particularly helpful, especially for career and portfolio advice. Overall I thought this course was great and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in UX.

  • Lars • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    It was a pleasure and I enjoyed it very much! Upfront I read that former students found Springboard to be so effective because of the mentor calls. That is, for sure, a very important reason. But I want to add that I find the current curricular also very well thought through. I noticed how I was able to put more and more pieces together and create a complete picture of what the course was promising. Well done guys! Thank you very much and all the best to you! I can definitely recommend Springboard!

  • Review
    - 12/22/2016
    Jes Kuruvilla • PostDoctoral Fellow • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This is a review of the Foundations of Data Science course through Springboard. I've found the course to be very thorough and specifically catered to an individual with little to no knowledge of the basic tools of large data compilation, analysis and presentation. Real-life data is messy and the course caters to the basic process of cleaning and compiling data that is then suited for hypothesis driven analysis.

    It is expensive and well worth if only individuals have substantial time allocated in the day to completed both learning of concepts as well as implementation of the code. One can avail of several shortcuts during the course , which would severly handicap the learning experience. Hence the onus lies on the individual to put an honest effort to work through the datasets in conjunction with the instructors to get the best out of the course.

    The self paced learning and the help of the instructor helps busy individuals like me to get a grasp of odd concepts and move through the course. Along with my assigned project I was able to apply concepts to my personal work which is doubly satisfying.

    If I were to repeat this course, I would go through the courses in Datacamp, complete them and then join the Foundations course.

     

  • Ben Northern • Graphic Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    With a wonderfully-planned curriculum, an extremely helpful support staff and continuous guidance from a professional mentor, I have learned so much!  And I actually had fun while learning.  Springboard has cultivated an active community of students and graduates.  I would recommend this course for anyone interested in a UX career or anyone who just wants to add UX Design to their skill set.  Ongoing mini projects help you apply what you have learned, and they add up to form a thorough capstone project.  I would recommend giving this course 2-3 months, so projects have a chance to fully form and are not rushed. Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Ben I. • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the Data Analytics for Business course this Fall, and it was easily the best career decision I've ever made. Nearly one month after the course ended I recieved a job offer to do data analytics at a consulting firm. Here's why I'm prepared for this job:

    First off, my instructor was an analytics expert whose passion and patience is remarkable. All of the feedback I recieved was constructive, positive, and timely. Additionally, his advice on the job application/interview process made all the difference for me. 

    Second, the course material is challenging, applicable to "real world" analytics work, and surprisingly fun. I found myself wanting to do even more case study work when I completed the course material. 

    Finally, the Springboard team is a group of happy professionals who truly, sincerely want to see you succeed. That's awesome.

    I would recommend this course to anyone looking to make a career pivot into analytics, or to those who simply want to add analytics concepts into their current position. 

  • Maria • Senior Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I discovered Springboard through the Philly design community and it's been a great decision. I've been working as an agency designer for close to 10 years and was at a point in my career where I knew I needed to make some changes to stay relevant with the rapidly evolving industry. Grad school wasn't looking like the best option, due to its expense and timeframe. For these reasons, Springboard is an excellent alternative to a long-term degree. You get a solid understanding of the core principles of UX design, and their curriculum provides you with a good range of articles and videos from top sources. This is especially helpful since, if you just do a search of UX articles without having any real background in it, the sheer amount of information out there can be overwhelming. By curating a collection of content, Springboard makes it easier to navigate learning about UX design. It was exactly the type of program I was looking for, and I'm glad that I'm able to apply what I'm learning in my office. My student advisor, Catherina, is always pleasant, responsive, and helpful, and my student mentor, Emily, is fantastic. Super knowledgeable, friendly, and supportive. It makes a difference speaking directly to someone who knows the ropes and can provide input. So glad I enrolled!

  • Griffin Macaulay • Web Designer and Illustrator • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    First, let me say that this isn't an easy course. At least it shouldn't be if you're pushing yourself. It is worth your time and money if it's something you're serious about. If you're not sure, be aware of that before investing.

    With that out of the way, I can say with confidence that this is a very good way to get started and branch out into the world of User Experience Design. You'll complete a couple of projects that will walk you through how to approach problems in order to solve them accurately with the added tutelage of a skilled UX professional at your side. It will teach you to fail quickly and be okay with it. You'll learn to find and interview users within a targeted demographic, synthesize patterns and solutions from the data collected, and create quick, iterative prototypes to quickly check to see if you're solving your specific problem well or not. It's a good class.

    If you're a working professional in the field, consider asking your company to cover or help cover the tuition. What you learn from this course will end up helping them in return. I worked very hard in this course for four months and got a lot out of it, and by completing it you'll retain access to the material (even as it evolves and changes) for life. It's a very solid investment in yourself, you just have to be a good self-motivator in order to make it through to the end.

  • Charles Franzen • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This was a great start to my foray into Data Science. I got acquainted with the tools and methods of the trade, and completed interesting assignments and projects. I took the course to see if Data Science was something that I wanted to pursue further, and now I'm enrolled in a Masters program. The mentorship was especially helpful, and I think Springboard was well worth the time and money.

  • Daniel Addison • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am currently a student of the Foundation of Data Science course. I must say, the course is excelllent! The mentor I have is an awesome person.

    This is an great experience for me. I definitely recommend the course for those who are interested in becoming a data scientist. I await the job assistance is the reason for low rating at the moment. However, I am absolutely confident Springboard will place me on my dream job as a data scientist. 

     

  • Carmen Martínez • Data analyst at GeoPhy • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The course was great. I learnt all the tools needed to be a good data scientist. Having a supervisor and a project to work on, makes the entire learning experience enriching and exciting. 

  • Springboard Reviews
    - 12/20/2016
    Ying Liu • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I really like the online course. It use multi-media which is very clear. My mentor is so nice and patient. He is very smart to guide me throng the whole design process. I also like the interaction in the student community, which allowed us to learn from each other. 

  • Matt Ballreich • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    i am currently enrolled and definitely think this a great course for UX! From the curriculum that helps you learn the basics of UX to the mentor calls with someone working in UX, to the weekly office hours I have learned a lot about the UX field! It seems to be preparing me well for the UX field because I am finding that the course contact has prepared me for the UX networking that I have done so far! I am confident after I get through the course I will have a good portfolio and base for getting into the field! I would definitely recommend the course to anyone looking to see if UX is the field for them and to develop a portfolio and basic UX knowledge!

  • Great Course
    - 12/20/2016
    Harshala Rajesh
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    One of the best Online courses I have attended. Program structure is very good... Mentor are knowledgable, responsive. Datacamp team is very helpful through out the course. Overall a greap experience 

  • Brenden Martin • Director Of Marketing and Technology • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    At my job, we noticed a big need for someone with UX Design experience to fully vet out projects and ideas prior to pushing them into development. I was granted the ability to take the UX Design course through Springboard and instantly loved the setup. I was able to log on whenever, have tons of curriculum to go through. Lessons were easy to follow along and the project I did was extremely useful in my own life. Each week I met with Dave Hawkins who is a very talented mentor and made complex items very easy to understand. I have seen an improvement in my work, my clients happiness and am able to attack problems better after completing the course. I would recommend this to anyone interested in a career in UX design. 

  • Worked immediately!
    - 12/19/2016
    Justin Calingasan • Product Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The course was very relevant for my job and I was applying learnings to my work as I went with the units in the course. I think that as a test for usability, it doesn't get more usable than that.

  • Mike • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Data Science Intensive course at Springboard turned out to be exactly what I was looking for.  It brings together a good collection of content and exercises to allow students to adapt a technical background to current data science skills and tools. 

    When I applied, I didn't appreciate how beneficial the mentoring structure is in building both knowledge and confidence.  Besides being very helpful with the technical curriculum when I get stuck, we also spend time talking about the data science industry as a whole to help prepare for my job search once I get through the rest of the course. 

  • Sophia • Business Analyst
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The Data Analytics for Business course had :-

    1)Great content- the case submission every alternate week kept me on the track. Being an analytical thinker,I read the material and jumped straight to the case assignment due.

    During the weekly mentor call, I discussed my problem solutions and approach with my Mentor who was very helpful.She gave me great feedback and examples from her job which I inculcated in my final submission.

    2)The weekly mentor calls kept me accountable to always be working on the course content. That is the best part about this course.

    Great experience. Would highly recommend this course!

     

  • Dario • Volume Sales Coordinator • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    You might be wondering how someone with no background in tech decided to enroll in a UX design course. I was an Area Manager with Costco for 5 years, 9 years with them in total, and I just started to get desperate; looking for a way out. One of my close friends has been successful in his career, and he is now a Talent Coordinator (or something like that. it doesn't even sound like a real job). We were hanging out and I was venting about my dislike for my career choice, then he suggested that I look into UX design. We went to college together, and we both have a degree in visual arts, so he knew I had creativity in me. He even recommended Springboard. 

    The more I read about UX, the more I felt like I was already doing it, in a way. I worked in an area where I was consistently redisigning the customer's shopping experience... physically. The concept came very naturally to me, and I felt confident that I could apply it to mobile and web design, so I enrolled. 

    It seems that the staff at Springboard are very open and very helpful. I never had an email that went unanswered. My mentor was very positive, encouraging and understanding. Through the first half of the course, I was very motivated. I didn't fully understand the first project, a harvard design challenge, which was to "redesign the gift-giving experience." I thought to myself, "Aren't gifts supposed to be a surprise? Why would I interview someone about the gift they want?" It wasn't until I forced myself through the project that I got a clearer understanding of what to do. When I moved on to my own project idea is when the wheels started to really turn. 

    There are a lot of articles to read and a lot of videos to watch; all with important information, most are very boring and monotone. I suppose it's tough to find highly skilled UX designers with a lot of charisma... Anyway, I always had questions, and I always emailed my mentor about them. He always replied with an answer, but sometimes it was better to discuss on our weekly video chat. 

    The process of UX was new to me, so even though I really didn't like it, I was excited about it. There were so many new terms and unfamiliar ideas, so it was a challenge. At some points, I felt like many aspects of UX were a bit pretentious or unnecessary, but that's coming from me; a person who is new to this world. 

    I've never been fully motivated to do research, conduct interviews or gather data. I have done these things in the past, but only because they were part of the job. In UX, that IS the job. Still, I went ahead and spoke with family, friends, co-workers and even posted in the Springboard Community on Google+ for help. It turned out that I enjoyed creating surveys and gathering data. I just don't like talking to people (haha). Even in the Springboard Community I felt somewhat uncomfortable because it seemed like all the members where overwhelmingly positive. It was either that, or they were faking it, and both ideas were a turn-off to me. However, I can't complain too much because many of them did participate in my surveys and things and even provided feedback. So, if I ever didn't thank you, then just let me do it now. 

    My favorite part of this course was the actual designing. I enjoy sketching, and it turns out that I love the Sketch program (I paid $100 for it, one time payment, worth it). I've never used it before, but I picked it up really quick. My mentor was legitimately impressed with my first round of wireframes. This part of the course is where I put the most effort in, where I spent the most time, and somehow where I started to lose motivation. The work became very tedious and repetitive, but I suppose that is the case with most things. Again, I pushed through. I eventually had a testable wireframe flow that I uploaded to InVision. Once I started to get feedback from that, my motivation went back up. I guess it's nice to see some sort of result after putting in a lot of work. 

    I designed two flows for my mobile app project, my mentor approved them, and then I moved on to create a presentation. You can view my Capstone Project here

    Where am I now?

    Well, just before I started the course I had demoted myself from my management position. I was headed that direction regardless, because I was unhappy/unfulfilled, but it would've been really tough to work a 10-hour day, come home exhausted, and focus even harder on my course work. So now I was in a position with much less stress and more energy to dedicate to the course.

    Things just seemed to fall into place. In my last week with Springboard, I was brought into a new position. It wasn't exactly a promotion, but it was new and I enjoyed the work. It was an undiscovered territory for Costco, so it was up to me to figure out what the position entailed. It turns out that my newfound UX knowledge played a big part in my new position. I was creating spreadsheets, gathering data, talking to members about their needs and just doing a lot of brainstorming in general. I've been in this positions for 3 months so far, and I'm actually enjoying it. 

    I was the Merchandising Manager in my warehouse, which is senior level. My annual salary was $68,500, my shift started at 2:00am, and I my days off were Wednesday and Sunday. I am now the Volume Sales Coordinator, I make $24/hour with a bi-annual bonus of $2,500, and I work Monday-Friday starting at 5:00am. I make less money, but I'm much happier.

    In the end, I am glad I took this course, and I'm glad I have this experience under my belt. However, I don't see myself applying for jobs in UX. I just don't think I can be a functional part of that type of work environment. Although, I think this course would be exponentially better if it helped to get you actual experience in the field; even an unpaid part-time internship. My idea of the work environment is a total assumption. I, and most students, would benefit greatly from a real-world experience in the field without a full committment on the student's part, as well as the employer's. Regardless, the experience that I gained here is something that I hope to use if/when one of my creative endeavors come to fruition.  

     

  • Parisa • UX Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    It was only last year, when I switch from Architecture to UX Design. Although I was familiar with the concept, I didn't know anything about the tools & process when it came to the digital application of UX. I started online, reading and watching anything UX related. I signed up for different online classes and managed to learn the techniques to the point that I was able to finish my first passion UX Process.

    Six month into my learning path, I found myself confused and not sure of anything I have learned. It was at that point that I realized in order to move on, I need to bridge the gap between my gained knowledge and its application in real world projects. Springboard bridged that gap for me. It gave me structure, discipline and a proven path to follow in order to materialize my visions. 

    One month into my springboard journey I started working with startups, and I can't emphasize the value of having a mentor, who worked with me on specific projects in hand. My mentor not only helped me with the technical part of the projects, but also guided me through must have conversations with my clients.  

    Signing up for Springboard, was one of the best decisions that I have made and as a result I got to be a cofounder of two startups, doing what I love and being confident about it. 

     

     

     

     

     

  • Simon Bedford • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I had been interested in getting into Data Science for a while and was looking for an online course that would enable me to study at my own pace while also working full-time. I was choosing between the Springboard Data Science Intensive course and the Udacity Nanodegree...what ultimately tipped me in favour of the Springboard course was the opportunity to have weekly video calls with an industry mentor.

    Overall I was very satisfied with my decision to enroll in the course and found it worthwhile and good-value-for-money.
     
    I think I ended up taking a little longer than the 'average' amount of time to complete the course, however this was my own decision and ultimately enabled me to dedicate more time to my capstone project as well as study some extra-curricular materials under the guidance of my mentor.
     
    Regarding the course content, I thought that the selection of materials was in general very good, especially given the attempt to squeeze such a large amount of material into a short amount of time. I particularly enjoyed the Machine Learning and Data Storytelling materials from Harvard CS 109. Probably the one area where I would have enjoyed a deeper dive is in Statistics, particularly including some Bayesian methods.
     
    In terms of the level of skills or knowledge required, all my programming experience was self-taught, however in general I did not encounter any significant problems and was able to complete all of the course requirements without difficulty.
     
    In summary I think the Data Science Intensive course is a great introduction to Data Science. It certainly does not 'make' you into a Data Scientist but I think it really helps to lay the foundations for understanding the Data Science landscape and beginning to work on related problems.

    Perhaps more than anything, it also helped me to grow in confidence and realise that Data Science is not just necessarily for people with PhDs, but is a field that can be accessible to people from varied backgrounds. I already find myself using techniques and tools that I learned during the course to be more effective in my work.

  • Helen Hoefele • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I initially signed up for this course because I felt that while I had analytical aptitude, I lacked the opportunity to demonstrate it in my current work environment at the time.   This course turned out to be exactly what I needed to turn that situation around for me.

    The case study nature of this course, along with my mentors support, gave me what felt like actual on-the-job experience.  I now feel confident on job interviews that I have valid analytical projects/experiences under my belt, both to talk to and to draw from....projects that I learned from, projects that I made mistakes on but still recovered from, projects and time-frames that were challenging yet achievable, some projects that I liked more than others, and definitely projects that I am proud of accomplishing.

    Additionally, with this course, I started off thinking it was my technical skill set that I wanted/needed to build up in order to keep myself marketable in the workforce.  The best thing about this program is that it shifted my focus to developing a problem-solving mindset above all else.  Then, the technical skillset became the second nature skill that supported the objective of modelling a solution to a busines problem in order to help a business achieve a business goal important to them.

    Overall, while this course does require a dedicated effort, I have no regrets whatsoever in my decision, first to enroll, then to follow through in completing the course, and now to recommend it to others.

  • Great Experience!
    - 12/15/2016
    ILDAR • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This is the most value added course I could ever find on the web. I have learnt so many valuable skills and knowledge from the curriculum, tutors and the Springboard`s community which helps me a lot in my daily work. For those who want to learn more about data science and get a real world experience I would warmly recommmend this course!

  • Elizabeth • UX Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    For a few years I had been considering switing from an Art Director/graphic designer position to a UX design focused role. Because I was pretty familliar with the industry and process I wanted a course that would teach me enough to give me the confidence and some portfolio pieces to actually apply for UX positions, without having to go back to college. 

    It took me about 3 months to complete the course and because I was really diligent about updating my portfolio constantly with new work , I was able to land a job as a UX designer before completing my last week of the class!

    The course curriculum is structured in a way that naturally walks you through the UX design process. You definitely have to stay motivated enough to sign on everyday and complete your tasks. The content gives you a really solid foundation of the UX feild, some which I knew and a lot I didnt. I really appreciated that as new content came out into the world the course integrated it in. 

    My mentor was probably the best part! She was extremely knowledgeable Not only did I look forward to speaking with her every week, but I learned so much from her that wasnt included in the curriculum. She gave me the guidance and critique I needed to take my projects to a more professional level. 

     

Thanks!