thinkful-logo

Thinkful

Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, New York City, Online, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Portland, Raleigh, Raleigh, Salt Lake City, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Tampa, Washington

Thinkful

Avg Rating:4.62 ( 532 reviews )

Thinkful is an online school that equips students for new careers by offering online, fast-paced, job-ready programs in software engineering, data science, data analytics, and design. Students learn cutting-edge industry standards, have 1-on-1 mentoring with an industry professional, and receive career services and job placement assistance to get a job in tech (and even offer a tuition refund guarantee). While Thinkful is an online platform, the school also has in-person communities in tech hubs around the US, where students can attend in-person events and classes. 

Thinkful’s flagship programs are the 5-month Engineering Immersion and Data Science Immersion, Engineering Flex, Engineering Nights & Weekends, Data Science Flex, Product Design Flex, and Data Analytics Flex. All courses include personal mentor meetings, a custom-built curriculum, and daily mentor-hosted Q&A sessions with industry professionals. Students are expected to commit 50-60 hours per week for Immersion programs and 20 to 25 hours per week for Flexible programs. Thinkful students can set their schedules, learn while they can keep their jobs, and access course materials from anywhere in the world. Students join a community of 3000+ students and mentors on Slack to get on-demand code help and build a professional network. All graduates receive lifetime access to the course curriculum.

Thinkful offers all students career guidance to navigate the job market, build a professional portfolio, and prepare for interviews. All programs guarantee job placement in a qualifying position that is full-time and in-field. If students are not placed within 6 months of graduation, they get a 100% tuition refund.

Prospective students can apply via the Thinkful website, and schedule a call to chat with an advisor. It’s important to note that the Data Science Immersion and Flexible programs have more strict admissions requirements than other programs.

Recent Thinkful Reviews: Rating 4.62

all (532) reviews for Thinkful →

Recent Thinkful News

Read all (79) articles about Thinkful →
  • Data Analytics Flex

    Apply
    MySQL, Python, Data Visualization, SQL, Excel, Data Analytics , Business Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,990
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule in a program built to turn your into a highly-paid data analyst in six months. Benefit from one-on-one mentorship, career guidance, and community support from enroll to hire.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Analytics Immersion

    Apply
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $12,250
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A rigorous and structured full-time program built to get you a job as a data analyst. Benefit from instructor-led learning, a virtual classroom environment, 1-on-1 mentorship, and a robust support team.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-analytics/full-time/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science Flex

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,990
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible, online data science course aimed at helping you launch a career. One-on-one mentorship, professional guidance, and a robust community network are on hand to help you succeed in this highly advanced profession.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
  • Data Science Immersion

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, SQL, Hadoop, Machine Learning, Spark, Algorithms
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date
    November 18, 2019
    Cost
    $18,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    An accelerated online program of classes, mentorship, and professional guidance designed to get you a career in data science, fast. This advanced program is designed to serve the needs of equipping degree graduates with the data science skillset they need to obtain a career in their field of study.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/data-science/full-time/#pricing
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Advanced degree
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    November 18, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 23, 2019
    January 2, 2020 - OnlineApply by December 11, 2019
  • Engineering Flex

    Apply
    AngularJS, HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $9,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A flexible program built to get you a career in full-stack web development. Study online at a pace that works for you, while a team of mentors, career coaches, and peers guides you every step of the way.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/pricing/#financing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Engineering Immersion

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlineFull Time60 Hours/week22 Weeks
    Start Date
    October 21, 2019
    Cost
    $16,000
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    A fast-tracked, full time program of online classes, mentorship, and career coaching. Skills, tools, and the support you need to become a highly paid full-stack web developer.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options:https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/web-development/full-time/#payment-options
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    October 21, 2019 - OnlineApply by September 2, 2019
    December 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - OnlineApply by November 18, 2019
  • Engineering Nights & Weekends

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, CSS, React.js, Node.js, Front End
    OnlinePart Time25 Hours/week30 Weeks
    Start Date
    December 2, 2019
    Cost
    $12,900
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    An online program that will turn you into a full-stack web developer after hours. Work up from the fundamentals, write strong code, and build the perfect job-ready portfolio.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/web-development/nights-weekends/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    Yes
    More Start Dates
    December 2, 2019 - OnlineApply by October 14, 2019
    January 6, 2020 - OnlineApply by November 18, 2019
  • Product Design Flex

    Apply
    HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, Design, User Experience Design, CSS, Front End
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $8,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online, Detroit, Washington, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Diego, Denver, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, Chicago, Raleigh, Tampa, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco
    Set your schedule with an online program aimed at taking you from newbie to a confident, highly-paid product designer. Learn the skills and the best way to present them with a team of mentors, career coaches, and community supporters.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Options: https://www.thinkful.com/bootcamp/product-design/flexible/#pricing
    Scholarship
    Self-identifying women and US military members (active or discharged) are eligible for reduced tuition.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginner
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • John Young  User Photo
    John Young • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Thinkful's Engineering Immersion program was a pretty life-changing experience for me. It finally allowed me to pursue Software Engineering, which is what I have wanted to do for years.

    Pros:

    - Excellent support staff

    - Curriculum is well thought out, and constantly evolving

    - Data Structures and Algorithms section

    - Apprentice feedback is welcomed and acted upon

     

    Cons:

    - Instructors need to be more involved during the final days of the program. This feedback has already been given, so I expect it to change quickly.

     

    Overall, I would 100% recommend Thinkful to any and everyone thinking about switching careers, or looking for a post-education boost to their resume.

  • Do it for free
    - 3/1/2015
    Anonymous
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I finished Thinkful in January. All the content used in the Front-end development course can be found on online for free. In, fact I completed alot of the resources they used before I started Thinkful. You do get a mentor. My mentor didn't show up for scheduled meetings. You are better off using codementor.io to find your own mentor (that meets your requirements) at a reasonable price. It's cheaper than paying $500 a month for free content and mediocre mentors. You will have a portfolio when you finish, but it's not worth paying $1500 for three months. 

  • Anonymous
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm writing this here to help anyone that might be on the fence about thinkful...
    1) They don't teach, sure you can ask your mentor stuff, but the actual lesson plans, the ones your supposed to spend all day doing... I kid you not they tell you to go to Google, or stackoverflow to find the answers.

    2) they raised the price to $500 a class, because they offer "career services". I'm not sure what this means because they don't offer you a job or help you find one.

    3) at the end of it all your spending $1500 to Google html, CSS, and javascript. You'll find your self using free resources on the web, thinking to your self. " why the hell am i spending $1500?". ohhhhhhhh cool I made a portfolio....

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Perhaps I just had bad luck with really poor mentors, but the three mentors I tried were all very young. With one exception they would communicate very poorly (their English was fine, I just mean they would send out a one line email, misinterpret emails) as a result of which they would miss lessons, and didn't seem to care much. 

    They tended to repeat the curriculum materials, and take 20 minutes to explain really trivial stuff.

  • Daniel Bogart • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     I had a background in sales, with little coding experience, but was eager to make a career shift to software development. I decided on Thinkful over a bootcamp because of the flexibility and cost.

    The course provided the fundamentals and best-practices I needed to start with next to no experience. I found that the mentor sessions and office hours alone were worth the investment - having access to expert programmers for several hours a week is totally invaluable. Think about this, a comparable "mentor session" from a service like airpair can cost over $200/hour. To me, this is what made it a no brainer.

    Beyond the obvious benefit of having a mentor to help you work through problems, I found that having a mentor session or office hours to attend kept me motivated - I never wanted to show up to a session without progress or questions. After finishing the front-end course, I completed the ruby/rails course, and less than two months after, received three offers (rails dev, front-end dev, angularjs dev). I'm now working as an angularjs developer and loving it.

  • Thinkful Review
    - 1/20/2015
    Devon Campbell • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Several months back, I found myself needing to brush up on my front-end development skills. An in-person boot camp is a scary proposition due both to the cost and sometimes the need to move in order to have access to one. (The tech scene isn’t great here in Knoxville, and, so far as I know, we have no developer bootcamps here.)

    Thinkful was an attractive alternative. I’ve taken online courses before, but this really is much more like a bootcamp. In more traditional classes, the curriculum is very rigid and instructor interaction is minimal. In the Thinkful course, I have access to a mentor every week which is really great. I’m also bringing my own projects to the course which greases the wheels of learning. Each lesson, I’m getting closer to reaching a goal that means something to me.

    The staff has also been very responsive. I’m able to get in touch with the “powers that be” and make suggestions, and they actually respond. They seem genuinely interested in building the thing their students want.

    It’s been a great experience, and I’d highly recommend it.

  • Sunil • Air Warfare Specialist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Like many people out there, depite competing demands on my time, I had a real urge to increase my understanding of web related technologies and programming in general. While self-taught for the majority of my knowledge in, networking, programming, Linux and basic scripting I discovered self-teaching was taking me a lot longer than I thought. As a military instructor, I came to the realization that I needed some scope and objectives to try and achieve my goals. In the middle of 2013, I started to search for a flexible course I could take to help me get a foothold in the coding field.   

    There didn't seem to be a lot of institutions out there that provided the mentorship and scoping that would really help me grow as a student and fledgling developer without investing university level fees. Then I stumbled across Thinkful. They offered a great, always evolving syllabus and mentorship. The most attractive feature of the courses they offered was flexibility. From what I read on their website, I could fit their course work around a schedule that could have me working normal office hours one day, then 5 hours later, be searching for vessels in distress in stormy seas in the middle of the pacific ocean. 

    To be honest it was a no-brainer, I signed up, there wasn't anything really to lose. I never looked back, I have fantastic mentors, who provide honest, critical feedback and have excellent experience. As an instructor, the critical analysis of my code was invaluable to help dme grow as a developer. I also have immense respect for the patience and enthusiasm that Thinkful mentors have. They deal with a multitude of students spread over different time zones, yet always have time for a quick email exchange or chat outside of normal hours. The course flexibility allowed me to work hard when I had the time, and then put in a course pause when my job required that I deploy to a place with minimal connectivity. 

    I completed the front-end developer course in May 2014 and am currently working through the AngularJS syllabus when and where I am able. I've put the skills I gained in the FEWD course into my job developing applications for my current job, and helped me enhance our own teaching cirriculum.

    As a learning institution and flexible educational model, Thinkful is well worth investing time and effort in. The on-going access you gain to an ever evolving detailed cirriculum, fantastic community of mentors, students and developers is outstanding. It also ensures you can go back and review anything, anytime. I highly recommend Thinkful to anyone who is looking at a structured course and highly-motiviational mentors for getting into the programming game.  

  • Join Thinkful
    - 1/11/2015
    Andrew • Front End Developer
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was teaching myself front end development for a year or so but felt so overwhelmed by the amount of information and resources out there. I was never sure if I was going in the right direction. Thinkful was the best solution I could of hoped for to solve this problem. Their well crafted and up-to-date curriculum tied with passionate mentors created a winning formula. They have mentors that can answer those difficult questions that googling cannot. These answers are delivered in a succinct way based on real world experience and genuine passion for what they do.

    After completing the front end web development course at the beginning of 2014 I have since moved from a role that didn’t involve writing code to a full time front end development role. I am now back at thinkful to begin 2015 taking the Backend in Node.js course. I know by the time the three months is up I will be equipped with yet another set of invaluable skills to further my career as a developer. 

    Without Thinkful there would be no way I would be working as a developer today. I highly recommend Thinkful to anyone looking to switch careers or just to tie up the loose ends you have with any of the subjects they offer. You won’t regret it

  • Megan Taylor • UI Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took the FEWD course in the Fall of 2013 and I'm so glad I did! The curriculum was comprehensive, the community was super helpful and my mentor gave me all the guidance I needed to complete the curriculum and make my projects the best they could be.

    I loved the project-based curriculum because it gave me hands-on experience and practice implementing what I was learning, while helping me build portfolio pieces to apply for a job.

    Shortly after completing the course, I got my dream job as a Jr Dev at an awesome company, and I have since been promoted. I give Thinkful a lot of credit for giving me the guidance and self-confidence I needed.

  • Edoe Cohen • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    (I orginally posted this review on Quora)

    I took the Thinkful front-end course and am now in the middle of the Angular course. After dabbling in code for a while and learning with other tools, I can definitely say that Thinkful has played a significant role in propelling me further in my programming skills and confidence.

    What I love most about Thinkful are the hands-on projects you are tasked with at the end of almost each lesson. These projects are what really help me absorb the curriculum and the new tools and skills I'm learning. I've tried a lot of tutorials and online programming schools before including Codecademy and Code School, which were great. But what I was really missing were opportunities to use what I was learning in a real context. With Thinkful I've built numerous apps and sites and now feel way more confident to build something from scratch.

    The mentor aspect of Thinkful also played a huge role in this, since there was someone reviewing my code each week and giving me feedback. My mentor also went out of his way to push me further when he saw that I was quite ahead in the course, by giving me extra curriculum projects to work on.

    One could argue that you could find similar projects to work on and just use free tools. Maybe. But for me the bundle of the Thinkful curriculum, plus mentor, plus projects was really a winning formula. Different people learn in different ways. But if you're busy with a day job and family, and are serious about learning, I really would recommend Thinkful. It will save you time and maximize your learning. Good luck!

  • Anonymous • AngularJS Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    When I first began reviewing software dev training options I found two disctinct groups: free online resources, and $10k intensive bootcamps. Thinkful was the only option I found that lands in the middle of these options. I decided on Thinkful over simply using free resources because of two critical factors that are difficult to put a price on: motivation and mentorship. I decided on it over a bootcamp because of it’s flexibility, price, and the thought that I could always enroll in a bootcamp if I got through Thinkful but couldn’t land a job (spoiler: I landed a job almost immediately after finishing Thinkful).
     
    I started with the Front-End course, which provided the fundamentals and best-practices I needed to start with next to no coding experience. I found that the mentor sessions and office hours alone were worth the investment - having access to expert programmers for several hours a week is totally invaluable. Think about this, a comparable "mentor session" from a service like airpair can cost over $200/hour. To me, this is what made it a no brainer - far faster and more effective than posting to SO or IRC.
     
    Beyond the obvious benefit of having a mentor to help you work through problems, I found that having a mentor session or office hours to attend kept me motivated - I never wanted to show up to a session without progress or questions. After finishing the front-end course, I completed the ruby/rails course, and less than two months after, received three offers (rails dev, front-end dev, angularjs dev). I'm now working as an angularjs developer and loving it.
  • Javier Collado • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    (Note: This review was originally published here)

    Introduction

    This week I’ve completed the FEWD (Front End Web Development) course at Thinkful. It’s been three months of hard work in which I think I’ve made good progress in sharpening my web development skills. In this post, I’m sharing my impressions for those who want to have the opinion of a former student about the course before making the decision to take it.

    Who is this course for?

    This is a course that can be taken by absolute beginners to learn html, css and javascript from the ground up, but it’s also useful to people who already have some experience, but want to improve in any of the technologies involved.

    What does the course include?

    The resources available to you as a student are:

    • curriculum: the course content itself. It’s made from content already available on the internet for free, but structured to introduce new concepts progressively. It also includes a set of assignments to ensure student comprehension that have to be posted to the community for feedback (see below).

    • mentoring sessions: every student has half an hour weekly meetings with a mentor that will provide guidance and specific advice in any area the student is interested in. This is good not only to get personalized information about problems, but also because of the accountability that is generated when you commit to finish some assignment for the following week.

    • community: this is where the work on the assignments is posted to gather feedback aside from the one provided by your mentor. If you’re in trouble this is a good place to ask for help because you’ll get faster feedback than if you wait for your mentoring session. Also, if you help other students, it’s a nice mechanism to reinforce your own learning since you’ll need to take a look at the same kind of problem multiple times.

    • office hours: these are daily meetings in which you can also ask a mentor face to face about problems you might have and learn from the questions asked by other students. As for now, the time isn’t very convenient unless you’re in the US, but still it’s a good experience to attend them.

    What assignments will I work on?

    In case you’re curious, the assignments that you’ll need to work on are (including links to my personal work):

    • Google clone: reproduce the Google homepage.
    • 37signals clone: reproduce the 37signals homepage.
    • Hot or cold: Number guessing game.
    • Shopping list: Todo list application.
    • Quiz: Quiz application.
    • API hack: An application that takes advantage of public API.
    • Portfolio: Final project to showcase the work done during the course.

    What will I learn?

    This almost entirely up to you. The more you involve in the community and the more you work in the assignments, the more advanced stuff you’ll get out of the course. Of course, you can get by with just basic html, css and javascript with jquery; but if you’re curious you can much further than that.

    In my case, some of the things that I learned are:

    • Object oriented javascript
    • MVC frameworks
    • Data binding libraries
    • Template libraries
    • CSS preprocessors
    • Single page applications
    • Responsive design

    I’m not an expert in any of the above, but now I’m confident that I can refer to the documentation of any library and/or framework in the future and get up to speed quickly if I need to.

    Conclusion

    After three months of work, I’ve learned quite a few interesting things and I’ve got a portolio that I can improve in the future. I believe this is a quite good outcome for the time spent.

    What makes the course shine, in my opinion, is that it includes weekly meetings with a mentor and access to a community of students that are going through the same problems as you are. This is really powerful to create accountability and get rid of procrastination to make progress in short time.

    In case you’re wondering, I feel that I could have learned the same stuff on my own, but I don’t how long would that have taken me. If you’re really good in setting your own goals and keeping the motivation to accomplish them and you’ve got plenty of time to look for good learning resources, then you might not need the course, but I’d still encourage you to think about taking it.

  • Review
    - 10/5/2019
    Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The program is light on the ground theory behind most data science algorithms and techniques. Much of the curriculum needs to be substituted with outside material. The outlines as to how the assignments are graded is nonexistent. Also much of the examples are not well chosen. Other than that you do gain a lot of exposure to the data science as a whole so there is breath but not depth to the materials in the program. Hopefully the job placement portion of the program will aid in developing contacts and landing a data science position

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This is it! One of the best online coding courses I've ever done. The curriculum blows my mind. I love how detailed and informative it is. They clearly put a lot of efforts in the materials in a well-organized, easy-to-understand and engaging fashion that keep me coming back over and over. I love the code along projects and sessions where I got to work with my peers. Overall, it's all worth it and I'm crushing it!!!

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The bootcamp is mentor aided one-on-one learn-on-your-own-pace camp. It works out great for me. I like to study on my own pace, still being able to ask questions to technical support and mentor. My mentors are great, knowledgable and working as data scientist in real world. The thinkful community is very friendly and supportive of each other.

  • Anonymous
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My experience with Thinkful was the single worst educational and customer service experience of my life - which is saying a lot.  The online curriculum is definitely subpar and there are no explanatory videos or live sessions as there are with other bootcamps.

     
    The program provides you with bi-weekly mentor sessions to answer any questions your may have and to guide your progress. I went through 5 mentors - FIVE.  4 of whom 'ghosted' me and did not show up for our scheduled sessions. The other one chain smoked and made inappropriate comments throughout the duration of our sessions.
     
    Most of the mentors commented on how poorly structured the program was and how there were better bootcamp programs available.  One mentor even said that it would be difficult to find a job without knowing Redux which was removed from the course material.  
     
    I ended up withdrawing from the program after the fifth mentor called minutes before our scheduled session and said she was 'too busy' to be my mentor anymore.  After this incident I did not receive a reply from anyone at Thinkful for 1 week.  At this point I was months behind due to these administrative issues and had lost any learning and progress flow.  I had fallen completely stagnant. 
     
    Ultimately, there are so many choices for programs both online and in-person. I really do not want anyone to have to go through what I went through. If you commit to this program there is a strong possibility you will experience enormous delays and that you will be on your own with any problems you experience. 
     
    Other programs may seem more difficult and less flexible in terms of schedule but it is well worth inconvenience for a comprehensive experience.
  • Full Stack Flex
    - 8/15/2019
    Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Hello, I wanted to write this review. I am finishing up basic HTML and CSS. I was on the fence about starting this program. I am currently enrolled full time at a university. I graduate in November. I was concerned with the amount of work that I  would need to accomplish between both. This course does an incredible job of creating building blocks. If you get stuck on sandbox activities - just remember that you can accomplish the task with the material you just read. Yes, there are some things you will have to Google on your own - but this is good real-world practice. Additionally, I want to add that I am not a genius I am an average learner I just apply myself and stay focused. 

    Before I started the program I utilized FreeCodeCamp.org.  As someone with average intelligence, this helped me out a lot. I highly recommend starting on a platform like that unless your tenacity is impeccable.  I am super stoked about my journey. I will update this review as I get further along. 

     

    Side note - the mentor session is crucial - having access to real-world developers is priceless and what really helps set this program apart. You meet twice a week with your mentor and if you are stuck on anything for longer than the recommended time then there is a HUGE slack community there to assist at a moments notice. 

  • Anonymous • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I just finished Thinkful's Engineering Immersion full-time program. I went from minimal/no programming experience to building full-stack (frontend, backend, database) in less than 6 months. It was equal parts exciting, difficult, rewarding, and exhausting.

    Not for the faint of heart, but a great way get into web development.  I put in an average of 60~70 hrs of work per week.

    I would recommend studying a bit of JavaScript and SQL on FreeCodeCamp to give yourself a bit more time to digest the material.

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I’ve always been interested in data science, but with little to no background in CS and already having been out of college and working for several years, I found it a bit daunting to consider making a career change, start a bootcamp and still continue working at the start time. While it certainly hasn’t been easy, the support Thinkful provided to me through my mentor, the community and the endless number of resources has been wonderful. It’s definitely a lot of work and time management is key to stay on track, but the flexibility of the program has allowed me to adjust my schedule to allow of everything else I have to do outside of the classwork. Meeting with my mentor twice a week helps keep me accountable, while the slack channels and Q&A/workshop sessions are incredible resources to tap into all throughout the week. This program is intense and definitely a big investment of your time and money, but so far for me I’m thrilled I decided to make the jump and am really looking forward to my development as a future data scientist as the program progresses. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Thinkful Review
    - 3/19/2019
    Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I've got about a month left in my bootcamp and I gotta say I've probably learned more in these past few months than I could have alone. The curriculum is really streamlined to give you the most important details and best practices, that otherwise on my own I would have to spend a bunch of time researching what to actually learn, which is a huge time sink. Especially since I'm doing the part-time program, after working my full time job, I really only have 2-3 hours a day. So every minute is valuable. That being said, the curriculum can't possibly teach you everything, but it's a good starting point to let you branch off and help you know what you should be learning. If you are planning on attending a bootcamp, Thinkful's part time is great choice. But make no mistake, part time doesn't mean half the effort, if you want to do well in the bootcamp and as a web developer in the industry you gotta give 100%.

  • Anonymous • Product Manager • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am more than half way through the full stack flex bootcamp through Thinkful and it has been a great experience so far. The course has progressed through a lot of interesting and useful content in an intuitive way that makes it easier to learn and build on knowledge. I work full time as a product manager and everyday at work I am able to connect things I’ve learned in the bootcamp to development being done by the software engineers I work with every day. The two mentors I’ve had have been very engaged and always ready to answer questions and help me if I get stuck or just want to learn more. Besides always having a dedicated mentor to help with students through the content, every student also has a designated project manager who helps guide a student through anything administrative and is the go to person for any questions or advice about the course. Even though I’m not done with the course just yet, I have already learned so much and can build out my own full stack web apps now. Besides the basics, Thinkful teaches up and coming topics such as react and node so students are up to date with knowledge. The career management resources are also very helpful and connect work being done in the bootcamp to the overall goal of getting a job in software engineering. I have completed 3 of the mock interviews and with the combination of live coding challenges as well as classic interview behavioral questions they are a great way to practice interviewing as the bootcamp progresses. I have had a great experience so far and am looking forward to getting through the rest of the content and starting a career as a software engineer utilizing all the I have learned through Thinkful both technically and professionally. 

  • FSF-Student
    - 2/22/2019
    Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I'm about half-way through my Bootcamp experience as a Fullstack Flex student, and although it's been very challenging at times. I'm impressed with my skills now compared to a few months ago. I started out as a somewhat coding newbie and my mind has flexed muscle I didn't even know it could! I can't wait to finish up the course in 3 months and I'm beyond excited for where this journey will take me. The best advise I can give is, if you're on the fence about applying just go for. As long as you put in the time, work and effort, you will succeed. 

  • No teaching needed.
    - 12/22/2018
    Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I enrolled at this place because of the personal mentoring. I read the negative reviews and knew going in that the mentor would make or break the experience. I decided to trust Thinkful, that even the worst mentors could not be that bad. I was wrong. Among the mentors I've had: one was completely useless - he would show up to our sessions like he was high. I would have to repeat myself several times before he attempted to answer my questions otherwise he was silent and staring at the screen for the next hour. He only got upset and started berating me when I tried to log off because he probably wouldn't get paid for the session. Another mentor I had kept bringing up my gender. How, as a woman, I need to have more confidence - every session I've had with this ahole started off with a lecture about how I have impostor syndrome when I just wanted someone to help me troubleshoot an error in my project. I tried to placate him and agree, but he would not move on until he finished his 15 minute speech. And yet another one would make passive-aggressive remarks about how women should be in the kitchen ha ha

    I ended up on slack more often because my mentors would not respond to my emails and learned more from the grads online. I eventually confided in others that I did not feel comfortable because of my mentor and boy was I surprised when I found out that not only was this normal, but that no matter how many times students complained about the lack of professionalism and the lack of knowledge (there are mentors that don't know a single thing about js, despite it being the principal language for your projects), the offending employees could never be fired. One of the mentors was even caught giving wrong answers to his student several times so the student would have to spend extra weeks figuring out what happened, only for the mentor to insist there was a "misunderstanding" at the next session. That's an extra $35 per hour for the mentor and weeks lost to the student. Easy way for the student to fall behind and pay another $2000 to extend the program and mentor access - good for Thinkful and explains why this mentor hasn't been fired.

    The curriculum itself is set up so that if you don't have some background in programming, you are going to fail to finish in 6 months. html and css are easy to bypass which is why they can afford to offer the trial period but once you get to js, you are rushed through everything with no foundation. The exercises are limited and the content becomes overly vague. Thinkful offers outside resources in the beginning, but stops around js and in turn, slack is always full of requests for outside material because nobody understands what's going on. You have no teachers if you do not get a good mentor. You are reading and doing everything by yourself. Every section has a button for reporting spelling errors and issues with set up or unclear instructions. You do not get alerted to content changes and even mentors on slack will be surprised at how something was deleted and not know when the content was changed.

    Thinkful also offers office hours and workshops and if they aren't cancelled last minute with no explanation, you take a gamble and go to the session. The good tutors have a long line, the bad ones are practically empty because they never know how to answer questions.

    The interviews after every section are a joke. The reading does not prepare you adequately and the interviews ask more in-depth questions that do not reflect the rigor in the curriculum. If you fail the same interview twice, they give you an exercise to do but I have seen several students post the question and get the answer on slack.

    The only winners here are the company taking your money and the predatory mentors who take advantage of the students and Thinkful's perks.

    Response From: David of Thinkful
    Title: Head of Program Management
    Friday, Dec 28 2018
    I am devastated to hear you've had such a negative experience in our program. We expect our mentors to behave professionally. This includes refraining from off-color or inappropriate remarks, including the kind that you've mentioned here. This is not the expectation we set, nor is it one we'd expect. If you were having issues with your mentors and receiving feedback, we would hope that you'd discuss that with your Program Manager.

    We have a dedicated support team to help ensure you have everything you need to be successful in our program. I would like to work with you directly to see how we can rectify your situation. Frankly, I'd love to know who your mentor was so I can address it personally. Please email me at David@thinkful.com at your earliest convenience.

    Thanks,
    David
  • Anonymous • Speaker • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Here are the problems with Thinkful:

    For $1500 per month, you get to meet with an assigned mentor about 2-4 hours per week.  All other learning is done on your own.  My mentoer actually told me in the first week that I should add some other inexpensive courses from Other online sources to help guide me as well.  What??  Its like the teachers at your college telling you also to enroll in another college at the saem time because their time is limited to actually teach you. 

    In addition to the 2-4 ohours per week with your mentor (again you are paying 1500 per month for this) You also get Access to randomly scheduled chat rooms to sit in line and hope you can get to a chat room mentor, so you can ask specific questions and SOMETIMES get helpful answrers, which you have to do in about 5-10 minutes because others are in line in the chat room breathing down your back. 

    Ask UP FRONT EXACTLY WHO guides you in the employemnt search when you finish.  Then ask exactly HOW they guide you.  Fact is, 'guidance' from them means You pretty much do everything on your own, and someone just checks in to make sure you are meeting their emplyment search guidleines defined in the their 'money-back 6-month job placement gaurantee'.  If you miss a guideline or requirement one week, they are examplt from having to reund your money and honoring their gaurantee.  

    The online instruction is all just reading material on a page and then triying to satisfy the project requirements, which get more complicated at the end.  Try to writ edown all your questions for when you meet your mentor 2-4 hours heach week. 

    Your 'advisor' may contact you and tell you at the very start of the program that, even though the program is 6 months, you can always take 7, 8, or 9 months to really learn more deeply, because "Many of our students do that to really learn the subject matter.".  If you do this however, know that they don't not have to honor their job palcement gaurantee because they don't tell you this up front.    

    Many of the mentors are from overseas which is no problem, but they are difficult to understand because of heavy accents.  And forget about THEM leading YOU in practicing, rather it is YOUR job to come up with questions to ask THEM.  Otherwise, they just sit back and let the clock tick as you struggle and pay month after month.

    Honestly, I know a lot of reviews here are organized and strageized marketing reviews written by people connected to their own staff and comany.  But as a former student who found other ways to learn the material more scucessfully and become a developer, I would avoid Thinkful for now - until they make some major improvements.  --As of Septmeber 2018.  

    Response From: Program Management Team of Thinkful
    Title: Program Manager
    Friday, Dec 07 2018
    Your feedback is incredibly valuable for us and has a direct impact on the ways we continue to improve our programs.  Our goal is that you get support from a team of experienced developers who work together to ensure that you get the comprehensive feedback and guidance to progress through the program and reach your goals.

    We apologize for your negative experience in our program. We would like to do what we can to help resolve some of the issues you raised here. Please email us at success@thinkful.com at your earliest convenience.

    Thanks,

    Program Management Team
  • Great bootcamp!
    - 11/20/2018
    Anonymous • Mobile & IoT Developer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This is a great bootcamp to go from a noobie or hobbyist to a professional junior web or mobile developer. I really liked going about the curriculum in coding pairs with a mentor ready to jump into our session to answer any questions we couldn't answer for ourselves. It's a great approach to breaking apart and digesting advanced concepts.

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I started this program with broken promises. Before enrolling the school GUARANTEED  A FULL TIME JOB  OR A FULL REFUND. None of it has happened. The first month was great the easy stuff. The months moving forward I was assigned about 7 different mentors. Reasons being they did not know javascript or they would direct me to google.  A lot of times the mentors would complain about the low rate of pay. The Q & A sessions offered are even worse, the mentors pick and choose who they want to work with. If they didn't like you or if you did not meet a certain requirement they would again point you to google or say they don't know the subject matter.  About 75 % of the Q & A's I registered for were cancelled, no reason was given.  The curriculum is dated and old it is a lot of reading and more reading. The mentors are not experienced at all. They just come to collect  a paycheck and update their skills on the expense of the students. The school does not monitor the mentor sessions or the Q & A sessions which are just a waste of time. The slack channel your questions will go unanswered or if they answer it they will shame you and point you to an article on how to ask questions. I was not a professional programmer I was a student looking to learn.   This program is not designed  for students to be successful. Not a single assignment was graded or was any feedback given. I was given a pacing guide on month 8 of the program. 
     The statics show a 98% success rate  which makes sense. If you go above the 6 months they will forcefully withdraw you to keep the data looking good. 
    Save yourself the time and money go buy the same course on udemy for $10 bucks. Employers do not look at education they look what can you build. The stuff learned here I was not even able to get a UNPAID internship. 

    Response From: Program Management Team of Thinkful
    Title: Program Manager
    Wednesday, Nov 14 2018
    Dear student, we are sorry to hear you've had a negative experience in our program. If you were having issues receiving feedback on your assignments and issues with Q&A sessions, we would hope you'd discuss that with your Program Manager.

    We have a dedicated support team to help ensure you have everything you need to be successful in our program. Please email us at success@thinkful.com at your earliest convenience so we can learn more about your situation and make things right.

    Thanks,
    Program Management Team

Student Outcomes


40%
On-Time Graduation Rate
84%
In-Field Employed
$63,700
Change in Salary

180 Day Employment Breakdown:

Full-time employee
63%
Full-time apprenticeship, internship or contract position
21%
Hired by school in-field
0%

Started a new company or venture after graduation
0%
Short-term contract or part-time position
0%
Hired by school out of field
0%
Out of field
0%

Still seeking a job
16%
Not still seeking a job
0%

Non reporting
0%

Salary Breakdown:

92% of job obtainers reported salaries.

Notes & Caveats:

Thanks!