refactoru-logo

RefactorU

Boulder, Online

RefactorU

Avg Rating:4.1 ( 30 reviews )

Recent RefactorU Reviews: Rating 4.1

all (30) reviews for RefactorU →

Recent RefactorU News

Read all (11) articles about RefactorU →
  • Advanced Backend Web Development

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $39
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Advanced CSS Development

    Apply
    CSS
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $49
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Advanced JavaScript Development

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $39
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Advanced Node.js Development

    Apply
    Node.js
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $99
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Full-Stack Web Development

    Apply
    MongoDB, HTML, Git, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, Node.js
    In PersonFull Time40 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $13,500
    Class size
    25
    Location
    Boulder
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Scholarship
    20% for retired or active service US military personnel or spouse
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    Little to no formal programming experience is fine, but pre-work must be completed prior to the start of the program.
    Prep Work
    Approximately 40 - 50 hours
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    Yes
  • Getting Started as a Web Developer

    Apply
    Git
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $9
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Intermediate JavaScript Development

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $69
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to CSS Development

    Apply
    CSS
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $89
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to HTML

    Apply
    HTML
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $19
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to HTML & CSS

    Apply
    HTML, CSS
    In PersonPart Time1 Week
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $999
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Boulder
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to JavaScript

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time4 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $999
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Boulder
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to JavaScript Development

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $29
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to jQuery

    Apply
    jQuery
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $59
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Boulder, Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to Node.js Development

    Apply
    Node.js
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $59
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to Node.js & MongoDB

    Apply
    Node.js
    In PersonPart Time6 Hours/week3 Weeks
    Start Date
    None scheduled
    Cost
    $999
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Boulder
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Introduction to Unit Testing

    Apply
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $19
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No
  • Working with MongoDB

    Apply
    JavaScript
    In PersonPart Time
    Start Date
    Rolling Start Date
    Cost
    $29
    Class size
    N/A
    Location
    Online
    Financing
    Deposit
    N/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill Level
    N/A
    Placement Test
    No
    Interview
    No

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.


Shared Review

Jonathan S • Full-Stack Developer • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Drew Conly • Junior Web Developer • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Grace Gamble • Junior Front End Web Developer • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Caitlin • Web Design & Development • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
N/A
Allison • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Thomas Callahan • Software Engineer • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Ed Powers of RefactorU
Title: Chief Operating Officer
Thursday, Sep 22 2016

We’re sorry we didn’t meet your expectations, Tom. You point out several items that have concerned us as well and I’d like to comment on changes we’ve been making. 


  1. Job Placement. As you state, we’ve recently overhauled our Career Services. The job market is getting tougher, which is why we brought on two superb resources, Gary Boley and Scott Bowman, who have a combined 17 years of experience in this field working with many higher education institutions. Through new workshops, greater employer outreach, and increased 1:1 attention, students and graduates now have far better support than they’ve ever had before. Although you have a terrific new web development job, Gary and Scott will be available to you and all RefactorU alumni, free of charge, any time you make a career change in the future.  
  2. Outcome Statistics. We calculated our results in 2015 based on surveys to our 200+ alumni. As you point out, when compared with a census approach, random sampling can produce errors. Until recently, however, sampling was the only practical way for us to collect outcome statistics, and we computed our statistics correctly based on the observations we received. It’s important to note, however, that all coding bootcamps calculate their outcomes differently. For example, some disregard withdrawals in their numbers while others do not, and counting one student differently in a cohort of 25 can change the result by 4%. That’s why we joined forces in an outcome measurement standardization initiative to ensure prospective students can make more accurate, informed choices. You can read more about our participation at: http://blog.refactoru.com/apples-to-apples-refactoru-helps-define-industry-standards/ Along with our competitors, we are scheduled to begin reporting standarized metrics in October.  
  3. GI Bill. We are pleased veterans can use their GI Bill benefits at RefactorU should they choose (and some don’t). While we are not required to do so, we offer all veterans a 20% discount, regardless of how they pay. We are registered as a certificate program under Chapter 33 and make no representations otherwise. We share many of the same frustrations veterans have working with the VA, however, the VA is VERY SPECIFIC that all questions about individual benefits go to them directly--we are not to be involved. What you consider “effective” cost in light of your benefits candidly doesn’t pertain to us since we’re only paid the amount we’re approved to collect ($10,800). Note that whenever we are informed of benefits funding shortfalls, we work with individual veterans to loan or finance the difference. That’s true even when veterans need help with living expenses if the VA pays at a later time or only a portion of the full amount.
  4. Experienced Instructors. A chronic problem facing all coding bootcamps is finding instructors with adequate work experience, know the particular stack, want to teach and are good at it. We are regulated by the Colorado Division of Private Occupational Schools and we meet state requirements for industry experience with all of our instructors. Many of our TAs, as you point out, also have extensive software development backgrounds. Of course, experience does not always make for a good instructor, which is why the task of finding the right people is so difficult. We’re happy to report that we’ve recently added four new instructors who have over 70 years of software development experience between them: Brandon Jimenez, Robert Edmonson, Charles Martin and Steve Lanaghen. All have exceptional talent and we’re excited at what the future holds. 


The vast majority of our alumni are satisfied with their experience and the career opportunities they enjoy as a result. That said, we aren’t perfect--no organization is--but we continually learn and improve. As you state so well, “... I will say RefactorU is constantly changing and working to address its shortcomings even as they were pointed out to them on-site... More than likely you will not have this type of experience in the future with RefactorU because they are ever changing.”  

Let us know if there’s anything else we can do for you. 

My 2cents
8/7/2016
Jeff DiPallo • Dude • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Lance Brown • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Steven Halase • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Last day!
7/21/2016
Michael McBride • Michael McBride Development • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Sean Daken of RefactorU
Title: Founder & CEO
Friday, Jul 22 2016

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your candor regarding the challenges you experienced. 

Your feedback is not typical of our graduates and we would like to better understand what happened and how we can remedy the situation. 

I've emailed you directly and I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Sean Daken
Founder & CEO

Anonymous • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Ed Powers of RefactorU
Title: COO
Thursday, Apr 28 2016

We are sorry that the reviewer was dissatisfied with their bootcamp experience. We value and act on feedback, good or bad. However, a number of points below are factually in error. We’d like to set the record straight.  


1. RefactorU is a ten-week course by design. We understand the financial hardships placed on students by attending a full-time, fully immersive bootcamp. We also believe that bootcamps are simply a starting point; today’s software developers must continually learn new technologies and frameworks. That’s why we stripped away the “nice-to-have” content and replaced it with the “must-have.” Instead of focusing on computer science theory, we emphasize software engineering skills. Instead of teaching specific software development processes and testing methods (which vary by employer) we teach the fundamentals of architectural design and troubleshooting. Employers don’t expect applicants to know each and every language, framework, tool and methodology--only that they know how to code, and more importantly, how to learn and work well on teams.


Our business strategy is to be the practical alternative by offering the shortest, most cost-effective path to becoming a new developer. We don’t skimp on the quality or thoroughness of the experience we deliver, and our hiring outcomes bear this out: 96% of graduates are employed within 12 weeks of graduation with a median starting salary of $65K. It’s true that some students wish they had more time, but many more prefer to finish quickly, minimize costs and begin their job search. 


2. We’re serious about continuous improvement. No organization is perfect. RefactorU performs at high levels and continually strives to improve. In addition to our open door policy that encourages students to share concerns and grievances at any time, we formally and anonymously survey students four times, three during the cohort and once five to six months after graduation. The entire staff meets and reviews both quantitative and qualitative input, discusses root causes, plans and implements improvements. 


The comments below are not correct. In the January cohort we reviewed results from the first survey during the third week. We presented results from the second survey in the sixth week. Unfortunately we shared results from the third survey about a week later than we had hoped because of internal scheduling issues and a desire to finalize our solutions before discussing them. The trouble week was #7, not #9, when we were unexpectedly short-staffed with TA’s, a situation we resolved during the remainder of the course. And since we discovered so many students in this cohort had not started working on their job searches, we modified our arrangement with Fluid Consulting to provide even more post-graduation support at our expense. We announced this change prior to graduation, and the voice mail referenced in the comment was simply a reminder.        


3. Students must show up and do the work. Our program is a fast-paced, self-directed, facilitated, adult learning experience. Personal responsibility and attendance matters--when students miss lectures, they imperil their outcomes. For example, when students are absent for important topics such as authentication, they must indeed learn them on their own. Missing lectures also places their final projects in jeopardy. For that reason, more than five unexcused absences may result in students failing the program, subject to the discretion of the lead instructors.
  
Once alumni engage with prospective employers and land a job, they realize the full value of the educational experience they’ve received. Once again, the numbers bear this out. In our most recent post-graduation outcomes survey, 86% of RefactorU grads reported high confidence in their coding skills and 95% said they were leading, above average, or keeping up with their web development peers at work. 


Anonymous • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Anonymous • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
It's ok
2/6/2016
Cody • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Response From: Sean Daken of RefactorU
Title: Founder & CEO
Sunday, Mar 27 2016

Just to be clear, we do not pay for reviews. RefactorU does offer a random drawing to encourage graduates to provide feedback, good or bad. We have no control over what alumni post and we ask them to be completely candid in their evaluations.

From a career services perspective, we do not “place” graduates, nor do we guarantee jobs. In the same way we expect our students to exercise self-direction in their learning, we expect them to do the same when looking for employment. 

We have recently partnered with Fluid Consulting Services, a Colorado-based technical recruiting, executive search, and candidate / career services firm. Our Career Services track offers a full suite of resources to help write resumes, update LinkedIn and GitHub profiles, prepare for technical and behavioral interviews, and shine during RefactorU-sponsored web development career fairs. These services are open to students and graduates alike. Further, we regularly and personally recommend the most promising students to our senior level contacts at Colorado tech companies. 

Regarding the temperature of our classroom - yes, at the time of this writing RefactorU is located in an industrial location in Boulder, CO, and during the summer months we did experience some challenges with the A/C unit. We are actively addressing those issues. In general, our philosophy is that we'd prefer to focus on providing a great learning environment and hiring outstanding instructors rather than having the fanciest offices.  

Erich • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Worth It
11/19/2015
Eliora Horst • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Ria S • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Tucker Kline • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Sherman Drake • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Anonymous • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Anonymous • Software Engineer • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Justin • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Jessey Eagan • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Edward K. • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Paula • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
Alex • Graduate
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:

Student Outcomes

* These outcomes are not audited by Course Report. In some cases, data is audited by a third party.


96%
Graduation Rate
96%
Employed
$64,140
Median Salary

RefactorU has an acceptance rate of 31%, of which 82% of accepted students enroll in a course. Of the students who enroll at RefactorU, 96% graduate. 96% are hired in technical roles within 120 days and report an average income of $64,140.

Matriculation Information

Accepted

109

Enrolled

89

Graduated

85

Job Seeking

75


Job Seeking Graduates Placed:

45%

30 days

73%

60 days

92%

90 days

96%

120 days

100%

After 120 days


Employment Breakdown:

This chart shows the breakdown of roles for job-seeking graduates.

Notes & Caveats:

This reflects data collected through the Summer of 2015. We will revise and update with 2016 statistics as data becomes available.