nyc-data-science-academy-logo

NYC Data Science Academy

New York City, Online

NYC Data Science Academy

Avg Rating:4.83 ( 274 reviews )

NYC Data Science Academy offers 12-week data science bootcamps in New York City. In these programs, students learn beginner and intermediate levels of Data Science with R, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Github, and SQL as well as popular and useful R and Python packages like XgBoost, Caret, dplyr, ggplot2, Pandas, scikit-learn, and more. Once the learning foundation has been set, students work on multiple projects through the bootcamp. The program distinguishes itself by balancing intensive lectures with real world project work, and by the breadth of its curriculum. Throughout the program students work alone and in teams to create at least four projects that are showcased to employers through multiple channels; private on-campus hiring partner events, student blogs, meetups, and filmed presentations. 

Ideal applicants should have a Masters or PhD degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience in quantitative science or programming. Candidates with BA’s who have appropriate experience are also considered.

Throughout the data bootcamp, students are assisted in preparing for the employment process through resume review and interview preparation. NYC Data Science Academy works closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interest for its students.

Recent NYC Data Science Academy Reviews: Rating 4.83

all (274) reviews for NYC Data Science Academy →

Recent NYC Data Science Academy News

Read all (20) articles about NYC Data Science Academy →
  • 12-Week Immersive Data Science Bootcamp (In-person)

    Apply
    Start Date January 6, 2020
    Cost$17,600
    Class size50
    LocationNew York City
    In this program students will learn the modern data analytic techniques and master the requisite skills, such as Python and R programming languages as well as Hadoop, to address real-world data science problems. Throughout the program, students work alone and in teams to create at least five projects that are showcased to employers. Along the way, students will have assistance in preparing for the job search through resume review, interview preparation, and opportunities to interview with our hiring partners. Successful completion of the curriculum will present a certification of graduation certified by the New York State Board of Education.
    Financing
    Deposit$5,000
    Financing
    $397.88 pm for 60 months
    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    January 6, 2020 - New York City Apply by December 17, 2019
    March 30, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 18, 2020
  • Big Data with Amazon Cloud, Hadoop/Spark and Docker

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Hadoop, Spark, Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time5 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date January 14, 2020
    Cost$2,990
    Class size10
    LocationNew York City
    This is a 6-week evening program providing a hands-on introduction to the Hadoop and Spark ecosystem of Big Data technologies. The course will cover these key components of Apache Hadoop: HDFS, MapReduce with streaming, Hive, and Spark. Programming will be done in Python. The course will begin with a review of Python concepts needed for our examples. The course format is interactive. Students will need to bring laptops to class. We will do our work on AWS (Amazon Web Services); instructions will be provided ahead of time on how to connect to AWS and obtain an account.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelStudents are expected to be familiar with using an operating system from the command line; knowledge of Python is helpful.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    January 14, 2020 - New York City Apply by January 13, 2020
    April 21, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 20, 2020
  • Data Science with Python: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Start Date January 19, 2020
    Cost$1,590
    Class size20
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This five week course is an introduction to data analysis with the Python programming language, and is aimed at beginners. We introduce how to work with different data structure in Python. We covered the most popular modules, including Numpy, Scipy, Pandas, matplotlib, and Seaborn, to do data analytics and visualization. We use ipython notebook to demonstrate the results of codes and change codes interactively during the class. Our past students include people with no programming experience or those who have minimal exposure to Python. Students told us our classes are very informative, engaging, and hands-on.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelKnowledge of basic data types (e.g. string, numeric), data structures (e.g. list, tuple, dictionary) Familiarity with concepts of list comprehension and for/while loop
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    January 19, 2020 - New York City Apply by January 18, 2020
    March 7, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 6, 2020
    April 19, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 18, 2020
    June 13, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 12, 2020
  • Data Science with Python: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week5 Weeks
    Start Date January 19, 2020
    Cost$1,990
    Class size10
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This 20-hour Machine Learning with Python course covers all the basic machine learning methods and Python modules (especially Scikit-Learn) for implementing them. This includes linear regression, Naïve Bayes classifiers, logistic regression, linear discriminant analysis, cross-validation, bootstrapping, feature selection, regularization, model selection, SVM, decision trees, random forest, PCA, K-Means, and Hierarchical clustering. In addition, this course teaches the basics of natural language processing. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to explain the principles of machine learning algorithms and implement these methods to analyze complex datasets and make predictions in Python.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelCompletion of Data Science with Python: Data Analysis; Data Science with R: Machine Learning
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    January 19, 2020 - New York City Apply by January 18, 2020
    March 7, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 6, 2020
    June 13, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 12, 2020
    April 19, 2020 - Online Apply by April 18, 2020
  • Data Science with R: Data Analysis and Visualization (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Data Visualization, Data Analytics , Data Structures
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date January 18, 2020
    Cost$2,190
    Class size15
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This course is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to R. Students will practice programming and analyzing data with R. Students will learn how to load, save, and transform data as well as how to write functions, generate graphs, and fit basic statistical models to data. In addition to a theoretical framework in which to understand the process of data analysis, this course focuses on the practical tools needed in data analysis. This course also covers the creation of dynamic reports with the knitr package in R as well as the creation of dynamic dashboards with R Shiny. By the end of the course, students will have mastered the essential skills of processing, manipulating and analyzing data of various types, creating advanced visualizations, generating reports, and documenting the code.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelBasic knowledge about computer components Basic knowledge about programming
    Prep WorkNone
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    January 18, 2020 - New York City Apply by January 17, 2020
    April 18, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 17, 2020
  • Data Science with R: Machine Learning (Weekend Course)

    Apply
    Data Science, R, Machine Learning
    In PersonPart Time7 Hours/week6 Weeks
    Start Date January 18, 2020
    Cost$2,990
    Class size40
    LocationNew York City, Online
    This 35-hour Machine Learning with R course introduces both the theoretical foundation of machine learning algorithms as well as their practical applications in R. It will introduce you to data mining, performance measures and dimension reduction, regression models, both linear and generalized, KNN and Naïve Bayes models, tree models, and SVMs as well as the Association Rule for analysis. After successfully completing this course, you will be able to break down the mathematics behind major machine learning algorithms, explain the principles of machine learning algorithms, and implement these methods to solve real-world problems. Unit 1: Foundations of Statistics and Simple Linear Regression Unit 2: Multiple Linear Regression and Generalized Linear Model Unit 3: kNN and Naive Bayes, the Curse of Dimensionality Unit 4: Tree Models and SVMs Unit 5: Cluster Analysis and Neural Networks Final Project After 35 hours of structured lectures, students are encouraged to work on an exploratory data analysis project based on their own interests. A project presentation demo will be arranged.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelKnowledge of Python programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in Python
    Prep WorkKnowledge of R programming Able to munge, analyze, and visualize data in R
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    January 18, 2020 - New York City Apply by January 17, 2020
    April 18, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 17, 2020
  • Data Science with Tableau (Online)

    Apply
    Data Science, Data Visualization, Business Intelligence
    In PersonPart Time5 Hours/week3 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$1,590
    Class size20
    LocationOnline
    This course offers an accelerated intensive learning experience with Tableau – the growing standard in business intelligence for data visualization and dashboard creation. Without prior experience, students will learn to work with multiple data sources, create compelling visualizations, and roll out their data science products for continuous, scalable outputs to key stakeholders. By building insight and weaving narrative, students will be empowered to harness data in a striking way that provides value to organizations large and small. This course offers an accelerated intensive learning experience with Tableau – the growing standard in business intelligence for data visualization and dashboard creation. Without prior experience, students will learn to work with multiple data sources, create compelling visualizations, and roll out their data science products for continuous, scalable outputs to key stakeholders. By building insight and weaving narrative, students will be empowered to harness data in a striking way that provides value to organizations large and small. We utilized 4 user cases drawn from finance (public data from major stock exchanges) and sitcom data (Game of Thrones 1 ).
    Financing
    Deposit1590
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelKnow how to use Mac, Windows. Familiarity with relational databases is preferred but not required. gain a greater appreciation for the logic underlying Tableau’s features utilize their capstone project to visualize ‘big data’
    Prep WorkBefore the course begins, pre-work will be available for students interested in strengthening their ability to access and extract data from relational databases (e.g. SQL-based servers).
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Deep Learning with Tensorflow (Weekends and In-Person Only)

    Apply
    Start Date None scheduled
    Cost$2,990
    Class size15
    LocationNew York City
    Via analogy to biological neurons and human perception, this course is an introduction to artificial neural networks that brings high-level theory to life with interactive labs featuring TensorFlow, the most popular open-source Deep Learning library. Essential theory will be covered in a manner that provides students with an intuitive understanding of Deep Learning’s underlying foundations. Paired with hands-on code run-throughs in Jupyter notebooks as well as strategies for overcoming common pitfalls, this foundational knowledge will empower individuals with no previous understanding of neural networks to build production-ready Deep Learning applications across the major contemporary families: Convolutional Nets for machine vision; Long Short-Term Memory Recurrent Nets for natural language processing and time series analysis; Generative Adversarial Networks for producing realistic images; and Reinforcement Learning for playing video games.
    Financing
    DepositN/A
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelObject-oriented programming, ideally Python (introductory course: https://nycdatascience.com/courses/introductory-python/) Simple shell commands, e.g., in Bash (tutorial of the fundamentals: https://learnpythonthehardway.org/book/appendixa.html)
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Introduction to Python (Online)

    Apply
    Data Science, Python, Data Visualization, SQL, Data Structures
    OnlinePart Time5 Hours/week2 Weeks
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$795
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    The Introduction to Python covers the basic Python programming. Graduates will be able to write Python programs that read files, manipulate strings, and perform mathematical computations. The class is hands-on; participants will learn to write Python program by practicing coding along the way. The course covers most of the basic features of the Python language, including built-in data types and control structures, Python’s featured supporting object-oriented and functional programming, intro to Pandas, and regular expression.
    Financing
    Deposit795
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelComfort with Windows, Mac or Linux environment and ability to install third-party software.
    Prep WorkThis is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis.
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
  • Introductory Python (Evenings)

    Apply
    Start Date January 14, 2020
    Cost$1,590
    Class size40
    LocationNew York City
    This is a class for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming. The course is aimed at those who want to learn “data wrangling” – manipulating downloaded files to make them amenable to analysis. We concentrate on language basics such as list and string manipulation, control structures, simple data analysis packages, and introduce modules for downloading data from the web. This Introductory Python class runs over four weeks, with five hours of class per week (split into 2 ½ hour evening classes). Classes will be given in a lab setting, with student exercises mixed with lectures. Students should bring a laptop to class. There will be a modest amount of homework after each class.
    Financing
    Deposit$1590
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelThis Introductory Python class is designed for computer-literate people with no programming background who wish to learn basic Python programming.
    Prep WorkIn the class, we will use Python 3. If you are following this video to set up Python environment, please make sure you download the Python 3.X version starting from 1 min 23 s in the video. Link: https://vimeo.com/160172414
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewNo
    More Start Dates
    January 14, 2020 - New York City Apply by January 13, 2020
    March 9, 2020 - New York City Apply by March 8, 2020
    April 20, 2020 - New York City Apply by April 19, 2020
    June 2, 2020 - New York City Apply by June 1, 2020
  • Live Online Data Science Bootcamp (Online)

    Apply
    Start Date January 6, 2020
    Cost$14,960
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    Our Live Online Bootcamp is an online full-time program. We live-stream our on-campus classes to the remote intensive bootcamp students. This program was designed for students that have the time to be a full-time student, but can't commute to our school. Students will be placed on a rigorous curriculum that spans from 9:30 AM to 6:00 PM EST as well as have access to prerecorded modules with over 1000 coding challenge questions on online learning platform for additional practice. In addition, they have access to dedicated TA’s as well as the larger network of a shared slack channel between both in person and remote bootcamp students. Live Classes: You will learn real-time streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Live Communication: They will learn real-time streamed lectures as well as have access to prerecorded modules and coding questions for additional practice. Personalized Job Support: Students also have access to the full resources of NYC Data Science Academy to help them find their dream job upon graduation. Our curriculum covers the expanse of all the skills required in the data science industry. We cover both R and Python as well as Machine Learning Theory, Big Data, and Deep Learning.
    Financing
    Deposit5000
    Financing
    • Full Tuition Total $17,600
    • Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 months
    • SkillsFund Student Loan $397.88 pm for 60 months

    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes
    More Start Dates
    January 6, 2020 - Online Apply by December 17, 2019
    March 30, 2020 - Online Apply by February 15, 2020
    March 30, 2020 - Online Apply by March 18, 2020
  • Part-time Online Data Science Bootcamp (Online)

    Apply
    Start Date Rolling Start Date
    Cost$17,600
    Class size25
    LocationOnline
    This is an online part-time self-paced program. Students have 4 - 10 months to complete this program. The curriculum is the same as our on-campus program, with full-financing options, career support and with a one on one support from our mentors. This program is designed for students that work full-time and are not able to quit their jobs. Our curriculum is drawn from data science engagement with corporate consulting and training, hiring partners and active industry participation. Our remote bootcamp ensures that students achieve a very high level of proficiency. Students are expected to dedicate themselves fully to this program and fulfill all the requirements, which include completing lecture videos, daily homework, and four projects. The Remote Bootcamp is built as a collaborative environment utilizing online chat and meeting systems. Students also have the opportunity to collaborate on homework, projects, job applications, interview preparation, paired programming, and even further through our extended alumni community. We work closely with hiring partners and recruiting firms to create a pipeline of interests for students. Each student receives one-on-one support with job searching and access to all kinds of job assistance resources, including coding reviews, interview prep, resume workshop, and access to our exclusive hiring partner network.
    Financing
    Deposit17600
    Financing
    • Full Tuition Total $17,600
    • Climb Credit Loan $400* pm for 60 months
    • SkillsFund Student Loan $397.88 pm for 60 months

    Tuition PlansWe have full-financing available through SkillsFund and ClimbCredit financial loan. It is approximately 400/per month for 60 months.
    Refund / GuaranteeNYC Data Science Academy’s refund policy adheres to both ACCET and NYS Education Department guidelines. Visit https://nycdatascience.com/refund-and-regulations/ for more details.
    ScholarshipLimited number of scholarships available to qualified candidates.
    Getting in
    Minimum Skill LevelIdeal applicants should have a Masters or Ph.D. degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Math or equivalent experience of quantitative science or programming.
    Prep Workhttp://blog.nycdatascience.com/faculty/data-science-bootcamp-pre-work/
    Placement TestNo
    InterviewYes

Review Guidelines

  • Only Applicants, Students, and Graduates are permitted to leave reviews on Course Report.
  • Post clear, valuable, and honest information that will be useful and informative to future coding bootcampers. Think about what your bootcamp excelled at and what might have been better.
  • Be nice to others; don't attack others.
  • Use good grammar and check your spelling.
  • Don't post reviews on behalf of other students or impersonate any person, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity.
  • Don't spam or post fake reviews intended to boost or lower ratings.
  • Don't post or link to content that is sexually explicit.
  • Don't post or link to content that is abusive or hateful or threatens or harasses others.
  • Please do not submit duplicate or multiple reviews. These will be deleted. Email moderators to revise a review or click the link in the email you receive when submitting a review.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to review and remove commentary that violates our policies.
You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Hey there! As of 11/1/16 is now Hack Reactor. If you graduated from prior to October 2016, Please leave your review for . Otherwise, please leave your review for Hack Reactor.

Title
Description
Rating
Overall Experience:
Curriculum:
Instructors:
Job Assistance:
School Details
About You

Non-anonymous, verified reviews are always more valuable (and trustworthy) to future bootcampers. Anonymous reviews will be shown to readers last.

You must log in to submit a review.

Click here to log in or sign up and continue.

Shared Review

  • Amazing Program!
    - 1/11/2019
    Shiva Panicker • Graduate
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I entered the bootcamp with a background in Mathematics and some previous exposure to machine learning theory. Programming was relatively new to me at the time, so my first course of action was to familiarize myself with Python and R. Thankfully, NYC Data Science Academy provided over 30hrs of pre-bootcamp material (video lectures, in-person lectures, and textbooks), which included coding in Python, R, and some introductory statistics. The program kicks off with a small overview of the tools needed to begin studying data science (mostly to bring everyone up to the same page), and then dives right in to data visualization as the first major topic of study. There is a strong sense of camaraderie with students throughout the program, and there is a strong family-like atmosphere in the space. Most importantly, the curriculum is very strong, and the instructors have deep practical and theoretical knowledge on the material covered. I found it a privilege to study under some of NYCDSA's staff, as they really are the cream of the crop. On top of a strong curriculum, there are many career workshops during and after the program is complete. Some of the workshops include professional development, discussions with industry leaders and practitioners (Kirk Borne spoke to my cohort), and interview/case study prep. The post-graduation network is incredibly strong and supportive for alumni seeking jobs, with frequent interview and networking opportunities provided. Vivian (the program founder) has a vast professional network, which she utilizes for student and alumni needs.  I'm incredibly happy to have completed the program, and to have worked with such a terrific set of instructors, teaching assistants, and classmates during that time. I couldn't have asked for a better start to my data science career.

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 3/28/2019
    Chaoran Chen  User Photo
    Chaoran Chen • Data Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Great Bootcamp. 

    The program is very comprehensive and intense. The syllabus is well structured. They make sure your time is only spent on most popular and useful technologies which are needed for a Data Scientist. 

    The instructors are very responsive. They also hold events to build the relationship between you and the potential hiring partners.

  • John  User Photo
    John • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    This is perfect for you if you already have some coding and math background and want to tie it all together into data science. The instructors are invested and clearly know their stuff, but with this kind of material you really need to apply yourself and study on your own to gain a complete understanding. You will acquire a good foundational understanding of machine learning techniques, but I think even more valuable is the broad (though in some places not super deep by necessity) exposure to lots of different data science and data engineering tools (R, pandas, AWS, Spark, Hadoop, Keras). The field is huge, and this is a good place to start. You can go a lot of different directions with the knowledge you gain here.

  • Fantastic Bootcamp
    - 3/13/2019
    James Lee  User Photo
    James Lee • Data Analyst III • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Fantastic Bootcamp.  I was able to gain a solid fundamental on Python, R, and Data Science skills.  I was able to start my career and advance quickly in this field.  Be sure to be ready to climb up a steep learning curve with highly knowledgeable mentors.  The job assistance has been great and Vivian has always provided me with stellar recommendations and references.  

     

     

  • Data Scientist
    - 3/11/2019
    Thomas Deegan  User Photo
    Thomas Deegan • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I could not have been happier with the bootcamp experience I had at NYC Data Science Academy.  The staff was incredible and does an amazing job of designing a curriculum and creating an environment for a broad range of participants to develop their data science skills.  They are constantly working to update the curriculum and are very open to feedback.  

    I gained a great deal of confidence with both the theory and applications behind supervised and unsupervised machine learning methods, data analysis, statistics, data visualization, and big data tools.  I became very comfortable with both Python and R and completed four projects that were enormously helpful come interviewing time.  Post-bootcamp, I received several job offers as a Data Scientist that I was very pleased with.

    Perhaps most importantly, should you decide to attend this bootcamp, you'll be joining a constantly growing alumni network.  There will be endless opportunities for networking, corporate training, and engagement.

    I would highly recommend this bootcamp to an aspiring data science professional.

  • Tristan Dresbach  User Photo
    Tristan Dresbach • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I didn't have a coding background and I was hired as a data scientist after graduating from the bootcamp.

    The program is extremely comprehensive, with challenging problem sets and 4 mandatory projects to showcase your abilities. The support staff (TAs, teachers and bootcamp management) are always available and are more than helpful when job hunting. Not only does the bootcamp have deep connections with a multitude of firms, but they also setup a networking event for recent graduates to meet potential future employers which is how I ended up finding a job.

  • Deep Learning
    - 12/20/2018
    Navin Krishnakumar  User Photo
    Navin Krishnakumar • Applicant Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Deep learning course conducted by Jon offers a great learning experience for people starting with their journey on deep learning. Jon starts with the basics and gradually moves on the advance topics. The topics are shared well in advance so that we can prep ourselves before the class. Jon mixes the intuitiveness and the mathematics on the topic in a balanced way. As part of the course, Jon also encourages everyone to do a project and offers great support. My only piece of constructive criticism (which by the way is not at all a criticism) would that the last class is a bit heavy content wise and hence breaking it down a little would be something to consider. Overall, I would highly recommend this course to someone who wants to start with deep learning.

  • Great Bootcamp
    - 12/20/2018
    Fangye Shi  User Photo
    Fangye Shi • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First off, my background: I have a PhD in mathematics. I learned coding (C++, python), machine learning and deep learning myself before bootcamp. But I still struggled to find a job. Therefore, I decided to attend an onsite bootcamp to boost my chance of landing a job. I picked NYCDSA because of recommendation from friends and positive online reviews.

    The overall experience with NYCDSA is amazing: Attending a bootcamp is different from learning from books/online lectures. It is more systematic and designed towards requirements on current job market. In addition to lectures, I have to do four projects on different aspects of data science (visualization, web scraping, machine learning, deep learning) where I get essential practice on how to apply theory to real problems. Besides, I made many good friends from different backgrounds and we learned a lot from each other. Last but not least, the career assistance is comprehensive: from resume review, mock interview to alumni referal and hiring event, the team there helped with every step in the job hunting process.

    In conclusion, I will recommend NYCDSA to anyone who would like to switch career to data science and is willing to work hard to get the most out of what the bootcamp can provide.

  • Ha Seon Yun   User Photo
    Ha Seon Yun Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    The Deep Learning course by Jon Krohn at the NYCDSA has been one of the best courses I've taken. With a focus on projects, Jon teaches students the tools they need to create their own deep learning project at any level. When I say at any level I really mean at any level. I'm a biology major originally and printed my first 'hello world' a year ago. Even with my very limited coding and programing background, I was able to complete a deep learning project involving creating my own labeled dataset and a convolutional network classifier. You can see it here on my medium page, https://medium.com/@jhaseon/glut1ko-genotyping-classifier-e49f0e5a4ca9. 

    I really appreciated his course structure as he drills in the beginning of class what he terms 'arsenal' deep learning terms and theories which I believe played a huge role in my ability to even create a project. The course is just 5 weeks so a lot of information is packed in weekly, but it really is for deep learning hopefuls of all levels from the basics of keras in machine vision or natural language processing to the intricacies underneath tensorflow. 

    Jon was insightful, responsive, and encouraging to his students throughout the course. He often broke down difficult theories and concepts on the whiteboard with easy to understand examples and drawings which I found very helpful. I am looking forward to more classes from him!

  • Zach McCormick  User Photo
    Zach McCormick • Senior Software Engineer • Student Verified via GitHub
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Jon's course on Deep Learning was great. It started with the basics including the background theory, then progressed to looking at concepts in different fields like computer vision, NLP, reinforcement learning, etc. It required a bit of programming experience, but not too much for those worried about their experience level. Likewise for math chops - having a basic understanding of linear algebra helps in understanding the theory, but it's not required to use it in practice. Following along in class was great, and the materials he had available for learning outside of the classroom were fantastic as well (i.e. his materials on GitHub, links from his presentations to outside materials, etc.) If Jon does a course on Intermediate/Advanced Deep Learning, or deep dives on topics within deep learning, I'll definitely be on the waiting list!

  • Jennifer Lee  User Photo
    Jennifer Lee • Manager • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Overall, I had a great experience with NYC Data Science Academy (NYC DSA). I was part of the fall 2018 bootcamp cohort. Specifics regarding the different components of my experience are listed below: 

    • Recruiting: I found the alumni interviews and reviews on the website to be extremely helpful. Because I was not coming from a statistics or development background, it was great to see success stories from people who had similar educational backgrounds and work experience. During the interview process, the recruiting contacts were extremely helpful, welcoming, and engaging, which made my experience much better than the more ‘transactional’ feel that I received from other bootcamps. Another key factor for me choosing this bootcamp is that NYC DSA allows you to complete the pre-work after you have been accepted.
    • Curriculum: The curriculum gets very difficult very quickly, especially for those that have little experience with coding and statistics. For someone coming from a more business-facing background, it does require significant work and time to get up to speed throughout the entire bootcamp. NYC DSA does provide all materials (i.e., lecture recordings, lecture slides, homework solutions, theory reviews) online, so it is a good resource for those that need to self study outside of class.
    • Staff Engagement: Leadership individuals from NYC DSA’s program are very personable, open to questions, and receptive to feedback. They are very open to revising the curriculum based on suggestions, which I found to be refreshing compared to other educational programs that I have been a part of.

    I have a technology / business consulting background and I am continuing with the same career path after the bootcamp. It was a great experience to gain deep exposure into AI and machine learning; even though I will not be acting in a true Data Scientist role, this is the type of experience that I will use regularly while working on data-focused projects and initiatives.

  • Paul Ton  User Photo
    Paul Ton • Data Scientist • Graduate • Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    My experience at NYCDSA was really great. All aspects of the program (the curriculum, the instructors, fellow students, and the job support) were top-notch! If I were sent back in time and had to make the choice again whether or not to join the bootcamp, I would say yes every time.

    The material they cover is three months of non-trivial exposure to a wide breadth of relevant, practically useful topics. And because they've been able to carefully tailor and refine the curriculum over the course of 15+ cohorts, it's highly distilled, but also designed in a way to constantly reinforce the most important concepts.

    Their job support and career coaching really streamlined the job search process for me. They have great industry connections, which increase opportunities. I found my current job from a hiring event the bootcamp hosts.

    But even beyond the course material and job support, it's the people and environment that really made the experience special for me. The instructors and TAs are both extremely knowledgeable and also super supportive and helpful. Additionally, you're surrounded by fellow students that come from all different background, but have all made the same choice as you, and they are all highly motivated and fully engaged - which is a rare thing.

  • Data Analyst
    - 12/7/2018
    Jingyu Zhang  User Photo
    Jingyu Zhang • Data Analyst • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I attended the bootcamp of NYC Data Science Academy in the summer of 2016. I started my career as Data Analyst one month after the program. I chose this bootcamp because my friend got Data Science training there and got a Data Scientist job right after that. It was a very intensive training program with systematic classes and materials, which covered frontier machine learning algorithms and applications, big data tools, and analysis tools with a path you would be able to further develop your career. The instructors are top notch with mathematic Ph. D degrees. They condensed the Data Science skills and knowledges to approachable class materials. Hand by hand coding help. Vivian, the CTO, pushed us to our limitation and to get  good job offers. Almost 99% of our classmates got job offer, where most of them are Data Scientist, and others are Data Analyst.  The training was a whole package with knowledges, skills, resume writing and interview mock. 

    The 12 months studies helped me get my first job in 2016 , and now the second job in 2018. What I learned from NYC Data Science Academy is still helping me in my career.

    Strongly recommend.

  • Taino Pacheco  User Photo
    Taino Pacheco • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    As someone who read many reviews during my decision to switch to data science, I understand how important these testimonials are for prospective students.  That being said, if you are apprehenisive about changing careers or investing in a bootcamp, rest assured that NYCDSA  provides a quality education and valuable resources. 

    This industry changes so fast.  With that said, the academy really has their ear to the wall when in comes to new technologies, software, and machine learning algorithms.  This will really keep your skill set competitive in the market no matter when you choose to join the program.  

    Many other reviews have adressed the strength of the curriculum. So I want to comment on another benefit:  Your professional network will grow tremondously by attending the program.  When it comes to job searching, it's all about engaging with your network, hearing about opportunities from peers, alumni, and faculty, and getting referalls.  The people you meet here can really be your support system for your job search and beyond.

    When it comes to how fast you can get a job, a lot depends on how well you learned the material and getting those elusive referalls.

    This bootcamp is by no means easy.  You will be studying and brushing up on skills after you get your diploma!  

  • phoebe zhou  User Photo
    phoebe zhou • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    For someone without much programing experience or statistical training but want to get into data science. This is a great bootcamp for you to start. This does not mean it's easy, you still will have a lot of struggle and late night working on projects, but the school sets a great learning path and offer amazing assistance along the way.
    I'll list a few reasons why I picked NYCDSA : First, it has the most comprehensive and transparent curriculum online. It covers both Python and R and the skills and toolsets you get to use on the 4 projects are the most widely used ones across the industry. Second, it has pre-work and devotes the first 4 weeks of the bootcamp to review and practice the programming skills in the pre-work. This is really helpful for someone not coming from a CS background like me, helps me to better focus and learn the machine learning concepts that come later in the course. Third, the school is always updating the curriculum to catch up with the trend such as including deep learning and big data track upon students choice. Fourth, the final project is with real companies and dealing with real world business problems, which is always good talk about during job interviews. Fifth, the job hunting assistance is super,  vivian is always on top of everything and ready to help. 
    Having finished the program and landing a job offer after a few months. I'd say joining NYCDSA is definitely one of the best choices of my life. I have got what I came for, which is switch my career path. But I realized I gained so much more than that. I made a lot life-long friends who share the same passion and will continue to support each other in the future career. 

  • Elsa Vera Amores  User Photo
    Elsa Vera Amores • Associate Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I am a Biology PhD and and I took the summer Data Science bootcamp at NYC Data Science Academy (NYCDSA). I can say that it exceeded my expectations in all stages of the journey towards a Data Science career. My objective of transitioning to a Data Scientist position was met in less than a month of full time job searching after finishing the bootcamp. I was actually accepted to the Data Incubator program but decided to join NYCDSA instead given its longer duration, stronger focus on education and broader job placement opportunities.

    The twelve weeks of the bootcamp were the most intense and productive weeks of my life. I have never learned so much and so fast (and I’m a PhD!) If you work hard, the final product is beautiful -- a well rounded Data Science portfolio with 4 creative projects that showcase different Data Science tools with its corresponding Github repositories, a polished resume and a solid coding and Machine Learning knowledge. My perspective on the different stages of the process are the following:

    1. Pre-work. I appreciate the fact that NYCDSA provides your with interactive material to work through R and Python basics. I methodically worked through it 4 months prior the start date. Having dedicated time and effort to this part gave me a kick-start and allowed me to reinforce that knowledge during the bootcamp.

    2. Bootcamp. The quality of  the projects, Github repositories and preparation for Data Scientist interviews depends on the effort you put in this part. I can only encourage you to carefully work on every project and every class. It pays out. The curriculum is very complete and the Machine Learning classes are exceptional; something I would latter appreciate during my on site interviews. NYCDSA also gives coaching for interview and resume preparation and even provides a professional headshot.  

    3. The job search. I did not expect so much help and support in the job search process. I had regular follow up with NYCDSA hiring team and referrals for many companies through their contacts. I also had the chance to do a mock interview with one of the NYCDSA connections.

    Summing up, I fully endorse NYCDSA as an institution that provides a solid foundation of Data Science skills and support that allows student to be successful in their new career.

  • Nikhil Krishnan  User Photo
    Nikhil Krishnan • Student Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    N/A

    Anthony was great - really got into the practical uses of python for data analysis and had really useful analogies to understanding different topics and concepts. Really enjoyed the class and felt like I could take something practical away from it.

  • Aungshuman Zaman  User Photo
    Aungshuman Zaman • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First, a little about my background. I have a PhD in physics. In the years I spent in graduate school I had gained some experience in coding, statistics and data analysis. I did not have industry experience and was not really sure how to switch to the field of Data Science after so many years in academia. In the spring of 2018, when I was looking to join a Data Science bootcamp, I searched for programs which would put strong emphasis on both Python and R, and also provide me with ample opportunities to do project work, i.e., let me build a data product from scratch. The project part was particularly important to me because I felt that will be extremely valuable when interviewing for jobs. NYC Data Science academy seemed to fill the bill prefectly, so I decided to join them for the summer 2018 cohort. I will admit that I was a little sceptical about the utility of a 12-week bootcamp. But four months on, after graduating and now landing a data scientist job, I can unequivocally say that joining the bootcamp turned out to be a great decision for me. Of course in any intense bootcamp like this, it depends largely on you what you are going to get out of it. The thing the bootcamp does really well is to provide you with great resources-- very knowledgable and approachable faculty, a very good team of teaching assistants, good course materials, and excellent level of job assistance. Last but not the least, I had the chance to make a bunch of very close friends, who will form the backbone of my data science network for many years to come. I highly recommend this program specifically for people who are switching from academia.

  • Sophie Geoghan  User Photo
    Sophie Geoghan • Data Scientist • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    I came to this program with a background in neuroscience, lots of coding in MATLAB, and lots of statistics but NO experience with Python, R, or most Machine Learning techniques. And I got exactly what I wanted to get out of it: lots of great practical experience in R, Python, various machine learning/statistics, and a confidence in approaching technical interviews. The program starts slow with Prework that is essential especially if one has never coded before, but also very useful even if you have experience in a different language (like me in MATLAB), and then it ramps up fast. By week 6 you've completed two aggressive projects in a data visualization app and web-scraping. The last two projects are ML-related and boosted my confidence in applying, evaluating, and discussing these techniques (very important for interviews). By the end, you are ready for the job search, and they were very helpful in getting us to make as many connections as possible. This program can be as challenging as you want - the materials and the instructors are there to help you succeed with as ambitious a project as you might want. Unlike university/regular school, they are not there to handhold or even grade you. They set the expectations and are there to help you meet or surpass them. I was mostly motivated by myself and my peers, who were a diverse and impressive bunch. I was happy to note that our cohort had a gender ratio of about 50/50, although depends from group to group. I ultimately chose NYCDSA because I wanted experience in both R and Python, and I am glad that I did. Overall, it was exactly what I wanted it to be, and I am very confident in my data science skills because of it.
  • Tracey  User Photo
    Tracey • Financial Engineer • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I have worked in financial services for 8 years and realized how technology has changed this industry so I decided to learn data science. With master in economics and CFA,  I think my weakness is programming and modeling, getting a proper training would be the most efficient way to make me a data scientist. While comparing a few bootcamp programs, I chose NYCDS for 3 reasons: 1. Great content: teaching both R and Python, also include hands on sessions for SQL, AWS, deep learning, NLP etc; 2. Great teacher and students: the founder and fellow teachers, guest teachers all worked on or currently working on data science projects in different industry, students having strong background with different domin knowledge; 3. The online full-time program fits my schdule after discussion with my manager.The skills I learned by completeing the 4 projects could be directly apply to my work.

    The 12 week bootcamp was intense, but I learned so much by pushing myself to my limit. I am not only self-motivated, but also motivated by my peers. I felt so exctied about the synergy between my and my teammates in group projects while working hard together. While achieving my goel of improving programming and modeling skills, I also becoming much more open-minded and not afraid to start from begining learning new technical skills at any time. After completing the bootcamp, I applied the skills I learned and created an application at work which is becoming a popular tool.

    NYCDS is very supportive, teachers, TAs, fellow students, alumni as well as the founder of the school can provide you any resource you need to help you achieve your goal. If I can redo this program again, the only change I will make is applying earlier. In this way, I can prepare myself longer in the pre-bootcamp training so that I can explore more during the bootcamp. This bootcamp is a life change experience for me. I highly recommend this program!

  • Alex Baransky  User Photo
    Alex Baransky • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    Summary

    The NYC Data Science Academy is a wonderful organisation comprised of passionate and deeply knowledgeable people. Their curriculum is top notch, fast but fairly paced, and teaches the skills needed to be successful in any data scientist position. The course requires completion of four major projects which not only gives you real coding experience, but enables you to walk away from the program with solid evidence that you have the coding skills and knowledge of theory required to be successful in the field of data science. Along the way, you will make many new friends and you will expand your network of data scientists to help in your job search. If you work hard to make the best effort you can, three months from now you will be writing a review just like me about how you made the right call to join the NYC Data Science Academy.

    My Background

    I graduated with a bachelor's in Biology from an Ivy League school in December 2017. While looking for jobs, I realized that if I wanted to land the kind of research position I wanted I had a much longer road in academia than I had originally anticipated. I ran into an old friend who had completed a web development bootcamp and he told me to look into similar programs. After speaking with another friend who is a CTO of a startup, he suggested that I look into data science programs because of the increasing demand in the field. I had some experience coding in Java, but nothing crazy and I hadn't really coded in years. I have always had an interest in computers and I really enjoy the problem solving aspect of data science, so I figured I'd take the risk to change career paths.

    The Course

    I had three specific things in mind when searching for the right program for me. These were:

    1. Multiple projects throughout the program
    2. Reviewed highly by graduates
    3. Programming languages taught include Python, R, and SQL

    I think these are important qualities for any data science program, but they were specifically important to me because I was making the switch from a non-technical field.

    First, the projects were a must because I wanted to leave the program knowing I had something concrete to show employers. NYC Data Science Academy has 4 dedicated projects so that when you graduate from the program you have solid evidence of your skills as a data scientist. The last is a capstone project which allows you to work with a real business on a real business problem. This is a great opportunity to prove your worth as a data scientist.

    Second, I wanted to find a program that was rated very highly by its graduates. NYC Data Science Academy has some of the best reviews I've seen of any data science program, and for good reason. The instructors have a deep understanding of the material and they are both friendly and professional. The curriculum is as hard as it needs to be for a 12-week program, but the pace the instructors set is fair. The TAs are a tremendous resource and they are available for a reasonable amount of time to get your questions in. The course explores the most important aspects of data science and challenges you with case studies and coding challenges so that you can get a good idea of what to expect when you enter the industry.

    Third, I was looking for a program that taught Python, R, and SQL. These three languages are the most highly saught after in data science jobs I have seen, so learning them gives you a solid base for most opportunities out there. Many bootcamps offer Python, R, or SQL, but few offer all three. NYC Data Science Academy is one of those few.

    The Result

    I was originally thinking about using free online resources to teach myself data science techniques, but after going through the bootcamp process, I am extremely glad I made the investment. I was able to accomplish in 3 months what would have taken me over a year to do by myself. I was also pleasantly suprised at how close I became with my fellow classmates. They were all wonderful and intelligent people and I now have a close network of capable data scientists who I can call upon in the future if I find myself in a rut. This is a massively valuable resource that I didn't even consider when applying for the bootcamp.

    The job preperation workshops were also immensely helpful when preparing for the job search. Things like resume reviews, mock interviews, and coding challenges helped to ease me into the world of professional interviewing. I am now on my way to becoming an expert interviewer. There is also a networking event at the conclusion of the program which allows you to get in touch with a diverse group of companies looking to hire. The very next week after graduating from the bootcamp I was actively talking with multiple employers.

    I remember reading in a lot of bootcamp reviews that what you get out is what you put in. I will reiterate this because it is absolutely true. This program is not a day care, its purpose is not to motivate you or convince you that this is your path. This program is meant to supply you with all the resources and tools you need to be successful in a data science career. If you go in with the mindset that you will work hard and do your best to learn more material than you thought you could, you will be successful. NYC Data Science Academy has everything you need to be a success, you just need to make the effort to reach out and take it.

  • Silvia  User Photo
    Silvia • Data Analysis Intern • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    The experience in NYC Data Science Academy is life changing for me. I am a graduate student in New York University studyng Psychology. Before I entered the bootcamp, I had almost none exposure to coding, programming, not to mention machine learning.

    The instructors are professional and helpful. Six weeks into this bootcamp, I found my current internship for a data analyst position. What I have leanred in the bootcamp helped me pass the technical interview and got me the job. I do appreciate it a lot. 

    If you come from a background that is barely related to data science, programming or statistics, this bootcamp will get you started on a career for a data scientist. Other than technical skills, the bootcamp will also provide you with an approachable platform for job opportunities. At the end of the bootcamp, there will be a hiring event where over 100 recruiters will come and talk to you. About 30-50% of the students will find a job on that event. Most of my cohort got an on-site interview from at least one company. 

    If you are looking for a job, then this bootcamp will be a perfect fit for you. 

  • Wenchang Qian  User Photo
    Wenchang Qian • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    First of all, unlike many bootcamp students, I didn’t come from a background with coding or science, nor do I have a master degree. And I am currently a data scientist working at a startup, helping brands to understand their customers better through an emotional lens using Natural Language Processing. This definitely to certain extent proves not only the rigorousness of the course disciplines and the willingness from the bootcamp to go an extra mile to help the students who don’t come from a ‘regular’ background to succeed.

    I picked NYC DSA as the academy’s overall rating was simply the best across all data science bootcamps on the East Coast and the backgrounds of the instructors listed on the website were impressive to me. Coming from a business and consulting background, I consider myself very hardworking and competitive - I only wanted the best and NYC DSA was simply just it.  

     

    What I Loved about the Bootcamp:

    • The Depth of knowledge of the instructors, especially Aiko Liu (Aiko really influenced the way how I think about data science problems and he paved a really good knowledge foundation for us)
    • The Rigorousness of the course disciplines
    • The fantastic quality of classmates (they will be your best friends and your network after you graduate in three months)
    • The emphasis on solving practical business problems with data science skillsets (this is critical for you to find a job on the East Coast)
    • The partnership with big corporations for capstone projects

     

    Some Suggestions:

    • I wish the academy could focus less on R and more on Python. Maybe they have changed the balance currently. During the time of my enrollment, it was 50% R and 50% Python. Although R is a very useful programming language for statistical analysis and visualization, Python is the dominant language in the data science field. If you are just about to attend the bootcamp, I would suggest you place a larger focus on Python and practice data science problems with Python as much as possible.
    • I wish the academy could test or at least walk through some interview-level challenges/case studies methodologically to the students during the three months of experience. I believe this will not only prepare the students better in terms of what to expect from a data science interview, but also help the students start formulating thought processes related to solving data science problems.

     

  • Great Experience
    - 10/27/2018
    William Kye  User Photo
    William Kye Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:
    My experience with N?YCDSA with great. No bootcamp is perfect (there's a lot of information to pack in 12-15 weeks), but I thought NYCDSA did a great job of providing the teaching, resources, and curriculum to be a competitive job candidate after graduating.
     
    The atmosphere is very collegial where student and teaching assistant constantly are trying to help eachother and make sure everyone is getting the most out of the program. That being said, there is a lot of variance in where each student is coming from beforehand. So its important for each individual to seek help when necessary (which isn't very hard given how friend and accomodating the instructors are)
     
    After the bootcamp, Vivian and the others put a strong emphasis on putting us in the best position to succeed. Whether that was prep interviews, sending job postings, or just checking up. Overall would recommend!
  • Michael Chuang  User Photo
    Michael Chuang • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    To begin, my experience with NYCDSA was excellent. The curriculum was comprehensive, instructors were knowledgeable,and my cohort-mates, friendly. I set out to attend a data science bootcamp after spending several years in tech consulting and at a marketing startup as an implementation and integration lead. I decided to attend NYCDSA particularly because it looked to have the most rigorous curriculum and advanced student projects compared to other camps I had looked into. With that, it was definitely a challenging and time-consuming experience but one that I am grateful for going through.
     
    On the whole, I thought the material was very practical and accommodated the wide spectrum of experience levels that my cohort contained (from fresh college grads to experienced PHDs). The course covered broad topics in data science with enough depth to be applied in the real world, so I now feel empowered to further my learning and tackle even harder data/tech problems after the camp. The instructors are all capable and are more than willing to help troubleshoot technical problems that will inevitably come up. The cohort is 40+ students so their time is obviously at a premium and you should expect to drive a lot of your own learning. However this actually made for stronger connections within my cohort as well since we were able to rely on each other to review our understanding of concepts, collaborate on projects, and have fun after hours. 
     
    After the bootcamp, NYCDSA notified me of many potential job opening as well as acted as a recommendation. I felt as though they were always prepared to support me given that I had everything prepared on my end as well. Obviously not every student will have a completely smooth experience with the job search process, but I’m confident that anyone who is willing to put in the effort and dedication in learning the material and crafting their applications will be able to advance a career in data after attending. Since graduating, I started a contractor role at Spotify, which eventually lead me to secure a full-time position at Facebook several months later. And while I put in considerable personal effort to secure these roles, I also know it would not have been possible with the skills and support I received (and continue to receive) from NYCDSA. 
  • Fan Zhang  User Photo
    Fan Zhang • Graduate Verified via LinkedIn
    Overall Experience:
    Curriculum:
    Instructors:
    Job Assistance:

    I had a truly rewarding experience at NYCDSA. The staff is professional and friendly, and the material is relevant for a wide range of data professions.

    Before I joined NYCDSA, I had researched and reviewed several other similar boorcamps. I think NYCDSA really cares and help you to success.

    The program helped me to open the doors to several opportunities for me and the staff sets time aside to help you position and present yourself well for job interviews. I have accepted good amount job interviews since I have graduated from NYCDSA, and felt very well prepared for the interview process. Five stars!

    If you are less familiar with coding (which I was), then you really need to do your pre-course very well. Because once the bootcamp starts, the foundation is very important. Patience and getting comfortable with the process of coding is absolutely essential.

Thanks!