avocademy-logo

Avocademy

Average Rating4.8
373 Reviews
2 Courses

Avocademy’s core program is an 8-week UX/UI Foundations course. Each expert-curated lesson in the curriculum builds on the previous content, helping students gain the knowledge and skill required to land a Junior UX/UI Designer job in a relatively short time frame. The UX/UI Foundations lessons consist of video and reading material. After learning key concepts and best practices, students test their knowledge by completing activities rooted in real-world UX/UI deli...

Write A Review

373 Avocademy Reviews

Sort by
Filter by
  • Rebecca Wilson
    Anonymous
    UX Designer • Graduate • Career Jumpstart • Online
    Aug 29, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Avocademy is top notch!

    Avocademy is absolutely amazing! I took the Foundations course, in which I learned the foundations of UX/UI. From there, I enrolled in the Career Jumpstart. Both of these programs helped me build skills while working on real-life projects. They offered unlimited 1 on 1  mentorship. Additionally, they helped equip me with how to build my portfolio and resume, as well as helping me prepare for interviews as I transitioned careers. You will not be disappointed with Avocademy.
    Report
  • CJ
    Anonymous
    Student • UX/UI Design Foundations • Online
    Jul 14, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Don't recommend

    I had a pretty frustrating experience with Avocademy. Last year when I was in-between jobs, I thought I'd give UX a shot and signed up for Avocademy since everyone seemed to rave about it. However, just two days after the withdrawal deadline, I got this awesome job offer in a completely different field. I knew right away I wouldn't have the time for the course, so I asked for a refund. I mean, come on, I barely missed the deadline and hadn't even started the darn thing! But they were tot...
    Report

    Maca of Avocademy

    Founder

    Jul 26, 2023

    We’re sorry that you had a negative experience with Avocademy. While we’re sensitive to your unique situation, it’s important that we adhere to the terms and conditions of the enrollment agreement. Though we were unable to issue a refund, we granted an extension in hopes that it would help to make things a little easier for you. While we know that this was not the desired result, we hope that you can understand our need to maintain consistency and equality. We appreciate you sharing your perspective with us. Congratulations on your new position!
  • Daniela Perilla
    Anonymous
    UX/UI Designer • Graduate • Career Jumpstart • Online
    Jul 06, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Best decision

    This bootcamp has been the best decision I have ever made. The Foundations course is great for learning all the basics and applying the concepts to your project. The Carrer Jumpstart is an excellent program where you get to work on real-life projects and learn to be a good team player as a designer. The best part is the academy's support - they set you up for success. Design and career mentorship are always available and they are all super nice! I found a great job within 3 months of app...
    Report
  • Caitlin Coyne
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Career Jumpstart • Online
    Jun 26, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Not Positive

    after not getting a job with months and months of applying, they just kind of abandon you. they're realistic that you will need to apply to a ton of jobs--which I have, over 2k--but im not getting any interviews or offers or anything. i've expressed my disappointment and frustration, especially since i now have to pay 8k i don't have with a job i was supposedly going to get with this boot camp. it feels incredibly shitty to not only not have a job after all this hard work, but also now o...
    Report

    Maca of Avocademy

    Founder

    Jul 26, 2023

    We’re sorry that you had a negative experience with Avocademy. Honesty and transparency are very important to us and we strive to set students up for success. Though rare, if students do experience trouble when searching for jobs, we offer countless hours of personalized support to help them navigate. If requested, our team of mentors will help comb through your portfolio, resume, and previous projects to see if adjustments can be made. We have mentors who will meet with students one-on-one for interview guidance, and we also have a system for students to connect with others to help support them through the process. Your success is extremely important to us. Please reach out to us directly to get connected to these resources to help you succeed.
  • Diego M
    Anonymous
    Student • Career Jumpstart • Online
    Jun 26, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Took my money and ran

    I had high hopes for this program but it hasnt worked out for me. They screwed me over with not getting me the job guarantee that they advertise. They told me I didn't start the job search within a certain time even though it was out of my control because the projects were being delayed. Basically, you have to do things within a certain amount of time. But what happened when the client delays, or the mentor delays to approve your work. My job search gets delayed which meant I wouldn't ge...
    Report

    Maca of Avocademy

    Founder

    Jul 26, 2023

    We’re sorry that you had a negative experience with Avocademy. It’s important to our program that we implement timelines for the students to complete their tasks, so that they can push themselves to get the experience they need to begin applying for jobs. Our requirements are listed in the enrollment agreement which all students sign prior to beginning the course and student timelines are generated early on, so that everyone has visibility to their deadlines. Though not easy, thousands of students consistently meet their timelines without issue. Those that do experience delays can always reach out to request an extension, which may be granted on a case-by-case basis. If you have any questions about the policy, please reach out to our team directly so we can assist. 
  • K. C.
    Anonymous
    Student • UX/UI Design Foundations • Online
    Jun 22, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    Mediocre Bootcamp

    Avocademy Review - May 2023
    For some context, I started the course in May and I'm 70% of the way done. Here are my pros and cons:Pros:-Cheaper than average bootcamp price-video tutorials are easy to watch-while the grading is hard, it produces a strong end product for assignmentsCons:
    Report

    Maca of Avocademy

    Founder

    Jul 26, 2023


    We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed thoughts and experience about the Avocademy course. Feedback from dedicated learners like you is integral to the continuous refinement and improvement of our offerings.


    We are glad to hear that you have found value in our competitive pricing, our user-friendly video tutorials, and our commitment to helping you create strong end-products. However, we also understand your concerns about the grading process and mentor interactions.


    At Avocademy, our grading system is designed to adhere to a well-structured rubric that each mentor follows. This ensures a standard of quality in evaluating student assignments, and it's this commitment to high quality that ensures our students walk away with great case studies that are representative of their abilities.


    We truly believe that the multitude of perspectives you gain from interacting with different mentors simulates the realities of the design world, where a design's evaluation isn't confined to one person's view, as design in itself can be inherently subjective. This process, while it may seem challenging, is intended to prepare you for the diverse opinions and feedback that you might face in your future career.


    That being said, we acknowledge your suggestion about having a single mentor per activity for consistency in grading and evaluation. This perspective is valuable, and we will certainly take it into consideration as we look at ways to enhance our grading system.


    Also, we understand your desire for more comprehensive tutorials that cover all the aspects of an assignment. We always aim to strike a balance between providing comprehensive guidance and encouraging independent learning and problem-solving skills, but your feedback will certainly inform our approach moving forward.

  • Giancarlo Russo
    Anonymous
    Graduate • UX/UI Design Foundations • Online
    Jun 08, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Great experience

    I started avocademy to change careers and had a great experience and learned alot from all of the mentors in the program. I started foundations in October of 2022 and am currently about to finish the career Jumpstart course. I highly recommend avocademy for anyone looking into a ux/ui design career. Avocademy allows you to have a pretty flexible schedule and learn at your own pace. 
    Report
  • Sophia Wellington
    Anonymous
    Student • UX/UI Design Foundations • Online
    Jun 08, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Phenomenal learning environment

    This course has done wonders in teaching me to becoming a better UX/UI designer. The boot camp goes above and beyond to make sure students understand the material whether it be from one on one mentor calls or extra resources. 
    Report
  • Brynn Rogowski
    Anonymous
    UX/UI Designer • Graduate • Career Jumpstart • Online
    May 22, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Avocademy - Career Jumpstart

    This program was really amazing and allowed me to do a full career change in around 8 months. I loved that I got to work with real clients which is something I am not sure if other bootcamps do. I always felt supported and there is an amazing community of people in the program. They offer so much assistance and really want each student to succeed. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to get into UX Design.
    Report
  • Caitlin Coyne
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Career Jumpstart • Online
    May 01, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    I would not recommend

    Unfortunately, have had zero interviews in 6 months of applying for jobs with a solid portfolio. I have followed their instructions to a T, added extra projects to my portfolio, applied to hundreds of jobs every month, and have had zero luck finding any job. I would recommend getting a post bac or a graduate degree over doing this bootcamp. 
    Report

    Maca of Avocademy

    Founder

    Jul 26, 2023

    We appreciate your feedback and are sorry that you’re having trouble in your job search. We have tons of resources for you to plug into that will help you along the way. Though we can’t guarantee a timeframe in which you will land a job, we do have an incredible team of mentors who are willing to help you tweak your resume, portfolio, and soft skills to help you succeed. Please reach out to us directly so that we can create a personalized plan to assist you in your search.
  • Avocademy Student
    Anonymous
    Graduate • Career Jumpstart • Online
    Apr 28, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance

    Avocademy Review

    Avocademy exceeded my expectations. In the foundations part of the program, the curriculum provided a comprehensive overview of UX design principles, methodologies, and tools. The topics covered ranged from user research and wireframing to prototyping and usability testing. Complex concepts were broken down into understandable modules, making them accessible for beginners to follow. The course content was up-to-date, practical, and applicable to real-world design challenges.
    Report
  • Avoacademy Student
    Anonymous
    Student • UX/UI Design Foundations • Online
    Apr 12, 2023
    Overall Experience
    Instructors
    Curriculum
    Job Assistance
    N/A

    They won’t let me cancel enrollment

    This boot camp refused to cancel my enrollment. I tried to cancel BEFORE I had to make payments for the course and the woman refused to help. Now I’m stuck paying for something I don’t want. 
    Report

    Vanessa C. of Avocademy

    AP

    Apr 14, 2023

    Hi! I'd like to clarify our sign up and refund flow. First - when you sign up you agree to the terms and conditions, once you sign up you are sent an enrollment agreement which you are required to read and sign. This enrollment agreement clearly includes your last cancellation date. If you request a refund before your last cancellation date you are able to get a 100% refund.

Avocademy Alumni Outcomes

Recent Avocademy News

Rachel Meltzer
Rachel Meltzer
Updated December 15, 2021
If you re a creative problem-solver, then a career in design may be for you! But how do you choose between a career in web design versus a career in user experience (UX) design? Since these two career paths are both user-focused, they have many similarities, but we re breaking down the nuanced differences between web designers and UX designers to help you find the better fit for you! Find out how these two careers differ, what the daily life of web designers and UX designers look like, ...
Jess Feldman
Jess Feldman
Updated August 27, 2020
Course Report August 2020 Coding Bootcamp News Over 100M was invested in coding bootcamps this August! We cover those fundraises and why coding bootcamps are looking so appealing to investors these days. This month, we also saw new research about the rising interest in gap years and the demand for upskilling, and how coding bootcamps are uniquely positioned to meet both of those needs. August marks the Women s Vote Centennial in the U.S., and we uncovered advice on how tech can ...
Locations
Career tracks

Avocademy Alumni Reviews Summary

Overall Experience
4.8
Instructors
4.8
Curriculum
4.8
Job Assistance
4.8
Write A Review
More Information
Guarantees Job
Job Assistance
Includes Housing
Offers Corporate Training
Accepts GI Bill
FAQs

How much does Avocademy cost?

Avocademy costs around $4,000. On the lower end, some Avocademy courses like UX/UI Design Foundations cost $2,997.

What courses does Avocademy teach?

Avocademy offers courses like Career Jumpstart, UX/UI Design Foundations.

Where does Avocademy have campuses?

Avocademy teaches students Online in a remote classroom.

Is Avocademy worth it?

Avocademy hasn't shared alumni outcomes yet, but one way to determine if a bootcamp is worth it is by reading alumni reviews. 373 Avocademy alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed Avocademy on Course Report - you should start there!

Is Avocademy legit?

We let alumni answer that question. 373 Avocademy alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed Avocademy and rate their overall experience a 4.8 out of 5.

Does Avocademy offer scholarships or accept the GI Bill?

Right now, it doesn't look like Avocademy offers scholarships or accepts the GI Bill. We're always adding to the list of schools that do offer Exclusive Course Report Scholarships and a list of the bootcamps that accept the GI Bill.

Can I read Avocademy reviews?

You can read 373 reviews of Avocademy on Course Report! Avocademy alumni, students, and applicants have reviewed Avocademy and rate their overall experience a 4.8 out of 5.

Is Avocademy accredited?

While bootcamps must be approved to operate, accreditation is relatively rare. Avocademy doesn't yet share information about their accreditation status.

Get our FREE Ultimate Guide to Paying for a Bootcamp

By submitting this form, you agree to receive email marketing from Course Report.

Get Matched in Minutes

Just tell us who you are and what you’re searching for, we’ll handle the rest.

Match Me