springboard-logo

Springboard

Online

Springboard

Avg Rating:4.77 ( 357 reviews )

Springboard is an online coding school offering online, flexible, mentor-led courses including the Data Science Career Track, UX Design Career Track, and Machine Learning Career Track (all offer job guarantees), in addition to Digital Marketing and Cybersecurity courses. While learning cutting-edge digital skills entirely online, students receive teaching and mentorship from industry experts. Springboard offers a number of self-paced, mentor-led workshops, plus a full Data Science Career Track program. The Data Science Career Track includes a deferred tuition option, so students can enroll for a small deposit and finish paying after starting a job. In all of Springboard’s self-paced courses, students develop job-ready skills that display industry-worthy capstone and portfolio projects. Throughout the entire process, students receive support from their industry mentor, as well as Springboard's resident advisors and the larger student/alumni community. Springboard combines expert-curated curricula with one-on-one mentorship. Springboard has served thousands of students from around the world.

To apply, applicants fill out an online form, take an aptitude test, then talk with a school representative about their background and motivations. For the data science career track a background in statistics and/or programming is required. For the UX career track, students should have academic or professional background in user design or development-oriented fields.

All graduates receive 1:1 career coaching including networking tips, resume and LinkedIn assistance, interview prep, and salary negotiation. Graduates go on to considerable success: those who accepted new jobs reported an average annual salary increase of $19,919. And because of the job guarantee, students who don’t find a job within six months of graduation receive a full refund.

Recent Springboard Reviews: Rating 4.77

all (357) reviews for Springboard →

Recent Springboard News

Read all (19) articles about Springboard →
  • Cybersecurity Career Track

    Apply
    Penetration Testing, Mobile Security, Ethical Hacking
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $2,900
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Your springboard to a cybersecurity career The cybersecurity industry is expected to have 3.5 million high paying unfilled jobs by 2021 (source). If you have experience in related technical fields and are interested in a cybersecurity career, now is the time to get started! In this bootcamp, you will develop your cybersecurity skill set under the guidance of an industry expert who will mentor you 1-on-1 throughout the course. With our online labs, you can advance the technical skills needed to make systems and software more secure as well as prepare for passing the certification exam. All this will culminate in a multi-part capstone project that you can highlight on your resume for prospective employers. You will also get bonus prep materials to help you pass the CISSP certification so you stand out when applying for software security analyst roles. Career transitions are hard, but we’ll support you every step of the way - until you are hired. By the end of the course, you will: - Develop the technical proficiency needed to make software and applications more secure - Gain preparation to help you pass the CISSP security certification - Be able to conduct a full risk and vulnerability assessment for a software application, write a report of your findings and recommend improvements. - Have the skills to get hired for Software/Application Security Analyst roles
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit available.Deferred Tuition available. Pay when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $2900
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Analytics Career Track

    Apply
    Python, SQL, Excel, Data Visualization, Data Analytics
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a data analyst in six months, job guaranteed! Through this course, developed in partnership with Microsoft, you’ll master the technical and business thinking skills needed to get hired. In addition to learning fundamental business statistics concepts, key tools (like Excel, SQL, Python, Power BI, and Tableau), and advanced analysis techniques, you’ll develop your problem-solving skills—something hiring managers told us most job applicants lack. Two capstone projects will allow you to bring all of your skills together, becoming the center of a powerful portfolio. And you’ll do it all with the guidance of your personal mentor and career coach, plus support from your fellow students and Springboard alumni.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb financing availableDeferred tuition plan: Pay $500 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $5,500 upfront or $1,100 monthly payments, or deferred tuition plan.
    Refund / Guarantee
    Become a data analyst. Job Guaranteed.
    Scholarship
    $500 scholarship for veterans and women in tech.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    2 years of professional work experience working regularly with office, design or programming tools. Strong critical thinking and problem-solving skills.
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track

    Apply
    MySQL, Data Science, Git, Python, SQL, Machine Learning, Spark
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,500
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Get a job, or your money back, through Springboard’s mentor-guided online bootcamp. With our job guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. Students will master the data science process, from statistics and data wrangling to advanced topics like machine learning and data storytelling, by working on real projects designed by industry experts. With the guidance of your personal mentor and career coaches, you will graduate with an interview-ready portfolio and a network of data scientists. We won’t stop there. We know that career transitions are hard, and we’ll support you every step of the way—until you get hired.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Climb Credit. Deferred Tuition available: Pay $700 and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1490/month or $7,500 upfront or deferred tuition plan.
    Scholarship
    Women in Tech Veterans
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Comfortable programming and comfortable with statistics.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No
  • Data Science Career Track Prep

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $490
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Need more prep before you begin the Data Science Career Track? In this mentor-led course, you'll spend 4-6 weeks mastering the foundational Python and statistics skills needed to pass the admissions challenge and start your career. This course was designed specifically for go-getters who want to enroll in our Data Science Career Track, but who need an introduction to, or a refresher in, Python programming, statistics, or other core data science concepts. With guidance from your personal mentor, you’ll finish the course having learned how to use Python to complete real-world coding exercises. You’ll also be able to ace our Data Science Career Track admissions challenge and begin your data science journey.
    Financing
    Deposit
    None
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Beginnger
    Prep Work
    None
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Digital Marketing Career Track

    Apply
    Digital Marketing, Excel, Growth Hacking, SEO
    OnlinePart Time10 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $3,300
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    If you're looking to get a fulfilling digital marketing job, Springboard’s Digital Marketing Career Track is the perfect course for you. The Digital Marketing Career Track is a 200+ hour online course. You’ll learn core digital marketing skills and work 1-on-1 with an expert digital marketer on projects designed to help you showcase your competency in this rapidly evolving field. You’ll also learn how to leverage these skills in the job market through a career-focused curriculum and personalized career coaching. We’ll offer all the support you need to land a digital marketing job successfully, from resume review, mock interviews, to exclusive employer partnerships. You’ll get a foot in the door people usually work years to gain.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner available: Affirm. Low monthly payments starting at $145 per month.
    Tuition Plans
    $2394, or $499 per month
    Refund / Guarantee
    7-day risk-free rebate period
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track

    Apply
    Python, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    OnlinePart Time20 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $7,940
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Fast-track your machine learning career through our mentor-guided, hands-on machine learning engineering course—the first to come with a job guarantee. Our curriculum, designed for people with software engineering experience, is rigorous and deeply technical, teaching the foundations of machine learning and deep learning. But it’s also hands-on. Of the 400 hours of work we estimate it will take to complete this course, 100 hours go toward capstone projects. You’ll build and deploy large-scale AI systems—with guidance from your mentor, an experienced machine learning engineer currently working in the industry.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Climb Credit
    Tuition Plans
    $7,940 upfront $1490/month Climb Credit Loan
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee. Get a job after 6 months or get your money back.
    Scholarship
    Women In Tech: $750 Veterans: $750
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • UX Career Track

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design, Data Visualization
    OnlinePart Time15 Hours/week26 Weeks
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $5,400
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Become a UX designer in six months, job guaranteed! The UX Career Track is an intensive user experience course with a full career services component. With our guarantee, if you don’t land a job within six months of graduating, your tuition will be refunded. This self-paced, mentor-guided, online bootcamp is designed for people with adjacent skills from a few specific backgrounds: visual design, coding, marketing, and research. With the fundamentals already in place, you'll master design thinking, develop cross-functional communication skills, and create real-world projects that you can show off in a unique portfolio. After graduation, you’ll continue to enjoy the support of career coaches and access to our employer network so that you can land an entry-level UX job.
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Financing
    Lending partner: Climb Financing.Deferred Tuition: Pay $500 upfront, and the rest when you get a job.
    Tuition Plans
    $1199/month, $5,400 upfront, or deferred tuition
    Refund / Guarantee
    Job Guarantee
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Academic or professional experience in user design or development oriented fields.
    Placement Test
    Yes
    Interview
    No

1 Scholarship

  • $500 Springboard Scholarship

    Course Report is excited to offer an exclusive Springboard scholarship for $500 off tuition!

    Eligibility

    Offer is only valid for new applicants. Applicants who have already submitted an application cannot claim this scholarship. & This scholarship cannot be combined with other offers.

    Qualifying Courses

    • UX Career Track (Online)
    • Machine Learning Engineering Career Track (Online)
    • Data Science Career Track (Online)

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    This is an entry level boot camp program designed for students with limited background in data analytics.

    Pros: Weekly mentor calls is the main selling point, I enjoyed chatting with my mentor, but you need to be well prepared with agenda items, otherwise 30 minutes can pass so fast with no solid progression made. The mini projects in Jupytor notebooks are all very interesting and insightful, I think I've learnt more from those than videos and quiz. While I can see the trace that those are probably not what they originated, they did make modifications to those projects so it ended to be a good summary of each section. 

    Cons: I'm not a big fan for a student proposed capstone project. I can easily imagine someone getting stuck at thinking about valuable business ideas and reliable data source to begin with their project, especially for a program facing inexperienced students. The program course material is mainly from Datacamp, there is nothing wrong with that business collaboration, but you won't feel happy realizing Datacamp subscription is only $29 per month. I convinced myself I'm mainly paying for the tutoring, and this could be subjective people believe it worth the price or not. Not much job support if you are not choosing the career track.

    One suggestion I'd like to make is to alter a little big the tempo of the program. Currently I can strong feel a jump of level of difficulty moving from statistical inference section to machine learning, and I consider myself half-experienced for those topics. If this is supposed to be a program for people start thinking about exploring their career at data analytics, I think you can simplify on machine learning topics and make the mini project as easy as what datacamp offered. If you believe this is a hard-core data science program, you'd like students to put more hours into the topic.

  • Rounak Banik  User Photo
    Rounak Banik • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I was a student of Springboard's Data Science Career Track between July and November 2017. Completing the track has been one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life. The track was extremely streamlined and sufficiently challenging to keep you involved for the entire duration.
    The biggest take away of the program was the mentorship. My mentor, Baran, taught me skills that you will never find in a book or a publicly offered MOOC. He also gave me invaluable glimpses into the world of professional data science. With his constant guidance, I was able to participate in Data Science Hackathons, publish and gather traction for my kernels on Kaggle and  develop a proposal for a talk on Inferential Statistics which was accepted in SciPy India 2017.
    Another huge benefit of the program is the network you get to build. Springboard mentors and alumni work at amazing places. I connected and interacted with more than a dozen people doing inspiring work. My mentor personally introduced me to Data Scientists at Airbnb (my first capstone project was on Airbnb User Bookings) and Amazon.  They, in turn, gave me a sneak peak of their work at their respective companies.
    As part of DSC, I completed over 15 technical projects and 2 major Capstone Projects. With the help of my mentor, I was able to channel my work in the right places. My analysis on TED Talks caught the eye of the Kaggle CEO who then submitted my notebook to the official TED Team. My second capstone project on Movie Recommender Systems had me publishing a dataset that was trending at the top for 3 straight days. 
    The material I learnt from Springboard also helped me in performing reasonably well in Data Science Competitions. My bachelors' thesis project on Fake News Detection is also based on the knowledge I acquired from the program. 
    Finally, DSC prepares you for the non technical aspects of getting a job. There are intensive, personal evaluations of your LinkedIn Profile, your resume and mock interviews. These exercises prepare you well for evaluating, applying and eventually interviewing for various data science jobs.
    All in all, DSC is a great investment if you want to switch careers or get started with the field of Data Science. It prepares you for entry level Data Science jobs and equips you with enough expertise to jump into more advanced material after the program. Highly recommended!

  • Great Course!
    - 11/3/2017
    Alla Prazyan  User Photo
    Alla Prazyan • Graphic Designer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am in Graphic Design industry for more than 8 years and I was happy to explore UX Design course here on Springboard.  The curriculum is very well designed and covers all aspects of UX design. This course is ideal for busy people, who cannot attend scheduled classes on site. Mentors are all professionals from the UX field, and student's advisors are always right away ready to assist with any question.

  • Dirk Maserkopf  User Photo
    Dirk Maserkopf • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

     

    My 12 weeks experience with springboard was excellent. My weekly mentor calls helped me to find the right way to analyze data and go beyond the actual case study. The learning material is easy to read and understand, not that the course is too easy, but the layout and structure of the course is very good and makes it a pleasure to learn. Catherina from student support is great to deal with. I had one small problem, none of springboards fault, but my first assigned mento wasn't available any longer, so  Catherina went beyond her normal hours of work and found me a new mentor over the weekend. I was really impressed with the support she gave me and any other questions, were answered right away, even though we had like 16 hours time difference between Western Australia and San Fran. 

    A special thanks to Chinmay , my mentor, who was always available and even so we had to change sometime our time of call, he was always flexible and guided me through the course plus gave me some great insights from his past experience and working as BA. 

     

     

     

     

  • Arun  User Photo
    Arun • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took the Foundations in Data Science course from Springboard. I have had some introduction to statistics and programming (quite a bit of stats in my MBA program and took many datacamp certificates for R and Python programming).

    Really enjoyed the foundations course from Springboard. Have tried using many MOOC`s (massive online open courseware) to learn data science but to no use. Springboard`s mentor driven and community driven coursework is a lot better. Setting up the R Studio environment, Github, writing code on R, R markdown etc, all take quite some effort, if you are from a non computer science background (I am not a CS major but had some coding in high school and undergrad). This is where the mentor and community are most useful. 

    The $ 500 per month fee is very reasonable for the community, mentor interactions and curriculum that you get in the course. 

    My advice to prospective students who have no background in statistics and programming is as follows:

    1) First learn statistics from online resources like Khan Academy, Saylor.org etc. Topics may include descriptive statistics (mean, median, mode, variance, standard deviation, types of distributions, probability), inferential statistics (p-value, Z-scores, hypothesis test, t-test) and machine learning (linear regression, logistic regression, some simple classification algorithms etc). Even datacamp.com has many good coding courses built around statistics.    

    2) Learn some R, Python and SQL from datacamp.com. Take a total of 10 certificate courses from datacamp in these 3 programming languages. This will really help develop your coding skills. In R, take introduction to R, intermediate R, dplyr, ggplot, statistics with R etc. In Python, learn numpy, pandas, seaborn etc. 

    3) After you have finished above 2 points, you can move to Springboard. You may think that Springboard is also about the first 2 points. Yes, it is. But the most important part of Springboard is the capstone project. Once you have completed point 1 and 2, you can enter the Springboard foundations course confidently and spend most of your time thinking and working on your capstone project. Remember that nothing matches the skills you develop while completing an end to end capstone project. This is only possible on Springboard at a very reasonable price.

    Lots of effort and motivation + Springboard + Datacamp is the best formula for becoming a quantitative analyst/junior data scientist, if you do not already have a background in statistics and computer science.

  • Jenn L  User Photo
    Jenn L • UX UI Designer • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I've been a visual designer (mostly web) for about 10 years. I've done aspects of UX in many of my jobs/projects. But there were a lot of best practices in research and prep that I'd never properly learned to be an official UX designer. I learned and practiced all these textbook need-to-knows and quickly got my portfolio updated to prove it through this course in a matter of a few months. I saved $1000's from avoiding full-time courses that I didn't need since I had quite a lot of on the job training already. Since completing the course I've gotten messages weekly to daily from recruiters on LinkedIn looking to place me in new exciting roles at big and small companies. TOTALLY WORTH IT.

    My UX project from the curriculum: https://www.jennlindeman.com/ux-project

  • Amelia MG  User Photo
    Amelia MG • UX Writer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I took Springboard's UX Design course, and really enjoyed my experience. The curriculum was engaging, varied enough to accommodate many different learning styles, and was dynamic - Springboard updates their curriculum all the time, so nothing feels out of date. The emphasis on working with other students through the online community made it easy to gather ongoing feedback about your process, and simulated a bit of what it's like to work on a UX team - you never work in a bubble ;) 

    The self-paced nature of the class is a bit of a double-edged sword, because you can finish the course while working a full time job, but it does mean you need to be really self-motivated - I work full time, and finished the course in 3 months. Both your mentor and Springboard advisors are extremely helpful and supportive, and can even provide suggested timelines for what to work on each week in order to finish the course in the time that meets your needs.

    As I mentioned earlier, each student is assigned a mentor, with whom you work closely, meeting each week to discuss progress, goals, and other, non-course-related aspects of UX design work. This mentor/student relationship was invaluable to my success. My mentor is extremely talented and charismatic and working with her helped keep me on track. 

     

    I highly recommend Springboard to anyone looking for a dive into UX Design. 

  • UX Design Course
    - 7/24/2017
    Laura A Hamrick  User Photo
    Laura A Hamrick • Web Designer/UX Designer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I would highly recommend the Springboard UX Design course to anyone that is looking to learn UX Design or would like to get a jump start on putting some UX examples on their portfolio. I had worked in UX for about a year but didn't have any personal examples that I could show for on my public portfolio. My Springboard (Sara) was extremely helpful in providing me with feedback and recommending resources that were outside of what the course had listed. 

    This course was great because as a freelance web designer, my schedule isn't consistent week to week. Since the course is flexible, you are able to do as much or as little of the work each week to make it work for you. 

    I was left with an amazing portfolio piece on the entire process of UX Design and have been offered multiple positions since completing the course. I also felt extremely comfortable in the interviews as I was confidently able to walk through the ENTIRE UX Design process since I had gone through every piece. 

    Would highly recommend this to anyone interested in UX!

  • Lauren Turner • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I took Springboards UX Career Track course. I initially intended to complete it in 6 months, but after some setbacks, it ended up taking about two months longer. During that time Springboard's support team was able to extend my course end date with no issues. Overall, the course material was very informative. The content is presented in a variety of ways, articles, videos, short assignments, long assignments, to support different types of learning. I also thought the main projects, Capstone, and Industry Design Project prepared me for a job in this field. The capstone project gives you a detailed overview of each method, and step, of the UX process, and the IDP had me directly working with a real company to solve an actual problem that they have. I would recommend this course from Springboard to anyone who wants to get into UX Design and be successful at it!

  • David Gray • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The Springboard Data Science Career Track course provides more resources than I expected.  These include the weekly calls with a professional for mentoring, career calls to talk about aspects of applying and making contacts and refining a resume and LinkedIn profile, mock interviews that were a great motivation to prepare for, and individuals who can review projects and code.  I was impressed by the number of resources and their quality.  My mentor helped me understand a solid strategy for making contacts with individuals at companies for referrals.  Another resource is the free access to DataCamp during and after the course, which is effective at teaching concepts and code.  The main suggestion I would make to improve the course is providing supplemental resources to deepen knowledge of a topic if one wanted to increase understanding.  Overall, I feel that I advanced a lot from studying the course materials but, of course, expect that I will need to study independently to be effective in my new job.

  • Steffen • UX Designer • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a great experience with my mentor. The course material could be a little more robust, and have more real life examples and current case studies. It was sometimes hard to apply the general info in the course to the project I was working on. But overall it was informative, and I always got good advice and feedback from my mentor.

  • Sitara Abraham • Data Science Analyst • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I'm so thankful I enrolled in this bootcamp.  The curriculum was very comprehensive, delving into statistical concepts, data wrangling, and Python with machine learning applications (and more).  The mini projects and 2 capstone reports really allowed me to hone my Python and analytical skills.  Moreover, the career support and the mentor support were invaluable. Having weekly calls with my mentor  really helped in terms of direction for my projects and with any miscellaneous curriculum questions.  Interviewing skills and networking is part of the curriculum, so you're set up for success from the beginning.  I was able to get a Data Science job (albeit with prior data experience) after 3 months of the the bootcamp; the portfolio I've created through Springboard was a major asset in my interviewing process.

  • Kip Ladd • Product Specialist • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I started out on the Digital Marketing Career Track only to land a job half way through the course so they allowed me to finish the program within the Professional Track.  This alone speakes volumes to the flexibility and support the program brings to bear.  I have over 10 years B2B Email Marketing and Website management experience, but it was dated (early 2000s). Thus, I was looking for a way to upgrade my skill set and also use real-world experiences.  For example, I was able to partner with a local Family Law Practice that was just getting off the ground and use their business as my main project to build demand generation and other Digital Marketing tactics around using real dollars.  It was awesome to see how the curriculum, and great support from an industry specific mentor melded well together to allow me to build and execute a Digital Marketing Plan for the law firm.  I then also had practical experience to apply elsewhere and demonstrate to employers I had some level of expertise in some of the newer Digital Marketing areas I lacked from my past positions.

  • Kathie Fitzpatrick • UX / UI Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My experience with Springboard was AWESOME. I started the program with no experience, the curriculum, mentors and career coaches were excellent. I had a terrific time learning and now I have invaluable skills.

  • Brandon Goei • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Springboard's UX Essentials curriculum is a great overview of the UX design process for absolute beginners, with a solid basis of history and core concepts and progressing through a well-paced guide to doing it all for yourself. The real star of the show, though, is the amount of support provided to students, especially in the form of 1:1 weekly mentor calls, which provide real world experience from real people and do well to keep students on task.

  • Jose Reyes • Senior Healthcare Analyst • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    As a working professional, I've learned that constant learning is essential for career success!  As such, I had a great experience with Springboard's data science courses and was expecting the same out of their business analytics course. I really enjoyed learning about the various concepts taught in the program: data modeling, dashboarding, customer life-time value among many others. Despite being familiar with the basics of these and other concepts (I have a Master's Degree in a program that covered these areas) I was very surprised at how much I didn't know and how much I learned through Springboard.

    The course work is challenging and have applied it to my current work on various projects. However, the most valuable aspect of my experience with this program was the mentorship I received as I completed the course. My mentor was someone who provide some of the most valuable advise and guidance with respect to business analytics. Being a business analyst himself it was great to hear about this field from someone who has been working with these concepts at such an advanced level.

    I summarize this review by saying that my expectations were exceeded, I learned a lot, and I was able to apply the concepts and advise I received in this course immediately to my work. I whole-heartedly recommend this course if you are interested in learning about (or learning more about) business analytics. Enjoy!

  • Bradley McCalla • Program Manager • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    At first, I was a little nervous taking this course due to my limited background in this particular field, but I felt that it was a necessary component to add to my profile to help further my career. 
    Following the introduction meeting, before the course started, the student advisors took time to answer any questions those starting the course had and did let us all know that this course was designed for those with limited experience in this field, which soothed my nerves. They also let us know that they (the student advisors) were there for any questions or concerns we may have had throughout the duration of the course, which was also very calming. 
    When the course started, your mentor set up weekly Skype chats and you have your first introductory call with them, where you discuss your previous background, what it is you hope to gain from completing the course and ultimately, get to know them.
    When starting the course, you are presented with a library of knowledge for Excel with readthroughs and instructional videos ranging from basics to more advanced functions which becomes very helpful as the course moves on. It was also great that you can revisit these lessons, any time you get stuck.
    As you move forward into the case studies, you are given all the information needed. Extra material is provided that will help you specifically for the case you are working on complete with mock scenarios. What is required of you in each case study, is laid out in a way that is easy to follow and removes any guessing on your part.
    Although I was told to make sure your mentor is right for you and you feel comfortable working with them, mine was very helpful and knowledgable. **Do make sure you feel this way, if not, speak to your student advisor** They are there to help and guide you, not give you the answers and your weekly calls are key to being successful. They will review your progress and give you revisions to make if needed.
    Each case study I completed, focused on a different scenario (Forecasting, Root Cause Analysis, and Customer Segmentation) and really help me see the data I work with on a daily basis in a new light and made me think to myself, "I could be doing better at this" and as I was moving along in the course, I felt that my work had changed also, so I was taking what I learned and applying it immediately.
    FInal thoughts: It is a great course if you are looking to expand your knowledge in this particular field. The material is easy to follow and you stand to learn a lot from it. 

  • Jefferson • Photographer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I thought I'd wait awhile to review this course so I could let everything sink in and see how the post-school support was and job search. Let's start with the beginning though.

    I did the 200 hour digital marketing career track program. I went into this program without any sort of degree in marketing to start and I realized it would make it harder to get a job and the site also says this.

    Positive things:

    In-Course Mentor

    -You can meet every week via skype and talk about school, your projects or whatever. Its a great asset.

    Career Coach

    -Can be very helpful getting your resume setup, linkedin, and interview prep.

    End Projects

    I had to do several big end projects which were challenging. One was a business marketing proposal as my capstone project and the other was the Google Ad Grants $10k program. Both were good but the Google program was a bit frustrating as it matched me with a very difficult (if not impossible) to market company.  

    Support

    I'm going to put this in both categories and I'll explain why. In the positive section because the support from the school was great when it was great. I would frequently get e-mailed back very quickly from the school after I had questions. I'll explain more in the negative section later.

    Negative Things:

    The Course Itself

    Quite frankly I was hoping for more customized material for the price I was paying every month ($400). Instead it's nearly all (there are a couple of sprinboard made videos you can watch) curated material from across the internet. I could have gone and read all of the same material on my own without paying for it. Would I have? I'm not sure, there is something about paying for material regardless of it being free that made me more invested in reading it. So on that end it worked out for me, but if you are disciplined enough you could find everything on your own.  

    Career Coach

    At one point after I was done with the program (you have 6 months of post-career support which is great) I tried to get in-touch with my coach for about a month with no luck. This didn't help as I had job applications and interviews going on. My support was fine during the program when I used it however. 

    Support

    For the first couple months it was very frustrating. I would have questions, but it would be a minimum of a day or longer before someone got back to me. Questions on a weekend, forget it, they are closed. On a holiday weekend, you are screwed for up to 3 days.  That peeved me greatly as It held me back many, many times in completing things. At the end however, and post-school, they stepped up their game and would respond very quickly to my questions (even way after hours) which I appreciated. I just wish that was there at the beginning. 

    Other Students 

    There were not a lot of fellow students in the marketing program so it was a bit frustrating trying to colloborate or even ask them questions (when I couldn't get a hold of support).  I would try posting in the forums but the forums are pretty silent. 

    Getting a Job

    I knew getting a job without a previous BA or AA would be hard. I'm still trying to get something, but it's a chore. I'm applying for the lowest of low marketing jobs and it's still difficult to even get a call back. I have gotten a few though. If you have a degree and are just taking this course to update your skills then you'll probably have a better chance. 

    Was it worth it? Only time will tell. 

  • UX Career Track
    - 8/18/2019
    Suchi Sundar • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    You can really tell how much work Springboard puts into developing their students- they made sure I was matched with a brilliant mentor, had on-demand mentor calls for extra support with plenty of availability, and they're even starting in-person meetups or recommending events/workshops to go to so it doesn't feel like a disconnected online experience.

     

    It's totally worth the price and will give you the right skills and real insight to fuel your job search after completing the course. The coursework is not unmanageable if you're working full time and if it ever does get difficult, I've personally had a smooth experience reaching out to Springboard and working with them to find a plan and get things done.

  • Ashish Sharma • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The best part of the course is its 1:1 sessions with industry specialist mentors. They are really flexible and make sure to impart best knowledge of subject.

  • Logan Rudd • Machine Learning Engineer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The curriculum is well structured and the mentors are a great deal of support for the price. The only thing that I had trouble with was completing the program in the advertised amount of time. I think in total I averaged about 25-30 hours a week over the course of 7 months, but that could have been due to the complexity of my capstone projects. I definitely learned a ton in that time period though and they were very supportive the whole time!

  • UX Design
    - 8/11/2019
    Jesse Nelson • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Springboard was an excellent choice for a Ux bootcamp. Everything from the faculty, who were always so quick and prompt to answer any questions/ help out to the curriculum. 
    The information was presented in a really clear format and was easy to follow.  The projects for each section were a great  way  for me to apply what I learned.  It was amazing to have a mentor that I spoke with on a weekly basis. This was so valuable, as I was able to get  feedback, insight into UX and help from a professional.  I think Springboard is an excellent choice for a bootcamp and has a lot to offer.

  • Jennifer Fu • UX Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Prior to committing to Springboard's UX Career Track, I spoke to several different representatives and mentors from different programs to help me pick the most suitable one for me. While Springboard doesn't necessarily always have their own content for the curriculum, the articles, videos, and project briefs were very well-curated and the mentors I came into contact with were all very professional and helpful. 

    I am not sure that this program is for everyone but that has nothing to do with Springboard: If you're not a self-driven perfectionist, doing an online course at this intensity could become very overwhelming. However, I do think the mentor program helps give students the extra kick they might need to stay on track. Thanks to my mentor, who later took on the role of a 'colleague' and a 'friend' in addition to a 'mentor', I had a great time discussing and debating my research and design decisions with her. I also loved the professional research presentation and portfolio walkthrough—I was matched with some amazing UX professionals who gave me invaluable feedback and assured me of my talent and abilities. 

    The only con I can really think of is that the course is essentially designed in a linear fashion and students often do not look through future units when they're working on something already. However, with the industry project and several presentations and mock interviews in the latter part of the course, time allocation and planning can become tricky if students want to finish the course in a certain time frame (for me, it was 4 months) and didn't plan ahead enough. It would be wonderful if there was a more user-friendly check list that provided students with more information on what's coming up next (e.g. deliverables and interviews expected in the next two units).

    I really loved this program and am proud of what I learned and compiled for my portfolio! I think three projects is the perfect number!

  • Ferhat K • Looking for Work • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    So overall it was a good experience from Springboard. I think where they excel is pairing you up with a mentor who has real work experience. What they may need to work on is more helpful feedback to students after submitting assignments, projects.

    The course went over the general data science process. Maybe more emphasis on cloud services and big data.

  • UX Designer
    - 8/5/2019
    April Hoang • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall, the Springboard Career Track Program was an awesome learning experience! From the one-on-one mentor calls to the Springboard community I have felt so much support that really motivated me to pursue my career change. This program gives you a solid foundation that will help you prepare for a future role in UX Design. 

  • Springboard Review
    - 7/31/2019
    Nicholas Whisler • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Lovely course with a ton of support from students and faculty. They take a village approach to raising each and every potential AI/ML engineer which is what differentiates them from the pack. I was thrilled with the overall experience, though I do feel some content was a bit overboard in regards to emphasis. All in all I would say I was satisfied with the experience.

Thanks!