app-academy-logo

App Academy

Austin, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York City, Online, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle

App Academy

Avg Rating:4.68 ( 851 reviews )

App Academy offers immersive web development courses both online and in-person on campuses in San Francisco and New York City. App Academy’s curriculum is largely based on a hands-on approach. Students spend about 90% of their time pair programming and 10% in lectures, encouraging the sharing of knowledge while also making coding more social. App Academy places emphasis on career training to help students land jobs soon after graduation. App Academy's job-search curriculum focuses on algorithms, interview skills, and other technical interview-focused skillsets.

The in-person web development course is 16 weeks-long, and the full stack curriculum covers Ruby on Rails, Javascript, HTML/CSS, SQL, algorithms, data structures, and React/Redux. Students interested in this intense program should expect to put in 90-100 hours per week. The first 9 weeks of the course are focused on learning web development skills in multiple languages, and the final 3 weeks are a robust job-search curriculum. The online course runs for 24 weeks, and focuses on JavaScript and Python. Students of the online course learn fundamentals, such as JavaScript, Git, and object-oriented programming, and later build on these by learning languages, such as Express, React, HTML & CSS, and more. Like the in-person course, students of the online course create a portfolio that includes individual and group projects. 

Interested applicants should expect to submit an application, complete two coding challenges, complete an interview and receive an admission decision a few days after the interview. Prospective applicants can also enroll in App Academy’s Bootcamp Prep programs to increase their chances of admission from 2% to more than 40%.

App Academy offers a deferred payment plan where students are only required to pay tuition if they secure a job upon graduation. App Academy offers two other pricing models for students as well — a completely upfront model and a hybrid model that is a combination of the deferred and upfront models.

Recent App Academy Reviews: Rating 4.68

all (851) reviews for App Academy →

Recent App Academy News

Read all (24) articles about App Academy →
  • App Academy Open

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$0
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    With App Academy Open you’ll get free access to App Academy’s entire in-person full-stack curriculum, which has placed thousands of people in software development jobs. App Academy is ranked as the #1 coding bootcamp in the US and, since 2016, has placed more software developers at Google than UC Berkeley. On the Free plan you’ll get over 1,500 hours of material (readings, videos, projects), an interactive coding environment and community features like chat to keep you connected with thousands of prospective developers across the globe.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBeginner
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Bootcamp Prep

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, Node.js
    In PersonPart Time4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,999
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationSan Francisco, New York City
    Bootcamp Prep is a 4 week, part-time course, guaranteed to get you accepted at the most selective coding schools or your money back. The program will teach you up to an advanced level of JavaScript, and instructors provide you with 1-on-1 mock interviews, as well assist with your individual bootcamp applications.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Refund / GuaranteeYour full Bootcamp Prep tuition will be subtracted from your initial deposit if accepted into App Academy's full time program under the deferred payment plan.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Bootcamp Prep Online

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$1,795
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationOnline
    Bootcamp Prep is a part-time, online course, guaranteed to get you accepted at the most selective coding schools or your money back. The program will teach you up to an advanced level of JavaScript, and instructors provide you with 1-on-1 mock interviews, as well as assist with your individual bootcamp applications.
    Financing
    DepositNone
    Tuition PlansStandard: $995 Plus: $1795 Premium: $3795
    Refund / GuaranteeMoney back guarantee if you aren't accepted into a top coding bootcamp
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo experience required
    Prep WorkNone required
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • In-Person Full Stack Web Development

    Apply
    Start Date July 6, 2020
    Cost$17,000
    Class size60
    LocationSan Francisco, New York City
    Over sixteen weeks, you'll learn all the skills needed to begin a career as a web developer. Through hands-on projects, we train you to build web applications with Ruby on Rails, JavaScript, and React/Redux. Prior programming experience isn't required. However, you will need lots of tenacity and a passion for building cool stuff.
    Financing
    DepositOnly applicable for the Deferred tuition option, a deposit of $3k will be required.
    Financing
    Lending partnership with Climb Credit available for the Upfront tuition option.
    Tuition Plans$17,000 Upfront Plan $23,000 Hybrid Plan ($9k upfront, $13k deferred) $28,000 Deferred Plan (Fully deferred with a $3k deposit)
    Refund / GuaranteeGuaranteed placement under the Deferred tuition option.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic computer literacy
    Prep WorkProvided at each step by App Academy.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    July 6, 2020 - New York City
    August 31, 2020 - New York City
    October 26, 2020 - New York City
    December 21, 2020 - New York City
    July 27, 2020 - San Francisco
    September 21, 2020 - San Francisco
    November 16, 2020 - San Francisco
  • Online Full Stack Web Development

    Apply
    Start Date June 15, 2020
    Cost$20,000
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    Over 24 weeks, you'll learn all the skills needed to begin a career as a web developer. Through hands-on projects, we train you to build web applications with JavaScript, Ruby on Rails, React/Redux, SQL, and HTML/CSS. Prior programming experience isn't required. However, you will need lots of tenacity and a passion for building cool stuff.
    Financing
    Deposit$0
    Financing
    Available through Climb Credit
    Tuition Plans- ISA: $0 Upfront. 15% for 3 years with a maximum of $31,000, only after you're hired making over $50,000 - Upfront: $20,000
    Refund / GuaranteeGuaranteed job under ISA tuition option.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic computer literacy
    Prep WorkProvided at each step by App Academy.
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    June 15, 2020 - Online
    July 13, 2020 - Online
    August 10, 2020 - Online
    September 7, 2020 - Online
    October 5, 2020 - Online
    November 2, 2020 - Online
    November 30, 2020 - Online

Shared Review

  • App Academy
    - 3/31/2020
    Bino Nguyen  User Photo
    Bino Nguyen • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    My experience at App Academy was great! I had so much fun learning how to code and am grateful for this life-changing experience! Like many of the online sources say, it IS really challenging. In the 3 months that you dedicate to App Academy, it is essentially the only thing that you can focus on. However, it is very rewarding in the end and you gain so much knowledge in such a short amount of time. Here are some personal tips and key points that I picked up from my experience at App Academy (Please note that this is from MY experience, and people accomplish/approach things in different ways):

    1. App Academy is challenging, but not INSANELY challenging. In my experience, I was able to keep up with App Academy's curriculum while maintaining some social/personal life. Other people say that they dedicate every day, every hour, every minute to App Academy (which is fine), but I felt that there was more free time than initially expected. I would be able to spend my Saturdays and sometimes Sundays doing social/personal stuff, and I honestly felt that this was needed.

    2. SLEEP is important. The instructors at App Academy can't stress this enough either. I think the thing that kept my stress level low and made my experience enjoyable was the fact that I forced myself to sleep with my regular schedule (I slept at 10:30pm and woke up at 7:30am everyday). I never felt tired during the working hours and I was still able to keep up with the curriculum.

    3. You have to put in the effort to maintain this healthy lifestyle. The only reason why I was able to have fun on the weekends and get 8-9 hours of sleep everyday was the fact that I worked hard during the working hours. It's just as they say - work hard, play hard. If you actually pay attention during the lectures and actually put in your effort during the projects, you'll be able to absorb the information better, especially if you're not tired or stressed. My previous advice isn't to show that App Academy is easy, it's to show that there is a way to maintain good health and a happy lifestyle while going through the rigorous curriculum.


  • Not Bad
    - 5/28/2020
    Steven  User Photo
    Steven • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Overall, I'm happy with my decision to go to app academy.  The instructors are knowledgeable and the coursework and projects were aimed at understanding and developing coding skills. It was a challenging program, but doable.  cons: their curriculum needs to be updated, and their corporate response to COVID 19 left a lot to be desired. 
  • Danny Huang  User Photo
    Danny Huang • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    App Academy is a very balanced program as not only does it emphasize on improving your technical proficiency, but also makes sure you are prepared to work with fellow programmers in a collaborative professional environment. The projects and exams are generally good measures of your proficiency and while you may feel like you are drowning at times, don't worry, the TAs, your cohort mates, and your assigned circle leaders are there as guard rails to remind you to take care of your health, both physical and mental. Unfortunately, my cohort was remote for the majority of the bootcamp due to COVID-19, however the staff at App Academy moved quickly and efficiently to onboard us for remote learning. I would definitely recommend this bootcamp to anyone who wants to start a career in software development.
  • Michael Murry  User Photo
    Michael Murry • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Attending App Academy has been an amazing experience. App Academy’s effective selection process filled my cohort with passionate people that take coding seriously. This made learning a blast, as everyone I got teamed up with were really friendly and great to work with.
  • greeeeat
    - 5/27/2020
    jared lester  User Photo
    jared lester • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    overall a/A was great. i learned a ton and met really great people. it is incredibly fast paced so it is not an ideal fit for everyone. the staff is really knowledgable and seem to really care about your success in the tech industry. the last 3 weeks could use a little bit of adjustment when it comes to how hands off they are at that point. In the end i would absolutely do the course all over again!
  • Brittany Hasty  User Photo
    Brittany Hasty • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    After many months of trying to find work after a cross-country move to SF, I decided to take a gamble and try my hand at a coding bootcamp.  I choose App Academy after seeing that it had a very high job placement rate after graduation, and it covered the most material out of all the bootcamps I had my eye on. Going through the course was challenging - far more than my previous experience at college. However, all the hard work was more than worth it; I feel so much more prepared to enter the workforce now along with being much more prepared for the application process. If you are looking for a great coding bootcamp, I would highly recommend App Academy!
  • Wayne Su  User Photo
    Wayne Su • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Coming from a STEM but non-CS background and having prior self-taught experience in web development, I was sincerely surprised by how much there is still to learn throughout the cohort. We learnt “talking code” through the pair programming sessions, mastered every aspect of the production side of programming (building projects, testing) and also the theoretical side (algorithms, data structures).

    I could whole-heartily recommend anyone out there that wants to step their foot in the software industry to give App Academy a shot. But make sure that before enrolling in this awesome and incredibly supportive family of instructors, TAs, job coaches, and your best resource - classmates, that this is a boot-camp rather than a regular degree you’re signing up for. Given the rigorous amount of classwork and the intense short time frame. You would have to bring sufficient efforts and motivation, and also prove that you are worth offering this wonderful chance of learning. And even by graduation, what awaits is not just a thin piece of paper validating whatever we have done, but what we are equipped with: tools, mindset, and everything we need to plunge through this never ending learning journey of being a software engineer.
  • Dorian Izaiah Brown  User Photo
    Dorian Izaiah Brown • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Honestly, it's not as hard as everyone makes it sound. Yes, you do have to put in work, but you will do great if you aren't lazy.  They literally give you EVERYTHING that you need to succeed in the bootcamp. This has been the most beneficial experience I have ever had. You learn at an outstanding rate, and the TAs really care about your success. After you are done with the bootcamp, you definitely feel job ready and feel like you can learn anything. The assessments aren't hard. They give you a practice assessment that is almost identical to the actual assessment, so don't let that turn you away. The big class sizes are NEVER an issue. I actually ended up liking the class size a lot because it gives you the opportunity to pair program with many different personalities. The worst thing about the bootcamp is CSS because it almost feel neglected, but honestly if you watch like 3-5 YouTube videos on it you will be good. Overall, there is absolutely no reason why you shouldn't come here if it is an option. Try your very best to get in because it's worth it. 
  • Rasheeq   User Photo
    Rasheeq • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    App Academy is no joke when it comes in terms of workload and material that that it expects its students to learn. That being said App Academy does its best to provide you with the tools for success if you're looking to make the switch to software engineering. The culture at App Academy is definitely a great one and there was good camaraderie among my cohort mates and the instructors. Coming from a non-technical background I felt that this program would be impossible but if you're willing to dedicate yourself than you will come out with learning how to do something that you didn't think was possible.
  • Shaphen Pangburn  User Photo
    Shaphen Pangburn • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    This program is no joke. If you want to learn everything you need to get started as a software developer with help from a number of staff who have been in your shoes before and classmates who are constantly there to support you this is it. This is a fantastic opportunity but it is not one you can take lightly. You have to plan to work HARD spending 12+ hours a day, including weekends, just trying to keep up with the curriculum (its called a bootcamp for a reason). Of course the experience and amount of effort needed may vary depending on how much you've learned ahead of time but simply knowing a language or two will not get you far and i'm speaking from experience as someone who studied Ruby HTML/CSS and Javascript ahead thinking it would help me through the program. It did... For maybe 2 weeks and a few days scattered throughout the 16 week long program.

    Its a tough program for sure but if you devote all of your time and energy to it from start to finish you come out feeling fantastic with a strong support system of friends and staff who are all helping you to start your new career path as a software developer. So be ready.
  • Jennifer Huynh  User Photo
    Jennifer Huynh • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    App Academy was probably the best decision I ever made.  I really wanted to learn how to code, and was unsure of what was the right move for me.  There are a ton of coding boot camps out there, especially ones where recruiters will consistently try to rope you in.  No, not App Academy; their acceptance rate is really low and to get in is a privilege.

    While studying for App Academy (their jump start program - which was free); I learned a lot about programming.  Within two weeks, I knew how to code in Ruby and solve algorithm problems!  I was really excited to find out about all that I would learn (if and) when I got in.  Fast forward through the smooth-sailing admissions process, I entered App Academy on my first day and met a lot of great people who later became some of my closest friends!  I did not realize how hard, and intense the program would be.  There were times where I wondered if I could keep up and make it through the program (there definitely were people who got dropped - and I think it's because they didn't take it as seriously, not because they were lacking the smarts) but the teachers and my fellow peers were extremely supportive.  You never realize how much you could learn, and App Academy fosters the right culture and environment for that.

    I would say that the only drawback was that sometimes the curriculum seemed a bit outdated, and the instructions weren't as clear.  But even with those kinks, we learned how to work around this which challenged us as developers (to find solutions when we were unsure of what to do). 

    Anyway, I would say moving towards the end, you will find yourself feeling like a brand new person.  The alumni community is great - people who have graduated from here will talk to you on LinkedIn.  There is a sense of pride and community amongst the AA grads :) 
  • Brian  User Photo
    Brian • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I really love my experience at App Academy because I learned so much about building full-stack applications. You'll come out of App Academy building 3 projects (2 Full Stack Projects and 1 Javascript Project). The TAs leading it are amazing, and they'll stick with you for as long as possible to help out.
  • Nicole O  User Photo
    Nicole O • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Attending App Academy was very stressful, but definitely a wonderful opportunity to learn. I did the online program, and at times it seems like an afterthought.
    Pros: You learn a lot, can end up meeting lots of cool new people from diverse backgrounds
    Cons: Stress can get to you, there isn't a great support system for students

Thanks!