skillcrush-logo

Skillcrush

Online

Skillcrush

Avg Rating:4.82 ( 330 reviews )

Skillcrush is an online bootcamp that offers 12-week web design and web development courses called Skillcrush Blueprints. Wanting to teach students digital skills to kickstart their career, Skillcrush provides their "Blueprint," which is a step-by-step guide preparing students for the career they desire. Students engage in learning concrete technical skills while also creating a portfolio of real projects. These 3-month blueprints are online, but offer blocks of office hours, and access to classmates, instructors, and career coaches to create a structured learning environment.

Expect an email each morning with goals for the day, and students can choose times that work best to interact with mentors and other students. Classes do not require any programming experience, but students should be comfortable with computers and the web. Graduates can expect to cover UX Design, HTML/CSS, JavaScript, HTML/CSS, Wordpress, and Ruby.

Recent Skillcrush Reviews: Rating 4.82

all (330) reviews for Skillcrush →

Recent Skillcrush News

Read all (9) articles about Skillcrush →
  • Break Into Tech Blueprint

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $1,599
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Did you look through our Blueprints and think “I want to learn it ALL”? The Break Into Tech Blueprint gives you exactly that. This course covers ALL of the lessons from our signature Blueprints and you’ll work with a career counselor to design a custom learning program to prepare you for an amazing and rewarding career. This one-of-a-kind digital skill training program will teach you all the core skills every aspiring technologist needs to know and make sure you’re set up for success in the flexible, creative, and lucrative career of your dreams.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 12 monthly payments of $159 or one payment of $1599
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This blueprint is perfect for beginners with zero design or coding experience.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Digital Marketer Blueprint

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $549
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Digital marketers spend their days understanding the needs of their target audience, translating business goals into creative online marketing campaigns, and staying on top of digital media trends. You'll learn Search Engine Optimization (SEO), social media, content, email marketing, paid ads, data analytics and reporting, and much more.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 3 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $549
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This blueprint is perfect for beginners with zero coding experience. You just need to have a basic understanding of computers and be able to upload and download files.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Front End Developer Blueprint

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $549
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Are you ready to tap into one of the fastest growing, highest paying, and most in-demand careers in tech? Are you tired of making less than everyone else at your company when you know you’re just as smart? Get the most lucrative and versatile digital skills out there in the Front End Developer Blueprint. You’ll learn how to build gorgeous, interactive websites that work perfectly on every device and mobile phone you can think of. With an explosive job market, killer salary, and tons of growth opportunities, front end development is one of the hottest jobs in tech!
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    3 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $549
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Front End Developer + ReactJS Blueprint

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, React.js
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $699
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Front end developers use HTML, CSS, and JavaScript (including libraries like React) to transform static website designs into rich, interactive, multimedia web experiences. ALL front end developers work in HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, but they don’t all know React JS. And since React JS is quickly becoming one of the most in-demand front end development skills, knowing it will give you an important leg up in your job search!
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 4 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $699
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This blueprint is perfect for beginners with zero coding experience. You just need to have a basic understanding of computers and be able to upload and download files.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • User Experience Design Blueprint

    Apply
    Design
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $549
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    User experience designers are innovative explorers who research, improve, and test websites and apps. They create delightful digital experiences that keep people coming back for more. If you love figuring out how things work and what makes people tick, look no further than User Experience design—it’s the tech industry’s best-kept secret for career changers. You'll learn the exact tools and best practices that designers use to discover and then describe what their customers want, how to create a professional website prototype: a wireframe, user testing and iterating on your design, and more! By the end of this Blueprint, you’ll have completed a start-to-finish user experience design project
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 3 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $549
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This blueprint is perfect for beginners with zero design or coding experience.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Visual Designer Blueprint

    Apply
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $549
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Visual designers are the graphic designers of the digital world we live in, and they play a crucial role in designing the online experiences we interact with every day. If you’re an imaginative, creative, visual person and love sketching, drawing, pairing colors, illustrating, and calligraphy (or you just have a history with coloring books and macaroni necklaces), you’re going to love working in visual design. This course will prepare you for a career designing sites, apps, or ANYTHING you see online—and give you the tools to communicate with the development teams who will bring your designs to life.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 3 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $549
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Comfort with HTML & CSS is required for this course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Web Designer Blueprint

    Apply
    HTML, Git, Design, CSS
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $549
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Web designers are innovative chameleons who also code the websites they design! As digital artisans who use multiple skills to bring their creations to life, they understand what’s needed to make a website functional, appealing, and easy to use. The good news is that web design is easy to learn and great for beginners. In this online course you will learn all of the skills you need to become a web designer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 3 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $549
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This blueprint is perfect for beginners with zero coding experience. You just need to have a basic understanding of computers and be able to upload and download files.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Web Developer Blueprint

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Ruby
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $549
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Web developers solve problems every day by coding websites and web applications. Web developers are responsible for creating the web apps you use every day, from Gmail to Instagram! If you’re a builder AND love to solve problems with creative solutions, web development is right up your alley. Now you just need to learn the basic building blocks of the web and programming fundamentals! By the end of this Blueprint, you will have learned everything you need to create a hand-coded website and web application including HTML & CSS, JavaScript & jQuery, version control, programming fundamentals, and web application.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 3 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $549
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    This blueprint is perfect for beginners with zero coding experience. You just need to have a basic understanding of computers and be able to upload and download files.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Wordpress Developer Blueprint

    Apply
    Git, PHP, Mobile, Wordpress
    OnlinePart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $549
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    WordPress developers have the most versatile skill set in the world: Approximately 60 million websites run on WordPress! This course will teach you the tools to build beautiful, functional, and totally unique websites—and start making serious money.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Tuition Plans
    Make 3 monthly payments of $199 or one payment of $549
    Refund / Guarantee
    We’re so confident that you will love this program that if you’re not 100% satisfied with your purchase within 30 days, we will refund your money.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    A solid understanding of HTML & CSS is required for this course.
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the Web Design blueprint last year ('15) and am currently in the Wordpress Developer blueprint. Both blueprints provided a great foundation in the languages that they are teaching. However, despite the breadth of information there is not as much depth as I would have liked. However, they provide many external resources to refer to, as you continue learning tech skills. Moving from Mightybell to Google groups is definitely an improvement. These groups allow you to discuss work with other classmates and with TAs and instructors, which allows for more personalized help than some online classes allow. The Master classes are great additions to help make the connection from what you are learning into the real world with people who are in the industry. Office hours are run through Google groups, which provides a lot of personalized help and to meet others face to face. The best part of taking Skillcrush classes is being a part of the community and all of their content. Signing up for their newsletter alone provides so many great articles on a weekly basis on all things tech. However, by taking classes you are invited to exclusive online webinars and summits and they provide you with great cheatsheets. These are lifesavers as they basically summarize what you are learning in bite-size chunks that you can use throughout your tech career. Finally, as alumni you are invited to join their Slack alumni channels, which keeps you engaged and accountable and a part of an amazing tech community.

  • Mr
    - 7/14/2019
    Odutola Odunaiya
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am enrolled in the BIT Blueprint. Didn't know what to expect to be honest because I do not have a tech background. I am having the best time!!! The lessons are broken down phenomenally and when I get stuck, they have my back and are super with prompt responses. I would recommend them in a heartbeat and you may not be able to tell but I'm stoked to be a Skillcrusher! 

  • Joseph Cannestra • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Skillcrush blueprints are the perfect way for me to pick up new tech skills. 

    I was enrolled in a online university working toward an associates degree with an emphasis on IT.  After taking several courses, I had basically only learned how to write papers and powerpoints on the subject matter, but had gotten ZERO experience or practice DOING anything.

    Skillcrush throws you right into coding from the very beginning.  I learned more skills and had greater understanding (and confidence!) in the first two weeks than I did after taking three 5-week long college courses.  Also, the entire Break Into Tech blueprint was about the same cost as one college course.

    I also appreciate that Skillcrush is 100% self-paced.  There are guidelines on how long it should take you to do certain courses, but there are no hard deadlines or due dates.  If life happens, you can take a day off with no remorse or suffering grades.

    Skillcrush requires you to have self-disipline and good time-management skills to be successful. 

    If you are ready to work hard and want to jump straight into immediately learning new skills, there is no better option than Skillcrush!

  • Christine
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I highly recommend the Skillcrush WordPress Developer Blueprint!  The classes are informative, fun and flow in a way that I feel is great for working through the material and digesting the information.  Very positive and relatable approach backed up by instructors who are encouraging and provide feedback and answeres to questions.

    So far, I have completed 103-Introduction to WordPress and I am looking forward to moving on to Skillcrush 105.  Thanks Skillcrush! 

  • Lauren • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I'm currently enrolled in the UX Design course and am really impressed and pleased with it so far. Probably the best-added feature is really the support given - the instructors respond very quickly and there are many mediums in which to get support (email, feedback challenges, slack community, and online Q&A sessions). As well, the course project is interesting and I'm happy that I'm able to leave the course with 3 projects I can add to my portfolio. In terms of the content, I find it both easy to follow, but they also provide many ways to practice the theories taught so you really feel like you're gaining experience. Overall, I am incredibly happy with the course and has made me want to take more courses from them after I'm done this one because I love the environment so much

  • Loving Skillcrush
    - 5/27/2019
    Tammy Hirata • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Skillcrush makes learning fun and easy to understand. I love the layout of the whole site, from the design (everything has to be visually pleasing to me) to th actual courses. I feel like this is a great school/course/bootcamp for complete newbies such as myself. I also really enjoy that it is female-oriented, and that the majority of the instructors and students are women. There is definitely a need for that in such a male dominated industry. 

  • Good stuff!
    - 5/24/2019
    Richard • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The first thing you will notice when doing the courses here at skillcrush is that the videos are actually entertaining, fun and engaging.  This blew me away and it sets them apart from the rest.  It makes the videos easy to watch and while it keeps you engaged, you learn more easily.  Adda has an awesome way of relating the material.  They are not lectures at all, they are more about the discovery of a new universe of html, css, design, etc and with all the fun that discovery can bring.  So while I enjoy watching the videos, the concepts and techniques are presented in very logical straightforward ways that make them easy to understand.  

    The homework is guided and you really get a chance to solidify what you've learned without getting too lost.  I really appreciate this.  

    The slack community is also great, with people from all walks of life who want to help each other learn and grow.

    All in all, the instructors' level of caring and empathy is well above any other course or prebootcamp I've been a part of. And that makes all the difference in the world.

  • Disappointed
    - 5/3/2019
    Lisa Chinn • Company Director • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    For me, definitely wasn't worth the money. I joined SkillCrush because I read such good reviews on SwitchUp and Course Report, and because I thought it was for my target demographic (woman, beginner coder). The truth is, it's *way way way WAY overpriced*. There are much, much better programs out there to learn how to code for a fraction of the cost (freecodecamp or the book series "A Smarter Way to Learn" is by far my favorite and helped me exponentially more than SkillCrush did). SkillCrush does offer a 30 day money-back guarantee, though, and it's completely my own fault for not utilizing that. I signed up for the course, and then suddenly became swamped at work at the end of the year and didn't have a chance to properly start the classes, and by the time I realized that I was dissatisfied, it was too late. I tried messaging and asking if I could get a partial refund at least but I was told that I couldn't because they offer the 30 day guarantee (fair enough). 

    The videos are short and easy to understand, but in my opinion not nearly thorough enough. And then they don't give you nearly enough exercises to practice what you have learned. 

    I feel like I ended up wasting $1300 and now I don't really have the budget to purchase much cheaper courses/books etc that I have been recommended by friends, other beginner coders. I bought this at the very beginning of my journey - it was a bit of an impulse buy because I had no idea where to start in learning how to code, and I thought that this would be a comprehensive program that would teach me the way, and it definitely was not. 

    If the course was a fraction of the price, I would say it would be worth it, but for this price point, absolutely definitely better stuff out there. 

  • Perfect Fit
    - 4/10/2019
    Elianne Wilson • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am in the Skillcrush Front End Developer Blueprint and  I have nearly completed my first of four sections.  Most people my age have already had their big careers - I'm late to the game and totally new to tech.  I'm not even sure I LOVE tech, but I know that these are important skills to have and I really enjoy problem solving.  So here I am trying to stay current.  All of that said, before I even signed up for Skillcrush I had taken a few free courses on line to get my feet wet and see if learning to code was something I wanted to put any or more time and effort into. I am so glad I signed up for the Skillcrush course.  It wasn't a huge financial commitment and having been in the course for a month or so now, I can see that it is/was the perfect next step for me.  I think the team at Skillcrush has put together a perfect program for people just like me.  The way they have designed the course is extrememly user friendly.  I feel like they have thought of everything and have anticipated how I might be feeling as a new learner.  That's been the biggest surprise! For a "tech" company, Skillcrush feels very friendly, supportive, natural, easy going and warm, They totally get me! Every next step in the curriculum is challenging but at the same time I feel like they understand how hard it is and so they talk you through the steps and the reasoning.  They break it down into manageable bits and explain things that need explaining.  In short, I feel understood and supported on my new coding journey.  This is all super new for me and I feel a little nervous everytime I start a new section. . . but then that sweet banjo music starts playing and I see Adda in the video and I know I'm going to get through it, step by step.  I am "crushing it" - thanks to you!

  • Skillcrush = :)
    - 3/30/2019
    Melissa
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    Signing up for Break into Tech was a great decision. The lessons are fun and challenging, yet manageable. The community of students and instructors are supportive and respond quickly. I am learning so much and feel more comfortable and confident with every lesson. I only wish I had done it sooner.
  • Jose Carretero
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Learning with Skillcrush is Awesome and comfortable plus the instructors and the whole community is pleasant and very helpful. I'm a 63 yr old men with the desire to retire and work as a freelancer, and I have found just the right place to get my skills sharp and useful, thanks to the team of experts and good people community I will get my dream come alive.

  • SIMON XENITELLIS • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have been trying to learn HTML,CSS coding for a long time.It never clicked ! Now, with the guidance of SkillCrush , all the pieces are coming together. They really hand hold you and guide you every step along

    the way.No mysterious twists and turns.All is out in the light ! For me ,who is studying alone,it is exactly

    what I was looking for ! It really excites me that I am starting to get skills !

  • Stacey • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Skillcrush is a self-paced online coding camp. The price is very reasonable for all of the materials you receive as a part of the blueprints. I have been working on the lessons for less than a month, and I am very impressed by the knowledge, patience, and presentation of the instructors. I have researched coding camps (both location-based and online) for a couple of years, and Skillcrush exceeds my expectations by far. I am grateful to have found them. The courses are challenging, but doable. The Skillcrush instructors are readily available to answer any questions and concerns you may have. All in all, they are a great choice for someone who is unable to physically attend a coding bootcamp. And the price is a fraction of the cost of other bootcamps.  They offer career counseling, which I have not experienced yet, but based on the courses and instructors, I expect that to be equally as impressive. 

  • Veronica • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I started this course only a few weeks ago and it was exactly what I was looking for. When they say this is for anyone and specifically designed for beginners, they mean it. The curriculum and video lessons are very thought out and fill in all the gaps that I feel a lot of other "beginner" courses lack. You get everything, video lessons, information to read, projects to work on, quizzes, and a community of students and instructors to ask questions to at any time. So far all the instructors have been very helpful and extremely responsive. I would definitely recommend this course and plan on taking more in the future.  

    I selected N/A for job assistance because I haven't been in the class long enough for this to come up, so I can't really comment on that yet. 

  • Riin Gill • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I'm nearly finished with Skillcrush's html/css class, and I'm really enjoying it! I taught myself quite a bit of html years ago (I copied and pasted source code and tweaked things bit by bit to see what changed), but a lot has changed since then, and it's been good to fill in the gaps and learn why things work the way they do. It's sort of like taking an English class when you already speak English. 

    I love being able to work at my own pace. Some days I can spent four hours on it, some days half an hour. It's all good. It's all progress.

    Adda explains everything really clearly. Having had instructors in the past who didn't, I really appreciate clear explanations, examples, and analogies to help make sense of things.

    All of the instructors answer questions quickly, and everyone is super helpful. 

    I love Skillcrush!

  • Edgar Marquez
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I''ve been here for almost two weeks and feeling confident to build a website already. I must addmit having a background on html/css helped me quite a lot. The studies are provided in small sections therefore content is easy to absorb whether you have a background on coiding or not. Moreover, I have a career counselor who is there when i need help. 

    There is a community group to share your knwoledge/questiions. Feedback comes from the instructors and my peers.

    I feel more confident about my skills everyday. I know I willl be prepared to work in the field of FrontEnd Web Development probably before I'm done with this course.

    Skillcrush is highly recommended if you wish to break into Front/Back End Developement.

  • Just the ticket
    - 2/28/2019
    Nan Mc • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I am actually a self-taught WP site implementer, and I am so, so glad I found Skillcrush. I was looking for a place to fill in all the blanks, and Skillcrush is it. I had no idea how to code a site from scratch, but after HTML&CSS I believe I can finally get a handle on it! Looking forward to responsive, yeah!

    Skillcrush is so inspiring, from the course organization to the expert women who 'have your back' when you need clarification on the simplest concept, to the feminists and super women they cite, past and present. It's what you need when you're feel you're facing an insurmountable challenge.

    Congratulations and many thanks to all of you at Skillcrush, keep up the good, valuable work. We will too!

  • Carolyn • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I'm enjoying my experience with Skillcrush.  This is the third time I've tried to learn to code and I'm a fairly new student but am proud to have already created two projects and am working on my third (the farthest I've progressed in the same amount of time learning to code compared to other courses I've tried).

    The Skillcrush lessons are fun, short, and brilliantly structured, which makes learning them easy and retaining the info -- or going back to refresh when you need to -- easy also.  The instructors and community of learners are very supportive and encouraging.  It's easy to get help when you need it and I've noticed some of the more advanced students chime in and help others also.  There is also a tracker at the top of your portal which shows your progress, and I find it motivating to know at all times how far I've progressed in the classes.

    I would recommend Skillcrush to any aspiring coder.  I'm looking forward to building my knowledge and skills as I continue through the lessons.

  • Laura • Teacher/Learning Materials Developer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Overall, I am happy that I chose to start learning coding basics with Skillcrush. I've created learning materials for many years, and I've got to say that the Skillcrush folks have done a really good job at taking complex, intimidating topics and breaking them down into easy to learn lessons. When I started, I really had no idea what CSS even was, and now I can look at some code and understand what's going on. They've got a friendly, understanding, empathetic approach which, for me, makes a big difference.

    The instructors are always available. If you get stuck on a project, they don't necessarily give you the answer straight away, they give you hints on where to find your errors and self-correct - which goes a very long way in helping you learn. There are loads of resources available for students and practical suggestions and projects that help you create real-live, working websites.

  • Megan Villanueva • Dog walker • Applicant
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    If you're completely new to learning any type of code this class is a great start! I just completed the HTML and CSS course. I felt the course progressed really well in terms of building my confidence in the beginning with support tools and resources and then getting progressively challenging. The videos in the course reinforce the text that follow each lesson. The quizzes are great at ensuring that the high level information of the chapter sticks. Overall I would recommend it to any of my friends interesting in learning front end development. 

  • Dr. Natalie Chang • Professional Violinist • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I highly recommend Skillcrush to anyone who is willing to challenge themselves to learn some invaluable skills that will undoubtedly continue to positively affect their life. I was completely new to the Break into Tech program (my background is in Violin Performance). Skillcrush made what seemed daunting and intimidating into an organized, instructive, community-based, and achievable possibility. I am now heavily invested in this new adventure in my life and largely looking forward to the career changes that will allow my life to prosper within the near future. 

  • Very Impressed
    - 12/20/2018
    Julian Burns
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I have been on Skillcrush for a month or so now and am quite impressed with quality of the courses. Their clear and consistent content is worth it and I found their instructors friendly and approachable. Look forward to continuing my coding journey with Skillcrush.

  • Reggie • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I stumbled upon Skillcrush wanting to add more to my resume and possibly change careers. The experience has been great! I've tried some of the other free online coding bootcamps, but always felt there was something missing in the knowledge base when trying to complete projects. Skillcrush has filled in those knowledge gaps and expanded on it. They have an excellent balance between video and written tutorials, then reinforce with hands on experience.
    The instructor and student community is great, you learn quickly that there's a bunch other people in the same boat as you and are very supportive. Also whenever I've had questions for the instructors they've been very quick to reply and help out.  

  • Skillcrush
    - 11/13/2018
    Emily
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Enrolling in Skillcrush is the best career decision I’ve made yet, waaaay better than that overpriced, generic 4-year university degree I got. 

    When I decided I wanted to become a web developer, I spent several months trying various free online courses and boot camps, and nothing worked for me. I learned some skills, but didn’t feel like I really knew what I was doing with them. When I started Phase 1 of Skillcrush, I realised that I had already learned most of the information I needed to start coding as a career, but I needed Skillcrush to put it all together. And they did. Not only did I learn a lot of new and useful skills and tips, but I learned how to put all of the pieces of the puzzle together and become a confident coder. 

    “Confident” is the key word here, because the information provided in Skillcrush and the clearly guided layout of the courses allow you to build your knowledge base from the ground up and become more and more sure of yourself with every lesson. After Phase 1, I already feel confident that I can make a classy, fully functioning website for a client and get paid for it. I honestly wish I had found Skillcrush before I wasted my time on all of those other free courses. 

    Thanks Adda! 

  • Tanya • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    So far I have gotten through the 1st part of the basic first course. I have enjoyed the clarity and throughness of the curriculum. I like how the learning process is set up. I am anxious to get to the point where I choose a more indepth path to go and start earning money with what I know. 

    I have gotten several emails regarding how Skillcrush will help me find work. I am excited to get to this point, hopefully soon. I wish I could be going through everything a bit faster than I am. 

    So grateful for the time and energy it took to put such a great program together. 

  • Lauren • Community Manager • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The courses are really nicely laid out and easy to both understand and get through, regardless of your schedule. Everything is presented nicely and the amount of information is just right - not too much and not too little. It feels like I am learning loads without killing my self. I plan to take more Skillcrush courses once my current one is complete.