red-academy-logo

RED Academy

London, Toronto, Vancouver

RED Academy

Avg Rating:4.47 ( 64 reviews )

RED Academy is a full-time, 12-week or 24-week design and technology bootcamp located in Toronto and Vancouver, Canada. Programs are taught by seasoned industry professionals where students work with real clients on real-world projects. Coursework is designed to be modular, immersive and radically relevant to today's tech industry, giving students the skills, tools and software to help them succeed in today’s fast-paced digital economy. RED exists to develop and support the designers, developers, disruptors and entrepreneurs of tomorrow. Course subjects include: fullstack web development, UX design, digital marketing, UI/communication design, & app development.

 

Recent RED Academy Reviews: Rating 4.47

all (64) reviews for RED Academy →

Recent RED Academy News

Read all (8) articles about RED Academy →
  • Application Developer Professional

    Apply
    Mobile, React.js
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$10,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver, Toronto
    The Application Developer Professional program is a comprehensive 12 week, full-time immersive diploma program designed for students with some existing knowledge of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. This program enables students expand their existing skill set to succeed as a junior web and/or mobile application developer. Throughout this intensive 12-week program you will learn the practical skills, techniques and best-practices used in modern, full-stack JavaScript application development by using in-demand libraries, frameworks, and platforms including React, Express, Meteor, and React Native. You’ll also learn how to work with UX and UI designers, deploy different types of databases, write maintainable and testable code, use industry-standard practices for working collaboratively in teams, and deploy your applications to the cloud.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 CAD (included in tuition)
    Financing
    Financing available through PayBright.
    Contact us for details.
    Tuition PlansTuition can be paid in three installments: 30 days prior to the term start date, on the term start date, and 30 days after the term start date. This option has a financing fee of $300 CAD, with the fee attached to the first payment.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelOur requirements are more focused on attitude and behaviour. We also expect students to be proficient using a computer and have good English communication skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Professional

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Mobile, User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$7,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver, Toronto
    Become industry-ready in 12 weeks. Learn all aspects of a digital marketing strategy and gain hands-on experience building a portfolio with real clients. The Digital Marketing Professional Program covers all of the aspects of digital marketing and strategy to help you succeed in a career in this exciting field. You will get hands-on experience and learn to effectively use tools like Google Analytics, how to segment your target market, track customer behaviour, optimize conversion processes and ROI. Working with our Community Partners on Real Projects you will get practical hands-on experience in Website and Content Management, Marketing Strategy, Online Brand Strategy, CRO and A/B Testing, SEO and SEM, Social Media Management and Advertising.
    Financing
    Deposit£500
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available where you can split the cost over a number of months. Payment plans are also available where you can pay after you're employed after graduating from RED Academy.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeing able to use a laptop.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Digital Marketing Professional Work-Study

    Apply
    Digital Marketing
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week50 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver
    The academic portion of the program is 24 weeks full-time, outside of regular business hours. The remaining 24 weeks of the program is a paid work experience. In this program, you will learn to approach digital marketing decisions with a creative, data-driven, and flexible mindset to yield tangible gains for a wide variety of organizations and clients. Working in a team-based environment, you will set up collaborative workflows and communicate with your clients, designers and potential employers. Throughout the program, you will be given the opportunity to network and build connections with hiring partners and professionals. Plus be introduced to your field and gain the skills necessary to work in technical teams in an agency, in-house, start-up, corporate or freelance environment. By the end of the program, you will have developed a robust portfolio to jump-start your career. Working with our Community Partners on Real Projects you will get practical hands-on experience in Website and Content Management, Marketing Strategy, Online Brand Strategy, CRO and A/B Testing, SEO and SEM, Social Media Management and Advertising.
    Financing
    Deposit$1000
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full-Stack Designer Professional

    Apply
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$17,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver, Toronto
    User Interface (UI) and User Experience (UX) Designers have the skills and knowledge to create delightful visual designs that are true to the brand while balancing seamless interactivity and ease of navigation for apps and websites. With today’s growing consumer expectations of flawless, high-quality experiences, the caliber of the digital design can be what makes or breaks the success of a business. Through this immersive 12-week program, you will learn the deep principles of UX Design process while diving into how to apply visual design principles using industry standard software to create highly engaging user interfaces for mobile apps, web apps, mobile-first websites and digital marketing campaigns. You will work on 10 projects, three of which are with real clients who are part of our tight-knit community. You will work in an agency-like environment that is well supported by experienced designers and mentors.
    Financing
    Deposit$1000 CAD (included in tuition)
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelOur requirements are more focused on attitude and behaviour. We also expect students to be proficient using a computer and have good English communication skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full-Stack Designer Work-Study

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time20 Hours/week100 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$19,000
    Class size10
    LocationVancouver
    Designed to provide graduates with an in-depth understanding of the core skills, tools, and technologies to succeed in a career as a UX/UI Designer. Interface and experience design are defining elements in how a product or service will be perceived by the end user. Designing experiences goes beyond just how the product looks: it starts with identifying human needs, and ends with the creation of pixel-perfect interfaces. With today’s growing consumer expectations of flawless, high quality experiences, the caliber of the design can be what makes or breaks the success of a business. A great digital designer has UX & UI skills and is able to design any website or app from scratch. This 96-week program (focused on UI + UX) was designed to teach you the skills and knowledge needed to create delightful visual designs that are true to the brand while balancing seamless interactivity and ease of navigation for apps and websites. Throughout the first 48 weeks of the Full-Stack Designer Program, you will engage in the creative process and learn how to apply human-centric design principles to create engaging user interfaces for apps and websites. You will learn the technical aspects of UX and UI Design while simultaneously building the skills to work on multidisciplinary teams in an agency, start up, or freelance environment. You will then begin a 48 week paid internship during which you will continue to apply the skills you learned in the program. By enrolling in the course, you will learn from top industry professionals, engage in real world projects with community partners, team up with students from our other RED Academy programs, network and build connections with hiring partners and professionals in the design, technology and start-up industries, and build a robust portfolio with tangible results to jumpstart your career as a UX/UI Designer.
    Financing
    Deposit1650
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full-Stack Developer

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    Location-
    The Full-Stack Developer program is a comprehensive 24 week, full-time immersive diploma program designed for beginners. This program enables students to develop the necessary skills to succeed as a junior web and/or mobile application developer. The Full-Stack Developer program has been designed to help students acquire the necessary skills to first master the fundamentals of front-end web development by coding interactive, client-facing websites and basic single-page applications (SPAs) using a combination of HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, and PHP. In the second half of the program, you’ll dive deeper into the back-end of the web stack and learn the practical skills, techniques and best-practices used in modern, full-stack JavaScript application development by using in-demand libraries, frameworks, and platforms including React, Express, Meteor, and React Native. You’ll also learn how to work with UX and UI designers, deploy different types of databases, write maintainable and testable code, use industry-standard practices for working collaboratively in teams, and deploy your applications to the cloud. 24 WEEK PROGRAM 2 CLIENT PROJECTS 960 HOURS
    Financing
    Deposit£1,000
    Financing
    Payment plans available where you can split the cost over a number of months. 
    Payment plans are also available where you can pay after you're employed after graduating from RED Academy.
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available where you can split the cost over a number of months. Payment plans are also available where you can pay after you're employed after graduating from RED Academy.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic IT skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full-stack Developer Professional

    Apply
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$17,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver, Toronto
    Students first master the fundamentals of front-end web development by coding interactive, client-facing websites and basic single-page applications (SPAs) using a combination of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and PHP. Students then dive deeper into the back-end of the web stack using Node.js. Coursework then goes into in-demand libraries, frameworks, and platforms including React, Express, Meteor, and React Native.
    Financing
    Deposit$1000 CAD (included in tuition)
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelOur requirements are more focused on attitude and behaviour. We also expect students to be proficient using a computer and have good English communication skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full-Stack Developer Work-Study

    Apply
    HTML, PHP, JavaScript, CSS, Express.js, React.js
    In PersonPart Time20 Hours/week100 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$19,000
    Class size10
    LocationVancouver
    The Full-Stack Developer program is a comprehensive 96 week, full-time immersive diploma program designed for beginners. This program enables students to develop the necessary skills to succeed as a junior web and/or mobile application developer. The Full-Stack Developer program has been designed to help students acquire the necessary skills to first master the fundamentals of front-end web development by coding interactive, client-facing websites and basic single-page applications (SPAs) using a combination of HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, and PHP. In the second half of the program, you’ll dive deeper into the back-end of the web stack and learn the practical skills, techniques and best-practices used in modern, full-stack JavaScript application development by using in-demand libraries, frameworks, and platforms including React, Express, Meteor, and React Native. You’ll also learn how to work with UX and UI designers, deploy different types of databases, write maintainable and testable code, use industry-standard practices for working collaboratively in teams, and deploy your applications to the cloud. The initial 48 week in-class module is followed by a 48 week paid internship during which you will get to continue to apply the skills you learned in the program.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full Stack Marketer

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    Location-
    Designed to provide graduates with an in-depth understanding of the core skills, tools, and technologies to succeed in a career as a UX/UI Designer. Interface and experience design are defining elements in how a product or service will be perceived by the end user. Designing experiences goes beyond just how the product looks: it starts with identifying human needs, and ends with the creation of pixel-perfect interfaces. With today’s growing consumer expectations of flawless, high quality experiences, the caliber of the design can be what makes or breaks the success of a business. A great digital designer has UX & UI skills and is able to design any website or app from scratch. This 24-week program (12 weeks focused on UI + 12 weeks focused on UX) was designed to teach you the skills and knowledge needed to create delightful visual designs that are true to the brand while balancing seamless interactivity and ease of navigation for apps and websites. Throughout the 24-week Full-Stack Designer Program, you will engage in the creative process and learn how to apply human-centric design principles to create engaging user interfaces for apps and websites. You will learn the technical aspects of UX and UI Design while simultaneously building the skills to work on multidisciplinary teams in an agency, start up, or freelance environment. By enrolling in the course, you will learn from top industry professionals, engage in real world projects with community partners, team up with students from our other RED Academy programs, network and build connections with hiring partners and professionals in the design, technology and start-up industries, and build a robust portfolio with tangible results to jumpstart their career as a UX/UI Designer. 24 WEEK PROGRAM 5 CLIENT PROJECTS 960 HOURS
    Financing
    Deposit£1,000
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available where you can split the cost over a number of months. Payment plans are also available where you can pay after you're employed after graduating from RED Academy.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic IT skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Full-Stack Marketer Work-Study

    Apply
    Digital Marketing
    In PersonPart Time20 Hours/week100 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$19,000
    Class size10
    LocationVancouver
    Designed to give you a unique competitive edge in the job market and position yourself as a valuable and highly skilled team member. Having both marketing & visual design skills, you will be able to create marketing strategies as well as the promotional materials needed to send it to market. The Full-Stack Marketer Diploma is designed to put you in control of all stages of digital marketing: creating beautifully crafted marketing campaigns, engaging user interfaces, and leading memorable brand experiences. This program consists of 48 weeks of in-class time in UI Design and Digital Marketing, followed by a 48 week paid internship. At the end of this program, you will be able to create a brand identity and marketing strategy, design web and mobile applications, plan and execute engaging marketing campaigns, make data-driven design decisions, track customer behaviour, optimize conversions and much more. Working with our Community Partners on real projects, you will get practical hands-on experience in website and content management, marketing strategy, online brand strategy, conversion rate optimization (CRO) and A/B testing, search engine optimization (SEO) and search engine marketing (SEM), social media management and advertising.
    Financing
    Deposit$1650
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UI & Communication Design Professional

    Apply
    Design, Mobile, Android, iOS
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$10,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationToronto
    Throughout this 12-week program, students will engage in the creative process and learn how to apply design theory foundations to create engaging user interfaces for apps and websites. They will learn the technical aspects of user interface design while simultaneously building the skills to work on multidisciplinary teams in an agency, start up, or freelance environment.
    Financing
    Deposit$500 CAD (included in tuition)
    Financing
    Financing available through PayBright.
    Contact us for details.
    Tuition PlansTuition can be paid in three installments: 30 days prior to the term start date, on the term start date, and 30 days after the term start date. This option has a financing fee of $300 CAD, with the fee attached to the first payment.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelOur requirements are more focused on attitude and behaviour. We also expect students to be proficient using a computer and have good English communication skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UI Designer Professional

    Apply
    Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$10,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver
    Throughout the 12 week RED Academy UI Designer Professional Program, students will engage in the creative process and learn how to apply design theory foundations to create engaging user interfaces for apps and websites. They will learn the technical aspects of User Interface Design while simultaneously building the skills to work on multidisciplinary teams in an agency, start up, or freelance environment.
    Financing
    Deposit$1000 CAD (included in tuition)
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelOur requirements are more focused on attitude and behaviour. We also expect students to be proficient using a computer and have good English communication skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX Designer Professional

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$7,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver, Toronto
    Designed to provide you with in-depth practical experience and relevant skills to succeed in a User Experience Design related field. Throughout the course of a day, we have thousands of interactions with people, places, products, and services. Some of these interactions leave us feeling accomplished, while others bring high levels of frustration. The most pleasant of these interactions occur when the exchange feels personal and intuitive. Behind these delightful interactions is thoughtful and skilled user-centric design thinking. This immersive 12-week program will teach you the UX Design process and prepare you to become a Junior UX Designer. You will work on five projects, three of which are with real clients who are part of our tight-knit community. Throughout the UX Design Professional Program, you will establish a comprehensive understanding of how to design for mobile & web apps, as well as responsive websites. You will work in an agency-like environment that is well supported by experienced designers and mentors.
    Financing
    Deposit£500
    Tuition PlansPayment plans available where you can split the cost over a number of months. Payment plans are also available where you can pay after you're employed after graduating from RED Academy.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeing able to use a laptop.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • UX Designer Professional Work-Study

    Apply
    User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week50 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver
    The academic portion of the program is 24 weeks full-time, outside of regular business hours. The remaining 24 weeks of the program is a work placement. In this program, students will learn how to engage in the entire UX design process, taking abstract ideas and refining them into concrete solutions. Skills taught include user experience research, planning, design, testing, and technical aspects of user experience design. They’ll work in a team-based environment, set up collaborative workflows and communicate with their clients, designers and potential employers. Throughout the program, students will have the opportunity to network and build connections with hiring partners and professionals. They’ll also be given an introduction to their field and the skills necessary to work on technical teams in an agency, in-house, start-up, corporate or freelance environment. By the end of the program, they’ll have developed a robust portfolio to jump-start their careers.
    Financing
    Deposit$1000 (included in tuition)
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Web Developer Professional Work-Study

    Apply
    HTML, PHP, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Wordpress
    In PersonFull Time20 Hours/week50 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver
    The academic portion of the program is 24 weeks full-time, outside of regular business hours. The remaining 24 weeks of the program is a work placement. The Web Developer Professional Work-Study program has been designed to help students acquire the necessary skills to start a career as an industry-ready front-end web developer. Throughout academic portion of the program, you’ll learn the fundamental technical skills for this career path, including HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, jQuery, PHP, and WordPress. You’ll also learn about responsive web design and how to use build tools such as Gulp and Webpack. Throughout the program, you’ll have the opportunity to build up your portfolio with a series of individual projects, and at the end of the program work in a small team to build out a real-world project for a RED community partner.
    Financing
    Deposit$1 000 (included in tuition)
    Financing
    RED programs are eligible for student loans. We also partner with paybright.com.
    Tuition PlansThere are flexible payment plans available - please contact Admissions for more information.
    ScholarshipFor more information on scholarships, please contact the Admissions team.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
  • Web Development Professional

    Apply
    AngularJS, HTML, Git, PHP, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, CSS, Wordpress
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$10,500
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationVancouver, Toronto
    The Web Developer Professional program has been designed to help students acquire the necessary skills to start a career as an industry-ready front-end web developer. Throughout this intensive 12-week program you’ll learn the fundamental technical skills for this career path, including HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, jQuery, PHP, and WordPress. You’ll also learn about responsive web design and how to use build tools such as Gulp and Webpack. Throughout the program, you’ll have the opportunity to build up your portfolio with a series of individual projects, and at the end of the program work in a small team to build out a real-world project for a RED community partner. This program enables students to develop the necessary skills to succeed in a career as a junior front-end web developer. In London, the Web Developer Professional program is a comprehensive 12 week, full-time immersive diploma program designed for beginners which includes: 12 WEEK PROGRAM 1 CLIENT PROJECT 480 HOURS
    Financing
    Deposit$500 CAD (Canada); £500 (UK)
    Financing
    Canada: Financing available through PayBright. Contact us for details.

    UK: Payment plans are available where you can split the cost over a number of months. 
    Payment plans are also available where you can pay after you're employed after graduating from RED Academy.
    Tuition PlansCanada: Tuition can be paid in three installments: 30 days prior to the term start date, on the term start date, and 30 days after the term start date. This option has a financing fee of $300 CAD, with the fee attached to the first payment.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic IT skills. Our requirements are more focused on attitude and behaviour. We also expect students to be proficient using a computer and have good English communication skills.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Mad Alumni • Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended RED in the summer of 2016. I secured a job before attending the course and have nothing but good things to say in regard to the program itself. I was lucky enough to have some amazing instructors and an extremley small class size. Most of the skills I learned at red I still use in my day to day job. I was distrubed however to see my access denied from the old learning app. Red had some great slides that I found easy to follow. As an alumni I was always under the impression I would be given access to the material consdiering it's what I paid $7500 for. Even if the website has changed its unacceptable. Red has no issue sending me stupid surveys on a monthly basis but can't keep the ONE usable thing for alumnis up and running. Guess its back to yotube as soon as you finish at red! I would message my teachers but most of them don't even work at RED any longer. Great school but needs some serious change in managment because they are clearly just focused on money and expansion. Don't believe me? Look at the reviews from the Toronto campus. Before figuring that shit show out the deicded to open a london campus...? I would suggest going to another coding camp until RED becomes more focused on the students and less focused on expansion and money. 

  • Jonathon  User Photo
    Jonathon • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the part-time Digital Marketing Foundation course from January - April 2019.

    Right off the bat, I was very impressed with how organized the course was in terms of the curriculum schedule and access to the course content. RED has a very innovative model of a primary teacher assisted by a rotating cast of TAs who all work in the field of digital marketing. It was a very effective model, and the TAs are well-utilized in the classroom delivery and the supervision of the group project. I was very happy with my group project team and the client we were assigned. The expectations for the project were very clearly laid out and tied directly to the course curriculum. 

    Overall, it was always a pleasure to attend class, even after a long work day. This is because I was very impressed with the primary teacher and the TAs supporting him, and I felt like they always demonstrated a strong mastery of the topics being taught. Expect to be challenged by some of the subjects, especially SEO and Google Ads. However, working hard in the course and studying in your own time will pay dividends, as these topics are extrodrinarily useful, relevant, and employable. I am very much looking forward to using the new skills I gained in the creation of my own business entity in the near future. 

    I would highly recommend this course to someone who loves marketing but is currently a bit mystified by the major entities that power and measure digital marketing (Google Analytics, SEO, Google Ads, Facebook Ads). This course gives you what you need to shine in a marketing job, start freelancing with confidence, or get started on an entrepreneurial path. 

     

     

     

  • SEO Course
    - 4/15/2019
    Mike   User Photo
    Mike • Founder • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Very poor experience. We were put into groups for a class project. Both of my partners dropped out at the half way mark as they simply didnt feel like the course delivered either. The only reason I didnt drop at the half way mark (partial refund) was because the group project was based on what I do for a living, rentabartender.ca. The instructors did have some teaching ability, though not all of them came prepared, and sent us to websites that didnt exist, like lemoz.com. (moz.com?) After finding out both my partners had dropped, I asked to myself, but was told no as I was (1 class) pass the half way mark. It was a PT course and I cant talk to the FT curriculum (and they are discontinuing this class in the current form, which tells you something), but it did not deliver. A whole class was spent "teaching" us what branding was. I can watch a video on that, if i didnt already know. They have me sitting there, in class, and all they do is present a canned lecture with no interaction. They would teach dancing by reading if they could. There's better places to spend your money out there, which I since have. 

  • Naresh Akkarapaka  User Photo
    Naresh Akkarapaka • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Red Academy is a joke. They don’t have qualified professionals instructors. They don’t follow the curriculum and give a lot of false promises. The instructors tells to google it when you ask a question. They didn’t teach me anything and I wasted my time and money. Spend your money in other boot camps even if they are more expensive. I wish I can give zero stars. This is coming from a previous co-hort of Red Academy.

    Response From: Peter Lane of RED Academy
    Title: General Manager, Toronto Campus
    Monday, Feb 12 2018
    Hi Naresh, 

    We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the training you received from RED Academy. We are still ready and willing to provide you with support if you’re open to receiving it. I am now the General Manager here at the Toronto campus and I’m always happy to hear from all of our alumni. 

    Please contact me directly so that we can address all of your concerns. 

    Peter Lane
    Peter@redacademy.com
    647-793-2333
  • Alice Petrova  User Photo
    Alice Petrova • UX Architect • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Like many others on this thread, I went into the course at RED knowing very little about the industry or the school. I didn't know that at the time, I was about to be in the school's third ever cohort. A risky decision, but I was in a place in my life where I saw no other option, so I enrolled either way. 

    I can't say that the program was smooth sailing from the start. In the first month of the course, we only had one instructor for 17 students (the largest cohort thus far for UX). I remember it being frustrating. That being said, I really do feel lucky with the timing of my RED adventure. Although the structure of the school was clearly under pressure, the people involved in it at the time were the most passionate and talented. The same goes to the people I got lucky to be in the class with, many of whom have become dear friends now. There was a sense of community, and mutual understanding that the beer will just never not be flat. 

    We did get another mentor in Tara O'Doherty towards the end of our time at RED. I'm mentioning her name because she is the only one left from the crew that I feel contributed to my success, although so many others deserve the credit for making the school what it was (looking at you James and Sarah). Although I would contribute much of my personal success to the ones who have moved on, Tara was the one who piloted the Design Labs, which has taught me some important skills that I use now in my work place. 

    I wanted to make a point of saying that this was not easy. I also came into the course swooned by the promise of a job, but I worked hard for it. Me and a few friends who are now employed would often stay until the night. You definitely get out of it what you put in. I can confidently say that if you're not willing to stay a minute past 5pm, you will be disappointed in being unemployed and there is no school that can help that. Unlike many others, I also enrolled in Design Labs after my course even though I had a job lined up along the way. I worked for free for a month more, and I can not emphasize enough how important it was to stay sharp before going out in the field.

    This was the best investment I've made in my life. I got a job in 4 months and have formed bonds stronger than I ever could have from going to College for 3 years. 

    To sum it up: there was frustration, and there definitely WAS crying. But there was also a lot of laughter, a lot of trust, and a lot of times I often think about to this day. 

  • Strategist
    - 8/16/2017
    Julia  User Photo
    Julia • Strategist • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I enrolled in RED Academy right after completing my bachelor's degree at UBC. I wanted to get the full digital marketing and tech startup experience and that's what I got, as I was part of the first full-time cohort. The course material gave me a comprehensive understanding of the landscape with a strong foundational knowledge of how to further increase my skills. I got my first job offer in the last week of the program at a leading digital marketing agency.

  • Joseph Dalmasso  User Photo
    Joseph Dalmasso • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am currently a full-time student in the Web Developper Professional course here in Toronto.

    Let me tell you one thing, reading the latest reviews on the RED Web Developer program here in Toronto, the day before the program started was scary. I wondered, shouldn't I get my money back and go somewhere else? Well for my own reasons I decided to go through with it. Based on these last reviews, you could say RED has hit a few bumps in the road recently. I in no way want to discredit these reviews. I believe RED has taken them seriously and is doing its best to solve all the issues as my experience has been drastically different.

    For starters, the course... is HARD. If you came for a challenge you won't be disappointed. In my opinion the instructors here are doing it right. This is not traditional teaching. Expect to learn a lot in very intense spurts between projects. This may seem overwhelming, and it definitely can be at times. It's funny though, as soon as you start doubting your instructors, things just start clicking and when you've written a whole bunch of code and it actually works, you just sit back and think: "Wow... I did this! It really does make sense." RED doesn't teach you one baby step at a time. You are going to learn how to swim by being thrown into the water. The instructors are great and very realistic. Help is always available. I've gotten help several times by just messaging my instructor on Slack over the weekends.

    Google it... Yes, this an answer you will get a lot when you ask for help, and that is perfectly fine. You will never get the answers from the instructors. They will look at your code and ask you questions so that you understand and find what you did wrong. And then when you see what you did wrong, thanks to their guidance, you know how to google the right question and find the answer on your own. They are not there to teach you code. They are there to teach you how to learn to learn code. You are going to have to keep learning the rest of your life as a dev and I think this technique truly prepares you best. Sure they could just hand me over the answers once in a while and let me learn by analyzing said answers, but would I learn as well or work as hard? Nah, this is why I love the program here. Because it has pushed me hard, really hard. When asked how bootcamp is going, my answer is always: "My brain hurts! In a good way!"

    The team at RED is GREAT! I am a pretty introverted person, however, when I am at RED, I don't feel like it. Everyone seems to have a smile on their face and is really approchable. It does seem to have had a bit of turnover since I visited RED before starting the program. However, I get a feeling the staff now is a lot more genuine and actually really enjoys what they do. The new general manager for the Toronto location, is on point. If you bring concerns of any kind to him, I can guarantee you they won't be overlooked. Plus the guy teaches zombie survival camp over the weekends so if the apocalypse was also a concern, you can get some tips.

    Career placement... RED makes the tools available to you. I am just starting to utilise these tools so I can't really comment on how helpful they will be. I highly recommend talking to the career coach for your course but also any of the ones for the other course as they will all be really insightful. But seriously, don't expect RED to just automatically land you a job. Nothing is that easy. So far, what I have learned from my career coach is that, well, it's going to be hard. The first year as a web developer is a crucible. A lot of the work will fall onto you. But as of now, I would say, count on your career coach to make the steps clear, and count on yourself to put the work in.

    The reason I wrote this review, is that I really hope people aren't deterred by the rough waters RED has been through. My experience so far has been amazing and made me love coding so much more. This is hands down one of the most challenging endeavours I have been through. Trust that if things keep going the way they are now, then you are in good hands here!

  • Irem Ozekes  User Photo
    Irem Ozekes • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I just finished RED Academy's UX Designer Professional Program at the end of June. Some of my highlights include:

    * Working with like-minded individuals in a community-driven environment

    * Working with community partners and building my portfolio with valuable projects

    * Visiting Hootsuite and getting tips from a UX Designer there

    If you want to learn more about my background, why I did a bootcamp at RED, the program in general and my recommendations to future students please make sure to read my post here https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/red-academy-full-time-ux-design-review-irem-ozekes-irem-ozekes
  • Beatrice  User Photo
    Beatrice • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Taking the Digital Marketing Professional Program (Full-time) during Jan - Mar. 2017 definitely helped my career immensely. I had previously worked in traditional marketing and had some experience in social media, email marketing, and graphic design. Though, I knew there was much more in the digital marketing world that I needed to learn. 

    RED was such a great tech school because the teachers were very helpful, knowledgeable, funny, interesting, and approachable. The workload is intense and I highly don't recommend anyone who has a FT/PT job to enroll in this. For the FT program, you need to put in many hours after school and on the weekend to complete your projects and learn at your own pace. 

    I love how the community projects allowed you to work with real Vancouver start-ups where you can apply all the skills that you have learned in class to their companies. You will quickly learn how to deal with clients and give effective presentations.

    RED really preps you in being ready to apply for jobs and they also have a great network with companies in the tech field. You might even land yourself a job with the community partners or with the companies that you visit during the program! 

    Besides the school work, Friday socials were always an event to look for because it would help you destress and everyone at RED are very fun and friendly! I can't have enough good things to say about this school :) 

    P.S. You will be writing lots in this program, so having good English writing skills would be highly beneficial.

  • Kevin.H  User Photo
    Kevin.H • Front-end Web Developer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    An amazing course overall! Very intensive but very rewarding, I was able to start my career as a front end developer within the first month of graduating the full-time web developer program. RED feels like home with their very relaxing and open facility. Their teachers are always there to help and guide you through every step of the program. Always up to date with the industry, their course provides a great way to jumpstart a new career. Very happy with the outcome.

  • Nicholas  User Photo
    Nicholas • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Fantastic course. I spent 4 years at UBC, learned more here in 3 months than I did in all those years. Moreover, you're learning from a curriculum that is constantly updated to reflect the most sought after Web Dev skills in tech. Although a challenging course load the instructors were always there to help, not only that they believed in you too. Would highly recommend.

  • Simon Es  User Photo
    Simon Es • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the Digital Marketing course at RED for the Jan-Mar 2017 session. They have very good instructors that go out of their way to help their students. Red also provides good professional development sessions during the process. (Ie. Resumes, interviews, etc) They give you the tools you need, and several people from the program already got hired before the program was even over. Here, I made a lot of connections from like-minded people that want to succeed in the tech industry not just in Vancouver, but in rest of the world. I highly recommend it. It's tough but also a lot of fun

  • Love it
    - 2/24/2017
    A Student  User Photo
    A Student • Web Developer Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Despite of the high tuition, RED Academy is worth every penny. Not only do they teach you enough skills to actually get a job in the IT industry (totally relevant to your field of study), but the job support provided after graduation is phenomonal. The teachers were helpful and understanding,and the overall atmosphere on campus was great. I highly reccomend this school! Got a job within 2 months of graduation, thanks to RED.Unlike other programs where its super rushed, RED gives you three months to actually pratice and ensure your skills are presentable. 

  • Zoha Badar • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    RED Academy honestly changed my life in SO MANY WAYS!

    I was in the 2019 summer cohort. Some background information, I went to a university in Ontario and I have a degree in Commerce. While at university, I took a course in Digital Marketing which sparked my interest in the field. However, that course was so vague as it was only 3 hours every week only for 2.5 months. After graduating, I found out about RED and decided to go for it!

    Fast forward to the actual course and RED. The instructors are AMAZING, they are so knowledgeable, and they are in the field themselves. I learned more from them than I did from and professor at university. It was very cool to have instructors who have digital marketing agencies and have started multiple businesses through digital marketing efforts. It helps provide so much insight into the practicality of the field. The actual content was so relevant and helpful. They deep dive into EVERYTHING digital marketing related. There are many guest lecturers that come teaching about different parts of the field they are currently working in. You make a lot of great connections through these networks and in general at RED academy. I learned a lot here and the client projects are an amazing way to get hands-on experience on what you are learning. You are able to experience every role in digital marketing and find what you are truly passionate about.

    There are a lot of things going with the culture and environment of RED as well. There are monthly waffle days, weekly Friday socials (games night, karaoke, dinner, etc.)

    Now, post-grad, through the help of RED academy -through the talent connect event (you set up a booth and employers from big companies come to recruit RED students) & applying to jobs with the experience and skills I gained at RED Academy, I was able to get 2 job offers!!!

    This school is truly amazing, and they did everything they said they would and MORE! I would recommend everyone to go to this school and if you have any questions about the school or want more details on my experience, feel free to reach out to me (find me on LinkedIn).

  • Reza Askari • Wealth Manager • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I didn't really know what to expect when going to take the Digital Marketing Professional course at RED. How are they going to teach me anything in 3 months? Now that it's done, I'd say I learned more in 3 months than 4 years at University. 

    The value for me went beyond the learning. It reminded me of being back in grade-school because you are surrounded with the same group of colleagues full time.. except now you're adults. You're more reasonable, less shy, less awkward, etc. I found it super easy to make friends and I know that a lot of the people that I met will be friends indefinitely, including the staff and teachers. 

    My teachers, Chris and Rowan, were both fantastic. They both brought us a very different style of teaching, different style of humor, different marketing work experience even. Our class dug into their backgrounds and learned lots about different places to work, different types of jobs in industry, etc. They took us on field trips to go visit different digital agencies around Vancouver, like Moz and Major Tom, which was also a treat. We also had guest teachers like Lisa and Haydee that were both fantastic and brought their own advice and experiences to the table. 

    I can't say it was an easy course. Some people struggled because there was a lot of material packed into three months. Personally, I enjoyed that aspect. It's you and your classmates versus a common enemy, the material. We became closer friends through studying together, getting help from each other, and working on the community projects together.

    The community projects for me were the biggest value in the course. You are put on teams and tasked with developing and presenting digital marketing strategies for three local companies.  This was practical experience that I could toss on my resume. A resume that I soon learned I wouldn't need as we had been offered jobs from all three companies. I'm not sure that's the case every term but I can speak to my experiences. 

    Other positives: The staff are just as much colleagues as they are authorities, access to all the events hosted at RED, the parties, and the career support.

    The negatives: It's not always easy to park in the area for free (hot tip: I never got a ticket at the 2 hour spots by Birch and 10th). It's hard to avoid going to McDonald's due to the proximity - straight to the thighs. 

  • Fiona Brownlie • UX designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came onto the course with some skepticism. I was looking to retrain and was worried I would be able to learn enough in 12 weeks to change careers. I have to say I was more than impressed with the course and with Red as a whole. From my first conversation with Michelle who put my fears at ease to the first day where the Red method was explained. I was constantly reassured and made to feel supported by everyone.

    Working with real clients was a positive and rewarding learning experience. It felt like going to work rather than being on a course which I hope puts me in good stead when looking for a job in the real world.

    Tutors were all supportive and approachable with a wealth of knowledge from a wide range of real-world experience. This in itself helped me to see beyond the course and opened my view outside of Red. They were always there for support and a kind ear when things got too much or if there was a problem with the team we were working with.

    The PPD and career were very helpful and interesting. I am not sure how helpful it will be going forward as I have only just finished the course but it is good to know that the support is there and Iw ill be making the most of it.

    I would recommend this course to anyone and have met some amazing friends. I feel excited and hopeful for my new career and wish I could afford to go back and do more courses at Red!

  • Rita Patricio • UX designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I joined RED for the UX designer Professional course in order to kick start my career change. I have recently graduated and I am honestly impressed with the amount of things I've learned in just 12 weeks. The course was great for me and the instructors were always helpful. I have joined the full time course and I do not regret it. It was intensive, yes. It required hard work, YES. But it was also a very quick way for me to learn the most important processes and tools used in the Industry.  The fact that I had 3 real client projects is great, because now I can use them for my portfolio. Speaking of which... RED academy also provides support/advice regarding portfolio and CV (career coach helps through the process of helping you find a job). I'm really confident in what I have learned and I would recommend RED Academy (London) to any of my friends. 

  • Laura Camozzi • Engagement Specialist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Red Academy was an invaluable jumpstart for my career.   I not only had the opportunity to network with hiring (relevant) industries but I also got the support I needed to take my current role to the next level.  Working with closely with analytics and other marketing tools, I was able to collaborate with team members and put the data to use.  I appreciated the real-world experience brought to each lesson - having industry professionals actually teach just makes more sense.

  • App Dev at Red
    - 3/9/2018
    Aseel • Junior Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Prior to joining Red Academy, I had some experience in web development (self-taught) and a background in Computer Science. But I had absolutely no clue what I was doing, no idea how to start my career, and no idea how to highlight my skills to companies. On my very first day at Red Academy, both Carlos (who wasn't even my instructor) and Peter (general manager) spent an hour with me each going over my resume and cover letter. And later, Ali (App Dev instructor) also did the same. Ali did a great job teaching the class, and providing ongoing career advice - he genuinely cares about your success.

    Basically the Red Academy team and culture is amazing, and I definitely recommend. So, yeah before Red Academy I applied to jobs and never got interviewed. After Red Academy I landed 14 interviews and got three job offers. I.e, if you work hard, and you follow the advice given by various Red staff members, you'll make it.

  • Ember • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    REDA is good to me.

    Professionally, they are a team of masters in their field willing to give the time of day and the care to actually teach people who know nothing. The teachers are the most pleasant people I have ever worked with! They know and teach how to deliver constructive criticisms and I would very much like to be one of them when I get in the world of tech. The staff will give their two cents when you ask and actually would take some time in their responses because they are careful with what they send you. These people actually are caring if you look closer and I would give them my money because it was worth their time and effort to teach demanding students. 

    Now that I'm done being a full-time student and taking part time class, I had made a mistake as well. I hoped that the classes were like the full-time but of course, there are things only full-time students can enjoy. These are things like a whole day with the teachers behind you while you work, part-time classes pump you with information for 3hours and you can ask questions through slack. You do have to remember that these teachers have full-time students as well to deal with in the morning and I applaud them for their hard work. Another thing is, there is no Personal Professional Development class that supplements the part time students. So for me, paying the cheaper part time class that means PPD is not on the list, which is understandable. Also, the part time class do not have field trips, client projects, lots of class exercises, or collaboration with other developers in the school.

    If you are going to take a course make sure what you are going into is the correct one.

    Full-time courses are for people who have time on their hands and want to totally immerse themselves in all of what the course is supposed to be. Including the overall columniation of PROM!

    Part time courses are for people who have already work and can only give a few hours in a day for extra learning. It is still a demanding course and the learning is steep, so not advisable for newbies in the tech world.

    Culture wise, it is thought-provoking and collaborative in background, culture-culture, and even food! You probably won't see any school like this school, where they care about their students, staff, pets, and teachers to the point where we celebrate bday parties every day with cake and pictures!!

    Hope this review helps someone decide for themselves. Cheers!

  • Keawe • Digital Marketer & Full Stack Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have been in corporate manangement for over 20 years. I decided to take a year off to update my knowledge. I got a bootcamp at another school. And then I went to RED to take Digital Marketing. I think RED is the best school in town. What sets RED apart from other schools is how much RED truly cares about the students. At RED I do real work projects from real clients. I learn from instructors who have deep industry experience. And not only am I learning real skills, I meet great friends who have the same interest as me. I now feel very confident to present in front of clients and feel good about having a community behind me. A few students and I love life at RED so much that we made videos about it. You may use the link to have a look below:

    https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=tLQYHcEtAcA

    https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=r7j7XuWQbV4

  • John W. • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great experience at Red Academy, the 6 month course for full stack development was difficult, but it's what to be expected at a bootcamp with so much material to go through. It took a while to get used to the concept of googling and researching how to develop, because the approach to learning is different from most schools. The instructors are well accomplished and their background to get to where they are today are mostly self learned, and that is the mentality they push toward students, which will become their greatest strength.

    It is an absolute asset, to not just be able to understand the material given to you, but to be able to know the right questions and what to look for to accomplish the task given to you. Although I see many reviews about how being told to google seemed offensive, I believe that the instructors respect you enough to know that you can find it on your own, because most likely any question you ask has been asked many times before to the point where they know exactly what you should search and which page for you to look at. It is difficult to know what to look for in the beginning, but they are supportive enough to show you the right direction to go. This approach to learning really helps you to become self-sufficient as a developer, which is what I personally value the most as my outcome from Red.

  • Corrina • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Red Academy provided me with an invaluable experience. I come from a background that was completely separate from UX but, with great instruction, I was able to bridge my previous expertise with this newly developed skill set. Working with RED’s community partners allowed us to practice and solidify the skills we learned in class. Our instructors were experts and challenged us to always think strategically while problem-solving for humans. The 12-weeks and experience with RED Design Labs was met with many late nights, sweat and tears, but was also met with big rewards: a killer portfolio and the knowledge to live and breathe UX.

    Perhaps you won’t come out of the course with your dream job right away, but you will come out with the creative confidence and your path paved.

  • Janis Vetsch • Junior UI Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently graduated from the UI & Communications Fulltime program at RED in Vancouver, BC. Throughout my time at RED I was able to not only hone my skills as a designer but further grow my passions and engage with them through the community partner projects.

    First and foremost, the word boot camp does not do RED Academy justice. RED has established a unique learning environment in which you can grow your skills, no matter your previous experience or education. I, myself, had previous design experience through freelancing but no formal design education and didn't think I would be cut out for formal design education after just finishing a 5-year degree in social sciences. However RED offered an entirely different environment in which learning was done through thoughtful, hands-on lessons with the instructors and engaging design labs and projects 

    The second thing that made RED such a great learning experience is the instructors. Our cohort had students from all walks of life and technical/creative abilities. The instructors at RED have a unique talent to see potential in people and help them grow and harness that potential. The first time I realized that is when one of my instructors pulled me aside and told me she realized I was very interested in the emotional aspect of user-centric design, she handed me a book on the emotional design from her collection. 

    The third thing that made RED the perfect place for my learning was the community partner projects. RED's community partner projects are a unique feature that allows not only the students to gain from the education provided but also the organization in the community that might not be able to afford to design/development/marketing for their cause. 

    Don't get me wrong the 12-week program at RED is the hardest thing I have ever done from an educational perspective. Never before have I been challenged to this extent but that is what made into the designer I am now. I left the 12-week program exhausted but also completely excited for the vast possibilities that have opened up to me due to my time at RED. 

    RED is the prime example of 'what you get is what you give.' Every day at RED will pose a different design challenge, and you can choose to give it your all and find a solution, and in my experience, it will be the best choice you can make for your future career.  

  • Warren • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My 6 months here at red has been a great experience. The Program itself could use more poslishing such as organization and possibly more casual effective one on one check ins. But material covered in the course was delivered at a good pace as some materials had to be revisited on our request. The instructors we're able to make that time for us and made sure we got that skill down. The instructor and other staffs really made my expereience better. I feel a genuin connection with the staff at RED. They care and would make sure to help you in anyway. 

  • Cat • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     

    I absolutely loved my time at RED Academy.

    I learned more in my 3 months here than I did during my 3 years at University. The style of learning is definitely very hands on for the students and relies a lot on self-taught skills to take things further, but this is great because it develops skills that are required to work in the design community.

    During my time here every single member of staff was open and friendly, both in terms of schooling and just being lovely! The atmosphere was so homely and real and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. I genuinely feel like everyone not only cared about, but loved what they do at RED and this transcended into the teaching styles and the motivation of the students to produce good work.

    I have only been out of RED for a week, but I know that I am welcome back here for as long as I like in order to work on my portfolio, skills and resume etc. Because of this I know that RED have my best interests at heart and they will be supportive during my time trying to land career I love.

    Thanks RED!

Thanks!