shillington-school-logo

Shillington School

Brisbane, London, Manchester, Melbourne, New York City, Sydney

Shillington School

Avg Rating:4.06 ( 16 reviews )

Shillington School is a graphic design school that caters to beginners with campuses in New York, London, Manchester, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. Shillington is focused on the entire design process, and instructors take students through the design process from from beginning to end, integrating idea generation, technical knowledge, design theory and studio skill. Shillington students can study graphic design in 3 months full-time or 9 months part-time at Shillington to kickstart their creative career.

Shillington's approach to design education means that students can graduate with the technical and conceptual skills they need in a short amount of time. Succesful Shillington graduates are prepared for the high expectations of the design industry.

 

 

Recent Shillington School Reviews: Rating 4.06

all (16) reviews for Shillington School →

Recent Shillington School News

Read all (4) articles about Shillington School →
  • (AU) Full-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week13 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationBrisbane, Melbourne, Sydney
    Shillington is a global design school created by today’s professionals to help students upskill and change careers. With campuses in New York, London, Manchester, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane—the fast-paced, intensive course teaches the skills required to succeed as a designer. The innovative curriculum encourages experimentation, creative thinking and problem solving—all linked to real-world design briefs. Shillington treats students as designers from day one, covering design principles, color theory and typography basics. Shillington students graduate with a professional design portfolio and industry-relevant skills, going on to work for top creative studios, big brands or launching their own businesses—all within 3 months full-time or 9 months part-time. For the full list of upcoming course dates, check the Sydney and Melbourne page: https://www.shillingtoneducation.com/au/graphic-design-course/course-dates-and-fees/
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Payment plan or Ratesetter loan
    Tuition PlansSydney & Melbourne tuition is $13,950 (AUD). Brisbane tuition is $10,950 (AUD). Installment plan options also available.
    Refund / GuaranteeIf a student withdraws prior to course commencement, their deposit will be refunded. All requests for withdrawal must be made in writing.
    ScholarshipScholarships are announced annually for the September full-time and part-time courses.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo experience necessary
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • (AU) Part-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week39 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationBrisbane, Melbourne, Sydney
    Shillington is a global design school created by today’s professionals to help students upskill and change careers. With campuses in New York, London, Manchester, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane—the fast-paced, intensive course teaches the skills required to succeed as a designer. The innovative curriculum encourages experimentation, creative thinking and problem solving—all linked to real-world design briefs. Shillington treats students as designers from day one, covering design principles, color theory and typography basics. Shillington students graduate with a professional design portfolio and industry-relevant skills, going on to work for top creative studios, big brands or launching their own businesses—all within 3 months full-time or 9 months part-time. For the full list of upcoming course dates, check the Sydney and Melbourne page: https://www.shillingtoneducation.com/au/graphic-design-course/course-dates-and-fees/
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Payment plan or Ratesetter loan
    Tuition PlansSydney & Melbourne tuition is $13,450 (AUD). Brisbane tuition is $9,450 (AUD). Installment plan options also available.
    Refund / GuaranteeIf a student withdraws prior to course commencement, their deposit will be refunded. All requests for withdrawal must be made in writing.
    ScholarshipScholarships are announced annually for the September full-time and part-time courses.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo experience necessary
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • (NY) Full-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week13 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$13,950
    Class size69
    LocationNew York City
    Shillington is a global design school created by today’s professionals to help students upskill and change careers. With campuses in New York, London, Manchester, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane—the fast-paced, intensive course teaches the skills required to succeed as a designer. The innovative curriculum encourages experimentation, creative thinking and problem solving—all linked to real-world design briefs. Shillington treats students as designers from day one, covering design principles, color theory and typography basics. Shillington students graduate with a professional design portfolio and industry-relevant skills, going on to work for top creative studios, big brands or launching their own businesses—all within 3 months full-time or 9 months part-time. For the full list of upcoming course dates, check the New York page: https://www.shillingtoneducation.com/us/graphic-design-course/course-dates-and-fees/
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Payment plan option available
    Tuition Plans$1,000 deposit to secure position. $12,950 paid before first day of the course.
    Refund / GuaranteeIf a student withdraws prior to course commencement, their deposit will be refunded. All requests for withdrawal must be made in writing.
    ScholarshipScholarships are announced annually for the September full-time and part-time courses.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo experience necessary
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • (NY) Part-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week39 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,950
    Class size46
    LocationNew York City
    Shillington is a global design school created by today’s professionals to help students upskill and change careers. With campuses in New York, London, Manchester, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane—the fast-paced, intensive course teaches the skills required to succeed as a designer. The innovative curriculum encourages experimentation, creative thinking and problem solving—all linked to real-world design briefs. Shillington treats students as designers from day one, covering design principles, color theory and typography basics. Shillington students graduate with a professional design portfolio and industry-relevant skills, going on to work for top creative studios, big brands or launching their own businesses—all within 3 months full-time or 9 months part-time. For the full list of upcoming course dates, check the New York page: https://www.shillingtoneducation.com/us/graphic-design-course/course-dates-and-fees/
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000 deposit
    Financing
    Payment plan option available
    Tuition Plans$1,000 deposit to secure position. $11,950 paid before first day of course.
    Refund / GuaranteeIf a student withdraws prior to course commencement, their deposit will be refunded. All requests for withdrawal must be made in writing.
    ScholarshipScholarships are announced annually for the September full-time and part-time courses.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo experience necessary
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • (UK) Full-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week13 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationManchester, London
    Shillington is a global design school created by today’s professionals to help students upskill and change careers. With campuses in New York, London, Manchester, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane—the fast-paced, intensive course teaches the skills required to succeed as a designer. The innovative curriculum encourages experimentation, creative thinking and problem solving—all linked to real-world design briefs. Shillington treats students as designers from day one, covering design principles, color theory and typography basics. Shillington students graduate with a professional design portfolio and industry-relevant skills, going on to work for top creative studios, big brands or launching their own businesses—all within 3 months full-time or 9 months part-time. For the full list of upcoming course dates, check the London and Manchester page: https://www.shillingtoneducation.com/uk/graphic-design-course/course-dates-and-fees/
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Payment plan option available
    Tuition PlansLondon tuition is £11,400. Manchester tuition is £7,800.
    Refund / GuaranteeIf a student withdraws prior to course commencement, their deposit will be refunded. All requests for withdrawal must be made in writing.
    ScholarshipScholarships are announced annually for the September full-time and part-time courses.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo experience necessary
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • (UK) Part-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design, User Experience Design
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week39 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    CostN/A
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationManchester, London
    Shillington is a global design school created by today’s professionals to help students upskill and change careers. With campuses in New York, London, Manchester, Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane—the fast-paced, intensive course teaches the skills required to succeed as a designer. The innovative curriculum encourages experimentation, creative thinking and problem solving—all linked to real-world design briefs. Shillington treats students as designers from day one, covering design principles, color theory and typography basics. Shillington students graduate with a professional design portfolio and industry-relevant skills, going on to work for top creative studios, big brands or launching their own businesses—all within 3 months full-time or 9 months part-time. For the full list of upcoming course dates, check the London and Manchester page: https://www.shillingtoneducation.com/uk/graphic-design-course/course-dates-and-fees/
    Financing
    Deposit$1,000
    Financing
    Payment plan option available
    Tuition PlansLondon tuition is £9,540. Manchester tuition is £7,140.
    Refund / GuaranteeIf a student withdraws prior to course commencement, their deposit will be refunded. All requests for withdrawal must be made in writing.
    ScholarshipScholarships are announced annually for the September full-time and part-time courses.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelNo experience necessary
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • (UK Time Zone) Online Part-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design
    OnlinePart Time9 Hours/week32 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost£9,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationManchester, London
    The Online Course mimics the On Campus experience as closely as possible—maintaining the Shillington ethos. A majority of lectures, demonstrations and briefs will be delivered live by your teachers during class time, and additional study material will be made available as recordings after the class. The Online Course is designed to keep you engaged and connected with your fellow classmates and teachers over the duration of the course. The teachers will be there to guide and support you in real-time as they would in the classroom. You’ll also be working on real world briefs individually, in pairs or groups with your fellow students to apply what you’ve learnt. The course duration is from 21 September 2020—27 July 2021, Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday nights for 9 months. Classes wil be offered in the UK Time Zone from 6–9pm.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Tuition PlansPay upfront £9,950 or pay via 6 x monthly payments of £1,659
    Refund / GuaranteeRequest to withdraw from the course must be made in writing prior to the start of the course.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • (US East Coast Time Zone) Online Part-Time Graphic Design Course

    Apply
    Design
    OnlinePart Time9 Hours/week32 Weeks
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$12,950
    Class sizeN/A
    LocationNew York City
    The Online Course mimics the On Campus experience as closely as possible—maintaining the Shillington ethos. A majority of lectures, demonstrations and briefs will be delivered live by your teachers during class time, and additional study material will be made available as recordings after the class. The Online Course is designed to keep you engaged and connected with your fellow classmates and teachers over the duration of the course. The teachers will be there to guide and support you in real-time as they would in the classroom. You’ll also be working on real world briefs individually, in pairs or groups with your fellow students to apply what you’ve learnt. The course duration is from 21 September 2020—27 July 2021, Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday nights for 9 months. Classes wil be offered in the US East Coast Time Zone from 6:30–9.30pm.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Tuition PlansPay upfront $12,950 (USD) or pay via 6 x monthly payments of $2,159 (USD)
    Refund / GuaranteeRequest to withdraw from the course must be made in writing prior to the start of the course.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelN/A
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo

Shared Review

  • Worth Every Penny
    - 1/11/2017
    Cori Sussman • Graphic Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Plain and simple, Shillington changed my life in the best way possible.

    I always loved art and creative "stuff", but never thought I could make my passion into a career. After graduating college with a BS in Advertising from Syracuse University, I got a job in NYC at an ad agency as an account exec. While it was an incredible place to work, I felt that something was missing. I realized that the best part of my days were when I got to sit with my creative team or go to brainstorms. It became clear that I needed to go with my gut and try something new.

    I looked into every single program in New York (and some outside of the city) and found generally only two options, neither of which would work for me. The first was a 2-3 year graduate program at a university like NYU, Parsons, FIT, etc which were way too costly and too big of a time commitment. The second option was one-off classes for continuing education, which seemed more for people who felt like dabbling in an interest of theirs on the side. Not intense enough for me.

    Then, I found Shillington and I thought...this honestly must not be real. I hadn't seen anything like it. It was literally everything I wanted to learn... in only three months. 

    Turns out it is very real and was hands down the best decision I have ever made in my life. I will not sit here and say it was a walk in the park. It was definitely hard work, but the more you push yourself, the more likely you are to graduate with a portfolio that looks like you went to school for four years. The teachers, all practicing graphic designers, are some of the most incredible people I have ever met. They are talented designers and more importantly, they are passionate about teaching in a way that will help you develop your own style. I can easily say I learned more from my Shillington teachers in 3 months than I ever did from any of my professors in college. 

    The course is set up perfectly so that even if you have never touched a Mac in your life, you can succeed. After having no experience with Photoshop, InDesign, or Illustrator, I am now sitting in front of a massive Mac desktop as a Graphic Designer for an awesome ad agency in NYC working on cool brands like Nike, BMW, LG, Hennessy, and more. Somebody smack me!!!!

    If it isn't clear already, Shillington is unbelievable and I do not think there is anything out there like it. DO IT!

  • Amazing!
    - 1/13/2020
    Renee Taillon  User Photo
    Renee Taillon • Graphic Designer • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Moving to New York and going to Shillington was one of the coolest / best decisions I have made. The course as well as the connections you make will last a lifetime. 

    Before going to Shillington I had minimal experience working as a designer, and had a dream to become one. In less than a yer from graduating I now work as a design studio I only ever admired.

    The curriculum is so hands on, the teachers are exceptional and every member of the staff cares for you, and connects with you, every step of the way. 

  • Kelly O  User Photo
    Kelly O • Student • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    attended the full-time Shillington course in NYC and it honestly changed my life. I went in with a curiosity for design and the hope that I could find a way to make a career out of it and came out with the exact knowledge and tools I needed to make the change. The teachers are absolutely amazing, honestly, just the entire experience was incredible. I got a design job in under a month from graduating and projects I've made at Shillington have won/been nominated for a few awards. If you're thinking of doing it, just make the jump. You absolutely will not regret it! 

  • Worth it!
    - 1/6/2020
    Oyinkan K. • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I left Shillington with a broad knowledge of design fundamentals, history, principles and technical skills. The truth is, you can’t learn everything about design in 3 months, but after Shillington, I feel confident in my design skills, my ability to generate creative ideas and most importantly, I know how to ask the right questions and learn what I don’t know yet.

  • Nikhil • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    What led me to Shillington was its focus on portfolio development, and formal training with design software (Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator, and Sketch). Prior to the program I had little to no experience with each, and was hoping to transition to the field of graphic design.

    Coming out of the program I'm fluent in each software, armed with an understanding of design principles and the portfolio I needed. The projects were very similar to the work I wished I could be doing while working at an agency beforehand, and now I'm confident in my abilities to complete those design projects and more. You gain significant practice reps - completing 30+ projects in a 3 month window. If it were easy, it wouldn't be worth it! 

    Shillington provides all the resources to make it possible, with hands-on learning, one-on-one teaching, and tons of positive energy throughout. NYC also immerses you in a world of design to learn from.

  • Design your Career
    - 10/15/2018
    Edgar • n/a • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    My overall experience was great. I was able to submerge myself in an environment I sought for so long. I met very engaged, supportive, and passionate people from all over the world. I'm very glad I did it. 

    However, DO NOT expect this program to change your life immediately or make you an expert. For beginners, it'll be a crash course in Design where you will be introduced to a bit of everything. The on going flow of work will make it very challenging to find time to practice and let concepts and techniques to really set in. It might feel like a sink or swim situation at times.This program is BEST for people with previous knowledge.

    I highly recommend to maintain ties with your current employer and take this course as a short leave of absence for personal or proffesional development. Alllow yourself some sort of security. Since there isn't real job assistance, besides a recruiting program and an email telling you to keep your chin up, you willl need to work harder to find your place in design and a job. 

    It's essentially a Portofolio program. I appreciate the push to meet deadlines as in the "real world", but considering time management can be learned, Portfolio week should be giving more care and time. Promoting NO SLEEP in order to finish certain projects for "sign off" is a bad move. 

  • Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Please only consider this course if you have money to burn. You will spend in excess of £10,000 (not just fees, extra they get you to buy that you don’t actually need, materials, software - the price also goes up every year) for an overly hyped course, that is only slightly useful if you have previous experience and are naturally very talented in that area - despite the fact they market it for beginners. My two male teachers were incredibly dismissive of people in the group they felt to be not very good, looked exasperated when people asked for help or they were clearly tired or had a bad day, made snide comments about previous students. It’s a very pretentious bubble that Shillington live in. You will be better off learning the tricks of the trade online, saving that money, and investing in your own professionally printed portfolio  for about £30 to £40 as you can learn everything they teach you online. I ended up having to pick up most of it on YouTube due to rushed/poorly planned evening classes. 

    You are ultimately paying for the name with Shillington, and no connections are offered and it quickly became apparent the course is designed to pick out new talent, rather than the desire to teach graphic design.

     

  • Jocelyn • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I can say that I was a little bit scared about the program because I didn’t feel confident about the language (Spanish is my first language) and also I thought that three months are not enough to learn and change my career but, it wasn’t true!! I did it!

    The teachers are so professional, patient, helpful and dedicated. They helped us a lot to learn the programs and also gave us advises all the time to improve our work.

    Sincerely, this was the best decision ever!! I met wonderful persons and now I can call myself a Graphic Designer!

     

     

  • Anonymous • Student
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    I feel badly putting this out there for everyone to see, but it's important to make sure that future students have all of the information they need to make the right decision about their education so though conflicted I realize it's important. I have had good instructors and have definitely learned a lot. The small environment is really cool and in most situations I think that could really foster learning. Some instructors are incredibly talented and really do a great job sharing that and guiding those who want to learn. However, I find the overall mood or rather feel of Shillington to be negative and I think that is due to the director currently in place. I'm not sure if she is family to the owners, but I think she lacks experience not only in the field, but also in her type of position. If you go to her with a concern she is defensive and combative as opposed to understanding and helpful. She is gossipy and rather unprofessional. She will ice you out if she doesn't like you and that can be incredibly uncomfortable and overall unacceptable when paying so much money. Most recently I overheard her speaking about another student in a negative way where other people could hear. This was uncredibly disheartening because when I walked away I realized it could be me she was talking about next. I think so much of a positive learning experience is the atmopshere and the relationships you build, so having one kink in an overall great place, especially someone in charge can really bring down the enire operation. I do want to say that Rebecca Montanaro and Adam Dudd are great. Hopefully the director's bosses see this and really re-think the representation of their business. The model is great. It just needs better management.

     

  • Marissa Felitto • Graphic Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I can confidently say that going to The Shillington School of Graphic Design was the best decision that I have ever made.  I absolutely LOVED it.

    I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Communications not sure of what I really wanted to do and then came across Shillington.  I was a little bit hesitant at first with the price for such a short amount of time but it was WELL WORTH IT.  

    After being in traditional college and transitioning to a bootcamp atmosphere I believe that the you definitely do get your money's worth.  Everyday from 8:00 - 5:00pm you are learning and designing and it was SO MUCH FUN.  You have very little lecture time and more of the time is spent designing which I thought was fantastic.  You are given a real world brief and real world deadlines. The teachers are great and the class size is perfect.  I could not believe how much I learned and how much skill I had obtained at the end of each week.  If you have any doubts, 3 months is ABSOLUTELY enough time to learn graphic design.

    At the end of the course you leave with a beautiful portfolio that your teachers make sure is perfect before putting you out in the "real world".  Each interview I went on, I could tell that people were impressed that I was a new graduate out of a three month program.  The quality of the work you will be able to create is aligned with top trends, top software and best practices.  If you have an eye for design, Shillington will take care of the rest. (But you do have to put in the work and have the drive for it).

    When speaking about the Job assistance, there wasn't much.  They had some designers come in and speak about their positions and what options you have entering the field and what to expect.  They also had Creative Circle, a creative agency, come in and speak about how to get a job and how to go through recruiters. After graduation you can feel free to e-mail for assistance, but you are pretty much on your own.  To be honest, with the skills you acquire, along with the portfolio you create you really won't need much else.

  • Marissa Felitto • Graphic Designer • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I can confidently say that going to The Shillington School of Graphic Design was the best decision that I have ever made.  I absolutely LOVED it.

    I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Communications not sure of what I really wanted to do and then came across Shillington.  I was a little bit hesitant at first with the price for such a short amount of time but it was WELL WORTH IT.  

    After being in traditional college and transitioning to a bootcamp atmosphere I believe that the you definitely do get your money's worth.  Everyday from 8:00 - 5:00pm you are learning and designing and it was SO MUCH FUN.  You have very little lecture time and more of the time is spent designing which I thought was fantastic.  You are given a real world brief and real world deadlines. The teachers are great and the class size is perfect.  I could not believe how much I learned and how much skill I had obtained at the end of each week.  If you have any doubts, 3 months is ABSOLUTELY enough time to learn graphic design.

    At the end of the course you leave with a beautiful portfolio that your teachers make sure is perfect before putting you out in the "real world".  Each interview I went on, I could tell that people were impressed that I was a new graduate out of a three month program.  The quality of the work you will be able to create is aligned with top trends, top software and best practices.  If you have an eye for design, Shillington will take care of the rest. (But you do have to put in the work and have the drive for it).

    When speaking about the Job assistance, there wasn't much.  They had some designers come in and speak about their positions and what options you have entering the field and what to expect.  They also had Creative Circle, a creative agency, come in and speak about how to get a job and how to go through recruiters. After graduation you can feel free to e-mail for assistance, but you are pretty much on your own.  To be honest, with the skills you acquire, along with the portfolio you create you really won't need much else.

  • Dina Shirin • Graphic Designer/Digital Marketing • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Shillington is a great school for a student who wants to develop a portfolio with a nice range of projects - ranging from web to print.

    Going into the school, I think it would  beneficial to have a basic understandning of design concepts and the Adobe programs, but if not, then there's time for the student to catch up. From my experience, the majority of the students in my part-time course already had some design experience or were working artists. The other challenge is that the class size is very large and it was difficult to get the attention of the instructors sometimes due to the class size. 

    The teachers are very knowledgeable and approacheable. I like the school environment. 

    I learned a great deal in the program and apply the skills I learned at my current job. The school doesn't offer career assistance, but they do help you with developing the online portfolio and selecting your strong pieces. Also, the blog on the site has regular postings.  

    I do not regret taking this course. I think it was very useful. I personally prefer the part-time course since it's still quite intense. I feel like that full-time is too rushed, unless of course you are at the junior designer level and are just looking to get a portfolio oafter graduating. I really liked the briefs and gaining the experience as though we were working in an actual design studio. The wide range of projects were challenging in a good way.

     

Thanks!