rmotr-logo

RMOTR

Average Rating4.93
137 Reviews
2 Courses

RMOTR by INE offers 4-month online Python web development and data science bootcamps. Students interact with teachers, mentors, and classmates remotely and are equipped with the skills to land a new role in tech with the help of RMOTR career advisors. Trainings include a clear and curated path for the curriculum, scheduled live sessions, and mentor support every week to keep students accountable. Students also participate in creating well-thought, real-life project...

Write A Review

137 RMOTR Reviews

Sort by
Filter by
  • Sungo Afonso
    Student • Advanced Python Programming • Online
    Feb 14, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Lots of projects to practice and improve our knowledge!

    That's was my first experience learning remotely with real instructors! I liked, I recommend all people that want learn python to subscribe in rmotr.com.

    There are lots of projects to practice and improve our knowledge and you can spend time with mentors who will help you with any questions you have.

    I only struggled a bit with the class time! For my timezone its recommend to start in 7 PM EU or in weekend.

    Report
  • Sudhir Menon
    Graduate • Advanced Python Programming • Online
    Feb 14, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Excellent course and follow up materials

    Mentor hours and group projects were a big plus in RMOTR's program. It would be great if they introduce some TDD practices in between, but it's just a suggestion.

    There's also a ton of exercises to practice if you have enough time. You won't get bored for sure! It was sometimes hard to catch up if I missed a class, because the pace was quite intensive.

    I'm still waiting for the official certificate, that we are supposed to get after graduation.

    Report
  • Naveed Agboatwala
    Graduate • Advanced Python Programming • Online
    Feb 14, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    I'm really happy I took it.

    I tried many different ways of learning Python online (Udemy, Codecademy, and many other). Many of them are really cool, and I also learnt some topics. But, what I liked the most about RMOTR's program is the teachers and mentors interaction. That's what makes these programs differentiate from other self-paced solo-learning ones. I loved that.
    Most of the written comunication was exclusively on slack. I didn't like that. I'd like annoucements to come in email too. 

    Report
  • Mary Musimire
    Graduate • Advanced Python Programming • Online
    Feb 12, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Enjoyed the attention to detail

    I found particularly interesting how all lessons and classes were detailed thought and talked about specific topics or practices that is not easy to find in books or surfing Internet. That's what I expected to get from an instructor-lead course like this. Everything else can be found online.

    My local timezone didn't match very well with class times, but that's actually my personal issue. Sometimes it was hard for me to attend classes on time, or stay awake during the whole class ...

    Report
  • bk
    Senior Database Administrator • Web Development with Django • Online
    Feb 09, 2018
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Promises -- but nothing beyond that.

    I signed up for the web development track and they immediately failed to meet even the most basic assumptions.  Their platform appears to be about average but it was so buggy that I was submitting tickets several times a day trying to get them to fix it.  From there it's worse because they don't respond in a timely fashion.  Additionally, their "unlimited mentor support" really means a couple nights a week and if you're lucky you might get help on a weekend.  

    I'm a very experien...

    Report
  • Asem
    Applicant • Online
    Dec 15, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Failure to launch!

    Well I actually didn't get the chance to try their courses because they failed to attend our very first session!
    I was scheduled for an interview regarding their Data Science course, and they even sent me 2 reminders on the day of the interview, then guess what, RMOTR interviewer didn't show up?!
    I spent the next 30 mins hoping someone will show up, I even checked the time and date again just to make sure I didn't miss anything.
    I also used their live chatting service, no re...

    Report
  • Jennifer
    Graduate • Introduction to Python Programming • Online
    Aug 22, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Disappointing

    After taking the introduction to python course, I'm not sure that the other reviewers took the same course I did. Because of the scheduled course times and promises of adding projects to our github profiles, I assumed this was a well-structured course with clear goals and expectations, but this course felt disorganized and disjointed. The syllabus is a bulleted list with no description of lessons or assignments, no dates. The lectures left me feeling unprepared for the assignments, and the...

    Report

    Santiago Basulto of RMOTR

    Instructor

    Feb 02, 2018

    Thanks for your feedback. I'll answer between lines. But before that, you think we deserve a 1-star rate? I personally remember helping you on Sundays while working on coding assignments. We have many things to learn and improve, we know it, but I don't the score you gave us is fair.

    > After taking the introduction to python course, I'm not sure that the other reviewers took the same course I did.

    Well, I don't know, maybe the other +100 people are all wrong! Everybody has their own opinions I guess.

    > Because of the scheduled course times and promises of adding projects to our github profiles, I assumed this was a well-structured course with clear goals and expectations, but this course felt disorganized and disjointed. The syllabus is a bulleted list with no description of lessons or assignments, no dates.

    Sorry if you felt it didn't follow your expected structure. Our platform has the dates of each one of the classes and the topics covered by those classes. All our students know what they have to work on during each week thanks to it.

    > The lectures left me feeling unprepared for the assignments, and the lectures were very short compared to what I expected (often ending quite early). I expected 4 hours of lecture material prepared each week, but at least two of those hours were for working on assigments (as individuals or groups). 

    We have the right amount of time divided into REAL coding and explanations. We've tested this for over 2 years now. 

    > Working in groups was extremely inconvenient, and I would have preferred about triple the amount of individual assignments during the first 3-4 weeks of the course, and then work on larger projects as a group (or individual, if preferred) during the last couple weeks once we all got used to working with github and the IDE, and comfortable with the overall flow of the course.

    Developing human skills is fundamental for any programmer, and that's why we make our students start working in groups as early as the second week. If you delay it, you're just making it more difficult. If you had issues with simple assignments during the first weeks, do you think it's going to be easier with more complicated projects later?

    > There was a distinct lack of awareness or interest in accessibility: transcripts are not provided for the lectures (I asked)

    Accessibility is indeed an issue and we're trying to improve it. Full blame taken here.

    > there is a heavy reliance on Google hangouts for voice and video communication. The teacher hopped around a lot when sharing his screen, flipflopping between tabs and windows, which made it very difficult to follow.

    We try to show a real programming experience, it's not a recorded video. We have to switch from coding to slides to resources and images. It's hard to do it without switching tabs. At least in a live class.

    > The slides are provided for the lectures, but they are not super helpful, and they are white text on a blue background, and therefore not easily printable or useful for note-taking

    Sorry, I didn't know you wanted to print the slides. I'll keep that in mind for the next ones, providing notes for them. A text version might be useful.

    > In hindsight, I wish I'd requested a refund

    You should! Please go ahead and do it. You'll be the second we've received after +600 students.

    > RMOTR's intro to python course is probably great for people who have much more coding experience than I have, and are just looking to learn a little bit of Python to supplement their current skillsets. It is not for true beginners who are looking to learn Python as a first language.

    Probably. We usually recommend free intro level courses like Coursera as preparation for our course. We do real programming, it's not just following videos and it requires extra work.

    > Slack is used for general course information and off-topic memes or offensive conversations

    If you've felt offended in a Slack conversation, please inform us ASAP. We have a strict code of conduct and we don't tolerate inappropriate comments.

    > I highly suggest that RMOTR change their format so that it's more of an all-in-one experience, or lay out all the links, supplementing materials, expectations, and hardware/software requirements in one central location.

    We'd love to do this, but it's of course really hard and expensive. We rely in battle tested, professional tools as much as we can.

    > Mentors are available on a fairly regular basis to answer questions, which was helpful, but I wish that the material had been presented in a way that I didn't need so much handholding. 

    I'm glad you appreciate the help of real people. Coursera is good but it's not going to help you take that next step of you writing real code.

    > The assignments for RMOTR are more about making tests pass, rather than about learning to write code.

    I'm a professional developer and my day to day job is making tests pass.

    > I feel like RMOTR has a lot more growing to do before I'd recommend this course or this company to anyone.

    True that! Thanks for all your feedback.

    > I've got many more comments and suggestions but RMOTR should hire me as a consultant if they want my expertise. :)

    I'd love to. Can you please email us at jobs@rmotr.com please?
  • James Curbow
    Student • Introduction to Python Programming • Online
    Jul 25, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Lots of learning in a great environment.

    The course was built on top of three main concepts: exercises, projects, and instructors. I truly learned a lot out of them.

    I found a little bit tough to commit to the amount of time recommended to attend the course.

    Report
  • Conor Kennedy
    Student • Introduction to Python Programming • Online
    Jul 25, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Learned more than I expected in four weeks

    I really loved being able to ask for help and being guided to the answer not given the answer. I think mentors did a great job during my cohort.

    Anyway, have four weekly sessions was kind of rough for me.

    Report
  • Paige Lo
    Student • Introduction to Python Programming • Online
    Jun 19, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    great learning experience, good format

    I found really interesting how well designed each project was during the course. It was not just a bunch of assignments. They were specially thought to practice each of the concepts learnt during the classes.

    I also really liked the way instructors explained topics using slides and sharing screen in their computers. In my old experience with other schools, instructors were teaching concepts by typing sample snippeds that many times were boring or not really giving a good example of...

    Report
  • Thomas Cabe
    Student • Introduction to Python Programming • Online
    Jun 19, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Concise and effective!

    I like the forced accountability that encouraged me to to a lot of work. I was also pushed out of my comfort zone. I was learning Python at a much slower pace before the class, and now I feel like I have a good foundation to more forward at an accelerated pace.

    The schedule is a little too rigorous. But I think that may have a lot to do with me having next to no coding experience. I felt like a lot of the time most of the other students were much further ahead of me while I was cat...

    Report
  • Yana
    Student • Introduction to Python Programming • Online
    Jun 19, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Crash course

    Having mentor help available and group projects was the part I loved the most. I knew this way of working works very well for me, but in previous experiences everything happened in person. Achieving the same great experience in an online environment seems very challenging, but this guys managed to do it pretty well.

    Recommended.

    Report

RMOTR Alumni Outcomes

Recent RMOTR News

Liz Eggleston
Published March 10, 2019
The landscape of online coding bootcamps is vast – ranging from $30/month subscriptions to full-time bootcamps that cost around $20,000. And many online coding programs now offer Income Share Agreements (ISA), which adds another layer of complexity when comparing online coding bootcamp costs. In addition to flexibility, remote code bootcamps cost less than in-person bootcamps – the average ...
Imogen Crispe
Published May 22, 2017
Phil Wright studied math in college, and took a job in manufacturing after graduation. He started teaching himself Python to help automate manufacturing processes, but needed more guidance; so he enrolled in RMOTR’s online Advanced Python Programming course. Phil explains why he wanted to learn remotely in a collaborative environment where he could communicate regularly with instructors a...

Frequently Asked Questions

Is RMOTR worth it?
+
Is RMOTR legit?
+
Does RMOTR offer scholarships or accept the GI Bill?
+
Can I read RMOTR reviews?
+
Is RMOTR accredited?
+
Locations
FAQs

How much does RMOTR cost?

RMOTR costs around $349.

What courses does RMOTR teach?

RMOTR offers courses like Data Science with Python, Web Development with Django.

Where does RMOTR have campuses?

RMOTR teaches students Online in a remote classroom.

More Information
Guarantees Job
Job Assistance
Includes Housing
Offers Corporate Training
Accepts GI Bill
Is RMOTR worth it?
-
Employment Rate
-
Graduation Rate
-
Median Salary
Awards

Get our FREE Ultimate Guide to Paying for a Bootcamp

By submitting this form, you agree to receive email marketing from Course Report.

Get Matched in Minutes

Just tell us who you are and what you’re searching for, we’ll handle the rest.

Match Me