ucla-extension-boot-camps-logo

UCLA Extension Boot Camps

Average Rating4.61
84 Reviews
0 Courses
UCLA Extension Boot Camps offer 12-week, full-time and 24-week, part-time web development courses, as well as a 24-week, part-time cybersecurity course and an 18-week, part-time product management course. The full stack curriculum includes HTML, CSS, JavaScript, jQuery, Bootstrap, Express.js, Node.js, databases, MongoDB, MySQL, and Git. The cybersecurity curriculum offers hands-on training in networking, systems, web technologies, databases, and defensive and offensi...

84 UCLA Extension Boot Camps Reviews

Sort by
Filter by
  • Anon
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time • Los Angeles
    Mar 07, 2017
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Buyer beware...

    I recently graduated from the Trilogy/UCLA program. UCLA, and other schools, are partnering with a company called Trilogy. The owner is a former educator now capitalizing on the boot camp hype. He knows nothing about programming himself.

    I was originally sold on the program because it was part time over 6 months rather than full time over 3 months. This seemed to me a better way to really absorb the material, because it's not realistic to code 12+ hours a day for 3 months and...

    Report

    Alex Garett of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Student Success Manager

    Mar 10, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.  We will strive to respond to each of your concerns.

    The Coding Bootcamp at UCLA Extension is a data-driven program. Based on market conditions, we actively adjust the curriculum to best serve the long-term needs of our students. This equips our students with skills sought after by local employers.  A great example of this was the curriculum update from Angular to React, which took place before classes began and the shift from PHP to Java in the fall. React and Java were each in higher demand.

    As you note, the boot camp model is rigorous and fast-paced, and we cover a great deal of knowledge in a limited amount of time. We do our best to communicate to students that because we cover a full-stack, topics are introduced at a higher level in class, after which students are expected to dive in and gain a deeper understanding outside of class. This helps students learn how to problem-solve and self-teach, a key skill in a developer’s career. Our team is constantly working to improve our curriculum to ensure that students have the best learning experience possible. We are happy to hear that you found both the program structure and additional training sessions helpful. 

    As you mentioned, we do provide office hours and have various other avenues for outside help including tutoring, Slack, email and phone. While there are many students to assist, our instructors, TAs and student success team do their best to make sure students feel supported.

    Projects are necessarily completed in shorter time frames in order to prepare students for future roles in tech, creating the same sense of urgency as one will face in the workplace with tight deadlines. Unfortunately, in any workplace, you may not always be grouped with like-minded individuals and we regret that you had a sub-par experience with your teammates.

    Demo Day, as we note throughout the program, is a networking event with employers, and we make no guarantee of placement. It’s intended as an opportunity to showcase your skills, practice your pitches, receive valuable feedback on your projects and make connections. About 87% of our career-seeking students attended Demo Day, with 54 employers in attendance.

    Our career services team strives to be clear about expectations.  We cannot find a job for you, but we are here to empower you with the tools needed for you to find the right job. We provided resume, portfolio, Github and LinkedIn reviews, as well as company tour opportunities with Hulu, Ace Metrix, and Core Logic/Pivotal Labs. We also had a CTO panel with seven CTOs and onsite networking practice. Our team held eight live sessions on topics ranging from the tech landscape to interviewing, as well as mock interview days for both behavioral and technical assistance. We hope you found these sessions helpful.

    We know job seeking is hard and often a full-time job in itself, which is why we encourage students to submit a large number of quality applications weekly and to maximize their networking. In our experience, students who are proactive in their approaches land jobs at a quicker and easier rate. But, our career services don’t end at graduation, so we would love to know how else we can support you as you continue the job search. Please feel free to call me directly at (310) 955-4093 so we can discuss your needs further. 
  • Ross Totino
    Student • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    May 12, 2024
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Intense but gratifying!

    I loved my Product Management Bootcamp experience. It was a bit intense, but the curriculum was presented in a very logical way and helped you understand PM in a more intuitive way. Of course, a huge part of this was having a great instructor in Michael Rosales, which felt he was not only teaching but mentoring. 
    Report
  • Joshua Massa-Pelletier
    Student • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    Mar 20, 2024
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Great Foundation For Programming

    UCLA Extension's Full Stack Web Development program is a great way to build a solid foundation in coding while kickstarting your programming career. I'm a 34 year old from New England who's been an Executive Chef by trade for the past 15 years. I've always been interested in computers and over the last few years, wanted to pursue a career change into the Tech industry and wasn't sure where to start. I began by trying the self-taught route, but struggled as I did not have any structure. T...
    Report
  • Diuliani Ackerman
    Manager II, Program Management • Student • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    Feb 29, 2024
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Beyond my expectations!

    Joining UCLA Extension's Product Management Boot Camp while navigating a full-time career was a transformative experience that exceeded my expectations. The program's blend of a challenging curriculum and practical, hands-on learning was perfectly suited to enhance my skills in real-time. Despite the demands of a full-time job, I eagerly anticipated our night classes, drawn by the engaging content and the opportunity to apply what I learned directly to my work.

    What made this jour...
    Report
  • Hovhannes Terteryan
    Student • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    Nov 22, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Efficient, Transparent, Collaborative, Strategic, Outcome-focused


    I recently had the opportunity to participate in a Product Management Boot Camp that left me not only enriched with knowledge but also equipped with practical applications essential for navigating the competitive landscape of today's market. The experience was nothing short of transformative, thanks to the exceptional teaching methods and the invaluable insights shared by the instructors.


    From the outset, the boot camp's curriculum was well-structured and meti...
    Report
  • Ben Hu
    Graduate • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    Jun 09, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Fast-Paced and Fulfilling Course

    I chose to attend the UCLA training camp with the aim of enhancing my career prospects, and it turned out to be a fantastic decision. I love coding, and I found immense pleasure in the learning process during this course. What stood out to me the most were the team projects at each stage, which provided all students with the freedom to unleash their creativity.

    If you're also seeking an opportunity for learning and personal growth, I highly recommend choosing this course. The cour...
    Report
  • Carli Hudson
    Studio Data Management @ Netflix • Student • Full Stack Web Development - Part-Time • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    Mar 07, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Learning by Doing

    I am in the 6 month part time program with about 4 weeks left. This course has been wonderful for me. If you are someone who learns better by doing, this is a great program for you. Classes are engaging. You spend some time learning the material, then immediately go into a breakout room and do an activity based on what you just learned. Each week, you have a project based on the material learned the previous week. It's a great way to keep familiarizing yourself with the material. My inst...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Mar 13, 2023

    Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear that you benefited from the class materials and had an overall positive experience. We understand how important quality instruction, guidance, and support are to learner success, so we love hearing that our team provided you with the educational experience that you were hoping for. 

    We’re cheering you on as you move forward in the boot camp and your career!
  • Kimberly Rodriguez
    Full Stack Web Developer • Student • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    Oct 27, 2021
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Full Stack Coding Boot Camp

    As a former project manager and data practitioner who was around highly technical people, I developed a strong interest in better understanding and sharpening my technical skills to be a  more active member with a stronger say in the building process of the product. 
    Hence, I decided to join the UCLA Full Stack Coding Boot Camp. I looked into many options before making my decision and selected UCLA because I was looking for a good curriculum, strong academic supp...
    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Oct 27, 2021

    Incredible, Kimberly! We're glad you sharpened your technical skills and developed a strong interest in building products. It's great to hear you enjoyed the curriculum and benefited from the support of our entire boot camp team. Great advice for prospective students — analyzing your learning style and finding a program that best fits that is incredibly important. Congratulations on successfully completing the program and thank you for your review! All the best moving forward. 
  • Viana-Stine
    Student • Los Angeles
    Verified by LinkedIn
    Nov 20, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Student

    Do NOT take this course...Do NOT make the same mistakes I made.

    Trilogy people are EXTREMELY helpful, always there to help you  - literally calling you two, three times a day to ask if you made your decision and if you were ready to pay for a deposit...Always helpful until you pay for the class and no longer can get your refund.

    We are promised TAs who will be avaiable to help...they were not. I was in the Tue/Thu class and we were not lucky with our "help." Meanwhile M...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Nov 26, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience, Viana-Stine. Our entire team is passionate about enabling student success, so we regret to hear that your boot camp experience did not live up to your expectations.

    Like you noted, UCLA Extension has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES) to offer The Coding Boot Camp at UCLA Extension. UCLA Extension is deeply involved in the curriculum, instructor selection, and outcomes of each of our classes, and routinely meet in conjunction with TES to monitor the learning experience and performance. Both UCLA Extension and TES are truly dedicated to transforming students' lives and aim to be fully transparent about this relationship throughout the admissions process and course.

    We have a multi-step admissions process to ensure that students are set up for success. During this time, we encourage participants to ask any and all relevant questions. Our enrollment agreement and admissions process do strive to make the refund policy for the program clear, noting that refunds are not possible after the drop period ends. We understand that you were unhappy with these policies and regret any inconvenience it may have caused.

    Throughout our courses, we monitor instructor performance and analyze levels of engagement in the classroom, providing feedback to help them further develop their teaching skills. We understand that instructors and learners are not always a perfect match, but we do take any raised concerns extremely seriously. Our instructors and teaching assistants work to facilitate a productive and collaborative environment for all participants throughout the entirety of the course. We sincerely regret that you felt your instructional team did not provide satisfactory support and never want any of our learners to feel discouraged from continuing their work in our boot camp and beyond.

    We sincerely care about all our students and would welcome the opportunity to further discuss how else we can support you at this time and help meet your expectations. If you would like, please reach out to us directly at (310) 955-4093.  
  • Kevin Bilgin
    Kevin Bilgin
    Production Manager • Graduate • Los Angeles
    Verified by GitHub
    Nov 16, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    It didn't work for me i hope works for you

    I took this course from January to July 2017, the instructor was Omar Patel. At the time I was working as a retail manager and thinking to change my career. I thought this is a good chance to learn how to write to code, and chance to get an entry-level job on the tech field. It starts well they send us a homework package for the start I believe I did the ok job since I never write code before, then it started to be more complicated as expected. My problem with the course they only did 10% ...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Dec 03, 2019

    Thank you for your review, Kevin. We're happy that you enjoyed the initial content of the course but regret to hear the overall program did not live up to your expectations.

    Like you noted, UCLA Extension has partnered with Trilogy Education Services (TES) to offer the UCLA Extension Coding Boot Camp. UCLA Extension is deeply involved in the curriculum, instructor selection, and outcomes of each of our classes, and routinely meet in conjunction with TES to monitor the learning experience and performance. Both UCLA Extension and TES are truly dedicated to transforming students' lives and aim to be fully transparent about this relationship throughout the admissions process and course.

    We vet our instructors carefully, hiring practitioners with a minimum of three years of experience in the field in lieu of traditional professors in order to simulate real-life working environments. Throughout our course, we analyze both their performance and levels of engagement in the classroom, providing feedback to help them further develop their teaching skills. Each instructor works to facilitate a productive and collaborative environment for all participants throughout the entirety of the course, however, we understand not all teaching styles will resonate with all students.

    We serve a mix of individuals ranging from beginners to professionals, and many of our learners do enter the boot camp with no prior experience. Due to the challenging nature of the course, we strive to provide additional assistance through free tutoring, office hours with instructors and TAs, optional one-on-one sessions, supplemental resources, and more. We strive to respond quickly to any concerns and conduct weekly surveys and office hour sessions to provide a voice for all of our students. We sincerely regret that you felt your instructor and TAs did not provide satisfactory support and never want any of our learners to feel discouraged from continuing their work in our boot camp and beyond.

    We would love to speak with you personally to see if there is anything else we can do at this time to reinforce your learning or support your job search through career services. If you would like, please call (310) 955-4093.  
  • Mo ElGabaly
    Mo ElGabaly
    Graduate • Full Stack Flex - Part-Time • Los Angeles
    Verified by GitHub
    Sep 02, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Full Stack Developer UCLA Extension

    The course material is very interesting and the way the class is structured is pretty good, it takes your hand with baby steps even if you have no background about coding or engineering. The instructor "Omar in my case" stressed about the concepts way more than the technology used which is very helpful as you can venture in any language you want on your own.

    I would extend the period where we learned ES6 and React but either than that I think the course's pace was pretty good for...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Sep 05, 2019

    We appreciate your review, Mo! We're glad to hear you had a positive student experience and enjoyed your instructor—we also think Omar is pretty fantastic. We applaud all the hard work you dedicated to building some impressive web applications. Congratulations on successfully completing the course! All the best in your future endeavors.
  • David Schwartz
    David Schwartz
    Full Stack Developer • Graduate • Los Angeles
    Verified by GitHub
    Aug 31, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Full Stack Web Developers Coding Bootcamp

    I debated whether to attend the UCLA Coding bootcamp for 2 years before finally pulling the trigger and attending. As a UCLA alumn with a B.A. in Psychology and a 14 year background as a web designer and Wordpress Developer (non-coding), I figured that the bootcamp would be a natural evolution of my skills and would give me a better understanding of development and the further ability to create more meaningful and useful applications. 

    Initially, I wanted to to attend the 3 month...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Sep 05, 2019

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this detailed review, David! We know this is a challenging program and it takes hard work to balance the curriculum, so we commend you for your dedication and commitment to learning the fundamentals of full-stack web development.

    Like you mentioned, it's important to complete the pre-work before the first day of class. This is great advice for prospective students to stay on top of their coursework as it's easy to fall behind. Our instructors are truly passionate about what they do, so we're thrilled you found them to not only be knowledgeable but great support systems.

    We truly appreciate you choosing our boot camp to make a career transition and have to agree that being motivated, detail-oriented and patient will take you far in the field. Congratulations on graduating, we truly love hearing from our students! We wish you great success and are excited to see what you will continue to accomplish.
  • Christina Lavingia
    Christina Lavingia
    Software QA Engineer • Graduate • Los Angeles
    Verified by GitHub
    Jun 11, 2019
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Great Program for Determined Students

    I took the part-time bootcamp online. I think the remote aspect of it made completion more difficult for many of my peers, as a majority of the original students did not finish the program. 

    If you're taking the program part-time alongside a full-time job, it can be incredibly challenging to balance work, personal life and the program's demands. This program takes a lot of support and understanding from family and significant others to see through completion. 

    Before en...

    Report

    Boot Camp Team of UCLA Extension Boot Camps

    Community Team

    Jun 13, 2019

    Way to go, Christina! Like you mentioned, this is a rigorous and fast-paced course, one that will require an extensive amount of time to master the curriculum. It takes hard work to balance the course load, so we applaud your dedication. Great insight for prospective students—reviewing essential concepts before beginning, as well as evaluating your commitment to this new field, will help you successfully complete the boot camp. Congratulations on graduating and thank you for your review! We're confident you will go on to do incredible things with your new skills.

UCLA Extension Boot Camps Alumni Outcomes

Recent UCLA Extension Boot Camps News

Liz Eggleston
Liz Eggleston
Updated October 21, 2020
The University of California (UC) network is vast and well-established from Sacramento to San Diego, so it was only a matter of time before these schools offered coding bootcamps of their own. But which UC bootcamp is best for you? At the time of publication, all UC coding bootcamps are offered in collaboration with Trilogy Education. Because they re powered by the same platform and network, we notice a string of similar themes throughout alumni reviews instructors are stand-out ...
Liz Eggleston
Liz Eggleston
Updated October 21, 2020
The University of California (UC) network is vast and well-established from Sacramento to San Diego, so it was only a matter of time before these schools offered coding bootcamps of their own. But which UC bootcamp is best for you? At the time of publication, all UC coding bootcamps are offered in collaboration with Trilogy Education. Because they re powered by the same platform and network, we notice a string of similar themes throughout alumni reviews instructors are stand-out ...
Liz Eggleston
Liz Eggleston
Updated May 29, 2024
You've heard of household bootcamps like General Assembly, Springboard, and Flatiron School but have you noticed universities that offer coding bootcamps? Universities have now been partnering with coding bootcamps since 2016, but these university coding bootcamps aren't all the same! Research your options below and find out which coding bootcamps offer college credit, which are part-time to accommodate your schedule, and read our tips for choosing the best university ...
Locations
Career tracks

UCLA Extension Boot Camps Alumni Reviews Summary

Overall Experience
4.6
Instructors
4.8
Curriculum
4.5
Job Assistance
4.0
Write A Review
More Information
Guarantees Job
Job Assistance
Includes Housing
Offers Corporate Training
Accepts GI Bill
Licensing
Yes
Awards
FAQs

How much does UCLA Extension Boot Camps cost?

The average bootcamp costs $14,142, but UCLA Extension Boot Camps does not share pricing information. You can read a cost-comparison of other popular bootcamps!

What courses does UCLA Extension Boot Camps teach?

UCLA Extension Boot Camps offers courses like .

Where does UCLA Extension Boot Camps have campuses?

UCLA Extension Boot Camps has an in-person campus in Los Angeles.

Is UCLA Extension Boot Camps worth it?

UCLA Extension Boot Camps hasn't shared alumni outcomes yet, but one way to determine if a bootcamp is worth it is by reading alumni reviews. 84 UCLA Extension Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed UCLA Extension Boot Camps on Course Report - you should start there!

Is UCLA Extension Boot Camps legit?

We let alumni answer that question. 84 UCLA Extension Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed UCLA Extension Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.61 out of 5.

Does UCLA Extension Boot Camps offer scholarships or accept the GI Bill?

Right now, it doesn't look like UCLA Extension Boot Camps offers scholarships or accepts the GI Bill. We're always adding to the list of schools that do offer Exclusive Course Report Scholarships and a list of the bootcamps that accept the GI Bill.

Can I read UCLA Extension Boot Camps reviews?

You can read 84 reviews of UCLA Extension Boot Camps on Course Report! UCLA Extension Boot Camps alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed UCLA Extension Boot Camps and rate their overall experience a 4.61 out of 5.

Is UCLA Extension Boot Camps accredited?

Yes

Get Free Bootcamp Advice

Sign up for our newsletter and receive our free guide to paying for a bootcamp.

By submitting this form, you agree to receive email marketing from Course Report.

Get Matched in Minutes

Just tell us who you are and what you’re searching for, we’ll handle the rest.

Match Me