coder-academy-logo

Coder Academy

Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney

Coder Academy

Avg Rating:4.74 ( 101 reviews )

Coder Academy is an accredited Australian coding bootcamp located in Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane. The programming bootcamp offers a six-month 'Fast Track' program split into four sections covering computer science fundamentals and two full technology stacks – Ruby on Rails and MERN (Mongo, Express, React, and Node), as well as ReactJS.

Coder Academy teaches students in-demand skills with the goal of producing well-rounded, full stack developers. Students engage in face-to-face learning by industry experts using project-based coursework from successful bootcamps in Silicon Valley. Each student also partakes in a one-month internship placement in a real dev environment with a startup or tech company.

Coder Academy equips students with the most relevant programming skills and provides them with job readiness skills, networking opportunities, and career guidance.

Recent Coder Academy Reviews: Rating 4.74

all (101) reviews for Coder Academy →

Recent Coder Academy News

Read all (7) articles about Coder Academy →
  • Code, Cloud & Cyber Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date May 13, 2021
    Cost$19,980
    Class size30
    LocationBrisbane, Sydney, Melbourne
    Cyber security is the fastest growing field of the information technology sector in which positions can't be filled fast enough. With the amount of data breaches, malware samples and hackers growing every year, the industry is frantically trying to employ experts who can defend against this new wave of cyber-crime. With estimates of 3.5 million unfilled cyber jobs by 2021, now is the perfect time to be trained or upskilled into a high paying, vitally important position. Coder Academy's Cyber Security Bootcamp is the first of its kind in Australia! The 7-month long, immersive, practical bootcamp will prepare those with an interest and passion in IT and cyber security for a career in one of the world's fastest growing and essential industries. With material created by Cyberscience and the course led by industry experts, the Cyber Security Bootcamp will provide you with the skills and knowledge you need to launch your career. The course also includes an optional 1-month internship, offering all students the opportunity to experience put their skills to the test within startups, tech companies, and large organisations. In undertaking the Cyber Security Bootcamp students will also study the ICT50715 Diploma of Software Development as part of the program. Successful completion of assessments will lead to the awarding of the ICT50715 Diploma of Software Development. Academy of Information Technology trading as Coder Academy; RTO 90511, PRV12005, CRICOS 02155J; an approved VET Student Loan and FEE-HELP provider.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    FEE-HELP government loans available for eligible domestic students. Find out more here: https://www.studyassist.gov.au/help-loans/fee-help
    Tuition PlansInstallment payments available (4 equal payments - 1 payment per term)
    ScholarshipOne Diversity Scholarship available per intake covering 50% of full tuition fees.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Prep WorkPre-work will be distributed once student enrollment has been processed.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    May 13, 2021 - Brisbane Apply by May 11, 2021
    May 13, 2021 - Melbourne Apply by May 11, 2021
    May 13, 2021 - Sydney Apply by May 11, 2021
  • Fast Track Coding Bootcamp

    Apply
    Start Date February 22, 2021
    Cost$19,900
    Class size30
    LocationBrisbane, Sydney, Melbourne
    Coder Academy has joined forces with the Academy of Information Technology (AIT) to bring you Australia’s only accredited coding bootcamp. Bootcamp-style learning has been proven successful in the United States as the most direct pathway for students with no prior coding experience to become employable developers in only a few months. Whether you want to up-skill, create a start-up, build an app, join a leading tech company, or travel the world as a digital nomad, Coder Academy provides you with the in-demand tools and cutting edge knowledge you’ll need for a lucrative career. Our full time Fast Track course offers revolutionary technology education in a collaborative and immersive environment, combined with the accreditation of Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) and a nationally recognised higher ed Diploma of Information Technology.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    Tuition PlansInstallment Plan
    Scholarship50% Women in Tech scholarship available to one female applicant per intake per campus
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelHTML & CSS preferred
    Prep WorkYou will be sent out pre-work to complete upon your enrollment into the course.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    February 22, 2021 - Brisbane Apply by February 15, 2021
    February 22, 2021 - Sydney Apply by February 15, 2021
    February 22, 2021 - Melbourne Apply by February 15, 2021
  • Flex Track Bootcamp

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Rails, User Experience Design, CSS, Express.js, Node.js, Front End, Ruby
    In PersonPart Time21 Hours/week47 Weeks
    Start Date March 22, 2021
    Cost$19,900
    Class size20
    LocationBrisbane, Sydney, Melbourne
    Coder Academy's GenTech Bootcamp is designed for upskillers, career changers and those wanting to return to the workforce through tech. Whether you want to go straight into a Junior Developer career, or prefer to get a leg up before starting uni, this course was made with you in mind. Think of GenTech as the younger sibling of our highly successful Fast Track bootcamp. GenTech could be for you if you... - have recently left school and want a career in technology, but have missed out on training - want to career change in tech - want to get into tech following a career break - are a great problem solver & high achiever, but need to build confidence in 21st century skills - want a fast track to a great career or to feeling super confident in STEM at university During our time working with schools, we’ve noticed that students aren’t receiving sufficient coding & stem training. (We’re working on it!) This means students like you aren’t quite prepared for computer science, IT, or engineering degrees straight out of school, which leads to high dropout rates - especially for young women. GenTech was designed as an intensive year-long coding course to help these students build a foundation to succeed in a stem university degree, or if they prefer, to provide access to fantastic career opportunities as a junior developer. HANDS-ON, ENGAGING LEARNING Focus on honing your coding skills in a collaborative and inspiring environment with like-minded classmates. MEET THE EXPERTS Foster strong industry relationships through coder academy’s network. With access to contacts from top tier tech companies, students develop meaningful connections with expert educators, mentors, guest speakers, and industry partners. COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT Australia has a tight-knit developer community for students to get involved in. Set yourself apart by building valuable experience while you learn. Attend industry excursions, local hackathons, and other tech events. IN-DEMAND TECH SKILLS Graduate with the most in-demand, industry relevant set of programming skills in two technology stacks – Ruby on Rails & JavaScript mern stack (mongo, express, react & node). INDUSTRY EXPERIENCE Unlike university, colleges, or other bootcamp programs, Coder Academy coordinates a structured one month cadetship in industry. To enhance student learning, a key component of the GenTech program is introducing students to experts from industry and getting them comfortable with what is expected in the workplace. Coder Academy brings in numerous mentors from big tech companies like Atlassian, Gumtree Australia, and Amazon Web Services, and more, as well representatives from startups and agencies. Outside of the classroom, students are encouraged to partake in community tech events like hackathons, Meetups, and excursions. Unlike most education providers, Coder Academy is passionate about ensuring all of our students gain industry experience during the course of their study. During GenTech, students will partake in a 4-week long cadetship with anywhere between one and four companies in order to build connections, and better understand the demands and opportunities in the workplace. Students are matched with appropriate cadetship providers based on their career aspirations and performance during the bootcamp.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Financing
    FEE-HELP is available to eligible students
    Tuition PlansInstalment payments available
    Scholarship1 Diversity Scholarship available per intake to eligible Australian citizens covering 50% of tuition fees
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNone, but HTML/CSS preferred
    Prep WorkPre-work might be required
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    March 22, 2021 - Melbourne
    March 22, 2021 - Brisbane
    March 22, 2021 - Sydney

Shared Review

  • Max P • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     As a recent grad of Coder Academy Sydney I can attest to the great reputation and reviews the course has. It has been influential on changing my study process, and has opened me up to a new world of learning and opportunity. 
     
     The course can be quite intense, and the immersion of a full 9-5 week coding is a great method of getting students in a mindframe of learning large amounts of content in a short period. There is a heavy emphasis on networking and industry skills, as well as a constantly updated curriculum ensuring you are studying the latest industry standards, which I believe is a great asset not afforded to traditional university students.
     
     The internship at the end of the course is also both a great motivating factor during study, as well as an invaluable opportunity to get your foot in the door of industry and continue your learning in a supportive environment. 

  • Carlie Hamilton  User Photo
    Carlie Hamilton • Software Engineer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I took part in the flex track at the Brisbane campus, and can not rave enough about it. Taking the course was the best decision I have ever made. It is highly practical and teaches you skills that make you desirable to future employers. This course opens doors and opportunities for you. Like anything, you get out of it what you put in.

    I went from knowing HTML and CSS to being able to create fully functional web applications. Not only is the content practical, the assessment becomes your portfolio you present to employers. The course not only teaches you programming, you also learn and develop other core skills that will allow you to stand out in the workforce. 

    The staff at Coder Academy are supportive. Because of the small class sizes, they are able to pivot and teach you in ways that you need. Non academic staff also support you. They want you to succeed. 

    The course exposed me to many people in the industry and opened the door for me to get a part time software engineering role while studying, and also ultimately a full time position at the end of my course. 

    I can't recommend this course enough.
  • Nick Fletcher  User Photo
    Nick Fletcher • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    My time at Coder Academy has been one of the greatest experiences of my life. I started the course with knowing a few things about coding and by the end of it I now know how to create apps with 100's of lines of code. The people i've met over my time at Coder Academy have been such a big help with my journey and i now call them friends. The staff at Coder Academy are also one of the major reasons why I loved my time at Coder, they helped me land an amazing opportunity doing an internship at an amazing company and i'm thankful for everyone at Coder Academy for making my 6 month journey amazing. I seriously recommend anyone who wants to take up programming to give this course a shot cause you will not be disappointed. 
  • Ashley  User Photo
    Ashley • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Extremely useful and practical course, taking me from a bartender with an empty Github to actually being in the industry with multiple projects under my belt. The instructors we're extremely helpful and positive and the other students we're absolutely the best. I can't recommend this course enough.
  • Alex Leybourne  User Photo
    Alex Leybourne • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
     Coder Academy has been one of the best things I have done in my life, from both an Academic and Social perspective. I would have never thought you could learn and do so much within 6 months of a fast-tracked course but here I am today with more knowledge and confidence than I could have imagined. Going from knowing how to scrape together a basic Html website to creating full web applications with amazing people. If you are thinking of taking the plunge to learn web development then I can't recommend Coder Academy Enough!
  • Lukey P   User Photo
    Lukey P • Career changer • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    The experience at coder academy is, first and foremost, super practical. During the 5 months I've created a number of apps and am inspired to create more and more. As far as staff goes - The educators are wizards, student services are warm and fuzzy pikachus and my fellow aspiring Devs are kings and queens.  Love em all 
  • Alex Kentwell  User Photo
    Alex Kentwell • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    It is one of the best learning environments that I have experienced through my studying over the years. The teachers are brilliant, friendly, and willing to answer almost every question you have.
    The fast teav course is challenging, but also very rewarding.

    One piece of advice I would give if you get in, is ask as many questions as you can while you are there.
  • Would recommend!
    - 2/7/2020
    Ragan  User Photo
    Ragan • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Had an amazing time at Coder, the teaching is excellent, up to date and well explained. The student services were super helpful and supportive throughout the course too. Would highly recommend for anyone thinking of making the jump. 
  • Cassie   User Photo
    Cassie • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Enrolling at Coder Academy changed my life. I was so apprehensive and nervous to call up and ask about the course but I don’t regret a single moment
    .
    Thanks to CA, I’m off to my first internship and excited to start my new career as a software engineer when six months ago I had never touched code in any capacity .

    Thanks CA
  • Ewe Lin Loo  User Photo
    Ewe Lin Loo • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I loved every moment of the course - each part built upon the previous. The educators were very friendly and approachable. They ensured we had a thorough learning experience while having fun.
  • Good Stuff
    - 2/7/2020
    Angel Lopez-Andrade  User Photo
    Angel Lopez-Andrade • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Brilliant course with a very relevant and up-to-date curriculum and great instructors. The post-course support is also quite thorough and prepares you well for entering the industry.
  • Scott O'Dea  User Photo
    Scott O'Dea • Full-Stack Developer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    6 months out of Coder Academy Sydney now, and have to say they delivered on everything they promised. Having witnessed 95% of the class now working as professional developers, I felt obligated to write a review. 

    Being in the industry now for a short time, it amazes me how impressed developers from a more traditional background are with the quality of coders coming out of the Coder Academy Bootcamp. A recruiter at my work now exclusively seeks out resumes from Coder Academy and has hired 5 people from the course. 

    The staff are friendly, the teachers experienced and the course seems to attract a dynamic range of great people from a whole lot of backgrounds who are keen to learn and connect. 

    I've made some great friends and no longer dread Mondays. What more could you ask for?

Thanks!