hackeryou-logo

HackerYou

Toronto

HackerYou

Avg Rating:4.98 ( 204 reviews )

HackerYou offers a 9-week, full-time web development immersive, and an 8-week, part-time web development course in Toronto, Canada. HackerYou’s full-time Web Development Immersive bootcamp covers HTML5 & CSS3, responsive design, JavaScript, jQuery, API and WordPress as well as non-technical skills like personal branding, finding and managing clients, and growing a business. HackerYou's part-time courses are Web Development Fundamentals & Advanced Web Development, JavaScript Fundamentals & Advanced JavaScript, UX Fundamentals & Advanced UX, and a Full-Stack Masterclass. Part-time classes run in the evenings, twice a week for 8 weeks or on weekends, once a week for 8 weeks. The programs focus on hands-on, project-based learning from industry-leading professionals with small classes and a 10:1 ratio of students to instructors. By the end of the web development programs, students have a great website and portfolio, and the knowledge, tools, and skills needed to succeed as developers.

HackerYou is ideal for people looking to climb the corporate ladder, upgrade their skills, or start a new career. Prospective applicants will need to fill out an online form describing their background and experience, and participate in a video or in-person interview. For the full-time immersive course, students should have a high school diploma or equivalent, and demonstrate knowledge of HTML and CSS.

For job seekers, HackerYou helps students craft a technical resume, nail an interview, and negotiate their salary via career coaching. The curriculum covers personal branding and how to position yourself to employers. At the end of the course, HackerYou hosts Industry Day where students can network with hiring partners and showcase their portfolios.

Recent HackerYou Reviews: Rating 4.98

all (204) reviews for HackerYou →

Recent HackerYou News

Read all (5) articles about HackerYou →
  • Advanced JavaScript (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week7 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,400
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    The course will builds upon the JavaScript and jQuery fundamentals learned in the introductory course. In the course, we will cover advanced topics such as building modular and reusable code, working with HTML5 audio and video, integrating Google Maps, and most importantly working with AJAX and JSON APIS to pull in data from other websites and services. As always, everything is taught through a series of hands-on exercises, code-alongs and projects. Graduates of JavaScript Fundamentals are eligible to take Advanced JavaScript for only $500.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Strong understanding of the basics of JavaScript & jQuery required to take this class.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Advanced UX Design (Part-time)

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,400
    Class size
    35
    Location
    Toronto
    In this course, students will explore advanced topics such as emotional design, empathy mapping, systematic design, human-centred design and user testing. Students will improve and apply their skills to effectively define problems, scope target audiences, iterate, conduct “discovery phases,” conduct design research, prototype, critique, handle errors, and future map, among others. Lessons will be discovered by participants through hands-on, project based exercises. For their capstone project, students will use design thinking to solve a problem of their choosing, giving each student the opportunity to build a portfolio piece relevant to their interests. Have an idea for an app? Use this project to finally give it the attention it deserves by taking the idea through every step of the UX Design process. You’ll create a unique portfolio piece that showcases your UX skills - and maybe even a product ready for development! Graduates of UX Design Fundamentals are eligible to take Advanced UX Design for only $500.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Previous experience in UX Design, or our Introduction to UX course (or equivalent) required. Ideal for designers and developers looking to move into UX roles.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Advanced Web Development (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, jQuery, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $1,400
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    This course will give students the skills needed to design and create a responsive website for laptops, phones, tablets, and beyond using the latest HTML5 and CSS3 techniques. It will also dive deeper into CSS, Flexbox, transitions, animations, SASS, JavaScript and jQuery and teach participants the very latest and greatest techniques for creating even richer web experiences. Graduates of Web Development Fundamentals are eligible to take Advanced Web Development for only $500.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Students must have basic HTML and CSS knowledge, or have completed Introduction to Web Development (or equivalent) to take this course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Full Stack Masterclass (Part-time)

    Apply
    MongoDB, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Express.js, React.js, Node.js
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week8 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,800
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Toronto
    This unique course is designed to help bootcamp graduates prepare for the next stage in their career. You did it - through hard work and dedication, you became a professional developer sans computer science degree. But you know that there are things people learn in Computer Science programs that would be useful to you. If you could combine your practical web development skills with some of these foundational Computer Science concepts, all while applying what you’re learning to develop full-stack development skills, you’d be almost unstoppable. Enter HackerYou’s Full-Stack Masterclass. Using a format that’s entirely new to HackerYou based on what we know bootcamp graduates want and need, this 57-hour, nine-week part-time course is designed to fill in your gaps, push you to level up and ultimately narrow the gap between you and the Full-Stack Developer you admire most.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Code 2175). Freelance web developers are welcome to apply. This course is ideal for Bootcamp graduates (whether you attended HackerYou’s bootcamp or another one) and self-taught developers.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • JavaScript Fundamentals (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,300
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    Learning JavaScript and jQuery will take your websites to the next level by making them dynamic and interactive. This course will give any HTML & CSS developer the skills they need to unlock the full potential of front-end web development. This course will start with an introduction to JavaScript and the fundamentals of the programming language. We will then work our way through understanding and using jQuery, a JavaScript library, to select, interact and manipulate elements on our page.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Strong grasp of HTML & CSS
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • UX Design Fundamentals (Part-time)

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week8 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,300
    Class size
    35
    Location
    Toronto
    Forget about other UX courses you’ve heard about - this course goes far beyond just wire-framing. In this course, you’ll dive into topics such as cognitive design patterns in UI & UX, micro-interactions principles, personals and mental models, interaction design foundations, the art & science of interviewing users, and finally, visual language principles, and more. As always, lessons will be discovered by participants through a series of hands-on, project-based exercises, and through a final project where students will have the chance to use design thinking to solve a specific, real-world problem of their choosing. This will help bring all the concepts together with an original, portfolio-worthy display of their UX skills.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This course is perfect for people working as designers or developers, as well as graduates of our part-time design or web development courses.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Web Development Fundamentals (Part-time)

    Apply
    HTML, CSS
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week7 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,300
    Class size
    30
    Location
    Toronto
    Join us for HackerYou's most popular part-time course. You'll learn HTML5 and CSS3, build websites and collaborate with a group of people just like you – people who know that learning to code is going to help them take their careers to the next level. With an intense focus on hands-on, project-based learning, this course will give you the opportunity to learn directly from some of Toronto’s most talented developers and and discover how to create beautiful, functional websites from scratch.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This course is designed for beginners.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Web Development Immersive (Bootcamp)

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js, Front End
    In PersonFull Time35 Hours/week8 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $10,000
    Class size
    35
    Location
    Toronto
    At HackerYou’s nine-week bootcamp, you’ll learn HTML5, CSS3, responsive design, JavaScript, jQuery, APIs, React and Firebase.– all the skills you need to become a junior web developer. The program is nine weeks long, during which you’ll join us at HackerYou HQ five days a week from 10 am to 6 pm daily. We’ve assembled an all-star team of talented professional developers and they can’t wait to teach you everything they know. With 315 hours of class time and hundreds of exercises, plus a major project assignment every step of the way designed to help you to develop the skills you’ll need to succeed as a junior web developer, you’ll leave HackerYou’s bootcamp not only with a certificate, but also ready to jump into a brand new role. Get ready for the learning experience of a lifetime.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Ontario Secondary School Diploma or equivalent, or for Mature Students, you must have achieved a score of 18 on the Wonderlic Mature Test.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Mathilde • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the Web development course (fundamentals and advanced).

    As a beginner in Coding, it was the perfect place to start my learning.I recommend to go for the advanced class as well if you can, you ll learn about responsive website and add some jquery and javascript!

    Teachers and mentors make it easy to learn with them and they are always happy to help. The projects you will work on during the class will definitely help you to assimilate all the information from the class.

    I am looking forward to continue my journey in web development maybe with part-time class for JavaScript or Web design or why not the full time bootcamp to make a career change as Web developper one day!

  • Regina
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have taken Web Development, Winter 2018, which is a part-time course of six-hour lectures each Saturday, running for 3 months.

    I based my school choice on the reddit posts about programming academies around Toronto and on CourseReport reviews. Hackeryou got the most glowing reviews.

    The school occupies a bright open-space floor in downtown Toronto. The location has study area, classrooms and a kitchen, so it is possible to bring lunch. The space is very inviting and reminiscent of a sunny airy café, rather than a school.

    Every lesson has a main instructor and two mentors present so each student get enough attention to have their questions answered. The instructor and mentors were very supportive and available either during class or online to answer any queries. Teaching staff are all employed in the programming industry so they speak from the most current experience, which is a big plus.

    The projects are mostly recreating existing website mock-ups, which is a great way to apply the skills learned right away.

  • Web Design
    - 4/22/2018
    Richard Howard • Economist • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Highly recommend this course.   

    I was very impressed by this part time web design course at hackeryou in Toronto.  It was well taught, and had a good mix of high level overview with detail that was necessary to learn how to do basic web design using HTML and CSS.  Let me put it to you this way -- I am 53 years old and starting working with computers when they ran on magnetic tapes... this course was so useful that when my 25 year old nephew came over one day he was like "what dude, you know this stuff?".  It is also useful because as a guy who works doing projects that often involve systems, it is interesting to see how complex this stuff can be.

     

     

  • Melanie P • Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I spent 12 years in logistics & distribution. But in the last few years, after attending a few workshops and conferences, an itch to pursue coding led me to study it in my spare time.  Self-discipline allowed me to develop the skills needed to get accepted into the full-time HackerYou bootcamp. In late 2017, I decided to leave my stable career to pursue this new and unknown path that I was so passionate about.  I was really nervous before starting this program, constantly wondering if I made the right choice. The timing in my personal life wasn’t ideal and I knew that commuting from Hamilton every day for 9 weeks was going to be challenging. I was also worried that I was too old or that I wouldn’t relate to others in the program. I was also concerned that I would never be able to find a job.

    It was 9 weeks of 13-14 hour days, but in the end, the right choice. The days didn’t feel long at all because I enjoyed what I was learning and doing. I can also say that I made a lot of solid friendships, and that all the folks in my cohort were wonderful to learn with and spend time with every day.

    The learning environment at HackerYou is mega supportive. There is always someone willing to help you whether it’s an instructor, administrator, peer or even alumni. And while I love all the instructors, Ryan Christiani is one of the best teachers I’ve ever had. His ability to look at what you’re doing (even if it isn’t the way he would do it) and guide you through next steps makes him truly awesome at his job.

    I don’t regret leaving my job to attend HackerYou. The personal challenges and the doubts I had going into the program seem silly to me now. I’ve been done the program for about a month, and start my first job as a Web Developer next week. Thanks HackerYou! :)

  • Tevin Pilgrim
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have recently just completed the Winter 2018, Part-time Web Development Course and it left me wanting to do more. HackerYou is one of the best schools I’ve been to. It is a very accepting environment. It’s hard to find a place that greets you with a smile every time you walk in but HackerYou one of those places. The teachers and mentors are all a pleasure to be around. They are all quick to help with problems with either a smile or a joke.This creates a great atmosphere to be in and exciting to stay almst like a second home. The course projects are a lot of fun and have a way of pushing you to your best. Unlike other institutions you do not receive a mark but that feeling of accomplishment when you finish the project, knowing that you pushed yourself and gave your best effort. Project 3 is where you get full control of the development of the page. I can say that I have learned alot through the trial and error.

  • Tevin Pilgrim
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have recently just completed the Winter 2018, Part-time Web Development Course and it left me wanting to do more. HackerYou is one of the best schools I’ve been to. It is a very accepting environment. It’s hard to find a place that greets you with a smile every time you walk in but HackerYou one of those places. The teachers and mentors are all a pleasure to be around. They are all quick to help with problems with either a smile or a joke.This creates a great atmosphere to be in and exciting to stay almst like a second home. The course projects are a lot of fun and have a way of pushing you to your best. Unlike other institutions you do not receive a mark but that feeling of accomplishment when you finish the project, knowing that you pushed yourself and gave your best effort. Project 3 is where you get full control of the development of the page. I can say that I have learned alot through the trial and error.

  • Sarah • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Loved my experience taking the part time web dev program at HackerYou! The course material was straight forward and detailed, making it easy to learn. Jenny & the other instructors were aproachable and always nice, which made going to class feel fun and casual! At first, I thought I would have a hard time completing my undergrad in the semester as HackerYou- but it was manageable, and the night time classes were perfect for my schedule. The 3 projects were challenging but really rewarding, and Jenny & instructors allowed for class time to answer questiions! The overall atmosphere of HackerYou feels really relaxing and inclusive- not intimidating at all! Loved the 12 weeks, and looking forward to taking another course this summer! :)

  • kjohnson • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm SO glad I enrolled in HackerYou's part-time Web Dev class! The facilities are amazing, totally top notch and it always feels like your space as a student. All of the staff and instructors are friendly, approachable and super helpful when you need some extra help or guidence. The way that they teach code is really what sets them apart from other classes. It's not just about learning something and moving on, it's about building and finding out how different concepts interact with each other. 

    I've left the program with 3 amazing websites and I'm looking forward to taking more classes in the future. 

  • Theodore • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the part-time web development course and learned A LOT.  I came in not knowing much about making a website, by the end of it, I had a site complete and functional.  The instructors are great, friendly, and very helpful.  Went to a few bootcamp web development schools in Toronto, HackerYou felt like the best one and I'm glad I chose it.  Plan to take the full-time program in the summer!

  • Mayada - Fundamental and Advanced WebDev PT graduate • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I interviewed a number of Tech Schools prior to deciding on HackerYou for the Part-Time Web Development course.  I chose HackerYou because of their genuine care and positive atmosphere, their great close-knit community of alumni and their strong curriculum.  The teachers are amazing, the mentors are outstanding and I found myself in an environment where everyone was rooting for me to learn and succeed.  I have learned so much from this course and I feel well positioned to start a career in Tech.  I'm proud to now be a HackerYou Alumni and to give back to the community just like they have given me unconditionally.

  • Great Experience!
    - 3/15/2018
    Stanley Ngo • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took part in the 2017 Fall Part Time Web Development class at HackerYou and thought the experience was great!  The instructor, Robin, and the mentors are all incredibly helpful and always willing to help if you're struggling with concepts.  Also, the projects are fun, really push your creativity and to apply the skills you learn in class.  It is a lot of content to go through in a short amount of time but would not hesistate to take another class.

  • Meghan Sterling • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took a part-time Web Development course starting in 2017. I'm now almost finished, and I'm incredibly impressed with the quality of the learning environment at HackerYou! 

    Everything about the process felt very personal and designed to help ensure that I succeeded,  from the personal interview before taking the class, to the (extremely detailed and helpful!) individual feedback on my projects. The notes system that HackerYou uses is fantastic. I was amazed at how much I was able to learn in such a short period of part-time study. 

    Robin is an excellent instructor, and my mentors Jeanne and Angel were always approachable and helpful. I never felt intimidated or uncomfortable in the class environment. Overall, the part-time program was a fantastic experience and investment, and I felt very prepared to apply for the Web Development Immersive after taking it!

    I also really appreciate that HackerYou offers a variety of class times for their part-time program, including Sundays! I live in Guelph and work Saturdays, so I was afraid that the program wouldn't be an option for me, but the Sunday class time was perfect. 

    I can't recommend HackerYou enough! If you are looking to give Web Development a try, these classes are great!

  • Simon • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took HackerYou's full-time immersive front end development bootcamp in Fall 2017, and I can say without hesitation that it changed my life and completely refreshed my outlook on not only my career, but also my attitude towards challenges, and going after what you want.

    Prior to attending HackerYou, I was attending university and felt very disillusioned with the program I was in. I was five years into a bachelor's degree that I wasn't passionate about, and the prospect of committing my time and energy towards a career in the field filled me with dread. I felt as though I had hit a dead-end; almost all my student loans were used up, I hated what I was going to school for, and couldn't think of anything else I wanted to invest myself in.

    By chance, I went on a date with someone who mentioned HackerYou's amazing full-time immersive bootcamp. After taking their part-time HTML/CSS course to feel out the school, I dropped out of the university program I was in and went on to take the full-time immersive bootcamp. I can honestly say it was the best decision I have ever made, not only for my career and education, but also for my growth as a person.

    Everything about HackerYou has been finessed and refined to be the incredible place that it is. All of the instructors are very kind, patient, knowledgeable, and (most importantly) supportive of student learning. You will learn not only the most up-to-date technical skills required to be a modern javascript developers, but also life skills that are of utmost importance: how to be patient, how to persevere, and how to nurture your passion are all huge components of HackerYou’s immersive bootcamp. Additionally, once the bootcamp ends, Heather Payne (HY’s CEO) works personally with each student to help them secure a job post-graduation. The amount of support for each student’s personal growth is incredible.

    The bootcamp is definitely challenging (I did cry on more than one occasion), but is so worth the time an effort. Half a year ago I felt both directionless and passionless in regards to my career, and I now have a career in a field that I love, and have the desire to learn more and become the best developer I can be.

    Thank you HackerYou!

  • Orry Mevorach • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A
    I took the part-time web development hoping to just add a new skill set. I ended up learning and enjoying the course so much that I applied for the full time immersive bootcamp. The instructors are extremely knowledgeable, patient, and are able to speak from real life experiences in the industry which is extremely practical. If you are not able to picture yourself using something that you are learning, you will get real life examples from three different sources as to how that might be useful to you. Following along during the code-along is extremely helpful because the instructors take you through their step-by-step thought process which gives you a really good example of how to approach your own projects. This course will surprise you as to how much you can learn in such a short amount of time. Would highly recommend taking a course with HackerYou.  
  • Chris • UX/UI Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came to HackerYou looking to make a major life change. I switched careers and left behind the industry I knew, deciding that investing in my education would be my first big step. I've always been interested in tech, but wasn't sure what to expect (or honestly, what I was truly looking for). I can say with absolute confidence that my experience at HackerYou has transformed my life for the better.

    The curriculum was fast-paced and results-based; I had to work hard to succeed. However, with the support of the teaching staff and my fellow classmates, I was a part of an open-minded and collaborative environment that helped me reach my potential.

    My path to this point has been somewhat winding and uncertain; the community that I became a part of gave me the clarity to define my goals, and the resources to be able to relentlessly work towards them. Post-graduation, Heather was in my corner as I made the decision to push myself further and acheive my (seemingly impossible) goal. 

    Spoiler alert: I acheived my seemingly impossible goal.

    I'm proud of the career that I have created; it started with attending HackerYou. 

  • Christine Bonk
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Fall 2017 Part-time web development course and loved every minute of it! The courses were challenging in the best way -- and I'm amazed at how much I was able to learn in just a few months with absolutely no prior experience. Tom was an incredible instructor! And all the course mentors were awesome as well. Love the projects we did during the class and it was cool being able to come out with a portfolio. Already the skills I've learned have helped me in my current role where I work closely with developers. Can't wait to take more courses at HackerYou in the future!

  • Pat Johnston • Software Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Coming to HackerYou, I had minimal coding experience. It’s a terrifying prospect, learning a whole new skill, starting a new career. The most amazing thing I have found in HackerYou is the support and community they’ve given me. Literally every person on staff at HackerYou is invested in your success and will do what they can to make sure you’re successful. From the instructors taking the extra time to make sure you deeply understand the programming concepts over the specific syntax of a language, to the guidance Heather offers in your job hunt, the course is designed to push you to get everything you possibly can out of it.

    In five months and with a Herculean effort from the HackerYou community, I have gone from being a graphic designer to starting my first job as a full stack developer. I can honestly say this is not something I could have done on my own – my success is entirely thanks to the extraordinary commitment of the people here to help you through the full process. The people who come to HackerYou love HackerYou for that reason. As long as you’re willing to put forth your best effort, the whole community surrounding this place has your back and will make absolutely sure that your experience is not one you will soon forget.

  • Great!!
    - 2/21/2018
    Liz • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The learning environment at HY is very clean, modern and easy to focus in. Notes are all available on an online format, so we don’t need to carry around textbooks or scramble to take notes during class, as they will always be available. It’s a fun and extremely inclusive learning environment. The mentors and instructors were super encouraging. My main mentor, Tom was very entertaining and clear. That, along with the code-along style of learning made it easy to retain information, and if I ever forgot anything, I could look it up in the online notes or ask mentors for help before class or on Slack. There is a lot of time before classes to ask mentors for any help, and they hosted office hours a couple of times throughout the course, so it was easy to come in and get one-on-one help with projects. After projects were submitted, we each had 10-20 minutes of detailed feedback. I like how there are no tests or grades. 

  • Ky Capstick • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm in the last days of the part-time web development class and it has been by far one of the best learning experiences of my life. The instructors are knowledgeable and engaging, there is more support than you know what to do with, and the school constantly impressed me with it's dedication to creating an inclusive safe and inclusive learning environment. The whole experience has been challenging and inspiring in the best ways possible.

  • Alex • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took a part-time Web Development course in the Fall of 2017 and let me tell you, I've never enjoyed school this much before - didn't know school can be fun! Hacker You has been a great experience for me. I don't know how they manage to teach you so much in a short period of time - but they do! All in a very supportive environment. Instructors and volunteers are 100% focused on setting you up for success and will work with you to make sure you are always on track.  For now, I will miss my coding week nights but I hope I will find my way back to Hacker You sometime soon!

  • Sorin • Applicant
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Part time web developer course and i had literraly no coding experience. 

    Sarah and her team were an excellent help in learning this new skills . I managed to do couple of projects just in 2.5 months . Its really good and  very helpful . Very nice and neat organizing organised couse and easy to go through . 

    The Hacker You Team does an amazing job and there are always there tu help. 

    Definitely i would recommend any course at HackerYou. 

     

  • Kait • Designer + Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the bootcamp after deciding to make a career shift from eBook development to web development. I had taken the part-time web dev courses about a year before bootcamp started, after hearing about them in a Canada Learning Code workshop I took to get my feet wet. I loved the part-time course (I took it with Anne Thomas, who was amazing) and had taken a couple peeks at the bootcamp that was running at that time so I was 100% invested in doing the bootcamp at HackerYou. 

    It was everything I expected and hoped and more. The curriculum was exactly what I needed to "level" up my skills and I LOVED learning JavaScript and building robust web apps. While the content is perfect for getting your first job in front-end web dev, I think HackerYou's particular strength lies in its community and preparing its students for the cultural challenges they will face in the workplace. On top of that Heather's job search bootcamp was exactly what I didn't know I needed - she lays out exactly what you need to do in a step-by-step plan and it WORKS. (Btw, I kinda want to be Heather when I grow up. She's pretty badass, takes no shit, and lays it all out for you frankly so you can do the things you need to do to have the career you want.) I am so happy with where I ended up and also feel that I will always have support from Heather and HackerYou the next time I'm looking for a new gig. 

    Ultimately though the best part of HackerYou is its team of people, from staff to alumni to everyone in between. Their energy and enthusiasm is infectious and makes learning 24/7 super fun :) HackerYou completely changed my career and for that I can't thank them enough - I truly feel that I have so many more doors open to me now. Can't say enough good things about this place! 

  • Natalie Van Dine • Student • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I wanted to take a full-time bootcamp, but didn't have any prior coding/development experience. The staff at HackerYou was honest and helpful in pointing me in the best possible direction, which was to learn the basics in the part-time course. 

    Having worked in eduction and written curriculum in a previous life, I have been impressed with the thoughtful and strategic development and implementation of the course of study. The instructors and mentors are incredibly sharp; the project work is challenging yet interesting; the environment is serious yet relaxed and fun; and the learning space is beautiful and conducive to study. But the highlight has been the community that lasts beyond the completion of a course.

    The part-time course gave me the skills to get into the full-time bootcamp (which is a registered Private Career College course), and I (as well as anyone who took P/T) got a significant scholarship off the F/T course fee. 

  • Maggie Chan
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the web development immersive course upon recommendations of multiple people I knew. My goal for this course was to gain technical competency in front-end web development as a focus, with a background in interaction design. The bootcamp exceeded my expectations and offers not only a great technical curriculum to arm you with skillsets and toolkits for a successful entry into front-end development, but it challenges and prepares you culturally as well.

    Advancing my career in development, was posed multiple challenges, but with the help of the HackerYou community and so many extra-curricular activities such as partnering with alumni working in the industry, extra topic-based sessions with volunteer alumni, industry days and demo day, I gained the confidence and the mindset to be able to fully become a front-end developer within a matter of 8 weeks, breaking into a new industry that was completely foreign to me before.

    What stood out most was the dedication and the energy that the instructors brought to class. Everyday was engaging, and every question I had was met with utmost patience. I have HackerYou's team to thank for a career-changing experience and would highly recommend this course to those who are dedicated in advancing their career in front-end development. Thank you!

  • Kateryn Kim
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I stumbled upon HackerYou as a friend of mine was in the full-time Bootcamp for the Spring 2017 cohort. The way she described the HackerYou community, mentors and instructors, and the sheer amount of knowledge she gathered sparked my interest. As I am finishing up the part-time both fundamental and advance web-dev 2017 course, I have to say it was one of the best decisions I've taken in 2017. From the start of the application process, to the first day of the class to my last class, my mentors and my instructor were AMAZING. They are always full of energy, and their love of teaching and code oozes every single class. It makes learning super enjoyable, and easy to understand. Instructors and mentors understand each students needs and their way of learning. I've made some amazing friends with different backgrounds and experiences. I recommend HackerYou as a great learning institution, but also as a community that makes non technical, but technical people feel welcomed and challenged. I am embarking on a new challenge (UX fundamental and advance class in Feb 2018) and I am beyond excited to continue on this journey!

  • Intro to Web Dev
    - 1/24/2018
    Spencer Roberts • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the part time Web Development course (Fall, 2017) knowing absolutely nothing about web development and was pretty anxious going in. Both the instructors and the mentors were extremely good at breaking things down and helping me out throughout the course. I am much more confident and capable now than I was when I started and am excited to take HackerYou’s JavaScript course.

    If you're a complete beginner like I was, I would highly reccomend HackerYou.

Thanks!