devpoint-labs-logo

DevPoint Labs

Las Vegas, Provo, Salt Lake City

DevPoint Labs

Avg Rating:4.86 ( 120 reviews )

DevPoint Labs teaches 11-week full-time and 11-week part-time full stack web development coding bootcamps in Salt Lake City, Utah, and Las Vegas, Nevada. The full-time class is part of the University of Utah Professional Education school, and covers HTML, CSS, Ruby on Rails, SQL, JavaScript, React, Redux, and more. The part-time class is available at the DevPoint Labs Salt Lake City campus and at the University of Nevada, and covers a very similar curriculum. DevPoint Labs' approach to learning combines pair programming with traditional lectures and a mix of group projects, lean methodologies, hackathons and one-on-one mentorship from instructors.

DevPoint Labs is aimed at students with little to moderate experience in web development. To apply, candidates fill out the short application on the website, then chat with a staff member about their motivations. Once accepted students will need to complete pre-work before the first day of class.

Leading up to graduation, DevPoint Labs prepares students for finding a job with mock interviews, workshops, guest speakers, and a Launch Day to showcase their projects to potential employers. Full-time students at the University of Utah Professional Education program will receive a completion certificate. Part-time students at the University of Nevada will receive a UNLV Continuing Education certificate.

DevPoint Labs offers student housing to all out-of-state students on a first come, first serve basis. The house is located less than a mile from the campus, and comes furnished with all utilities paid for the duration of the camp.

Recent DevPoint Labs Reviews: Rating 4.86

all (120) reviews for DevPoint Labs →

Recent DevPoint Labs News

Read all (25) articles about DevPoint Labs →
  • Part-time Web Development

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    In PersonPart Time9 Hours/week12 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $5,000
    Class size
    20
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    This course puts a heavy focus on JavaScript, React, and front-end web development. We are one of the nation's highest reviewed program in accelerated web development with emphasis in the most desired and growing skills like javascript, react.js, git, mongodb, react native and more in web development. Even though the course is part-time, the pace is rigorous (bootcamp for a reason) and only for the motivated individuals that wants to gain skills that will add value to their career and life. Our campus is at Church & State co-working, a collaborative environment for students to get their CODE ON before and after class. Taught by industry experts, you'll learn from passionate instructors co-instructors, and TA's who are contributors & leaders in the development community. DevPoint Labs is unmatched in the nation when it comes to student experience, value, community, and advanced curriculum.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $1,000
    Financing
    Student loans available through: Mountain America Credit Union
    Scholarship
    Women In Tech Scholarship & Opportunity in Tech Scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic computer knowledge
    Prep Work
    Yes, required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • UNLV Part-time Web Development Coding Bootcamp

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, PHP, JavaScript, SQL, Sinatra, Xcode, jQuery, Rails, CSS, Express.js, React.js, Front End, Ruby, MVC, Agile
    In PersonPart Time10 Hours/week24 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $12,000
    Class size
    21
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Partnered with University of Nevada, Las Vegas - DevPoint Labs is powering a part-time web development coding bootcamp. This 24-week program is geared towards working individuals with a flexible schedule of nights and weekends. Learn from one of the top coding programs in the nation in the latest web development technologies and tools. Curated curriculum will cover full-stack web development.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $1,000
    Financing
    Student Loans through MACU
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Prep Work
    Yes, required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • U of U ProEd Full-time Web Development

    Apply
    MySQL, HTML, Git, JavaScript, SQL, Sinatra, jQuery, Rails, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Ruby
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week11 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $9,995
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    In today's digital economy, coding skills are the most demanded across all types of careers and professions. Forbes and LinkedIn noted that those with full-stack web development skills dominate the pay scale and employer desirability. University of Utah Professional Education is excited to bring our students a full-time Web Development Certificate Program, powered by DevPoint Labs. DevPoint Labs was founded by University of Utah graduates as the first full-stack web development program in the state. This course will be held at the DevPoint Lab's Campus in downtown Salt Lake City, located in Church & State Co-working. This full-time, intensive program creates proficiency in back-end and front-end web development through hands on training. Learn multiple programming languages and programs centered around web development like HTML, CSS, Ruby on Rails, JavaScript, ReactJS, React Native, Git and more. https://devpointlabs.continue.utah.edu
    Financing
    Deposit
    $1,000
    Financing
    Student loans available through: Mountain America Credit Union
    Scholarship
    Women In Tech & Opportunity In Tech Scholarships available.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic computer knowledge GED or Equivalent
    Prep Work
    Yes, required.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • User Experience Design

    Apply
    HTML, User Experience Design, CSS
    In PersonPart Time9 Hours/week7 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $3,500
    Class size
    12
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    *THIS COURSE IS CURRENTLY NOT OFFERED* Being able to express design ideas by utilizing sitemaps, user flows, and wireframes is a skill that is in increasingly high demand, and a requirement for any serious career in interactive design or product management. In this course, you’ll receive knowledge and skills in topics like: how to analyze business and usability requirements from a user perspective, drawing solutions with Sketch and best practices for common design patterns such as home pages, forms, search and navigation.
    Financing
    Deposit
    $1,000
    Financing
    Student loans available through: Mountain America Credit Union
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Basic computer knowledge & some design experience.
    Prep Work
    Yes
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • DPL!
    - 4/25/2018
    D Street  User Photo
    D Street • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    DPL was the best choice i could have made for a bootcamp. The teachers and assistants know more than enough to help you become a junior developer right after the 11 weeks are up! Yes it's a very challenging 11 weeks but with all the resources DPL gives you, they fly by! I highly recommend DPL to anyone looking to make a career change or just learn valuable skills. The teacher Dave really cares about each of his students and it shows!! 

  • Amber • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I came to Utah looking to reboot my career as a web developer but not really knowing the web development schools in Salt Lake. I did a lot of research reading course reviews and what I liked about DevPoint was the sense of community from past students and the feeling that they are never alone after they graduate. After recently going through the program I am seeing it first hand! I was provided with access to resources on not only everything I learned in the program but will also have access to any new content as well. I am part of a continuing slack channel where I can reach out with questions any time. The course itself is challenging but very rewarding!! Dave, the instructor, is amazing at breaking down difficult concepts up to make them easier to understand. He is experienced and very knowledgable not only about the skills you learn but also the web development industry in Salt Lake.  The TA's are great! They don't just give you the answer but help lead you in the right direction to figure it out so you learn more effectively. The staff is awesome and always there to help you out whenever you need it. Overall the best choice to learn web development in Salt Lake!!

  • Liz House • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    DevPoint was an exceptional experience. Everything was well thought out from the pre-course work, to the class content, to the Portfolio Project where we got real life experience working with on a client's project. I didn't have any experience in development before this class and that was never seen as an issue, these guys set their students up for success as much as they possibly can. Each students gets out what they are willing to put in and it is worth the work to give it your all.

    I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to break into web development, I wanted to start a new career and this was the perfect jumping off point. Even after graduation I continue to be blown away by DevPoint Labs. They welcome all their students back for hack-a-thons and refresher courses and they are always happy to see their graduates.

  • Justin Stoddard • Junior Software Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This course changes your life. You literally go from maybe knowing a little code to all you need to know to get a job and have a successful career for the rest of your life.

    I'm writing this only a few days after the course and have already landed a job. That in itself should be proof to sign up and change your life. This course is hard but its worth it. You sacrifice 11 weeks of your life so you can spend the rest of your life financially free. Don't be afraid of the instructors either. They all take extreme care in making sure you understand every bit of code and do so in a way that inst condescending. You truly gain a true education in this field through Our Lord And Savior DevPoint Labs. Hi Tyson.

  • Alicia • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First let me say that I don’t really have a tech background. My bachelors was in Nutrition/Dietetics, then I worked in the insurance field for 4 years. During that time I started my own outdoor blog, www.GirlonaHike.com, and realized that becoming a Developer was what I really wanted to do. So I really only had about 1-2 year’s experience but only with HTML/CSS.

    Instead of saying the same thing as everyone else, “the teachers were great, the community is awesome, you learn a lot” blah blah (and yes those things are true!), I figured I would break it down and give detail on everything from my perspective and what I thought of each area.

    Lecture & Assignments

    A typical day looks like this:

    9:30-12:30pm – Lecture with a 10 min break each hour

    12:30-1:30pm - Lunch 

    1:30-5:30 – work on assignment for the day which is what you learned in lecture

    I really liked this setup – I learn best in the morning hours, so for me, having lecture first thing was best. In the afternoon everyone typically works in the chapel so you also get to switch up work areas so you’re not always stuck in a class room.

    Homework

    There’s rarely “assigned” homework. Your homework is finishing the project you started in the afternoon, whether you worked solo or on a team. If you did finish the assignment on campus, then it’s up to you on how much more you want to work on. I will say this: there’s always something to work on. Some people would work on projects until 1am, some people never worked after class was done. This is the part that is up to you – obviously the more you practice the more you’ll learn and get ahead, but they also know people have families and other hobbies so that’s why you never haveto work on anything, Make it your own. You chose the amount you can handle and level of effort you want to put in to the class. 

    Food

    There’s always unlimited cereal, milk, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, fruit, and other random snacks for free. For Hackathon’s they provide pizza for lunch and bagels and cream cheese for breakfast. There’s a large refrigerator, and several microwaves. I always brought my lunch, but most people either go home if they are close by or go out to eat. They will also randomly have other snacks set out, like donuts or pie. There are also several coffee shops and restaurants nearby. This is not the place to start a diet LOL.

    Hackathon’s

    There are 2 hackathons, both on Saturdays, and are all day 9-6pm. Each one just tests everything you’ve learned up until that day before the hackathon. You are put into groups of 4-5 people, are given instructions, then you just work on that app all day. You have to take a mandatory lunch break for at least 30 minutes (I guess Utah law requires a break when you work an 8 hour day), and DPL provides breakfast and lunch. They really aren’t bad or scary, they can actually be fun, especially if you are with a good group. At the end of the day, you will present your app to the entire class. The TA’s then “grade” your project and they pick one team as the winner from both the full and part time cohort. One of the prizes was a Raspberry Pi. The week that you have a Hackathon end up being a 6-day week so you only get Sunday off. These weeks can make you feel exhausted.

    Social Events

    There are 2 social events, ours both ended up being bowling. They are both on a Saturday, typically mid-day. They aren’t required, but good to attend so you get to know your classmates and their families outside of school. They are free, and pizza and sodas are provided.

    Career Services 

    This is a huge area where DPL lacks – there are none. We had a 20 min lecture/presentation on resumes but was very general. It wasn’t until the very last week of class that they said we should turn in our resume for review. 

    Here’s what I wished they would do:

    - I wish they had a list of all the bootcamp-friendly companies that typically or are willing to hire new grads. 

    - I also wished they did mock interviews so that we would feel more confident going into technical interviews. 

    - I wish they did some kind of career day event, like have the alumni come back and help with resumes, give talks, help with mock interviews, etc.

     

    They always talk about networking and going to meetups, and that’s great if you’ve lived in Utah forever and know a lot of people but for those of us out of state its really hard to connect with the tech community here. Most new grads in my cohort got a job through “a friend of a friend of a friend” and were handed jobs while the rest of us had to put in tons of effort to even get an interview. It really does make a difference of “who you know.” We did get to visit on local company and that was nice to able to ask real alums and employers what they are looking for.

    Parking

    Because DPL is downtown, parking is one of the most challenging things You can take the UTA bus/trax; as student through the U you can get half price tickets (just be sure to ask someone at DPL for the special paperwork to get that rate). The monthly rate for taking the bus was only $40. There are a ton of 2-hour parking spots, but there’s no way you can go out to move your car all the time. So most people suck it up and pay for daily parking ($15/day) or park a few blocks away then walk the rest of the way. Some people biked to class as well.

    TIPS!

    • There’s free all-day parking on 6th south, you just have to walk 2 blocks to DPL
    • Push up any work you do to GitHub every day – employers like to see that you are active on there
    • Start applying to jobs around week 2 or 3. You likely won’t get a job that quick but having the interview experience is key, as well as getting your name out there
    • Let everyone know you are looking for a job 
    • Always be working on side projects to fill your portfolio – Udemy.com is a great site
    • Make sure you are on and know how to utilize LinkedIn
    • The TAs can be hard to nail down, so if you have questions or don’t understand something keep bugging them until you get an answer. I didn’t ask enough questions and ended up not understanding some things, even with the help of YouTube and whatnot.

    As far as getting a job, I’m still looking. I had a total of 10 interviews but it’s really tough if you don’t already know someone in the field. I’ll keep this updated on how long it takes for me to find work. Overall I did really enjoy the course and learned a LOT! I do feel like this will jump start my career, but only time will tell for how long it takes. Highly recommend it!

  • Melissa Hill • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just finished the 11 week full-stack bootcamp at DevPoint Labs and it was a amazing experience. Dave is an incredable instructor. I came to DevPoint with zero background in tech and development and he was extremly patrient with me and all the students. He is a great teacher because he stays up to date with the current trends and is constalty changing the content to fit industry standards.  

    This 11 week course is intense but the Dev team is there to help. The TA and instructors where all so helpful in situations where I felt completley lost and ready to give up. They always encouraged me to work harder and it will get eaiser. They nailed it. By the end you forget about those fears from week 1-3. 

    Overall my expierience with DevPoint has been amazing. I met friends for life and this program changed my life for the better. At almost 40 years old I am starting a new career and I couldnt be more excited. 

     

  • Amazing experience
    - 4/24/2018
    Jandrei D'Marco Pitti • Student • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This class has been an amazing adventure for me. Having just graduated highschool I was afraid my age would make me feel out of place- but this class was extremely inclusive, everybody was always willing to help and converse even about unrelated matters, we learned a lot, and made some great friends in the process. The learning enviornment is top notch and I never once felt like a nuisance. If you are in a position where youre wanting to get into development than this is a fantastic place to start, dare I say the best place! If youre reading this, defenitely enroll! 

  • Amy Stevens
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the full time full stack web development course - and make no mistake - as someone with no coding experience it was HARD.  But everyone would have a creer in this feild if it was easy right?  The teachers and staff are incredible.  INCREDIBLE.  The TAs were alwasys there t help, as was the head instructor Dave, and Tracy, who helped me with my resume and job search.  I cannot say enough good words about them, or about the overall experience.  Whiel it was challenging, scary, and ..hard...this experience will be entirely what you make it and Devpoint will be there to offer you the best help every step of the way.  

  • Christopher Lazard • Front End Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had zero experience coding before I came to The University of Utah’s coding bootcamp through DevPoint Labs. They made it easy for me to use my G.I. Bill benefits, the TAs and instructors always answered my questions, and now I am part of a great community.

    My advice to someone new to programming—prepare yourself for a lot of information. You will get as much out of this program as you put in it. You have to go home and code after coding all day in class. You’ll appreciate this the most when you interview for a dev jobs after graduation.

    Overall, it was a fantastic experience, I loved every second of it. Being mentally challenged after years of physical challenges in the military was a big shift me but DevPoint balanced the hard work with making sure the students were taken care of and had some fun. .


    Chris Lazard
    University of Utah &
    DevPoint Labs Graduate

  • TJ • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This class is a really good jump start into a technical career! The part time class has a limited amount of time and it's really hard to go over as much content as there is, but it's all necessary to get down the fundamentals in that timeframe. While this class can't possibly fit in everything, it gives you the foundation to be able to start learning confidently on your own, which is arguably the greatest skill you can learn.

    The staff is welcoming and fun to work with and is willing to stick around to answer questions. They were also often available online. The people I didn't see a lot still knew who I was and would go out of their way to see how everything was going. This course also considers you a member of their community and is willing to help people with coding problems after it's over. 

    I would highly recommend DevPoint Labs. It's definitely challenging, but well worth your while!

  • Jeff L • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This was a great experience. I took the Part-Time Web Development course and I feel like I have a more valuable skill set now than when I graduated with my bachelors degree. It was definitely challenging, I came to the course with your basic computer skills but now I feel like I have a real shot at working in this industry.

    The teachers and TA's were great. They were always patient and encouraging. Even though the pace and intensity of the course was grueling at times, they kept the mood light and made the material seem attainable.

    I can't wait to see where these new skills can take me.

  • Adam K. • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This course is endorsed and certified by the University of Utah. You will get real web development experience during your last few weeks, and the whole DevPoint community is extremely supportive. You will not regret getting into coding through DevPioint.

  • Jacob Wheeler • Full-stack Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have been working in education for the past few years. It has been something that I am very passionate about. However as many know, there is not a lot of money in education. So after feeling like I had maxed out my possibilities at the school I was at, I needed something more. I have a background in technology. After talking with various friends and family members, I decided to look into programming.

    I searched and read reviews on all of the major bootcamps offered in the area. I found that DevPoint Labs had great reviews and had recently gotten an accreditation from the University of Utah. Which as far as I understand is the only bootcamp to offer that benefit. So to me the choice was made.

    After starting the course, I realized that my decision was correct. The staff was extremely accommodating to any questions I had. The instructors were extremely knowledgeable in what they were teaching. You can tell that they enjoy working in the field and are up to date on everything that is happening as it happens. They both have very different teaching styles, that I feel are a good compliment to quick and in depth learning. Which is what this course is all about. 

    Coming from a background that had little to nothing to do with programming, I felt prepared to enter an industry that otherwise would have known nothing about.

    Overall it was a great experience, and I am happy I took that first step. It was scary and will probably continue to be. However I now have a job as a Full-stack developer, and I love what I do!

     
  • Amazing BootCamp
    - 8/18/2017
    Zoe Larsen • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was part of the first U OF U PROED FULL-TIME WEB DEVELOPMENT (summer 2017) cohort. I had a fully immersive learning experience that drove my programming skills beyond any self-taught or online course could offer. I moved from New Mexico to attend DevPoint Labs and stayed in the free housing that DevPoint offered. It was walking distance to Church and State and pleasant accommodations.

    The course was taught by industry professionals who code every day for actual projects. It shows in the course work that is driven by current industry standards and trends. The two teachers offer different teaching styles which covered the course material from different aspects. I found this helped me gain a deeper understanding of core concepts. The course itself was adaptive to the class pace and updated throughout the summer to reflect the most current best-practices.  

    As with any educational course, you truly get out what you put in. Learn as much as you can before you start. Take advantage of how much knowledge and skill that the teachers and TAs have by asking deeper tier questions. Fully immerse yourself and surround yourself with peers in the cohort who are better programmers than you.

     Overall I strongly recommend this boot camp. It has phenomenal instructors, supportive staff, and great course material. 

  • Marco • Analyst • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This was rather a different and challenging experience, even though it was a "Part Time" course. The instructors are active professional data scientists and wholeheartedly seek to leverage the best available tools to achieve optimal problem solving. They are not professional teachers and their curriculum is not limited to only a particular set of skills or tools, if needed they go beyond that list, the limit is the sky for them, which made this course a one in a life time opportunity for me to expand my knowledge and perspective regarding data science. Front Analytics, Alton Alexander who assisted as an instructor regularly is a pioneer in this extensive and extremely useful craftsmanship. He is also a successful entrepreneur, an honorable man and has mentored many. If you decide to take this class, I would recommend signing up asap and prepare as much as you can by covering what they list in the pre-work materials and if possible go beyond that. Specially get familiar with the basics of Python and the Command Line, you won’t regret once you get the hold of it, just like anything else, it takes some practice and passion. If you do the work, at the end of the course you’ll be a different person. Good Luck!

  • Great Experience
    - 5/10/2017
    Sue Thurber • Digital Graphics Specialist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Coding bootcamp at DevPoint was a huge dive into real world full-stack web development for me. It was a huge challenge and a lot of work but has paid off wonderfully well for me in advancing me in my current career and opening new doors to the future.

    Very grateful for to Will & Nhi for their wonderful generosity in helping me with a womens scholarship towards the cost of the tuition as well as all their patience, tolerance and kindness in helping me understand some difficult concepts.

    The teachers know their stuff and TA's are great, and always made me feel comfortable helping me with everything (no matter how stupid my questions may have been).

    Thank you so much for everything!

    Sue Thurber
    Digital Graphics Specialist,
    Access Development

  • Rick Baker • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before getting into the details as to why, let me first say that DevPoint Labs executed an outstanding learning experience. I have taken many technical training courses over the past decade and the part-time ReactJS course has been the best overall experience.

    Now for some of the details as to why the DPL course excells. First and foremost is the competency of the instructors, Dave and Jake, who are both very knowledgable and most important are able to transfer that knowledge in a systematic and progressive approach. And they love this stuff and love to teach, which is contageous.

    Of course this is a "bootcamp" which means information is coming at a very fast pace and there is a huge responsibility on the student to keep up with the pace. If you don't hit the class prepared by doing the pre-course assignments or have an equivilent knowledge then you are already playing catch up. You need to know some Javascript for sure.

    I really liked how the instructors would take brief surveys at points through the course to get indicatiors of how the students were keeping up and where we wanted to go. My cohort wanted to have some additional time with React Native training, so Dave adjusted the course material over a weekend to adjust and fit the need.

    I appreciated the fact that the instructors and staff weren't just trying to check off a few boxex and say that they taught us the concepts on the course list, but were intent on giving us the best possible learning experience with the content we wanted where possible.

    In addition to the technical stuff, I really enjoyed working in various teams as we were given projects to complete through the course and eventually for the capstone project. And the teacher assistants were a huge help in getting past many of the challenges.

    This was a huge challenge having to work full-time and then go straight to school until 9pm for four days a week (and a couple Saturdays) during the three months. It was awesome though and would do it all again.  

    Thanks DPL, it was great!

    -Rick

  • Valerie • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    DevPoint Labs provides a structured, logical, and meaningful 11 week bootcamp course. I was surprised at how much I learned and was able to do on my own in a short amount of time. You definitely get what you put into this course! It was challengin,but there is so much help and assistance available to help you through your journey in the course. The instructors are very knowledgable and patient in their approach to teaching, and the TA's are always happy to help! 

    DevPoint Labs has built a positive and encouraging learning environment, and I'm very happy to be a part of the alumni. I would absolutley recommend DevPoint Labs to anyone who is looking to make a change! 

  • Jake S. • Full-stack PHP/Moodle Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    DevPoint Labs full-stack Ruby on Rails course is taught by two amazing coders and teachers.  That is a hard combination to come by, and Jake Source and Dave Jungst do a fantastic job of bringing you from zero to coding hero in a little less than 12 weeks.  It's intense and not for people who are not serious about changing their career paths. Despite the difficulty level, I garuntee that if you do take each day seriously and try your best anyone, I repeat, ANYONE, can come out on top.  I took the class in from February - April 2016 and my life has only improved as a result of the new skills I learned at DevPoint.  As an individual I am able to take a more analytical approach to problem-solving, and as an employee I have the skills needed to compete in a changing workforce.  If you are looking to change your career without the traditional 4 year degree, DevPoint is for you!

  • Top Notch Program
    - 4/18/2017
    Andrew P. • Junior Web Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great time at DevPoint Labs getting the foundation I needed in order to become the person I wanted to be. Great instructors and support system ensure that you are well on your way to a great career. 

  • Lindsay • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a really incredible (and really difficult) time doing the full-time Ruby on Rails course.  If you are not expecting the course to be difficult, challenging, make-you-question-everything, this might not be the best fit for you.  If you think it will be worth the rewards you reap, then you're right!  I cannot believe how much I have learned and absorbed over the last 11 weeks.  And don't let the difficult part hold you back because DPL offers tons of support not only through teachers, TAs, and other staff, but also a wonderful network of alumni.  Dave and Jake are both incredible instructors and great complements to each other in their coding and teaching styles.  I look forward to remaining a part of this community.

  • Great Bootcamp!
    - 4/9/2017
    Heidi • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    No, you won't be able to retain every single thing you learn so quickly, but I'd guess what I did learn in 11 weeks would have taken me three or four years to learn on my own,  floundering around with online courses. Without DevPoint I wouldn't have gotten the big picture of how it all works together.

    I left with a good concept of how to learn whatever coding skills I might need at a new job and something you can't put a price on- confidence. I did the evening course and there are two instructors. They are both very talented. They never got stumped or seemed like they were winging it. On top of that, it was obvious that they loved what they were doing.

    Very positive and supportive environment. Plus the networking during and after the course really makes the difference in connecting you with a job after the course. Definitely recommend doing this over trying to do it on your own. Lots of diversity in age and gender in my cohort- don't be intimidated!! ;)

  • Paul Carrillo • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I completed the After Hours Full-Stack JavaScript course at DevPointLabs. DPL has opened my mind to a complete new world and community that I wish I could have been part of earlier. The eleven week's were challenging, it has been one of the toughest thing's that I have ever done. I had to put in a lot of extra time and made a lot of sacrifices. It was hard, overwhelming but the knowledge that came from completing the course has re-directed my career path.

    I would highly recommend DevPointLabs to anyone interested in becoming a developer. Dave and the whole staff are amazing. They are there help you along every single step. I am glad I had the opportunity to attend DevPointLabs and would not hesitate to go back.

     

  • Best Decision
    - 1/15/2017
    Spencer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I just completed the full-time Rails course at DPL and had a wonderful experience. I went into the course with only knowledge of HTML/CSS and found the course challenging and very rewarding. As I was thinking about making the decision to take the course I was worried that I may not be able to do well as logical concepts like math have always been difficult for me. Don't even worry about that. If programming interests you and/or you are tired of not knowing what to do with your life/career then I highly recommend DevPoint Labs. It isn't easy by any means. There were days the content felt so overwhelming I wanted to just give up and cry. However, I never gave up and just pushed through.

    You will get what you put into it. I can honestly say I averaged 70+ hours a week and I absolutely do not regret it. If anything I regret not coding more!  I have now graduated and I feel like I have the foundation needed to get out there and get myself hired. 

    The staff is amazing. The instructors are extremely qualified and teach the content very well. The TAs are awesome, happy to help, and are a great resource. The community at DevPoint Labs is incredible too. Tons of alumni are there to mentor and help however they can. If you ever get stuck, and you will... a lot, there are always people there to help you figure it out. 

    Honestly, going to DevPoint Labs was one of the best decisions I have ever made in my life. It has given me a career path, friends, and a constant challenge. I highly recommend DPL to anyone wanting to learn programming.  

     

  • Kenyon • SEO Manager / Product Manager • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I really loved my time at dev point labs. I had tried to learn JS on my own and kept hitting roadblocks. My understanding is now far beyond where I would've have gotten to own my own. The course is hard and you will get out of it what you put into it. 

    I was able to learn from (instructors) and with (students) some crazy smart taleneted people and build great projects. Dave was a great instructor, while the course and cirriculm moves fast he was always wililng to give insight on where to go to learn more and go over topics learned in class. In reality you find out that it's hard and frustrating to learn to code in such a short time you really have to practice, practice and practice more to pick it up. 

    I gave five stars for experience, instructors and cirriculm and an NA for job assistance. I came into the course happily employed so I didn't participate in any of the job assistance activites. So I can't speak on the job assistance aspect.

    I will say that going through the course has made me way better at my job as a SEO Product Owner. I've nerver found working with developers more rewarding. In that sense it has defintey helped my career. I also am working on my own application that I intend to complete all the front end and back end dev for, which is something I would have never been able to do before the course. I still gave NA for job assistance becuase I think my job feedback is probably not relevant to what most prospective students are looking for.

    If you are thinking about dev point I highly reccomened and advise to make a time committment, to attend all the classes and do homework, do good prep work before cohort and don't get discouraged when it gets difficult. You will be successful if you work at it and you will be very glad you did!