codesmith-logo

Codesmith

Los Angeles, New York City, Online

Codesmith

Avg Rating:4.87 ( 271 reviews )

Recent Codesmith Reviews: Rating 4.87

all (271) reviews for Codesmith →

Recent Codesmith News

Read all (19) articles about Codesmith →
  • CS Prep

    Apply
    JavaScript, jQuery, Algorithms, Front End
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $750
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    No deposit
    Financing
    We offer tuition payment plans and many scholarships for the course. 
    Tuition Plans
    We offer case by case payment plans, please reach out to csprep@codesmith.io with questions!
    Refund / Guarantee
    If you pass the CS Prep assessment you are guaranteed a technical interview with our full time Codesmith Program. Refunds for the course are available and distributed on a case by case basis.
    Scholarship
    We offer multiple scholarships to CS Prep, with many students paying no tuition at all. You can apply for the women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarship, or minorities in tech scholarship.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Suitable for beginners who are ready to level up to intermediate and advanced material.
    Prep Work
    We recommend some familiarity with the content in the Precourse Unit on CSX - our free online learning platform - https://csx.codesmith.io/.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • JavaScript for Beginners

    Apply
    JavaScript
    OnlinePart Time6 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date
    August 10, 2019
    Cost
    $300
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    No Deposit
    Financing
    This course has scholarships available, and the tuition you pay for JavaScript for Beginners rolls over and can be applied as a credit to our more advanced programs.
    Tuition Plans
    We offer case by case payment plans, please reach out to jsforbeginners@codesmith.io with questions!
    Refund / Guarantee
    Refunds for the course are available and distributed on a case by case basis.
    Scholarship
    We offer multiple scholarships to JavaScript for Beginners, with many students paying no tuition at all. You can apply for the women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarship, or minorities in tech scholarship.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This course is designed for those with no coding experience!
    Prep Work
    We recommend completing Part 1 of the Precourse on CSX, our free online learning platform, before you start the course: https://csx.codesmith.io/units/precourse
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
    More Start Dates
    August 10, 2019 - OnlineApply by July 31, 2019
    September 7, 2019 - OnlineApply by August 28, 2019
    October 5, 2019 - OnlineApply by September 25, 2019
    November 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 23, 2019
    November 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 23, 2019
  • Software Engineering Immersive Program

    Apply
    Start Date
    August 19, 2019
    Cost
    $17,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    New York City, Los Angeles
    Financing
    Deposit
    $2,200
    Financing
    We have financing partnerships available as well as case by case payment plans! Please email hello@codesmith.io with questions.
    Refund / Guarantee
    Refunds are distributed on a case by case basis but are available.
    Scholarship
    Codesmith offers 4 types of scholarships -those to students underrepresented in the technology community, women in software engineering scholarship, Dean's scholarships, as well as scholarships to prior bootcamp grads.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Prior computer science and programming skills necessary - many applicants are self taught through our free weekly JS workshops/online prep course.
    Prep Work
    4 weeks
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    August 19, 2019 - Los AngelesApply by August 19, 2019
    November 25, 2019 - Los AngelesApply by November 25, 2019
    September 9, 2019 - New York CityApply by September 9, 2019
    October 28, 2019 - New York CityApply by October 28, 2019
    December 16, 2019 - New York CityApply by December 16, 2019

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.


Shared Review

Dhani Mayfield  User Photo
Dhani Mayfield • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Resident
9/13/2018
Manjeet  User Photo
Manjeet • Frontend Engineer - ResumeDoodle • Student Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Rebecca  User Photo
Rebecca • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Eric Fithian  User Photo
Eric Fithian • Student Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Stephanie Fong  User Photo
Stephanie Fong Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Phillip Troutman of Codesmith
Title: Senior Software Engineer and Lead Instructor
Thursday, Sep 13 2018

Hey Stephanie! Thank you for the feedback. It was an absolute pleasure having you in the program. The growth that you showed in your technical communication in just 3  months was extraordinary (and your ability to always dress like someone else in your cohort hahah 👯‍). 

Gordon Yu  User Photo
Gordon Yu • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Will Sentance of Codesmith
Title: CEO
Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

Hey Gordon - I just want to thank you for all you brought to codesmith - before, during and after the program - I remember your spreadsheet well :D

Webpack monitor was an outstanding project - I highly encourage people to use it http://webpackmonitor.com/ 

Keep up the good work at USAA

David DeStefano  User Photo
David DeStefano • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Phillip Troutman of Codesmith
Title: Senior Software Engineer and Lead Instructor
Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

Hey Dave, shout out to your resolve in the interview process and in the program itself. The growth that you showed over 13 week was outstanding! 

Annette  User Photo
Annette Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Quality
8/10/2018
Alex Egorenkov  User Photo
Alex Egorenkov • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Patrick Stetz  User Photo
Patrick Stetz • Student Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
N/A
Response From: Will Sentance of Codesmith
Title: CEO
Monday, Sep 10 2018

Hi Patrick as you share in your review you dropped out of the 4 week program on the 2nd day (experiencing less than 5% of the program). It’s unfortunate you didn’t get a chance to experience the program itself beyond the introductory content of the first day, as many of the suggestions you make in the review were covered.

The curriculum was designed by both the instructor Ryan Smith and Alex Zai, a machine learning engineer at Amazon responsible for building out Amazon’s MXNet machine learning framework. 

The approach of Codesmith is to go under-the-hood of frameworks like Tensorflow so that you can think as an engineer. This was the goal of the deep learning program too - focusing on a first principles understanding rather than a lightweight use of tools where there are helpful youtube getting started guides available for free. 

Understanding from first principles the intuitions of deep learning and specifically neural networks is what distinguishes machine learning engineers who really understand and can optimize the tools they use.

The team reached out to you a number of times after you stopped attending class. I know Ryan enjoyed the brief time you had working together in that first day and I hope you can keep in touch and keep cultivating your interest in deep learning techniques. 

Ben Israel S. Suarez  User Photo
Ben Israel S. Suarez • Front End Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Will Sentance of Codesmith
Title: CEO
Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

Ben we are thrilled by everything you’ve done man. The drive you had to keep iterating on your approach and then to get that mid-level offer at Kaplan from the prior background of nursing - it’s a great inspiration to others.

Thanks also for coming back for the alumni panel - your insights were excellent - of course

Anonymous  User Photo
Anonymous • Senior Application Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Alex Clifton  User Photo
Alex Clifton • Web Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Will Sentance of Codesmith
Title: CEO
Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

Alex - we loved your verve and passion throughout the program - huge congrats on the Walmart Senior Dev offer 🙌 🙌 is absolutely outstanding. Keep coming back - we can't wait to see you at the next Thursday drinks

James  User Photo
James • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Phillip Troutman of Codesmith
Title: Senior Software Engineer and Lead Instructor
Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

James! It was amazing to read your review. It was an absolute pleasure having you in the program, and we are so excited for you to start your new Journey at Stardust as a Senior Dev!

Max  User Photo
Max • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Will Sentance of Codesmith
Title: CEO
Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

Thank you Max for being an incredible member of the Codesmith community and wonderful mentor to others. We're all super proud of you joining Google - see you soon!

Shane Yao  User Photo
Shane Yao • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Olivia of Codesmith
Title: New York Director
Wednesday, Sep 12 2018

Shane - you have been such a positive energy in the office. We love having you here and we are so proud of you for joining Amazon's machine learning team. We will miss you!

Colin  User Photo
Colin • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Alesi-Andreya Ladas  User Photo
Alesi-Andreya Ladas • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
William Adamowicz  User Photo
William Adamowicz • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Steven Lee  User Photo
Steven Lee • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Chris  User Photo
Chris • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Pete  User Photo
Pete • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Daniel  User Photo
Daniel • Software Engineer Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Alyssa  User Photo
Alyssa • software engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Janelle   User Photo
Janelle • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Gordon  User Photo
Gordon • Software Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:

Student Outcomes


91%
On-Time Graduation Rate
82%
In-Field Employed
$106,580
Median Salary

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
82%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
0%
Hired by school in-field
0%

Started a new company or venture after graduation
0%
Short-term contract or part-time position
0%
Hired by school out of field
2%
Out of field
0%

Still seeking a job
10%
Not still seeking a job
4%

Non reporting
2%

Salary Breakdown:

98% of job obtainers reported salaries.

Notes & Caveats:

We are proud that a large percentage of our grads accept offers of over $110,000, making Codesmith Los Angeles the program with the highest CIRR certified starting salary in LA for this time period. 

For transparency, here are the starting salary breakdowns of our graduates from 1/01/2018 - 6/30/2018:
  • $110,000 - 119,999: 17.5%
  • $120,000 - 129,999: 17.5%
  • $130,000 - 139,999: 10%
  • $140,000+ : 2.5%

Thanks!