springboard-logo

Springboard

Online

Springboard

Avg Rating:4.77 ( 348 reviews )

Springboard is an online coding school offering online, flexible, mentor-led courses including the Data Science Career Track, UX Design Career Track, and Machine Learning Career Track (all offer job guarantees), in addition to Digital Marketing and Cybersecurity courses. While learning cutting-edge digital skills entirely online, students receive teaching and mentorship from industry experts. Springboard offers a number of self-paced, mentor-led workshops, plus a full Data Science Career Track program. The Data Science Career Track includes a deferred tuition option, so students can enroll for a small deposit and finish paying after starting a job. In all of Springboard’s self-paced courses, students develop job-ready skills that display industry-worthy capstone and portfolio projects. Throughout the entire process, students receive support from their industry mentor, as well as Springboard's resident advisors and the larger student/alumni community. Springboard combines expert-curated curricula with one-on-one mentorship. Springboard has served thousands of students from around the world.

To apply, applicants fill out an online form, take an aptitude test, then talk with a school representative about their background and motivations. For the data science career track a background in statistics and/or programming is required. For the UX career track, students should have academic or professional background in user design or development-oriented fields.

All graduates receive 1:1 career coaching including networking tips, resume and LinkedIn assistance, interview prep, and salary negotiation. Graduates go on to considerable success: those who accepted new jobs reported an average annual salary increase of $19,919. And because of the job guarantee, students who don’t find a job within six months of graduation receive a full refund.

Recent Springboard Reviews: Rating 4.77

all (348) reviews for Springboard →

Recent Springboard News

Read all (18) articles about Springboard →
  • Cybersecurity Career Track

    Apply
    Penetration Testing, Mobile Security, Ethical Hacking
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,900
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Your springboard to a cybersecurity career The cybersecurity industry is expected to have 3.5 million high paying unfilled jobs by 2021 (source). If you have experience in related technical fields and are interested in a cybersecurity career, now is the time to get started! In this bootcamp, you will develop your cybersecurity skill set under the guidance of an industry expert who will mentor you 1-on-1 throughout the course. With our online labs, you can advance the technical skills needed to make systems and software more secure as well as prepare for passing the certification exam. All this will culminate in a multi-part capstone project that you can highlight on your resume for prospective employers. You will also get bonus prep materials to help you pass the CISSP certification so you stand out when applying for software security analyst roles. Career transitions are hard, but we’ll support you every step of the way - until you are hired. By the end of the course, you will: - Develop the technical proficiency needed to make software and applications more secure - Gain preparation to help you pass the CISSP security certification - Be able to conduct a full risk and vulnerability assessment for a software application, write a report of your findings and recommend improvements. - Have the skills to get hired for Software/Application Security Analyst roles
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit available.Deferred Tuition available. Pay when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $2900
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Analytics Career Track

    Apply
    Python, SQL, Excel, Data Visualization, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a data analyst in six months, job guaranteed! Through this course, developed in partnership with Microsoft, you’ll master the technical and business thinking skills needed to get hired. In addition to learning fundamental business statistics concepts, key tools (like Excel, SQL, Python, Power BI, and Tableau), and advanced analysis techniques, you’ll develop your problem-solving skills—something hiring managers told us most job applicants lack. Two capstone projects will allow you to bring all of your skills together, becoming the center of a powerful portfolio. And you’ll do it all with the guidance of your personal mentor and career coach, plus support from your fellow students and Springboard alumni.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb financing availableDeferred tuition plan: Pay $500 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $5,500 upfront or $1,100 monthly payments, or deferred tuition plan.
    Refund / Guarantee
    Become a data analyst. Job Guaranteed.
    Scholarship
    $500 scholarship for veterans and women in tech.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    2 years of professional work experience working regularly with office, design or programming tools. Strong critical thinking and problem-solving skills.
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Science, Git, Python, SQL, Machine Learning, Spark
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Get a job, or your money back, through Springboard’s mentor-guided online bootcamp. With our job guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. Students will master the data science process, from statistics and data wrangling to advanced topics like machine learning and data storytelling, by working on real projects designed by industry experts. With the guidance of your personal mentor and career coaches, you will graduate with an interview-ready portfolio and a network of data scientists. We won’t stop there. We know that career transitions are hard, and we’ll support you every step of the way—until you get hired.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit. Deferred Tuition available: Pay $700 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1490/month or $7,500 upfront or deferred tuition plan.
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Comfortable programming and comfortable with statistics.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track Prep

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $490
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Need more prep before you begin the Data Science Career Track? In this mentor-led course, you'll spend 4-6 weeks mastering the foundational Python and statistics skills needed to pass the admissions challenge and start your career. This course was designed specifically for go-getters who want to enroll in our Data Science Career Track, but who need an introduction to, or a refresher in, Python programming, statistics, or other core data science concepts. With guidance from your personal mentor, you’ll finish the course having learned how to use Python to complete real-world coding exercises. You’ll also be able to ace our Data Science Career Track admissions challenge and begin your data science journey.
    Financing
    Deposit
    None
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginnger
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Digital Marketing Career Track

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Excel, Growth Hacking, SEO
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,300
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    If you're looking to get a fulfilling digital marketing job, Springboard’s Digital Marketing Career Track is the perfect course for you. The Digital Marketing Career Track is a 200+ hour online course. You’ll learn core digital marketing skills and work 1-on-1 with an expert digital marketer on projects designed to help you showcase your competency in this rapidly evolving field. You’ll also learn how to leverage these skills in the job market through a career-focused curriculum and personalized career coaching. We’ll offer all the support you need to land a digital marketing job successfully, from resume review, mock interviews, to exclusive employer partnerships. You’ll get a foot in the door people usually work years to gain.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Affirm. Low monthly payments starting at $145 per month.
    Tuition Plans
    $2394, or $499 per month
    Refund / Guarantee
    7-day risk-free rebate period
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track

    Apply
    Python, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,940
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Fast-track your machine learning career through our mentor-guided, hands-on machine learning engineering course—the first to come with a job guarantee. Our curriculum, designed for people with software engineering experience, is rigorous and deeply technical, teaching the foundations of machine learning and deep learning. But it’s also hands-on. Of the 400 hours of work we estimate it will take to complete this course, 100 hours go toward capstone projects. You’ll build and deploy large-scale AI systems—with guidance from your mentor, an experienced machine learning engineer currently working in the industry.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit
    Tuition Plans
    $7,940 upfront $1490/month Climb Credit Loan
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee. Get a job after 6 months or get your money back.
    Scholarship
    Women In Tech: $750 Veterans: $750
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • UX Career Track

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,400
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a UX designer in six months, job guaranteed! The UX Career Track is an intensive user experience course with a full career services component. With our guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. This self-paced, mentor-guided, online bootcamp is designed for people with adjacent skills from a few specific backgrounds: visual design, coding, marketing, and research. With the fundamentals already in place, you'll master design thinking, develop cross-functional communication skills, and create real-world projects that you can show off in a unique portfolio. After graduation, you’ll continue to enjoy the support of career coaches and access to our employer network so that you can land an entry-level UX job.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner: Climb Financing.Deferred Tuition: Pay $500 upfront, and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1199/month, $5,400 upfront, or deferred tuition
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Academic or professional experience in user design or development oriented fields.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Springboard Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Springboard scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • UX Career Track (Online)
    • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track (Online)
    • Data Science Career Track (Online)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Springboard Review
    - 1/10/2019
    Laura Friese  User Photo
    Laura Friese • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall I had a pretty good experience with Springboard. The curriculum was very robust, and I felt like they covered a wide range of topics. I found the homework to take much longer than the suggested time, but the Student Support was very helpful, and gave me specific help and corrections for my work. I got a job a few months after I started the program, so I can't speak much to the job support, but I'm glad I had the opportunity to build a portfolio. The mentor aspect also kept me honest and on task, which was positive. 

  • Cheaters
    - 8/7/2017
    Shanks • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Look all my money and matched me with a mentor who has a lot of ego, who cares if he works for facebook...

    They dont know how to deal with students in a cordial way, I will not recommend this to anyone who is serious about learning Datascience, you can find their course on youtube for free

    Response From: Parul Gupta of Springboard
    Title: Co-Founder
    Friday, Aug 11 2017
    Hi Shashank,We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way! We completely understand that you didn’t have a great experience with your mentor. We do our best to monitor mentor experiences through our post-call surveys or when a student reaches out to their Student Advisor, and it’s unfortunate that your poor experience wasn’t brought into light until well into the course.When it was brought to our attention, we were more than happy to work with you to understand your situation and find a positive resolution to move forward, including working with you to find a different mentor you’d be happy working with. It’s unfortunate that we weren’t able to come to agreement to help us move forward positively, and we’re sad that you still feel negatively despite our constant communication with you regarding this entire situation.As an apology for your poor experience, we issued you a refund a few weeks back when you withdrew from the program, which should have been credited to your account. If you have further feedback to improve our program, we’re more than happy to hear it! 
  • Lauren Grey • Art Director • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Springboard UX course early in 2017 when I had gotten laid off unexpectedly. I had planned to take it, but it just gave me a bit more time to focus on the course and since it was a pay by the month situation, I figured it was a really good time to dive in. The course itself is quite thorough in a lot of ways. I have a graphic design background, but you really don't need any background to go through it. Since I had read some books, did some reading online and took a few high-level UX courses, it was a bit easier at the start for me than maybe it would be for others. I enjoyed the set your own pace aspect and devoted 4-5 hours a day toward it, but it could easily be worked on part-time and be effective. I do think that the more immersed in the hands-on work you get, the better understanding you'll have. I found the projects and the mentor sessions to be arguably more valuable than some of the articles and videos you watch, but it's partially because I learn better by doing than observing. Overall, I really enjoyed the learning and came out of the course with a good portfolio piece as well as a solid understanding of how to do UX generally. I didn't utilize the job search assistance because I was able to get another graphic design job before I finished the course. I think if you go through the course you might be able to get an entry-level UX job if you did a solid job of thinking about your portfolio as you went through the course, otherwise, expect some work at the end to make your work presentable to prospective employers. I suggest Springboard for anyone who likes to get through a bootcamp fairly quickly and in the comfort of your own home.

  • UX Design Course
    - 7/28/2017
    Ami • UX Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The curriculum was comprehensive and having a mentor was extremely beneficial.

  • Jeffrey Johnson • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    For me it was either springboard or GA. I chose Springboard because I was able to get it done for more than 10,000 cheeper. I feel the quality was just as good and it suited my learning style and especially pace cause I'm working another job.

    I live in a major metropolitan city so I can make all the connections I need by going to tech meetups and through friends so GA really didn't really sell me on the connection element. And again, I don't feel that I had any less quality of an education and my mentor Fabio Muniz (whom I strongly recommend) was very insightful and just as good or probably better than anyone I could have worked with at GA or elsewhere. And with Springboard during your mentor calls you will have their full attention whereas in a class if there's something really specific you need to get after you can get the full undivided attention without worrying about slowing a class or other students down.

    In this case I'm giving the job support a 5 star as it may be not the same as some of the others it's 5 stars for the value. And your mentor will be able to tell you everything you need to know about finding your first career in UX.

    Good Luck! And if you have any questions about the program feel free to email me @ whereisjeffrey@gmail

  • UX Course
    - 7/25/2017
    Arez • Chief Strategist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    after finishing this course I knew I was a pro. I got all the confidence through the material and my awesome mentor I needed to succeed in this industry. I really enjoyed this course and it's been very helpful. Highly recommend it! 

  • Dhanae Dias
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I wanted to start working with UX Design, and Springboard really helped me to know more about the subject. I totally recommend for those who don't know how to start.  At the end of the course, I had a big project to use on my portfolio. The price is very good, and even after I finished my course, I still have access to the curriculum. 

  • Sonia Wadhwa • Principal Program Manager • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My experience with Springboard's Data Analytics course was very valuable as it provided a clear and logical framework that has helped me think of data analysis and insights more holistically than I was doing earlier. Also, I have been able to apply some of the tools and techniques I learned to my job. Though I joined thr workshop with the intent to understand and apply data analytics techniques to my current job, going thru this workshop also helped me think how I can use my passion for data to make a career switch.

    Two aspects of the workshop I liked best:

    1. The course content focused on real-life examples, skills, and practices supported by excellent feedback from my mentor.

    2. My mentor was very knowledgeable and was able to give me not only feedback on my assignments but also pointers to additional information and reading materials that he knew would be applicable to my job. 

  • Aflinn • Creative Services Manager • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I signed up for the course for a career change; starting in marketing and then software consulting. The user experience was extremely interesting to me and it's one of the fastest growing career paths, still being defined.  This course was comprehensive, I had an industry expert as my mentor at every step of the way and in the end had built a full portfolio to show potential employers. The UX field has many different specified roles or can be for the generalists, no matter your interest or level of knowledge, this course touches all of them.  Highly recommend this course for those wanting to break into the industry or want a refresher on the principles of UX. 

  • Suzan • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the UX design course with springboard and I've learned a lot.

    The course was comprehensive. Eventually I was able to understand how the design process actually works.

    Adding to that, the mentor was very helpful and resourceful. The best thing was the weekly one on one calls with the mentor; that kept me motivated and I was able to address and solve the problems i had in my project.

    Also, The advisor was very responsive and helpful.

    I highly recommend taking courses with springboard.

  • Aisha Ibrahim • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I just completed my 12-week data analysis for business program and am I glad that I got on board with this one!

    It stretched me mentaly; which was frustrating sometimes, however, I came out the better for it.

    My mentor (Paras Doshi) is extremely knowledgeable, patient and kind. He was always all about my interest, which was to learn as much as was possible.

    I am not sure it there will be an advance business analytics program in the future; and if there happens to be one in the pipeline, I'd sign up in a heart beat.

  • Elizabeth • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently completed the  Foundations of Data Science course. It took me a little less than 3 months to complete the curriculum and  capstone project. 

    The best part about Springboard is the mentoring. I loved my mentor--she was extremely generous with her time and knowledge and her interests and mine aligned very well. She was always quick to respond and really encouraged me to push forward with coding and analytics that I felt usure about. I really miss my mentor!

    I came to Springboard with no coding background , but with a graduate degree and some knowledge of statistics. Springboard does not make ANY of their own curriculum and they don't craft any tie-ins or connections between the different lessons. A large part of the curriculum is based off of Data Camp to learn R. Learning through Data Camp has it's own set of challenges and none of these are addressed by Springboard. Other components of the course include the EdX Analytics series and dplyr videos through Data School. Many of these resources are good on their own, but none is complete enough to give the student (or at least one w/o a coding background) sufficient foundation to tackle the assignments. Often the assignments are so disconnected from the curriculum, that they are difficult to complete w/o help for your mentor--which is OK to a degree, but given that each mentor session is 30 minutes--often time runs out before addressing the capstone and other project concerns. I really feel that more attention should be paid to the curriculum---it is certainly OK to use resources from other sites, but there should be reinforcement of key concepts like..writing functions...through either supplemental videos created by Springboard, or focus lessons during the office hours.

    With regard to job assistance--there is none and the career materials provided, again are brief You Tube video clips or books that are not presented in any kind of way to give the student a view of the field, options for careers or even guidance in terms of moving forward with skills, once one completes the course. In fact, after completing the course, there is zero follow up or transition. I never received any certificate or any kind of "next steps  if you want to keep learning" email. Once I finished and got my rubric from my mentor (and stopped paying the monthly fee), Springboard went off the radar.

     

     

     

  • Highly recommend
    - 3/24/2017
    Tancy • Applicant
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Compared to other online data science training programs, the best part of the SpringBoard is the mentor system in which they assigned a prominent Data Scientist working in the industry as your mentor. Using google search, everyone can easily find thousands websites for the data science courses. However, for the people without data science background, like me, it is very hard to know what kind of knowledge and skills for the data science in the real world. This training equipped with both theoretical and practical skills to solve industry problems. With the mentor system, I was assigned a mentor to learn first hand how to think like and solve problems like a data scientist. At the end of the training, I finished a project to solve a data science issue in the real world. The feedback from the expert is extremely important for those people want to find a data science job but have no experience on that. The only one thing to complain is my mentor knows too much, it is hard for me to digest all of them in a short time. Except for the mentor system, I also enjoyed the data science community. In the community, you can post questions or share experience with others. I always learned a lot of update information about data science there even after finished the training program.

  • Landon Barnickle • Consulting Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Springboard's Data Science Intensive is a great blend of self paced study, practical coursework, and mentor led training. As part of my mid-career self improvement, I had begun looking at post graduate data science programs at nearby universities. During my research I came across Springboard which was offering a course of training that covered all the same topics as the university programs with better cost and schedule, and complete with access to a data science mentor currently working in the industry.

    Having completed the program in early 2017, I feel I came out with a solid technical foundation in data science techniques and tools. On top of that, the practical advice from my awesome mentors was highly valuable with insights into day to day responsibilities and expectations. And, while the sense of community may not have been directly integrated into the course, Springboard does provide the infrastructure of slack channels and office hours for support and communication among students. 

  • Andrew • Student • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hey everyone, I want to let everyone know that this workshop has changed my life. As a student in software engineering... Sticking with the discipline and the kind of learning I went through, it didn't give me a wider range of knowledge i wished to seek. There was no design or human interaction involved out of school. There was no vibe of control over the things you want to do. Everything was structured and it just wasn't my taste. So, I decided to take UX Design in hope that it would play along side with my Engineering/Programming background and build a more diverse portfolio.

    In the workshop, I finished it in 3 months. Depending on how much time you want to put in it, how fast you want to complete it is all up to you. Obviously the more effort you put into the workshop the more you get out of it. It was very flexible to my time but also intimidating to the point where you're not making use of all your money if you decide to miss a week or even 2 weeks. I honestly could've finished it faster if i put my full focus into the workshop. And that's the point of this program, you work at your own pace and you figure out when you can subsidize it with your daily routine.

    I've learned quite a big chunk of stuff and used it to my advantage for my school courses(depends) as well as outside business work. Do you think I recommend this workshop? I definitely do. You will also get a mentor that will guide you through the course and make sure you succeed with satisfaction. Heck, I already miss my mentor :c

  • Amanda • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I signed up for this class to help me make data driven choices in my client experience role and I can say that the desired result was acheived. I loved being able to work at my own pace and focus on aspects of the coursework that were particularly useful to me while still having the accoountability and support provided by weekly mentor calls.

  • Maneesh Janyavula • Software engineer • Applicant
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have taken the data science intensive course which is python based and it really helped me gain a proper understanding on how to deal with cleaning data, pre processing data, doing exploratory data analysis and machine learning. The course material is great. It is simple and easy to learn. The 1:1 mentor sessions every week was super helpful combined with an entire community of data scientists helped me engage in several things. The youtube videos on career and interview prep helped me a lot as well. The topics discovered were very much aligned to what they would expect in a data science interview. I even had a couple of mock interviews. In overall, a great experience, definitely recommend it.

  • Abby • Consultant • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My experience with the UX Design course at Springboard was incredibly pleasant. The materials gathered and provided to the student are thorough without being overwhelming. Being able to work at my own pace has always been the best way to learn for me and the mentor calls provided insight that you wouldn't be able to receive in a traditional classroom setting. My mentor encouraged and helped me set proper goals for our next calls and in the end I had a great portfolio to use for future positions. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone wanting to further their UX knowledge and build a portfolio.

  • Riley • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I really enjoyed the Springboard UX design program. It's self-paced, so you do have to have some motivation to finish / get work done, but I found the curriculum to be a great overview of all aspects of UX. I thought all the info was relevant and interesting, and confirmed that I want to work in UX for a career!

    As for timeline, I was able to finish the program in one month while also working a part time job. I only felt a little pressed for time at the very end when I was finishing up the final project.

    The mentor calls were particularly helpful, especially for career and portfolio advice. Overall I thought this course was great and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in UX.

  • Lars • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    It was a pleasure and I enjoyed it very much! Upfront I read that former students found Springboard to be so effective because of the mentor calls. That is, for sure, a very important reason. But I want to add that I find the current curricular also very well thought through. I noticed how I was able to put more and more pieces together and create a complete picture of what the course was promising. Well done guys! Thank you very much and all the best to you! I can definitely recommend Springboard!

  • Review
    - 12/22/2016
    Jes Kuruvilla • PostDoctoral Fellow • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This is a review of the Foundations of Data Science course through Springboard. I've found the course to be very thorough and specifically catered to an individual with little to no knowledge of the basic tools of large data compilation, analysis and presentation. Real-life data is messy and the course caters to the basic process of cleaning and compiling data that is then suited for hypothesis driven analysis.

    It is expensive and well worth if only individuals have substantial time allocated in the day to completed both learning of concepts as well as implementation of the code. One can avail of several shortcuts during the course , which would severly handicap the learning experience. Hence the onus lies on the individual to put an honest effort to work through the datasets in conjunction with the instructors to get the best out of the course.

    The self paced learning and the help of the instructor helps busy individuals like me to get a grasp of odd concepts and move through the course. Along with my assigned project I was able to apply concepts to my personal work which is doubly satisfying.

    If I were to repeat this course, I would go through the courses in Datacamp, complete them and then join the Foundations course.

     

  • Ben Northern • Graphic Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    With a wonderfully-planned curriculum, an extremely helpful support staff and continuous guidance from a professional mentor, I have learned so much!  And I actually had fun while learning.  Springboard has cultivated an active community of students and graduates.  I would recommend this course for anyone interested in a UX career or anyone who just wants to add UX Design to their skill set.  Ongoing mini projects help you apply what you have learned, and they add up to form a thorough capstone project.  I would recommend giving this course 2-3 months, so projects have a chance to fully form and are not rushed. Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Ben I. • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the Data Analytics for Business course this Fall, and it was easily the best career decision I've ever made. Nearly one month after the course ended I recieved a job offer to do data analytics at a consulting firm. Here's why I'm prepared for this job:

    First off, my instructor was an analytics expert whose passion and patience is remarkable. All of the feedback I recieved was constructive, positive, and timely. Additionally, his advice on the job application/interview process made all the difference for me. 

    Second, the course material is challenging, applicable to "real world" analytics work, and surprisingly fun. I found myself wanting to do even more case study work when I completed the course material. 

    Finally, the Springboard team is a group of happy professionals who truly, sincerely want to see you succeed. That's awesome.

    I would recommend this course to anyone looking to make a career pivot into analytics, or to those who simply want to add analytics concepts into their current position. 

  • Maria • Senior Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I discovered Springboard through the Philly design community and it's been a great decision. I've been working as an agency designer for close to 10 years and was at a point in my career where I knew I needed to make some changes to stay relevant with the rapidly evolving industry. Grad school wasn't looking like the best option, due to its expense and timeframe. For these reasons, Springboard is an excellent alternative to a long-term degree. You get a solid understanding of the core principles of UX design, and their curriculum provides you with a good range of articles and videos from top sources. This is especially helpful since, if you just do a search of UX articles without having any real background in it, the sheer amount of information out there can be overwhelming. By curating a collection of content, Springboard makes it easier to navigate learning about UX design. It was exactly the type of program I was looking for, and I'm glad that I'm able to apply what I'm learning in my office. My student advisor, Catherina, is always pleasant, responsive, and helpful, and my student mentor, Emily, is fantastic. Super knowledgeable, friendly, and supportive. It makes a difference speaking directly to someone who knows the ropes and can provide input. So glad I enrolled!

  • Griffin Macaulay • Web Designer and Illustrator • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    First, let me say that this isn't an easy course. At least it shouldn't be if you're pushing yourself. It is worth your time and money if it's something you're serious about. If you're not sure, be aware of that before investing.

    With that out of the way, I can say with confidence that this is a very good way to get started and branch out into the world of User Experience Design. You'll complete a couple of projects that will walk you through how to approach problems in order to solve them accurately with the added tutelage of a skilled UX professional at your side. It will teach you to fail quickly and be okay with it. You'll learn to find and interview users within a targeted demographic, synthesize patterns and solutions from the data collected, and create quick, iterative prototypes to quickly check to see if you're solving your specific problem well or not. It's a good class.

    If you're a working professional in the field, consider asking your company to cover or help cover the tuition. What you learn from this course will end up helping them in return. I worked very hard in this course for four months and got a lot out of it, and by completing it you'll retain access to the material (even as it evolves and changes) for life. It's a very solid investment in yourself, you just have to be a good self-motivator in order to make it through to the end.

  • Charles Franzen • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This was a great start to my foray into Data Science. I got acquainted with the tools and methods of the trade, and completed interesting assignments and projects. I took the course to see if Data Science was something that I wanted to pursue further, and now I'm enrolled in a Masters program. The mentorship was especially helpful, and I think Springboard was well worth the time and money.

Thanks!