devleague-logo

DevLeague

Honolulu

DevLeague

Avg Rating:4.9 ( 41 reviews )

DevLeague offers full-time and part-time courses in full-stack web development and cybersecurity in Honolulu, Hawaii. DevLeague aims to provide mentorship and advanced technical training to motivated individuals seeking a career path in modern technology. Students will learn in-demand technical skills and DevLeague can connect students to hiring managers to get their career start in the software industry.

Potential applicants should be highly motivated and comfortable with the basics of technology, and DevLeague encourages both beginners and experienced developers to apply. Applicants will need to fill out a short online form, and then have a conversation with the DevLeague team about career goals and how to achieve them. Prior to acceptance, applicants must pass a coding challenge. 

DevLeague offers an intense curriculum and intimate experience for students, where mentorship and community are important. Upon completion of a course, students will have a significant portfolio of project work and breadth and depth of knowledge showing what they are capable of producing. DevLeague also has employer relationships in place to help students find employers who are excited about recruiting DevLeague students.

Recent DevLeague Reviews: Rating 4.9

all (41) reviews for DevLeague →

Recent DevLeague News

Read all (7) articles about DevLeague →
  • Cyber Prep

    Apply
    Git, Python
    In PersonPart Time8 Hours/week4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$499
    Class size20
    LocationHonolulu
    Cyber Prep is a four week course designed to introduce you into the world of cyber security and to get you admissions ready for our Cyber Security Professional course. We’ll start off with the basics of computer hardware components then cover operating systems, networking, Bash and programming in python. This course is a not prerequisite for the regular Cyber Security Professional program, however, we highly recommend Cyber Prep for anyone that is interested in learning more about cyber security and it greatly increases your chances of completing the technical challenge if you are new to the field of IT.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Tuition PlansTuition is $499
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Cyber Security Professional

    Apply
    Git, Penetration Testing, Ethical Hacking, SQL, Python
    In PersonPart Time34 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$14,500
    Class size20
    LocationHonolulu
    Part-time 34 Week course Start: May 13, 2019 End: Dec 28, 2019 The Cyber Security Professional course is an immersive and accelerated training program with a focus on creating the next generation of cyber security professionals with core competencies in the following areas: 1) Critical Thinking and Application in the realm of cybersecurity 2) Structured Analytical Techniques in the realm of cybersecurity 3) Network, Operating System, and Application attack vectors and countermeasures Our curriculum has been designed and vetted from professional experience across the highest levels of national security organizations and is compliant with the NICE.
    Financing
    Deposit$1,450
    Financing
    Financing through SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansPayment Plans Available
    ScholarshipLow Income Assistance Scholarship & Female Hacker Scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelUnderstanding of technology
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes
  • DevLeague Prep

    Apply
    In PersonPart Time4 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$735
    Class size15
    LocationHonolulu
    DevLeague Prep is a 4-week deep dive course designed to give beginners with no programming experience an opportunity to learn the basics of coding through an introduction to front-end web development. The coverage of the course includes a hands on and thorough approach to HTML, CSS and JavaScript. All of which are skills necessary as first steps for a career start as a software developer, an industry that is high growth, high-salary and in-demand.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Tuition PlansTuition is $735
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Full Stack Javascript Part Time Session

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,500
    Class size20
    LocationHonolulu
    Part-Time 30 week course Start: Jun 3, 2019 End: Dec 28, 2019 This 30 week program is designed for individuals that are looking to make a career switch into software engineering but can't quit their day jobs just yet. Students will: 1) Learn a thorough understanding of the various components, protocols, tools and technologies that make up the current web application landscape. 2) Build extensive experience in front-end development including multiple JavaScript frameworks, as well as a thorough understanding of HTML5/CSS3 capabilities. 3) Have a personal GitHub portfolio of functional working applications to showcase their work and acquired skills and progression over the duration of the course. 4) Be prepared for topics and methods utilized in industry tech interview standard processes. 5) Learn to be comfortable working in a team collaboration environment for both effectively communicating ideas and working with group members towards defined goals using industry practices, procedures and tools. 6) Be well versed in best practices and procedures for writing quality web application software in a number of environments and languages common in current web development environments.
    Financing
    Deposit$1250
    Financing
    Financing through SkillsFund and Climb Credit
    Tuition PlansPayment Plans Available
    ScholarshipLow Income Assistance Scholarship & Female Hacker Scholarship
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelUnderstanding of technology
    Prep WorkYes
    Placement TestYes
    InterviewYes

Shared Review

  • Top-Notch
    - 5/29/2018
    Mika D • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended DevLeague with no prior coding experience. I am very satistifed from everything I learned during this program. All of the instructors are very knowledgable and are always willing to help. If I didn't understand something, I just asked and they would sit with me until I understood it. 

    Russel and Jason are extremely supportive and are available for any assistance you may need. They genuinely care about our success, even after completing the course, they continue to offer their guidance and expertise.  

    If you have an interest in learning web development or making a career change, I highly recommend DevLeague. 

  • Jenn Ahuna  User Photo
    Jenn Ahuna • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hello review seeker, I just finished DevLeague a couple weeks ago… be prepared for a long but genuine review of Hawaii’s only coding bootcamp. Let me also preface this review by stating that other than knowing a bit of HTML / CSS, I have absolutely no coding knowledge or experience.

    Before enrolling myself in their immersive full-time program, like you and many others… I did my research and tried to find any review or resource I could get my hands on about this school. When I stumbled upon CourseReport and saw all their 5 star reviews, the cynic in me couldn’t believe this boot camp (let alone one all the way in Hawaii) could achieve so many positive reviews, so naturally I assumed most were fake.  It wasn’t until I personally met (or saw around school)  a lot of these “rando” names that were being used on CourseReport, did in fact belong to actual people and these are genuine reviews from real DevLeague alumni.

    Taking the plunge with DevLeague as my sidekick was a huge risk for me as I was working full-time in a non-tech job but one of the major deciding factors in choosing this coding bootcamp was the fact that I would be able to make this big career switch in just a few short months and I didn’t have to step foot out of Hawaii.

    Being the premature baby dev that I was with no coding background, I enrolled in their JavaScript prep course so I could gain enough knowledge to submit my coding challenge entry. Vic was our main instructor during the 4-week prep course and he was (and still remains) one of my favorite people I’ve met through DevLeague. It’s hard to say *favorite* because honestly,  pretty much everyone at DevLeague was awesome and I’m really glad to be a part of this community.

    I remember when I first started attending prep class, I was really shocked (but impressed) with the sense of support and community from everyone at DL.  Previous graduates would come back to help out or various alumni popped in to give some advice, even students from other classes would stop by to see how we were doing. Needless to say, I really felt the support system there and it’s obvious it trickled down from the top.

    I wouldn’t be sitting here today, a DL graduate, if it weren’t for the help and support from Russel and Jason. I can’t count how many emails were passed between Russel and I before I started DevLeague. He was incredibly responsive and resourceful especially when I was going through the process to apply for scholarship, which I was generously awarded. I’m truly grateful for the opportunity they’ve given me.

    It’s clearly impossible for me to write a shorter review, especially on something that has had such a big impact, but I’ll try to summarize my experience of the actual bootcamp program:

    If you’re looking at the full-time program of 11 hour days, 6 days a week… it seems long, yes, but honestly it passes by pretty quickly especially since you’re jamming on code 70% of the time. My other classmates have the same view as me in this regard.

    It’s extremely challenging. I felt so overloaded with information at times that I barely felt like I actually retained anything. That led to me asking myself “Did I make the right decision going through this program?” or “Maybe I’m not meant to be a developer?”

    In the beginning, I felt like nothing made sense and it wasn’t until towards the tail end of bootcamp that the pieces started coming together to form a whole picture.

    The curriculum is well thought out, projects on point for the topic and I enjoyed the humor in the slideshows. The readme docs are at times confusing (probably getting us used to reading real docs, lol) and some needed updates.

    In the end, I wholeheartedly join in and agree with the others in saying “It was the best decision I made” career-wise and if you’re on fence about taking the course or want to ask me for more details about my experience, I’ll be more than happy to answer them for you… shoot me an email jennahscriptAToutlookDOTcom

  • Excellent Bootcamp
    - 9/24/2018
    Bronson Avila  User Photo
    Bronson Avila • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I recently completed DevLeague's full-time "JavaScript Web Engineer" track, and I highly recommend the program to anyone who is considering entering the world of web/software development without a CS background.  The course offers broad and deep exposure to the fundamental concepts and technologies upon which the Internet is built, so you will be able to jump aboard even without prior CS experience.  

    Instructors

    The two core instructors of the full-time "JavaScript Web Engineer" course are highly qualified software developers with many years of professional experience.  They excelled in explaining technical concepts in a manner which was easy to understand, and they consistently demonstrated patience and a genuine willingness to help and educate all students in the class (even on an individual basis).

    Curriculum

    The curriculum was presented in the form of lectures and coding projects.  In addition to the fundamentals of JavaScript, the covered topics included, inter alia: React, Angular, AWS (EC2 and S3), Node, Express, XHR, HTTP requests, relational databases (SQL, PostgreSQL, and related ORMs), CSS preprocessing, debugging (Chrome and VSC), database indexing, database normalization, algorithms, data structures, big O notation, object-oriented programming, automation tools, unit testing, templating, hashing, and encryption.

    Job Assistance

    The founders of DevLeague are extremely proactive in helping graduates find jobs after completing the program.  Prior to graduating, all students are provided with assistance in developing their resumes and practicing for technical interviews.  Following graduation, one of the program founders (Russel) continues to make himself available as a valuable resource in your job hunt (locally and abroad).  Moreover, the DevLeague community has a strong network of alumni who regularly share job opportunities with other graduates.

    Overall Experience

    My overall experience in DevLeague has been extremely positive, and I am glad that I took the plunge.  If you are living in Hawaii (or considering moving to Hawaii) and are serious about entering the field of web/software development, you will not regret your decision to attend DevLeague.  However, be aware that the time and effort required to succeed will be substantial.  

  • Ki Jung Kim  User Photo
    Ki Jung Kim • Systems Analyst • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hello,

    I'm a graduate of DevLeague's fullstack JavaScript development track. I've gathered some information that would have been helpful for me to know before I started my journey in the hopes that it'll find you well and offer guidance in your search for a new career in tech.

    First, DevLeague, or any other bootcamp, is not your fast-ticket to a high paying salary. If you're looking to join up at DevLeague looking for a quick way to hit that 6-figure salary, you'll be sorely disappointed. Take it with a grain of salt, since there probably are people making a lot of money with DevLeague credentials, but don't be fooled into thinking it was easy for them. Those of us "legends" (DevLeague graduates) making a decent income is from hardwork. Not from any big shiny spoons feeding us new job opportunities.

    Second, the staff are awesome. Simply put, all of the TA's, administrative personnel, even the outsourced HR mock-interview provider are genuine, awesome, people. They are helpful and passionate about what they do and it shows in their guidance and work. Instructors may vary based on your preference: some of them are brilliant coders, but lack the ability to lead a teaching environment. Others excel at teaching, but might not have the "know-everything" expertise. However, the DevLeague staff make an excellent team, as a collective, and are great at what they do.

    In terms of curriculum, it was decent but not all-inclusive. When I say it wasn't all-inclusive, don't take that as a negative remark because you have to understand that it's probably impossible to learn many languages in the depth that I learned JavaScript if the curriculum contained multiple languages. This, however, was a bit of a disconnect for me: Most tech firms in Hawaii (which is where this school is based and has the most amount of connections in terms of employment) uses enterprise stacks, like Java or .NET. If the curriculum had a brief introduction and project based on those languages, I might have had a better experiece.

    Lastly, job search is very much self-directed. The school offers an expansive network of employers, but given that not many of them are hiring, it makes job searching a grind. If you have dreams of being a developer in Hawaii, then honestly DevLeague is probably your best bet, but even if it's the best bet, it's most definitely not a sure bet. If you don't have a preference for Hawaii as your home, then finding a school and network in the up-and-coming tech hub might be most rewarding. I personally wanted to work in Hawaii, which is why I went through DevLeague.

    In closing, I just want to say that my experience with DevLeague was phenomenal. From not knowing how to write a single line of code to writing fullstack, scalable applications in under 6 months is something that this school can help you achieve.  I'll say it again, "something that this school can help you achieve." In the end, it comes down to how much grit you have and what you're willing to do to get into this field. I honestly worked my ass off for 6 months and it's paying off now. If you're slacking and waiting for opportunities to drop into your lap, you'll probably be searching for another fast-ticket to a better career not long after a coding bootcamp. So if you're considering a coding bootcamp, make sure you reflect on what it is that you want, first.

    Regards,

  • Above and Beyond
    - 2/27/2018
    Nathan N  User Photo
    Nathan N • Computer Programmer 2 • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the Full Time Javascript program at DevLeague from September to December of 2017. In February 2018, I accepted a full stack developer position with the City and County of Honolulu.

    Pros:

    • Highly knowledgable and dedicated instructors. The instructors are there because they want to be there. This is reflected in how much effort they put into helping students learn and understand concepts.
    • Wide but deep coverage of current and relevant topics. Saying that there is a lot to cover is an understatement. The instructors did a great job at covering as many topics as possible while providing the depth of knowledge on topics we needed to hold our own in the industry.
    • Numerous individual and team projects. You will work in both environments during your career so it is helpful to gain experience early on.
    • Post-graduation job assistance. DevLeague has good connections within the tech community. Keep in mind that they won't hold your hand during the job search but they give great guidance and will make introductions if possible.
    • Helpful and responsive community. I continue to reach out with questions even after the program. The DevLeague community is more than happy to help.

    Cons:

    • Not enough time to learn everything. This is to be expected. Learn what you can with the time that you have.

    Attending DevLeague was one of the best decisions I have ever made. It was challenging, rigorous, exciting, and fun! I spent three months on the edge of my seat, trying to absorb as much information as possible. Like anything else, the more effort you put into this program, the more you will get out of it. If you're on the fence about taking the plunge, just do it! You will come out on the other side ecstatic that you did.

  • Ella   User Photo
    Ella • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am so thankful that I stumbled upon Devleague. I can tell they genuinely care about their students from start to end, and even after graduation.  During the screening, they could have just admitted me while being pregnant, but because they care about my well being, they advised me to delay my admission instead. From that experience alone, I already know that I will be in good hands. 

    Devleague instructors were really passionate on what they're teaching and has been truly patient. They also give precise feedback on how to improve your learning style. Overall, the curriculum is great and Devleague is expecting that you play your part as a responsible student. I also want to add on how cool the co-founders and whole team, very approachable and truly supportive. 

  • A whole new world
    - 7/25/2017
    Kanoa Cleveland  User Photo
    Kanoa Cleveland • Full-Stack Web Developer • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Before DevLeague, I had no clue what direction I should be taking in life. I had been working a bunch of different jobs, trying to get a feel for something that I would enjoy doing for an extended period of time, but I came up with nothing. I was getting to a point where I was worried about my future when I found DevLeague. To be honest, when I started looking into the course, I had little to no expectation that I would ever be interested in coding, but as I taught myself the little that I had to know to apply and get accepted, I realized that coding was like nothing I had ever experienced. I got accepted to the program, and 3 months later I'm living in a whole new world. I see technology differently since DevLeague, and I see my place in the world. I see what path to take for my future, and I'm positive that coding is something I can maintain. I love developing, and DevLeague is where it all started. If you need a little boost in life, and a brand new career path, DevLeague is the place for you.

  • Coco  User Photo
    Coco • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was interested in joining DevLeague a few years back but the only course offered at the time was the full time course and I was not ready to leave my full time job. Once the part time course was available I reapplied and joined their Javascript prep course. The prep course is a 4 week night program that introduces prospective students to the fundamentals of Javascript and serves as a trial run for students seriously considering apply to the full and part time programs. Joining the part time program was the best decision I have made thus far. I gained new skills in software development and a new support network. The beginning of the course was overwhelmning as you are learning various programs and methods each class, but the instructors are more than happy to clarify anything you don't understand. If you're considering joining the part time program be prepared for long nights and devoting extra hours outside of class time.

  • You can do it!
    - 3/13/2017
    Jay Houn  User Photo
    Jay Houn • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    If I could, I would go through DevLeague all over again. It was honestly one of the best and most challenging experiences of my life! I left my job in California and moved out to Hawaii for 3 months to learn something I had no experience in. So yeah… that was kinda nuts, but it was so worth it! I got to learn from instructors who were enthusiastic about programming and who were genuinely interested in helping us learn the material. At the same time, I had amazing classmates who busted their butts day in and day out, which kept me going throughout the course. Yes, programming is tough and there are plenty of rough times, but I was always able to get through it with the amazing support group I had at DevLeague.

    DevLeague was definitely not a walk in the park. I was sweating bullets before class even started. Though I went through the phone screening and passed the coding challenge, I still had this uneasy feeling of imposter syndrome. I was thinking to myself, “This must be a fluke. Are they sure the accepted the right guy?” and “I just don’t think I’m smart enough to do this!”. Well after 12 intensive weeks of non-stop programming, all I can say is “ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE!”. My advice is just to grind through it and to never ever give up! And don’t be afraid to ask questions. The people at DevLeague are there to help you, so make sure you take full advantage of their resources during the bootcamp and after you graduate.

     
  • Baseem Missaghi • Software App Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    DevLeague is an incredible coding bootcamp that offers two different options for becoming a Javascript Engineer.  Either a 12 week full time course or a couple months PT option, I chose the 12 week FT course. From the very beginning they provide you with a strong foundation in software engineering, and continue to provide you with all the neccessary skills, knowledge and tools required to begin a career as a software engineer.  They provide an immense amount of support, lots of encouragment.  During the 12 week program they become your family and afterwards they continue providing support via Slack, introducing you to alumni/legends, supporting you at Hackathons, provide continued support at their campus. Jesse and Ed the FT instructors have lots of experience with software development and equally strong skills in teaching it.  They provide challenging and highly rewarding projects that help you feel comfortable with working with Javascript, React, Angular, Nodejs, RDBMS, etc.  The supporting instructors are always available and willing to support with your learning experience.  After graduation they provide resume and job search support, by sharing job openings, introductions, stories, and continued tech classes.

  • 8.5/10
    - 2/27/2018
    Kaley • Back-end Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hey hey! I attended DevLeague from Sept - Dec 2017 with no coding experience except for their prep course. Feb 2018 I accepted an offer for a non-entry-level position as a backend engineer for a game company in Tokyo.

    Pros:

    1. Good curriculum. After DevLeague your skillset will match a good majority of web developer job listings (**a lot of time spent on front end frameworks)
    2. A lot of team projects, so you get used to that GitHub flow
    3. We had about a month of exercises & online sessions before the actual cohort began, so we didn't have to waste as much time on basics
    4. Instructors were insanely dedicated, and totally "on" & present every hour of the day, which is crazy. They actually cared about our success, which might be a "Hawaii" thing lol

    Cons:

    1. Some very talented instructors left during my cohort 
    2. Located in Hawaii, so if you're looking to get a job anywhere else it'll be more difficult to network
    3. DevOps lectures were ALL OVER the place
    4. Didn't let me bedazzle my keycard
  • O_o
    - 11/11/2017
    Brandon • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Several years before entering DevLeague I had graduated with a bachelors in computer science.  I still gained a lot from the bootcamp. This course aims to make "fullstack javascript web developers".  If that complete phrase doesn't describe you, you will probably get good value out of this.  Now, if most of that phrase fits you, there may be diminishing returns, but I couldn't say from experience.  I went with the 6 month part time version instead of the concentrated 3 month one and the more spaced out nature of the program gave me more time to absorb the material.  Prior knowledge does give you an edge, but each week the focus changes, and you will not have a smooth 6 months.  For part time a lot of work does need to be done outside of class, so make sure you can accomodate that.  
    Their approach is to have you do things the hard way first, then show you the tools that make it easier.  You could just skip to the end and start with the library, but I personally want to know what's going on with everything everywhere so this works out better for me.  When things break, you have an actual idea of why that might be.  
    You could learn this on your own, certainly.  It would take longer because deciding what to learn and how important various things are is hard to judge when you're starting out.  Starting with best practices is much easier, and probably better in the long run.  When you get stuck, there are actual people to help you.  StackOverflow can answer many questions, but it might not answer your question.  The help is there when you need it, most times of day, let's be realistic here. And this doesn't end on graduation, you still have access to a large network of graduates and Devleague should you need assistance with something later.
    If you are accepted, then you will make it to the end if you keep moving forward.  A good portion of our cohort had no prior programming experience.  There will be difficult patches, but they all made it through.  You will get used to being comfortable with feeling uncertain about things, and its an important skill to have.  Its not quite the same as forgetting whether you locked your house, thats a different problem.  You will forget things, because it's a lot of knowledge crammed into a short time frame.  But you will know that these things are possible, that you've done them, and that you could pick them up again when you need to. 

  • Taylor Kennedy • Software Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    After graduating college with a CS degree, I had developed a cynical attitude about education as a whole. I felt as if I'd reached a limit in my capacity for technical growth in college, I considered other options to help me dive deeper into programming and something that would give me practical experience. I began working for the state as a digital archive specialist. After a year, for similar reasons, I felt I wanted more. A coding bootcamp seemed like not a bad bet. Thankfully there was DevLeague, right in the heart of my beautiful home of Oahu, Hawaii.

    DevLeague was groundbreaking. For the first time, I found a place where better I did, the better DevLeague did. No amount of words can describe the rigor and the challenge of the program. An 80-90 hour weekly commitment is typical. I lost sleep and was challenged consistently. I was surrounded (and out-competed) by some of the most gifted people I’ve ever met. Once course is over, I was thrust into the job search, which was filled with entirely different challenges. For me it was personal projects, phone calls, contracted work, technical screenings, white boarding sessions, in-person interviews, salary negotiations.

    And then, almost miraculously, things started working out. I was interviewing at places I’d only dreamed of working on. I had the confidence to choose which offers to accept and which to reject.

    DevLeague truly provides a life-changing experience. Everyone from the founders to the instructors and TAs are amazingly brilliant people who not only understand the material but have a genuine desire to help others. The caliber of the students is phenomenal and diverse. Various people from different backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives. All in all, I have zero regrets about choosing this program. All promises were kept. It was the most challenging educational endeavor I've ever attempted but, thanks to DevLeague, I feel confident about my future as a Software Engineer at Microsoft. If you're passionate about the field and are willing to put in the hard work, there's no better place to learn software development. Plus, the beaches in Hawaii are a breathtaking added bonus. :)