hackeryou-logo

HackerYou

Toronto

HackerYou

Avg Rating:4.98 ( 205 reviews )

HackerYou offers a 9-week, full-time web development immersive, and an 8-week, part-time web development course in Toronto, Canada. HackerYou’s full-time Web Development Immersive bootcamp covers HTML5 & CSS3, responsive design, JavaScript, jQuery, API and WordPress as well as non-technical skills like personal branding, finding and managing clients, and growing a business. HackerYou's part-time courses are Web Development Fundamentals & Advanced Web Development, JavaScript Fundamentals & Advanced JavaScript, UX Fundamentals & Advanced UX, and a Full-Stack Masterclass. Part-time classes run in the evenings, twice a week for 8 weeks or on weekends, once a week for 8 weeks. The programs focus on hands-on, project-based learning from industry-leading professionals with small classes and a 10:1 ratio of students to instructors. By the end of the web development programs, students have a great website and portfolio, and the knowledge, tools, and skills needed to succeed as developers.

HackerYou is ideal for people looking to climb the corporate ladder, upgrade their skills, or start a new career. Prospective applicants will need to fill out an online form describing their background and experience, and participate in a video or in-person interview. For the full-time immersive course, students should have a high school diploma or equivalent, and demonstrate knowledge of HTML and CSS.

For job seekers, HackerYou helps students craft a technical resume, nail an interview, and negotiate their salary via career coaching. The curriculum covers personal branding and how to position yourself to employers. At the end of the course, HackerYou hosts Industry Day where students can network with hiring partners and showcase their portfolios.

Recent HackerYou Reviews: Rating 4.98

all (205) reviews for HackerYou →

Recent HackerYou News

Read all (5) articles about HackerYou →
  • Advanced JavaScript (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week7 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,400
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    The course will builds upon the JavaScript and jQuery fundamentals learned in the introductory course. In the course, we will cover advanced topics such as building modular and reusable code, working with HTML5 audio and video, integrating Google Maps, and most importantly working with AJAX and JSON APIS to pull in data from other websites and services. As always, everything is taught through a series of hands-on exercises, code-alongs and projects. Graduates of JavaScript Fundamentals are eligible to take Advanced JavaScript for only $500.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Strong understanding of the basics of JavaScript & jQuery required to take this class.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Advanced UX Design (Part-time)

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,400
    Class size
    35
    Location
    Toronto
    In this course, students will explore advanced topics such as emotional design, empathy mapping, systematic design, human-centred design and user testing. Students will improve and apply their skills to effectively define problems, scope target audiences, iterate, conduct “discovery phases,” conduct design research, prototype, critique, handle errors, and future map, among others. Lessons will be discovered by participants through hands-on, project based exercises. For their capstone project, students will use design thinking to solve a problem of their choosing, giving each student the opportunity to build a portfolio piece relevant to their interests. Have an idea for an app? Use this project to finally give it the attention it deserves by taking the idea through every step of the UX Design process. You’ll create a unique portfolio piece that showcases your UX skills - and maybe even a product ready for development! Graduates of UX Design Fundamentals are eligible to take Advanced UX Design for only $500.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Previous experience in UX Design, or our Introduction to UX course (or equivalent) required. Ideal for designers and developers looking to move into UX roles.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Advanced Web Development (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, jQuery, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,400
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    This course will give students the skills needed to design and create a responsive website for laptops, phones, tablets, and beyond using the latest HTML5 and CSS3 techniques. It will also dive deeper into CSS, Flexbox, transitions, animations, SASS, JavaScript and jQuery and teach participants the very latest and greatest techniques for creating even richer web experiences. Graduates of Web Development Fundamentals are eligible to take Advanced Web Development for only $500.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Students must have basic HTML and CSS knowledge, or have completed Introduction to Web Development (or equivalent) to take this course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full Stack Masterclass (Part-time)

    Apply
    MongoDB, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Express.js, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week8 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,800
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Toronto
    This unique course is designed to help bootcamp graduates prepare for the next stage in their career. You did it - through hard work and dedication, you became a professional developer sans computer science degree. But you know that there are things people learn in Computer Science programs that would be useful to you. If you could combine your practical web development skills with some of these foundational Computer Science concepts, all while applying what you’re learning to develop full-stack development skills, you’d be almost unstoppable. Enter HackerYou’s Full-Stack Masterclass. Using a format that’s entirely new to HackerYou based on what we know bootcamp graduates want and need, this 57-hour, nine-week part-time course is designed to fill in your gaps, push you to level up and ultimately narrow the gap between you and the Full-Stack Developer you admire most.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Code 2175). Freelance web developers are welcome to apply. This course is ideal for Bootcamp graduates (whether you attended HackerYou’s bootcamp or another one) and self-taught developers.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • JavaScript Fundamentals (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,300
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    Learning JavaScript and jQuery will take your websites to the next level by making them dynamic and interactive. This course will give any HTML & CSS developer the skills they need to unlock the full potential of front-end web development. This course will start with an introduction to JavaScript and the fundamentals of the programming language. We will then work our way through understanding and using jQuery, a JavaScript library, to select, interact and manipulate elements on our page.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Strong grasp of HTML & CSS
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • UX Design Fundamentals (Part-time)

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week8 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,300
    Class size
    35
    Location
    Toronto
    Forget about other UX courses you’ve heard about - this course goes far beyond just wire-framing. In this course, you’ll dive into topics such as cognitive design patterns in UI & UX, micro-interactions principles, personals and mental models, interaction design foundations, the art & science of interviewing users, and finally, visual language principles, and more. As always, lessons will be discovered by participants through a series of hands-on, project-based exercises, and through a final project where students will have the chance to use design thinking to solve a specific, real-world problem of their choosing. This will help bring all the concepts together with an original, portfolio-worthy display of their UX skills.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This course is perfect for people working as designers or developers, as well as graduates of our part-time design or web development courses.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Web Development Fundamentals (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week7 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,300
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    Join us for HackerYou's most popular part-time course. You'll learn HTML5 and CSS3, build websites and collaborate with a group of people just like you – people who know that learning to code is going to help them take their careers to the next level. With an intense focus on hands-on, project-based learning, this course will give you the opportunity to learn directly from some of Toronto’s most talented developers and and discover how to create beautiful, functional websites from scratch.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This course is designed for beginners.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Web Development Immersive (Bootcamp)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time35 Hours/week8 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $10,000
    Class size
    35
    Location
    Toronto
    At HackerYou’s nine-week bootcamp, you’ll learn HTML5, CSS3, responsive design, JavaScript, jQuery, APIs, React and Firebase.– all the skills you need to become a junior web developer. The program is nine weeks long, during which you’ll join us at HackerYou HQ five days a week from 10 am to 6 pm daily. We’ve assembled an all-star team of talented professional developers and they can’t wait to teach you everything they know. With 315 hours of class time and hundreds of exercises, plus a major project assignment every step of the way designed to help you to develop the skills you’ll need to succeed as a junior web developer, you’ll leave HackerYou’s bootcamp not only with a certificate, but also ready to jump into a brand new role. Get ready for the learning experience of a lifetime.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ontario Secondary School Diploma or equivalent, or for Mature Students, you must have achieved a score of 18 on the Wonderlic Mature Test.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Mohammad • Technical Configuration Assistant • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended Hackeryou in Winter 2016. At first I was a bit apprehensive about the program with claims like, all attendees walk away with a job / the overwhelming amount of information that was going to be taught to us in such a short period of time. But by the end of it, and almost two years later, I think this was one of the best decisions I've made. HackerYou, its community, the teachers and the staff are incredibly generous with their time and resources-- something that was an alien concept for me, coming from a visual arts non profit background. They are selective about who they let in to their program, and only take on people that are absolutely dedidcated to their craft. Here are some things that I think one should be aware of when it comes to the program: 

    -- You are basically trained to fit into a corporate mold, something I struggled with during my time there and afterwards. Once I graduated, I took  the corporate advice that was given to me and did what I wanted to do, but always kept that in the back of my head. It's actually helped me alot. and everyone at HackerYou I found has been extremely encouraging of me taking my own path. 

    -- Literally all of the teachers, everyone in the staff are THE NICEST people you will ever meet, its almost a bit frightening at first, but you really start to like it. 

    -- still TWO years later, with me probably being the oddest oddball out thats attended HackerYou, I reached out to Heather, the CEO of HackerYou to help me negotiate the contract that was offered to me at my new job last week, and she responded very quickly as always with just the right points to make and how to go about doing it the most efficient way. I have the utmost amount of respect for this woman. She is terrifiying in all the right ways and will give you the cut throat tough love that you need to save your professional career. 

    Overall. I think if you enjoy coding, if you enjoy spending a lot of time doing really detailed work, this is ultimately the best program for that, and you will grow to really love and respect the community thats handed to you on a silver platter. 

  • Tom Haxell • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've taken two courses at HackerYou - the part-time web development program (Intro and Advanced Web Development - Spring and Summer 2015) and the full-time 9-week immersive bootcamp (Fall 2015). I can honestly say it was life changing. 

    First, was the part-time course. It was twice a week after work from 6:30pm to 9:30pm. This is a great course for people who are interested in web development and looking for a starting point. The instructors take you from the basics of web development to more advanced concepts all while having fun. This isn't a typical 150 person universtiy lecture-style learning environment. These are small classes where the people know you and your work. This is a place where you learn by doing. After doing most of the part-time course I was so excited about where it could lead that I jumped over to the full-time bootcamp.

    The best way to learn a language is to fully immersive yourself into it. Doing this forces you to practice again and again, and again - this is the HackerYou bootcamp. The instructors are brilliant, smart, kind and they care about you succeeding. You go in and you learn how to be a front-end developer. You learn how to learn. Each week we made a website. These websites became our portfolios and these portfolios got us work. It's intense. You go from zero to life-changing with blazing speed. 

    I recommend HackerYou to anyone who's thinking about going into web development.

  • Ksenia • WordPress Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    HackerYou in an excellent coding school with a supportive community and amazing instructors. I took part time Intro to Web Development course in fall 2015 and absolutely loved it. Ryan Christiani taught with exceptional knowledge and enthusiasm and all projects were hands-on and explained step by step. I returned to HackerYou this summer for the Immersive Bootcamp program. HackerYou helped me to make a transition into a new career, I now work as a WordPress developer and really enjoy it. The curriculum changes to keep up with new technologies and standards and provides students essential skills for current jobs in tech, you are never stuck learning something that you will not need. With many new part-time courses added, new students and past grads alike are returning to learn more.

  • Jaime B • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I completed the Intro & Advanced Web Development part-time course (with Wes) in 2014 and loved it.  The course was up to date with industry best practices and extremely hands on. I walked away with a number of projects to start a portfolio.  The community is very friendly, inclusive and supportive. The team behind HackerYou is eager to see each person succeed and willing to help much beyond the completion of a given course.  The cleanly designed HackerYou space is conveniently located at Queen and Spadina.

  • Thanks HackerYou!
    - 2/14/2017
    Clare Prowse • Associate Front-End Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was part of HackerYou's Front-End Bootcamp Immersive in Winter of 2016, and also took the JavaScript course that Spring.  The Bootcamp was the second vocational training course I had taken, and while the structure was similar to the other course (focus on hands-on, project-based learning, which I love), the atmosphere at HackerYou made my experience there far more valuable and enjoyable. HackerYou places a huge emphasis on having students work WITH classmates to solve problems and acquire skills.The focus on teamwork, collaboration, and positive reinforcement among peers was instrumental in ensuring that everyone in the class was successful, and left the course excited about the career on which they were about to embark.  There is an amazing network of instructors, alumni, and school admin at your disposal, ready to help you with any challenges you face, be they while you are on your course, or after you finish. The skills I learned at HackerYou, and the support I received from the school community and adminstration, helped me to land a job at AKQA San Francisco, where I currently work as an Associate Front-End Developer.

    I am so grateful to Heather and the entire HY team and community for preparing me so well for my new career! I would 100% recommend the courses at HackerYou to anyone who is hoping to build skills in the field of internet and technology.

  • Rose • Front-End Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I've been lucky enough to attend multiple courses at HackerYou in the past year. I took part-time Web Dev, jumped into Bootcamp, and am now leveling up my skills with part-time Full Stack. I took the Part Time web dev with no more expectation than to learn something new and improve my technical literacy, but I soon realized I had stumbled into something really special, and had found a community and career path that completely changed my life. Bootcamp is an intense but also intensely rewarding experience. In my experience, most people finish feeling proud and a bit surprised at exactly how much you can accomplish in 9 weeks with hard work and a lot of support. I feel that the robust alumni community really sets HackerYou apart--it's a welcoming and inclusive community, where people are so generous with their time and their experience (and the networking opportunities are endless!). Development is a career that requires continuous learning, but the HY curriculum more than prepared me for my first dev job. The classes revolve around best practices and most current technologies, and are taught by approachable, experienced and talented developers who have real-world experience and can teach you the practical skills required to become a great dev. The learning and support didn't end when I graduated, and HY staff were with me every step of the way as I hunted for my first job and started my career as a developer. Starting this journey with HackerYou was one of the best decisions I ever made! I would strongly recommend this school for anyone looking to improve their skills or switch careers. 

  • Nicole
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great educational experience at HackerYou. I started Jan 2016 in the Intro to Web Development with Ann. The class was amazing; I learned so much and had a great time. Its been almost a year and I still reference my lessons as useful resources. As a graphic designer, I am confident to call myself a Web Designer as well thanks to HackerYou. I wish I could take more classes, however the prices are a bit high. I would recommend this institution to anyone who can afford it - it is worth the price!

  • Jen Taylor • UI Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the Intro to Front-End Web Development, Advanced Web Development, and Front-End Development Bootcamp at HackerYou. I cannot recommend this school enough. The curriculum equipped me with the skills and portfolio I needed to hit the ground running in my first Front-End Development job. In addition to a fantastic curriculum that is always adjusting to reflect the industry, HackerYou is home to an amazing community. HackerYou's staff and instructors are fantastic and are very supportive both during and after the program. The alumni are also incredible - offering technical help through the active Slack community, and creating an inclusive atmosphere that encourages ongoing learning. I would absolutely recommend HackerYou to anyone looking to level-up their skill set or switch careers.

  • Highly Recommended
    - 2/14/2017
    Elly Pham • Project Manager/Front End Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I completed the HackerYou Bootcamp course in November 2015 (Cohort 8! Whoo hoo).  Working as a Marketing and Project Manager professional in the digital space for some time, I've always had an interest in learning to code.  I had this itch to get my hands dirty in coding and getting a more solid understanding of digital.  If you're looking for a complete career switch, this bootcamp course is for you.  If you're a professional looking to have a better understanding of digital scope of work, this bootcamp course is for you as well.  HackerYou is stacked with great, cheerful, positive and helpful instructors.  All questions are answered and you get unlimited help during work hours. The atmosphere and vibe at the lab is awesome.  HackerYou also has a great community to network with people and continue to receive help from others once you're done the course.  I am now currently working as a Digital Project Manager/Front-End Web Developer at a Tech Start-Up.  I love where I ended up after the course, it made me a better Digital Project Manager and equipped me with the skills to be able to code in the role as well.  Oh, and I also freelance as well :)

  • Jordyn Marcellus • Team Lead, Front-End Development • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    HackerYou has best-in-class front-end developer education -- a major difference between many educational institutions that reside in the same space.

    Not only did I learn progressive techniques for building the web there, but I am constantly returning to bootcamp show and tells to see these brilliant web developers exploring the future of the web. 

    I learned a ton in the bootcamp, but the real joy is learning more and more from the new generation of web developers who come up through the bootcamp. It's inpsiring, amazing and heartening.

    HackerYou changed my life. Yeah, that's cliche -- but it's true. Heather's help with getting a job plus the supportive alumni community really makes the difference.

  • Trevor Stone • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently completed the Front-End dev intensive boot camp at HackerYou. At the time I was a teacher and was wanting to upgrade my skills and change carreers. It was an extremely exciting time for me as I moved from Kingston Ontario back to Toronto for the summer while my family stayed home.  The school itself had a great location, a great facility and a great communitiy. From day one Heather Payne was extremely invested in my interest in the course and making sure it was the right decision for me as I was coming from Kingston Ontario and the front end scene isnt quite as big in Kingston as it is in Toronto. I equate my expereince at HackerYou to summer camp. The staff were both extremely knowledgable and made the expereince fantastic. The focus on bonding with fellow classmates was high up on the list with learning a mass aount of new skills (this was important as often times we would be at the facilty until 2 or 3 in the morning working on projects). The content was delieved in a easily digestable format and the main instructor (Simon Bloom) had the perfect mix of teachablity and humour. You could really the staff loved working there, but that they all also walked the walk and were working professionals in the field! The course offered some very interesting opportunities which included building a polished portfolio, extra curricular workshops from local specialists and several opportunities to share the love for code by volunteering with Lades Learning Code (which I have taken back to Kingston and instructed several workshops at the local chapter).  I am now currently working for Queens university. My background in teaching and my new skill in coding has landed me a fantastic position working for the Medical Education unit where we are leading the world in building software for the new medical education curriculum. ​

  • Just do it!
    - 2/13/2017
    Anya C. • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I wanted to be a web developer, and had signed up for a three-year stint of night classes at a local college to achieve my dream. By some divine providence, I was put in contact with someone who told me about HackerYou. Instead of toiling after work for three years, I was working as a developer within three months after completing the full-time Bootcamp.

    Yes, it's expensive, but I now make $10,000 more per year than I did before, so it's a good investment.

    Plus, it's such a friendly environment that you can't help but love it. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly and helpful that you almost suspect they're evil robots with a secret agenda. If they are, though, I'm cool with it.

    Once I'd completed the bootcamp, my husband decided to take the plunge, too, and our lives are so much better now that it's astonishing to remember how fast this all happened.

    Stop wallowing in mediocrity. If you're committed to being a developer, you can't make a better move. Just do it!

  • Danielle Webb • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I started my journey with HackerYou back in the fall of 2012 and their first part-time web development class. I've since gone on to take a number of other classes with them, including the full-time bootcamp in winter 2014. Not only did I receive a supportive education that led me to landing my dream job as an interactive news developer, I've personally witnessed HackerYou's steadfast commitment to teaching industry best practices and providing a quality technical education. They have never hesitated to adapt their curriculum or course offering in order to position their students for success. If you're looking to make the switch to front-end development, HackerYou is the place in Toronto to learn that skill. 

  • Leandra S • Interface Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the bootcamp in the fall of 2016, and previously to that, I took the part time intro and advanced into HTML and CSS at HackerYou. I found the instructors to be very knowledgable and approachable. Now a few weeks later I have my dream job as a Interface Developer, with a great group of supportive people. I also have friends for life from HackerYou, and a bunch of amazing experiences both in and out of the classroom.

  • Sara B • UX / UI Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended HackerYou's full time web development immersive program in September of 2016. It was one of the best learning experiences I've ever had—the program is top-notch, and the actual skills you learn in 9 weeks feels pretty insane once you're finished. I had a lot of "did I actually build that?!" moments when looking through my portfolio, and find it amazing that I can sit down and open up my text editor and start writing code that 4 months ago made zero sense to me. I've even taught a Ladies Learning Code workshop! And felt totally comfortable and knowledgeable while doing so, like I'd been doing this for years, not months. 

    But the best part of the program, aside from the top-notch curriculum and great instructors, was the community. I made some great friends in the program, and experienced the least competitive, most heart-warmingly kind and helpful community I've ever encountered in a learning environment. There were exactly zero egos in my cohort, and a genuine passion for helping others was expressed by everyone. That kind of community doesn't come easily—it definitely helps that the CEO personally interviews every single applicant to the program. She knows how to pick a great group, and it accelerated everyone's learning to have a community that supported, challenged, and genuniely liked one another. 

    On top of all that, I loved how female-friendly the program was. From having female instructors alongside male ones, to a 2-1 ratio of female to male students, it was an incredibly comfortable atmosphere for women to learn something that's still pretty male-dominated. I never once felt uncomfortable or like anyone there felt I was less able to learn or understand something because of my gender (a feeling I have felt many times in my life). Women in tech was something celebrated by everyone, and that was really cool.

  • Noah Endale • Front End Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the full-time Web Development Immersive bootcamp in the summer of 2016 and have been working as a front end developer for about 3 months now.

    It was definitely the most challenging thing I've put myself through and isn't for the faint of heart. That being said, it was also the most enjoyable learning experience I've ever had. The instructors and mentors did a great job of guiding us as we learned the basics of web development and then helped us solve problems on our own as we approached the end of the program.

    The community is also filled with alumni (myself included) who are itching to help students out with technical questions and general support. On top of that, I got a full-time job in a month and a half and made some great friends so it was well worth the time and money.

  • Laura Culham • Front-end Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The best and most supportive community. HackerYou will challenge you to push yourself further than you ever could alone. I've taken the intro and advanced part-time HTML & CSS classes, and went on to do the full-time immersive front end web development bootcamp in January 2016. The genuine excitement and passion of my instructors and mentors has been a huge part of my growth as a developer. On top of being experts, they are fired up, and want to help you grow. They give you the skills to keep yourself going on a path of learning for the rest of your life. I’ve been working as a developer for nearly a year, and I love my career. <3

  • Colin D'Amelio • Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My enrollment in HackerYou's immersive Bootcamp has been paramount in helping establish myself as an experienced Web Developer in Toronto. The contemporary curriculum and strong emphasis on modern and best practices provided a strong foundation to for me to enter the industry as a junior web developer at a competitive salary. In combination with the accessible alumni community and their mentorship, you have the opportunity to take the skills you've begun to develop and really excel in a new career in an exciting and evolving industry. 

    HackerYou has only continued to grow and demonstrate established success in the tech education community. The decision to enroll in a HackerYou program will only be met with success and excitement.

     

  • Garrett Levine • Junior Front-End Software Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the HackerYou fulltime immersive in january of 2016. Three weeks after graduating the bootcamp I hand recieved a full time job in the industry as a Jr. Front-End Software Developer. Before HackerYou I was a theatre maker/server. I had started teaching myself web development prior to the bootcamp, and when looking into all the coding schools in Toronto, HackerYou really stood out. Their curriculum is finely tuned for front-end developer, and because of this students will become strong in their skillset and have a strong foundation and understanding of front-end development. The instructors at HackerYou work hard to make sure that every student leaves HackerYou with similar skill levels. They will take the time required for each individual student and make sure that not a single person gets left behind. They are such lovely, positive, and passionate educators - who want to see people succeed in the industry. Once you complete the bootcamp, HackerYou does an excellent job training you to find a job. They work with you until you are employed, and make sure not to leave you feeling lost or not sure of what you should be doing next. There is always a clear path. What I didn't expect, and what has been invaluable since graduating, is the alumni community involved with HackerYou. Even during the bootcamp the alumni are eager to help you succeed. After the bootcamp, that doesn't change. Once you are part of HackerYou, you are part of an amazing supportive community that just wants to see everyone succeed. The community is lively, helpful, and passionate about mentorship.

  • Mandy T • Front End Developer @ TWG • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the very first Hacker You bootcamp and I cannot recommend this school any higher! The people are all amazing and so supportive. From the Hacker You staff, instructors, mentors, and alumni, everyone is there to help and support you throughout your journey into your new career. Even your fellow students have been well vetted and are all amazing people. 

    If you're looking to make a career change into the exciting world of Tech - this is the only school you should be considering. You will not regret going here and you will find employment upon your graduation. I have been continuously employed since the day I finished Hacker You and have recruiters consistently contacting me for the last 3 years as well. 

  • Anna • Front-End Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    HackerYou changed my life in such an incredible way. I came from a non-tech background (English Lit) and I can say with absolutely certainty that I was encouraged, challenged and taught so well that I was able to sign my contract with a company working as a developer while I was still in the bootcamp. I took the bootcamp in 2015 and have been working as a developer for 2 years. It's not just that they teach you the skills but they teach you how to think about coding so that you can find your way in the real working world afterwards. Plus, the slack community is always there to answer your additional questions should you have them.  It's not just about the course, it's also about the community. The alumni who are always around to help with questions really makes the place stand apart from all the other bootcamps. Everyone from my cohort found a job and I still spend so much time with friends that I made while I was there. If you are considering taking a bootcamp, don't hesitate anymore. This is the place!

  • Bootcamp
    - 2/1/2017
    Samantha • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I don't think I could possibly say enough great things about HackerYou - the programs, instructors, community and support far surpassed every expectation I had.  I initally took the part-time web development course, but after night one knew I would be applying to take the bootcamp and it was the best possible decision I think I've ever made. I was offered a job as a developer before even finishing the course based largely on the reputation HackerYou has made for itself within the development community. While it's hard work the instructors are always there for you, as are all of the past cohorts, and your own classmates. Everyone is rooting for you before, during and after the bootcamp, which I believe lends to both the school and the students success.  I have a new group of friends and colleagues, a sense of community and pride for that community, and have tripled my salary since completion of the bootcamp. If you're considering HackerYou - just jump, you won't regret it!

  • Alex Coleman • Freelance dev • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The course is good. The instructor I had in 2016 (Wes Bos) is very knowledgable and an all-around nice guy. He has a good flow to the course with lots of code-alongs, examples, etc. The mentors that I had are also very helpful and know their stuff. Classroom size was around 30. The facilities at HY are nice as well.

    While the course alone won’t make you a pro, it gives you a great learning base to start with, which gives you the ability to feel confident in moving forward on your own. As a freelancer, I’ve been applying it to WordPress based solutions (the WP REST API, leveraging browser storage and cookies for a sort-of temporary “shopping cart”, accessing APIs etc), and having fun with it by writing Twitterbots using nodeJS.

    I decided to take this course plus the p/t WordPress course (also in 2016) as the evenings really fit my schedule.

  • Robyn • Front End Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    HackerYou is one of the best investments I have ever made. I started out modifying WordPress themes and felt like I reached a plateau with my learning but didn't want to go back to University again because I felt the investment wasn't worth the reward and still had about 30k in student loans that I needed to pay off. 

    After taking the HTML/CSS and Javascript/jQuery workshops I decided to dive in head first. One late night I applied to do the HackerYou 9 week full time front end development bootcamp. I was part of the first cohort through the program and it was the best investment I ever made. From that point I have gone on to work with big and small companies ranging from MetaLab Design to Apple. All of that came with a crazy amount of hard work but I have also attended three more part time programs through HackerYou including the Design Course, Ruby on Rails course, and now I am taking the Full Stack course. Since January 2014 (now Sept 2016), I have seen a significant increase in my salary, overall day to day happiness and continue to achieve many of my personal goals.

    HackerYou also gave me the tools and skills I needed to become a maker in place of a consumer.  The instructors are supportive and the curriculum is constantly changing to keep up with the latest technologies. If you're looking for a career change I highly recommend HackerYou. 

  • Anonymous • Web developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    9-week front-end development boot camp in Toronto that provides a good foundation for those interested in front-end development as a career. Excellent instructors and a great intro to development. Expect a large time commitment over the course of these 9 weeks. Lots of in-class exercises, group work and portfolio projects. Highly recommended for individuals seeking to enter front-end development who don't want to spend the time and money on full-stack programs.

  • Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Part-Time Web Dev course was a great intro to web development. I came in knowing very little and am leaving with a fully-formed website and so many new skills. I'm glad to hear it's now going to be an 8-week course instead of the 12 weeks - it was a bit long and I felt we could've covered the important info in 8 weeks. My classmates were at various different levels of knowledge and practice in web development, and I felt the class catered to everyone, at all levels. It was not intimidating coming in knowing nothing even though some of my classmates were fairly advanced. And finally, Dana was an amazing instructor and I think I would've had a very different experience had I had a different instructor. She is an incredibly knowledgeable, approachable, patient and definitely fun teacher. Also big shout-out to Joey and Christina who were also amazing mentors. Thank you HackerYou and Dana for this experience!

Thanks!