university-of-toronto-school-of-continuing-studies-boot-camps-logo

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

Average Rating4.37
103 Reviews
7 Courses
The University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps offer a 12-week, full-time and 24-week, part-time web development program, 24-week, part-time programs in data analytics, cybersecurity, financial technology, and UX/UI, and an 18-week, part-time program in digital marketing. The full stack curriculum includes HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Bootstrap, Express.js, Node.js, databases, MongoDB, MySQL, and Git. The data curriculum includes programming in E...

103 University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps Reviews

Sort by
Filter by
  • GORIKA MEHTA
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Toronto
    Mar 20, 2024
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Bootcamp was the best decision of my life

    I was a visual design student already and wanted a career path to enter the corporate world or even start my own business and boot camp from UofT served a great purpose in achieving my goals. I had a great learning experience with the Instructor and the TA's. They were highly supportive and always provided with real time job market update. My advice for upcoming students would be to prepare themselves using Youtube before the class every week and always attend office hours that is the pr...
    Report
  • Merve Celme
    Anonymous
    Data Management Coordinator • Graduate • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time • Toronto
    Feb 13, 2024
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Great learning experience

    The Data Analytics Bootcamp offered an immersive learning journey that equipped me with essential skills for success in the field. With passionate instructors, practical curriculum, and valuable hands-on projects, it provided a solid foundation. While improvements in soft skills emphasis and career services would enhance the experience, I wholeheartedly recommend this bootcamp to those aspiring to excel in data analytics.
    Report
  • Kylie NotRealName
    Anonymous
    Student • Cybersecurity - Part-Time • Toronto
    May 17, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    I was very disrespected in interactions w/ staff

    I read another review here that says <5% of 2 x cohorts got a job. i think they are talking about my cohort bc a year later, most are still not employed in cyber. The good bootcamps will tell you their successfully employed percentages. 

    I read the response from the bootcamp to the negative reviews. You guys assume that those people don't know how to work hard or network and i think that's pretty rude. I hated this bootcamp for the exact same reasons as the negative reviews -- ...
    Report
  • Effy Min
    Anonymous
    Security Engineer • Graduate • Cybersecurity - Part-Time • Toronto
    Nov 17, 2022
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Terrible experience, most of the class is not employed in security after 6 months

    PROs:
    - TAs were helpful and available 
    - homework extensions are easy to get
    - everyone got an A

    CONs:
    - everyone got an A
    - course material could be found online easily
    - classwork and homework can be completed with google because they were that easy
    - 6 months after graduating, less than 5% of two simultaneous cohorts is employed in security OUTSIDE of the bootcamp ecosystem
    - instructor was rude
    - very superficial depth which is fine except that the ...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Nov 21, 2022

    Thank you for your review. We're glad that you found some of your boot camp staff to be helpful, however we regret to hear that your full experience did not live up to your expectations.

    The cybersecurity boot camp curriculum is built around providing learners with skills they can take into the workforce. This means that, in addition to learning the required skills to qualify for entry-level roles in the field, we also make sure that learners can continue learning while on the job. Although its relevance may not be immediately apparent, being able to use the right search terms to solve a problem can prove incredibly useful in the workforce. In fact, many cyber professionals rely on search engines in their day-to-day work.

    We pride ourselves on providing learners with a safe, enjoyable learning environment, and we appreciate your feedback about your classroom experience. We understand that instructors and students are not always a perfect match, but we do take any concerns raised very seriously. 

    As you mentioned, many learners were able to secure new cybersecurity roles through networking opportunities made available through the boot camp. While we do provide extensive career services to boot camp learners, there are no guarantees that it will lead to an industry role. Finding a job requires dedication and hard work, and our career services experts are happy to provide the guidance and resources needed to put your best foot forward. We would love to assist you further in any way we can, and encourage you to reach out to us directly at (647) 370-3506. We hope to speak with you soon.
  • Suhagi
    Anonymous
    Graduate
    Sep 21, 2022
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Digital Marketing Bootcamp

    The Digital Marketing Bootcamp provides comprehensive knowledge of all aspects of Digital marketing to students who are a novice in the field or who want to dig deep into a digital Marketing career. The Instructor and TaS are having a thorough knowledge of the field and they provide a great deal of knowledge to the students. 
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Sep 23, 2022

    Thank you so much for your review! We’re thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with the boot camp. It’s excellent to hear that our team went above and beyond to provide you with the support you needed. Congratulations on completing the boot camp, we’re cheering you on as you move forward in your career.
  • Mustafa Ikizler
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Toronto
    Aug 19, 2022
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Data Analytics Bootcamp

    As a beginner, I could not keep up without cutting my work hours in my day job. The curriculum was very satisfying that I can see in almost every job description in my field it matches.  my instructor was awesome. At the end of the day, we even do not know  how what to ask about class or subject he eliminated unnecessary questions and helped us to focus on what we needed. There were some topics that we wasted too much time (this is not my opinion, everyone's opinion) such as Java and I a...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Aug 24, 2022

    We appreciate your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed the curriculum and benefited from the ongoing support of our entire instructional team. We're always looking to optimize our program offerings and feedback like yours helps us do just that. Great advice for prospective learners on getting ahead by touching up on key foundational concepts and staying on top of your homework assignments. Congratulations on successfully completing the boot camp! All the best moving forward.
  • Martin
    Anonymous
    Student • Cybersecurity - Part-Time • Toronto
    Dec 02, 2021
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Pretty much a scam. No affiliation with U of T. An expensive and low quality waste.

    I am a U of T graduate who works as a software engineer and I enrolled in the part time cybersecurity bootcamp, ostensibly offered by the School of Continuing Studies, without having done my due diligence because it worked for my schedule and because I had some trust in the U of T brand and its general commitment to quality (and I am generally aware of the many issues, especially administrative ones, that it has). Most of the class came in with zero background or experience in tech or IT...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Dec 15, 2021

    Thank you for your feedback, we regret to hear that the program has not lived up to your expectations.

    Like you noted, the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES), a 2U, Inc., brand, to offer the UofT SCS Cybersecurity Boot Camp. TES works hand in hand with more than 50 top universities to expand access to cybersecurity education for working adults. This boot camp is a true collaboration; the University of Toronto SCS is deeply involved in the curriculum, instructor selection, and outcomes for all of its boot camp programs. Both UofT and TES are truly dedicated to transforming learners' lives and aim to be fully transparent about this relationship throughout the entire learning experience.

    We have a multi-step admissions process to ensure that participants are set up for success. Our boot camp serves a mix of individuals ranging from beginners to professionals, and many of our participants do enter the boot camp with no prior experience. Not only do we strive to equip learners with a robust academic framework, but we also work hard to help individuals develop strong problem-solving and self-teaching abilities.

    Job seeking is difficult and takes hard work on the part of the participant. Our professional development services are built on the principle of empowerment. While we do not secure employment for learners, we do provide more than 75 hours of professional development, consisting of resume and portfolio reviews, virtual tech panels, technical interview training, and more. We're constantly optimizing our offerings, so we appreciate your input.

    We vet our instructors carefully,  hiring practitioners with a minimum of three years of experience in the field through a selective, multi-step interview process. Throughout the course, we analyze both their performance and levels of engagement in the classroom, providing feedback to help them further develop their teaching skills. Each instructor works to facilitate a productive and collaborative environment for all participants throughout the entirety of the program, however, we understand that you felt our instructional team did not provide satisfactory support and never want any of our learners to feel discouraged from continuing their work in our boot camp and beyond.

    It's our goal for all learners to complete the boot camp feeling equipped for success, so we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and determine what additional assistance we can provide for you at this time. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (647) 370-3506.
  • Michael Digi
    Anonymous
    Student • Toronto
    Nov 30, 2021
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Full Stack Development

     12-week full-time program focused on gaining programming skills in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Bootstrap, React, Node, Express, MySQL, and MongoDB. Instructors were very patient and helpful throughout the whole Bootcamp as well as very passionate making it a fun experience for all. Would definitely recommend this boot camp to anyone who is interested in learning to code
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Dec 06, 2021

    We truly appreciate your review! Our entire boot camp team is truly passionate about enabling learner success so we're glad this resonated with you. We're cheering you on as you continue toward finishing out the program!
  • Jay phill
    Anonymous
    Toronto
    Mar 10, 2021
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    coding bootcamp

    Please do not even think of registering for this course IF YOU HAVE ZERO BACKGROUND IN CODING, they will take any fool who is willing to pay 12k (including me). The interview process is a joke and the test they give to gauge your knowledge about computers is like asking a high school student to spell "father or mother".  They tell you to self-study and search material on google for which they charge 12k (this will the most expensive google search you do in your lifetime).  The material t...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Mar 17, 2021

    Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear the boot camp as a whole did not meet your expectations.

    Like you noted, the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES), a 2U, Inc., brand, to develop the UofT SCS Coding Boot Camp. TES works hand in hand with more than 45 top universities to expand access to coding education for working adults.

    This boot camp is a collaboration; the University of Toronto SCS is deeply involved in the curriculum, instructor selection, and outcomes for all of its programs. Both UofT and TES are truly dedicated to transforming learners' lives and aim to be fully transparent about this relationship throughout the entire learning experience.

    We have a multi-step admissions process to ensure that participants are set up for success and do our best to make it clear to learners that this program takes incredibly hard work and dedication, requiring many hours outside of class on self-study and projects in order to master the topics covered. We begin with an initial phone interview, followed by a timed, critical thinking and problem-solving assessment that applicants must pass with a score of 70 or above in order to move forward. Only once prospective learners have made it through these screenings are they accepted into the program. In order to give enrolled learners the necessary foundation before the program begins, we provide comprehensive pre-work lessons to be completed before the first day and try to emphasize the importance of completing these learning materials. We're continually optimizing our program experience, so we appreciate your insight.

    Our boot camp serves a mix of individuals ranging from beginners to professionals, and many of our participants do enter the boot camp with no prior experience. Not only do we strive to equip learners with a robust academic framework, but we also work hard to help individuals develop strong problem-solving and self-teaching abilities through internet research and other available resources; two essential traits developers constantly utilize in real-world roles. Our curriculum builds upon each topic and we find that learners become more and more confident in their skills as the course progresses. As the industry continues to evolve, our curriculum is continually being optimized using extensive market and employer research.

    We are committed to learners feeling confident in their skills upon leaving our boot camp, so we'd love to hear from you directly to see what else we can do at this time to best meet your expectations and reinforce your learning. If you would like, please reach out to us at (647) 370-3829.
  • Rajeev
    Anonymous
    Student • Toronto
    Dec 30, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Waste of time

    Chitchat for three hours every week. Being working professional, we don't have a lot of time, it is useful if there are practical (classwork/quizzes) to make us understand well and install in brain within the time we have. Online courses do these very well.
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jan 10, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. From your review, we understand that you were dissatisfied with the high-level nature of the class lectures. As the technical job market continuously changes, we pride ourselves on teaching participants how to learn, providing a strong foundational skill set that individuals can use to continue expanding their knowledge—even after the program ends. To supplement the in-class curriculum, we provide weekly homework assignments and hands-on projects to help reinforce topics covered. We would like the opportunity to personally speak with you in order to determine what additional support we can provide you with at this time. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (647) 245-1020.
  • Kai-Ann Fletcher
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time • Toronto
    Aug 01, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Challenging but worth it

    This course is quite challenging and needs to be taken seriously - definitely not low maintenance and more difficult to balance if you're already working full-time. However, it's 100% worth taking because of the quality of the work and the teachings you will be exposed to. I learned so much to help further project my self-learning and ideas. Even though it was difficult to keep up, I was adequately challenged which in my opinion is more valuable. There is a lot of support available along t...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Aug 01, 2019

    Amazing! Like you noted, this is a challenging course that will require learners to dedicate extensive time to their studies, so we commend all your hard work. We're glad to hear you benefited from the curriculum and our entire boot camp team. Congratulations on successfully completing the program and thank you for your review! Best of luck moving forward.
  • Zeinab
    Anonymous
    Graduate
    Feb 07, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Would recommend!

    Took the full stack development course at UTM. Like a lot of you reading I wasn't sure based on the reviews if this course would be worth it but after graduating i can definitely say i dont regret it.

    If you are someone who needs a structured learning environment this program is perfect. The instructor and TAs are a great support as well as the fellow students. Although the program is challenging it is definitely doable. You get out of this program what you put into it.

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Feb 08, 2019

    Amazing! We're happy you enjoyed the curriculum and felt not only supported by our instructional team but by your classmates as well. Congratulations on completing the course and thank you for your review! We wish you all the best in your future endeavors. 

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps Alumni Outcomes

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps Scholarships

$500 University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps Discount

Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps discount for $500 off tuition!

Eligibility

Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

Qualifying Courses

  • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time (Toronto)
  • UX/UI - Part-Time (Toronto)
  • Full-Stack Web Development - Part-Time (In-Person) (Toronto)
  • Full Stack Flex - Full-Time (Toronto)
  • Digital Marketing - Part-Time (Toronto)
  • Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time (Toronto)
  • Cybersecurity - Part-Time (Toronto)

Recent University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps News

Nat Davis
Nat Davis
Updated May 16, 2024
Canada is a leading tech country with data science bootcamps in its five major tech cities Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Calgary, and Ottawa. Learning data science in Canada means having many opportunities of working at large, respected companies or cutting-edge tech startups. Whether you re looking for a full-time or part-time program, we ve rounded up all of the in-person data science bootcamps in Canada, plus our recommendations for online data programs in Canada! The ...
Nat Davis
Nat Davis
Updated April 17, 2024
Can you use technology to improve the relationship between humans and our planet? Green technology is a fast-growing industry that utilizes tech to promote the livelihood of the planet by reducing the negative impact of humans on the environment. Green tech jobs are on the rise in 2024 , as companies hire software engineers, product managers, data scientists, data analysts, and machine learning engineers to develop innovative ways to promote the health of the planet and the ...
Jess Feldman
Jess Feldman
Updated December 07, 2022
Working at a startup as a mechanical engineer, Akinsola Sola Salami quickly learned he would rather be manipulating data to help drive business and product decisions. With University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (UofT SCS) Boot Camps ( offered in collaboration with edX) , Sola was able to gain foundational knowledge in data analytics as well as build a professional project portfolio. And with support from his career advisor, Sola landed a Data Analyst role at Mammoth ...
Jess Feldman
Jess Feldman
Updated April 14, 2022
Rory Quenneville Thorpe had an undergraduate degree in criminology, but hit a wall when it came to finding work he felt passionate about, so he ended up working in retail. When COVID hit, Rory reassessed his career goals and decided to make a career change into cybersecurity by enrolling at University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (UofT SCS) Boot Camps , offered in collaboration with edX . Rory shares how he was able to give himself an edge in the hiring pool with cybersecurity ...

Course Report readers can receive an Exclusive Scholarship to University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps!

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps Alumni Reviews Summary

Based on 100+ University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps alumni reviews on Course Report, reviewers appreciate the comprehensive curriculum in fields like full-stack web development, data analytics, and cybersecurity, and value the supportive learning environment with knowledgeable instructors. One student expressed, "The program equips participants with valuable skills for today's job market." However, some alumni find the courses quite intensive, demanding significant time and effort.
Overall Experience
4.4
Instructors
4.5
Curriculum
4.4
Job Assistance
4.4
Write A Review
More Information
Guarantees Job
Job Assistance
Includes Housing
Offers Corporate Training
Accepts GI Bill
Licensing
No
Awards
Recent University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps News
FAQs

How much does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps cost?

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps costs around $12,495. On the lower end, some University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps courses like Digital Marketing - Part-Time cost $8,745.

What courses does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps teach?

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps offers courses like Cybersecurity - Part-Time, Data Science and Visualization - Part-Time, Digital Marketing - Part-Time, Full Stack Flex - Full-Time and 3 more.

Where does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps have campuses?

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps has an in-person campus in Toronto.

Is University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps worth it?

University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps hasn't shared alumni outcomes yet, but one way to determine if a bootcamp is worth it is by reading alumni reviews. 103 University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps on Course Report - you should start there!

Is University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps legit?

We let alumni answer that question. 103 University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.37 out of 5.

Does University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps offer scholarships or accept the GI Bill?

Yes, Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps discount for $500 off tuition!

Can I read University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps reviews?

You can read 103 reviews of University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps on Course Report! University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.37 out of 5.

Is University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies Boot Camps accredited?

No

Get Free Bootcamp Advice

Sign up for our newsletter and receive our free guide to paying for a bootcamp.

By submitting this form, you agree to receive email marketing from Course Report.

Get Matched in Minutes

Just tell us who you are and what you’re searching for, we’ll handle the rest.

Match Me